View Full Version : Rate the last film you saw

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35

Spudulika
28/07/2013, 12:59 PM
Grown Ups 2 - Predictable, some smiles, no need to follow up the first, waste of abilities. I like Adam Sandler, Water Boy is one of my favourite movies as it is just beyond parody of US collegiate sports and life in America. But this movie just didn't need to be made. 1.5/10

White House Down - It was the only one not in 3D in the cinema and the other half told me we'll have to see it. We did and it wasn't too bad, but it was also pretty terrible. It was funny in parts and James Woods is always interesting, but terrible in how poor an actor Channing Tatum is, at least in this. Waste of good buttered popcorn. 2/10

28/07/2013, 2:14 PM
The Worlds End-Pegg and Frost go on the pub crawl to end all pub crawls,their usual set of side kicks show up and I loved it,I'd put it just below Hot Fuzz but plenty of laughs and a soundtrack that was top notch if you liked the Manc music scene from a few years back 8/10

This Is The End,Seth Rogan,Jonah Hill,James Franco and a few famous cameos,the aforementioned play themselves at a a mad party in Franco's house when they gat attacked by a zombie gang and have to survive on meagre rations whilst they sit it out and wait for help to come,a bit laboured compared to the Pegg movie but enjoyable all the same 6.5/10.

28/07/2013, 2:15 PM
Grown Ups 2 - Predictable, some smiles, no need to follow up the first, waste of abilities. I like Adam Sandler, Water Boy is one of my favourite movies as it is just beyond parody of US collegiate sports and life in America. But this movie just didn't need to be made. 1.5/10

It must be at least 10 years since Sandler made a decent movie.

Neish
28/07/2013, 8:54 PM
Watched a movie last night starring Joaquin Phoenix and Phillip Seymour Hoffman last night called The Master. From 2012, written and directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, who done There Will Be Blood.
It's partly inspired by L. Ron Hubbard of Scientology fame.
The movie is based around Phoenixs character, basically being a drunk fool stumbling from place to place after coming home from the war. Hoffmans character takes him in, and transforms him, all for 'the cause'. It's where the whole scientology part comes in.
There's not a whole lot more I can say about it.

A really fantastic film, and completely worth watching. Hoffman and Phoenix are both superb in it. 100% one of the best movies of 2012. Only wish I'd watched it sooner. 10/10

Just watched it there last night thought it good for first hour/90 min but found it dragged out a bit from there on. Although I would agree that both Hoffman and Phoenix were excellent

Neish
28/07/2013, 8:55 PM
It must be at least 10 years since Sandler made a decent movie.

It hard when you basically play the same character in every film

29/07/2013, 3:42 AM
Anyone see the Art of Killing? Thought it was slightly over rated, a good idea for a movie but i dont think it worked. The movie follows some anti-Chinese/Communists from Indonesia who committed atrocities back in the day, and gets them to recreate their methods of torture and direct a movie about their activities. The idea from the director was to show that by going over their crimes remorse would set in. I dont think the remorse and sorrow that was shown was too genuine and the people highlighted were horrible characters that made themselves look awful (that might have been the point!). but for over 3 hours it was long!!!

Eminence Grise
29/07/2013, 8:44 AM
The Worlds End-Pegg and Frost go on the pub crawl to end all pub crawls,their usual set of side kicks show up and I loved it,I'd put it just below Hot Fuzz but plenty of laughs and a soundtrack that was top notch if you liked the Manc music scene from a few years back 8/10

Went to see it with Mrs Grise last week. Great soundtrack alright, and I liked the way Pegg and Frost played against type (basically by playing the kind of role the other usually plays) but I thought it was a bit disappointing. Some good laughs and one-liners and the cast gelled perfectly, but for me it felt unoriginal and formulaic. If Pegg and Wright weren't associated with it, it may never have been made, or - at least - not with the great cast that was assembled.

29/07/2013, 9:09 AM
Went to see it with Mrs Grise last week. Great soundtrack alright, and I liked the way Pegg and Frost played against type (basically by playing the kind of role the other usually plays) but I thought it was a bit disappointing. Some good laughs and one-liners and the cast gelled perfectly, but for me it felt unoriginal and formulaic. If Pegg and Wright weren't associated with it, it may never have been made, or - at least - not with the great cast that was assembled.

I suppose expectation comes into it as I had read it wasn't up to much and was expecting it to be poor but got pleasantly surprised,it was billed as the third leg of a trilogy so it's going to be somewhat unoriginal :)

Eminence Grise
29/07/2013, 9:56 AM
I have a hunch that calling it the third of a trilogy was a marketing ploy to get bums on seats. http://irishtimes.newspaperdirect.com/epaper/viewer.aspx . IIRC, wasn't Hot Fuzz seen as the follow-up to Shaun of the Dead? No mention of it being the midpoint of a trilogy.

