View Full Version : Cork AUL 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49

Radiostar
18/03/2011, 11:00 AM
Thats probably right Dixie.

Has the AOH draw been made?
As far as I know Killumney and Leeside are in the semi's. Kilreen vs Kinsale in a quarter final final on Saturday

Who else is left in it?

Bohs v Springfield(Last 32 game this week)
Wilton, Carrigtwohill and I think Glenthorn are waiting for last 16 fixtures.
Strange how draw is not published.

sharpshooter
18/03/2011, 6:00 PM
would ave to agree with ya inswinger should be a cracker,the cup final also another great game id say this one could go the whole way to pens.

Horse24
19/03/2011, 8:18 PM
Happy to take the 3 points against an understrenght Castleview. Clean sheet, 3 strikers scored and some decent showings.

casilles
20/03/2011, 9:44 AM
Blarney St Ath 3 Park Utd 2

A game for the neutral!!! Had everything.

Welcomed back Damien Peelo and Niall Dalton but in the same breath Neil Greany and Gary Nolan were both away this weekend. Willie Big Bang Casey taking a few Cork Supporters with him. Started out brightly got the ball down and tried playing around Park, There Centre Half was very good and put a stop to a lot of what we trying to do in the last 3rd. Park got into it after around 20 mins, ball over the top, in to the corner ,our full back pulled on it and connected with the on coming winger. Eamonn O Sullivan took it and blew it acroos the goal. We took the lead through some good work down the left by Timmy Kelly played into the middle and Lawerence Betts gave in a defence splitting ball , which Gary Coughlan ran onto and finished with good composure. Park got a few corners and eventually one went in. Ball was whipped in and a slight tough from one of our players put it pass Eddie and Timmy on the line. 1 all. We gave away too many free kicks too but conditions were getting bad and the pitch was turning into an ice rink. Took the lead once again shot from Betts ,the keeper saved and Alan O Brien ran in, too shall way say bundle it over!!! It hit his chest, knee and then a diving header to put it in!!;). 5 left in the half and we were saying to ourselves get in 2-1 up and a big wind behind us in the 2nd, wishfull thinking! Gave away another free kick on the edge of the box. Eamonn stepped up once again , Eddie saved it but the follow in was knocked in. Ref blew up for the end of the half and it was 2-2.
We centred for the 2nd put the ball out to the right Jp whipped it in and it went to far, Simon got it turned in on his right and hit it in to the bottom corner. 2-2 with 30 seconds gone in the 2nd half. We seemed to sit back and try to catch them on the break. Park had another free but put it over the bar. Park recieved a penalty with 15 to go, Darren Lynch took it but Eddie saved. Brought on GaryLleahy with 10 to try hold it up front which he done very well. Was unlucky not to score with a good header to the bottom corner but the Park Keeper got down well . Finished 3-2 to the Street and thats 12 points from 12 this month but a huge game next week at home to Leeside on Saturday at 3pm.

scaffa7
20/03/2011, 1:23 PM
AOH CUP

Bohemians 1-3 Springfield A.E.T

Scoreline does not do us any justice turning point in the game came 5 mins into the 1st half of extra time when our player was judged to have handled the ball on the line recieved a red card and penalty awarded to Springfield which they scored
On the game Springers took the lead after a mistake from our Keeper who was playing his 1st game of the season in for the injured Tommy Martin good volley from the Springers man but should have been easy enough to catch but with the increasing rain making the ball very slippy the ball slips from his grasp into the net.Disaster as the game was even enough ..........
Came into half time still 1 down but felt the game was there still for us.
2nd half we started well had Springers on the backfoot and got our reward on 65 mins when Trevor Hallisey who was having a blinder of a game swung in a great corner and Deccie Gostal knocked in from 6 yards to make it 1-1.......
Couple of half chances for both sides but the ref blew to send the game into extra time.
As i said above the turning point happened half way through this half with the sending off and the peno stayed 2-1 till the end of the 1st half.
2nd half we went out and attacked got a half chance with 2 mins ago but got caught on the break for the springers man to finish of the game with the 3rd goal
Dissapointed with the result missing a few players through injuries and suspensions but felt we could have taken this game only for that one incident that changed the whole game on his head ........best of luck to Springfield in the next round

donaldihno
20/03/2011, 6:13 PM
Leeds 3 Kanturk 5

Cracking game up in ballyvolane dis morning!
Went down a goal after about 40seconds,i was like hear we go again!Showed good character to score 3 before the half!
Leeds pulled 1 back after the half,3-2,we made it 4-2,4-3,5-3!we missed peno aswell!
Leeds could have scored 5,we could have got 10,very open game!
On the pitch,1 of the best surfaces ive played on,wel done leeds on that,big difference than greenwoods pitch!
27 goals in 4 premier A games today!kilumney not giving up!

