View Full Version : 2006 Attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29

15/11/2006, 9:42 AM
I haven't got the greatest memory but I think there was about 500 at the Longford V Shels game

15/11/2006, 10:34 AM
The Rovers Limerick game on Sunday the 10th of September had circa 900 at it.

BohsFans
15/11/2006, 12:21 PM
Bohs v Bray Wands official: 718 :eek: :mad:

ColinR
15/11/2006, 12:23 PM
I'm not bitter all actually. Over 36 games you deserve the title. Well done. I am particularly impressed with your defensive record this year.

However, you can be sure if we had been in your situation then we would have had at least 3,000 there.

:D :D you are joking yeah??

when craptown last won the premier division, there was only around 500 there for it, don't see how you can mock 1900 at a match to win division one.

15/11/2006, 3:05 PM
Shocking attendance for a team about to win the league, no offene ment by that ROVERS lads but that is brutal.

Really? Look at what bohsfans posted.

It was a sunday and there was zero away support. That is not an exact figure. Look at the date of the game. Two months before end of the season. How we were "about to win the league"?

Think mcfly think.

Louth4sam
15/11/2006, 3:16 PM
:D :D you are joking yeah??

when craptown last won the premier division, there was only around 500 there for it, don't see how you can mock 1900 at a match to win division one.

Typical drogs bullsh!t, i was at that match and there were a few thousand at it. Why do drogheda fans have to write so much sh!te :rolleyes:

ColinR
15/11/2006, 4:27 PM
Typical drogs bullsh!t, i was at that match and there were a few thousand at it. Why do drogheda fans have to write so much sh!te :rolleyes:

there definately was not 'a few thousand' at it. there were arguing craptown fans who claimed that there was around a thousand fans at it on the drogs mb a couple of years back, with one eventually admitting around the 500 mark which i stated above.

you might have been there, but you were one of the few (unless your fellow craptown fans and the tv highlights are all lying about that day :rolleyes: )

Louth4sam
15/11/2006, 9:41 PM
If thats true post the link to your forum where someone from dundalk said that!! I was at the match so stop talking through your arse.

oriel
15/11/2006, 10:09 PM
As Ive posted elsewhere here.

Its a major source of annoyance for the everyone connected with Drog Utd Football Club that after 3 years of massive investment into the side and a regular top 4 placing (and 2 trophies landed after 44 years of trying) they STILL cannot attract an avg of 2,000 per game, the current avg actually slighlty down on last year at around 1,700 per game, and worse with 5 teams less than 30 miles away, maybe 3 or 400 of this is away fans.

Simply no demand for what they have on offer.

Now that is a shocking state of affairs.

ColinR
16/11/2006, 8:21 AM
If thats true post the link to your forum where someone from dundalk said that!! I was at the match so stop talking through your arse.

you mat have been at the match, but that does not mean you are not bulls~tting :rolleyes: thousands ha!

the thread that i was talking about was on the old network54 message boards, if you find the address you can search. Our old friend stephen contributed, and his estimate of the crowd was certainly not 2000 (the minimimum your 'thousands' :rolleyes: crowd suggests.

as for oriel's suggestion at us being annoyed at our average crowd of 2000. don't think it bothers too many people, maybe excluding the board. it is a league wide mailaise in attendances - cork can only get 3,003 from a city of what 200,000?, derry get 2,973 out of a city of 80,000 or 90,000. On that basis, i think an average crowd of 1,721 out of town of 40,000 approx is comparable against clubs who are at the top end of the table. only sligo have a better crowd to population ratio i would imagine. and yes 300 or 400 are away fans included in the average :rolleyes: , based on that wild assumption, it could easily (and just as inaccurately) claimed that craptown's crowd would be closer to its usual 500 or 600 were it not for the hoards of rovers fans who have artificially inflated your average crowds

oriel
16/11/2006, 8:58 AM
I touched a raw nerve there then ! Superb reaction. You`re so easy to rise up.

Ps our last home game was v Limerick, the crowd was not too far off your average for the season.

Also I`d say Derry fans are the most consistent home and away all season, they definitely derseve a mention. Hope they win the lge on friday.

