View Full Version : Rate the last film you saw
Philip Seymour Hoffman was immense in it. Again. Has he ever acted badly?
No. One of my favourite actors of all time and in my current top 3 actors with Vincent Cassel and Matt Damon. I can watch anything with those guys.
I find it hard to rate actresses as i am blinded to female acting skill by my own perversion. With that in mind my current top 3 actresses are Sophia Vergara, Jessica Biel and Mila Kunis.
10/01/2012, 9:29 AM
I find it hard to rate actresses as i am blinded to female acting skill by my own perversion. With that in mind my current top 3 actresses are Sophia Vergara, Jessica Biel and Mila Kunis.On a similar note, I would pay money to watch Natalie Portman read the phone book cover to cover.
10/01/2012, 10:08 AM
[QUOTE=SkStu;1564711
I find it hard to rate actresses as i am blinded to female acting skill by my own perversion. With that in mind my current top 3 actresses are Sophia Vergara, Jessica Biel and Mila Kunis.[/QUOTE]
:cool:
:D:D
Spudulika
10/01/2012, 7:41 PM
War Horse, took time this evening to watch it instead of going to hockey. Well worth it. I don't know if it's possible for a horse to win an Oscar, but he deserves it. Well put together movie, some very funny moments, moving on occasions and strong acting performances. One of the better movies I've seen in the last 12months. 8/10.
Had a movie filled December and start of 2012, oldest were the best, including Ghostbusters, Nigh****ch and Daywatch.
Agree totally on Mission Impossible 3, I'd not seen it before, somehow, yet it really was good. 2 was a mess, the first was really good. Going to try see 4 on Friday.
31/01/2012, 12:22 AM
Moneyball.
Hate baseball but really enjoyed this. Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill were great together. Gotta question his decision in the end though. Loser. Id highly recommend it though. 8/10
theworm2345
31/01/2012, 1:40 AM
Seen a bunch recently, the few that stick out most:
Horrible Bosses - 6.5/10. Pretty funny for the first half or so then slowed down quite a bit
Windy City Heat - 7/10. Sort of a mix between Borat and An Idiot Abroad, I thought it was pretty good, though that could be mainly because I know someone exactly like the main character
Once Were Warriors - 9/10. Thoroughly enjoyed this one, had already read the book but the movie was still very good
Meet the Feebles - 7.5/10. Possibly the strangest feature film I've ever seen, was quite funny at times
Spudulika
14/02/2012, 8:42 AM
Safe house - I like Ryan Reynolds, can just about tolerate Denzel Washington, and despite an early exit and sideline role like Liam Cunningham and Brendan Gleeson respectively. But this is a movie that just didn't seem to know where it wanted to go. Be like Bourne, Bond or Johnny English, it tried to do too much. The dialogue was poor, it was all stereotyped and I sat through it only because I was at a friends house. 2/10.
Man on a ledge - It was nice to see Billy Elliott turn up again, the movie was interesting. Decent suspense, nice acting and some good efforts in the script. Worth seeing on the big screen but a real once off movie. 5/10
The Grey - Sad, depressing, formulaic (every war movie cliche used - don't people know by now never EVER tell about your family or life) and great scenery. I liked the ending because it was very Irish. Would have liked to have seen a bit of cannibalism in it, to make it more fun, but worth a watch on the big screen. Good acting in it and some real look through the finger moments too. 7/10
14/02/2012, 10:41 AM
Saw The Muppets on Sunday and it was a great jaunt. Thoroughly recommended.
14/02/2012, 10:49 AM
Saw The Muppets on Sunday and it was a great jaunt. Thoroughly recommended.
Went to see Shame a few weeks ago on my birthday. Think Kermit the Frog does tortured sex addict confronting his repressed demons.
I though it was very good, the fiancee though it was one of the worst films she's ever seen. It's pretty slow burning and the lack of any real resolution will bother a lot of people, she pointed out that I had read a synopsis of the film which gave it some context and that I might have seen it differently otherwise. It was probably a fair point as there is a lot of ambiguous stuff going on. Worth a watch I'd say about 7/10.
