View Full Version : Cork AUL 2010/11
On the one from each division going up topic I think you have a good point Horse. We played Douglas Hall up in their place and whoever won would of won the league. One kick of a ball and one team were staying in the division and the other promoted. After a long season it must of being frustrating for them. We ended up with the same goals scored and same goals conceded in the end. Some of the suggestions on here should be put forward. Think it ties in with the not having anything to play for come last month of the season topic too if teams in Premier A are trying to avoid playing a playoff for finishing 3rd from bottom.
Parkboy
03/06/2011, 3:57 PM
Just want to say well done to Springfield on winning the league.Played them 3 times this year.Nice bunch of lads to be fair and with the addition of one or two more players there is no reason why they cant hold there own in the premier.
Well done again lads.
Glenbuck
04/06/2011, 10:24 AM
Any report on County Cup Final. I was told earlier that it was appalling. Congrats to Leeside B.
overthehill
04/06/2011, 6:54 PM
Met a guy today who told me Shane oNeill won the golden boot. I thought the bookies had closed up on that contest months ago? Sharpshooter looked like he had that sewn up but must have fired a lot of blanks in the run in. Must be gutted! Reminds me of the tortoise and the hare race. Fair play to Shane, consistently good at this level over a good few years now, well deserved.
thebooboys
04/06/2011, 9:27 PM
Shane O Neill did win the Golden boot. Scored 2 or 3 against Kinsale last week in league. Dunno how Holden was caught, very unlucky.
junglegym
04/06/2011, 9:47 PM
Shane O Neill did win the Golden boot. Scored 2 or 3 against Kinsale last week in league. Dunno how Holden was caught, very unlucky.
:shock: Thats hard to believe lads, Sharpshooter had around 22 league goals this season. Would be hard luck if that was passed out considering 15 won it last season.
sharpshooter
05/06/2011, 2:59 PM
lads myself and shane shared the boot 22 goals each happy days...
thebooboys
05/06/2011, 3:11 PM
Fair play Holden, great achievement.
the owl
05/06/2011, 8:25 PM
Congrats to Leeside on the County cup win. Delighted for Jeremy and the lads.
Congrats to you sharpshooter on the golden boot.
overthehill
06/06/2011, 8:08 PM
Fairplay sharpshooter, just shows you cant believe all you hear. 22 goals at premier level is top notch! well done!
Shilts
07/06/2011, 10:27 AM
Congrats to Shane and Keith.
Some achievement by two class players.
I think Keith's achievement in getting that many goals in his first year in the Premier, while playing for Macroom - a mid table team, deserves a special mention.
maninthemiddle
07/06/2011, 10:34 AM
Congrats to Shane and Keith.
Some achievement by two class players.
I think Keith's achievement in getting that many goals in his first year in the Premier, while playing for Macroom - a mid table team, deserves a special mention.
you have him under fierce pressure now shilts to deliver again next year. lol
well done to both lads.
qwertyui
07/06/2011, 3:33 PM
Big loss to Macroom if that is the case. Though you wonder how many Sharpshooter would get in a team that's challenging on all fronts?
Congrats to Shane O'Neill too. Major achievement getting the AUL golden boot.
sharpshooter
07/06/2011, 7:30 PM
only time will tell i suppose lads:)
casilles
07/06/2011, 9:39 PM
congrats to both Sharpshooter and Shane o neill on there achievment. 22 goals in 20 games is a great return.
Sharp your fueling the rumour mill!!!
casilles
07/06/2011, 9:42 PM
shilts all set for friday?
Inswinger
08/06/2011, 9:21 AM
I think its well known that Blarney United are looking for Sharpshooter to lead the line for them next season. Hard to see macroom
retaining their staus next year if that move transpires.
Shilts
08/06/2011, 12:02 PM
congrats to both Sharpshooter and Shane o neill on there achievment. 22 goals in 20 games is a great return.
22 goals in 20 games IS a great return - but 22 from 18 games is even better
What league are you playing in Cas??? :D
shilts all set for friday?
