View Full Version : LoI in Europe 2024
D24Saint
23/08/2024, 6:19 PM
Raging at the manner of this. Wouldn't have cared if it was postponed straight away but no, they have to drag it out.
The pure disrespect shown to Dundalk is beyond a joke, time and time again.
Kenny is a pure snake of a man too.
The FAI has clearly broken their own rules just for St. Pats crying.
Guiding your club to their most successful period in their history clearly gets you great respect in Dundalk.
Kiki Balboa
23/08/2024, 6:38 PM
Guiding your club to their most successful period in their history clearly gets you great respect in Dundalk.
Dundalk have won a league or FAI in every decade since the 1930s. He is just part of the history, doesn't set it.
Pats crying was always going to win with an FAI that is so weakened by its PR focus.
Anyways, the FAI itself made the decision that really only benefits St. Pats and Kenny.
Just a joke of a league.
23/08/2024, 6:44 PM
Ah in fairness, that's up there with the "What competition did Pat's win in?" for silliness
Knocklyonhoop
23/08/2024, 6:59 PM
Only the FAI could go about making a sensible decision in the most haphazard way possible.
this pretty much sums it up
2 Year Contract
23/08/2024, 7:10 PM
Dundalk really getting screwed over by this decision so late in the day. We'll now go 21 days without a game, will play a stronger Pats team than Drogheda will next Sunday and are losing out on revenue. Precedent was set by not cancelling the Galway match and FAI move the goal posts again.
No issue with the game being called off if it was done with plenty of notice as teams should be helped as much as possible in Europe and Dundalk had games called off in our favour previously but a decision like this could be a factor in getting us relegated.
The game will now likely be played on Friday 13 September, the cup weekend. Surely there’ll be a bigger crowd on a Friday night than Sunday 3pm. What’s the loss of revenue angle?
Kiki Balboa
23/08/2024, 7:15 PM
The game will now likely be played on Friday 13 September, the cup weekend. Surely there’ll be a bigger crowd on a Friday night than Sunday 3pm. What’s the loss of revenue angle?
What are you talking about?
Dundalk are due to play Waterford that night.
2 Year Contract
23/08/2024, 7:20 PM
What are you talking about?
Dundalk are due to play Waterford that night.
Thought I saw somewhere that Dundalk would be free that weekend also. Not to worry Kiki, your best friend Stephen Kenny will tell the FAI what to do and arrange Pats to play Dundalk that night anyways :)
Kiki Balboa
https://www.dundalkfc.com/daly-postponement-is-farcical/
Dundalk statement.
What a farce the FAI is.
It can't be that date, as we're away to Waterford that night. Unless it can happen during one of the two international breaks, then it'll be a Monday.
2 Year Contract
23/08/2024, 7:24 PM
It can't be that date, as we're away to Waterford that night. Unless it can happen during one of the two international breaks, then it'll be a Monday.
Could well be in the international break. Bohs vs Shels is down for the 6th and it’s unlikely Pats or Dundalk will have many callups
That was 6 years ago, time has moved on, of course he was superb at DFC and great memories. This was just poor form by Pats and Kenny to go looking again and asking for a u-turn on Fri am. As KB said if a decision was made weeks ago, we could have moved on. The statement by DFC is also interesting, the amount of logistics that have to be cancelled now and re-booked, and with 46 hours notice.
The FAI point blanky refused to move Dundalk v Rovers in 2020 which was on a Sunday, 3 or 4 days before a EL play off, so what has changed now?
Its not as if Pats would have played a single player that would have started in Turkey, so what was the challenge taking a one hour trip up the m1, fly out Monday.
The whole situation was very poorly managed, yet I harbour no grudges on the game next week for Pats, its a great opportunity for them, I don't think they'll do it, odds will stacked firmly against them, but they still have a chance.
2 Year Contract
23/08/2024, 7:34 PM
That was 6 years ago, time has moved on, of course he was superb at DFC and great memories. This was just poor form by Pats and Kenny to go looking again and asking for a u-turn on Fri am. As KB said if a decision was made weeks ago, we could have moved on.
The FAI point blanky refused to move Dundalk v Rovers in 2020 which was on a Sunday, 3 or 4 days before a EL play off, so what has changed now?
Its not as if Pats would have played a single player that would have started in Turkey, so what was the challenge taking a one hour trip up the m1, fly out Monday.
The whole situation was very poorly managed.
Put the violin down. It’s simple really, as stated in the FAI’s statement it’s because pats are playing 3 games in 6 (5 and a half really) days. Dundalk in 2020 was 3 games in 7 days, just like when Pats played Sabah x2 and Galway over 7 days and were not granted a postponement.