blackiegray
20/03/2011, 9:56 PM
Wouldn't normally complain about refs - theirs is a thankless task - but after 30 years of playing football, think I saw a new one today.
Be interested to hear what anyone thinks. Last minute, one down, ball into box, centre half climbing all over attacker. Think Hierro on Quinny 2002. Loud appeals. Whistle goes.
The verdict? An indirect free kick in the box. Why ref, ask both sides. "Pushing" he confirms.

Astonishing. As Law 12 confirms, an indirect free kick can be awarded in the penalty area if a player "impedes the progress of an opponent" but this can only be the verdict if there is no contact between the players.

I thought giving an indirect free kick for "not-deliberate" handball was the worst I ever saw, but this one takes the honours I think.

Glenbuck
20/03/2011, 11:20 PM
Wouldn't normally complain about refs - theirs is a thankless task - but after 30 years of playing football, think I saw a new one today.
Be interested to hear what anyone thinks. Last minute, one down, ball into box, centre half climbing all over attacker. Think Hierro on Quinny 2002. Loud appeals. Whistle goes.
The verdict? An indirect free kick in the box. Why ref, ask both sides. "Pushing" he confirms.

Astonishing. As Law 12 confirms, an indirect free kick can be awarded in the penalty area if a player "impedes the progress of an opponent" but this can only be the verdict if there is no contact between the players.

I thought giving an indirect free kick for "not-deliberate" handball was the worst I ever saw, but this one takes the honours I think.
Saw one in last few weeks who gave an indirect free kick for obstruction. Fair enough I hear you say. "Referee" says one of the lads on the line, "the player was tripped". "Thats right" says the man in the middle, "his run was obstructed by the trip" . Incredible. Grant it,it was a schoolboy game but the official is reffing years.

blackiegray
20/03/2011, 11:30 PM
Saw one in last few weeks who gave an indirect free kick for obstruction. Fair enough I hear you say. "Referee" says one of the lads on the line, "the player was tripped". "Thats right" says the man in the middle, "his run was obstructed by the trip" . Incredible. Grant it,it was a schoolboy game but the official is reffing years.

Gas, that's even worse.

Of course our fella knew all the rules about your bicycle shorts having to match the colour of your togs alright. Nothing would get past him in the fashion stakes.

padjoe
21/03/2011, 7:53 AM
Amen you are talking about refereeing...just came on to drag the whole thing off topic.

Just joined the referee branch in Auckland, I cannot wait to get back into it.

Can't remark on the Cork branch wasn't a member while I refereed last season. Structure here is very good. Training every Monday and Thursday and weekly meetings on the rules. They also run exchange programmes here for referees to go to the UK, Australia and America.

They have independent booklets which gives examples of how and how not to apply the rules. Basic stuff I know but its really helpful.

We also have the power here to issue two red cards to the one player with the second red card carrying a minimum three match ban.

blackiegray
21/03/2011, 8:52 AM
Fair play Padjoe. Best of luck down there. Should say that 99% of the refs I've come across in AUL are sound lads. The odd one might be behind the pace of the game but in the vast majority of cases, they are very fair and do their best.

That's an interesting one about the two red cards. Wonder did the NZ lads get permission from Sepp for that one? Is it given for backchat after you give out the first red card? Or could you give two reds for a terrible tackle?

casilles
21/03/2011, 10:03 AM
alright lads quick 1 way off topic! are any of ye logging in on iphones lately to fing it goes to google ads??????????????

blackiegray
21/03/2011, 10:59 AM
alright lads quick 1 way off topic! are any of ye logging in on iphones lately to fing it goes to google ads??????????????
There seems to be an issue with the forum the last few days. It only works intermittently. Usually have to refresh a couple of times for it to work.

Onefootednopace
21/03/2011, 12:24 PM
Corinthians Cup 3rd Round.

Killowen 5 Dunbar Celtic (B) 4.

