View Full Version : LoI in Europe 2024

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45

15/11/2024, 3:06 PM
I have always thought that if you take LOI football and put it in front of 10,000 fans in a decent stadium, it'll just look better, and people would consider it better quality football than the exact same game being played out in front of 800 people.

Absolutely, and I think better crowds and a better atmosphere contributes to a better game too.I think players respond to the atmosphere surrounding them With the best will in the world it must be easier to get yourself “up” for a game as a player when it feels like more of an occasion, rather than playing in front of, say, 400, or even 1400, people.

Glen Of Aherlow
15/11/2024, 3:18 PM
Absolutely, and I think better crowds and a better atmosphere contributes to a better game too.I think players respond to the atmosphere surrounding them With the best will in the world it must be easier to get yourself “up” for a game as a player when it feels like more of an occasion, rather than playing in front of, say, 400, or even 1400, people.

Saw Jamie Lennon say in an interview in the last year or two that he feels more like a professional footballer playing in front of 4 or 5 thousand than the crowds pre covid

sbgawa
15/11/2024, 3:44 PM
By GW 6 they’ll be well inside the Top 8. They’ll put out the reserves of the reserves in that squad. They’ll still win of course. Maybe 2 or 3 nil but it won’t be a Noah level bashing.

Two nice away days coming up, sandwiched between the one game that really matters and that is Borac. A point there would remove even the small percentage chance of 7 not being enough.

I think i pointed out here before or maybe on another thread that the current European named squads can be augmented by anybody with the club for more than 2 years and under 21 years of age.
With a busy premier league holiday schedule Chelsea may not even bother playing the reserves.........still wouldnt be favs against their under 21s but its the hope that kills you.

2 Year Contract
15/11/2024, 4:13 PM
I think i pointed out here before or maybe on another thread that the current European named squads can be augmented by anybody with the club for more than 2 years and under 21 years of age.
With a busy premier league holiday schedule Chelsea may not even bother playing the reserves.........still wouldnt be favs against their under 21s but it’s the hope that kills you.

Rovers absolutely would be favourites against Chelsea’s under 21s. The concept of elite premier league clubs u21 sides playing against senior teams isn’t a new one, they enter their teams into the EFL Trophy and quite regularly get pillaged by second string League One and Two teams. For example this season Man United 21s lost 4-1 to league one Huddersfield, Man City u21s lost 5-0 to Lincoln city, Arsenal’s 21s lost 3-0 to Colchester united and to your point, Chelsea’s under 21s were beaten 3-0 by Charlton and 1-0 by Cambridge United. Those academy sides do produce some world class talents but the majority of them end up playing at much lower levels of the game when they’re older and the lack of senior experience they have at their current age is a major leveller for any so called difference in technical ability.

It’s all a moot point anyways in my opinion as Chelsea’s squad is so massive they won’t need to rest their Conference league squad, as they need the minutes seen as a lot of hugely expensive players in that squad aren’t getting near their premier league squad

sbgawa
15/11/2024, 4:18 PM
Rovers absolutely would be favourites against Chelsea’s under 21s. The concept of elite premier league clubs u21 sides playing against senior teams isn’t a new one, they enter their teams into the EFL Trophy and quite regularly get pillaged by second string League One and Two teams. For example this season Man United 21s lost 4-1 to league one Huddersfield, Man City u21s lost 5-0 to Lincoln city, Arsenal’s 21s lost 3-0 to Colchester united and to your point, Chelsea’s under 21s were beaten 3-0 by Charlton and 1-0 by Cambridge United. Those academy sides do produce some world class talents but the majority of them end up playing at much lower levels of the game when they’re older and the lack of senior experience they have at their current age is a major leveller for any so called difference in technical ability.

It’s all a moot point anyways in my opinion as Chelsea’s squad is so massive they won’t need to rest their Conference league squad, as they need the minutes seen as a lot of hugely expensive players in that squad aren’t getting near their premier league squad

Thats good info , thanks.
Your right though probably academic given the size of their squad outside of thiose named in the actual euro squad

ger121
15/11/2024, 8:19 PM
I'm going to both Ger, should be great craic.
As we pished the league up the wall it's highly unlikely we'll get here next season so you have to take your opportunities as a seasoned LOI fan where you can get them.
Can't wait to see the chelsea faithful clutching their overpriced pearls when Rovers turn up on their doorstep:)

Good man. You can’t beat the away days in Europe. Enjoy!

pateen
26/11/2024, 8:11 PM
Anyone on here heading to Vienna?
Very tough game for them.

yurt
26/11/2024, 9:36 PM
I may have misunderstood the bonus points for ECL qualification but it looks to me like Rovers will get 2 points if they finish 9-16 and 1 point if 17-24.

This means (if I'm understanding correctly) that Ireland have a decent chance of overtaking Moldova into 31st if Rovers can avoid defeat in any of their remaining games. A win against Borac would almost solidify it.

