View Full Version : Cork AUL 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49

casilles
28/02/2011, 3:20 PM
Blarney St Ath 4 Macroom 1
Great result for us Sunday morning. Took our chances when they were presented to us and could have added to the 4 but took our foot off the pedal a bit. Started brightly. Gary Nolan with a hatrick inside 35 mins but took a bang to the head and had to come off at half time{ id gladly take that every week!!!} 2nd half was 50/50 they came at us but have to say all the backline played well with Mr Sharpshooter!! probably looking around today to see is Babsy or John Betts behind him!!! Got a 4th goal through Gary Coughlan with a lovely lob. Macroom scored through a bit of lackativity creeping in to the team. Delighted with the win with 15 togged out and all who played played well. 3 to come back next week for Wilton at home on Saturday

The 'View
28/02/2011, 8:21 PM
Ye have good young team view!

When did ye sign micheal blake back!Definaly one of best strikers in aul!

How come he doesnt play with 1st team????

He's only back playing about 4 weeks. Not fit enough for the 1st team and not sure if he has the appetite to be honest. Hasn't played in a long while so he might eventually end up with the Seniors.

Onefootednopace
03/03/2011, 11:36 AM
The second issue of local football magazine, "Back Of The Net", is on sale from March 4th as per details here (http://www.corkaul.com/2011/03/back-of-net.html)

footiefanatic
03/03/2011, 1:53 PM
It will be a shock to the system to see Kinsale playing a league game again!How are the heads after the 1-0 loss to carrick, which i heard they were very unlucky!
Bit of catch up to do with Wilton and Leeside ahead on points with more games on board. Could see Wilton drop points though, Blarney Street a good team and tough to beat on their patch.

Inswinger
03/03/2011, 2:27 PM
It will be a shock to the system to see Kinsale playing a league game again!How are the heads after the 1-0 loss to carrick, which i heard they were very unlucky!
Bit of catch up to do with Wilton and Leeside ahead on points with more games on board. Could see Wilton drop points though, Blarney Street a good team and tough to beat on their patch.

Still think whoever finishes above Kinsale will win the league, they re well used to catching up come the end of the season, in fact they have it mastered. Wilton are a good side the street know they ll get nothing easy there, tough one to call. Fancy Park to beat Grattan, have to back ourselves at home, home wins for Kinsale and Leeside too. What would the odds be?

casilles
03/03/2011, 4:42 PM
Do agree with Inswinger that who ever finishes above Kinsale will be champions
Looking forward to a good weekend of fixtures! First all season id say that we have a full set of premier games. Just a little thing we done in older times lads!!

Premier League
Coachford v Ballyvolane, The Glebe Coachford
Kinsale v Macroom, Madden Pk, Kinsale
Grattan Utd v Park Utd, O’Neill Pk, Park
Blarney St Ath v Wilton Utd, Monard Blarney St Ath
Leeside v Knockavilla Celtic, Little Island Leeside
Premier A League
Glenthorn Celtic v Castleview, St Aidens Community School, Castleview
Bohemians v Village , Fairfield Bohs
Blackstone Rovers v Kanturk, Monard Draw

Innishvilla
04/03/2011, 7:52 AM
Do agree with Inswinger that who ever finishes above Kinsale will be champions
Looking forward to a good weekend of fixtures! First all season id say that we have a full set of premier games. Just a little thing we done in older times lads!!

Premier League
Blarney St Ath v Wilton Utd, Monard Blarney St Ath
Premier A League
Bohemians v Village , Fairfield Bohs
Blackstone Rovers v Kanturk, Monard Draw

Ah yes Casilles - that was back when most guys were interested in discussing results and upcoming games and respecting the right to have a different opinion - rather than taking swipes at each other...
Things do seem to have calmed down a bit but, apart from this post I'm going to wait another while before re-activating myself regarding posting an opinion.

