View Full Version : LoI in Europe 2024

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45

nr637
08/07/2024, 2:03 PM
Will Shels have to move to the Tallaght Stadium, if they advance further in the UEFA Conference as their ground is not up to the necessary regulation facilities! :confused:

ger121
08/07/2024, 2:59 PM
Rovers away tomorrow. Sure, Vikingur will be a tough tie but Rovers still have it in them to go through over the 2 legs.
Up to last season their home form in Europe was excellent so they will be expecting to be strong in Tallaght. They won’t be underestimating this crowd, either, which I think they did a bit before the 1st leg last year. Also, even though they don’t say it publicly, they know the league is gone so Europe and the cup are big so they can go for it more.
The aim as usual is to still be alive going into the 2nd leg. A one goal defeat or even better a draw and they are well in it. I really do think this is a 50/50 tie.

08/07/2024, 3:04 PM
I had thought Rovers played way too openly in Iceland last time out, like they did the same in Estonia before, tried to close down and dominate sides they weren't quite able for and getting cut open, unable to adapt. They're performances that stick with me and lead me to think Bradley hasn't learned how to manage at the next level yet. I know absolutely nothing about Vikingur, so who knows, maybe that approach would work this time.

Its all speculation and ye never know on the day but Rovers squad hasnt changed that much over the last few years so: Bratislava, showed too much respect away and lost 2-0, at home leveled the tie when they had to chase things and imo were robbed with a foul leading up to the annual LoI sucker punch goal. Teuta ended up being poorer than expected. Flora and it was lessons not learned with a conservative approach (Dundalk beat Levadia, +scaring Vitesse and with Zahibo, Nattestad and Abibi in the side, Bohs mixing it up with PAOK after beating Icelandic opposition well albeit Sligo lost to similar opposition). By comparison of Irish sides ending in the same competition and similar opposition, for the champions pathway Rovers under performed and it wasnt due to squad ability or absences but due to tactical misjudgement ie a Caulfield like approcah to playing away from home and it backfiring. Some poor luck too in fairness.

2023 Ludogorets away, played it conservatively, understandable, but didnt try to put any pressure on at all, at 2-0 and last 20 mins showed that they had the measure of the Bulgarians. The injury time goal that looked like it killed the tie was partially chasing a goal to keep things alive, arguablly naive, some calamity defending, but Rovers showed they could compete, when they needed to their credit at home they had a go and won but should have had a similar approach away imo.
In to the ifs and buts = they could have leveled the tie would have bar injury time goals in both legs. There was a cautious approach that looked like a lack of belief, led to a lack of composure and the late goals were due to scrambling for a result that they could well have been in control of. Shkupi should have been finished off a lot earlier in the tie too, it ended up comfprtable with Rovers own injury time goal but it was more stressful for Rovers fans than it needed to be. Ferencvaros twice is just a mismatch all day long and hard to know whether Rovers stepped up after each 1st leg or Ferenc were going through the motions. Breidablik has already been commented on but still not sure if they were as good as they looked or Rovers were very poor. ECL groups games, maybe Rovers were prioritising the league but they were lacklustre and especially away from home were well in their shell. I recall thinking have a go, its not knockout football now but it was all laboured and not at all reflective of the calibre of player in the squad. I think it was partially due to Bradley's tactical mindset and also the lack of toe to toe league run in. Its possible that there could be more fight in Rovers this season because there is an actual battle for the league. If I were a Vikingur fan, looking at seedings, league table and results over the last few years Id be thinking progression is very possible rather than just hopeful. If Jacks back in full fettle of course it will be a cake walk....

08/07/2024, 3:24 PM
Random uneducated prediction time!

Games v Ireland + Iceland clubs are generally very tight, and whatever side wins often has to play very well to edge it. It'll be interesting to see what Vikingur are like, knowing nothing of the league, I imagine Breidablik were an exceptional side by Icelandic standards who Rovers really didn't treat with the respect they should of last season. I imagine they ended up not retaining the league due to playing 16 (I think?) games in Europe last season, and probably lost some good players in the off season.

I can't see Vikingur being quite as good, but neither are Rovers who seem to be declining year on year. I think Rovers could win if they learn from last season, decided to play more conservatively and ground it out, I'm thinking positive thoughts and thinking this will be Rover's final hurrah and Johnny Kenny will do something on the break.

Reckon Derry and Shelbourne should really be winning both legs at least certainly edging their way through. Think they'll all be in trouble in Round 2 if they make it. Gibraltar clubs are also in pre season, LOI clubs have a massive advantage there.