What a game, we went 1-0 up early on and had a few chances to extend our lead but didn't convert any. Lost our way a bit for the last 15 minutes of the half and allowed Dunbar in for two soft goals. Could have been 3-1 at the break but our left back came from nowhere to clear off the line. Got the equaliser early in the second half and then went 3-2 up just before the hour. Dunbar equalised from a corner soon after before we again went in 4-3 front with a fine strike from outside the area. Ref then awarded Dunbar a soft free out by the touchline, a superb delivery was headed in for 4-4. Still time for more drama, with 6 minutes left our midfielder made a great run into the box and was clipped by a defender. Ref awarded the spotter which was converted to make it 5-4 at the end. Great entertainment, shame about the weather.

thebooboys
21/03/2011, 1:26 PM
If you find a tab on your phone which says "full site", click that and follow on from that.

Learpholl
21/03/2011, 4:22 PM
when our player was judged to have handled the ball on the line recieved a red card and penalty awarded to Springfield which they scored
New here, but I watched most of this game on Saturday. Did you not think it was a penalty scaffa? Looked a blatant handball which stopped a certain goal from where I was so I thought the ref made the right call.

Agree the 3rd was harsh on Bohs though and only happened as a result of ye pushing after going behind.

padjoe
21/03/2011, 7:07 PM
"Should a situation arise where a player has been sent from the field, that their further actions warrant an incident report to be submitted and that action is of a serious enough nature to be deemed, in itself, to be a sending off then we ask….
That you note on the incident report the nature of the second offence with exact explicit details, facts only, and state “the second offence would a sending off offence under the Laws of the Game” (that is a second red card offence)"

So in effect if you commit a dangerous foul that's one red card and then as you walk off and say you a cheating **** referee, you are biased etc etc then that would be considered as a second red.

padjoe
21/03/2011, 8:17 PM

the worst mistake i made was in 2002 when I was refereeing Under 12 in Avondale.
Player went down for a penalty, I bought the dive, gave the penalty. Realised he dived as he boasted to his friends. SO i reversed my decision and kicked the ball back to the keeper for a kick out.

Five minutes later he was fouled in box, gave him penalty this time i drove it over the bar.

Worst of all the Star was there that day.

You know when you make a mistake, you know immediately but you have to stand by it no matter how stupid you look. We all have "senior" moments.

Last year in Park i gave an offside which was clearly not interfering with play. It was a long ball up the field out of defence but because my eyesight didnt process the trajectory and depth of the ball i gave the offside when there was no interference.

I felt ridiculous but had to stand by it.

offside rule
21/03/2011, 10:18 PM
AOH CUP

Bohemians 1-3 Springfield A.E.T

Scoreline does not do us any justice turning point in the game came 5 mins into the 1st half of extra time when our player was judged to have handled the ball on the line recieved a red card and penalty awarded to Springfield which they scored
On the game Springers took the lead after a mistake from our Keeper who was playing his 1st game of the season in for the injured Tommy Martin good volley from the Springers man but should have been easy enough to catch but with the increasing rain making the ball very slippy the ball slips from his grasp into the net.Disaster as the game was even enough ..........
Came into half time still 1 down but felt the game was there still for us.
2nd half we started well had Springers on the backfoot and got our reward on 65 mins when Trevor Hallisey who was having a blinder of a game swung in a great corner and Deccie Gostal knocked in from 6 yards to make it 1-1.......
Couple of half chances for both sides but the ref blew to send the game into extra time.
As i said above the turning point happened half way through this half with the sending off and the peno stayed 2-1 till the end of the 1st half.
2nd half we went out and attacked got a half chance with 2 mins ago but got caught on the break for the springers man to finish of the game with the 3rd goal
Dissapointed with the result missing a few players through injuries and suspensions but felt we could have taken this game only for that one incident that changed the whole game on his head ........best of luck to Springfield in the next round

Fairly spot on match report there Scaffa. On the day we were not two goals better than you, but the poor weather conditions hampered both teams from playing free flowing football and as the match progressed the pitch cut up badly especially through the middle. Unfortunate error by your keeper for our first goal. But with the possession we had we really should have pushed on and got a second before half-time!.

Fair play to ye, ye never gave up and your direct play had us under a bit of pressure for second half and I suppose ye get your just-reward with the equaliser, . . . Onto Extra Time.

Regarding the incident you claimed to have, ''changed the game'' . . .Your player did handle the ball inside the box, thus preventing a goal scoring chance (probably a caution in itself on top of penalty), but it was his and your teams foul and abusive language towards the ref along with your teams surrounding of the ref (ala, Roy Keane & Man Utd style, also Terry/Lampard and Chelsea style) that prob influenced the ref into the caution. . . Plus wasnt this player booked earlier during normal time!!!.
So my look on the incident :confused:: previous caution, hand ball in the box(preventing a goal scoring chance(deliberate or not)) and foul&abusive language towards ref, should result in a sending-off.
Third goal we got obviously was a break away after ye had committed everything forward to find a second equaliser.

