View Full Version : LoI in Europe 2024

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45

joey B
08/08/2024, 8:13 PM
That's the worst performance I've seen in Europe under Bradley from SRFC.

I didn’t even watch the game but I bet there was worse!

ger121
08/08/2024, 8:14 PM
Last minute winner for Larne in Kosovo I see. Winners play losers of Dinamo Minsk/Lincoln Red Imps for a place in the groups

I'm thinking Ballkani not the side they were the last 2 years. Larne have had some good results in Europe in recent years. Granted not the last year or two.

CSAD
08/08/2024, 8:15 PM
That's the worst performance I've seen in Europe under Bradley from SRFC.

And the bar is incredibly low yet Rover's manage to find it every year. It's almost like they wanted to lose 2 or 3-0 so they tie can a consolation win at home when the tie is over and Celje have already taken their foot off the pedal...just to create the illusion that everything is wonderful at Rovers.

Unfortunately for Rovers, Celje arent good enough to finish the tie in one nights they actually have a chance next week meaning Celje will still give them a tough game.

ger121
08/08/2024, 8:15 PM
Pat's really have to try and get another goal in this game, given they have a man advantage against a tiring side.

CSAD
08/08/2024, 8:16 PM
1-0 probably a fair result. Celje are probably a shade better than anything in our league but all to play for in the second leg. Rovers are capable of getting a result against them at home.

If they could only beat THAT Rovers side 1-0 at home then I have my doubts about how good they are...especially considering Rovers did everything int heir power to gift Celje a 2nd or 3rd goal...

CSAD
08/08/2024, 8:18 PM
Pat's really have to try and get another goal in this game, given they have a man advantage against a tiring side.

Really feel the difference between St Pats going through or not will be down to who gets the next goal, part of me feel Sabah under these circumstances would take a 1-0 defeat going to Azerbaijan next week, similar to Rovers.

ger121
08/08/2024, 8:22 PM
And the bar is incredibly low yet Rover's manage to find it every year. It's almost like they wanted to lose 2 or 3-0 so they tie can a consolation win at home when the tie is over and Celje have already taken their foot off the pedal...just to create the illusion that everything is wonderful at Rovers.

Unfortunately for Rovers, Celje arent good enough to finish the tie in one nights they actually have a chance next week meaning Celje will still give them a tough game.

Would you give over. Sheriff got pumped 3-0 in Slovenia tonight. Maribor also won at home 2-1 against the Serbian side Vojvodina. Both of those sides would be stronger than Rovers in my view. Slovenia have 3/4 sides left in European competition and are having a very good campaign so far. Could have 2 makes the group stages.

ELO gave Rovers a 14% chance of winning over 2 legs. Seems they've done well tonight and are well in the tie.

You tend to come on here each year during the European campaigns and go to town on the LOI sides.

CSAD
08/08/2024, 8:30 PM
Would you give over. Sheriff got pumped 3-0 in Slovenia tonight. Maribor also won at home 2-1 against the Serbian side Vojvodina. Both of those sides would be stronger than Rovers in my view. Slovenia have 3/4 sides left in European competition and are having a very good campaign so far. Could have 2 makes the group stages.

ELO gave Rovers a 14% chance of winning over 2 legs. Seems they've done well tonight and are well in the tie.

You tend to come on here each year during the European campaigns and go to town on the LOI sides.

And yet they are only 2 spots ahead of Ireland according to this 1710004391531380986 (https://x.com/fotcalc/status/1710004391531380986)...

Genuine question have you watched any of the sides you've mentioned regularly? I suspect not, so in that case why are you making claims about sides you don't know much about.

They've done well but you must remember, they've only done well because of how low they've set the bar for themselves...not because of how great Celje are, that's why they tie is still alive because if this was truly a good team the tie would already be dead and buried after that performance. They lost 5-1 to Slovan for a reason, doubt even Rover's would manage that...but I wouldnt put it past them.

No, I just go to town on Rover's for their minnowism approach to Europe.

Philosophizer
08/08/2024, 8:34 PM
Some absolutely brainless rubbish being spouted on here tonight. Time to get back to reality. It was nowhere near Bradley’s worst performance in Europe. Wasn’t his best either, but given the inconsistent season they’re having, going away in Europe to a team that are slightly above anything in the LOI this year, it wasnt the worst result. They’re still well in the tie. Rovers have some history of raising their level in Europe at Tallaght so they’ve a decent chance next week. Celje are slight favourites of course, but Rovers are capable of turning it around.