16/11/2006, 3:44 PM
last time Dundal won the league they beat us and Derry lost in Athlone I was there about 2,500 others and no one expected Derry to lose in Athlone so it was a bolt out of the blue.

I can remember huge crowds in Dundalk like the tear they beat Pats to the title i was there too. biggest crowd i ever remember in Drogheda was for the playoff robbery and there was about 2,000 with over 500 from Galway so cop on celdrog.

16/11/2006, 3:44 PM
last time Dundalk won the league they beat us and Derry lost in Athlone I was there about 2,500 others and no one expected Derry to lose in Athlone so it was a bolt out of the blue.

I can remember huge crowds in Dundalk like the tear they beat Pats to the title i was there too. biggest crowd i ever remember in Drogheda was for the playoff robbery and there was about 2,000 with over 500 from Galway so cop on celdrog.

16/11/2006, 7:00 PM
Agreed, I reckon the Shels V Bohs game will have an embarrashing/laughable/shocking/sad/ridiculous gate. :o :mad: :(

Well since there is no replay I change my mind about tomorrow night's attendance!

16/11/2006, 8:40 PM
last time Dundal won the league they beat us and Derry lost in Athlone I was there about 2,500 others and no one expected Derry to lose in Athlone so it was a bolt out of the blue.

1995 - I remember it well. Standing outside the launderette on Bath Uni campus, as it was the only place in the whole feckin town you could get a proper RTE signal...

We missed a penalty as well (Gauld ???). Annoyingly, the title that year would've given us our second 'Treble' - all we had to do was not lose to Athlone....... :o :mad:

Louth4sam
16/11/2006, 10:03 PM
Was there not two clubs ahead of dundalk derry and shels maybe? If i remember correctly we need Derry to lose and get a better result then the other team. We came from nowhere that season. We where right at the bottom and put a great run together at the end.

oriel
17/11/2006, 8:17 AM
Yeah derry lost in athlone and shels could only draw with pats at home, meant dundalk from odds of 8/1 to win it that day won the lge by a point, as gufc said, no one expected it. I still say that team were the worst ever to win the lge, we must have lost 8 games that season, then again the rest must have been as bad as us. I wouldn`t go as far as 2,500, maybe 2,000 at the game from memory

18/11/2006, 11:17 PM
Apparently 160 at kilkenny with 100 of them away supporters

18/11/2006, 11:27 PM
Yeah derry lost in athlone and shels could only draw with pats at home, meant dundalk from odds of 8/1 to win it that day won the lge by a point, as gufc said, no one expected it. I still say that team were the worst ever to win the lge, we must have lost 8 games that season, then again the rest must have been as bad as us. I wouldn`t go as far as 2,500, maybe 2,000 at the game from memory

You and a few others have it wrong. The Derry Athlone match finished 1-1 that day, letting Dundalk overtake us.

Celdrog
19/11/2006, 12:19 AM
What did I say?:confused:

WindmillWarrior
19/11/2006, 12:08 PM
Would guess maybe 1,500 at Sligo v Drogs. And 2,200 at Drogs v Waterford.

chippie0001
19/11/2006, 4:23 PM
Looking forward to seeing the ranking for the season when they come out. I reckon our crowd will be well down on last season, hardly surprising considering how bad our season was but will be interested to see where we rank against the team ahead of us. The figures overall will be disappointing I reckon and more than likely down on 2005 which is a bad omen.

19/11/2006, 7:25 PM
Update after the final round. 2005 and 2004 in brackets. FD and PD indicate average crowd got in a different division to current year. 1 and 2 refer to first round and second round of matches.

I'll put a few posts on other forums and see if I can fill in any of the gaps. Will put up a revised listing in a week or so. To date, we have 99% of Premier Division attendances and 92% of First Division attendances, compared to 99% and 91% respectively last year.

