View Full Version : 2006 Attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

20/07/2006, 7:33 AM
No offence to Limerick obviously, but it's a sad indictment of the league that one of the biggest crowds at any ground this season is for an English First Division side's reserves and youths.

That is the mentality we are up against folks. Not to mention the so called soccer fans who prefer to go to a GAA game or a rugby game if it is " a bigger event"!:rolleyes:

20/07/2006, 7:39 AM
Yeah, it can be a little sad watching large unfamiliar crowds gather for friendlies against English or Scottish teams...but I appreciate their role as valuable fundraisers. Was there not a game a few years ago involving the Dream Team, or Keith Duffy All Stars that sold out Tolka Park? Now that was genuinely embarrassing!

Spot on Eoingull!

Being a genuine EL supporter means at least going to the majority of your team's home games. That involves some form of " commitment" which of course is complete bad language in the Ireland of the 21st Century. Barstoolers only need to go and watch a game a year when "their" team comes over with it's Under 14's to play a friendly in Dublin or Sligo or Limerick or wherever.

The Dream Team were on TV every week so that was an easy sell.
Fair play to Shels for renting out Tolka Park for the event, but really it's an embarrassing shocking indictment of this country as a whole. With foreign immigrants now making up 10% of our population perhaps that is where EL clubs should be trying to attract fresh support from.

Ronnie
20/07/2006, 8:36 AM
6500 at longford vs pats.

700 may be closer ;) main stand was 3/4's full and a few sprinkeled around.

Biggest club in Ireland.....ah well!

21/07/2006, 11:02 PM
Guesstimate of 700-800 at Shels-UCD tonight.

Plus dmandmythdledge, who was there in body at least. :)

No programme again either.

21/07/2006, 11:04 PM
Guesstimate of 700-800 at Shels-UCD tonight.

Plus dmandmythdledge, who was there in body at least. :)
I was there in heart, mind, body and soul and drunkeness.

Dr.Nightdub
22/07/2006, 2:00 AM
700 may be closer ;) main stand was 3/4's full and a few sprinkeled around.

You're having a laugh. 500 max and that's being charitable.

22/07/2006, 10:24 AM
Opinion, Difference there of.

higgins
22/07/2006, 10:27 AM
I thought the Shels crowd was somewhere around 900 to 1000 ?

22/07/2006, 12:22 PM
I was there in heart, mind, body and soul and drunkeness.

I suppose that was you who fell up the steps on the way back to your seat?! :D :p

22/07/2006, 3:09 PM
Bout 300 at the game between Limerick and Kildare :cool:

Comic Book Guy
23/07/2006, 9:56 AM
Attendance was 440.

23/07/2006, 10:07 AM
800-950 me thinks!

monutdfc
23/07/2006, 11:33 AM
MUFC v GUFC
80 maybe :(
Galway usually bring a decent crowd to CHP, but not on Friday - holidays I guess. Good few Mons regualrs absent through holidays too.

BrayUnknowns
24/07/2006, 10:02 AM
between 1600-1800 at the game.

Great away suppotr, best of the season i'd reckon. easily 500/600 Pats fans turned up. Great to see and fair play.

24/07/2006, 11:17 AM
Have Bray gone back to Sunday afternoon for KO:confused:

24/07/2006, 11:25 AM
I think they rearranged 5 or 6 matches earlier in the season to be all played on sunday, and this was one of them. Cant remember the reasons for them all but I know one were clashing with friendlies against english opposition etc...

24/07/2006, 11:28 AM
Reports on crowd at Harps Athlone range from 500 to 700. I'd guess it's more likely to be towards the lower figure.

Bray Head
24/07/2006, 1:19 PM
Have Bray gone back to Sunday afternoon for KO:confused:
Yesterday was the last of our Sunday games. Fixtures were changed to Sunday as we had mid week fixtures in the same week.

hoopy
24/07/2006, 6:12 PM
between 1600-1800 at the game.

Great away suppotr, best of the season i'd reckon. easily 500/600 Pats fans turned up. Great to see and fair play.