How can you say it’s poor form by Pats and simultaneously say that the FAI turned Dundalk down, does that not mean it was poor form by Dundalk then? Every club in the league would do the same in this circumstance and every club should 100% do what’s right for them. I’ve no gripe with Dundalk being upset with the league here but blaming Pats for requesting the game to be postponed to suit themselves is an odd angle to take
legendz
23/08/2024, 7:37 PM
(2) It gives licence to any LOI team to get league/cup tie taking place between European legs postponed, particularly if the 2nd leg is geographically far from Ireland.
Well, it should set talk of an agreement that if there are less than 7 days between two European games, there should be a postponement.
If there are 7 or more days between European games, domestic games must go ahead 3 days after the previous European game allowing 4 days before the next European game.
D24Saint
23/08/2024, 7:50 PM
That was 6 years ago, time has moved on, of course he was superb at DFC and great memories. This was just poor form by Pats and Kenny to go looking again and asking for a u-turn on Fri am. As KB said if a decision was made weeks ago, we could have moved on.
The whole situation was very poorly managed.
I’d say a lot of Pats fans are in agreement that it was handled badly. The FAI should have made the call earlier. We are 90 mins away from group stage football so naturally we are going to pull out all the stops to get that match called off. To try and make us out to be the bad guys in this is wrong. It’s also disingenuous to claim we just had to pop up the M1 and then head to the airport. The training and prep for next Wednesday would have been effected our focus would have been elsewhere until we got to Istanbul rather than getting to opportunity to work on things here before we traveled.
Louth4sam
23/08/2024, 8:00 PM
Put the violin down. It’s simple really, as stated in the FAI’s statement it’s because pats are playing 3 games in 6 (5 and a half really) days
Dundalk had to play 10 games in 26 days in 2016.
Let's be honest there was negativity being highly publicised about the decision not to postpone and the FAI caved for PR reasons. Don't drink the FAI cool aid.
2 Year Contract
23/08/2024, 8:05 PM
Dundalk had to play 10 games in 26 days in 2016.
Let's be honest there was negativity being highly publicised about the decision not to postpone and the FAI caved for PR reasons. Don't drink the FAI cool aid.
Fair play but that stat has got little relevance in this context. If Pats get to the groups there won’t be space to reschedule games and they too will play plenty of games in a short space of time, as will rovers.
As I said in my original post on all of this, postponing this game was the right thing to do all along. Leaving it this late is a big balls up by our incompetent footballing overlords
The decision was made earlier this week, that should have been the end of it, game going ahead on Sunday. Dundalk had made the necessary arrangements.
Based on last nights result, Kenny and Pats went crawling back to the FAI and begged for the game to be called off (aftet it was confirmed for Sunday) , the FAI caved in and made a u-turn on their previously agreed decision. The timeline will show this was communicated to Dundalk at 5pm this evening, 46 hours before the scheduled game was planned.
Dundalk are in a huge relegation battle, and now have no game for 21 days between 9th August away to Derry and 30th Aug at home to Shels and this call off could have huge implications. Per above from LFS, Dundalk had to get on with things in 2016 and little sympathy was given, still retained the league mind.
Those are the facts and it was very poor form by all involved and was handled extremely badly.
Jack B
23/08/2024, 8:57 PM
I heard Kelleher went to FAI HQ with a freshly baked cake and a promise to write a letter recommending that Mark Scanlon is the next Taoiseach in exchange for postponing the game.
23/08/2024, 8:58 PM
Well, it should set talk of an agreement that if there are less than 7 days between two European games, there should be a postponement.
If there are 7 or more days between European games, domestic games must go ahead 3 days after the previous European game allowing 4 days before the next European game.
Sensible suggestion.
To call it off this late is pathetic. Dundalk already started selling tickets, made arrangements for match day staff, even down to getting ballboys sorted. A waste of time for a lot of a volunteers, and sums up the reactionary way this league is run
2 Year Contract
23/08/2024, 9:03 PM
Per above from LFS, Dundalk had to get on with things in 2016 and little sympathy was given, still retained the league mind.
Those are the facts and it was very poor form by all involved and was handled extremely badly.
Again, that’s when they were in the groups, which is an entirely different conversation to the one we’re having. You’ll find that their league game in between the two BATE games as well as the league game between the two Legia games, were postponed in order to give Dundalk the best chance possible to qualify
Well that is a good point TYC, I take that and its fair re BATE / DFC already in group stages later point, but I think what's also not fair is why did the FAI take until just before 5pm tonight to postpone the game?