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1463 (1976; 2340)
Bray - 1057 (1550; 818 FD) (missing Longford 2)
Cork - 3003 (3644; 4033) (missing St Pat's 1)
Derry - 2973 (2698; 1672) (missing Sligo 2)
Drogheda - 1751 (1682; 1554)
Dublin City - 488 (175 FD; 592)
Longford - 725 (1004; 1131) (missing Bohs 2 and Shels)
Pat's - 1342 (1599; 1882)
Shels - 1690 (1949; 2158)
Sligo - 1859 (1794 FD; 781 FD) (missing Drogheda)
UCD - 546 (653; 306 FD)
Waterford - 915 (1513; 1753)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 421 (316; 291)
Cobh - 338 (403; 240) (missing Finn Harps (both), Limerick 1 and Rovers 2)
Dundalk - 1078 (474; 591)
Harps - 424 (1347 PD; 1106) (missing Dundalk)
Galway - 1148 (566; 571)
Kildare - 265 (186; 298) (missing Harps 2)
Kilkenny - 122 (185; 110) (missing Cobh (both) and Kildare (both))
Limerick - 365 (669; 188) (missing Athlone 2 and Rovers 2)
Monaghan - 204 (183; 182) (missing Harps 2, Kildare 2 and Limerick 2)
Rovers - 1089 (1539 PD; 1349 PD)

Premier Division average - 1513 (1759)
First Division average - 571 (520)

Overall average - 1056 (1195)

Recent games missing -
Cobh v Rovers
Harps v Dundalk
Limerick v Athlone
Monaghan v Kildare

19/11/2006, 7:29 PM
Couple of other random stats, starting with top crowds. The list is also sorted according to clubs' final ranking in the average crowd stakes.

Team Top
PREMIER DIVISION
Cork City 5,500 v Shels
Derry City 5,000 v Shels
Sligo Rovers 2,900 v Shels
Drogheda United 2,800 v Shels
Shelbourne 4,000 v Bohs
Bohemians 3,104 v Shels
Saint Pat's Ath 2,145 v Shels
Bray Wanderers 2,800 v Shels
Waterford Utd 1,250 v Derry
Longford Town 1,421 v Sligo
UCD 1,250 v Shels
Dublin City 1,900 v Bohs

FIRST DIVISION
Galway United 3,092 v Rovers
Shamrock Rovers 2,000 v Dundalk
Dundalk 3,500 v Rovers
Finn Harps 700 v Rovers
Athlone Town 2,000 v Monaghan
Limerick FC 1,100 v Rovers
Cobh Ramblers 550 v Rovers
Kildare County 1,100 v Rovers
Monaghan United 800 v Rovers
Kilkenny City 278 v Dundalk

19/11/2006, 7:32 PM
Shels/Bohs, guessing 4000ish. Seemed a huge gate. Bohs fans in Riverside was pretty decent, the New Stand was full, and the main stand was so full it was locked off by security.

Of course, I could be miles off! :)

19/11/2006, 7:35 PM
Percentage change in the last thre seasons -

Club Overall 2006 2005
Athlone Town 44.83% 33.21% 8.72%
Bohemians -37.49% -25.97% -15.56%
Bray Wanderers 29.29% -31.80% 89.57%
Cobh Ramblers 40.37% -16.15% 67.40%
Cork City -25.54% -17.59% -9.64%
Derry City 77.79% 10.20% 61.33%
Drogheda United 12.66% 4.08% 8.24%
Dublin City -17.55% 179.64% -70.52%
Dundalk 82.31% 127.38% -19.82%
Finn Harps -61.71% -68.55% 21.73%
Galway United 101.11% 102.77% -0.82%
Kildare County -10.83% 42.47% -37.41%
Kilkenny City 10.78% -34.05% 67.96%
Limerick FC 93.67% -45.44% 254.95%
Longford Town -35.90% -27.83% -11.18%
Monaghan United 11.70% 11.09% 0.55%
St Pat's Ath -28.70% -16.06% -15.06%
Shamrock Rovers -19.24% -29.19% 14.05%
Shelbourne -21.70% -13.27% -9.72%
Sligo Rovers 137.99% 3.62% 129.67%
UCD 78.20% -16.43% 113.24%
Waterford Utd -47.82% -39.52% -13.72%

Premier -18.35% -14.01% -5.04%
First 11.56% 9.87% 1.54%

Overall average -13.33% -11.62% -1.94%

The columns from left to right are % change from 2004 to 2006, from 2004 to 2005 and from 2005 to 2006. Figures in bold indicate a season in a new division.

19/11/2006, 7:39 PM
Shels/Bohs, guessing 4000ish. Seemed a huge gate. Bohs fans in Riverside was pretty decent, the New Stand was full, and the main stand was so full it was locked off by security.