I'd give Pat's a solid shot against Vaduz, they're not bad, but they're Swiss 2nd tier and in pre season, they're wildly inconsistent from season to season in Europe, apparently lost their top scorer in the off season, hard to know but It's not the worst draw. Do it for the co efficient lads.
That Vaduz game is a second round tie of course, so getting a bit ahead of things there.

Rovers should be winning their tie but it's hard to look beyond being beaten home and away by a part-time Icelandic side last year, and having gone backwards since. The Gibraltar sides - oriel (I think it was?) made a good point about the heat out there being a factor. Maybe 2-3-1 is a solid result from the first round (Rovers to draw at home and lose away; Shels/Derry to draw away and win at home) and anything else is a bonus?

Though even that's a pretty poor set of results when you really look at it.

08/07/2024, 7:10 PM
Will Shels have to move to the Tallaght Stadium, if they advance further in the UEFA Conference as their ground is not up to the necessary regulation facilities! :confused:
I think all the clubs in Europe can play at home for the first 2 rounds, then it's Tallaght. I'm almost sure I read something ages ago that Tolka passed whatever was required to do rnd 2.

2 Year Contract
08/07/2024, 8:47 PM
Shels apparently had to make the pitch narrower to meet UEFA regulations.
https://x.com/stephenkellyyyy/status/1810406562760155487?s=46 (https://x.com/stephenkellyyyy/status/1810406562760155487?s=46)

Bit of a mad one if true. I wouldn’t have thought of Tolka as being an overly wide pitch

08/07/2024, 8:54 PM
https://x.com/stephenkellyyyy/status/1810406562760155487?s=46 (https://x.com/stephenkellyyyy/status/1810406562760155487?s=46)

Bit of a mad one if true. I wouldn’t have thought of Tolka as being an overly wide pitch

That just sounds bizarre. I know there is a minimum width and length for pitches, but it’s the first time I’ve heard of having to make a pitch smaller. As you say Tolka wouldn’t seem to be a big pitch anyway.

08/07/2024, 8:57 PM
That Vaduz game is a second round tie of course, so getting a bit ahead of things there.

In what way is it getting ahead of anything. ? I know it’s not this week, but the game is fixed and Pats are in round 2. Not like they haven’t qualified for it yet.

2 Year Contract
08/07/2024, 9:03 PM
That just sounds bizarre. I know there is a minimum width and length for pitches, but it’s the first time I’ve heard of having to make a pitch smaller. As you say Tolka wouldn’t seem to be a big pitch anyway.

Yeah it’s also strange that FAI regulations seemingly allow a pitch to be wider than UEFA's regulations do

Buckett
08/07/2024, 10:21 PM
Maybe it's the distance between the perimeter wall and the sideline?

redobit
09/07/2024, 5:55 AM

The whole UEFA regulations is a bit mad in general. Always remember when we made Europe for the first time in a while (back in 2009, which is hard to believe how fast it goes). We were bending over backwards to make sure the Showgrounds would get the stamp of approval, the club spent nearly 20k on upgrades. Then we went to Albania to play Shoder. Ah here, the absolute state of the place, it was a wreck. We were looking around thinking how has this got UEFA approval.

09/07/2024, 8:21 AM
Maybe it's the distance between the perimeter wall and the sideline?

Would wager this is exactly it. UEFA requires pitch size to be 68m wide for competition proper, but I highly doubt Tolka had to be narrowed to 68m. Judging by the photos, the 10 yard mark is at around the same distance as Finn Park, which is currently sitting at 63 metres.

We were at 69.5m for most of Dave Rogers season, and the pitch was huge.

09/07/2024, 8:25 AM
In what way is it getting ahead of anything. ? I know it’s not this week, but the game is fixed and Pats are in round 2. Not like they haven’t qualified for it yet.
Well true - I guess just keeping round 1 together, and in my mind stopping Acornvilla wasting time on Thursday worrying about how Pat's are doing. Nothing more really

2 Year Contract
09/07/2024, 8:27 AM
Would wager this is exactly it. UEFA requires pitch size to be 68m wide for competition proper, but I highly doubt Tolka had to be narrowed to 68m. Judging by the photos, the 10 yard mark is at around the same distance as Finn Park, which is currently sitting at 63 metres.