You miss us don't ye :)

Sam Savic
24/07/2006, 6:26 PM
Rovers V Dundalk official attendance was 987.

alabama rover
28/07/2006, 1:13 AM
How come the weekly summary of attendanceis no longer being kept up to date... Earn your pay boys! :)

Are we that disgusted with attendances that we are going to give up on tracking them?

higgins
29/07/2006, 1:50 PM
Shels v Sligo was about 1200 Id say

Patrick Dunne
29/07/2006, 2:29 PM
1140 was the official attendance for GUFC vs Limerick

29/07/2006, 2:36 PM

good good....hopefully the win will bring them back for the next game too...i actually hope ye go up

29/07/2006, 4:29 PM
that didnt include the kids that got in for free though PD?

was told
930 paying supporters
200 season ticket holders
and then would have guessed around 200 kids

total: 1330

Sam Savic
29/07/2006, 6:39 PM
So which is it? 1140 or 1330.

Battery Rover
29/07/2006, 7:18 PM
Maybe 600 at the Athlone vs Rovers game last night but open to correction by any of the Rovers lads that were there

30/07/2006, 7:39 AM
well PD was offical, I was just wondering if that was including the "kids go free" headcount too ? If not my figure would be more accurate

30/07/2006, 11:05 AM
Shels v Sligo was about 1200 Id sayI'd agree with that. Shocking attendance for a team in your position. About 150-200 from Sligo.

30/07/2006, 11:33 AM
About 950 at UCD-Bohs last night.

Patrick Dunne
30/07/2006, 2:28 PM
U12s go free to all Galway United home games. They are not required to buy tickets nor are issued with them.

The official attendance figure stated is correct. However, the amount of U12s in the ground could be anything from 100-300.

Bray Head
30/07/2006, 3:14 PM
U12s go free to all Galway United home games. They are not required to buy tickets nor are issued with them.

The official attendance figure stated is correct. However, the amount of U12s in the ground could be anything from 100-300.

Surely they should be counted among the attendance since they are at the game even though they are free. Maybe you should issue them with some sort of ticket to give an indication of the numbers getting in free. Might be good for marketing the game in future.

31/07/2006, 8:48 AM
ago so 1,143 is the official figure full stop.We had to tighten up on checking attendances as the fire officer could make a visit to check us out during the season and our safe capacity is only 3,000 due to one side of the ground being closed for development works which start in september.

01/08/2006, 6:36 PM
How come the weekly summary of attendanceis no longer being kept up to date... Earn your pay boys!
Patience - some of us have been off on holidays again! :)

Any Pat's fans to cnofirm the Bray-Pat's figure of 1600? Most of Bray's crowds have been 600-700 this year, so it just seems a very large increase.

Update after the weekend. 2005 and 2004 in brackets. FD and PD indicate average crowd got in a different division to current year.

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1482 (1976; 2340)
Bray - 1111 (1550; 818 FD)
Cork - 3050 (3644; 4033) (missing Drogheda)
Derry - 2246 (2698; 1672) (missing Waterford)
Drogheda - 1651 (1682; 1554)
Dublin City - 488 (175 FD; 592)
Longford - 760 (1004; 1131) (missing Drogheda and Waterford)
Pat's - 1453 (1599; 1882)
Shels - 1290 (1949; 2158)
Sligo - 1851 (1794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 533 (653; 306 FD)
Waterford - 814 (1513; 1753)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 357 (316; 291)
Cobh - 387 (403; 240) (missing Finn Harps and Limerick)
Dundalk - 633 (474; 591) (missing Cobh 2)
Harps - 467 (1347 PD; 1106) (missing Monaghan)
Galway - 789 (566; 571) (missing Monaghan 2)
Kildare - 271 (186; 298) (missing Harps 2)
Kilkenny - 130 (185; 110) (missing Cobh, Kildare and Monaghan 2)
Limerick - 466 (669; 188)
Monaghan - 190 (183; 182)
Rovers - 1092 (1539 PD; 1349 PD)

Premier Division average - 1306 (1759)
First Division average - 479 (520)

Overall average - 917 (1195)