Anyway, a trilogy has something running through it to connect all three parts - characters, location, motif, something. Shaun, HF and this are just three disconnected comic horror films. It's watchable, but no more than that.

29/07/2013, 1:36 PM
Anyway, a trilogy has something running through it to connect all three parts - characters, location, motif, something.

Cornettos http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Three_Flavours_Cornetto_trilogy :)

Eminence Grise
29/07/2013, 2:15 PM
Kyzysztof Kieslowski must be turning in his grave - all that effort when all he needed was a few icecreams. Blueberry Binoche, Vanilla Delpy and Strawberry Jacob!!!

The link, though, does show that the 'trilogy' was two-thirds shot before anybody thought of a link! I wonder if Walls put anything into the production funding?

junglegym
05/08/2013, 10:39 AM
Watched " The Conjuring " last night.
Really frightening show, edge of the seat stuff and quiet disturbing. Set in the 1970's and based on a true story. Well worth a visit if your into scary movies. 8/10.

05/08/2013, 11:10 AM
Yep The Conjuring is as good a horror as I've seen in a long time. Very enjoyable, some nice scares, builds the tension well. 8/10

patrickccfc
05/08/2013, 12:15 PM
Watched " The Conjuring " last night.
Really frightening show, edge of the seat stuff and quiet disturbing. Set in the 1970's and based on a true story. Well worth a visit if your into scary movies. 8/10.
yeah thought this was very good, hadn't seen a good horror in awhile. 8/10

Spudulika
07/08/2013, 8:26 PM
Saw The Conjuring tonight, some good scares, decent story and was a proper old style horror movie. Not too much, or very little, blood and gore, which was a really nice change. Acting was very solid. 6.5/10

A couple of weeks ago saw the movie "Bernie", Jack Black, Shirley MacLaine and Matt McConnaughey - it's supposed to be a true story, but it was fun to watch and some really interesting quirky turns. Jack Black was brilliant in parts. 7/10

patrickccfc
08/08/2013, 12:47 PM
Regrettably saw Grown-Ups 2 yesterday. It just gets worse for adam sandler. It was truly awful with the same old tired un-funny attempts at humor 0/10

08/08/2013, 6:18 PM
Decided to go to see Alpha Papa tonight. God bless living beside The Lighthouse.

However I decided I needed to have a session of Partridge clips beforehand.

This is just gold:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUzZD9NA90I

DannyInvincible
09/08/2013, 11:33 AM
Decided to go to see Alpha Papa tonight. God bless living beside The Lighthouse.

However I decided I needed to have a session of Partridge clips beforehand.

This is just gold:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUzZD9NA90I

How was it? Thinking of going to see it myself maybe over the weekend.

Spudulika
09/08/2013, 6:43 PM
I wish I could see Alpha Papa right now, love Alan Partridge. Instead, was stuck with Elysium.

Okay, put Jason Bourne into a transformer costume, throw in a political "message" and then spend lots of cash on special effects, explosions and salaries, and you have one of the worst movies of the year. Colin Farrell in Total Recall at least had a laugh going, but this crud! No, 2 hours that you'd be better off spending barstooling. Was very tempted to leave after 10mins except I thought herself was enjoying it. Then after half an hour she whispered "I'll just have a little snooze, it might be better when I wake up". Ok, no jokes, but seriously, this movie just didn't work. Plot flaws, poor acting, diabolical script and just one big formula, no. I'm going to go and watch some Russian tv to burn my brain clean. 1/10

Spudulika
15/08/2013, 3:57 AM
Was left at home alone, the attrocious commentary team on eurosport and russian tv had me turn to the net for something watch, and I found The Good Shepherd. It was draining, solid, emotional, difficult, awkward and yet was disjointed despite an all star cast. Essentislly about a damaged individual who joins the CIA (Matt Damon) it centres on his career development via flashbacks and the search for a mole in the agency who gave away the plan for the Bay of Pigs.

Angelina Jolie has one of her better outings and William Hurt is good, though the real star is Damon's son, especially in one gutwrenching Christmas party piece. I admit that I teared up as the piece ended and then felt something close to anger in a bookend scene at the rnd of the movie. It's a movie that at almost 3 hours long takes a solid watch, but is very worth it. 8/10

Spudulika
15/09/2013, 6:20 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ja5Q75hf6QI

A Documentary rather than a film, but very pertinent as the mission in Afghanistan draws to a close. Scary, sad and more of the same history that has afflicted the region since Alexander the Great. 6/10

junglegym
25/09/2013, 11:21 AM
Saw Halle Berry's "The Call" over the weekend, 1st half of the show was entertaining enough but the Director loses the plot half way through. I wont ruin it for ye but it's pure rubbish towards the end. For those of you that have seen it, you'll know what I'm talking about.
For those that haven't Don't bother with it !!
4/10

26/09/2013, 9:11 AM
Went to see "In a World..." last night starring Demetri Martin and Lake Bell (HOMINA)

I would read the synopsis on IMDB because it's a bit off the wall and sounds bizarre quite frankly.

