View Full Version : Rate the last film you saw
Royal rover
19/11/2009, 10:43 AM
2012 - end of the world movie - 3 hours long awful stuff-
19/11/2009, 9:46 PM
The last two films I saw were:
Today - The Hills Run Red. Shockingly shyte film. Lovely set of jabbers in it though.
Monday - 500 days of Summer. I dunno if its the wife wearing me down or if it is an actual good film, but I loved it. Could relate to a lot of the film too, which is probably life wearing me down (:)), but what became increasingly obvious to me is that if a film has good music then thats half the battle with me. I'd recommend it anyway,
20/11/2009, 8:46 AM
Made poor Longfordian watch Farce of the Penguins last night. Jimmy and Karl are legends! Love that movie so much.
Neish
22/11/2009, 11:25 PM
Two film I rented over the wekened
Watchmen:Good when compared to most superhero/comic film but wasn't too impressed. Rent it but don't buy
Star Trek:Enjoyed the new take on the series and the way they dealt with the changing histroy/destiny of the characters. Yer man Nero should of watched the back to the future films, messing with the space time continuum never worked out good for Marty McFly
23/11/2009, 1:35 PM
2012: Stuff blows up. Except Mecca, because the makers were too scared. It's also way too long, at times I felt that the film was going to take until 2012. But, as I said, stuff blows up. 3/5
23/11/2009, 3:00 PM
Caught "The Long Good Friday" at about 2am in the morning on whatever channel. Had not seen this movie in years. Still brilliant. Hoskins as the cockney gangster and Brosnan in a bit part role as IRA man.
Grat movie,I think it was Brosnan's first film part,the first scene where Hoskins is back in town is great.
Lev Yashin
24/11/2009, 12:27 PM
Watched "Shoot 'em up" the other day...Its a prime example of a leave your brain at the door type of film....Does exactly what it says on the tin...stuff gets shot to piece's...bit gory but because the film is so tongue in cheek its not really shocking...Good cast...Clive Owen Paul Giamanti and Monica Belucci(phwaor!!!) and other heads you'll recognise.
As for a rating...well if your looking for a laugh and a bit of fun...3.5/5 f your looking for a serious thriller with a well written watertight plot -1/5
24/11/2009, 1:27 PM
saw The Men Who Stare At Goats tonight, was a bit meh, noting special, worth waiting for the dvd, 6/10Mad as a bag of cats. Clooney is on some serious gear this weather IMO.
Monday - 500 days of Summer. I dunno if its the wife wearing me down or if it is an actual good film, but I loved it. Could relate to a lot of the film too, which is probably life wearing me down (:)), but what became increasingly obvious to me is that if a film has good music then thats half the battle with me. I'd recommend it anyway,Came home and bought the soundtrack on iTunes. You can't beat a bit of Regina Spector and classic Smiths.
danthesaint
25/11/2009, 10:45 PM
i watched law abiding citizens the other night, absolutely brilliant film highly recommend it, gerard butler is deadly in it
26/11/2009, 8:20 AM
The White Ribbon
Extremely well shot and acted,Very slow moving with an ambiguous ending,I enjoyed it anyway
26/11/2009, 10:12 AM
saw 2012 on monday
amazing special effects, film itself is a bit melodramatic in places
ParkLife
26/11/2009, 12:21 PM
saw 2012 on monday
amazing special effects, film itself is a bit melodramatic in places
did you not think it dragged on forever??.....I was praying for the end of the world....
*Spolier alert* and after AAALLLL that.."oh look africa is fine..we'll just live there til the waters recede"...puuleeeassseeee.....
As for the cringeworthy speeches...and some of the worst acting in history...
AND those two Russian kids.....
26/11/2009, 3:52 PM
With that directors form what were ye expecting?:(
26/11/2009, 10:19 PM
He makes Michael Bay look like Fellini.
ParkLife
27/11/2009, 12:01 PM
I was expecting to be entertained...was looking for a no brainer action movie...but it was boring......dragged on forever and ever!!
Neish
27/11/2009, 11:08 PM
Just Watched "Terminator Salvation" Good but nothing special
galwayjames
27/11/2009, 11:18 PM
The Damned United - 8/10
They could've used some LOI grounds most definitely
The Orphan - stupid but good. I love my horrors. 7/10
The Knowing - some atrocious acting and an unintentionally funny storyline. Think 2012 meets Signs with typical Nicholas Cage acting and you'll have a good idea what its like. 5/10.
28/11/2009, 7:04 PM
12 rounds - easily in my top 5 worst films of all time.
