View Full Version : Cork AUL 2010/11
douglas local
15/07/2010, 7:49 PM
I think this info is vital, 1 up 1 down from a division is terrible - unfair on all sides
I think it should be two up two down in all divisions
thebooboys
15/07/2010, 9:26 PM
Mossie Linnane draw made on Cork Aul site. Macroom's name ommitted......... Funny old draw with Group A getting 4 Prem teams, Group B getting 2, Group C with just the 1 and group D with 2. I take it Macroom will probably be in group D seeing as its just got the 4 teams.
bieber
16/07/2010, 4:17 PM
yeh macroom must go in with ballyvolane, wilton,leeds.killumney.what are peoples oppinions on the winners and runners up from each sections.
bieber
17/07/2010, 12:33 PM
macroom have now been added to group d.
shetland
17/07/2010, 1:12 PM
i think its a great idea to have the mosssy linane back to start of the season and in group capacity as well. any suggestions on who might qualify from each group.
olachico
17/07/2010, 1:23 PM
i think its a great idea to have the mosssy linane back to start of the season and in group capacity as well. any suggestions on who might qualify from each group.
There was sort of an unofficial vote at the AUL AGM to have the Mossie back at the start of the season - Glad to see we are being listened to - and contrary to what people think - that attendance at the delegate meetings is useful
Southsider
17/07/2010, 5:17 PM
Malcolm Stokes to Coachford and Philpott- ex keeper with Rockmount-to Village utd.
Only met Gary myself last night and he told me hes staying with Rockmount. He might be doing a bit of training with Village til Rockmount are back.
shetland
17/07/2010, 10:48 PM
dont think its the same philpott
the owl
17/07/2010, 10:56 PM
ah its good to be back. Hope all are keeping well. Looking forward to a new season and a new challenge. Good to see the Moss
Linane back to the old format and at the start of the season. On the relagation and promotion it def should be 2 up 2 down, without question.
bieber
18/07/2010, 2:04 PM
the two first divisions take an awful lot of winning and the ist two should be considered.
olachico
18/07/2010, 3:59 PM
the two first divisions take an awful lot of winning and the ist two should be considered.
What are you getting at there beiber?
scaffa7
18/07/2010, 4:23 PM
Alrighty lads cant wait for the start of the season to get under way its been to long!!............anyhow the moss linane has sprung an interesting darw for us,Gratton should be battle of a northside derby and Kanturk ,Greenwood and Village will all be tough games but cant wait for the challenge!!
bieber
18/07/2010, 6:23 PM
What are you getting at there beiber?
what im saying is there should be two from each ist division go up.
pacman
18/07/2010, 10:34 PM
what im saying is there should be two from each ist division go up.
I agree that just one team from each first division is not enough but that would mean 4 teams coming down from premier A which is too many.
Maybe the two second place teams should have a play off with the winner going up and three coming down from premier A.
Or else the two runners up play the 3rd and 4th bottom teams from premier a in a play off
takethat
19/07/2010, 11:01 AM
how ya.. any new signings anywhere??
olachico
19/07/2010, 2:20 PM
Welcome on board takethat - just a question could the new lads who've signed up say what club they are affiliated with?? Makes it easier to discuss topics then
bieber
19/07/2010, 3:19 PM
not attached to any particular club at present ,olachico,i just take in one or two games each wkend mostly premier and premier A.
casilles
19/07/2010, 4:32 PM
that include me too olachico?
olachico
19/07/2010, 5:21 PM
But you are here a while - or did you move clubs??
casilles
19/07/2010, 5:30 PM
ya on this awhile but been quiet for a long time. ya back playin this year with Blarney St Ath. any news from ye olachico?
i see a lot of talk again about promotion and relegation lads, its just not feasable to bring 4 up and 4 down from the premier a. cant happen. on pacmans point of a playoff that puts one of the leagues with more teams than the other which the aul are tryin to balance out at the moment.
olachico
19/07/2010, 6:02 PM
So no it doesnt apply to you casilles ;-) as I knew who you were with . I'm still out with Blackstone - looking forward to the new season . Went from Hibs to Glenthorn to Blackstone in quick sucession so glad to be staying put this season!!