Gone with that until something better comes along! Stats updated.

Should be noted, of course, that they should be taken with the usual pinch of salt for obvious reasons.

19/11/2006, 7:41 PM
Recent games missing -
Bray v SligoAbout 600/650.

chippie0001
19/11/2006, 7:45 PM

I would have said somewhere between 3,500 and 4,000 for the game as well.

19/11/2006, 7:53 PM
Jaysis I thought there was alot more than 4,000 there :eek: :o

19/11/2006, 8:00 PM
Hopefully there will be an increase in crowds overall next year. Games clashing with the World Cup and plenty of midweek games hit many crowds this season. With the standard of football increasing all the time and hopefully clubs in Europe will be more professional and play games midweek and at the weekend will ensure a rise in attendences.

Comic Book Guy
19/11/2006, 8:11 PM
Cobh Rams v rovers, I reckon about 1,500.

Paddyfield
19/11/2006, 8:33 PM
150 at Kilkenny City V. Galway United :eek:

monzo
19/11/2006, 8:34 PM
I think maybe 500 at the Harps match earlier.

19/11/2006, 9:42 PM
Jaysis I thought there was alot more than 4,000 there :eek: :o

I would have guessed 4,000 from tv footage. Bohs had 1000 odd.

I have no doubt our crowd are down but i think the 2004 figures were too high. Terraces hard to estimate & people standing in seated areas much easier to estimate.

thedoyler
19/11/2006, 9:58 PM
there was probably 1,000 approx at bray sligo judging by previous crowds 3 sides of the ground had a lot of people at them. The previous estimates are far too low id say.

depor
20/11/2006, 12:12 AM
hopefully from next year there will be definite figures as clubs will have to have proper counters on the turnstiles to comply with new regulations. i think the days of clubs quoting less than actual attendences to avoid the revenue are coming to an end.

20/11/2006, 1:06 AM
Pineapple - what figure have you included for City v Cork on Friday?

There was easily 7,000+ at that game, yet you've got our game v Shels down as our top game. :confused:

I'll ask for the official figure, but the ground holds 7,700 and was easily at least 90% full on Friday.

That would give us top individual attendnace for the season, and possibly top average crowd as well. :cool:

20/11/2006, 10:43 AM
Pineapple - what figure have you included for City v Cork on Friday?The average is the same as the previous one so either he hasn't included it or exactly 2973. :)

20/11/2006, 11:07 AM
Update on City attendances :

Two different people who work for the club have given me 2 very different figures for Friday night's attendance ! Therefore, I would go with the 'official' figure of 6,800.

Versus Sligo, difficult given that one of them was back in March (I assume you're only talking League games here ?). But take a figure of 3,000 for March and 3,500 for the October game, and you won't be too far wrong on average bnetween the 2.

20/11/2006, 12:40 PM
Yeah, left Derry v Cork out of the attendances and out of the missing games. Apologies. I'll stick in 6800 so.

Derry v Sligo would be the second game, so I'll put in 3500 there.

higgins
20/11/2006, 1:42 PM
You will have to go higher than 4,000 for the Shels Bohs game.

Main Stand was packed as was the Drumcondra Stand. they even had to open the corner of the riverside for Shels fans. Thats over 3,000 people in my opinion and I'd say 1,000 was minimum amount in the Riverside

It was closer to 5,000 from what I could see.

20/11/2006, 5:56 PM
I would have put yesterday's attendance at Finn Park at about 600. Dundalk had a good crowd up with them, and outnumbered the home support.

soylent green
20/11/2006, 7:09 PM
Shels v Bohs

Main Stand 1800 Full
New Stand 800 Full
Riverside Stand 1750 1/2 full of Bohs
Riverside Stand 200 with Shels

Cobh v Shamrock Rovers

Estimate from SRFC club text was 500 away fans. Cobh Ramblers website says 900 to 1000 Rovers fans.