Wolverine - below par and unless Bryan Singer is behind the camera I'm not watching another x men film.
2009 has been dreadful year for movies IMO. Let the right one in was quality but other than that I cannot think of many films that could be classed as above average (Star Trek and what else?!). Please God let Avatar be decent.
28/11/2009, 9:01 PM
2009 has been dreadful year for movies IMO. Let the right one in was quality but other than that I cannot think of many films that could be classed as above average (Star Trek and what else?!). Please God let Avatar be decent.
In fairness, off the top of my head I'd add to Let the Right One In (which was brilliant), Benjamin Button, Anvil, In the Loop, Moon, Hurt Locker, Adventureland, Creation, Up, District 9, Cloudy With a Chance of Meatball, and An Education.
I'll save it for the Films of the Year thread though. :)
danthesaint
28/11/2009, 9:48 PM
The Damned United - 8/10
They could've used some LOI grounds most definitely
watched that last nite, thought it was good.
Billsthoughts
29/11/2009, 9:48 PM
The White Ribbon
Extremely well shot and acted,Very slow moving with an ambiguous ending,I enjoyed it anyway
saw this today...did i read something about there being something in the final shot or am i mixing it up with another film..was left feelin what the hell was it all about..
don ramo
29/11/2009, 10:36 PM
watched 2012 tonight, had low expectaions and came out quite happy, much better than i thought it would be, thought it was well paced, told a good central story about how things came to be the way they were, and also had 2 or 3 side stories that were worked into the film fairly well,
4/5
30/11/2009, 9:37 AM
saw Law Abiding Citizen, quite a good thriller until the last half hour when it all gets a bit silly
30/11/2009, 3:59 PM
I saw Paranormal Activity last night.
I will be sleeping with the lights on for the foreseeable future.
SaucyJack
01/12/2009, 7:25 PM
Watched "Thirst" the other day, can't recommend it, thought it was boring and plodding(clocked in at about 2hrs 20 minutes), was expecting good things as it was directed by the guy that did Old boy and Lady Vengeance. To make things worse I didn't realize it was a vampire movie until I put it on, I'm pretty sick of all things vampire.
01/12/2009, 8:57 PM
Law Abiding Citizen...Brilliant!
02/12/2009, 8:39 AM
saw this today...did i read something about there being something in the final shot or am i mixing it up with another film..was left feelin what the hell was it all about..
it's mentioned in this review
http://www.time.com/time/specials/packages/article/0,28804,1898196_1898204_1900375-1,00.html
I didn't pick up on it at all
02/12/2009, 9:27 AM
Law Abiding Citizen...Brilliant!
It's a an excellent thriller, but did you not think it all got a bit too clever for its own good with about a half hour left in it?
Battery Rover
02/12/2009, 9:38 AM
I saw Paranormal Activity last night.
I will be sleeping with the lights on for the foreseeable future.
Went to it Friday night and didn't think much of it although some people in the cinema spent half the night screaming
02/12/2009, 11:41 AM
Went to it Friday night and didn't think much of it although some people in the cinema spent half the night screaming
I thought it was really eerie, and didn't realize how much it had affected me until I left the cinema and found I was shaking. I have no problems with the gore and violence of Antichrist (actually, I do, but not in the sense that I can't watch it), I thought Orphan was one of the best movies of the year but with both of those films I was able to watch it distanced from the movie because "it's not real life." Paranormal Activity was far more upsetting and disturbing because the couple in it behaved like any other young couple in a similar situation would. Even the tension between them was well managed.
Maybe I found it scarier because they reminded me a lot of myself and my girlfriend-we're similar ages and the way they reacted to the camera at the beginning is pretty much how she or I would if I brought home a camera one day. Even the way they interacted, in the opening third of the film anyway, was similar to our relationship and that might have made it have an even greater effect on me. Either way, I fond the whole thing pretty unsettling.
Peter Bradshaw wrote a good review in The Guardian that I totally agree with:
It has been some time since I physically jumped at a scary movie. Horror has become a predictable genre and these days, maggoty skulls can leap out of wardrobes all they want, and we merely yawn. But in this film, all it took was one bedroom door to move 12 inches, unaided – just that, nothing else – and I felt like leaping into the arms of the person next to me. And there were moments when I thought I would not just need to change my trousers, but have them professionally incinerated by a biohazard disposal team.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/film/2009/nov/25/paranormal-activity-review
02/12/2009, 5:50 PM
ok I think I'll stay clear of Paranormal activity........... you were shaking thischarmingman? Bloody hell!!!
