View Full Version : LoI in Europe 2024

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45

16/07/2024, 9:09 PM
Rovers doing their best England impression! Did they think it was done and dusted cause they were different 2nd half, a keep it defensively tight chat from Bradser and nearly chucked a game they were well in control of.

joey B
16/07/2024, 9:14 PM
The ref was handing out cards a bit too easily, but Rovers kept giving him reasons to, absolutely stupid from Byrne, he's paid the big bucks to come in clutch in these games not lose them.

I copped on right at the end that it was an English premier league ref,thought he was poor enough in the second half tbh …

Calcio Jack
16/07/2024, 9:15 PM
Rovers doing their best England impression! Did they think it was done and dusted cause they were different 2nd half, a keep it defensively tight chat from Bradser and nearly chucked a game they were well in control of.

We won and now pocket a minimum of €1.7m; so job done successfully.

16/07/2024, 9:16 PM
That game was a hard watch. At least the ref was a big upgrade on last week. Last year Rovers were accused of underestimating Breidablik and this year they can be accused of overestimating Vikingur. Rovers exaggerated their sense of minnowness in their approach in order to get the result when they could have just played football in both legs and won.

ger121
16/07/2024, 9:23 PM
That game was a hard watch. At least the ref was a big upgrade on last week. Last year Rovers were accused of underestimating Breidablik and this year they can be accused of overestimating Vikingur. Rovers exaggerated their sense of minnowness in their approach in order to get the result when they could have just played football in both legs and won.

I think Vikingur also underestimated Rovers based on last year, their own good form and Rovers lack of it.

Not a single set of odds or simulations I saw had Rovers winning that tie so they were underdogs in many eyes heading into the matches.

16/07/2024, 9:25 PM
We won and now pocket a minimum of €1.7m; so job done successfully.

I dunno, if your club is accumulating debt and it is essential to win really, from 2-0 and in control to being a bad penalty from et and risking going out - Id expect more squad considered and the experience of the manager. Its a let off, job done but not very well. The standards of fans has obviously fallen in line with the league. I would be very relieved if it were Dundalk rather than job done successfully even though it was successful...if ye know what I mean. The nothing to see here, move on thinking is when clubs really start regressing. Dundalk fans would know, a self imposed premature end of recent successful era from a position that could actually have been one of the dominant teams for many more years.

Calcio Jack
16/07/2024, 9:35 PM
I dunno, if your club is accumulating debt and it is essential to win really, from 2-0 and in control to being a bad penalty from et and risking going out - Id expect more squad considered and the experience of the manager. It’s la let off, job done but not very well. The standards of fans has obviously fallen in line with the league. I would be very relieved if it were Dundalk rather than job done successfully even though it was successful...if ye know what I mean. The nothing to see here, move on thinking is when clubs really start regressing. Dundalk fans would know, a self imposed premature end of recent successful era from a position that could actually have been one of the dominant teams for many more years.

Winning the tie and the financial benefits are as you know mega important; so obviously the result constitutes success on that front - no one is saying nothing to see move on etc. it’s obvious Bradley needs to work on a raft of changes/ improvements and winning tonight gives him that platform so that’s success on a grand scale ; so tonight as a Rovers fan I’m thrilled with the mega successful outcome and relived it occurred .

16/07/2024, 9:46 PM
I think Vikingur also underestimated Rovers based on last year, their own good form and Rovers lack of it.

Not a single set of odds or simulations I saw had Rovers winning that tie so they were underdogs in many eyes heading into the matches.

As I wrote before the game, the Icelandic consensus opinion had Rovers ahead going into this game. Obviously we know our football here:)

16/07/2024, 9:55 PM
Winning the tie and the financial benefits are as you know mega important; so obviously the result constitutes success on that front - no one is saying nothing to see move on etc. it’s obvious Bradley needs to work on a raft of changes/ improvements and winning tonight gives him that platform so that’s success on a grand scale ; so tonight as a Rovers fan I’m thrilled with the mega successful outcome and relived it occurred .