Anyway, best of luck to ye for the rest of the Season. Great game and battle in Saturday, hopefully get a chance to renew rivalry next Season. :ball:

blackiegray
22/03/2011, 3:09 PM
"Should a situation arise where a player has been sent from the field, that their further actions warrant an incident report to be submitted and that action is of a serious enough nature to be deemed, in itself, to be a sending off then we ask….
That you note on the incident report the nature of the second offence with exact explicit details, facts only, and state “the second offence would a sending off offence under the Laws of the Game” (that is a second red card offence)"

So in effect if you commit a dangerous foul that's one red card and then as you walk off and say you a cheating **** referee, you are biased etc etc then that would be considered as a second red.

Makes sense alright. A danger for refs maybe that the sight of a second red could drive the wrong kind of lunatic over the edge altogether. I don't envy youse the job overall.

scaffa7
22/03/2011, 4:05 PM
New here, but I watched most of this game on Saturday. Did you not think it was a penalty scaffa? Looked a blatant handball which stopped a certain goal from where I was so I thought the ref made the right call.

Agree the 3rd was harsh on Bohs though and only happened as a result of ye pushing after going behind.

Hi Learpholl welcome to the mad house!!.......I was on the sideline (Suspended due to 4 yellow cards Grrrrrr!!) but did nt have a clear view of the handball as there was a player in my way but from what i was told it did hit him in the hand so therefore the correct decision was made

Fairly spot on match report there Scaffa. On the day we were not two goals better than you, but the poor weather conditions hampered both teams from playing free flowing football and as the match progressed the pitch cut up badly especially through the middle. Unfortunate error by your keeper for our first goal. But with the possession we had we really should have pushed on and got a second before half-time!.

Fair play to ye, ye never gave up and your direct play had us under a bit of pressure for second half and I suppose ye get your just-reward with the equaliser, . . . Onto Extra Time.

Regarding the incident you claimed to have, ''changed the game'' . . .Your player did handle the ball inside the box, thus preventing a goal scoring chance (probably a caution in itself on top of penalty), but it was his and your teams foul and abusive language towards the ref along with your teams surrounding of the ref (ala, Roy Keane & Man Utd style, also Terry/Lampard and Chelsea style) that prob influenced the ref into the caution. . . Plus wasnt this player booked earlier during normal time!!!.
So my look on the incident :confused:: previous caution, hand ball in the box(preventing a goal scoring chance(deliberate or not)) and foul&abusive language towards ref, should result in a sending-off.
Third goal we got obviously was a break away after ye had committed everything forward to find a second equaliser.

Anyway, best of luck to ye for the rest of the Season. Great game and battle in Saturday, hopefully get a chance to renew rivalry next Season. :ball:

I dont think he was booked but i spoke to him after the game and he said the ball hit him in the hand after it deflected of someone else and that he did nt do it deliberately.....
But i know the language was uncalled for but id put that down to more frustration on his and the players parts with the decision which of course was right and as you said maybe a booking would have been a fairer result with the peno and as i said it did "change the game"
But i could nt see any team scoring in extra time and had the feeling the game would have been decided by penos but as i said in my earlier posts best of luck in the next round think its Wilton so should be another tough game for ye!!

Horse24
22/03/2011, 10:00 PM
Nice to have you back padjoe. Stay in touch and we might learn something from each other. You can say whats going through a refs mind.

Should a ref not change his mind if he is wrong? He has a little time before the game restarts or whatever. I agree with what you did with the U12s.

If players etc know what a ref is thinking and the ref knows what the player is thinking it would help get rid of the us and them scenario.

blackiegray
22/03/2011, 11:52 PM
Good point Horse. Wouldn't really see it as a weakness in ref if he changed a decision once he realised what had really happened. In the case I mentioned earlier, our feeling was the ref blew for a free kick, then realised it was in the penalty area, thought "oh ****" I'm not giving a pen for that and came up with the indirect free kick botch job. Or else of course he just doesn't know the rules. Would have been better if he had just changed his mind, decided not to award a free kick and dropped the ball.

padjoe
22/03/2011, 11:56 PM
Horse, what I done that day was morally correct but in practice it was foolish. I should've allowed the penalty and no one would be none the wiser.

If a referee looks weak then he is easily influenced from the line. Because I play I have adopted the attitude as to what i would like when I play.