Not so much as we are playing on sunday night ;)
Seriously though... 2 good teams giving it holly on the night I'd say
Nothing between the two teams over the last few years
Obviously, I hope we shave it on the night
I don't think my heart could take 22 pens like in 2009 though, Cas!
I'm not getting any younger and my heart mightn't last haha
Any odds from the bookies?
thebooboys
08/06/2011, 12:16 PM
Anyone going to the AUL AGM tonight?
thebooboys
08/06/2011, 1:15 PM
Which star player was that now?
sharpshooter
08/06/2011, 3:04 PM
22 goals in 20 games IS a great return - but 22 from 18 games is even better
What league are you playing in Cas??? :D
Not so much as we are playing on sunday night ;)
Seriously though... 2 good teams giving it holly on the night I'd say
Nothing between the two teams over the last few years
Obviously, I hope we shave it on the night
I don't think my heart could take 22 pens like in 2009 though, Cas!
I'm not getting any younger and my heart mightn't last haha
Any odds from the bookies?
AOH BETTING
10/11 kinsale,11/4 draw,7/4 wilton that was the betting the last time shilts so its would prob be the same again....
Inswinger
08/06/2011, 3:25 PM
Blarney??? No chance...he is a fine player but not at that level...not to be critical but i reckon he would struggle to get 5 leage goals at that level....didnt leesides star man head to avondale a few years ago but never cut the grade....thats not a criticism because hes been a fantastic aul player but just saying its a huge jump.....from macroom he would be better going to a ballincollig team and bangin int he goals at that level first
Could nt see why he could nt, he has scored goals at oscar traynor level after all and from what i ve seen of him he's a natural finisher, not too many of them knocking about in the MSL. If that does nt work out sharpshooter you can come down the road to Coachford!! You ld get another dozen with all the chances we missed this season. Heard that you may be going to seaside though also.
Alot of strikers from the aul have gone to the MSL and acquited themselves very well. John Paul O Sullivan, Derek McCarthy to name just two. Ballincollig, no offence to anyone associated with their first team but i would see that as a step down from the Aul Premier, constantly going up and down and losing their players.
In relation to Derek Delea (i assume thats who you mean) playing with Avondale, as far as im aware that had more to do with issues with the then manager at the time, it was Avondale who wanted him to play with them if i remember correctly.
casilles
08/06/2011, 3:50 PM
Shilts my apoligizes!! Was at it hard this weekend!!!
Hopefully a good game and plenty of entertainment. as a nuetrel id love 22 again!!!
Boo heading there myself!! How about yourself?
thebooboys
08/06/2011, 3:52 PM
Could nt see why he could nt, he has scored goals at oscar traynor level after all and from what i ve seen of him he's a natural finisher, not too many of them knocking about in the MSL. If that does nt work out sharpshooter you can come down the road to Coachford!! You ld get another dozen with all the chances we missed this season. Heard that you may be going to seaside though also.
Alot of strikers from the aul have gone to the MSL and acquited themselves very well. John Paul O Sullivan, Derek McCarthy to name just two. Ballincollig, no offence to anyone associated with their first team but i would see that as a step down from the Aul Premier, constantly going up and down and losing their players.
In relation to Derek Delea (i assume thats who you mean) playing with Avondale, as far as im aware that had more to do with issues with the then manager at the time, it was Avondale who wanted him to play with them if i remember correctly.
Heard this rumour also Inswinger
And on the Delea point glad to see someone is aware of the facts
sharpshooter
08/06/2011, 3:57 PM
cheers for the vote of confidence inswinger but it would be a mortal sin to join coachford after playing for macroom with the past 3 seasons...no disrespect ment to coachford nice bunch of lads....
Shilts
08/06/2011, 3:58 PM
I think whichever team Sharpshooter plays for in the future , they need to create chances for him...to make the most of his talents.
He'll always take a large percentage of the chances that are made for him.
He needs to be with a team on the front foot rather than the back foot.
With Macroom he is making a lot of his own chances - and taking them too!
Against the top defences this is harder to do.