Looking forward to getting back watching European football between my fingers like LOI fans are traditionally supposed to.

placid casual
27/11/2024, 7:10 AM
Yeah this will be a couple of steps up from Larne and TNS for sure.
Heading over there not expecting a great deal, against a side in early mid season who are unbeaten ( drew 0:0 at the weekend).
As long as the goal difference doesn't take a hammering I'll be happy enough,as it may come into play for qualification.
"Prost"!!

sbgawa
27/11/2024, 9:18 AM
I may have misunderstood the bonus points for ECL qualification but it looks to me like Rovers will get 2 points if they finish 9-16 and 1 point if 17-24.

This means (if I'm understanding correctly) that Ireland have a decent chance of overtaking Moldova into 31st if Rovers can avoid defeat in any of their remaining games. A win against Borac would almost solidify it.

Looking forward to getting back watching European football between my fingers like LOI fans are traditionally supposed to.

You get 0.125 points for finishing 24th and an extra 0.125 points for each place you go up.

27/11/2024, 9:41 AM
To close off on the Youth League adventure, the goals from UCD v 2 Korriku in the Bowl are here. First goal is a beaut from them - but their second is a sickener of a way to effectively go out of Europe.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LlwlIGNHtfw

Colbert Report
27/11/2024, 2:17 PM
Forgive my ignorance here, but what kind of financial rewards will Shamrock Rovers get if they finish in the top 24 teams in the Conference League? Obviously they'll get to host a match in February, but is there additional prize money? If they draw someone big like Chelsea, can they move the match to the Aviva?

BigEars
27/11/2024, 2:22 PM
Forgive my ignorance here, but what kind of financial rewards will Shamrock Rovers get if they finish in the top 24 teams in the Conference League? Obviously they'll get to host a match in February, but is there additional prize money? If they draw someone big like Chelsea, can they move the match to the Aviva?

It's only an additional €200,000 in prize money.

We're getting ahead of ourselves now, but were they to go a round further it's another €800,000 for the following round.

27/11/2024, 2:59 PM

€200,000 extra for reaching the last 24. €800,000 if they can get into the last 16.

Would go out in a limb to suggest they'll have no interest in moving from Tallaght to Aviva.

Colbert Report
27/11/2024, 3:10 PM
Thanks for the response. Do they get any financial rewards for each point earned or goal scored during the league stage?

pateen
27/11/2024, 3:44 PM
Folks can anyone suggest a dodgy site to watch tomorrow's game?

Been a while since I used one and all the old ones seem to be gone

A N Mouse
27/11/2024, 9:03 PM

Unclear if you're counting the bonus points in bypassing Moldova. Open to correction, but my understanding is country points are only for results, and bonus points are just for clubs. Still 3 match points for rovers would close the .75 country coefficient gap, if it remains at that. Not impossible but seems a big ask.

But TIL'd that the qualifying bonus points are a guaranteed minimum club points, and replaced/superceded by group match points, which go towards country points. Compare rovers to the Moldovans

https://kassiesa.net/uefa/data/method5/tcoef2025.html

pateen
28/11/2024, 3:41 PM
Any streams for tonight, anybody?

ger121
28/11/2024, 5:07 PM
Will be tough for Rovers tonight. Out of season and away from home to a side who are in good form both domestically and in Europe.

Games away against sides of this calibre have been a real achilles heal for them over the last few seasons. Free hit of course but in the grand scheme of things you wouldn’t want a 3 or 4 nil loss as it would have a big impact on their GD. That still could be a factor if a lot of sides somehow end up on equal points.

They do need a point from somewhere to remove even the slim chance that 7 would not be enough to qualify for the PO Round.

sbgawa
28/11/2024, 7:10 PM
We need to settle down don't want this to be embarressing

2 Year Contract
28/11/2024, 7:38 PM
We need to settle down don't want this to be embarressing

In fairness it was embarrassing from the second the team walked out the tunnel in that horrendous kit ;)

pateen
28/11/2024, 7:59 PM
Any live stream for the last half hour, anyone?

texidub
28/11/2024, 8:12 PM
beaut of a goal!

texidub
28/11/2024, 8:15 PM
Any live stream for the last half hour, anyone?

PM'd you

pateen
28/11/2024, 8:20 PM
Fair play texidub. No joy but worth a shot

rebelmusic
28/11/2024, 8:48 PM
6 minutes... argh

texidub
28/11/2024, 8:55 PM
I thought Rovers were going to be obliterated after conceding an early goal, but feck I enjoyed that... great result. One of the LoI's best in a long time. Lovely touch from Kenny for the goal.

pateen
28/11/2024, 8:56 PM
Great result for Rovers.

Philosophizer
28/11/2024, 8:56 PM
Smashing result - away from home against Rapid Vienna without a competitive match in 3 weeks. Outstanding!

