View Full Version : Cork AUL 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 [37] 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49

sharpshooter
28/03/2011, 11:16 AM
i no i taught it was a certain goal but i was very happy it didnt go in:)thats good some lads could ave reacted a different way...

Inswinger
28/03/2011, 11:21 AM
Who have ye left now Holden? I know we have to go to Macroom?

Shilts
28/03/2011, 11:23 AM
Good game at Turners Cross last friday night in the Mossie Linnane Final.
We won but were made to fight harder than the 2-0 scoreline would suggest.
Kilumney (we've played them 3 times) are probably the best Cork AUL team we've played this season (we've yet to play Wilton or Leeside though) and I reckon they will take some stopping in Prem A.

Our form in the Mossie was superb this year - only conceding one goal in the seven games and that consistency saw us through the hard moments on friday night.

Big shout out for Kilumney - their physio looked after one of our injured players after he came off in the first half. Thanks for that lads.

That's NINE premier trophies in nine years for Kinsale.
A magnificent achievement for any club.

Great to get some silverware on board and hopefully we will use that as an incentive to kick on for some more before the season is finished.
A tough ask with the fixture pileup ahead.
After this weekend we'll be 7 games behind Leeside in the league.

A good weekend was had by the seaside but its back to business this week with Kilreen away in the AOH QF. A tough away fixture, but it's great to be involved in the big games.

sharpshooter
28/03/2011, 11:27 AM
Who have ye left now Holden? I know we have to go to Macroom?
we have park and ballyvolane away,park,kinsale,ye,knockavilla,blarney st,at home.so hopefully we can put a good run together.letting in far too many goals and stupid ones at that..what about ye?

sharpshooter
28/03/2011, 11:33 AM
fairplay to ye shilts thats some record to have...

Inswinger
28/03/2011, 11:41 AM
Home-Grattan & Kinsale

Away- Kinsale, Blarney Street, Macroom, Knockavilla, Leeside & Wilton.

No easy games there really.

Horse24
28/03/2011, 11:48 AM
'Big win for Village, which brings Castleview and maybe one or two more back into the relegation battle.'

Ye Horse looks like we may be lookin at a relegation battle. Struggling lately, a big clear out by management of deadwood. Had to sign a registration form this week and ended up playing yesterday. Just aswell, rolled back the years with a last minute equaliser against Greenwood. Must mention Patsy Freyne what an exhibition he gave yesterday, privilege to play with him again. Horse watched the 9 Castleview men play ye last week as my under 9s were playing at same time. They were lucky to field a team. Have to mention the behaviour of a few of your players. I know from speaking to some Committee members after the game they were disgusted. Was watching the game as one or two of your players after scoring stuck up their fingers and used language to our players and committee. Talk about kicking a dog when its down. At 5-0 same guys were shouting lets get another 5. Silly boys, remember the wheel always turns.
I had to play this week with another few of the old guard and we'll be ok I hope. 2 all with league leaders isn't bad, you can't beat experience.

A bit harsh View and it paints the wrong picture of the ongoing very good relationship between the two clubs.

I admire what the lads did after the Leeds no-game. A very brave move and not one you would see many clubs do.

Patsy played against us as well as one of the 10 players and though the legs may not move as quickly as they used to, the brain sure does. He played against us a few hours before a Senior game too.

One (JUST ONE) of our players overcelebrated the first goal and was soon put in his place. He had been told by Castleview and another 3rd division side that he wasnt good enough earlier in the season so he felt that he had a point to prove. As I said, he was immediately told by us (players & line) that he was in the wrong. I was in the View dressing room after the game, and none mentioned it to me. We have the relationship where they would have said it to me if they felt it was worth mentioning.

Cant say any of our line heard the comment about 5 more goals and the game was blown 2 or 3 minutes later as requested and discussed.

Hopefully just crossed wires and there seemed to be no issue when I spoke to one of your committee at 10am this morning on another issue.

So we move on and welcome ye on Saturday next.

