View Full Version : Cork AUL 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49

Shilts
23/05/2011, 10:02 AM
If ref called it then that's that and it's a replay. If springers refused to play then it's up to aul and god knows what will happen.

the other pitch next door is immateial.

Surely its only a replay if the ref rules that the pitch is unplayable due to weather related issues (ie. outside the control of the home team)
If a pitch is unplayable because there are no nets, the pitch is not lined or the grass is too long then in my opinion the home team should forfeit the game.
Throw in not having a change of kit when there is a colour clash also.

Kinsale's unbeaten run came to an end last saturday when Park Utd beat us 1-0 in Mitchelstown.
Of greater concern to us is the injury to Derek McCarhy.
Touch and go as to whether he'll play any part in fridays AOH final.

Shilts
23/05/2011, 10:26 AM
Why no results on the Cork AUL site since last week????
No mention of Kinsale winning the Prem title????
Technical problem maybe???

Also Hibs are running a fund raiser on 27th - same night as the AULs showpiece game - The AOH Cup Final.
This is being advertised on the AULs site.
Are we trying for a small crowd on friday night in Turners Cross???

maninthemiddle
23/05/2011, 11:18 AM
Surely its only a replay if the ref rules that the pitch is unplayable due to weather related issues (ie. outside the control of the home team)
If a pitch is unplayable because there are no nets, the pitch is not lined or the grass is too long then in my opinion the home team should forfeit the game.
Throw in not having a change of kit when there is a colour clash also.

Kinsale's unbeaten run came to an end last saturday when Park Utd beat us 1-0 in Mitchelstown.
Of greater concern to us is the injury to Derek McCarhy.
Touch and go as to whether he'll play any part in fridays AOH final.

im specifically talking about the pitch shilts. if it was unplayable due to the grass being to long it would generally fall into the category of the waterlogged pitch as its subjective as to wheteher it is playable or not.

id argue that many dry pitches the last month are unplayable and more unsafe than a lot of the waterlogged ones earlier in the year. id love to have seent the pitch myself.how long are we talking?

it's a bit of a grey area when you add in the circumstances behind it on the day as well.

in the case of the nets etc. that you mentioned it would be a matter reported to the league and then decided upon by them.

it's probably a league decision now anyway.

Dixie's Cousin
23/05/2011, 1:25 PM
According to FIFA's laws nets aren't required for a game to go ahead. Nets MAY be attached to the goals and the ground behind the goal, provided that they are properly supported and do not interfere with the goalkeeper! Doesn't say there has to be nets!

Shilts
23/05/2011, 1:29 PM
[QUOTE=maninthemiddle;1488911]im specifically talking about the pitch shilts. if it was unplayable due to the grass being to long it would generally fall into the category of the waterlogged pitch as its subjective as to wheteher it is playable or not.

QUOTE]

Both are the ref's call to make as to whether the game proceeds or not.
Then its up to the League to decide what happens next.

However, the home team ARE responsible for keeping the grass cut = away team getting the points, in my opinion
They can't be held reponsible for a waterlogged pitch though = replay the game in my opinion.

I'd be interested to see if there is a rule about how short the grass must be.

Dixie's Cousin
23/05/2011, 1:30 PM
Also Lads, Barry Peelo is on holidays. Let him have a break at least!

Dixie's Cousin
23/05/2011, 2:04 PM
i dont think there will be many at the hibs race night that woul have been at the AOH cup final anyway. The hibs race night was moved because a former player collapsed and died aged 32,it wasnt moved to interefere with AOH cup final!

Glenbuck
23/05/2011, 2:23 PM
You are joking me, springfield up to that crap again that is unreal, agree with booboys experienced managers. I was out there last week when leeside played fairview grass was small bit high in places but there was no problems in playing the game. And they wouldnt play on Blarney St pitch either?? how many where springfield missing so??Heard earlier that they may have had a few players involved with army duties over the weekend. Obama and funeral !!!!