Recent games missing -
Derry v Waterford
Longford v Waterford
Longford v Drogheda
Dundalk v Cobh
Kildare v Finn Harps
Kilkenny v Monaghan

01/08/2006, 6:43 PM
Comparisons to previous years -

Shelbourne v UCD - 2006 - 900 (2005 - 2477 & 950; 2004 - n/a)
Longford v Waterford Utd - no figure (1400 & 500; 1000 & 1000)
Bray v St. Pats - 1600 (2700 & 1600; n/a)

First Division
Limerick v Kildare County - 300 (2006 - 282; 2005 - 450 & 250; 2004 - no figure)
Monaghan Utd v Galway Utd - 80 (210; 200 & 130; 83)
Shamrock Rvs v Dundalk - 987 (2000; n/a; n/a)
Cobh Ramblers v Kilkenny City - 440 (498; 350 & 370; 245)
Finn Harps v Athlone Town - 500 (450; n/a; 800 & 1200)

01/08/2006, 6:50 PM
Comparisons to previous years -

Derry City v Waterford Utd - 2006 - no figure (2005 - 1921 & 3000; 2004 - 1900 & 1000)
Longford Town v Drogheda Utd - no figure (1200 & 600; 900 & 1000)
Shelbourne v Sligo Rovers - 1200 (n/a; n/a)
UCD v Bohemians - 950 (1150 & 800; n/a)

First Division
Athlone Town v Shamrock Rovers - 600 (2006 - 700; n/a; n/a)
Dundalk v Cobh Ramblers - no figure (250; 180 & no figure; 500)
Galway Utd v Limerick FC - 1143 (750; 664 & 550; 652 & 400)
Kildare County v Finn Harps - no figure (250; n/a; 200 & 700)
Kilkenny City v Monaghan Utd - no figure (100; 100 & no figure; no figure and no figure)

01/08/2006, 7:03 PM
Recent games missing -
Longford v Waterford

Longford v Drogheda

01/08/2006, 7:21 PM
Recent games missing -
Dundalk v Cobh

I would say there was about 700-900 at this. I admit though that I didn't do a count or anything but it was one of our better crowds of the season anyway.

01/08/2006, 7:22 PM
I expect the Premier average to rise gradually since the demise of Dublin City.

monutdfc
01/08/2006, 7:52 PM
Kilkenny v Monaghan
I wasn't there, but I am very reliably informed the attendance was 108

01/08/2006, 7:55 PM
I expect the Premier average to rise gradually since the demise of Dublin City.

....and as the title race hots up.

04/08/2006, 11:10 PM
I'd guesstime 2800-3200 at United park for Drogs -v- Shels.

A farmer and his dog it is so!

nshoop
05/08/2006, 1:18 AM
Looked like a big shels support on tv3 which surprised me even though it's a half an hour up the road

05/08/2006, 10:17 AM
Poor crowd at the Showgrounds last night
Dont want to haxard a guess because it is usually way off....maybe someothers could guess but lets just say Friday night football isnt working.
Think that was the last of it last night so roll on our next Saturday night game.

eamoss
05/08/2006, 10:54 AM
Dundalk V Kildare - 400

05/08/2006, 12:58 PM
Dundalk V Kildare - 400

What?!? Were you there? It was twice that! Did you not see the amount of support over the shed side? :eek:

eamoss
05/08/2006, 1:53 PM
What?!? Were you there? It was twice that! Did you not see the amount of support over the shed side? :eek:

I taught there was a lot more at it until I moved over to the shed side for the 2ed half and saw the amount of ppl over in the stand!

05/08/2006, 2:13 PM
I taught there was a lot more at it until I moved over to the shed side for the 2ed half and saw the amount of ppl over in the stand!

The stand had no less amount of people in it than usual. The shed side was packed though. It had to be more than 400.

eamoss
05/08/2006, 3:12 PM
The stand had no less amount of people in it than usual. The shed side was packed though. It had to be more than 400.

Ok, maybe I was a bit off. I only really look at the stand at half time so maybe not everyone was out! And after talking to someone who was sellin programmes(said the sales wer up) so about 700 then?

05/08/2006, 3:37 PM
Agreed. :)