Cas, whats this I hear about the club secretary not seeing any Match of the Week tickets? The official in question was glad when I cleared it up that the tickets should be given to the secretary!!!!

Why was there a change of official for your game?

trouble
28/03/2011, 12:13 PM
INSWINGER grats have fews old faces back for last few games so there alot better last to weeks

Inswinger
28/03/2011, 1:40 PM
Cheers Trouble, i was thinking there was something up when i saw the score for the Wilton match. Any idea what players have returned.

Glenbuck
28/03/2011, 3:36 PM
Cheers Trouble, i was thinking there was something up when i saw the score for the Wilton match. Any idea what players have returned.
Heard last night that Robbie O Callaghan, Martin Doocey and Eddie O Riordan (all over 40 I imagine) have signed for Grats.

Dixie's Cousin
28/03/2011, 3:55 PM
Hi Lads, I watched the Grattan on saturday and none of the lads mentioned above played. I do think Martin Doocey is the B team manger, and Eddie was there last week but was injured during that match.

Glenbuck
28/03/2011, 6:19 PM
Hi Lads, I watched the Grattan on saturday and none of the lads mentioned above played. I do think Martin Doocey is the B team manger, and Eddie was there last week but was injured during that match. Never said they were playing on Saturday. You are right about Martin being B team manager and that Eddie was carrying an injury but I got it from a very good source that the 3 lads had signed to help out.

Inswinger
28/03/2011, 7:48 PM
Mid week Fixtures

Hi lads, Bluey and Boo i ld be very interested on what your opinion would be, we ve been doing a head count for our game against Kinsale away next Tuesday night . Due to work commitments, players not being able to get time off work and lads working shifts that the probability is that we will be handing Kinsale a walk over. I think this degrades the top league in the AUL and i certainly would nt think Leeside would be too happy.

We ve been on a good run ourselves lately taking 16 points from the last 18 and with Grattan at home to play Saturday have a good chance to win another game and whilst im not saying we re going to beat Grattan or win the league we can have a big say in where it will go, I ld imagine Kinsale would prefer to win 3 points in the best way possible as well.

thebooboys
28/03/2011, 9:32 PM
Well if that was/is the case inswinger Leeside or Wilton wouldnt be too happy and considering how ye have to play both us and Kinsale I dont think it will do ye're League ambitions, which are still legitimate given a good run, any good either. Looking at the fixtures and seeing where Kinsale migt drop points We were kinda hoping that ye could get a result against the defending champs out there. Unfortunately every team has the issues with players getting time off work, we have 4 or 5 who have already organised it so other teams could make some efforts there too. And if ye do believe that ye have an outside chance of the league or even to compete for runners up then I think individuals should do their very best to get free for matches, especially given the fact that this is ye're best position in about 3 or 4 seasons. Ye also have a B team and while their league position doesnt suggest they are world beaters surely one or two of them, not to mention the youth teams ye have had progress in the last few seasons, could come together to make the numbers??

fruice
28/03/2011, 9:48 PM
Lads just looking at the posts above re players availability i tink 6 o clock is a very early time for agame do you think that for the sake of week most likely that they should have left off the mid week kick offs. to be fair in 2 weeks time they could get away with 6 30 kick offs. we are in millstreet and if we are at home itsworse than away. we have at least 5 players that are workin a t least an hour away.

pacman
28/03/2011, 10:01 PM
Mid week Fixtures

Hi lads, Bluey and Boo i ld be very interested on what your opinion would be, we ve been doing a head count for our game against Kinsale away next Tuesday night . Due to work commitments, players not being able to get time off work and lads working shifts that the probability is that we will be handing Kinsale a walk over. I think this degrades the top league in the AUL and i certainly would nt think Leeside would be too happy.

We ve been on a good run ourselves lately taking 16 points from the last 18 and with Grattan at home to play Saturday have a good chance to win another game and whilst im not saying we re going to beat Grattan or win the league we can have a big say in where it will go, I ld imagine Kinsale would prefer to win 3 points in the best way possible as well.
Be prepared for a hefty fine from the AUL inswinger if thats the case. Was in that situation a few years back explained it to the AUL and were hit with a €100 plus fine when we didnt field a team.