Calcio Jack
28/11/2024, 8:58 PM
When put in context I think it’s fair to say that second half performance was the best ever by a LOI club in Europe

28/11/2024, 8:58 PM
Super result for Rovers that. Barring a collapse in the last two games they should progress to the next round. Fantastic league phase for them.

ger121
28/11/2024, 8:59 PM
Did not see that result tonight. They have been so good during the league phase. Win against Borac and Top 8 could be on.

texidub
28/11/2024, 9:00 PM
First team to take any points off Rapid Vienna and 10th in the table after 4 games. Unreal, really.

28/11/2024, 9:02 PM
That really is a superb result.

D24Saint
28/11/2024, 9:04 PM
Very strong performance overall but particularly in the second half. Superb result.

rebelmusic
28/11/2024, 9:07 PM
Touching wood to avoid the jinx but I'd say they'll get a seeded playoff at the very least. Would have to win against Borac to make the top 8...maybe a seeded playoff would be better for keeping the the team match fit though?

28/11/2024, 9:08 PM
Fair play to Rovers. Bradley really seems to have learnt from previous campaigns. In previous years both this and the APOEL games could have ended up in trashings.

legendz
28/11/2024, 9:21 PM
A great point away from home. Borac beat APOEL away in matchday 2. It'll be a tricky final home game. 20th to 26th are on 4 points. A win guarantees progress.

Calcio Jack
28/11/2024, 9:42 PM
A great point away from home. Borac beat APOEL away in matchday 2. It'll be a tricky final home game. 20th to 26th are on 4 points. A win guarantees progress.

Tonight’s point guarantees us at least a last 16 playoff …. A win against Borac and we’ll most likely be seeded in the playoffs…..

oriel
28/11/2024, 9:52 PM
Tonight’s point (in Vienna) guarantees us at least a last 16 playoff …. A win against Borac and we’ll most likely be seeded in the playoffs…..

This means nothing to me.....................ooh

ger121
28/11/2024, 10:21 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GdgZGKXWYAAUtX7?format=png&name=900x900

Job done getting to PO Round. Win against Borac and Rovers will surely be seeded in that draw.

Philosophizer
28/11/2024, 10:51 PM
When put in context I think it’s fair to say that second half performance was the best ever by a LOI club in Europe
I’d still put Dundalk’s wins over Bate and Maccabi in 2016 ahead but that tonight is up there with the best away performances we’ve ever had. On a par with Dundalk’s draw in Alkmar I’d say.

sessylU
28/11/2024, 11:45 PM
It's a silly conversation (but then, the best football conversations are...), but Derry's second half against Gretna was wasted on such poor opposition. Could have been Barcelona they were playing against, or Brazil. Could have been both, Derry still would have won 5-1.

29/11/2024, 6:37 AM
I'm sure it's not set in stone, but that's the 2026 Europa League spot for 2025 Cup winner more or less guaranteed at this stage, and Rovers probably being seeded all the way through Conference League qualifying next year as well?

A really big deal for the PD as a whole especially with how the prize money redistribution is shaking out, a couple of clubs making a group stage isn't beyond a possibility any more, with a decent chunk coming back to other clubs. I think drawing Larne and TNS was obviously a major bonus, and you can't be sure how often draws like that, and the order they fell will happen but making the knockouts is a huge step for Rovers as a club, softens the blow of not winning the league a bit. Do we now get to say this is the greatest league ever because lads who couldn't best Shels are doing this? Or is it still terrible because Derry City.

Interestingly this Europe run seems to have absolutely torpedoed Larne's season, a lot of games in hand, but they might do well to qualify for Europe at all, that schedule will never let up as they try and make back games they missed. TNS are in 2nd in their own league, definitely not having it all their own way either with such a busy schedule. Probably shouldn't be underestimated how difficult it is to manage the extra burned of playing/travelling so much on teams who don't have major champions league budgets.

CorribsideSteve
29/11/2024, 7:05 AM
That's a serious result for Shams. And what lovely build up play to a goal excellently finished. A LOI club in Europe doing better than anyone imagined, making bank, and continental progress! Rare times indeed.

D24Saint
29/11/2024, 9:25 AM
I was watching the post match press conference. What was the issue with the colour of Rovers away kit. It seemed an odd question.

29/11/2024, 9:47 AM
Anyone know what the Rapid manager was so mad about at the end as well?

kksaints
29/11/2024, 10:12 AM
I was watching the post match press conference. What was the issue with the colour of Rovers away kit. It seemed an odd question.

Rapid's main rivals Austria Vienna play in purple. Let's just say they don't like people wearing purple inside their stadium.

2 Year Contract
29/11/2024, 10:19 AM
Rapid's main rivals Austria Vienna play in purple. Let's just say they don't like people wearing purple inside their stadium.

Pretty childish stuff from grown adults really

kksaints
29/11/2024, 10:22 AM
Pretty childish stuff from grown adults really

Of course but a lot of football stuff is like that and those two Vienna clubs do not like each other. There was a big brawl on the pitch between the two sets of fans after the last Derby.