Football is a team game, and as you go up the ladder the team aspect becomes even more apparent.
At Macroom he tends to do a lot of the graft himself - nothing wrong with that, but he must have a sore back...from carrying them at times!
If he does leave Macroom (not definite) he should choose a team that will create as many chances as possible for him to score as many goals as possible, win as many medals as possible and maybe even a cap! (why not?!)
Anything else would be selling himself short in my opinion.
Inswinger
08/06/2011, 4:00 PM
cheers for the vote of confidence inswinger but it would be a mortal sin to join coachford after playing for macroom with the past 3 seasons...no disrespect ment to coachford nice bunch of lads....
No problem sharpshooter credit given where its due. Lol thought as much, the door is always open for a player who will improve us though.
thebooboys
08/06/2011, 4:00 PM
Shilts my apoligizes!! Was at it hard this weekend!!!
Hopefully a good game and plenty of entertainment. as a nuetrel id love 22 again!!!
Boo heading there myself!! How about yourself?
Wont say. Wouldnt want to jeopardise revealing my identity
Inswinger
08/06/2011, 4:02 PM
Are you Jonesy in disguise shilts haha.
junglegym
08/06/2011, 8:31 PM
After around five years 75% of them will have forgiven you, :D
Innishvilla
09/06/2011, 7:51 AM
Any report on County Cup Final. I was told earlier that it was appalling. Congrats to Leeside B.
I guess Leeside B won the County - no result evident anywhere... Any report. Well done to Leeside on their win, commiserations to Hibs, a tough season finish runners up in league with no promotion (2 years running) and losing a cup final shows how close you can be without getting anything...
Dixie's Cousin
09/06/2011, 8:32 AM
With Sharpshooter being linked to every top team in the AUL and many more and now the revelation the Killumney are looking for a new manager(corkaul.com), I hereby declare Silly Season to be officially OPEN!!!
thebooboys
09/06/2011, 10:29 AM
With Sharpshooter being linked to every top team in the AUL and many more and now the revelation the Killumney are looking for a new manager(corkaul.com), I hereby declare Silly Season to be officially OPEN!!!
Sure wasnt the rumour that the Killumney manager was supposed to be heading to Ballincollig and taking a few players back with him
Inswinger
09/06/2011, 10:38 AM
After around five years 75% of them will have forgiven you, :D
That much!! haha
sharpshooter
09/06/2011, 2:15 PM
That much!! haha
more like a 100% when your living here haha
sharpshooter
09/06/2011, 2:15 PM
Sure wasnt the rumour that the Killumney manager was supposed to be heading to Ballincollig and taking a few players back with him
i really doubt that boo....
thebooboys
09/06/2011, 3:58 PM
i really doubt that boo....
Not saying it s true Holden but that's the story that was doing the rounds. The other one was the emigration factor....
sharpshooter
09/06/2011, 4:05 PM
Not saying it s true Holden but that's the story that was doing the rounds. The other one was the emigration factor....
more than likely the second one boo.
sharpshooter
10/06/2011, 10:24 AM
AOH BETTING
10/11 kinsale,12/5 draw,7/4 wilton
only change was the draw....
thebooboys
10/06/2011, 2:42 PM
Lets have some predictions for Sunday - Wilton 3-1 Kinsale
Innishvilla
10/06/2011, 3:00 PM
Lets have some predictions for Sunday - Wilton 3-1 Kinsale
I haven't seen either team play this season but knowing Kinsale they're normally well drilled and don't conceed many (11 in 18 league games) and Wilton seem to be the scoring side with 56 in 18 league games... So an element of attack v defence.
However if Derek Mc is fit I can't look beyond Kinsale - 2:1...
pacman
10/06/2011, 3:09 PM
I'll go Wilton 2-1 Kinsale
maninthemiddle
10/06/2011, 3:17 PM
2-2 after ninety and pens is a lottery.