Maybe 150 home fans at most

20/11/2006, 8:23 PM
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1463 (1976; 2340) Down big time this season/B]
Bray - 1092 (1550; 818 FD) (missing Longford 2 and Sligo 2) DOWN BIG TIME
Cork - 3003 (3644; 4033) (missing St Pat's 1) Down by a significant figure
Derry - 2973 (2698; 1672) (missing Sligo 2) Up
Drogheda - 1751 (1682; 1554) Up
Dublin City - 488 (175 FD; 592) Down on Previous Premier outing
Longford - 725 (1004; 1131) (missing Bohs 2 and Shels) Down by a significant figure
Pat's - 1342 (1599; 1882) Down
Shels - 1458 (1949; 2158) (missing Bohs 2) Down by a large factor
Sligo - 1859 (1794 FD; 781 FD) (missing Drogheda) Up slightly
UCD - 546 (653; 306 FD) Down by a significant margin
Waterford - 915 (1513; 1753) Down by a significant Margin almost halved over 2 seasons.

SO OF THE 12 TEAMS IN THIS SEASONS PREMIER REGISTERED 9 HAVE RECORDED DECREASES.

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 421 (316; 291) UP SLIGHTLY
Cobh - 338 (403; 240) (missing Finn Harps (both), Limerick 1 and Rovers 2) UP SLIGHTLY
Dundalk - 1078 (474; 591) UP LARGELY
Harps - 424 (1347 PD; 1106) (missing Dundalk) DOWN MASSIVELY
Galway - 1148 (566; 571) DOUBLED AND THEN SOME
Kildare - 265 (186; 298) (missing Harps 2) back up marginally UP A LITTLE BIT
Kilkenny - 122 (185; 110) (missing Cobh (both) and Kildare (both)) DOWN
Limerick - 365 (669; 188) (missing Athlone 2 and Rovers 2) DOWN BY ALMOST 50%
Monaghan - 204 (183; 182) (missing Harps 2, Kildare 2 and Limerick 2) UP
Rovers - 1089 (1539 PD; 1349 PD) DOWN ON PREMIER FIGURES BUT BEST IN DIVISION MY A MILE

Premier Division average - 1504 (1759) DOWN A LOT
First Division average - 571 (520) UP A BIT

Overall average - 1050 (1195) DOWN SIGNIFICANTLY

[B]Crowds are decreasing FACT!

20/11/2006, 9:12 PM
How are Rovers best in the division by a mile when Galway's average was higher and Dundalks very similar?

20/11/2006, 10:01 PM
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1463 (1976; 2340) Down big time this season/B]
Longford - 725 (1004; 1131) (missing Bohs 2 and Shels) Down by a significant figure
Waterford - 915 (1513; 1753) Down by a significant Margin almost halved over 2 seasons.

SO OF THE 12 TEAMS IN THIS SEASONS PREMIER REGISTERED 9 HAVE RECORDED DECREASES.

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 421 (316; 291) UP SLIGHTLY
Cobh - 338 (403; 240) (missing Finn Harps (both), Limerick 1 and Rovers 2) UP SLIGHTLY
Dundalk - 1078 (474; 591) UP LARGELY
Harps - 424 (1347 PD; 1106) (missing Dundalk) DOWN MASSIVELY
Galway - 1148 (566; 571) DOUBLED AND THEN SOME
Kildare - 265 (186; 298) (missing Harps 2) back up marginally UP A LITTLE BIT
Kilkenny - 122 (185; 110) (missing Cobh (both) and Kildare (both)) DOWN
Limerick - 365 (669; 188) (missing Athlone 2 and Rovers 2) DOWN BY ALMOST 50%
Monaghan - 204 (183; 182) (missing Harps 2, Kildare 2 and Limerick 2) UP
Rovers - 1089 (1539 PD; 1349 PD) DOWN ON PREMIER FIGURES BUT BEST IN DIVISION MY A MILE

Premier Division average - 1504 (1759) DOWN A LOT
First Division average - 571 (520) UP A BIT

Overall average - 1050 (1195) DOWN SIGNIFICANTLY

[B]Crowds are decreasing FACT!

Hang on CTID.

Firstly, all the information isn't in yet. There's 2 large City gates to add in - the 6,800 one from Friday alone has the potential to add up to 1,000 to the average gate at each Premier game from last Friday night alone, for example. So let's wait until we have all the figures up there, as I suspect the overall average shown above will be much closer to the 1,100 mark.