A genuinely funny film with a really tight script. 100% must see.

8/10

DannyInvincible
15/10/2013, 1:02 PM
Watched Eugene Jarecki's documentary The House I Live In (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_House_I_Live_In_(2012_film)) last night and thought it an excellent and insightful critique of the history, vested agenda and distressing consequences of America's brutal 'War on Drugs'. The thoughts and opinions of creator of The Wire, David Simon, feature prominently. Can be viewed here if interested: http://www.vidbux.com/s5a7kg7gu3rz

Jarecki's Why We Fight (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Why_We_Fight_(2005_film)) about the rise and concerted maintenance of the US's military-industrial complex through global war-waging is also well worth checking out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TO7-GBRx1xM

15/10/2013, 3:14 PM
Went to see Prisoners on Sunday.

Still not sure what to make of it. It was enjoyable at the time but there was no real emotional attachment to any character.

Worth a watch but the neatly drawn together resolution is pretty annoying.

Definitely no “Gone Baby Gone”

5/10

15/10/2013, 4:05 PM
Went to see Prisoners on Sunday.

Still not sure what to make of it. It was enjoyable at the time but there was no real emotional attachment to any character.

Worth a watch but the neatly drawn together resolution is pretty annoying.

Definitely no “Gone Baby Gone”

5/10

I'd rate it a bit higher. Closer to a 7. Was enjoyable enough but you have a point regarding the characters, none of them leave a particular mark and it was more forgettable than I expected.

15/10/2013, 4:48 PM
I'd rate it a bit higher. Closer to a 7. Was enjoyable enough but you have a point regarding the characters, none of them leave a particular mark and it was more forgettable than I expected.

I employ the Edge classification system (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edge_(magazine))

Prisoners was average therefore a 5. :)

DannyInvincible
22/10/2013, 11:28 AM
Went to see Captain Phillips (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Captain_Phillips_(film)) on Sunday evening and really enjoyed it. Very intense throughout with a powerful ending and a strong performance from Tom Hanks. It's based on the hi-jacking of the Maersk Alabama merchant vessel in 2009 by pirates off the coast of Somalia.

A N Mouse
22/10/2013, 11:45 AM
Went to see Captain Phillips (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Captain_Phillips_(film)) on Sunday evening and really enjoyed it. Very intense throughout with a powerful ending and a strong performance from Tom Hanks. It's based on the hi-jacking of the Maersk Alabama merchant vessel in 2009 by pirates off the coast of Somalia.

Think very loosely based might be more accurate (http://www.theguardian.com/film/2013/oct/14/captain-phillips-tom-hanks-real-life-no-hero). There's a longer version of the same article somewhere. Sounds like a few managers I know.

DannyInvincible
22/10/2013, 3:56 PM
Think very loosely based might be more accurate (http://www.theguardian.com/film/2013/oct/14/captain-phillips-tom-hanks-real-life-no-hero). There's a longer version of the same article somewhere. Sounds like a few managers I know.

I'm aware of the criticisms of the real-life Phillips and of the suggestion that his portrayal in the film was perhaps a very flattering one by virtue of generous artistic licence - indeed, I read that piece on Sunday night after coming back from the cinema - but purely as a motion picture, it's an exhilarating watch. Same as how I've always had a soft-spot for Braveheart even though a lot of it is unhistorical nonsense.

22/10/2013, 9:36 PM
Captain Phillips (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1535109/?ref_=nv_sr_1), went to see it in the flicks and glad i did, brilliant film.

23/10/2013, 3:54 PM
Went to see "The Irish Pub" last Saturday.

A genuine must-see.

Some of the interaction between the pub owners and customers and the camera are priceless. One of the funniest films I've seen in a long time.

Didn't like the Mulligan's of Poolbeg St ad in the middle, because they do in their eye have the best Guinness in the city.

8/10

Spudulika
31/10/2013, 8:58 PM
Really rough 2 month spell kinda ended tonight (appropriately) by going to see "Escape Plan". Absolutely great movie. Makes no sense really, kinda as if MacGyver teamed up with Clint in Alcatraz. Arnie did a great job, his "You hit like a vegetarian" was class. Sly was very solid, hitting the right notes and just seemed at peace with himself. Jim Cazaviel was underused but he was a great baddy. Vinnie Jones was himself, but again underused. Solid cast (Sam Neill, non-existent) and fast paced storyline. Laughed a good few times and it kept you going. Recommend it for a date movie, because it's funny! 6.5/10

03/12/2013, 2:00 AM
Just finished watching The Hunger Games in preparation of hitting the cinema this week to see the seque. Thoroughly enjoyed it which was really unexpected. All in all a 7/10.

peadar1987
03/12/2013, 8:16 AM
Just finished watching The Hunger Games in preparation of hitting the cinema this week to see the seque. Thoroughly enjoyed it which was really unexpected. All in all a 7/10.