08/08/2024, 8:36 PM
Go to town on Rovers! Could be argued that in previous years deserved but definitely not tonight, far from that worst even if just calling it on a wind up. It would not be at all a surprise to see Rovers push to progres in Tallaght, but they need to be firing to a man and no clangers!

CSAD
08/08/2024, 8:39 PM
Some absolutely brainless rubbish being spouted on here tonight. Time to get back to reality. It was nowhere near Bradley’s worst performance in Europe. Wasn’t his best either, but given the inconsistent season they’re having, going away in Europe to a team that are slightly above anything in the LOI this year, it wasnt the worst result. They’re still well in the tie. Rovers have some history of raising their level in Europe at Tallaght so they’ve a decent chance next week. Celje are slight favourites of course, but Rovers are capable of turning it around.

Rovers make any side they play look better than they are and that was true tonight. I mean this is a Rovers side that celebrated getting a draw away to part-timers from Iceland like it was a historic result so no surprises there.

08/08/2024, 8:41 PM
Whatever about all that, Pat's result is both excellent and disappointing. 2 sides still in with a shout of progressing by the 2nd leg of the 3rd round of Europe is good news if you ask me.

Philosophizer
08/08/2024, 8:45 PM
Rovers make any side they play look better than they are and that was true tonight. I mean this is a Rovers side that celebrated getting a draw away to part-timers from Iceland like it was a historic result so no surprises there.
Lol. You really do post some drivel sometimes.

ger121
08/08/2024, 8:49 PM
Whatever about all that, Pat's result is both excellent and disappointing. 2 sides still in with a shout of progressing by the 2nd leg of the 3rd round of Europe is good news if you ask me.

Their first win in Tallaght in Europe I think. Seems it could have been a bigger win. Pat’s just look like they are built for Europe and Kenny knows how to do it. I fancied them before this match and I really do now.

Jack B
08/08/2024, 9:19 PM
Dublin refereeing strikes again!

Never been so gutted to win a game 1-0, just feels like we'll regret not doing much, much more tonight. Sabah looked impressive the first 10-15 and then just seemed to stop playing, which was only compounded by the red card. I'm as glass half full a Pat's fan as you can get and think we legitimately should have won at least 3 or 4 nil tonight, so many clear opportunities went begging.

Feels like the kind of scoreline we'll really regret next week, but for now a win is a win and we're finally starting to put them together.

Nostradamus
08/08/2024, 9:28 PM
Kenny already starting to show why Kelleher got the cheque book out for him, man knows how to build great squads, with an eye for a player and knows how to get results in Europe too like no other Irish manager has.

2 Year Contract
08/08/2024, 10:06 PM
Dominant performance from Pats tonight and unfortunate not to have won by 3 or 4. Other than an early near post header from a set piece that Anang made a good save from, Sabah didn’t have any other proper chances all night, granted the red card in the second half contributed to that but both yellows were clear cut. Sjoberg has been excellent of late and that continued tonight, Lennon, Forrester and Palmer ran the midfield and Mulraney and Elbouzedi provided great with and pace on the wings. Kenny got it bang on again in Europe, heres hoping the difficult task of a draw in Azerbaijan can come to fruition

08/08/2024, 10:15 PM
Dublin refereeing strikes again!

Never been so gutted to win a game 1-0, just feels like we'll regret not doing much, much more tonight. Sabah looked impressive the first 10-15 and then just seemed to stop playing, which was only compounded by the red card. I'm as glass half full a Pat's fan as you can get and think we legitimately should have won at least 3 or 4 nil tonight, so many clear opportunities went begging.

Feels like the kind of scoreline we'll really regret next week, but for now a win is a win and we're finally starting to put them together.

Totally agree. After ten minutes I thought were were going to get spanked. Once we got into it after that we were fine, and deserved the half time lead. After the sending off we were completely dominant, and could easily have had another 2/3 goals. I can’t help feeling we’ll be sitting here next week rueing this as a great chance that got away. Really hope I’m wrong.

nr637
08/08/2024, 10:20 PM
What was the attendance at Tallaght Stadium tonite!

