View Full Version : Cork AUL 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49

The 'View
22/02/2011, 2:33 AM
Looking at the fixtures some teams have left the AUL have to look into moving the league to a summer league. It's makes sense!

Never a fan of summer football always preferred playing in the rain but the amount of games called off in the last few years is ridiculious. Very hard to get a run going. Usually the more successful teams end up getting punished at the end of the season with lots of games together. It defineitly needs to be looked at or at least discussed at a delegate meeting.

Shilts
22/02/2011, 10:02 AM
I think summer football is the way to go.
Super surfaces to play on - encouraging a better brand of football.
No games called off.
Teams could opt to play on a thursday or friday night - leaving the weekends free.
The league could shut down for 3 weeks mid summer for holidays.
Definitely worth investigating.

We must have had 10 wasted weekends already this season - there has to be a better way.
:ball:

pass&move
22/02/2011, 11:40 AM
I think summer football is the way to go.
Super surfaces to play on - encouraging a better brand of football.
No games called off.
Teams could opt to play on a thursday or friday night - leaving the weekends free.
The league could shut down for 3 weeks mid summer for holidays.
Definitely worth investigating.

We must have had 10 wasted weekends already this season - there has to be a better way.

I think you may be right Shints , although any team that have hopes of a good run in the FAI & Munster Junior Cup's would be playing all year round. It would be hard for a team in January playing the likes of Pike or Calomel with no competitive games for weeks before.

Dixie's Cousin
22/02/2011, 12:04 PM
Pass&Move you are spot on but look at the russian teams in the champions league, I'm sure teams that play at the highest level wouldn't mind sorting out friendlies to get up to match fitness

pass&move
22/02/2011, 12:48 PM
Pass&Move you are spot on but look at the russian teams in the champions league, I'm sure teams that play at the highest level wouldn't mind sorting out friendlies to get up to match fitness

& the last time a Russian team won the Champions League was?

Dixie's Cousin
22/02/2011, 1:05 PM
& the last time a Russian team won the Champions League was?

True I suppose, but facilities will have to get better rather than have weeks and weeks without matches

Dixie's Cousin
22/02/2011, 2:44 PM
Shetland, do you suggest the manager comes from the AUL and give up his club job for the season to concentrate on the AUL team?

The 'View
22/02/2011, 2:57 PM
With regards to the AUL manager Niall. I know him personally and he is a good manager. The team were a shade unfortunate at the weekend but we must remember the AUL have only won it twice in 64 years. Not the easiest trophy to win. But I wonder did the AUL Committee open a can of worms letting a MSL manager manage the team. Is this a first?
As I said before if they were going to let a MSL manager do it then ask Billy Cronin, John Caulfield, Patsy Freyne, Phil Harrington, etc. What do ye guys think? If they were going to cross the line should they have went all the way?

pass&move
22/02/2011, 3:22 PM
As I said before if they were going to let a MSL manager do it then ask Billy Cronin, John Caulfield, Patsy Freyne, Phil Harrington, etc. What do ye guys think? If they were going to cross the line should they have went all the way?

Wasn't he the manager of Knockavilla Celtic the year they were promoted?

Shilts
22/02/2011, 3:26 PM
Sometimes our expectations of how well the Cork AUL team should do are unreasonable.

No Cork AUL team has won the FAI Junior Cup (or even been close) in living memory.
We usually win the Munster Junior Cup every 10 years or so (4 in the last 40 years).

The Cork AUL team won the Oscar Traynor Cup in 2009 for the first time in over 40 years.
This 2009 group had better players than are usually available to Cork AUL team managers.
Also, this team was extremely lucky to win the competition.

In view of the above, why do we think that we should be OT contenders EVERY year?

Tipperary have no senior league. They have teams like Clonmel Town and St. Michaels who are consistenly better than the top Cork AUL teams.
They consistently have numerous junior and amateur internationals.
We don't - not because of some anti-Cork bias, it's because over time our players have not been good enough.
And those that are good enough are usually recruited by clubs in the MSL.