As boo said I'd be shocked if ye couldnt get 11 players together between two teams assuming ye're B team arent playing the same night. Also I think with nearly 10 days notice surely most guys can come up with some arrangement with their employers like come in early, work through lunch etc. Evening games will probably be pushed back to 6.30pm from next week on so it would be a once off for most.

I think Kinsale would be delighted if ye didnt show up regardless of what anyone will say. Leeside and Wilton would be disappointed but the biggest losers of all would be Coachford themselves unfortunately.

casilles
29/03/2011, 11:29 AM
Blarney St Ath 0 Leeside 1

Sorry lads for the late report but needed a few days to get it out of my system.
Game started at a tremendous pace. 90 miles an hour. Leeside started in a 4-5-1/4-4-1-1 formation which i yaught suited us as it afforded us to get the ball to our full backs and work it up, which we did. Had most of the poccesion and maybe 2 half chances, a Larry Betts header and a good tip over from a JP Thompson free kick. We were doing well, bar a few free kicks wide left giving away but dealt with them comfortable. All good for the first half an hour till should i say a moment of madness or as others might say a moment of stuipdness{is that a word!!} Street had the ball , knocked back from Babsy to Myself, took a touch and Delea was on top of me, hinesight I should have blown it away but went to push it passed him , he got control I made a challenge , Peno given, Delea stepped up and finished it. graham Keane had a chances for 2 nil 5 minsd before the half ended but was saved.1 nil Leeside at the half. Came out again all guns blazing , much the same as the first half but had a few half chances nothing very clear cut. the boys from the island were playing on the break mostly. 20 mims to go we got a man sent off. Im not gonna say it was wrong but it takes 2 to tango. Gettings was unlucky with a ball over the top that was read and a few corners and free kicks latter and the 3 ponts were Leesides. Taught a draw was afair result but thats football.

Away the next 2 games against Knockavilla and Grattan.

6pm kick offs a disgrace! plain and simple. Most leagues are on around 14 games played by the teams involved bar the premier. Im not gonna jump on Kinslae either cause the were succesful in the different cups. Any game called off was the same for most involved this year, weather. look at Premier a Kilumney are the same. We are down to play Grattan on Tuesday at 6, it is our derby and closet away game and we will be struggling to get fellas ready for a 6pm kick off. Could be a case of meet, tog out kick off!! Hopefully this will only be a first week problem.

Horse dont you were my old flower our secretary got the tickets!!! Came in to Brannigans at 5 and didnt return home till 12 hours later so no bothers there!!!

skippy7
29/03/2011, 4:09 PM
Kinsale 2 Kilumney 0 great win for Kinsale in linnane cup final friday night,not sure about the report on the star today i counted four other chances that Kinsale had during the match and these werent mentioned,Kilumney played well but thought Kinsale deserved it on the night

thebooboys
29/03/2011, 7:30 PM
Why was your previous comment removed Skippy7??

Inswinger
30/03/2011, 9:48 AM
Just on the Kinsale game lads, we genuinely have a number of players who are not secure enough in their posts to get time off work and a few others who are working too far away to make the game, at best they ld be there for the last half hour of the game which is far from ideal. As i said previously an away fixture closer to home would have been far more sensible.

I would have thought with the current climate that the Aul would have had known that teams in all leagues would have struggled with this 6pm kick off time. Do nt want to sound like a violin should be playing in the background lads just stating a fact. If we go ahead with it we could well have a large compliment of players from our second team togging out, with all due respect that really are nt at the standard needed to get a result in Kinsale.