Measuring it from Google Maps has Tolka's pitch at around 70m. Then again Richmond Park's is also around 70m using the same method and is generally considered narrow! Also the stands are very close to the pitch in Richmond and it’s never been deemed an issue by UEFA

09/07/2024, 8:37 AM
Measuring it from Google Maps has Tolka's pitch at around 70m. Then again Richmond Park's is also around 70m using the same method and is generally considered narrow! Also the stands are very close to the pitch in Richmond and it’s never been deemed an issue by UEFA

Looking at the pitch lining on Google maps, it's about 62 or 63 metres lined out. The 10 yard mark is always your giveaway. It's about 4 yards away from the edge of the box. Gives you 14 yards either side of the 18. Along with goal size roughly 2.5m it adds up to about 63m.

Guitd
09/07/2024, 9:50 AM

You are correct here the reason pitch had to be narrowed is the safety regulations need to be 3m to boundary fence this should also be for league of Ireland games ,how can Mark Scanlon and the Pfai allow clubs have sidelines dangerously close to boundary I believe it was only 1.5m until UEFA delegate pointed it out ,players safety must come first over whatever manager think pitch width should be.Tolka is a tight pitch normally playing about 67m it just 64m now

Buckett
09/07/2024, 12:51 PM
Jimmy Nolan broke his leg after hitting the perimeter fence hard in Terryland back in the late 80's/early 90's. There was no stretcher, so they had to take a door off the jacks instead!!

Dermobohs
09/07/2024, 12:52 PM
Looking at the pitch lining on Google maps, it's about 62 or 63 metres lined out. The 10 yard mark is always your giveaway. It's about 4 yards away from the edge of the box. Gives you 14 yards either side of the 18. Along with goal size roughly 2.5m it adds up to about 63m.
Goal width is 24ft internal, approx 7.5 meters.

sbgawa
09/07/2024, 1:35 PM

Given the number of times we hit the flipping cross bar or post this year if it was 7.6 metreswide we would be top of the league.
Except for Richie towells shots where the goal would need to be 7.5 metres tall to make a difference

09/07/2024, 1:58 PM
You are correct here the reason pitch had to be narrowed is the safety regulations need to be 3m to boundary fence this should also be for league of Ireland games ,how can Mark Scanlon and the Pfai allow clubs have sidelines dangerously close to boundary I believe it was only 1.5m until UEFA delegate pointed it out ,players safety must come first over whatever manager think pitch width should be.Tolka is a tight pitch normally playing about 67m it just 64m now

We had a player absolutely goose himself off the wall in Tolka a few years ago, was out for months with concussion

09/07/2024, 2:44 PM

Ah, my brain went the wrong way with the posts. Still only makes the width just under 66 metres if the corner to box is 14 yards. And if they've narrowed it about 2 metres on either side, judging by the photos, it's down to only 62 metres.

joey B
09/07/2024, 2:49 PM
We had a player absolutely goose himself off the wall in Tolka a few years ago, was out for months with concussion

Richmond park down beside the away corner looks the worst of the lot,so tight down there…

09/07/2024, 2:56 PM
Tickets were sold out fast for this Vikingur Rovers game. Good news for Rovers is that Vikingur's (and the league's) 2 best players are out. Obviously the money stakes are high for this tie but Rovers/Bradley also have something extra to play for, not to be humiliated for a second time in a CLQ tie against Icelandic opposition.

A struggling Stjarnan are a different story and I would've thought it be a surprise if Linfield don't make it. However, I'm wondering why Linfield are regarded as rank outsiders @ 4/1 in the betting market? I don't bet as a rule just curious.

EatYerGreens
09/07/2024, 3:56 PM

A non-league player in England sustained a serious head injury that was genuinely life threatening after crashing into a boundary wall during a match a few seasons ago.

ger121
09/07/2024, 4:48 PM
A struggling Stjarnan are a different story and I would've thought it be a surprise if Linfield don't make it. However, I'm wondering why Linfield are regarded as rank outsiders @ 4/1 in the betting market? I don't bet as a rule just curious.

Probably because they are sending out the ladies team as the men’s team are all still on holidays.

ger121
09/07/2024, 5:34 PM
HJK spanked 3-0 in Lithuania. Hamrun 1 down at home to Lincoln Red Imps. Nearly HT. Hamrun also down to 10. Both the Finnish and Maltese are favourites in those ties. No easy games out there really.

09/07/2024, 5:53 PM
Lincoln Red Imps also down to ten now.

They should have a lot more money than the other Gibraltar clubs (having reached the group stages recently) and winning away to a ten-man Maltese team isn't exactly earth-shattering stuff - but still, a bit of a warning for Shels/Derry you'd think

joey B
09/07/2024, 5:55 PM
HJK spanked 3-0 in Lithuania. Hamrun 1 down at home to Lincoln Red Imps. Nearly HT. Hamrun also down to 10. Both the Finnish and Maltese are favourites in those ties. No easy games out there really.