I have often had quiet words with a player on the pitch to say to look mate you're going up with your hands and i'll have to blow next time or look mate stay on your feet cause the pitch is too greasy for a tackle like that and the players are generally acknowledging of the advice.

In times i have held my hand and said yeah I made a mistake it happens and we all make mistakes. Jesus playing in goals I dropped more balls through the gloves its a wonder i didnt take up refereeing earlier.

The problem i find with a lot of coaches, players and supporters is their ignorance to the rules.

You would be amazed at the amount of people who play the game who actually don't know the rules. Refereed on the northside last year, three attacking players chasing the one ball. The one in middle was offside from the start of run which was a ball over the top, the other two players were onside. The player in the middle got to the ball first and I had to blow for interference.
Everyone screamed and roared at me, I stopped the game and went to sideline and explained and I got..."oh sorry about that ref, we didn't know...good call."

But from previous posts it seems it referees who are oblivious to some rules but also sometimes we don't know there is a rule for that until something happens. The best example is Mark Clattenburg refereeing United V Spurs earlier in the year. Sometimes we just get caught out.

sharpshooter
23/03/2011, 5:43 PM
predictions

Mossie Linnane League Cup Final
Killumney Utd v Kinsale,draw penos who knows
Premier League
Grattan Utd v Wilton Utd,wilton
Coachford v Macroom,macroom
Blarney St Ath v Leeside, draw
Knockavilla Celtic v Park Utd, draw
Premier A League
Village Utd v Kanturk,kanturk
Blackstone Rovers v Glenthorn Celtic,blackstone
Castleview v Greenwood,greenwood
Pearse Celtic v Leeds, pearse

Dixie's Cousin
24/03/2011, 10:16 AM
I don't think i got any right last week:

Mossie Linnane League Cup Final
Killumney Utd v Kinsale-Kinsale
Premier League
Grattan Utd v Wilton Utd-Wilton
Coachford v Macroom-Draw
Blarney St Ath v Leeside-Leeside
Knockavilla Celtic v Park Utd-Knockavilla
Premier A League
Village Utd v Kanturk-Kanturk
Blackstone Rovers v Glenthorn Celtic-Blackstone
Castleview v Greenwood-Greenwood
Pearse Celtic v Leeds-Pearse

Dixie's Cousin
24/03/2011, 11:50 AM
On another note, a few notable absentees. Shetland and Trouble, lads where are ye gone? Trouble are you hiding because of Boh's bad patch? or is your computer broken...again!

overthehill
24/03/2011, 8:33 PM
Lads, just saw the first set of midweek fixtures and someone correct me if im wrong, but is 6pm kick off the earliest ever? i recall 6.30 and even 6.15 but does anyone else think it turns the leagues into a farce? Coachford for example are away to kinsale! What time do these lads have to finish work to make this? There will be cars p...ing down roads all over the place, no warm ups being done, teams starting with 9 or ten players etc.. A 6.30 ko with 5mins for half time would make a tremendous difference and is perfectly feasible. More solid thinking from the AUL!!!!!! Any comments?

Inswinger
25/03/2011, 9:01 AM
Lads, just saw the first set of midweek fixtures and someone correct me if im wrong, but is 6pm kick off the earliest ever? i recall 6.30 and even 6.15 but does anyone else think it turns the leagues into a farce? Coachford for example are away to kinsale! What time do these lads have to finish work to make this? There will be cars p...ing down roads all over the place, no warm ups being done, teams starting with 9 or ten players etc.. A 6.30 ko with 5mins for half time would make a tremendous difference and is perfectly feasible. More solid thinking from the AUL!!!!!! Any comments?

Holy Christ lads just saw that myself, thats a disgrace. How in the name of god are we supposesd to make a 6pm kick off in Kinsale and be properly prepared, thats turning the league into a farce.

Typically we ve a game this week end against Macroom and Grattan the week after as weekend fixtures, two teams reasonably close to us and they send us down to Kinsale on a Tueday night, does the fixture secretary have any brain in his head at all. Park as well to Leeside making a 6pm ko, How are lads supposed to get the time off work in the current climate.

I held my counsel over the season regading fixtures, but enough is enough, of the 8 games we have left after this week end, 6 of them are away, thats not making any sense to me.

sharpshooter
25/03/2011, 9:13 AM
id agree with ye lads its a joke ye'd wanted to b meeting around 4:15 with work the way it is be very hard for lads to get off work.park lads is well.wouldnt it ave made more sence to play coachford vs macroom the midweek fixture.