Saw the second one on Sunday. It was one of those films that I really enjoyed while watching, and was subsequently ruined in my memory by people pointing out plot holes/character idiocy outside the cinema!

Eminence Grise
03/12/2013, 1:58 PM
Saw Jappeloup at the weekend. It's about the French showjumper Piere Durand and his horse, Jappeloup, detailing their many, many, many setbacks on their journey to Seoul '88. It's well acted and the showjumping sequences are very good - the actor/director playing Durand is a former professional show-jumper. But at 2 hours + it's far too long.

Overall, a clear round on the jumps, but picking up time penalties makes it slip out of contention for a medal.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2018079/?ref_=nv_sr_1 for anybody interested.

03/12/2013, 2:19 PM
Don Jon was my last cinematic venture. Enjoyable enough, mix of humour and drama. Probably trying to be a bit more deep and meaningful than it really manages to be. 6/10

TheOneWhoKnocks
24/12/2013, 5:14 PM
Hoffa - 8 out of 10

Long movie but gripping all the way through.

Neish
30/12/2013, 7:11 PM
Watched "The Way" earlier good film directed by Emilio Estevez and staring his real life father Martin Sheen. The father (Sheen) travels to the Basque country to collect the remains of his son (Estevez) who died on the "camino de Santiago" 7.5/10

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1441912/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

30/12/2013, 7:22 PM
Un Prophete.

I loved it. Not flawless but gripping, cool and well acted. 8/10.

TheOneWhoKnocks
02/01/2014, 7:57 PM
Cop Land - 9 out of 10

An atmospheric, acting masterclass with quotable dialogue from an array of some of the best actors in the world; De Niro, Keitel and Liotta but Sylvester Stallone is the star. Probably his best acting performance. Underrated stuff.

23/01/2014, 1:59 AM
The Campaign. Typical Ferrell fodder. I liked Galifinaikis in it though. Watchable and that's all you can ask for with these movies.

5/10

American Psycho. Finally got around to watching it. Tis grand. I figure I'll enjoy it more after watching it again. Maybe I should get it on videotape.

7/10

That Awkward Moment. Eminently watchable. Some decent jokes. Not as bad as you would assume. Perfect for a Spudulika date night.

6/10

Bronies: The Extremely Unexpected Adult Fans of My Little Pony. Came up in conversation tonight and then it was on Netflix. JEEPERS! Entertaining flick about a subculture you could only imagine.

6/10

23/01/2014, 4:27 AM
Cop Land. Everything TOWK said. 8/10

Professor K
23/01/2014, 11:00 AM
Prisoners. Reminded me a little of another Jake Gyllenhaal movie, Zodiac, which was a better film, but some great acting in this one so I'll give it 7/10.

TheOneWhoKnocks
26/01/2014, 6:49 PM
The Imposter - 9/10

This documentary will blow your mind. Very thought provoking.

26/01/2014, 9:20 PM
The Imposter - 9/10

This documentary will blow your mind. Very thought provoking.

Shady family.

The Wolf of Wall Street - manic, intense, wild. And the stories behind it are true. Di Caprio is majestic as usual. Easily the best actor of his generation. Jonah Hill is excellent, laugh out loud excellent. McConnaghey's appearance is short but superb. I'd recommend this film highly. 9/10.

Oh, Margot Robbie. 10/10.

old git
26/01/2014, 9:34 PM
Shady family.

The Wolf of Wall Street - manic, intense, wild. And the stories behind it are true. Di Caprio is majestic as usual. Easily the best actor of his generation. Jonah Hill is excellent, laugh out loud excellent. McConnaghey's appearance is short but superb. I'd recommend this film highly. 9/10.

wolf of wall street agree with skstu cant really add more to above but highly recommend it but disagree with Margot Robbie 10/10 should be 11 out of ten ;)

McNasara
26/01/2014, 9:43 PM

Agree! I would recommend two films (especially for fans of Formula 1) that I watched recently.

Senna - one of the best documentaries I've seen. I was too young and don't remember his the F1 seasons, therefore my impression of the movie was even better. 9/10

Rush - not a documentary, but another true story film from the Formula One world. 8/10

McNasara
26/01/2014, 9:45 PM
but disagree with Margot Robbie 10/10 should be 11 out of ten ;)
Agree and with that!

TheOneWhoKnocks
26/01/2014, 9:52 PM
Donnie Brasco - 9/10

Johnny Depp is actually not a ponce in this movie.