What exactly did skippy say in his post as i missed it, is he a Kinsale man?

backpass
30/03/2011, 10:23 AM
Yes my post was removed too...all I was saying is that the aul fixture secretary has to do a better job with the fixture situation...it's a joke, it always was. Every year kin sale seem to get nice fixtures at the end of season. They are a good team and they get good cup runs but it's just strange that all their home games are midweek and away games are weekends come the end of season...a bit of fairness and cop on from the aul is needed towards every team not just the top few

30/03/2011, 10:56 AM
The posts (and associated posts) were removed because some were near libelous and others either quoted them or would have looked out of context if left there.
Nobody is above criticism but there's a correct way of doing it.

skippy7
30/03/2011, 12:13 PM
dont know boo really,not sure who backpass played with but never any easy matches in the premier league for any team, kinsale had grattan away wilton at home and leeside away in the 3 last matches of last season not the easiest of finishes

backpass
30/03/2011, 3:57 PM
i never said there are easy fixtures in any league....but they are a lot easier come end of year when guys are workn and cant get time off for midweek games miles away....and you are right ye had grattan away albeit on a saturday and leeside away midweek
dont know boo really,not sure who backpass played with but never any easy matches in the premier league for any team, kinsale had grattan away wilton at home and leeside away in the 3 last matches of last season not the easiest of finishes

junglegym
30/03/2011, 8:09 PM
If we go ahead with it we could well have a large compliment of players from our second team togging out, with all due respect that really are nt at the standard needed to get a result in Kinsale.

With all due respect Inswinger you may have a point.. :(
Although a lot of our squad would dearly love to be involved in this fixture, I feel that in the week thats in it, It could be very costly in our bid not to get relegated. We have two very hard fixtures starting Sat at home to Millstreet and away to Macroom( our local derby ;) ) Thurs. night. If some of our boys had to play again on Tues. this well talked about fixture could cost us our Div. 2 status. :mad:

qwertyui
31/03/2011, 8:26 AM
Yes my post was removed too...all I was saying is that the aul fixture secretary has to do a better job with the fixture situation...it's a joke, it always was. Every year kin sale seem to get nice fixtures at the end of season. They are a good team and they get good cup runs but it's just strange that all their home games are midweek and away games are weekends come the end of season...a bit of fairness and cop on from the aul is needed towards every team not just the top few

Haha! Sure of course Kinsale is huge and all of the Kinsale team work in the town and it only takes us all 2 minutes to drive to the game!! Get real. Most of the team work in Cork and will have the exact same amount of travelling as the away teams. I'd say its the same for the likes of Park, Macroom, Coachford etc.. even a home game at 6 o'clock..fellas who are lucky enough to be working in their home town are few and far between. Take issue with the time of the games rather than the fixtures themselves.

Shilts
31/03/2011, 10:09 AM
Every year kin sale seem to get nice fixtures at the end of season.

This is an untrue statement and if you can't back it up with facts you might retract it please.
The last 2 seasons we had to finish with midweek away games to Wilton and Leeside for the league.

Because we have put so much money into our pitch we tend not to have as many home games postponed as other teams and we usually have more away games to play than home games in the latter part of the season.
For instance this year we have only played one away game so far. This implies we will have a lot of away games in the run in.
In recent years we have been away to Grattan, Wilton, Leeside Coachford, Glenthorn, Blarney Street and others in midweek.
We travel more than others during the week I would imagine, because we always have more midweek games to play than most teams.
Similar to Leeside last season.

Backpass, you seem to have some chip on your shoulder from some years back.
Build a bridge and get over it.
In the meantime feel free to post some FACTS on this site.

You don't seem too concerned that Park have to travel further than Coachford next Tuesday night when they visit Leeside for the 6pm kick off.

Empty vessels make the most sound it seems :)

thebooboys
31/03/2011, 10:22 AM
To be fair the journey from mitchelstown to little island isn't as severe as some are making out either. Half an hour, plus the toll. We had to travel to park last year Midweek and got the 3 points. And the reason kinsale had to play wilton and leeside as last games of year was because the aul intentionally scheduled those games to be league deciders. I don't think there's a conspiracy to "look after" any teams despite the way the fixtures are falling. As someone said previously contact the ref + opposition beforehand to defer game by 15 mins if needs be.