14/02/2012, 11:39 AM
Clerks - Not sure why I hadn't seen it before. Didn't think it was quite as good as I'd expected
14/02/2012, 12:26 PM
Clerks - Not sure why I hadn't seen it before. Didn't think it was quite as good as I'd expected
A frightfully over rated turd sandwich of a movie.
Spudulika
14/02/2012, 12:56 PM
Good soundtrack though.
29/02/2012, 5:22 PM
Finally got around to watching the Harry Potters for the first time. Really enjoyed them but felt it was bit of an anticlimax in the end to be totally honest. Still some good films and would have to give the who series of them 8/10. Don't think i'd ever sit down and watch them again unless they where on telly some night.
29/02/2012, 5:24 PM
It's a grand film for one so cheaply put together and a first outing for Kevin Smith. Wouldn't rate it as top class or anything but any time i've seen it I have found it enjoyable.
Eminence Grise
01/03/2012, 9:58 PM
Clerks has something about it alright... For a first film it's a damn good effort. Dogma, though, is miles better.
Saw Smith and Jason Mewes in Vicar St last week - two hours of them sitting at a table talking to each other and telling an*l gags in between some interesting stuff about the process of film-making. Oddly, a very entertaining evening!!
02/03/2012, 8:57 AM
Clerks is an excellent movie, considering its a first off and virtually no budget. Was he not working in that store as well?
02/03/2012, 9:12 AM
Clerks is an excellent movie, considering its a first off and virtually no budget. Was he not working in that store as well?
Think it was just his local store but all the actors in it where just friends or friends of friends. Dogma, Chasing Amy and Mallrats where probably better films. It's a pity his movies have gone downhill.
Rashers Baptisa
02/03/2012, 2:10 PM
Fast Five Review
So here we go. At long last. This review has been a long time coming. It has been nearly a year since Fast Five has been released in the cinema. It is only now after a lot of soul-searching, do
I find myself ready to commit my thoughts to the ages. So dear reader, sit back, relax, pour a cold one, drop your pants and let my Fast Five review wash over you like a fine Burgundy wine.
After my critically acclaimed 2009 review/ lovefest of Fast and Furious (see http://foot.ie/threads/104996-Rate-the-last-film-you-saw?p=1145132&highlight=#post1145132), as you can imagine I was pretty pumped to see the sequel. I was simply giddy at the thoughts of seeing my personal heroes Vin Diesel and Paul Walker return to the screen as the iconic Dominic "Dom" Toretto and Brian O'Connor. Plus the addition of Dwayne Johnson to the cast was the proverbial blue cheese on the cracker. So what did we get?
We got a serious game changer folks. This film is a love letter to cinema. A film made by film lovers for the film connoisseur.
Not only do we get a film which redefines the way we think and feel about cinema, we got something that provides guidelines for how one should live their life.
We also got some incredible action sequences. A car chase at the end will live long in the memory.
But Fast Five is so much more than a big budget action piece (although we get plenty of that too). This film is all about the characters and the relationships they have developed with us the viewers. I sat on the edge of my seat, gripped, eyes welling with as Dom and Brian discussed the roles their fathers played in their respective lives. The intensity of their emotions has compelled me to a better father. Diesel and Walker continue to prove they are the De Niro and Pacino of their genaration. Their on screen chemistry and ability to shift gears, emotionally and literally, is effortless.
I close by saying if I could make sweet love with any film then this would be that film.
And like the cars in the film it would be very fast.
Roll on Fast 6/Fast 7.