EatYerGreens
08/08/2024, 10:51 PM
Last minute winner for Larne in Kosovo I see. Winners play losers of Dinamo Minsk/Lincoln Red Imps for a place in the groups

If Larne don't win this round they will rightly be kicking themselves. An IL club will probably never have an easier route to European group football.

EatYerGreens
08/08/2024, 10:55 PM
I'm thinking Ballkani not the side they were the last 2 years. Larne have had some good results in Europe in recent years. Granted not the last year or two.

Larne were gubbed 7-1 by Balkani just last year. So even just tonight's 1-0 win marks a big change

2 Year Contract
08/08/2024, 11:23 PM
Wasn’t aware until just before kickoff that VAR was in operation for the Pats game tonight. I knew it was in use in early round Champions League qualifiers but didn’t know it was used in Conference League third round. Just checked there and it’s also going to be used up in Larne next week. I think Mr.Parker had a question on here about why Richmond park wasn’t used for this round as stadium regulations had been relaxed, well that’s likely the answer. Richmond isn’t equipped for VAR at all with the lack of high vantage points for cameras as well as the floodlights potentially blocking the VAR cameras view

CSAD
09/08/2024, 8:23 AM
Lol. You really do post some drivel sometimes.

Nope just common sense, just look at Breidablik last year for instance. And then after the game the team Rover's lost to are supposedly a top side and its nothing down to just how bad Rovers played....the same being said about Celje already.

09/08/2024, 9:01 AM
It's almost as if every team they play in the Champions league are also good at winning football matches

D24Saint
09/08/2024, 10:46 AM
What was the attendance at Tallaght Stadium tonite!

4500 the attendance thread said. Its disappointing and the club will have to look at it.

09/08/2024, 11:16 AM
It is about what you get for big home games, with no away fans as well. I'd probably call it par.

It's the kind of match I'd love to go to, but a 4 hour round trip or overnight stay in Dublin, not a chance. I do think the tickets are too pricey to attract neuturals.
€25 is grand when you have the reduced 2,500 capacity, but I think a game in Tallaght should be closer to €15 if you really want to attract floating voters.

EatYerGreens
09/08/2024, 12:05 PM
It is about what you get for big home games, with no away fans as well. I'd probably call it par.

It's the kind of match I'd love to go to, but a 4 hour round trip or overnight stay in Dublin, not a chance. I do think the tickets are too pricey to attract neuturals.
€25 is grand when you have the reduced 2,500 capacity, but I think a game in Tallaght should be closer to €15 if you really want to attract floating voters.

Would agree on the pricing. I've seen 3 different LOI teams play European games at Tallaght overt the last few years, and as a neutral I'd say that €15-20 would be more likely to attract me to future games.

placid casual
09/08/2024, 12:23 PM
Rovers games in Europe at tallaght are €20 which is fair for European football.
Hoping we get 7-8k next Thursday as the game is still relatively in the balance,not that you'd think that judging by some of the troglodyte comments on here

sbgawa
09/08/2024, 2:33 PM
Rovers games in Europe at tallaght are €20 which is fair for European football.
Hoping we get 7-8k next Thursday as the game is still relatively in the balance,not that you'd think that judging by some of the troglodyte comments on here

Dont feed the Trolls PC ;).
Id be hoping for a sell out if possible.
We sold out for the Sparta game and this one is for a guaranteed Group stage spot.
We need everyone roaring the team on for this one

09/08/2024, 3:31 PM
I would expect a full Tallaght to make quite a difference in the 2nd leg. The match last night seemed fairly flat and played on such a crap pitch. Ball rolling better will probably lead to both teams making more chances. I wouldn't have Rovers favourites but I reckon at worst they draw the home leg.

09/08/2024, 3:34 PM

My memory could be faulty, but I’m sure we got a much better attendance in our last European game in Tallaght. I thought I recalled about 7,000. (Could be wrong, mind)

I’m not sure what the reference to the club having to “look at it” means. Not sure how much more they could have done, or what they did differently to before. I don’t remember if the ticket price was cheaper last time.

Jack B
09/08/2024, 3:45 PM
My memory could be faulty, but I’m sure we got a much better attendance in our last European game in Tallaght. I thought I recalled about 7,000. (Could be wrong, mind)

I’m not sure what the reference to the club having to “look at it” means. Not sure how much more they could have done, or what they did differently to before. I don’t remember if the ticket price was cheaper last time.