Its just doesnt suggest stability, something the Rovers have as a key pillar of the club, the ability to maintain a budget or not on a penalty kick. Im not suggesting Rovers are alone in this but the club have extolled their strict wage structure in the past - causing the Bradley not being backed moan on live TV and he got his way, the fan owned model now diluted and could still end up further at risk. Talk of successions in place if Bradley goes but yet there is a sense of staleness. Easily the strongest squad (I dont bother with Derry until they decide they want to win the league) but could miss out on European qualification which just kicks the issues that Rovers fans are releaved about avoiding tonight a year or two down the road. I dont think Rovers wont finish in the top 3 or 4 but its possible and it shouldnt and tonight the inability to rebuild with at current wage levels shouldnt have been so damn close. For the record this isnt a gloat or even a crticicism really, more an observation that is actually quite familiar.
Enjoy the result, Rovers fans are entitled to that tonight, wins in Europe should always be appreciated, prestige 1st, coefficient 2nd and money last of course, and there is little better than race to get organised for the next one especially if its away first.

16/07/2024, 9:59 PM
I think the Rovers 1st team squad is due a major overhaul, and quite a few older big earners are in the final 6 months of their contract, this win is huge to help keep the ship steady while they refresh the first team, things might yet get worse before they get better, but they're one good draw away from group stage football. I'm not sure the formation they play actually works any more.

I think the better team did go through, but they really couldn't have handled that 2nd half worse.

Vikingur were a far weaker team than Breidablik in the end.

Kingswood Rover
16/07/2024, 10:06 PM
Not pretty but a fantastic result for us and that’s all that counts

Rovers came out of the traps in the 2nd half like a paralyzed snail handing the initiative back to Vikinguer. Bradleys subs has us getting our momentum back and then Jack Byrne sees the red mist. He really has to look at himself as that handed it straight back to them. That ref was so poor not giving Rovers several obvious frees to us in the 2nd half. Jack Kenney now starting to shut the doubters up, he was class. no idea what the penno was about but talk about finally getting a break. Some crowd and the support from the team got while under the cosh as the end was incredible. Now time to pay back the credit union. WAR.

16/07/2024, 10:08 PM
Rovers came out of the traps in the 2nd half like a paralyzed snail handing the initiative back to Vikinguer. Bradleys subs has us getting our momentum back and then Jack Byrne sees the red mist. He really has to look at himself as that handed it straight back to them. That ref was so poor not giving Rovers several obvious frees to us in the 2nd half. Jack Kenney now starting to shut the doubters up, he was class. no idea what the penno was about but talk about finally getting a break. Some crowd and the support from the team got while under the cosh as the end was incredible. Now time to pay back the credit union. WAR.
If you haven't seen a replay Pico killed a man in the box. I think overall he's a very good player at this level, but can be a bit clumsy, seen by his yellow as well.

Kingswood Rover
16/07/2024, 10:12 PM
If you haven't seen a replay Pico killed a man in the box. I think overall he's a very good player at this level, but can be a bit clumsy, seen by his yellow as well.

In the south stand so hard to see. :hypnotized::hypnotized: down tudder end. Should get 10 k at the Sparta Prague game so 100 k off the gi normous debts people keep telling me about.

Knocklyonhoop
16/07/2024, 10:39 PM
How Pico wasn’t shown a yellow for the pen?? An awful challenge…

tho not giving the foul throw seconds before that was also a bottle job by the ref.

2nd half far from pretty but this leg was all about getting through. Pressure off next round before pressure comes back on after that.

16/07/2024, 10:41 PM
How Pico wasn’t shown a yellow for the pen?? An awful challenge…

I thought that too, then just wasn't sure if the ref giving the penalty was enough punishment. I fully expected et v 9 men and an absolute disaster. Bullet dodged.

yurt
17/07/2024, 12:46 AM
First evening in a long while I've enjoyed browsing through Bert's website.

What a monumental let of for Rovers and the co-efficient that they got the win. Had the pen gone in they would have surely lost that game in ET.

Coupling the rovers victory with the Kosovan's losing to the Andorrans it's been a fantastic evening for the LOI (completely ignoring that second half performance obviously). Balkani going straight into the conference league means they've a lot to do to get back into the group stages this season. Kosovo's total now likely to be pretty low. If we can overtake them into 32nd I'm pretty sure that puts our cup winners into the EL next season.

Both Rovers and Andorrans will almost certainly both be going into the opposite pots of the EL 3rd round champions path. Meaning Rovers have a 1/6 chance of playing them for group stage football this year. Compare that to where they would have been if that pen went in.

The knock on impact could be (already are) huge.

17/07/2024, 6:00 AM
First evening in a long while I've enjoyed browsing through Bert's website.