sharpshooter
31/03/2011, 1:22 PM
PREDICTIONS
Premier League
Park Utd v Macroom ,away win
Knockavilla v Blarney St Ath,away win
Coachford v Grattan Utd,home win
Leeside v Ballyvolane,home win
AOH Cup
Springfield A v Wilton Utd A away win
Kilreen Celtic v Kinsale A,away win
Premier A League
Bohemians v Pearse Celtic,home win
Blackstone Rovers v Castleview,home win
Village Utd vGlenthorn Celtic,draw
Killumney Utd v Leeds,home win

Inswinger
31/03/2011, 1:48 PM
[QUOTE=Shilts;1471752]

You don't seem too concerned that Park have to travel further than Coachford next Tuesday night when they visit Leeside for the 6pm kick off.

I can tell you for a FACT Shilts that the road from Mitchelstown to Little Island is a lot better than the one from Coachford to Kinsale. Small matter of a motorway and a dual carriageway!!

Shilts
31/03/2011, 3:12 PM
[QUOTE=Inswinger;1471876I can tell you for a FACT Shilts that the road from Mitchelstown to Little Island is a lot better than the one from Coachford to Kinsale. Small matter of a motorway and a dual carriageway!![/QUOTE]

Can't argue with those facts!!!
I'll be travelling from the city, so I'll be under a bit of pressure also next Tuesday.
Be safe on the road inswinger, and we'll have a good game of ball when you get down, as usual!

Glenbuck
31/03/2011, 3:44 PM
'Big win for Village, which brings Castleview and maybe one or two more back into the relegation battle.'

Ye Horse looks like we may be lookin at a relegation battle. Struggling lately, a big clear out by management of deadwood. Had to sign a registration form this week and ended up playing yesterday. Just aswell, rolled back the years with a last minute equaliser against Greenwood. Must mention Patsy Freyne what an exhibition he gave yesterday, privilege to play with him again. Horse watched the 9 Castleview men play ye last week as my under 9s were playing at same time. They were lucky to field a team. Have to mention the behaviour of a few of your players. I know from speaking to some Committee members after the game they were disgusted. Was watching the game as one or two of your players after scoring stuck up their fingers and used language to our players and committee. Talk about kicking a dog when its down. At 5-0 same guys were shouting lets get another 5. Silly boys, remember the wheel always turns.
I had to play this week with another few of the old guard and we'll be ok I hope. 2 all with league leaders isn't bad, you can't beat experience.
Did I hear there is a question mark hanging over Patsys eligiblity to play.

six-yard-box
31/03/2011, 9:14 PM
Did I hear there is a question mark hanging over Patsys eligiblity to play.

from what i hear patsy was signed weeks ago and its another player there looking into. on the fixtures surely most games will be re-arranged by clubs to 615 kick offs.

casilles
01/04/2011, 11:37 AM
PREDICTIONS
Premier League
Park Utd v Macroom , Draw
Knockavilla v Blarney St Ath, away win
Coachford v Grattan Utd, home win
Leeside v Ballyvolane, home win
AOH Cup
Springfield A v Wilton Utd A, Home win
Kilreen Celtic v Kinsale A,Shocker of the week here maybe gonna go for the free scoring Kilreen here!!!
Premier A League
Bohemians v Pearse Celtic ,home win
Blackstone Rovers v Castleview, home win
Village Utd vGlenthorn Celtic, Home

Southsider
01/04/2011, 5:23 PM
Watched Kinsale last week in the Mossie thought they were well worth the win....On AOH QF tho i think if Alan Greaney of Kilreen can play like we all know he can he can bag a few goals against Kinsale. Also Wayne (Pooh) Dunlea formerly of Ballyphehane Celtic and last season Casement Celtic Senior team is back the past few games to tighten up the back four so they'll be hard to break down id go as far as saying he's the best Centre Back in the AUL...........Shock of the week i reckon...

sharpshooter
02/04/2011, 5:50 PM
PARK 0 VS MACROOM 2.

great result for us today away from home.started off bright enough not many chances till one of our lads was taken down inside the box,keeper drived the wrong way ball in off the post lucky but will take them any day.park had way more of the ball after that but we defended very well to go in one nil up at the break.2nd half park started the better and were very unlucky not to score our keeper made some great saves and our defence was unreal best we ave defended all year delighted cause we have let in alot of goals.cought them out on the break to kill the game with 3mins to go from snaz...excellent performance from every one....next two games at home hopefully its the start of a good run to push us up the table...