It was €20 for an adults ticket when we played CSKA Sofia.

D24Saint
09/08/2024, 3:58 PM
It was €20 for an adults ticket when we played CSKA Sofia.

Had a look through the emails and it was €20 for adults & €15 for Oap’s v CSKA.

09/08/2024, 4:23 PM
Sofia had a solid few hundred fans as well didn't they? Made a big racket and really added to the atmosphere, although I do remember people saying they were a shower of *******s after :D

2 Year Contract
09/08/2024, 4:28 PM
Sofia had a solid few hundred fans as well didn't they? Made a big racket and really added to the atmosphere, although I do remember people saying they were a shower of *******s after :D

I would say less than a hundred but at the very most 100. Yeah they were a nasty shower, plastered Tallaght with Swastika/CSKA stickers and racially abused a couple of Pats players both in person and online after it

https://www.sportsfile.com/id/2309697/

ger121
09/08/2024, 5:20 PM
Watched the highlights of the games. Rovers really are their own worst enemy sometimes with messing around in and around their own box. If they cleared the lines a bit more I think they’d concede less. That aside, they played ok and had some chances. Pitch was horrendous. Celje are bang ordinary. Lot of whistling at the end, I think they expected to win by two to three goals. This lot are beatable if Rovers play at a level they are capable of.

D24Saint
09/08/2024, 5:25 PM
I would say less than a hundred but at the very most 100. Yeah they were a nasty shower, plastered Tallaght with Swastika/CSKA stickers and racially abused a couple of Pats players both in person and online after it

https://www.sportsfile.com/id/2309697/

I wouldn’t go near Sofia again. On the surface it’s a decent sort of city but their football culture should be avoided. A few of us got jumped on outside our hotel.

pateen
12/08/2024, 5:49 PM
Either of Thurs games on LOI tv ?

nr637
13/08/2024, 8:49 AM
Either of Thurs games on LOI tv ?

Virgin considering/negotiating I think, could be a last minute decision if they can change their TV schedule to suit! :confused:

13/08/2024, 10:27 AM
Virgin considering/negotiating I think, could be a last minute decision if they can change their TV schedule to suit! :confused:

Pretty sure both games were already confirmed to be on SolidSport again.

13/08/2024, 10:34 AM
I assume solidsport are giving clubs a better cut than LOITV or what's the story there? Strange to break away from it

2 Year Contract
13/08/2024, 11:17 AM
I assume solidsport are giving clubs a better cut than LOITV or what's the story there? Strange to break away from it

Yeah Pats is on Solidsport again this week. I’d imagine they give a better fee than LOITV. They’re a Swedish company that cover clubs from many different countries and interestingly I saw a clip of the Pats goal from last weeks game and it had Swedish commentary and tv channel markings on screen so I presume they might even be broadcasting it on TV over there, but at the very least online

13/08/2024, 11:19 AM
Fair play to them all for looking at other opportunities, absolutely mad for the league to lose potential income to Sweden!

ger121
13/08/2024, 5:22 PM
Solid sports very good at promoting the games on social media and give away free passes to each game.

sbgawa
15/08/2024, 11:00 AM
Celje manager saying they should win tonight becasue they are a better team. Unusual to see a manager being so outspoken in advance of a match, default these days is more "no easy games etc etc" Pohls made a couple of excelent saves to keep us in it out there so i can see why he is confident but lets see.
I thought Vikeinger would beat us in Tallaght on the basis of how dominant they were in Iceland 17 corners etc etc and was wrong there so hopefully Rovers can turn this one around.

ger121
15/08/2024, 12:22 PM
The problem for LOI sides has been keeping clean sheets. You get the feeling Rovers need at least 2 in this one just to even get to ET. Pats need at least 1.

sbgawa
15/08/2024, 2:37 PM
The problem for LOI sides has been keeping clean sheets. You get the feeling Rovers need at least 2 in this one just to even get to ET. Pats need at least 1.

100% we need at least 2, cant see us keeping a clean sheet.

pateen
15/08/2024, 4:05 PM
Is it my connection or is anyone else having a very blurry view of the game ?

pateen
15/08/2024, 4:11 PM
Jesus, The pats keeper looks nervy. Both on saves and distribution

Buckett
15/08/2024, 4:13 PM
Anyone have a link for either of the games?