Innishvilla
23/05/2011, 2:26 PM

No problem with him having a break but I think he should have posted the fact there'd be an interruption - as based on the quotes here (and what I was thinking) it is still the main location to find all the AUL results.

Shilts
23/05/2011, 2:33 PM

Apologies - Thanks for the post.

maninthemiddle
23/05/2011, 4:45 PM
According to FIFA's laws nets aren't required for a game to go ahead. Nets MAY be attached to the goals and the ground behind the goal, provided that they are properly supported and do not interfere with the goalkeeper! Doesn't say there has to be nets!

You can play without nets but not without corner flags then for some reason.

I'd gladly ref without nets in exchange for well lined pitches tbh.

bluey
23/05/2011, 5:36 PM
Wouldn't doubt it for a minute!! was passing the pitch in question today so i said i would take a look for s***s and giggles, pitch no different to when we played out there just over a week ago... As booboys posted earlier "experienced managers"...

I think inish that barry peelo let all clubs know still involved in games that he was away for week, was asking before he went for some write ups on league winners and so on that he would have his echo pages full this week.

padjoe
24/05/2011, 3:48 AM
Sorry been a way a bit.

Potential Carrig v Springfield decider.. that would be absolutely epic.. I hope it transpires. Carrig would surely be the fresher and after last season's abysmal efforts would be hungry to go up to premier.

Man in the middle, how are you keeping mate? I see you injecting wisdom and knowledge into the form that is much needed.

Bluey i thought you were dead. Do you only come out of hibernation at the end of the season?

Innishvilla
24/05/2011, 7:46 AM
I think inish that barry peelo let all clubs know still involved in games that he was away for week, was asking before he went for some write ups on league winners and so on that he would have his echo pages full this week.

Fair enough...

maninthemiddle
24/05/2011, 11:29 AM
Sorry been a way a bit.

Potential Carrig v Springfield decider.. that would be absolutely epic.. I hope it transpires. Carrig would surely be the fresher and after last season's abysmal efforts would be hungry to go up to premier.

Man in the middle, how are you keeping mate? I see you injecting wisdom and knowledge into the form that is much needed.

Bluey i thought you were dead. Do you only come out of hibernation at the end of the season?

Im good thanks. i like discussing all apsects of the game even if i am a ref. lol i'll be seeing a lot of ye next year across all the aul divisions so i might be run of the board then never to return. ha ha.

Horse24
24/05/2011, 12:45 PM
Man in the middle. Its like bingo.......Im crossing off last years list versus this years list to see who you are!!!!

Padjoe - you cant just go galavanting all over Oz and expect us to love you when you come back. We love maninthemiddle now! No way can we love 2 refs!!!!

Can we move on from our pitch? It was not short enough, we accept that now.
We thought it was playable as the vast majority of those who have seen it agreed.
I can hear the lawnmower blades from here as I write!!!!
The ref called it off - his decision - crazy as it was. I just hope football is allowed to decide the title and not one man's decision.

maninthemiddle
24/05/2011, 4:31 PM
Man in the middle. Its like bingo.......Im crossing off last years list versus this years list to see who you are!!!!

Padjoe - you cant just go galavanting all over Oz and expect us to love you when you come back. We love maninthemiddle now! No way can we love 2 refs!!!!

Can we move on from our pitch? It was not short enough, we accept that now.
We thought it was playable as the vast majority of those who have seen it agreed.
I can hear the lawnmower blades from here as I write!!!!
The ref called it off - his decision - crazy as it was. I just hope football is allowed to decide the title and not one man's decision.

horse if you are who i think you are then i know ya well. worked with ya and drank with ya many a time. its unlikely its not you. ha ha!

dodgy_knee
24/05/2011, 5:02 PM
In fairness to the Springfield lads, if the ref called off the game, what can they do?
As someone already said, in the interest of fairness hopefully there will be a replay as their results show they are 2 handy sides.

K.C.
24/05/2011, 6:38 PM
Hi Lads,

Been watching this thread for a while now, (two seasons at least) and finally decided to register. Will be mixing it in Premier A next season so look forward to getting to know a few of ye.