What a monumental let of for Rovers and the co-efficient that they got the win. Had the pen gone in they would have surely lost that game in ET.

Coupling the rovers victory with the Kosovan's losing to the Andorrans it's been a fantastic evening for the LOI (completely ignoring that second half performance obviously). Balkani going straight into the conference league means they've a lot to do to get back into the group stages this season. Kosovo's total now likely to be pretty low. If we can overtake them into 32nd I'm pretty sure that puts our cup winners into the EL next season.

Both Rovers and Andorrans will almost certainly both be going into the opposite pots of the EL 3rd round champions path. Meaning Rovers have a 1/6 chance of playing them for group stage football this year. Compare that to where they would have been if that pen went in.

The knock on impact could be (already are) huge.

33rd is enough for the cup winners into the EL, which is where we are as it stands. The champions of at least a couple of Latvia, Bosnia and Faroes are all likely to go through today though, so we still need to be looking over our shoulders.

And just to clarify, it wouldn't be next season's EL (25/26) but the one after (26/27).

sbgawa
17/07/2024, 6:03 AM
Is there a parachute from EL to ECL for the cup winners in that scenario or is it just lose and u are out?

17/07/2024, 6:55 AM
Is there a parachute from EL to ECL for the cup winners in that scenario or is it just lose and u are out?

Yes there's a parachute into the Conference league for them.

17/07/2024, 7:46 AM
Kosovo's total now likely to be pretty low. If we can overtake them into 32nd I'm pretty sure that puts our cup winners into the EL next season.
I think it's very early to be looking up the rankings yet (though I know you're pointing out a change point as much as anything else)

Lot of games to be played today/tomorrow - you wouldn't be confident of two wins against the Gibraltar sides after last week. A win and a draw leaves us on 1.000, and then a fairly severe second round set of games against Sparta Prague, Copenhagen, Zurich and Vaduz is next. The first three of those are surely wipe-outs, so we're hoping Pat's can get something against Vaduz. Let's say Pat's go out with a win and a loss, that has us on 1.250 with only Rovers left. That'd be lower than our score last year (1.500) which had us ranked 43rd for the season - so still a bit of work to do to even tread water.

Monday is the next draw date - if Rovers lose to Sparta, they drop to the third qualifying round of the Europa League. The teams aren't fully known of course, and so nor are the seedings. If we assume the seeds in the CL will all win, then we have -

FCSB
Shamrock Rovers
Lincoln Red Imps
KÍ Klaksvík/Differdange (KÍ currently 2-0 up)
The New Saints
RFS/Larne (RFS currently 3-0 up)
----------------
Ordabasy/Petrocub (currently 0-0)
Celje
Borac Banja Luka/Egnetia (Borac currently 1-0 up)
Dinamo Minsk
Panev?žys
UE Santa Coloma

Even though Rovers are almost certain to be seeded, strangely the unseeded pot looks stronger, though there's still manageable ties in there. But champions of Romania or champions of Andorra is a huge difference of course. Any upsets in CL round 2 would obviously change the pots a bit - though maybe only to make RFS/Larne an option instead of, say, Ordabasy/Petrocub (who play APOEL Nicosia next and who would be seeded here if they lost)

nr637
17/07/2024, 8:07 AM
Over 7,000 at Tallaght last night, great support, well done to all! :)

Burnsie
17/07/2024, 8:20 AM
I actaully thought the atmosphere was very flat until the drama of the last few minutes.. In previous European matches there the South Stand would be singing non-stop and generally causing a racket (with plenty of pyro as well but sin scéal eile).. Nothing like that last night Very stark contrast to , say, Brann in 2019 when the whole place was manic

17/07/2024, 8:27 AM
I think it's very early to be looking up the rankings yet (though I know you're pointing out a change point as much as anything else)

Lot of games to be played today/tomorrow - you wouldn't be confident of two wins against the Gibraltar sides after last week. A win and a draw leaves us on 1.000, and then a fairly severe second round set of games against Sparta Prague, Copenhagen, Zurich and Vaduz is next. The first three of those are surely wipe-outs, so we're hoping Pat's can get something against Vaduz. Let's say Pat's go out with a win and a loss, that has us on 1.250 with only Rovers left. That'd be lower than our score last year (1.500) which had us ranked 43rd for the season - so still a bit of work to do to even tread water.