Hyuihr
14/03/2012, 4:33 PM
Saw Slumdog Millionaire the other day. I suppose most people saw that ages ago. Was always put off watching it for some reason but it was thoroughly engaging, even uplifting, though that sounds a bit lame. Also watched Office Space recently during a protracted procrastination session. It's not the most energetic film, but it's got a nice, dry wit the whole way through and an oddly fitting gangster rap soundtrack. It was a fun distraction, and it's on Sky all the time.
horton
26/03/2012, 8:14 PM
Watched Round Ireland with a Fridge on BBC Iplayer last night. True story of an flailing English comedian who agrees to a drunken bet to go around Ireland hitchhiking with a fridge within a calender month. No real laugh out loud parts(all the irish seem to be thick weirdos though), but it's one of those random films whereby at the end I couldn't decide if it was really good or just really crap. IMDB gives it a 5 out of 10 though. . .
26/03/2012, 8:19 PM
Seen it last week, a lot of cheese alright, no way in reality he would get such a looker, eh?
(by the way - gave up on the book about one chapter in, really ****e)
horton
27/03/2012, 8:03 AM
Exactly, english girls might be a sucker for an irish accent but it doesn't quite work in reverse! The books on fleabay for a few quid, was half tempted to buy it but I'll take your word for it. Have you seen Machine Gun Preacher? that's next on my hitlist.
27/03/2012, 8:33 AM
I meant to warn everyone not to bother with "The Devil Inside", it had the potential to be an average enough exorcism horror but with a running time just over an hour and a terrible ending you'll just end up sitting there feeling incredibly ripped off.
Don't waste your money.
Spudulika
28/03/2012, 11:30 PM
Contraband - apart from being a marketing vehicle for Maersk, it's awful. It tries to be cool, slick, soundtrack etc, but just wimped out in the end. Felt like I wasted an hour and a half or so from my life. 2/10.
06/04/2012, 2:45 PM
Went to see 21 Jump Street earlier. It's a good laugh. 7/10
The cinema at the square has re-opened and it's a vast improvement, very comfortable and excellent picture and sound quality.
Spudulika
09/04/2012, 5:26 AM
For some reason last night I ended up watching 4 Weddings and a funeral with herself and realised it's the first time I'd actually watched it properly, as in, completely. I didn't see it in the cinema and then on tv I never paid much heed to it. So I was both pleasantly surprised and disappointed with it. 1. Andy McDowell is a slapper in it. 2. Hugh Grant is actually a slimeball. 3. The only half decent character in it is Hugo and John Hannah (can't remember his name in it). There are some very funny moments, some emotional moments (especially the funeral) but no way can it be classified as a rom-com, and I couldn't see it doing the box office today that it did back in, 1994? Anyway, complaining over, 4/10 (I like Love Actually and found Hugh Grant and the cast good in it, and I like the man himself, mad as he is).
Project X. From the makers of the Hangover. A really fun film that just gets better and better as it drives on relentlessly from farce to farce. You'll find yourself reminiscing about the old days... Plenty of boobs. 7.5/10.
10/04/2012, 7:33 PM
For some reason last night I ended up watching 4 Weddings and a funeral with herself and realised it's the first time I'd actually watched it properly, as in, completely. I didn't see it in the cinema and then on tv I never paid much heed to it. So I was both pleasantly surprised and disappointed with it. 1. Andy McDowell is a slapper in it. 2. Hugh Grant is actually a slimeball. 3. The only half decent character in it is Hugo and John Hannah (can't remember his name in it). There are some very funny moments, some emotional moments (especially the funeral) but no way can it be classified as a rom-com, and I couldn't see it doing the box office today that it did back in, 1994? Anyway, complaining over, 4/10 (I like Love Actually and found Hugh Grant and the cast good in it, and I like the man himself, mad as he is).
Completely agree with all of this.
Eh, finally watched Reservoir Dogs last night in full. Haven't watched it since around 1999 or so and I always turned it off cos I thought it was ****e. Oddly I loved Pulp Fiction even at that stage so it wasn't the fact that I may not have gotten it. I seemed it was just a mental block.
Anyway... It was savage.
9/10
A N Mouse
11/04/2012, 12:46 PM
Project X. From the makers of the Hangover. A really fun film that just gets better and better as it drives on relentlessly from farce to farce. You'll find yourself reminiscing about the old days... Plenty of boobs. 7.5/10.
