View Full Version : LoI in Europe 2024

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45

legendz
16/08/2024, 11:15 AM
If Shamrock Rovers qualify for the Europa League they'll have 8 group games. The Conference League has 6 group games. The Champions League also has 8 group games. Other than that, same format. No parachuting into another tournament after the group stage any more.

oriel
16/08/2024, 11:24 AM
Our home leg is next Thursday at 19:45 in Tallaght. Away leg is the Wednesday 28th in Istanbul.
The Dundalk match could and selfishly should have to be moved as Sunday to Wednesday isn't a good time gap.

Why should it be moved? The Galway game wasn't moved from last Sunday and your second string did ok. I`m sure the charter flight will make up for the long travel, plus its only 4 hours flight this time.

Zico
16/08/2024, 11:26 AM
How does the prize money work for
rovers - is the €3.1m conference group qualification in addition to the €1.9m accumulated in champions league qualifiers so more or less €5m in total at least or is it all inclusive in the €3.1m??

pateen
16/08/2024, 11:46 AM
Why should it be moved? The Galway game wasn't moved from last Sunday and your second string did ok. I`m sure the charter flight will make up for the long travel, plus its only 4 hours flight this time.

To give both teams a fighting chance in Europe. Its one of the main ways to give the league some recognition at home. Its something the FAI should allow for every year.
Same would apply to Dundalk when they're in Europe.

Some people just dont get that though.

oriel
16/08/2024, 11:52 AM
Dundalk came off a flight from Russia in the early hours of a Saturday am once and played a cup final the next day.

Why on earth should Dundalk now in a fight for their lives, agree to move a game further than the Sunday, only to play against a refreshed and full strength Pats side (possibly out of europe) and with no relegation concerns?

Pats did very well to get to the play offs and fair play to them, but this is a time to look after yourself.

Further, we also played a weakened side on a Sunday in 2020 and lost 4-0 to Rovers before a play off for the EL the following Wed or so.

16/08/2024, 11:58 AM
At least Pat's do have this weekend free to catch their breath before going back at it on Thursday. If they were playing this weekend as well I think it would be far more crucial the Dundalk game be moved. The game in Turkey being on Wednesday is very unfortunate and awkward. If first leg happened to be on the Wednesday instead probably no one would even be talking about moving games. They might get hammered and it's all moot before the 2nd leg anyway, but hopefully they can keep it tight.

In reality I think either club getting a draw in either leg will be a decent showing in the playoffs.

sbgawa
16/08/2024, 12:08 PM
Doesnt suit me but i tend to agree that teams need to get on with it in Europe and not ask other teams to mess with their schedules.
With the extra money from Europe as the prize their is a downside.

One thing they could do in addition to the extra monday fixture early in the season where the Euro qualifiers play each other would be to start the league a week earlier for the Euro teams and let them get 2 games ahead by the time Euros come around and dont schedule a match for the opening couple of weeks in Europe.
Or maybe schedule the euro qualifiers to play the second week in Europe against each other and both would be happy to cancel if they make it through.
IF two of the 4 go through then let the other two play in the league

Its not ideal but its better than messing the other teams around

seand
16/08/2024, 12:12 PM
Part of Dundalk's problem in 2016 was we had too many games postponed during the qualifying rounds, so we had too much of a backlog to fit in during the group phase. (An extra domestic cup and a cup semi replay didn't help too.) There's plenty of precedent for league games getting postponed for Europe, we've benefited in the past, looks like we'll likely suffer this time as I can't see Pats not getting a requested postponement.

16/08/2024, 12:23 PM
To give both teams a fighting chance in Europe. Its one of the main ways to give the league some recognition at home. Its something the FAI should allow for every year.
Same would apply to Dundalk when they're in Europe.

Some people just dont get that though.

I absolutely agree that clubs not receiving millions of euro for playing in European football should move their own fixtures to suit the clubs that are seeking to make more millions in Europe.

pateen
16/08/2024, 12:58 PM
Fair enough. I see all your points in that argument.