Secondly, you're clearing trying to spin your own view here, as you're not beign consistent with either your maths or yuor conclusions. You give the First Division average (571 vs 520 last year) as "up a bit", yet you have the Premier Division average (1504 v 1759 last year) as "Down a lot" and the overall average (1050 vs 1195 in 2005) as "Down significantly". Even ignoring for a moment the boost the Premier figure will get when all the outstanding attendances are added in - you're claiming that a 10% year-on-year increase in the First Division only represents " a bit", whilst a 12% year-on-year overall decrease is "down significantly" and a 14% decrease in the Prem is "down a lot". The statistical difference between 10-12% and 10-14% isn't that big - so what sort of change do figures in that region represent : a bit of a change, a lot of a change or a significant change ?? You need to be consistent here. Apart from looking to add your own spin, I can see no statistical reason for the differing conclusions you've reached here. As any statistician will tell you, its percentage changes, not absolute numbers, that are key in analysing trends like the above.

Your bias also shows in the fact that you're happy to summarise that 9 of the 12 Premier clubs have apparently suffered average declines year-on-year, yet you fail to likewise summarise that 7 of the 10 First Divison clubs have experienced an INCREASE in attendances.

Thirdly - any robust statistics and averages usually list a margin of area to reflect the fact that there will be a likely range across which the figures are wrong. Obviously we have no idea of the margin of error - but given that we are working almost entirely off of peoples opinions to start with, and also that Pineapple has been consistently conservative in the figures he's taking, it would be entirely reasonable to suggest that the margin of error on these figures could be anywhere as high as 10-15%. If not even more. Giving that the incomplete figures currently sugest a 12% overall decline year-on-year, even before the get the boost from the missing attendnaces, the likely nmargin of error makes it difficult to give them the degree of credibility that you're asserting.

Finally - these figures are not "fact". They are clearly estimates - and probably broadly good ones at that. But they are most definitely not fact.

This exercsie in tracking attendances is incredibly useful. It suggests that some clubs are up and some are down, and that the changes broadly reflect the on-the-field changes the clubs involved were facing. No huge surprise there then. But they don't provide any robust evidence to say that overall crowds are declining by any more than a relatively small amount. And given that there are plenty of people (perhaps yourself included ?) desperately scraping for evidence to support their view that Summer football is a disaster, it would be flawed for anyone to attempt to present these stats as conclusive evidence either way.

BohsFans
21/11/2006, 12:43 AM
And 2,200 at Drogs v Waterford.

Having watched el weekly, I find that hard to believe!

Have you got a source:confused:

21/11/2006, 2:31 PM
Galways Average is well over 1450 according to our offical Figures.The figures for the Rovers and Dunadlk games were well over 4,000 but could not be reported as over 3100 due to HSE reasons.

Our crowds have increased by over 150% and would have been bigger were it not for the fact that the Town Side is closed down for redevelopment which is starting on the 27/11 with the reconfiguration of the lights followed by a new stand which will bring the seated capacity to over 4,000.This will be completed hopefully just before we kick off next season.

21/11/2006, 2:45 PM
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1463 (1976; 2340) Down big time this season

Easily explainable. They've had a woeful season and have been in decline for several years.

They've had a diabolical season

They dropped from 1st to 4th. They had exceptional figures last season and the season before due to figuring more prominently in the title race.

They've two good title challenging seasons behind them now.

They had a very good start and a decent season.

They died midway and never got a full programme of the Dublin clubs.

They've had a dull low placed league campaign and have been into decline a couple of years running.

Cup run aside they've had a poor season and have been poor for years now.

They've had a season quite poor for a patch, ever declining crowds of Dublin rivals, lack of Shamrock Rovers. But their crowds should be better.

They've done well.

Some of the same as Shels. No Rovers, poor Dublin crowds in general, playing Pat's on Paddy's day, WC clashes.

Diabolical season and have been in decline for some time.

There's been the absence of Shamrock Rovers to be replaced by Dub City who had significantly lower attendance figures, there was the WC clash and the fact that some of the bigger clubs in the country have gone backwards this year in places.

There's very explainable reasons for the decrease in attendances and they'll bounce back up next season. The general low attendances of the last two/three decades are far more alarming than this dip.