I wasn't surprised to lose to Tipperary, because there are better players playing in their premier division than ours.
Ocassionally, like in last years QF we will catch them out, but usually they will beat us (in my opinion we were very lucky to beat them last year).

The manager can only do his best with what's available.
Opinions will always vary about a couple of selected players but the majority of those selected will be correct decisions.

What I'm trying to say is - Jose Mourinho himself couldn't win the Oscar Traynor Cup for the Cork AUL as often as some posters here would like.

For a position without any remuneration, there are not a lot of positives to entice quality candidates to apply for the job
-avarage players (at this level)
- unreasonable expectations from league members
- a lot of hard work for very little reward

the owl
22/02/2011, 3:29 PM
Were you at the game shetland ?, if you were you will have seen that they brought on Skilington from Blackstone but to be fair to him it was a hard game to get into. Just dont understand why they opted for the high ball when it wasnt working.

skippy7
22/02/2011, 4:32 PM
alot of reports on the aul game thats fair enough , but naming the player above is totally out of order, could you do a better job himself playing there?
Cork AUL were beaten by the better team can have no complaints really, to many posers and not enough players with a bit of spirit if you ask me, my first time watching them this season and I wasn't at all impressed.. A team needs battlers and players that will drag the team on there own if needs be, today the so called big men went hiding if you ask me, all Kearney was short was a mirror on the pitch cos all he did was look at himself all day..

You need players of old like shinkwin maybe John betts, Brian o Sullivan and maybe Colin bevan who will fight for every ball for 90minutes and always stand up and be counted.... Thought the manager was very slow to change things aswell....

So 2 years and nothing to show for it, point proven you can't manage a team or pick players the way he did and expect to be successful!!! You have to be able to travel to atleast one or 2 games every weekend to see what's available and playing well etc, this thing about clubs sending players names by e-mail was never gonna work as every club thinks they should have 3 or 4 starting on it so the standard sent out couldn't have been great!!

skippy7
22/02/2011, 4:37 PM
theres definetly alot of pluses for summer soccer they could play the fai and munster junior cup during the summer, this wont be just in cork it will be all over the country in the next few years

Dixie's Cousin
22/02/2011, 4:49 PM
Lads, let's move on from the AUL team. Niall O'Regan hasn't officially left the post as there is one more match to play. So it would be unfair to talk about who is going to succeed him.

nononsense
22/02/2011, 5:31 PM
Lads, let's move on from the AUL team. Niall O'Regan hasn't officially left the post as there is one more match to play. So it would be unfair to talk about who is going to succeed him.

What one more match have ye to play? Thought just one team came out of the group and TSDL had to win to stay in the competition.
By the way the TSDL team consisted of 7 St.Michaels players, 3 from Clonmel Town and 1 from Clonmel Celtic.

Horse24
22/02/2011, 6:03 PM
Well done to the AUL guys - a bit of luck in the first half and the game could have been different. Someone says the manager needs to watch the games to see the players in their best position. Did he not ask the club managers (the man who knows them best) to forward names of players "to be looked at"? Niall's 3 assistants see games every week, and I know for a fact players are recommended and have been called up on the basis of what they 3 guys have seen.

Were all 40 managers wrong before Minty?
Would Minty take it again?
Would the Kinsale manager travel to the city every Sunday to see games?
On a serious note, would you be a candidate Shetland, if you plan to ease back a little?

overthehill
22/02/2011, 6:50 PM
Not all rosey with summer soccer and i wouldnt be a fan myself. Shilts, ye might have a great surface but for some pitches the aul allow games on you would be as well playing on the road- clashduf rd springs to mind. Bone hard uneven surfaces lead to blisters, ankle sprains, knee problems etc. Also how many of us could tell her indoors that we have to plan our holidays in a 3 week window to suit the soccer!!! Might be a few permanent holidays after that!
A close look and better organisation of fixtures would help eg, last weekend was a complete shut down of fixtures for the premier teams, why could they not have played the oscar game under lights on a friday night, and put fixtures on sunday?
Successful teams will always have a backlog. Arsenal- looking at 6 games in 17 days, bet wolves would like to have this "problem".
Nah guys, stick with the damp and the mud - what would we do in the winter without the beautiful game..... head to Garrettstown?