2 Year Contract
16/08/2024, 1:07 PM
Thankfully Pats have seen sense and downed the prices from the €25 tickets for the Sabah game to €20 for the Istanbul game

sbgawa
16/08/2024, 3:26 PM
Our League match with Bohs has been rescheduled from Friday 30th August to Sunday 1st September at 11:30 a.m.
Very decent of them to accomadate us ;)

D24Saint
16/08/2024, 3:51 PM
The tickets for the home game will €20 for adults and €15 plus €2 fee when they go on sale.

ger121
16/08/2024, 3:59 PM
Our League match with Bohs has been rescheduled from Friday 30th August to Sunday 1st September at 11:30 a.m.
Very decent of them to accomadate us ;)

I remember some early KOs in my time but 11:30 has to be the earliest. Coldplay to blame it seems.

sbgawa
16/08/2024, 4:04 PM
That KOtime will be a challenge for the hippster wing of your support who wouldnt be used to getting up early in the morning

sbgawa
16/08/2024, 4:08 PM
Thankfully Pats have seen sense and downed the prices from the €25 tickets for the Sabah game to €20 for the Istanbul game

right move IMO as well, people arent flush with cash and ironically the most loyal STH are the ones who feel the pinch of having to pay for entrance
Only just over 6000 at the match announced last night for Rovers v Celje (unless i heard wrong)
Seems very low compared to previous round which was a sell out and this was for a place in the groups.
Maybe the fans didnt come because we lost away but it seemed strangly low to me.

yurt
16/08/2024, 4:08 PM
Will be interested to see how the seeding pools shake out in the ECL if Rovers lose to PAOK. If all ties go the way of the seeded side they'll go into pot 4 (out of 6). A couple of upsets could see them sneak into pot 3.

Seeding don't mean much at this level at the same time since weak sides who qualify for Europe regularly build up a decent co-efficient despite being much weaker than clubs from mid-ranked nations.

24/36 teams qualify for the knock out rounds so if they were to draw a couple weak teams they've have a mighty chance of reaching the knock out phase

Shearer
16/08/2024, 4:16 PM
Sorry if this has been asked before, but in the event of Rovers (and hopefully Pat's and Larne) drawing a big team in the groups would it be possible to move the game to a bigger venue?

I know Dundalk played in Tallaght and the Aviva last time but I'm sure covid times were different.

sbgawa
16/08/2024, 4:19 PM
Sorry if this has been asked before, but in the event of Rovers (and hopefully Pat's and Larne) drawing a big team in the groups would it be possible to move the game to a bigger venue?

I know Dundalk played in Tallaght and the Aviva last time but I'm sure covid times were different.

AFAIK you have to play all your matches in the one venue to maintain the "integrity" of the League.
The idea is it would be unfair on some of the teams you choose to play in a packed out Tallaght and hopefully beat if you decide to go and play in the AViva and lose because a big name might fill the AVIVA.

ger121
16/08/2024, 4:38 PM
That KOtime will be a challenge for the hippster wing of your support who wouldnt be used to getting up early in the morning

Perfect for your supporters though, many of whom will have been up early anyway to watch their favourite Sunday morning cartoons.

16/08/2024, 5:03 PM
How does the prize money work for
rovers - is the €3.1m conference group qualification in addition to the €1.9m accumulated in champions league qualifiers so more or less €5m in total at least or is it all inclusive in the €3.1m??

It's inclusive in the league stage money. You don't get the qualification money once you make the league stage.

Minimum for them is €3.26m.
- €3.17m for getting to the league stage
- minimum €85k from value pillar

Page 7 on this document explains it a lot more:

https://editorial.uefa.com/resources/028b-1a7880138a24-7a993e2e33d1-1000/20240322_circular_2024_13_en.pdf

Calcio Jack
16/08/2024, 5:11 PM
I remember some early KOs in my time but 11:30 has to be the earliest. Coldplay to blame it seems.

Played you in Tallaght at that time on a Sunday 2010 after we’d played away to Juve - the game where we had Pat Flynn sent off but still won 3-0 including one by Twigg when marked by two players (Oman and Heary) with his back to the the goal he flicked the ball over them , turned and volleyed it past Barry Murphy - always felt that was a major turning point as we went on to win the league that season - I can understand why your memory blanked that

Dermobohs
16/08/2024, 6:59 PM

Your lot can’t get out to a euro game at 745 ffs

ger121
16/08/2024, 7:19 PM
Played you in Tallaght at that time on a Sunday 2010 after we’d played away to Juve - the game where we had Pat Flynn sent off but still won 3-0 including one by Twigg when marked by two players (Oman and Heary) with his back to the the goal he flicked the ball over them , turned and volleyed it past Barry Murphy - always felt that was a major turning point as we went on to win the league that season - I can understand why your memory blanked that