Monday is the next draw date - if Rovers lose to Sparta, they drop to the third qualifying round of the Europa League. The teams aren't fully known of course, and so nor are the seedings. If we assume the seeds in the CL will all lose, then we have -

FCSB
Shamrock Rovers
Lincoln Red Imps
KÍ Klaksvík/Differdange (KÍ currently 2-0 up)
The New Saints
RFS/Larne (RFS currently 3-0 up)
----------------
Ordabasy/Petrocub (currently 0-0)
Celje
Borac Banja Luka/Egnetia (Borac currently 1-0 up)
Dinamo Minsk
Panev?žys
UE Santa Coloma

Even though Rovers are almost certain to be seeded, strangely the unseeded pot looks stronger, though there's still manageable ties in there. But champions of Romania or champions of Andorra is a huge difference of course. Any upsets in CL round 2 would obviously change the pots a bit - though maybe only to make RFS/Larne an option instead of, say, Ordabasy/Petrocub (who play APOEL Nicosia next and who would be seeded here if they lost)

Thanks for this. I'm so out of the loop with coefficients these days, that it's nice to see some of you loons keep up with it.

17/07/2024, 8:39 AM
I think 30th is just about the ceiling for the league in its current form over the next few years. It would take a major increase in investment and improvement in infrastructure to go much further, but hanging between 30-33 and having that EL spot every season would be massive for whoever got it.

17/07/2024, 9:16 AM
If you haven't seen a replay Pico killed a man in the box. I think overall he's a very good player at this level, but can be a bit clumsy, seen by his yellow as well.Blatant penalty, almost as stupid as the one he conceded against Shels. In mitigation I thought it was a clear foul on Dan Cleary just a second earlier. A push in the back caused him to misdirect his header.

17/07/2024, 9:18 AM
Rovers might want to stop collecting stupid pointless yellow cards as well, a flurry of them for very little, although Lopes falling in to a man was pretty funny :DPrescient!

17/07/2024, 10:52 AM
I actaully thought the atmosphere was very flat until the drama of the last few minutes.. In previous European matches there the South Stand would be singing non-stop and generally causing a racket (with plenty of pyro as well but sin scéal eile).. Nothing like that last night Very stark contrast to , say, Brann in 2019 when the whole place was manic

I always find the atmosphere in Tallaght awful. The best atmospheres it's had were when Dundalk played their European games there in 2016.

Straightstory
17/07/2024, 10:53 AM
Over 7,000 at Tallaght last night, great support, well done to all! :)
My first time in the North Stand - a very enjoyable experience. It's such an impressive ground now - puts every other club in the league to shame. Rovers are streets ahead pf everybody else regarding infrastructure and professionalism.
Very odd to see a few hundred (if even that) Icelandic fans given the East Stand entirely to themselves. It looked very weird. What was the point of that? Some nonsensical, over-zealous 'safety concern' no doubt.
On the game itself, Kenny's well-taken goals were the difference. Otherwise Rovers looked very shaky indeed. Extremely lucky to get through. (Surprised to see that VAR was present on the night).

17/07/2024, 11:04 AM
We won and now pocket a minimum of €1.7m; so job done successfully.€700k likely sell-on fee for Sinclair Armstrong too, I hear.

2 Year Contract
17/07/2024, 11:10 AM
Vaduz lost their final pre-season game 1-0 to Swiss top division side St Gallen - who will also be starting their European campaign in the conference league second round next week. Vaduz start their league campaign on Sunday before playing in Inchicore on Thursday next week

Kingswood Rover
17/07/2024, 11:33 AM
The support in the last 10 minutes was incredibly and the loudest i have ever heard and been in that stand since it opened.

17/07/2024, 12:02 PM
Anyone heard anything I'd streams for Derry and ourselves tomorrow? It's like being in the mid-00s.

17/07/2024, 12:28 PM
It's like being in the mid-00s.
What, Shels are successful, Rovers are in crisis and you're back posting on foot.ie? :p

joey B
17/07/2024, 12:35 PM
Anyone heard anything I'd streams for Derry and ourselves tomorrow? It's like being in the mid-00s.

https://derrycityplay.com/derrycityfc/games/g/96wqk150?fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0CMTEAAR3PeP8f5yIFCmIz hQFrTID9raHOtjhhFKg6k0NZREPv_GHxF10V4LUOn70_aem_DX wxtzgoF2JKh6AOMLoeyg

Derry stream there

total hoofball
17/07/2024, 12:54 PM
Nah nothing, hoping something is being officially sorted in the background

Bit of Shels mid-00s european action is up on youtube RTE and all - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaqHtCnUKwo

17/07/2024, 3:30 PM
What, Shels are successful, Rovers are in crisis and you're back posting on foot.ie? :p

They have never been success in my time tbf. I got on the bandwagon when the biscuit tin ran dry.