Inswinger
02/04/2011, 6:51 PM
Coachford 6 Grattan 0

Good result for us despite missing a few players got the ball down and played well were well worth the 6 goals which were shared around. Alan Molloy, Conor O Neill, Michael O Sullivan, Steven Murphy and Stevie "Chip" Murray with two. Again have to commend Grattan on their sporting manner, showed real class throughout in a difficult situation.I sincerly hope they come straight back up next year and i have no doubt that they will re-group and win the Premier A next season.

Great results for both Macroom and Blarney Street away, makes the relegation battle very interesting. On the centre half topic southsider, we are in my opinion very fortunate to have Ciaran Lucey in our ranks, a serious player who would be very comfortable playing at a higher level. Pace, power and an eye for a goal its just my opinion but he's as good as anyone in the Aul i have seen in that position.

skippy7
02/04/2011, 6:59 PM
Kinsale 3 Kilreen 0 was at the game today first half was end to end and could have been 2 or 3 all at half time,Kinsale dominated the second half got 3 goals and could have had another few

scaffa7
02/04/2011, 7:43 PM
Bohemians 0-1 Pearse

Another defeat today in the windy fairfield today on a bad run at the moment infairness to Pearse they they defended well and probably desrved it.
Missing 4 key players through a suspension and 3 out due to injury but no excuses.Goal came in the 1st half after a mistake between myself and the goalkeeper thought he had the ball he thought i had it and the weak curling shot crept in off the post.
Wind had a big impact on the 1st half Pearse wer pushin all the time but we defended well and did well to keep it at 1 nil.
2nd half we had the wind behind our backs pushed all the way had a few half chances but Pearse defended it well and wer comfortable enough tryin to catch us on the break all the time and came close once or twice.Disapointed with our performance today and will have to pick it up on Tuesday night when we face Killumney in what could be a make or break for promotion in our season this year

junglegym
03/04/2011, 9:59 AM
Coachford 0 - 4 Millstreet

No doubt Millstreet are a class Div. 2 side and this result puts them into the driving seat now. A poor headed back-pass left their centre forward in one on one which he converted with ease for the first. A corner which passed around 14 bodies before it fell to another Millstreet player at the back post. And he also finished off in style. 2-0 at half time and we had to push on . Third goal came when our boys were caught high up the field, their player ran on to a ball over the top and cooly despatched over the head of the on-rushing keeper. 4th was an another error on our behalf when their winger went around our full back far too easily, he then slotted a ball across the six yard box which was easily dispatched by a Millstreet substitute who was just on the field.
Another dissapointing result but we just have to keep going and hope Leeview dont pick up any more points. We are struggling to score goals and will need a lot of luck to stay in the Division.
3 away games left starting with Macroom Thurs. night. Huge Derby Game now. Spotted a couple of scouts from Macroom out aswell yesterday. No doubt on this performance they weren't overly worried. :p

junglegym
03/04/2011, 7:16 PM
:ball: The draw for the AOH Cup semi Finals are as follows

Killumney Utd v Wilton Utd A / Carrigtwohill Utd A

Kinsale A v Leeside A.

1st Legs to be played weekend 23rd / 24 th April.

2nd Legs to be played 30th / 1st May.

sharpshooter
03/04/2011, 7:36 PM
two interesting semi finals you would expect wilton to beat carrigtwohill to face killumney and then leeside kinsale couldnt predict them two games i think...i think two legs are a joke is well one off game is a way better..

the owl
03/04/2011, 11:28 PM
Should never expect anything in a one off cup game sharpshooter.........