Dixie's Cousin
25/03/2011, 12:00 PM
Could be worse lads, Grattan A and Grattan B are playing at home the same night!!!

Glenbuck
25/03/2011, 12:18 PM
Lads, just saw the first set of midweek fixtures and someone correct me if im wrong, but is 6pm kick off the earliest ever? i recall 6.30 and even 6.15 but does anyone else think it turns the leagues into a farce? Coachford for example are away to kinsale! What time do these lads have to finish work to make this? There will be cars p...ing down roads all over the place, no warm ups being done, teams starting with 9 or ten players etc.. A 6.30 ko with 5mins for half time would make a tremendous difference and is perfectly feasible. More solid thinking from the AUL!!!!!! Any comments?It is not as if there is a huge backlog. There are 3 finals set already and March is not gone yet.

goal-achio
25/03/2011, 3:39 PM
Lads on the fixture situation its a disgrace the aul are pulling this stroke
Its about time all the teams in the aul stood together and refuse to accept this s##t!!!

thebooboys
25/03/2011, 8:53 PM
MOSSIE LINNANE CUP FINAL

Kinsale 2 - Killumney 0

Same old story with Kinsale, dogged and efficient. They got an early goal, defended well, and hung on for rest of game, with a second added right at the death. Killumney rued their missed chances. Good game. Killumney right winger man of the match for me.

sharpshooter
26/03/2011, 12:55 AM
thats how you win sliverware chelsea style:)from what ive heard killumbey will be a srtong team in the prem next year if they go up whick i think they will..

junglegym
26/03/2011, 1:16 AM
1st of all I must say I'd nearly prefer to be a Finna Faill TD rather than our fixture Secretary, but I know for a fact he probably reads this script from time to time and he might get a little bit embarrased after it being highlighted that Coachford are playing Macrooom this weekend ( A mere 10 miles in the road ) and Coachford are away to Kinsale Tues week at 6pm . :( This scenario is just all wrong).

If the fixture secretary posted the next two weeks fixtures ahead, Instead of one, Teams may be able to come to a Compromise between themselves to organise a reshuffle if required to suit all teams. Even if it helped in 50% of Match fixtures It would be a work in progress.

As I said I know Its a tough job but any new suggestions are welcome .

I am only highlighting our fixture as an example , Im sure ther are a dozen others that we can crib about aswell ..:mad:

Horse24
26/03/2011, 8:19 AM
Lads on the fixture situation its a disgrace the aul are pulling this stroke
Its about time all the teams in the aul stood together and refuse to accept this s##t!!!

Many things we need to stand together for this summer. Fines, MJC price rise, Insurance etc.

Tough to make points when 5 at delegate meetings though.

Im not making excuses, but as fixtures sec/chairman said at beginning of season, "if I dont do it we dont have a league."

trouble
26/03/2011, 12:31 PM
DIXIE stil alive thanks you for your concern.

pacman
26/03/2011, 7:21 PM
MOSSIE LINNANE CUP FINAL

Kinsale 2 - Killumney 0

Same old story with Kinsale, dogged and efficient. They got an early goal, defended well, and hung on for rest of game, with a second added right at the death. Killumney rued their missed chances. Good game. Killumney right winger man of the match for me.
Ya Kinsale proved again how hard they are to beat. I know they have only 4 league games played but I still think they are favourites to win the premier league. They just drop so little points. Like last year it will probably go down to how they do against Leeside.

Watched Blarney Street vs Leeside today. Tight game, Blarney Street probably had more ball, but Leeside created much the clearer chances. Game decided by a Delea penalty which our friend from here will be the first to hold his hand up about.

Dont think the pitch suited either side to be honest but Leeside seem to struggle with it. Ricky Gettings very good again up front for Leeside and Blarney Street seem to miss John Betts at the back, he's off to Oz soon I believe and is a huge loss for them. They were on the small side at the back.
Blarney Street had a man sent off for hitting a leeside player but something may have happened beforehand which i didnt see.
Both teams were down a few. No Keith Shaw, Conor Murray and that foxy lad up front for Leeside. Two lads were out watching so I assume they are injured. John Betts was togged out but didnt play and no Willie Bruton. Gary Leahy came on at the end for Blarney Street. Very good player, not sure if hes fit though

sharpshooter
26/03/2011, 9:11 PM
COACHFORD 2 VS MACROOM 1

started well enough coachford had more of the ball to be fair had a few chances to take the lead but didnt take them.we took the lead with about 20mins in to the 1st half taught we were doing ok to be honest more than holding our own.they got their 1st from an own goal just sneaked in by the near post sicking ball should ave been cleared and again it cost us.their 2nd came from a set piece lucey their center half with a good header at the back post marking was bad took it well.they should ave added a 3rd with 5mins before half time gary murphy chipping the keeper but the ball bounced over the bar got a way it.2nd half we didnt get into it at all coachford fully deserved 3points..park away next week.we really ave to start putting a good run together...