Dixie's Cousin
04/03/2011, 8:20 AM
So it's back to basics:

Premier League
Blarney St Ath v Wilton Utd, Monard Wilton(Sorry Cas, but they are wounded after last week's loss)
Premier A League
Bohemians v Village , Fairfield Draw
Blackstone Rovers v Kanturk, Monard Blackstone

Shilts
04/03/2011, 11:05 AM
Anyone got the AOH Cup draw?
Some 3rd + 4th Rounds and QFs being played next week
Who is left?

sharpshooter
04/03/2011, 12:59 PM
Anyone got the AOH Cup draw?
Some 3rd + 4th Rounds and QFs being played next week
Who is left?

was gonna ask the same myself shilts even tho we are out...

Premier League
Kinsale v Macroom, Madden Pk, draw:),,Grattan Utd v Park Utd, O’Neill Pk, Park
Blarney St Ath v Wilton Utd, Monard wilton
Premier A League
Glenthorn Celtic v Castleview, St Aidens Community School, castleview
Bohemians v Village , Fairfield bohs
Blackstone Rovers v Kanturk blackstone

offside rule
04/03/2011, 9:42 PM
Anyone get a score from the Buttevant vs Carrigtwohill match 2nite?

scaffa7
04/03/2011, 11:02 PM
Well heres my 2 cents!!:sinister:

Coachford v Ballyvolane, The Glebe......Draw
Kinsale v Macroom, Madden Pk, ......Kinsale
Grattan Utd v Park Utd, O’Neill Pk, .....Park
Blarney St Ath v Wilton Utd, Monard Wilton.......Draw
Leeside v Knockavilla Celtic, Little Island Leeside.......Leeside

Premier A League
Glenthorn Celtic v Castleview, St Aidens Community School.......Glenthorn
Bohemians v Village , Fairfield Draw..........Bohs
Blackstone Rovers v Kanturk, Monard Blackstone ........Draw

Radiostar
05/03/2011, 12:26 AM
8 - 1 to Carrig

Inswinger
05/03/2011, 11:07 AM
Coachford V Ballyvolane

Just got a call this morning saying our match with them is off as they cant field. Trying to pull a fast one, saying they ve fellas with the flu and only had 9 players, lads we might be from the country but we did nt come down in the last shower. Surely get the points from that as we only got a call after 11am the day of the game.

scaffa7
05/03/2011, 4:01 PM
Bohemians 1 - 1 Village

Very disappointing result for us in the Fairfield to be fair a draw was probably a fair result overall....

On the game not many chances in the 1st half was pretty bad performance from both sides went in 0-0
2nd half we went at Village and had couple of half chances but the 1st goal came from Village a great strike from the centre mid from about 20 yards that flew into the top corner but then he celebrated by taking his jersey of and got his 2nd yellow and got sent off unreal!!!
That goal woke us and we put Village on the backfoot and scored when Wayne o Leary scored the equalizer with 10 mins to go.
Last few mins we tried hard to get the winner but some great defending from the Village defenders ensured the draw and the points shared

thebooboys
05/03/2011, 4:42 PM
word is they are very short and close to folding. Thats very surprising considering they had 2 teams at start of season.
Leeside B vs Glen Celtic A moved to Little Island tomorrow because there pitch was vandalised.
Good double header on cards with us playing Knockavilla same morning

skippy7
05/03/2011, 4:51 PM
Kinsale 3 Macroom 2 just back from the game today,kinsale lead 1-0 and 2-1 here were comfortable and should really have added to the lead,macroom equalised twice but derek mc scored the winner from the spot with 5 minutes to go

donaldihno
05/03/2011, 4:52 PM
Blackstone 1 Kanturk 5

Must say we played some good stuff with great finishing in front of goal!
Went down 1nil from a counter attack,scored 2 minutes after that!Thats when we took control of the game!
Went in 3-1 at half time,and got 2 more in the second as the game fazed out!
Colin stack with 2 and tom fitz with a hatrick,great performance from our strikers!
On blackstone infairness,when your missing the likes of colin bevan,skillington and probaly more,it makes it harder!
Another 3 points today,we should have took something from castelview last week!Roll on greenwood next week!
Nobody predicted kanturk to win today:(or the echo!