It will of course assist Pats in their preparation but its treatment / respect shown towards Dundalk is just disgraceful.
23/08/2024, 11:04 PM
Dundalk should appeal the decision, then appeal the appeal as a moral obligation to highlight a FAIlure.... it is what it is and we have to make the bast of a sh1t show. Lots of time on the training ground working on defending set pieces and on attack set pieces. If there are injuries hopefully there will be a close to a full hand to pick from heading in to the last couple of months. Maybe we will be fresher for the run in rather than stale and needing games in legs. Seeking silver linings in what is a desperate need for 3 points and an increased opportunity to do so with a tired or roated St Pats team. I thought there needed to be agreement between 2 clubs to allow canceling a fixture? Did we play ball on the issue at all rather than insisting selfishly - field a team or we'll take the 3-0 walkover and 3 points.
Any sway with the FAI would land on Scanlons's desk for him to decide. A deflection from the cup fook up situation for an arguably justiied decision maybe.
D24Saint
23/08/2024, 11:13 PM
Any notion of its good for the league has died with this issue. It’s clearly dog eat dog now.
23/08/2024, 11:46 PM
Yup and the last few weeks have shown that FAI Nua is a total misnomer. If there was a proposal for the league to try going it alone again it would have to be backed. At least as a fledgling entity there would be some room for minor errors and a distancing from ongoing controversy with FAI finances, payment of the CEO, and some pretty basic admin messing. There could be a greater willingness to improve and change funding models. To have switched from thinking there should be partnership between league and association to just let the clubs at it is a real hange of heart on this, not cause its Dundalk involved, its just the continued PR own goals and that the league director may have been overruled.
legendz
24/08/2024, 6:17 AM
Any notion of its good for the league has died with this issue. It’s clearly dog eat dog now.
What's missing is an agreement as mentioned above. Less than 7 days between European games should be the only reason for domestic postponements. All clubs with European ambitions should be able to agree on that during the off season.
Just read the article in the Irish Times . Mark Scanlon has been totally undermined by whoever made this decision and Saint Pats.
MichaelCherrito
24/08/2024, 11:55 AM
20 years is no time.
https://i.postimg.cc/T2cCz6LK/shels-001.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
https://i.postimg.cc/7YsXLnND/shels2.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
https://i.postimg.cc/wjnVXxPG/shels3.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
24/08/2024, 12:04 PM
Deportivo?
MichaelCherrito
24/08/2024, 12:06 PM
Deportivo?
On this day, 2004.
Buller
24/08/2024, 12:48 PM
On this day, 2004.
I remember it well. 0 nil on agg up to half time, and then the floodgates opened second half, 3 nil. Deportivo had gotten to the Semifinals the year previous and were full of stars, Mauro Da Silva their captain.
To date probably the closest an Irish team has ever come to Champions League group stage? 45 minutes away
Reminder, Nov 2018 'St Patricks Ath FC fully support SK to be the next Ireland manager' .................(while still under contract at Dundalk)
24/08/2024, 4:01 PM
Reminder, Nov 2018 'St Patricks Ath FC fully support SK to be the next Ireland manager' .................(while still under contract at Dundalk)
2022 "Dundalk FC appoint SO'D as next Dundalk manager"......while still under contract at St Pats. Its been dog eat dog for a while.
Ah but you see he wasn't, he only verbally agreed to stay another year, wonder where that court case ever went to.
Anyway Dundalk v Pats re-fixed for Thurs 5th Sept, hopefully Pats won't be too exhausted after their trip to Turkey and their home league game v Drogs on Sun 1st Sept to grace us with their presence and travel 1 hour up the m1.
Ah but you see he wasn't, he only verbally agreed to stay another year, wonder where that court case ever went to.
Anyway Dundalk v Pats re-fixed for Thurs 5th Sept, hopefully Pats won't be too exhausted after their trip to Turkey and their home league game v Drogs on Sun 1st Sept to grace us with their presence and travel 1 hour up the m1.
That hasn’t been established, so you can’t make that statement definitively. As far as I know the court case is still ongoing. At least I haven’t read of any settlement. I sincerely doubt Pats took it to Court without legal advice telling them that they had at least an arguable case.
Anyway, I understand that Dundalk are ****ed off , but spare us the righteous indignation please, and don’t pretend your club would not have looked for a postponement in the same circumstances.
Seems to have gone very quiet on the court case, I`d say its gone away, anyway I`m sure SOD is not very worried !
I'll spare you nothing, the game should be going ahead tomorrow, or the decision to move it away from 25th should have been agreed over a week ago, and not just before 5pm yesterday (46 hours before KO) on the basis on SK and Pats going back to the FAI on Friday am after your (admittedly excellent) result.