Radiostar
26/03/2011, 10:01 PM
On the fixture backlog, maybe if there was a little bit more flexibility with fixtures being called off during the season, the backlog would not be too bad.
What I mean flexibility is if one teams pitch is deemed unplayable, switch it to their opponents pitch or if its unplayable on Saturday switch it to Sunday or with the frosty mornings push out the kick off times till later to give the pitch time to thaw.
This would be very easy to organise between the 2 teams and ref, simple things to get more games played and I know it would depend on whether pitches or refs would be available to switch.
But it might be better than playing at 6pm in April.

Glenbuck
27/03/2011, 3:30 PM
Ya Kinsale proved again how hard they are to beat. I know they have only 4 league games played but I still think they are favourites to win the premier league. They just drop so little points. Like last year it will probably go down to how they do against Leeside.

Watched Blarney Street vs Leeside today. Tight game, Blarney Street probably had more ball, but Leeside created much the clearer chances. Game decided by a Delea penalty which our friend from here will be the first to hold his hand up about.

Dont think the pitch suited either side to be honest but Leeside seem to struggle with it. Ricky Gettings very good again up front for Leeside and Blarney Street seem to miss John Betts at the back, he's off to Oz soon I believe and is a huge loss for them. They were on the small side at the back.
Blarney Street had a man sent off for hitting a leeside player but something may have happened beforehand which i didnt see.
Both teams were down a few. No Keith Shaw, Conor Murray and that foxy lad up front for Leeside. Two lads were out watching so I assume they are injured. John Betts was togged out but didnt play and no Willie Bruton. Gary Leahy came on at the end for Blarney Street. Very good player, not sure if hes fit though

From what we were led to believe on this forum I thought Street would be able to cope with absentees with such a big squad.Not a mention of Willie Bruton since he burst on to the AUL scene.

scaffa7
27/03/2011, 4:10 PM
Went out watched the Blarney St. v Leeside game yesterday Leeside won 1-0 not a great game but was ok thought Blarney St. deserved a draw at least unbelieveable mistake by cas to give away the peno ....What wer you doing Cas blow the ball into touch keepers are nt built to take on players !!!!!
Blarney St missing a few players but when Leeside took the lead man they know how to hold onto it there defense are beasts!
Blarney St get a man sent of 75 mins which made the task that bit harder but they still plugged on but Leeside had that bit more expereince and no how and looked dangerous on the counter attack but as i said think the Street deserved at least a point.Think Davy Crow will have a good shout for a start next week after that blunder Cas!!

Horse24
27/03/2011, 6:35 PM
A sticky game that we took more and more control of as we went on. Took an early lead in first 10 minutes and were disapointed in their equaliser. We let one of their guys go free when he should have been picked up. Scored soon into the second half and were on top from there. A cracker of a third one from a well worked short corner.

Glenthorn will be ok as a club as long as these lads keep trying like that, even though one or two did not match the names on their birth certs........

The ref backed up my high opinion of him and I asked myself what he does differently to some others? I think its the fact that he just sees himself as one of 30 or so people involved in the game - its not a case of us and them.

Big win for Village, which brings Castleview and maybe one or two more back into the relegation battle.

At the top it still looks like 2 from 3, with 3 others looking for a lot of dropped points. Two big games in a few days for Bohs.

I spoke to the fixtures sec yesterday and expressed the concerns about the 6pm start time. He said the evening games had to start that week and he is unsure whether a later kick-off would get the games finished. He has no issue with both teams and refs arranging to kick off a little later if they tie up together.

The 'View
27/03/2011, 11:18 PM
'Big win for Village, which brings Castleview and maybe one or two more back into the relegation battle.'