Blarney street beat wilton 2-1 in the pitch beside us!

scaffa7
05/03/2011, 6:06 PM
Blackstone 1 Kanturk 5

Went down 1nil from a counter attack,scored 2 minutes after that!Thats when we took control of the game!
Colin stack with 2 and tom fitz with a hatrick,great performance from our strikers!
On blackstone infairness,when your missing the likes of colin bevan,skillington and probaly more,it makes it harder!
Another 3 points today,we should have took something from castelview last week!Roll on greenwood next week!

Great win for ye today Donald i had ye down for a draw!!...hard place to go and get 3 points well done.
Blackstone on the slide and ye hitting a rich rein of form yer only 9 points behind us 6 games to go ye"ll have a big say in this league yet!!

The 'View
05/03/2011, 6:33 PM
Some interesting results in Prem A today.Couldn't make our game today but a very dissapointing reult. From reports we were extremely poor and didn't deserve anything from the game. Apparently Glenthorn were fairly good and played well but the lead up to the game was a comedy by all accounts. At 2.20 Glenthorn had 6 players and were giving a walkover. By 02.30 they had 9 and agreed to play a half just to avoid walkover. We were warming up since 02.10 and game didn't kick off till 02.50. By then they had 11. By the end of the game they brought on 3 subs. Of the 14 they played our guys reckon about 7 or 8 were Glenthorn players. Not sure if our guys are going to object but we knew guys from other clubs playing today, complete joke really. AUL needs to sort things out. Fair play to the guy running around today knocking for players he got a good 11 out eventually. Hate to see a club struggling but today was extreme to say the least.
Great result for ye Donaldinho, can you believe our result having beaten ye last week. But as i said this was probably the best team they'll field all year as most players were from other clubs.

Horse24
05/03/2011, 6:55 PM
Blackstone 1 Kanturk 5

Thanks for the attempt at face saving on our behalf Don!! Waste of breath.

Dont remember seeing us that bad in a long while. Missing a few yes, but no excuses. The lads know they didnt perform - maybe no game for 3 weeks had something to do with it. Kanturk looked more like the table toppers of last year with a few big guns different from our visit down. They played some excellent football and scored nice goals. We are disapointed with the manner of conceding though.

No slide on Scaff - more a minor blip!!

the owl
05/03/2011, 8:23 PM
i dont know the ins and outs about what happened with Ballyvolane but thats very sad to see considering what they (myself included) had last year. Shetland, overthehill, any comment ?

Onefootednopace
05/03/2011, 10:40 PM
Corinthians Cup 2nd Rd - Result.

Killowen 4 Dunbar Celtic (A) 1

Put last weeks defeat behind us with a good win today. Were 2-0 up inside the opening 20 minutes, Dunbar pulled a goal back to leave it 2-1 at the break. Got a third from a direct free kick early in the second half and wrapped it up in the 60th minute with another goal from a superbly taken free.

sharpshooter
06/03/2011, 3:39 PM
Kinsale 3 Macroom 2 just back from the game today,kinsale lead 1-0 and 2-1 here were comfortable and should really have added to the lead,macroom equalised twice but derek mc scored the winner from the spot with 5 minutes to go

ya id agree with ya skippy should ave added but to be fair our keeper was in top form...was a good game to watch id say.we came with a game plan to try and get something only for a stupid hand ball with 2mins to go we ad it we were sick after it after scoring twice against them 1st to do so in the league..shilts you played well made a few good saves.taught u were gonna gift me one when u nearly drop it:(mr versatille got a cracker for our 1st..our 2nd another goal from outside the box took a deflection but we will take them anyday..

offside rule
06/03/2011, 5:07 PM
De Courcey Albion/Rovers(?) 0 - 4 SPRINGFIELD. (County Cup, 1st Round)

Not much to note here from a fairly one-sided contest.
Handy game to use our full squad. Give the lads a game and save some of the regular first 11 for the harder games & backlog of future fixtures! :ball:

Inswinger
07/03/2011, 9:28 AM
See we re after getting a 3-0 result against Ballyvolane. I ll claim a hatrick!! Whats happening with Ballyvolane lads, the bally lads are gone quiet. The relegation battle nearly looks a foregone conclusion at this stage. Went to monard great result for Blarney Street your peno just snuck in Cas but they all count! And a peno stop for you too, you would have cleaned up in the fantasy football. Kanturk scored some great goals in the other pitch.