shetland
22/02/2011, 7:39 PM
Were you at the game shetland ?, if you were you will have seen that they brought on Skilington from Blackstone but to be fair to him it was a hard game to get into. Just dont understand why they opted for the high ball when it wasnt working. yes i was owl and i agree skilly was brought on far to late in my oppinion.

scaffa7
22/02/2011, 7:52 PM
Not all rosey with summer soccer and i wouldnt be a fan myself. Shilts, ye might have a great surface but for some pitches the aul allow games on you would be as well playing on the road- clashduf rd springs to mind. Bone hard uneven surfaces lead to blisters, ankle sprains, knee problems etc. Also how many of us could tell her indoors that we have to plan our holidays in a 3 week window to suit the soccer!!! Might be a few permanent holidays after that!
A close look and better organisation of fixtures would help eg, last weekend was a complete shut down of fixtures for the premier teams, why could they not have played the oscar game under lights on a friday night, and put fixtures on sunday?
Successful teams will always have a backlog. Arsenal- looking at 6 games in 17 days, bet wolves would like to have this "problem".
Nah guys, stick with the damp and the mud - what would we do in the winter without the beautiful game..... head to Garrettstown?

Yep have to agree i know its a balls if you have a backlog of games at the end of the season, happened to us last year and nearly cost us the league but have to agree nothing worse than a rock hard pitch just take Greenwoods for example nothing against the team but we played on that surface and holy **** there was some bloody legs and injuries after that pitch it was like playing on concrete dangerous aswell and most pitches would be like that even our own ....cant beat a sliding tackle through the wet grass and mud!!!

The 'View
22/02/2011, 8:25 PM
Sometimes our expectations of how well the Cork AUL team should do are unreasonable.

No Cork AUL team has won the FAI Junior Cup (or even been close) in living memory.
We usually win the Munster Junior Cup every 10 years or so (4 in the last 40 years).

The Cork AUL team won the Oscar Traynor Cup in 2009 for the first time in over 40 years.
This 2009 group had better players than are usually available to Cork AUL team managers.
Also, this team was extremely lucky to win the competition.

Shilts agree with some of what you're saying. Maybe the expectations are too high but we should probably always harbour some hopes of winning. The MSL probably do take most of the good players from the AUL and the likes of Pike Rovers, Fairview, Clonmel & St.Michael's usually have a lot of Internationals.
When you say that the manager can only do his best with what he has is true but this is where the difference of opinion is. This is where the manager proves himself. I've seen some players who are very average win Senior medals. The manager sees what he has and sets up the team accordingly. The best 11 players don't always make the best team. Defineitly saw this in 2005 when Castleview won Senior league, I'm positive if it hadn't been Patsy Freyne in charge we wouldn't have won with the squad of players we had. He got the best out of a couple of very average players over the season.

With regards to the FAI and Munster Junior Cups you're right we don't do well but you're history is a little out. Teams have been close to FAI glory in living memory, I regularly chat to some guys who played in an FAI Junior Cup final. Outside of Castleview in 1962 there were 5 others in the final since then the last being Temple Utd.1987.
The Munster Junior Cup has been won 18 times in the last 50 odd years by Cork teams with many more runners up. We're not as bad as 4 in the last 40 years.

Lads must say things have got a bit bitchy lately. Think the northside clubs so close to each other should be helping each other but on this site they seem to be at each others throats- Blackstone & Ballyvolane,Blarney St. & Bohemians.

casilles
23/02/2011, 12:25 PM
I see lads a Mr Dahamsta has had to make a few too many apperances on our thread of late! Not something to be proud of. Resulting with a few bold noys getting suspended, I hope we can all move on and bring this forum back to where it was last year.