Battery Rover
02/12/2009, 6:35 PM
Should have said on my post about Paranormal Activity I have a great interest in the Paranormal and other life forms so takes a lot in these films to impress me.
I have had a number of personal experiences from about the age of 3.
On another note anyone been to see Fourth Kind yet as I am hoping to make that this week.
04/12/2009, 10:41 PM
A Serious Man is a must for Coen fans.
don ramo
05/12/2009, 12:33 AM
must not watch another coen film, not that there films are bad its just there not my cup or tea, i always watching there films buying into all the hype only for a massive let down each time,
anyway saw the decent part 2 tonight, avearge enough show, starts off right where the first left off, the survivor one has amnesia and ends up going back into the caves with a rescue party,
probably a 3/5
MMVIII
05/12/2009, 11:51 AM
Went to see Law Abiding Citizen last night. Absolutely brilliant film.
danthesaint
06/12/2009, 1:24 AM
The Knowing - some atrocious acting and an unintentionally funny storyline.
i thought this film was gonna be good, and thought it was deadly, but the ending was the worse ending ever.
06/12/2009, 8:36 AM
Have to agree with the lads, Law Abiding Citizen is a cracking film. Some real different twists and story line.
It all got a bit too far fetched in the end but still 9 out of 10.
The part with the Judge on the phone made me literally jump along with most others in the room. :p
06/12/2009, 9:57 PM
watched Goal III today and it was one of the worst movies have ever spent an afternoon watching.
Just watched The Dammed United and think it is bloody brilliant. Quality acting too.
07/12/2009, 12:51 PM
Caught You Only Live Twice the other day.
It's definitely lost it's appeal over the years. I remember watching it as a kid and thinking it was brilliant.
Even for a Bond film, it seems far fetched. Donald Pleasance was good though.
Recorded "Tupac: Resurrection" http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0343121/ off RTE on sunday night and just got round to watching it there now. A documentry on the life and work of gangsta rapper Tupac Shakur.
Thought it was a decent enough show. I was a fairly big rap/hip-hop fan in the mid nighties and 2-pac was alway one of my fav rappers.
Not sure what to make if him after watching this, most of the time he came across a a firly decent indivual but seemed to put on the big gangset act when a camera was put in his face
08/12/2009, 7:40 PM
Should have said on my post about Paranormal Activity I have a great interest in the Paranormal and other life forms so takes a lot in these films to impress me.
I thought it was over hyped,good but not that scarey.
don ramo
10/12/2009, 1:08 AM
saw law abiding citizen tonight, what a show, i thought the first 5 minutes were very disturbing, but it set a brilliant tone for the film,
never thought id like jamie foxx so much in a film,
10/10, deffinately one of the best of 2009
ATFC-1887
10/12/2009, 1:33 AM
i nearly sh*t myself watchin paranormal activity and i normally dont get scared by horrors haha
laughed a few times at different parts but jesus christ it was terrifying
Im going to see Where the Wild Things Are on Friday night.I've read conflicting reviews for it but i dont pay attention to reviews anymore so i'll go along and see for myself.Im not familiar with the book its based on even though i did read alot as a kid,that book would seem to have passed me by.It's all costumes too,no CGI etc,a nice touch i think,looking forward to it.
17/12/2009, 2:18 PM
saw law abiding citizen tonight, what a show, i thought the first 5 minutes were very disturbing, but it set a brilliant tone for the film,
never thought id like jamie foxx so much in a film,
10/10, deffinately one of the best of 2009
Thought Jamie Foxx's character came across as a bit of a tool. I was kind of hoping he'd get blown up as well. Good entertainment though alright.
17/12/2009, 11:10 PM
I watched Das Boot for the first time in 10 yrs (and only the second time) the other night. Great great film, if long.
Would highly recommend it.
9/10
ken foree
18/12/2009, 7:23 PM
I watched Das Boot for the first time in 10 yrs (and only the second time) the other night. Great great film, if long.
Would highly recommend it.
9/10
german w/ subtitles or the dubbed one? i started the dubbed one and thought... this is ridiculous. must watch it, an alleged classic!
total hoofball
18/12/2009, 10:08 PM
I thought it was ok but nothing more, when I saw it I probably wasn't in the form to have my thinking cap on thus bits of it went over my head
Jamie Foxx was excellent in The Soloist,totally outshone Robert Downey Jnr but then again thats not hard.
I went to see Where The Wild Things Are on Friday night,not what i was expecting,you may think its just alot of running and shouting but its all in a child's imagination and so makes sense,kinda.There's probably something better in the cinema right now,i'd give it 6.5 out of 10.Soundtrack is excellent.