Horse24
24/05/2011, 6:48 PM
horse if you are who i think you are then i know ya well. worked with ya and drank with ya many a time. its unlikely its not you. ha ha!

When you gave the age profile, I thought it might be you!! Then I saw the poster could read and write.............so I ruled that thought out!!!

Glenbuck
24/05/2011, 9:05 PM
Word on the street that Fairview might lose points. Sad if it transpires.

maninthemiddle
24/05/2011, 9:37 PM
When you gave the age profile, I thought it might be you!! Then I saw the poster could read and write.............so I ruled that thought out!!!

That's you gone from the ground day one anyway and blackstone guaranteed relegation.lol. I knew 'twas you.

Innishvilla
25/05/2011, 7:52 AM
Hi Lads,

Been watching this thread for a while now, (two seasons at least) and finally decided to register. Will be mixing it in Premier A next season so look forward to getting to know a few of ye.

Welcome - K.C. - Kilreen Celtic I would guess using my awesome powers of deduction. Congrats on a fantastic season...

Horse24
25/05/2011, 11:34 AM
For info..........Monard is like a snooker table as of 19.00 last night!!

pacman
25/05/2011, 11:42 AM
Too short i'd say Horse, could be deemed dangerous.

Horse24
25/05/2011, 12:05 PM
Too short i'd say Horse, could be deemed dangerous.

Only if Double T is the checker!

K.C.
25/05/2011, 12:56 PM
Thanks Innish. League came down to the wire which made it feel better to come out on top in the end. Congrats to ye too. Any one of ye have any idea when the corinthians cup final could be on?

maninthemiddle
25/05/2011, 1:12 PM

tis far from playing on pitches like snooker tables fellas were raised especially you.

maninthemiddle
25/05/2011, 2:59 PM
so where does the good money go for the aoh??? im thinking draw at half time draw at full time....hard to seperate them and finals are always tight anyway would that men replay or does it finish?

too hard to call but with the season kinsale have had you would imagine they will top it off. wilton will be up for it but i fancy kinsale 1-0 in normal time.

has to finish on the night afaik. the days of replays are long gone.

thebooboys
25/05/2011, 3:45 PM
AOH Final --- Depends on what kind of a game develops. A tight, stop/start game suits the League Winners, an open game would suit Wilton you would think. Leagues top scorers against Leagues best defence. Tough call, If McCarthys missing for Kinsale as a previous poster said, he's irreplaceable for me and Kinsale will suffer for it. I'll tip Wilton.

pacman
25/05/2011, 4:43 PM
I'm actually going to say Wilton comfortably.

the ghost
25/05/2011, 5:53 PM

Was just told there Horse Blackstone had to play a league match on Cresents pitch next to ye as the grass was too high?? Any truth?? Could help Springfields case alot if true.

sharpshooter
25/05/2011, 7:03 PM
I'm actually going to say Wilton comfortably.
cant see any team winning this game comfortably to be honest single goal will win it i think.if Derek mc is out then a big blow for kinsale..

Glenbuck
25/05/2011, 9:23 PM
AOH Cup final off. Health and safety concerns over work on lights.

bluey
25/05/2011, 10:05 PM
Just heard that about AOH final. Now fixed for June 12th.

Our B team County Cup final is fixed for Friday June 3rd 7.30pm Turners Cross

Horse24
25/05/2011, 11:28 PM
Was just told there Horse Blackstone had to play a league match on Cresents pitch next to ye as the grass was too high?? Any truth?? Could help Springfields case alot if true.

Us and Fairview did but it adds to the bafflement rather than clears it up!! Our pitch was out of action for a week due to the unavailability of both our pitch cutters. It was cut the Tuesday/Wednesday after which is how I know it was only 10 days before Springers game.

I cannot believe I have fallen into a slanging match with a ref.................wise move on my part!!!!

maninthemiddle
26/05/2011, 5:16 AM
Us and Fairview did but it adds to the bafflement rather than clears it up!! Our pitch was out of action for a week due to the unavailability of both our pitch cutters. It was cut the Tuesday/Wednesday after which is how I know it was only 10 days before Springers game.