Very poorly managed by all involved.
D24Saint
24/08/2024, 9:47 PM
We should be quits after yous poached our manger the day after the cup final.
Jack B
25/08/2024, 12:41 PM
We should be quits after yous poached our manger the day after the cup final.
Given how that played out we're probably in debt to them now if anything.
Jack, D24 and all other Pats on here, as much as I was totally annoyed at the handling of the league game re-fixed (you might have guessed), I harbour no grudges really, more banter than anything else.
I want all Irish clubs to do well in Europe, granted it will push you to 3m earnings, and you'll be out of sight from well over half the league, but these windfalls don't come by chance, they are hard earned, and if you do make it (I still give you 20-30%) chance, but its still a chance, I hope you put the money to better use than we did,.
2016 group stages only paid massive bonus's, new pitch, Louth CC (robbers) planning levies (500k) for the YDC, fully kitting out the YDC, new gym, new cinema room, players changing rooms, players canteen, new club offices, paid all debt, 3 or 4 charter flights and 2 more league titles and 1 cup.
The 2020 group stage to be fair to P6 - they left over 2m in the club accounts, even after wasting so much money on unheard of players, some were on 2 or 3k a week, then enter StatSports led group who simply ran the 2m or so down, didn't put a cent in, so all gone, all wasted, and no spectator improvements to show for it, apart from state of the art YDC for the players.
If you make it guys, and good luck if you do, spend in wisely.
Jack, D24 and all other Pats on here, as much as I was totally annoyed at the handling of the league game re-fixed (you might have guessed), I harbour no grudges really, more banter than anything else.
I want all Irish clubs to do well in Europe, granted it will push you to 3m earnings, and you'll be out of sight from well over half the league, but these windfalls don't come by chance, they are hard earned, and if you do make it (I still give you 20-30%) chance, but its still a chance, I hope you put the money to better use than we did,.
2016 group stages only paid massive bonus's, new pitch, Louth CC (robbers) planning levies (500k) for the YDC, fully kitting out the YDC, new gym, new cinema room, players changing rooms, players canteen, new club offices, paid all debt, 3 or 4 charter flights and 2 more league titles and 1 cup.
The 2020 group stage to be fair to P6 - they left over 2m in the club accounts, even after wasting so much money on unheard of players, some were on 2 or 3k a week, then enter StatSports led group who simply ran the 2m or so down, didn't put a cent in, so all gone, all wasted, and no spectator improvements to show for it, apart from state of the art YDC for the players.
I think we all get your frustration. What I was pushing back against was the notion that somehow Pats and Stephen Kenny were somehow uniquely “moaning” and looking for the game to be called off (and yeah, it should have been done way earlier. I think every club and manager would have been saying the same thing in this situation. I’m sure if Jon Daly was still our manager he would have been saying it. Now he’s with Dundalk, so he’s looking after his team, and that’s totally to be expected.
Anyway, hoping for an upset on Wednesday. Probably not likely, but you never know. Maybe they have gears that they didn’t go up to last week. If not, and it’s a similar game, we have every chance. Of course it’s just as likely that they do raise their game at home, and will be too good for us, which their pedigree would suggest.
On possible future earnings, I would trust Garrett Kelleher more than the owners that Dundalk had previously. He’s been with us since 2008 and has pumped serious amounts of his own money in to the club, without seeing any huge return. It would be a great reward for him, as well as the players, managers and supporters.
Jack B
25/08/2024, 10:59 PM
As much as I'm jesting above, my real thoughts are earlier in the thread which is that the way the FAI handled it was a joke and unfair to all involved, especially Dundalk. Given the fact that much better leagues than ours such as Turkey postpone their sides games in the same circumstances, I really don't see any reason that we shouldn't do the same given the LOI could do with all the help it can get, but the point being that this is decided well in advance and not less than 48 hours before kick off.
I think Kenny and Co were well within their rights to moan about it mind, even if that shouldn't have mattered in the end. The FAI's statement came across as saying that the only reason they changed their mind was that Pats were still in the tie, i.e. they weren't anticipating it so didn't bother to postpone it earlier, which is preposterous really. Despite how it ended between him and the club I like Jon Daly a lot and he'll have no doubt had a lot of preparation gone to complete waste off the back of this in what is a difficult situation for him and Dundalk.
Common sense prevailed in the most non-sensical way possible which is typical FAI, but in typical LOI fashion you lot will no doubt beat us something like 4-0 in the rearranged game and make all of this obsolete anyway.