Legohead
04/04/2011, 6:09 AM
Watched Kinsale last week in the Mossie thought they were well worth the win....On AOH QF tho i think if Alan Greaney of Kilreen can play like we all know he can he can bag a few goals against Kinsale. Also Wayne (Pooh) Dunlea formerly of Ballyphehane Celtic and last season Casement Celtic Senior team is back the past few games to tighten up the back four so they'll be hard to break down id go as far as saying he's the best Centre Back in the AUL...........Shock of the week i reckon...

good call must say!!

Inswinger
04/04/2011, 9:35 AM
Murphy's Irish Stout Premier League
Pld W D L GF GA Pts
Leeside 11 9 2 0 30 10 29
Coachford 11 6 3 2 29 14 21
Wilton Utd 9 6 1 2 25 10 19
Blarney St Ath 11 6 1 4 21 13 19
Macroom 12 5 0 7 30 27 15
Kinsale 4 4 0 0 10 2 12
Knockavilla Cel 13 2 4 7 19 35 10
Park Utd 9 2 3 4 15 17 9
Ballyvolane 10 3 0 7 21 27 9
Grattan Utd 12 1 0 11 11 56 3

Premier A
Greenwood 15 10 2 3 32 15 32
Pearse Cel 16 9 0 7 35 30 27
Bohemians 14 8 2 4 25 19 26
Blackstone Rvrs 15 6 3 6 27 24 21
Kanturk 15 6 2 7 32 31 20
Killumney Utd 8 6 0 2 22 10 18
Castleview 15 5 3 7 23 38 18
Leeds 13 4 3 6 28 32 15
Village Utd 12 3 2 7 22 30 11
Glenthorn Cel 13 2 1 10 21 38 7

Looking at today's tables, the Premier A promotion race looks like Greenwood have it in their own hands to get promoted and Killumney even with all those games to play look like favourites with Boh's losing to Pearse certainly not helping their cause. Glenthorn beating Village have given themselves a chance and Castleview beating Blackstone was a big result effectively ending Blackstone's chances of going up.

In the Premier, Grattan look like they could be joined by one from Knockavilla, Ballyvolane and Park although do nt think Park will be down there at the end. Any opinions on who's to go, big defeat for Ballyvolane this week end whats their camp like at the moment. The express train in Little Island motors on, huge game for Leeside next week against Kinsale, win that and its hard to see them being caught.

padjoe
04/04/2011, 10:14 AM
First weekend back refereeing in nine months on Saturday and Sunday.

First game was a Division 5 Men's all ages with unlimited rolling subs. Handled it quite well for first game back. Some might say i let a lot go, I say I let the game run. It was a very physical game but alot was 50/50 and honest challenges. One player questioned the physicality of the game and I said I had control, if I felt it would boil over I was in position to handle it.

I spoke to the players prior to the game, informed them that I was Irish, they might struggle to understand me, but ask me to repeat at any time. Told them if they had any questions to direct them through their captain and I would listen. Said I welcomed all opinions after the game. Had only three key issues to deal. During a kick out I approached a player and asked him to keep his hands down, he asked me to book him. I said i wasn't wasting a booking on him.

There was two shouts for a penalty. First one was a strong claim but there was no gusto behind the shout. Players chasing the ball to the end line inside the 18 yard box, one player from my view, I was 10 metres inside the half and directly behind it. i saw the attacking player run directly across the defender and they tangled. From the angle I had I could see run change and make the decision of no penalty but if I had been at a different angle I would missed the change of direction of the attacker and would've prob given the penalty.

The second shout, my positioning wasn't exceptional. My vision of the ball wasn't clear but going on instinct I judged the player to have thrown himself down under the tackle. Again the appeals were half hearted so that was clarification i got the right call.

I was meant to be assessed so referee association could rank me to their system. My assessor went home at half time.

On the subject of rolling subs, I see the value of it, players are fitter, stronger but I am not in favour of it. Too hard to manage. Its meant to be three same rolling players out of five without agreement.

An hour into the game with the intense heat was tough. If you asked me which team was which or to point which direction a line ball was to go I would've struggled due to dehydration and lack of fitness. Didn't have that problem Sunday I was filled to the brim with water.