I cannot believe I have fallen into a slanging match with a ref.................wise move on my part!!!!

Look it's only a warning for now but your next tackle is definitely a yellow card young fella. Lol.

I have to say as a fan Abd neutral I am happy AOH cup is off so I can see both big games now and it also gives both teams plenty of time to have full fitness.

pacman
26/05/2011, 8:22 AM
cant see any team winning this game comfortably to be honest single goal will win it i think.if Derek mc is out then a big blow for kinsale..
Now that its put back two weeks i'll revise my opinion and say it will be pretty close now even though i still think wilton will win

Parkboy
26/05/2011, 8:26 AM
A long season coming to an end.Have been keeping an eye on this recently but had little time to leave any comments.
Our A team had a reasonable season finishing off with a 1 - 0 victory over the league champions.
Our B team finish off the league season this weekend.We play Fairview tonight away and at home to Shandon on Saturday.We also have the corinthians cup final to look forward to but all we have been told is that it is on the week after the bank holiday.
With the AOH final moved to that week that could once again change.
Congrats to all league winners and best of luck to the rest chasing silverware

Dixie's Cousin
26/05/2011, 10:01 AM
Shilts, you can go to the Hibs Race night now that the AOH cup final is postponed!!!

Shilts
26/05/2011, 10:40 AM
Shilts, you can go to the Hibs Race night now that the AOH cup final is postponed!!!

Very good!
Any truth that the Hibs boys sabotaged the floodlights in Turners Cross?? :D

thebooboys
26/05/2011, 10:43 AM
Very good!
Any truth that the Hibs boys sabotaged the floodlights in Turners Cross?? :D

I was thinking more like Kinsale trying to buy McCarthy more time if doubtful for final.......

Inswinger
26/05/2011, 11:06 AM
Hi lads back from a minor suspension!! First of the season on and off the pitch!!

With the AOH being put back a few weeks it should enable Derek McCarthy to get himself fit for the final. If he is 100% i would be inclined to go for Kinsale due to their excellent defensive record.

We finished off our season with a 2-2 draw with Wilton in Farranlea Road during the week end. Probably a fair result as we both had more than enough chances to add to our tally's. It was a very open game played in horrendous conditions, both teams missing a few. Wilton are the best football team in aul of that there s no doubt but do let themselves open at the back.
Could be their down fall in the final.

Horse24
26/05/2011, 12:34 PM
Inish, I told Jack Lyons he is to get the same party for his U15 All Ireland Medal as the Juniors did........................told him Id get you to look after it!

Nice guy - great defender

sharpshooter
26/05/2011, 2:33 PM
AOH BETTING
10/11 kinsale,11/4 draw,7/4 wilton

K.C.
26/05/2011, 3:58 PM
What was the exact reason for the AOH final being postponed?

Glenbuck
26/05/2011, 5:39 PM
What was the exact reason for the AOH final being postponed?Seems there was work started on lights and could not be finished due to high winds.

bluey
26/05/2011, 8:13 PM
Springfield 2-2 leeside b
Springfield scored 3min into injury time to go 2-1 up, wild celebrations and a few words said to the leeside players!! Straight from kick off ball out right wipped in and headed home. So easy win for Springfield out the window!!!! Leeside have never and well never lay down for any team at any stage of season.
Hopefully now carrig will go and finish Job next Tuesday

Learpholl
26/05/2011, 10:55 PM
Springfield 2-2 leeside b
Springfield scored 3min into injury time to go 2-1 up, wild celebrations and a few words said to the leeside players!! Straight from kick off ball out right wipped in and headed home. So easy win for Springfield out the window!!!! Leeside have never and well never lay down for any team at any stage of season.
Hopefully now carrig will go and finish Job next Tuesday
Congrads bluey. Good result, just shows how wrong my prediction was! Nice result to get going into the cup final.

thebooboys
27/05/2011, 1:56 AM
Springfield go 2-1 up in injury time. Enough said, celebrations galore. Premature....... what a response