That bit just reminded me of this (http://designtaxi.com/news/351702/A-Guide-To-Designing-Modern-Movie-Posters/)
While trying to track that one down I also found this (http://flavorwire.com/233403/visual-representations-of-15-over-used-movie-poster-cliches?all=1)
Spudulika
23/04/2012, 1:52 PM
21 Jump Street, oddly translated into Macho and Botan here (don't know why). Loved the tie up with the original show (used to be on Sky and my sister loved Jonny Depp) and overall it was fun. Some silly scenes, some good stunts, good oneliners and well worth a watch. A couple of moments where I found myself smiling then breaking into a laugh. Agreed with last review - 7/10 (harmless fun).
Saw 2 movies in the cinema the last couple of weekends, both were funny, but for different reasons.
American Pie (the latest excuse for jewish-masturbation-naked teens-father son jokes). Wasn't a fan of the old ones, but this was good. Some good acting, some nutty moments (I'll give up on coolers when going on picnics) and a nice way of looking back at school. Some ott nakedness and a little uncomfortable (though I don't know how the 70-somethings 3 rows in front of us were handling it - many that pun is apt given the cost of viagra). Worth a look just to see Tara Reid after rehab and latest surgery. 5/10
Battleship (Morski Boi in Russian, or sea battle, the same name as a classic arcade game here) - I twigged the hasbro thing early on, but then when they plastered - from the board game Battleship - at the end credits, I just collapsed in laughter. Possibly one of the funniest movies I've seen this year, or in years. Also the worst I've seen this year, or ever. Poor acting (Rihanna forgot that you need to do more than pout and pose while wrapped up in bondage gear), so-so special effects and a storyline that had more holes in it than a toilet wall in Monaghan (but none of these holes were glorious). It's the perfect movie if you've recently had a full frontal lobotomy, taken lsd or been raised by sheep in the wilderness (should play well with Harps fans I guess). If I start telling some, it would give away the central piece of the plot, but I have to ask, have aliens not heard of coloured contacts? Okay, watching it with a Russian audience, and the movie being about how brilliant America is, meant that at certain points cheers went up (ironic) when the yanks figured a way to batter an alien. The awards ceremony had the audience clapping politely, while Liam Neeson really has a huge @rse. I am certain, 100%, that this will be a mega hit, that cola filled kids and computer game freaks will love it, and most important of all (in terms of "target audience") LOI fans. Only LOI fans can endure farce, horror, comedy, thrills, spills, violence, romance, hate, fear, loathing, love, confusion and so on (that's just an EGM), so that this film is perfect. It makes the LOI look positively real! For sheer mentalness and unintended comedy 7/10. In fairness 2/10 (because the popcorn was tasty and Rihanna got battered, again).
cheifo
01/05/2012, 11:56 PM
Don't know what you are talking about Spudulika I thought it was up there with the classics.
Spudulika
02/05/2012, 4:16 AM
Don't know what you are talking about Spudulika I thought it was up there with the classics.
Battleship :p I kept waiting for the Russian and Chinese Foreign Ministers to turn up at the aliens mothership and refuse the latest UN ultimatum.
17/05/2012, 11:29 AM
The Dictator
Not sure what to make of it. I did find myself laughing a fair bit but it left no lasting impression. The jokes were fairly obvious and lacked any real punch, it just felt like it was trying too hard at times too. The running time is short and if you like Sacha Baron Cohen then you won't be looking for your money back but don't expect to be laughing unitl it hurts or anything.
2.5/5
17/05/2012, 2:24 PM
Gregory's Girl on the box last night, first time seeing since I was in primary school - BRILLIANT
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xEol7v7cA7Q
Spudulika
17/05/2012, 2:50 PM
The Dictator
Not sure what to make of it. I did find myself laughing a fair bit but it left no lasting impression. The jokes were fairly obvious and lacked any real punch, it just felt like it was trying too hard at times too. The running time is short and if you like Sacha Baron Cohen then you won't be looking for your money back but don't expect to be laughing unitl it hurts or anything.