I remember that one now. Few of us sitting down to a fry, hanging from the night before. Was on tv as well.

pateen
17/08/2024, 11:06 AM
One thing about Bradley, he never lets things go.
Always seems to have that bitter side to him.

https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/they-need-to-leave-their-egos-at-the-door-stephen-bradley-hits-out-at-arrogant-nk-celje-boss-albert-riera/a2029052895.html

Buller
17/08/2024, 12:13 PM
One thing about Bradley, he never lets things go.
Always seems to have that bitter side to him.

https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/they-need-to-leave-their-egos-at-the-door-stephen-bradley-hits-out-at-arrogant-nk-celje-boss-albert-riera/a2029052895.html

Its reaction to the Celje boss comments over in the away leg and before the match:

https://x.com/SouthStandColl/status/1824466169824240067?t=YWpNO2-PxzvxHp0BC1vVng

pateen
17/08/2024, 2:07 PM
I know.
However after a great win, you'd think he'd be more grown up than that, move on and start talking about the next task ahead.

He doesn't though. He just can't let things go.

placid casual
17/08/2024, 2:28 PM
He was interviewed about 10 mins after the game. Even at the final whistle these no mark slovenians were throwing shapes so I'd hazard a guess it was near the front of Bradley's mind.

17/08/2024, 2:54 PM
Bradley was well within his right to reply. You could be a bit critical for him repeating himself, pushing the point and showing that the attitude got under his skin, that he felt disrespected and said it was motivation. Just for that reason I think showing contempt would have had a greater impact. Maybe something like who won, who lost, who's bitter, who's better, next question, or just laugh with a yeah he is some craic isnt he, or (if) they have a better squad maybe they need a better manager. Giving air to the length of response would/did look like the mind games hit their mark.

bohsmug
17/08/2024, 8:47 PM
Far be it from me to defend Bradley but he's right. Absolute gibberish from Riera.

CSAD
17/08/2024, 9:00 PM
I would love to know where teams like Celje get their arrogance from and what is it based on? Dont these players realise if they were actually as good as they think they are they wouldnt be playing in Slovenia would they?

It was the same with Mura in 2022 when they played Rovers and I remember Forrester more or less making the same point as Bradley after the game.

ger121
17/08/2024, 9:31 PM
Riera is a clown. Had form for talking **** as a player and then looking a fool. He was doubling down in the post match press conference too.

18/08/2024, 2:55 PM
Riera is a clown. Had form for talking **** as a player and then looking a fool. He was doubling down in the post match press conference too.

Only people have said that he was top player I wouldnt know, have no recollection of him at Liverpool or in the Spain side and I dont have my head totally buried in LoI. If he fell through the cracks in my memory he wasnt that big a deal!!

18/08/2024, 7:51 PM
Only people have said that he was top player I wouldnt know, have no recollection of him at Liverpool or in the Spain side and I dont have my head totally budied in LoI. If he fell through the cracks in my memory he wasnt that big a deal!!

Thin Reira was playing for Liverpool around time Rafa Banitez was mgr think it was 05/06

joey B
18/08/2024, 8:44 PM
Only people have said that he was top player I wouldnt know, have no recollection of him at Liverpool or in the Spain side and I dont have my head totally budied in LoI. If he fell through the cracks in my memory he wasnt that big a deal!!

He was in and around the Liverpool team that came semi close to winning the league in 08/09,it was Gerrard and Torres mostly and nothing to do with him!

ger121
18/08/2024, 9:25 PM
Thin Reira was playing for Liverpool around time Rafa Banitez was mgr think it was 05/06

He fell out with Rafa and was gone not long after. He seemed to not last long at clubs.

D24Saint
19/08/2024, 12:11 PM
Tickets appear to be going well for Thursday. The West and East stands are nearing full up. I had a look at the istanbul basaksehir vs alanyaspor match yesterday. They have some very good wide players that can put quailty balls into the box. I wasn't as impressed with them at the back they looked a bit sluggish at times. Hopefully we show up on Thursday and put in a good performance.

oriel
19/08/2024, 12:44 PM
I see the Dundalk v Pats league game confirmed now as expected, Sunday 25th August, 3pm. Correct decision.