There will never be a solution to keep people happy regarding the premier A as long as it has more than one league feeding into it. the way the leagues are set up and have been for years always means there will be a bottle neck somewhere - perhaps 9 divisions?? Straight 2 up 2 down from each section?? On a side note wouldnt like to be playing 3rd division and be a city team in 3A - some amout of travelling there!!
shetland
19/07/2010, 6:11 PM
any predictions or is it a bit early yet lads on the leagues,very quiet on the new signings,
sharpshooter
19/07/2010, 6:56 PM
So no it doesnt apply to you casilles ;-) as I knew who you were with . I'm still out with Blackstone - looking forward to the new season . Went from Hibs to Glenthorn to Blackstone in quick sucession so glad to be staying put this season!!
There will never be a solution to keep people happy regarding the premier A as long as it has more than one league feeding into it. the way the leagues are set up and have been for years always means there will be a bottle neck somewhere - perhaps 9 divisions?? Straight 2 up 2 down from each section?? On a side note wouldnt like to be playing 3rd division and be a city team in 3A - some amout of travelling there!!
it was the same for us last year alot of travelling in to town...littleman has been very quite things must be very quite with his team:pleeside for prem this year with us in top 5 hopefully..killumney premA,1 Springfield,1a douglas hall,2 Innisvialla,2a macroom,2b Brooklodge,3 leeside,3a grattan
douglas local
19/07/2010, 7:40 PM
it was the same for us last year alot of travelling in to town...littleman has been very quite things must be very quite with his team:pleeside for prem this year with us in top 5 hopefully..killumney premA,1 Springfield,1a douglas hall,2 Innisvialla,2a macroom,2b Brooklodge,3 leeside,3a grattan
not involved but socialise in the douglas area and from what i hear a lot of last years douglas hall aul team are moving to the munster junior league team
abbeyvale
19/07/2010, 8:18 PM
Hey All,
Just wondering if any team here would be interested in playing us (Star Rovers) who are newly promoted to Limerick's Premier league in a pre-season friendly on your own patch, if you are please PM me and we'll take it from there.
Cheers
overthehill
19/07/2010, 8:30 PM
Here is my prediction; Premier; Leeside, dark horses Ballyvolane, Premier A; Greenwood, D.H's Kilumney, Div 1; Springfield ( Knockraha), Div 1A; Douglas Hall ( Glenvale), Div 2; Inishvilla ( Hibernians), Div 2A; Millstreet ( Glenvale), 2B; Carrigaline ( Watergrasshill) Div 3; Leeside, Div 3a Newmarket.
MainManRam
19/07/2010, 8:58 PM
Hi boys,
Thanks for the confidence in us boys- a lot of people tipping us for the first division. I, however, know how hard the first division is and it will be a mighty task to come out of it. Ont he squad front we have made some very interesting acquisitions. We have signed a few Wanderers players who have become disenchanted with whats going on down there. There will be a really strong squad down here next year and a lot of competition. I think there are a few teams in our division who will give us a really strong race, if indeed we are in it.
Really looking forward to the new season- may not be involved too much myself with a little bambinho on the way but I will be checkin in if I ever get a chance to see how things are going.
Be safe out there in pre-season lads
bieber
19/07/2010, 9:05 PM
Here is my prediction; Premier; Leeside, dark horses Ballyvolane, Premier A; Greenwood, D.H's Kilumney, Div 1; Springfield ( Knockraha), Div 1A; Douglas Hall ( Glenvale), Div 2; Inishvilla ( Hibernians), Div 2A; Millstreet ( Glenvale), 2B; Carrigaline ( Watergrasshill) Div 3; Leeside, Div 3a Newmarket.
couple of interesting ones there HILL,should be a cracking season.
sharpshooter
19/07/2010, 10:23 PM
Macroom FC will be hosting a family fun day in aid of Crumlin Children's hospital on Sunday 25th of July. The event is being organised by Macroom FC and player Brendan O Mahony, who has seen first hand the good work that the hospital does for the children of our country. Brendan's son Ashton has benefited from the excellent service that they provide. A fun/run walk for the same charity has already taken part on the 1st of July, with over fifty people taking part. It is hoped that this years event will beat the €7000 raised last year.
The event is on in two different locations, with the main event a Mens soccer tournament taking place in the Town Park, Macroom. The first game takes place at 10.30am. This promises to be a fantastic tournament as some of the best teams in Cork soccer are using it as part of there pre season work out. The team listing is as follows....MACROOM A,MACROOM B,CROOKSTOWN,ROCKMOUNT,DOUGLAS HALL,BALLYVOLANE,WILTON,LEESIDE,KILLUMNEY,MILLSTRE ET,GREENWOOD,RICHMOND..