What a time to be alive.

17/07/2024, 3:32 PM

Bit of Shels mid-00s european action is up on youtube RTE and all - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaqHtCnUKwo

The club have organised a fanzone in Gib. So surely there's a stream somewhere in existence. St Joseph's are quickly turning into one of my most hated teams with their shenanigans the last few weeks.

17/07/2024, 3:33 PM
https://derrycityplay.com/derrycityfc/games/g/96wqk150?fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0CMTEAAR3PeP8f5yIFCmIz hQFrTID9raHOtjhhFKg6k0NZREPv_GHxF10V4LUOn70_aem_DX wxtzgoF2JKh6AOMLoeyg

Derry stream there

Good lad

cláirseach
17/07/2024, 4:09 PM
The club have organised a fanzone in Gib. So surely there's a stream somewhere in existence. St Joseph's are quickly turning into one of my most hated teams with their shenanigans the last few weeks.

Oh aye? What have they been up to?

thebronze14
17/07/2024, 4:33 PM

Funny to see Bohs and Rovers flags at the match!

Joe Strummer
17/07/2024, 6:21 PM
My first time in the North Stand - a very enjoyable experience. It's such an impressive ground now - puts every other club in the league to shame. Rovers are streets ahead pf everybody else regarding infrastructure and professionalism.
Very odd to see a few hundred (if even that) Icelandic fans given the East Stand entirely to themselves. It looked very weird. What was the point of that? Some nonsensical, over-zealous 'safety concern' no doubt.
On the game itself, Kenny's well-taken goals were the difference. Otherwise Rovers looked very shaky indeed. Extremely lucky to get through. (Surprised to see that VAR was present on the night).

The club wont open the East stand for home supporters unless the other 3 stands are sold out. It costs too much on seurity ete, etc just to have a few hundred in it.

joey B
17/07/2024, 8:43 PM
Larne currently 7-0 down on aggregate in their champions league tie,bit of a disaster for them…

ger121
17/07/2024, 8:49 PM
Crues showing Derry the way. Were 3 nil down on agg going into 2nd half but that tie is now gone to ET.

oriel
17/07/2024, 9:29 PM
Larne currently 7-0 down on aggregate in their champions league tie,bit of a disaster for them…

Not exactly a huge club either from Riga, we put another Riga club out in 2019 on pens away, the standard in NI must be off the scales poor, Larne also won NIFL in 2023 + 2024 !

ger121
17/07/2024, 9:42 PM
Crues showing Derry the way. Were 3 nil down on agg going into 2nd half but that tie is now gone to ET.

Caernarfon win 8-7 on penalties.9 each taken.

oriel
17/07/2024, 9:47 PM

Crusaders just lost 7-8 on pens to Caernarfon, 3 of the last 4 pens missed, some finish but thats 200k or so to the Welsh side. They finished 5th in Welsh League last season, got to Euro via play off.

Knocklyonhoop
17/07/2024, 10:43 PM
Not exactly a huge club either from Riga, we put another Riga club out in 2019 on pens away, the standard in NI must be off the scales poor, Larne also won NIFL in 2023 + 2024 !

5 yrs ago is hardly a fair comparison when a relatively small amount of investment can make a big difference.

I have no idea how much better they might be than the team ye beat 5 yrs ago, but for example, Rovers beat a team this yr that finished 25 pts ahead of the team that beat us easily over two legs 12 months ago

17/07/2024, 10:44 PM
Derry were very easily beaten by Riga a couple of seasons ago as well no?

17/07/2024, 10:57 PM

St Joseph's still negotiating over a stream, apparently shels are hopeful of getting something done

ger121
17/07/2024, 11:08 PM
Derry were very easily beaten by Riga a couple of seasons ago as well no?

I thought the same but looks to be another Riga side. There are a few of them. This is the crowd Linfield messed up badly in UCL PO in 2022.