Great result for Knockavilla as well in Leeside, any reports on that Boo. The rest of us need Leeside and Kinsale to start dropping points if we re to make it interesting. I presume they have nt met yet.

footiefanatic
07/03/2011, 10:19 AM
Couldnt have predicted a better weekend for kinsale on their return to league action!!
A hard fought result against a tough macroom outfit, and Wilton and Leeside both dropping points (a loss and a draw respectively).
Very early days but already starting to look good for another Kinsale title this year.

Shilts
07/03/2011, 10:28 AM
ya id agree with ya skippy should ave added but to be fair our keeper was in top form...was a good game to watch id say.we came with a game plan to try and get something only for a stupid hand ball with 2mins to go we ad it we were sick after it after scoring twice against them 1st to do so in the league..shilts you played well made a few good saves.taught u were gonna gift me one when u nearly drop it:(mr versatille got a cracker for our 1st..our 2nd another goal from outside the box took a deflection but we will take them anyday..

Good game on saturday sharpshooter.
Lots of incidents at both ends and a nail biting finish at the end.
I thought we deserved to win purely on chances created, but we didn't take them, and some errors at the back were punished by your gang to keep the game in the balance until the end.

I hadn't seen you play before and while you didn't score last saturday, I can see how you usually do.
Good pace and technique - not afraid to mix it either. The fiver is in the post haha.
Definitely a type of player we'd be delighted to have on our team (not that you'd ever leave Macroom).

The other results went our way this weekend - but it could easily have been us dropping points.
Hopefully next week we'll be back to full strength after injuries and suspensions and won't have to play our older/ancient squad members again this season :D

Any updates on the Ballyvolane situation?
They seemed to be doing well before xmas
semi-final of the Mossie etc

Shilts
07/03/2011, 11:08 AM
Couldnt have predicted a better weekend for kinsale on their return to league action!!
A hard fought result against a tough macroom outfit, and Wilton and Leeside both dropping points (a loss and a draw respectively).
Very early days but already starting to look good for another Kinsale title this year.

Way too early to be making predictions yet.
We've only played 4 games.
The league won't take shape until everybody has played 10-12 games.

sharpshooter
07/03/2011, 1:57 PM
Good game on saturday sharpshooter.
Lots of incidents at both ends and a nail biting finish at the end.
I thought we deserved to win purely on chances created, but we didn't take them, and some errors at the back were punished by your gang to keep the game in the balance until the end.

I hadn't seen you play before and while you didn't score last saturday, I can see how you usually do.
Good pace and technique - not afraid to mix it either. The fiver is in the post haha.
Definitely a type of player we'd be delighted to have on our team (not that you'd ever leave Macroom).

The other results went our way this weekend - but it could easily have been us dropping points.
Hopefully next week we'll be back to full strength after injuries and suspensions and won't have to play our older/ancient squad members again this season :D

Any updates on the Ballyvolane situation?
They seemed to be doing well before xmas
semi-final of the Mossie etc

never say never in football shilts..was a good weekend for kinsale alright but as you said still alot of football to be played.more than likely go down to the last few games again this year...grattan now at the weekend will you be travelling dixie?great result for knockavilla down in little island they seem to be hitting a bit of form now..

Dixie's Cousin
07/03/2011, 2:14 PM
Hey Sharpshooter, i'm not involved in Grattan! But i will be trying to get to a few local games over the weekend, Macroom seems a bit far

Dixie's Cousin
07/03/2011, 2:50 PM
Talking to one of the girls in work who's husband plays for Ballyvolane. She said he was saying the club might not see out this month, would be a same to see this. Anybody else with any info?