There is also a Macroom F.C academy blitz taking place in Murray Field from 11am, and there will be bouncy castles, food stalls, soccer challenges and a DJ there also
All proceeds go to the childrens cancer and cardiac funds at Our Ladys Childrens Hospital Crumlin. The club would like to appeal to everyone to attend and support this event, and are looking forward to seeing everyone there
Innishvilla
20/07/2010, 8:06 AM
Macroom FC will be hosting a family fun day in aid of Crumlin Children's hospital on Sunday 25th of July. The event is being organised by Macroom FC and player Brendan O Mahony, who has seen first hand the good work that the hospital does for the children of our country. Brendan's son Ashton has benefited from the excellent service that they provide. A fun/run walk for the same charity has already taken part on the 1st of July, with over fifty people taking part. It is hoped that this years event will beat the €7000 raised last year.
The event is on in two different locations, with the main event a Mens soccer tournament taking place in the Town Park, Macroom. The first game takes place at 10.30am. This promises to be a fantastic tournament as some of the best teams in Cork soccer are using it as part of there pre season work out. The team listing is as follows....MACROOM A,MACROOM B,CROOKSTOWN,ROCKMOUNT,DOUGLAS HALL,BALLYVOLANE,WILTON,LEESIDE,KILLUMNEY,MILLSTRE ET,GREENWOOD,RICHMOND..
There is also a Macroom F.C academy blitz taking place in Murray Field from 11am, and there will be bouncy castles, food stalls, soccer challenges and a DJ there also
All proceeds go to the childrens cancer and cardiac funds at Our Ladys Childrens Hospital Crumlin. The club would like to appeal to everyone to attend and support this event, and are looking forward to seeing everyone there
Fair play to ye - best of luck with that... Hope ye raise loads
pacman
20/07/2010, 11:24 AM
on pacmans point of a playoff that puts one of the leagues with more teams than the other which the aul are tryin to balance out at the moment.
No it wouldnt. Three teams come down fro premier A, with two coming up from one of the first divsions and one from the other depending on who wins the playoff.
Two teams from premier A then go into the first divsion from which two came out of.
takethat
20/07/2010, 11:59 PM
Lets just say i attend most aul games out in coachofrd as i live close by i also go to alot of macroom games . Know the Aul fairly all round. i hear big things expected about these 2 clubs this year?
sharpshooter
21/07/2010, 10:55 AM
i might know who you are so takethat?last year was a great year for macroom football so hopefully win can build on it again this season...our 2nd team i think will be fighting to come up again..and hopefully ourselves can finish in the top 5 or even challange for it you never know...
Onefootednopace
21/07/2010, 12:46 PM
Just wondering if anyone has heard a definite date for the start of the league season. Will the Mossie Linnane Cup involving the Premier teams begin on 21st August and all divisions then commencing the week after? Or will everyone start on the same date?
Just trying to work out our schedule for training / friendlies in the coming weeks.
the owl
21/07/2010, 9:58 PM
Overthehill, Ballyvolane dark horses ??????????...........First year up, dont know about that mate. Who you involved with ?
bieber
21/07/2010, 10:10 PM
i think its going to be very hard for the promoted teams to chalenge for the title,but that could depend on new signings.also i hear a lot of players have left grattan any truth in this littleman,figo gone to st marys and eric shinkwin gone too.
takethat
22/07/2010, 9:48 AM
id say ye would probably come in mid table. its deceptively hard to pick up points in the premier league..
overthehill
22/07/2010, 2:07 PM
owl, im just going on rumours, there seems to be a lot of uncertainty with a few of the "top" squads except Leeside and im wondering will this give an oppurtunity to the promoted teams who should be itching to have a crack off them. Holden seems to be fairly confident of Macroom having a good season and i saw them and yereselves a few times last year and ye wernt bad. I know Melrick brought in a few players last year and i hear there may be a few things stirring up there again. Why would you be knocking yereselves already owl or are you being a clever little Bird???????
the owl
22/07/2010, 8:07 PM
Overthehill, Holden is dead right to be confident, and why wouldnt he be, they won the league but also they have been there before so its not exactly the unknown for them. As for the other prem league squads, no facts just rumours.