Learpholl
10/06/2011, 4:00 PM
Going for 1-0 Kinsale after 90.
scaffa7
10/06/2011, 7:10 PM
BOHEMIANS A.F.C :ball:
Alright lads have nt posted on here for a while and to be honest did nt think i would be again with the departure of our former manager Derick Daniels the club was heading into non existence....buried into the ground.
11 years I ve been with club and it was killing me and few other of the ol heads to see this happening to the club we helped build into winning 2 leagues numerous great cup runs and getting Bohs into the Premier A and unlucky not to win that league last year..... only for a bad 2nd half to season
Rumours wer circulating that we wer about to fold in the last week or 2 but after holding our A.G.M tonight i can tell you we are NOT!!
A great turn out tonight saw the appointment of a new management and new committee
We have successfully appointed John "Crow" Cronin and Paul "fox" o Callaghan as joint managers with John signing back as a player as well.... which is great for the club considering he has scored over 250 goals in the last 13 years for club.
Those that know "Fox" will have known that he had great few years with club partnering John on many occasion as well as playing in every possible postion playable so the club are thrilled to announce this appointment and can only look forward to the future!!
These 2 men know Bohs inside out and will hopefully guide the club onwards and upwards!!
As towards players every one is welcome to come up!..... we will be starting training in the next few weeks so anyone interested in getting involved P.M me
pacman
10/06/2011, 8:37 PM
BOHEMIANS A.F.C :ball:
Alright lads have nt posted on here for a while and to be honest did nt think i would be again with the departure of our former manager Derick Daniels the club was heading into non existence....buried into the ground.
11 years I ve been with club and it was killing me and few other of the ol heads to see this happening to the club we helped build into winning 2 leagues numerous great cup runs and getting Bohs into the Premier A and unlucky not to win that league last year..... only for a bad 2nd half to season
Rumours wer circulating that we wer about to fold in the last week or 2 but after holding our A.G.M tonight i can tell you we are NOT!!
A great turn out tonight saw the appointment of a new management and new committee
We have successfully appointed John "Crow" Cronin and Paul "fox" o Callaghan as joint managers with John signing back as a player as well.... which is great for the club considering he has scored over 250 goals in the last 13 years for club.
Those that know "Fox" will have known that he had great few years with club partnering John on many occasion as well as playing in every possible postion playable so the club are thrilled to announce this appointment and can only look forward to the future!!
These 2 men know Bohs inside out and will hopefully guide the club onwards and upwards!!
As towards players every one is welcome to come up!..... we will be starting training in the next few weeks so anyone interested in getting involved P.M me
Thats good to hear scaffa. Its always tough to keep a club going when there are so few dedicated people willing to commit their time to keeping it afloat. Hopefully ye'll have a good year next season
pacman
10/06/2011, 8:44 PM
Lads, have a look at the penalty in the link below. Its during a penalty shoot-out of an Italian 7th division game which cost a team promotion. Should the goal have been allowed?
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/blogs/world-of-sport/article/53704/
Learpholl
10/06/2011, 8:52 PM
Think its a definite goal pacman. Not a whole lot of difference between that and if it hit the underside of the crossbar and went in really.
Glad to hear about Boh's too. Drove past the Fairfield about 7 and was wondering if ye were already back training when I saw so many there!
sharpshooter
10/06/2011, 9:11 PM
Lads, have a look at the penalty in the link below. Its during a penalty shoot-out of an Italian 7th division game which cost a team promotion. Should the goal have been allowed?
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/blogs/world-of-sport/article/53704/
has to be a goal their is another video like that too unreal...
pacman
10/06/2011, 9:24 PM
Think its a definite goal pacman. Not a whole lot of difference between that and if it hit the underside of the crossbar and went in really.
Glad to hear about Boh's too. Drove past the Fairfield about 7 and was wondering if ye were already back training when I saw so many there!
There is no strange rule for penalty shootouts whereby if the ball travels back from where it came then its not a goal. Like if it hits the post and then hits the keeper and goes in then its not allowed?
I just remember hearing something like that years ago but i could be all wrong. I assume the goal is fine as the ref actually gave it though.
Strange though, poor keeper must have been gutted