Ye Horse looks like we may be lookin at a relegation battle. Struggling lately, a big clear out by management of deadwood. Had to sign a registration form this week and ended up playing yesterday. Just aswell, rolled back the years with a last minute equaliser against Greenwood. Must mention Patsy Freyne what an exhibition he gave yesterday, privilege to play with him again. Horse watched the 9 Castleview men play ye last week as my under 9s were playing at same time. They were lucky to field a team. Have to mention the behaviour of a few of your players. I know from speaking to some Committee members after the game they were disgusted. Was watching the game as one or two of your players after scoring stuck up their fingers and used language to our players and committee. Talk about kicking a dog when its down. At 5-0 same guys were shouting lets get another 5. Silly boys, remember the wheel always turns.
I had to play this week with another few of the old guard and we'll be ok I hope. 2 all with league leaders isn't bad, you can't beat experience.

Glenbuck
27/03/2011, 11:30 PM
'Big win for Village, which brings Castleview and maybe one or two more back into the relegation battle.'

Ye Horse looks like we may be lookin at a relegation battle. Struggling lately, a big clear out by management of deadwood. Had to sign a registration form this week and ended up playing yesterday. Just aswell, rolled back the years with a last minute equaliser against Greenwood. Must mention Patsy Freyne what an exhibition he gave yesterday, privilege to play with him again. Horse watched the 9 Castleview men play ye last week as my under 9s were playing at same time. They were lucky to field a team. Have to mention the behaviour of a few of your players. I know from speaking to some Committee members after the game they were disgusted. Was watching the game as one or two of your players after scoring stuck up their fingers and used language to our players and committee. Talk about kicking a dog when its down. At 5-0 same guys were shouting lets get another 5. Silly boys, remember the wheel always turns.
I had to play this week with another few of the old guard and we'll be ok I hope. 2 all with league leaders isn't bad, you can't beat experience.Fair play View. Add yourself to the legends that your club has produced. Beyond the call of duty. Take a bow.

trouble
28/03/2011, 9:37 AM
VIEW great result over the weekend for ye keep up the good work be terrible to see ye dragged in to relegation fight.

Inswinger
28/03/2011, 10:28 AM
COACHFORD 2 VS MACROOM 1

started well enough coachford had more of the ball to be fair had a few chances to take the lead but didnt take them.we took the lead with about 20mins in to the 1st half taught we were doing ok to be honest more than holding our own.they got their 1st from an own goal just sneaked in by the near post sicking ball should ave been cleared and again it cost us.their 2nd came from a set piece lucey their center half with a good header at the back post marking was bad took it well.they should ave added a 3rd with 5mins before half time gary murphy chipping the keeper but the ball bounced over the bar got a way it.2nd half we didnt get into it at all coachford fully deserved 3points..park away next week.we really ave to start putting a good run together...

Fair enough assessment sharpshooter, thought we were comfortable throughout the game but never put it to bed as we missed a few chances to get a 3rd. You certainly took your goal very well when the opportunity came other than that thought we and Ken Hogan in particular contained you pretty well. How many is that for you now? Great day for a game and a handy crowd at it. Think ye ll be more than safe heard ye ve lost a few recently which has nt helped the cause.

sharpshooter
28/03/2011, 10:48 AM
Fair enough assessment sharpshooter, thought we were comfortable throughout the game but never put it to bed as we missed a few chances to get a 3rd. You certainly took your goal very well when the opportunity came other than that thought we and Ken Hogan in particular contained you pretty well. How many is that for you now? Great day for a game and a handy crowd at it. Think ye ll be more than safe heard ye ve lost a few recently which has nt helped the cause.

ya after the goal didnt really get into it to be fair,20 league goals now not 2 bad;).ya ken is a good player took an nasty boot in the face brave header because it prob would ave been 2-2 then:)but ye were very comfortable 2nd half deserved 3points.id say we have'nt started the same team once this year been unlucky with a lot of injurys to big players and a few to aussie land.just ave to get on with it every club is the same.missing our best player too in midfield...
how didnt gary murphys effort go in ill never no very unlucky..

Inswinger
28/03/2011, 11:02 AM
ya after the goal didnt really get into it to be fair,20 league goals now not 2 bad;).ya ken is a good player took an nasty boot in the face brave header because it prob would ave been 2-2 then:)but ye were very comfortable 2nd half deserved 3points.id say we have'nt started the same team once this year been unlucky with a lot of injurys to big players and a few to aussie land.just ave to get on with it every club is the same.missing our best player too in midfield...
how didnt gary murphys effort go in ill never no very unlucky..

Yeah great header by Ken, he was a bit swollen yesterday but he s a pretty boy he ll be fine in a few days haha, could nt believe Gary's effort did nt go in, (lobbed the keeper and bounced over the bar) was right behind it and was practically celebrating. Grattan for us now next week, are they after improving? Wilton only beat them by two, any reports on that one lads.