As for Ballyvolane, i would love to see them do well but im no longer involved with the club so i have no idea if they have lost, or gained players. I just know if i was still involved, the last thing i would be doing is suggesting that Ballyv were dark horses. But hey, thats just my opinion.
What club are you with ?
olachico
22/07/2010, 8:31 PM
Overthehill, Holden is dead right to be confident, and why wouldnt he be, they won the league but also they have been there before so its not exactly the unknown for them. As for the other prem league squads, no facts just rumours.
As for Ballyvolane, i would love to see them do well but im no longer involved with the club so i have no idea if they have lost, or gained players. I just know if i was still involved, the last thing i would be doing is suggesting that Ballyv were dark horses. But hey, thats just my opinion.
What club are you with ?
Where did you go to owl??
overthehill
22/07/2010, 9:27 PM
As the name suggests i finished playing a few years ago owl having played with a few clubs so i would still bump into a lot of guys that are still involved with teams and would pick up the news. There are more "signings" made on a sat night in town that have disappeared by monday morning this time of year so as you say lots of rumours!! Not tied to any club now so free to comment on everyone- its great. Have you moved on somewhere else or just freelancing now like me.
Inswinger
23/07/2010, 9:16 AM
i think its going to be very hard for the promoted teams to chalenge for the title,but that could depend on new signings.also i hear a lot of players have left grattan any truth in this littleman,figo gone to st marys and eric shinkwin gone too.
IF that is correct bieber, those two players would be a big loss to Grattan. I ll believe it when i see it though as they seem to have a tight bunch in Grattan. Figo as littleman correctly points out on his day is as good a player as anyone in the league. Littleman has been very quiet but i would expect that he is working quietly recruiting players and would be very confident of making a strong challenge again this year. I think Knockavilla will make a strong start after their excellent finish to last season.
sharpshooter
23/07/2010, 11:34 AM
cheer's for that owl who have you moved to?...overthehill you have to be confident if your not whats the point and playing thats what i think anyway we have played alot of premier teams in the last two years ive been with macroom and our record is very good played 9,lost3,won 4,drew2.
Horse24
23/07/2010, 11:49 AM
Lads, we got a mention at the AUL meeting the other night...........
We were discussing referees and the point was made that we need a pathway to comment on refereeing performances, not on Foot.ie.
So, make contact with your secretary or whoever and send in comment to the AUL on the bad refs and also, lets not forget, the good ones. The AUL have assured everyone that it will be anonymous and the comments generalised so as not to indicate where they come from. Lets use this pathway now and lets see where it takes us.
Owl, you may have to go back to ballyvolane because the dream of playing for Wednesday seems to have evaporated this morning!!!
No-one is mentioning Park or Blarney Street in the Prem talk...........may not be as far away as people think from the top three.
Oh yeah, nearly forgot, a new rule from the FAI. home team must get sanction from AUL for all friendly games - yep you are reading it right. i havent misprinted it.
goal-achio
24/07/2010, 11:15 PM
i heard the other day skillington left blackstone for ballyvolane b any truth in that olachio
the owl
24/07/2010, 11:29 PM
Ola, I just packed it in due to a knee injury i picked up last season and had to have surgery 2 months ago. Too much to risk another injury like it. Il still have my say in here though !!!!
super_mario
25/07/2010, 12:45 AM
It is true Figo is gone to Marys, shinkwin is supposedly undecided although is training away with grattan, heard today harry Goulding is Leaving for Marys also.. Also i was talking to Lofty (grattans keeper) and he told me he is not playing anymore so thats huge losses to Grattan especially a keeper of his ability,
olachico
25/07/2010, 10:58 AM
i heard the other day skillington left blackstone for ballyvolane b any truth in that olachio
haha - i even had to ring Skillington when I read this laughing - I can 100% tell you that he hasnt signed for Ballyvolane B . Why would a player who was playing Premier A and was on the Cork AUL panel go playing 2nd division???? He reckons we need to get lives and stop posting rubbish on the internet
bieber
25/07/2010, 6:56 PM
i think your dead right, the ammount of rumors doing the rounds at the moment is unreal
Horse24
25/07/2010, 7:03 PM
Thats part of the fun and games biber. Our Mr Skillington has been the subject of a few funny ones this pre-season. Luckily for us, all 17 who finished the season are around again & we have three new guys who have settled in well.
A week is a long time in football however!!