28/08/2024, 10:48 AM
So, today’s the day. Could be a massive day in Pats history. Nervous and excited. I’d have to say I’m hopeful rather than optimistic, which I’d imagine is the general mood. Let’s just not give them anything easy.
28/08/2024, 11:59 AM
Palmer being out is a big loss, but Leavy was pretty great when he came on to replace him. Very brave and carrying the ball through the middle. I imagine this would be just about the biggest upset in LOI history if Pat's pulled it off, so I'm not expecting much, but they've gotten this far, so I'm looking forward to watching it. I'll give them my tenner :D
As for Rovers tomorrow, I could see them nicking a draw against a rotated PAOK team just trying to avoid getting injured, you'd take that.
Yeah, hard to give Pats much more than a 10% chance of qualification this evening but those chances have about doubled from last week in my eyes anyway.
It's great occasion though and kind of has the feeling of Rovers Vs Belgrade about it. Away in the second leg to a big side but the tie being there to be won.
Hoping Pats plaster themselves on the front pages tomorrow with something special
ger121
28/08/2024, 12:57 PM
Palmer being out is a big loss, but Leavy was pretty great when he came on to replace him. Very brave and carrying the ball through the middle. I imagine this would be just about the biggest upset in LOI history if Pat's pulled it off, so I'm not expecting much, but they've gotten this far, so I'm looking forward to watching it. I'll give them my tenner :D
As for Rovers tomorrow, I could see them nicking a draw against a rotated PAOK team just trying to avoid getting injured, you'd take that.
I think Belgrade is at the same level. However, back then the glass ceiling had not been broken.
Someone else said this games has a feeling of Belgrade about it. I’ve been thinking that since the 1st leg. Can Pat’s do it, unlikely but I wouldn’t be surprised if they did. Kenny and that team are made for Europe.
Jack B
28/08/2024, 1:30 PM
Can't see us managing it later, which there's no shame in. Palmer is such a huge loss for this kind of game, he looks after the ball so well but is also a freakishly good tackler for a player that plays in an advanced midfield role, so he always gives you the possibility of being able to turn the ball over and make something of nothing. I'm not a huge fan of Leavy, although I can appreciate he has his strengths. Just think he's more effective off the bench really and a game like this will pass him by if he started. Would probably rather have Bolger come in and Forrester move up into Palmer's position but would imagine that won't happen.
In any case I'm looking forward to it and hope we just give a good account of ourselves and see what happens. The European run has been a real bright spark in an otherwise underwhelming season.
The heat will be a big factor too, Shels and Derry would have seen that this summer in Gibraltar, but not sure it was as hot (maybe it was) as the game I was at in July 2023, Magpies v Dundalk, 33c at 5pm kick off. I looked up Istanbul and it will be a little cooler, but still be 26c at 7pm local time for kick off.
I'd give them 20% chance of making it, its still a chance mind, and better to be in it at this level of course. Paddy Power have a mental price on it, Basak are 1/9 just to win in 90 mins, but 1/33 to qualify for the next round ! Pats are 14/1 to win and 8/1 to qualify. Not sure I`d agree with those odds, but there you go.
D24Saint
28/08/2024, 1:45 PM
The weather isn’t too hot tbh. It is warm of course but not searing. We have a free shot tonight with nothing to lose. Let’s see how it goes.
Can't see us managing it later, which there's no shame in. Palmer is such a huge loss for this kind of game, he looks after the ball so well but is also a freakishly good tackler for a player that plays in an advanced midfield role, so he always gives you the possibility of being able to turn the ball over and make something of nothing. I'm not a huge fan of Leavy, although I can appreciate he has his strengths. Just think he's more effective off the bench really and a game like this will pass him by if he started. Would probably rather have Bolger come in and Forrester move up into Palmer's position but would imagine that won't happen.
In any case I'm looking forward to it and hope we just give a good account of ourselves and see what happens. The European run has been a real bright spark in an otherwise underwhelming season.
That’s a good call on Bolger I think. I’ve been impressed with him and think he’s been a bit unlucky not to play more. Him and Lennon together would make us more solid in the centre you’d imagine, leaving Chris a bit more freedom. I am a fan of Leavy, terrific carrier of the ball which gives us a different way of getting up the pitch, but as you say, he might be more effective coming off the bench.
pateen
28/08/2024, 3:07 PM
Right. .. about to pop out for the cans.
Where can I watch this online ?
pateen
28/08/2024, 3:16 PM
Ah. Solid sports again
https://solidsport.com/stpatricksathletic/watch/istanbul-basaksehir-st-patricks-athletic