This shouldn't really impact Pats too much, a one hour trip up the M1, back in plenty of time for the flight out to Türkiye on Monday.

Glen Of Aherlow
19/08/2024, 4:14 PM
The centre forward Piatek looked like he was going to be a superstar at one stage when he signed for Milan , but his career seems to have drifted since then .

legendz
21/08/2024, 7:53 AM
Why is Pat's second leg on a Wednesday and not Thursday?
When there is only a six day turnaround, it is harsh that the Dundalk clash in-between cannot be postponed. A six day European turnaround is where a postponement should be accomodated.

Kiki Balboa
21/08/2024, 8:16 AM
The centre forward Piatek looked like he was going to be a superstar at one stage when he signed for Milan , but his career seems to have drifted since then .

Funny yoi should bring up thay name. Watched him play for Hertha Berlin... An absolute bluffer of a player. The signing that really got Hertha eventually relegated.

21/08/2024, 8:19 AM
When there is only a six day turnaround, it is harsh that the Dundalk clash in-between cannot be postponed. A six day European turnaround is where a postponement should be accomodated.
If they were going to have a game on a Wednesday it should have been tonight and then there probably wouldn't have even been any talk of fixture postponements. I do think the way it has fallen could put Pat's season in an absolute tailspin again if the week goes badly. Playing Dundalk and Drogheda right in between and after the 2 biggest games of the season, 2 wins and they're back around the fringes of a shot at Europe with next year. I fully expect them to lose both legs in Europe, a draw at home would be an incredible achievement.

I'd be more hopeful of Rovers doing something, but if they got a draw in either leg it's also probably a solid effort.

LOI101
21/08/2024, 8:26 AM

At a guess I'd say its because Besiktas are playing at home Thursday but that's only a guess

2 Year Contract
21/08/2024, 8:29 AM
Funny yoi should bring up thay name. Watched him play for Hertha Berlin... An absolute bluffer of a player. The signing that really got Hertha eventually relegated.

Saw today that he was signed for €25m by Hertha, having been signed for €35m by Milan before that! Scored in the euros against Austria this summer but didn’t play in either of Poland’s other games

2 Year Contract
21/08/2024, 8:31 AM

City clash. Besiktas play Lugano in Istanbul on Thursday. I do think that UEFA rule is a bit stupid when it comes to cities as massive as Istanbul is - the biggest in Europe with a 15m population!

D24Saint
21/08/2024, 9:06 AM
City clash. Besiktas play Lugano in Istanbul on Thursday. I do think that UEFA rule is a bit stupid when it comes to cities as massive as Istanbul is - the biggest in Europe with a 15m population!

Agreed where we are playing is over an hour from my hotel in the old city on the metro the city is ginormous. The rules should make an allowance for bigger cities. The quick turnaround with the Dundalk match thrown into the mix makes an already daunting task even harder.

Kiki Balboa
21/08/2024, 10:03 AM
Saw today that he was signed for €25m by Hertha, having been signed for €35m by Milan before that! Scored in the euros against Austria this summer but didn’t play in either of Poland’s other games

He was on over €100,000 a week at Hertha too, and they just could not shift him off the wage bill when things went south. Amazing what one good season at a top league can do for you.

Hertha is a hilarious club , and a great example of what not to do in professional football. They have one of the best youth academies in Germany, yet lose all their best young talents for pennies, while overpaying average players.

Massive club though.

legendz
21/08/2024, 10:21 AM
Did Pat's push for the first leg on Wednesday? Wednesday to Wednesday with Dundalk on Saturday would have been fair enough.

Straightstory
21/08/2024, 10:24 AM

Except it's not in Europe.

https://www.statista.com/statistics/1101883/largest-european-cities/

21/08/2024, 10:50 AM
He was on over €100,000 a week at Hertha too, and they just could not shift him off the wage bill when things went south. Amazing what one good season at a top league can do for you.
30 goals in a Serie A debut season is a bloody good return in fairness! Weird how he didn't recreate that in the next four seasons at four different clubs. But he's better than a goal every other game for Basaksehir since joining, including 4 in 4 in the Conference League this season, and I'd say it's short odds he'll score one against Pat's, whose defence isn't quite as stingy as your average Serie A one!

PAOK got 16 points in the Conference League groups last year, and Basaksehir got 16 points in the groups the year before. I think any results for Rovers/Pat's are going to be very good achievements.