Second game was a women's game, division one. Very high standard. I thought it was going to be a disaster both teams togged out in red. Bohs/Shels respectively. The goalkeepers had green and yellow kits. In my bag, I had a black, a yellow and a green jersey. So everyone clashed somewhere. In the end, I had to tog out in my Evening Echo sponsored Cork branch grey kit.

Neither team would accept responsibility for changing kits so I played the game. The clashes mattered little in the end. Biggest stats from the game was eight foul throws and a keeper who dropped the ball and picked up again to "restart her six seconds". I had no choice but to blow to correct her and award an indirect free kick.

The women's game was technically better than the previous game and I wonder if there are rules on women's nails that sit alongside with rings and chains. One player got a bad scrawl across the face from a trailing hand.

The card count for the weekend is 0, the brawl count for the weekend is 0.

On a side note, the teams send in their own team sheets. There is no cash exchange at the games instead the teams are billed in May for April's games and i get a lump sum in June which is really good.

Over here we are not locked to one league, we referee all grades and all levels except what would be MSL level.

This weekend I am nervous. I am refereeing and verbally punching above my weight. I am refereeing the equivilant of AUL Premier Division and its no exaggeration to say it is on par with Leeside v Kinsale. I have volunteered to referee a smaller level game in the morning before it as a pre test and to warm up.

Three games this weekend. Schools game in the morning, the big one Saturday afternoon and on Sunday refereeing Division one of the Asian League, which will be fun with a Cork accent.

One referee at the weekend here, abandoned his game after 27 minutes due to abuse from the home team. Captain called him a ****ing cheat so not sure if it was the referee or the teams, I not sure but he got fair stick at the meeting tonight for calling it off.

Dixie's Cousin
04/04/2011, 2:06 PM
Trouble just wondering seeing as you have so much interest in bohs if you feel the addition of Littleman to your management team has had a positive or negative effect on the teams performance ?

sharpshooter
04/04/2011, 2:06 PM
Should never expect anything in a one off cup game sharpshooter.........

no disrespect ment owl just think wilton will be too strong..

Innishvilla
04/04/2011, 3:16 PM
HI all, Just a short note with an observation I've made recently. Firstly I'd like to make clear this comment is not aimed at Douglas Hall or any of their teams - it is just I live near their grounds so call up to watch the odd game while trying to get the little guy to go for his nap...

I've watched quite a few games (mostly underage games) and I am shocked that in almost all the games I've seen when the final whistle went both teams walked away from each other to their respective dugouts - no handshakes nothing - yes an odd player or two (sometimes). No "queue" of players to shake the referee's hand - what has happened??? And it is definitely both teams (i.e. not just the home side so I'm only mentioning Douglas Hall as that's where I see most games) By the time the away team does whatever (grab gear I guess) and comes back across the pitch the home side are typically gone as well.

I may not have got on with everyone I played against and I've had my fair few rows on the pitch, but it would never have left me to not shake hands with as many opposition players as possible and if the home side mentions a local bar for grub or just to consider supporting unless I was very pressed I'd always make the effort.

I trained an underage team before and if I saw them walking off without shaking hands with opposition and ref - I'd blow a fuse in the dressing room with them. Now I know you'll always get the odd player in the odd match where they storm off, but both teams...

Am I missing something here do both sides meet up to secretly shake hands in the dressing-rooms?

Seperate note - All the best to Innishvilla in their Saxone cup final against Churchvilla this weekend and also in their push for the clubs first league title (achieved promotion a few times but always as league runners up). 5 games left 10 points guarantees title.

scaffa7
04/04/2011, 4:56 PM
Trouble just wondering seeing as you have so much interest in bohs if you feel the addition of Littleman to your management team has had a positive or negative effect on the teams performance ?

Dixie as being Bohs player i might be able to help ya with that question Gavin came in a couple of weeks ago and has had a very positive effect on the team mainly on the training side of things but has helped on the pitch with tactics aswell on a bad run at the moment due to injuries and suspensions but we ll come good again hopefully tomorrow night against Killumney