sharpshooter
07/03/2011, 2:51 PM
Hey Sharpshooter, i'm not involved in Grattan! But i will be trying to get to a few local games over the weekend, Macroom seems a bit far

my bad taught you were.its not that far 35mins drive:)

casilles
07/03/2011, 5:03 PM
Blarney St Ath 2 Wilton Utd 1

Well lads another great result for us on Saturday. We went out with a game plan and to a man stuck to it. Wilton started off the better of the two teams with Paul O Mahony meeting a cross from Cian Blake but Eddie made a good save to put it over the bar. We started to get control a bit after that but not any clearcut chances for either side. A clever ball splitting the centre halves was met by Gary Nolan who pulled it away from the on coming Bella in goal for Wilton and dispatched it in to the net to give us the lead. Not many more chances in the first half. 2nd half we had said to keep up the intensity and to try get a 2nd. £mins into the half and Timmy was blown away in the box , a spotter was given. Eddie stepped up and scored. 2 nil to the Steet. We seemed to sit back then and been honest the were just coming and coming against us but the lads stood up and kept them out in the final 3rd. Wilton then got a Pen when a ball was crossed intom the box Judge went up to head away ans Shane stayed down Ref gave it. Paul O Mahony took it but it was saved by Eddie. With around 15 left Wilton got a cornor , taken low to the front post Pakie met it , Eddie saved the first attempt but Pakie followed in to convert it. We held on till the end and taught we should had had had another pen but wasnt given.

As said delighted with the win, Ballyvolane away next Sat. I see they gave a walkover against ye Inswinger?

the ghost
07/03/2011, 6:08 PM
hey Dixie
Football........its not for girls!!!!;)

skippy7
07/03/2011, 6:35 PM
Very early days but already starting to look good for another Kinsale title this year.its very early to be predicting who wins the league kinsale have only played 4 matches,the top three at the moment all have to play each other 11 or 12 matches played should gives us a better idea

skippy7
07/03/2011, 6:44 PM
never say never in football shilts..was a good weekend for kinsale alright but as you said still alot of football to be played.more than likely go down to the last few games again this year...grattan now at the weekend will you be travelling dixie?great result for knockavilla down in little island they seem to be hitting a bit of form now..i agree with shilts
looks like we will be seeing you in kinsale jersey next season!!

TheRock
08/03/2011, 3:11 AM
Any reports on the Killumney v Pearse game ?

Well done Pearse anyway !

overthehill
08/03/2011, 11:46 AM
Shouldnt be talking soccer to Girls Dixie!!! Ballyvolane will not only see out the month but will see out the season. Ballyvolane are in the same boat as a lot of clubs who have a tight enough panel and last weekend was one of those occassions when too many guys had things on the same day. Could possibly have gathered a few strays to fill the fixture but have been bitten before over non registered players and wont go that way again!! AUL were contacted asap sat morning and hand was held up. As other posters have said, the amount of teams fielding unreg players is getting out of hand from what i hear. So for those of you looking for Ballyvolanes Demise - u too boo!, sorry to disappoint.

Horse24
08/03/2011, 12:15 PM
Well said overthehill. I wonder will this confirmation of health spread as fast as the rumours of your demise. I doubt it. The two lads up there have put in a mountain of effort. I dont think the modern player realises that all this ego will come back and bite them. No loyalty will drive volunteers away - no volunteers - no football.

thebooboys
08/03/2011, 1:27 PM
Shouldnt be talking soccer to Girls Dixie!!! Ballyvolane will not only see out the month but will see out the season. Ballyvolane are in the same boat as a lot of clubs who have a tight enough panel and last weekend was one of those occassions when too many guys had things on the same day. Could possibly have gathered a few strays to fill the fixture but have been bitten before over non registered players and wont go that way again!! AUL were contacted asap sat morning and hand was held up. As other posters have said, the amount of teams fielding unreg players is getting out of hand from what i hear. So for those of you looking for Ballyvolanes Demise - u too boo!, sorry to disappoint.

Where did i say i was looking for Ballyvolanes demise?? Far from it. Are people reading between the lines again?? I simply reported what i heard on the ground. Hope they pull through it

Dixie's Cousin
08/03/2011, 1:47 PM
Hill, nobody wants to see it no matter what league a team is in and if it doesn't affect your own team. A team going bust is the sign of terrible things in the league!

Inswinger
08/03/2011, 2:28 PM
[QUOTE=overthehill;1461991]Ballyvolane will not only see out the month but will see out the season. Ballyvolane are in the same boat as a lot of clubs who have a tight enough panel and last weekend was one of those occassions when too many guys had things on the same day. Could possibly have gathered a few strays to fill the fixture but have been bitten before over non registered players and wont go that way again!! AUL were contacted asap sat morning and hand was held up.