2.5/5
I'm going to see it tonight (even cooked herself a nice tikka masala to get in good graces before we head out) and I'm a bit worried that it'll be another Bruno. I was never a massive fan of Ali G, liked Borat and the Ali G and Bruno movies were just a bit ott (though the cage fighting scene in America makes me laugh now just thinking of how the crowd were played and changed - imagine Dan Murray getting down and dirty with Roddy up in the Gortakeegan centre circle). I guess I'll just have no expectations for it and just see it for the craic.
17/05/2012, 3:02 PM
It's pretty different. I thought Bruno was better, neither as good as Borat though. It's a much more standard film narrative, with none of the mocumentary stuff, it just isn't really a strong enough character or story to hold the interest and the jokes are just a bit too contrived.
Spudulika
17/05/2012, 3:49 PM
It appeared, from the ads, to be not too far from Don't mess with Zohan. A contrived character where the funniest bits are all in the trailer itself. It would be great to see Borat land in Russia and do something here. Travel across the country, but maybe in the guise of a dumb Brit or something. Don't knwo how long he'd last though.
theworm2345
18/05/2012, 4:20 AM
Boogie Nights - 8/10. Good movie, funny at times as well, thought with the lengthy "downward spiral" it was perhaps just a little too long (no pun intended). Quality soundtrack as well.
Cedar Rapids - 7.5/10. Wasn't expecting all that much from this one but in the end found it very enjoyable.
Yes Man - 5.5/10. Nothing special but decent enough, watched it on a boring Sunday afternoon and it kept me entertained for the most part.
Spudulika
18/05/2012, 4:49 PM
Dictator - got lots of laughs from the audience but I found it dragging. Not enough jokes or comedy to carry off a feature, better a half hour pee take. The joke about the expected baby (is it a boy or do we have an abortion - that was funny), but not enough going on and a complete waste of Ben Kingsley and Anna Faris. I've always found Anna Faris to be one of the sexiest and funniest actresses around, but in this she couldn't get a look in. Unless you're totally drunk, don't like Yanks or like jewish jokes about arabs, forget it. 2/10
Spudulika
23/05/2012, 9:12 AM
Saw an advanced copy this weekend of "Chernobyl Diaries" - the concept is terrifying in itself, especially if you've read "Wolves eat dogs". Set in the town of Pripyat, close to Chernobyl, it's the usual stalker killer playing games with your head movie, but just set in an area that is beyond comprehension. The acting is stock, the story is basic, but the setting is literally out of this world. It's terrifying in a way, just to spend an hour and a half. If you've been anywhere near this area you can really believe that it can happen. 7/10.
A week ago watched a dvd of "Death Match", not the best, especially considering it's not exactly truthful, bit of an Escape to victory without the laughs. Never took off and the football scenes are boring. Not worth the bother. 2/10
Watchted "The Grey" last night ... 2 word honest review ... Horse Sh!te
14/06/2012, 1:48 PM
Watchted "The Grey" last night ... 2 word honest review ... Horse Sh!te
I've heard that alright ..... very poor reviews it has to be said. Not worth the trouble in watching it to confirm it.
SaucyJack
15/06/2012, 1:18 PM
"Killer Elite"-crap, turned it off half way thru.
"Contraband"- crap, fast forwarded thru most of it.
Really running out of films to rent from Netflix, when I have to get these two flicks.
16/06/2012, 12:12 AM
Just watched the grey. Didn't think it was that bad. Decent enough storyline even if it was a bit predictable as it went on. Not one I will watch again but as a once off I thought it was enjoyable.
Watched Good Will Hunting for the first time about 2 weeks ago. Excellent film and not what I expected at all. I don't know why but when I was younger I just had no interest in seeing it as I thought from the name of it it would be rubbish.
Spudulika
16/06/2012, 12:51 PM
A kind of agree with what is said about The Grey, the cgi isn't the best (if it ever is) but the ending is pure Irish, so that rescued it a little for me.