The Lithuanian’s were 5/1 at home before that game,some beating for HJK going by them odds ….

09/07/2024, 5:55 PM
Well true - I guess just keeping round 1 together, and in my mind stopping Acornvilla wasting time on Thursday worrying about how Pat's are doing. Nothing more really

Thank you for caring :D

ger121
09/07/2024, 6:27 PM
Santa Columba 1 up against Balkani. TNS winning too.

total hoofball
09/07/2024, 6:28 PM
Lincoln Red Imps also down to ten now.

They should have a lot more money than the other Gibraltar clubs (having reached the group stages recently) and winning away to a ten-man Maltese team isn't exactly earth-shattering stuff - but still, a bit of a warning for Shels/Derry you'd think
St. Joseph's finished 2 points behind Lincoln Red Imps and they have strengthened in the off season, fans of other LOI teams seem to be more optimistic than Shels fans about our chances against this lot

sbgawa
09/07/2024, 6:57 PM
Seriously I'm a pessimist myself at the best of times but if u don't make yourselves favourites against a team from Gib u are bringing it to a whole other level

sbgawa
09/07/2024, 6:58 PM
Meanwhile Rovers almost go one down. Being pressed back

ger121
09/07/2024, 7:10 PM
TNS 3 up! I thought Montenegrin football was on the up.

09/07/2024, 7:24 PM

If the Lith team go through they'll grab HJK's seed position in the next round, the only seed position on offer in this group.

09/07/2024, 7:27 PM
Virtus (San Marino) 0-4 FCSB (who are not Steaua, as a banner at the Euros advised) after 27 minutes

Who said there's no such thing as an easy game in Europe?

total hoofball
09/07/2024, 7:47 PM
Seriously I'm a pessimist myself at the best of times but if u don't make yourselves favourites against a team from Gib u are bringing it to a whole other level
Facts are results from Gibraltar teams in the early rounds of European competitions are mostly credible including wins in recent years against NI teams, Welsh teams and a certain Irish tinged Scottish Premier League club from Glasgow

09/07/2024, 8:10 PM
Match stats on livescore don't make for great reading - Rovers with 29% possession, 2 corners v 11 and 1 shot v 5. Anyone watching online know if either side are really looking like scoring though?

sbgawa
09/07/2024, 8:18 PM
Iceland team look good. Rovers hanging on and offering zero up front. Could call it professional defending to try to bring something back to tallaght.

09/07/2024, 8:18 PM
Rovers badly need a keeper who could come out and claim a corner or three. Under so much pressure.

Edit: Burns and Farrugia are excellent options to have to come on and stretch things on the break for the final few mins it must be said

sbgawa
09/07/2024, 8:21 PM
Farrugia and burns coming on for last 15 mins in place of byrne and Clarke. Two speedsters

sbgawa
09/07/2024, 8:22 PM
Vik get their 15th corner of the match......

ger121
09/07/2024, 8:26 PM
Rovers have pace on the counter as seen from that attack.

sbgawa
09/07/2024, 8:27 PM
Nugent sent off for a second yellow.......for diving near the halfway line....very very very harsh

09/07/2024, 8:31 PM
Iceland team look good. Rovers hanging on and offering zero up front. Could call it professional defending to try to bring something back to tallaght.
Reckon the home leg would be similar or would you be ok taking things back level? (Which seems it'd be a good result now down to ten)

I remember ye drew in Luxembourg in 2015 which was a poor result but the heat was a factor and it was always likely ye'd easily win in Dublin.

But Breidablik seemed to be better than ye in both legs with no regard for home/away and another game with 15+ corners conceded would be pushing it!

sbgawa
09/07/2024, 8:34 PM
Kenny misses a one on one with the keeper. Bad miss

yurt
09/07/2024, 8:35 PM
2 big chances created by Kenny's pace and he's put them both off target. He'll be very disappointed with the second one in particular

09/07/2024, 8:38 PM
Missing big chances in Europe?

There's a familiar feeling...

09/07/2024, 8:39 PM
If Rovers go through it will be tactically astute keeping it defensve away and go for it at home. If they go out it will be typical Rovers conservative away and not backing themselves. I happen to think they are better than they are showing tonight and are just about hanging on to a 0-0, certainly not backing themselves. The away goal encouraged teams to try and get one in cae they conceded one if home 2nd leg and I miss that aspect of the game.

sbgawa
09/07/2024, 8:40 PM
No idea how they haven't scored at some stage.