Delighted to hear it was a once off over the hill, never nice to see teams in trouble which of course ye are not. Local derby for ye this saturday i see. And credit for not going down the road of fielding illegal players. Will ye incur a fine now for last Saturday? Out of curiousity with ye and Glenthorn down in numbers would it not be an idea of pooling resources together for the future as both clubs are from the same neck of the woods. Or am i being niave!!

footiefanatic
08/03/2011, 2:56 PM
Way too early to be making predictions yet.
We've only played 4 games.
The league won't take shape until everybody has played 10-12 games.

I'm just too confident in yer ability Shilts :D
I know its very early days but just taught because the way results went with yer first league game in a long while, its already begining to fall into place for yerselves!!

Shilts
08/03/2011, 4:24 PM
I'm just too confident in yer ability Shilts :D
I know its very early days but just taught because the way results went with yer first league game in a long while, its already begining to fall into place for yerselves!!

Thanks for the vote of confidence footiefanatic.
But we can't put that on the mantlepiece can we? ;)

Only trophies go on the mantlepiece and this years ones won't be given out for a long while yet.
I'm too long in the game to be getting excited after a mere 4 games played.
That doesn't even count as a good run, in my book!

The leading teams all have to play each other yet, twice in some cases.
Injuries, suspensions, emigration will affect all teams.
Throw in teams fighting against relegation and you'll find that there are no soft games in the AUL Prem.
All to play for yet - plenty of fun and games before the end of May!

Glenbuck
08/03/2011, 6:03 PM
Some interesting results in Prem A today.Couldn't make our game today but a very dissapointing reult. From reports we were extremely poor and didn't deserve anything from the game. Apparently Glenthorn were fairly good and played well but the lead up to the game was a comedy by all accounts. At 2.20 Glenthorn had 6 players and were giving a walkover. By 02.30 they had 9 and agreed to play a half just to avoid walkover. We were warming up since 02.10 and game didn't kick off till 02.50. By then they had 11. By the end of the game they brought on 3 subs. Of the 14 they played our guys reckon about 7 or 8 were Glenthorn players. Not sure if our guys are going to object but we knew guys from other clubs playing today, complete joke really. AUL needs to sort things out. Fair play to the guy running around today knocking for players he got a good 11 out eventually. Hate to see a club struggling but today was extreme to say the least.
Great result for ye Donaldinho, can you believe our result having beaten ye last week. But as i said this was probably the best team they'll field all year as most players were from other clubs.
I think if this is brought to the attention of AUL it will be the end of Glenthorn.Did I hear that they were thrown out of AOH cup.

The 'View
08/03/2011, 9:24 PM
Special AUL meeting this week about finances. All club chairmen and Secretarys to attend. Sounds serious, Anyone any ideas what this meeting is about.

Horse24
08/03/2011, 9:39 PM
Dunno what the meeting is about View.

3 theories:

1) The big bucks in the bank are gone via some bad Investment package.

2) They want to get teams to pay more money. I always back the AUL lads on this forum but if they cannot see what trouble clubs are in, I will be very disapointed.

3) They wanna give us money somehow. Am I being too optimistic?

The 'View
08/03/2011, 11:37 PM
Not sure Horse but fairly sure they won't be offering us money haha. I know the Aul have a lot of money in the kitty but hopefully it hasn't been invested badly. Don't think their looking for more money from teams. We have some good contacts in AUL but its a closed shop about this, no info until meeting Thurs nite. Wonder if some money is missing or if they want to invest some money in the Aviva stadium? Just some guesses, strange situation.

Radiostar
09/03/2011, 4:17 PM
Lads, as we are finally at the long run in stage of the season, lets see everyones tips for each division.

Premier - Leeside
Premier A - Greenwood
Div 1 - Carrigtwohill(Biased) Springfield!
Div 1A - Kilreen Celtic
Div 2 - Innishvilla
Div 2A - Crescent Ath
Div 2B - Cathedral Celtic
Div 3 - De Courcey Albion
Div 3A - Ballinhassig