Save Prometheus last weekend, I only remembered about 20minutes in that it's the prequel to Alien, which I hoped would save it in my mind. But it ended up as absolute rubbish. It just tried to do too much with too little. Only for the cost of the ticket (it was in 3d) I'd have left before the hour. 2/10 (for music)
Madagascar 3 - enjoyed it (only saw the first one years ago in the cinema) and it had some nice jokes. Julien the Lemur and his acolytes stole the show when they were on screen. One for kiddies though, but if you've arrived late for MIB 3, why not. 5/10
horton
18/06/2012, 3:10 PM
Top Cat: The Movie - Rubbish. Whomever conceived this really didn't care about sticking to what made the original series good, instead everything screams "that'll do fine". The CGI looked out of place in parts, some of the jokes made no sense, Top Cat doesn't have the same charm or likeability as the original and same with some of the other characters. It's trying to reintroduce a classic show to a modern audience but made a complete balls of it. 1/10
Nazi Sky- The Nazi's set up a secret base on the moon(before WW2 ended) and they are plotting to return in 2018. Weird Sci-Fi/Comedy film but was quite enjoyable. Few funny bits from the Sarah Palin type character as US President. They've a lot of flying saucers! 8/10
Chernobyl Diaries - Spud gave a good review of this as someone who's visited there. I've not visited yet so can't comprehend the realism of it happening there. Tour guide sneaks a group of tourists into the abandoned city of Pripyat, tour guide goes missing and they quickly realise they are not alone. Fairly predictable in parts, and a few obvious plot holes. Nevertheless, enjoyable enough watch. 6/10
theworm2345
15/07/2012, 8:32 PM
Just watched Cyrus on HBO -- didn't know what to expect as I'd never seen a trailer but it did get a pretty high rating amongst critics on Rotten Tomatoes plus had a decent cast so I gave it a go. Came away pretty disappointed though there were a few funny moments. 5/10
Spudulika
17/07/2012, 7:42 PM
That's my boy - I saw it first in Russian, then online in english, no real difference as both were funny. Some parts were a bit awkward, maybe a bit too ott for Adam Sandler and definitely not for a younger audience like Waterboy etc. Some good laughs, nice story and a very sexy cameo from Susan Sarandon. Not one of his best movies, but worth a look. 5/10
Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom - I recreated a scene from this in Egypt a couple of months ago, so it was fun. Everybody, and I mean, everybody, know the "ah, chilled monkey brains" bit. The Russian version is a bit more gruesome than the one I remember from home. The mad priest plunges his hand into the guys chest for his heart and then the opening heals, and then the guy burns to death in stages. Still a great movie, funny acting, good story and the stunts still make you duck and weave. Perfect set up for the Rovers game tonight! 8/10
A N Mouse
25/07/2012, 8:41 PM
So nobody's seen the dark knight rises? :D
Also who knew steve carell was a pat's fan? (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1307068/)
26/07/2012, 8:29 AM
Killer Joe 7/10
Matthew Mcconaughey is brilliant (if he's creepy in Magic Mike, it's a whole other level in this) as is Juno Temple. It's extremely dark humour and fairly graphic in places. My kind of film really. Well worth checking out.
Dark Knight Rises 8/10
There's no stand out performance akin to Heath Ledger's Joker and there's a few mildly irritating plot holes but as a blockbuster, epic, type film it's about as much as could be asked for. Definitely didn't feel the 2hrs and 40mins going bye. I did ruin one of the main plot twists for myself by reading spoilers months ago though.
Magic Mike 6/10
It made me moist in my lady garden. Or it might have done had I been that way inclined and had a lady garden. It's funny, Matthew Mcconaughey is as creepy as ever, Kevin Nash of WWF fame appears and I definitely learned a few new moves. The ending is a bit of a let down and the story line is not the strongest but it was entertaining enough. And it's impossible not to be impressed by Channing Tatum's dancing. Seriously.