Summer Soccer
I aint no expert of the weather but the so called gurus of it have said, what we have expierenced in these last 2 years is what lies ahead for our great country. So if that is true we could look at a period of no football between December and January. What is so wrong with going along the same lines as the LoI. In my own opinion i think the FAI should look to bring all leagues under the same blanket of March to Nov. Reasons been
1 an obvious one Better Weather resulting better games to watch and maybe a few more supporters out to games
2 less lay out for clubs as the renting of astopitches/ switching on fllodlights would only be needed for around 12 weeks{feb to middle march and again mid september to end of October}
3 repairs on pitches alot easier to be done in these months
4 regularty of games
5 no postponements = no re-organisation, far better for planning
6 been a player myself, I know i much prefer to be playing in good weather than ****ing down on top of me.
I can see the replies already now " what about me 2 weeks in majorca" " the wife will be moaning about holidays" well we go the same as shutdowns{if there is any left} Most companies had a 2 weeks that we called the builders holidays and didnt people have to take there holidays then, why cant we tie into that? A liitle odea of a season plan
Kick off 3rd week March with Mossie and 1,2,3 div leagues
Mid april you introduce night games .
Break First 3 weeks of July.
return last week of July.
Finish up in late Oct.

As with all post on this i look foward to people giving there pros and cons. it is a subject that has to be looked at. The Aul is elected by us and it is us who will vote on matters at agms.

Dixie's Cousin
23/02/2011, 1:05 PM
Very well said Cas, i second that motion! Some people will want to stick to their old school ways but being old school won't pay your club's bills when you have 5 showing up for training and you are missing out on extra script!

overthehill
23/02/2011, 2:45 PM
Need to go back to the drawing board on that Cas, How do we cater for the munster and fai junior cups which start in sept/oct?. You would need all the other leagues in the country to change aswell, not to mention the oscar traynor competition. Coming back after 3 wks gargle etc would be like facing into pre-season training again. There is no way you will get everyone to go on hols for a soccer shutdown at our level. Theory is good but the practicalities dont add up.

Shilts
23/02/2011, 4:18 PM
I agree with Cas about summer soccer
It's the future
For Munster and FAI Junior Cups, something could easily be done to accomodate any league going to summer soccer.
Every game would be like Italy v Brazil 1982 :)

Thanks for the history lesson View :)
I'm glad that there are other ancients still about.
However of those teams how many are still in the AUL?
Castleview, St. Marys, Temple, Douglas Hall, Ballincollig and Passage are all in the MSL now -I'm not counting their 2nd teams.
Only Leeside remain (for the moment!!!)

casilles
23/02/2011, 4:27 PM
In my own opinion i think the FAI should look to bring all leagues under the same blanket of March to Nov..

Need to go back to the drawing board on that Cas, How do we cater for the munster and fai junior cups which start in sept/oct?. You would need all the other leagues in the country to change aswell, not to mention the oscar traynor competition. Coming back after 3 wks gargle etc would be like facing into pre-season training again. There is no way you will get everyone to go on hols for a soccer shutdown at our level. Theory is good but the practicalities dont add up.

Im looking for the entire football community in Ireland to move to summer soccer. Above in the West of Ireland and Donegal area they have made the move already. As if all move the said cups would be moved accordingly. If we were to move it would be the start of many a more with the Cork Aul been one of the biggest affilated to the Fai. Everyone taking the holidays at the same time, it doesnt happen either at the moment to be honestsodoesnt make a whole difference, been playing junior 9 years now and every year we go back pre season even start of the season fellas still are taking holidays not to mention a weekend here and there over to games, all are part and parcel of playing the game we love and been amateur, As i said earlier im looking for different peolples opinions on this so thank you Overthehill.

The 'View
23/02/2011, 7:37 PM
I agree with Cas about summer soccer
It's the future
For Munster and FAI Junior Cups, something could easily be done to accomodate any league going to summer soccer.
Every game would be like Italy v Brazil 1982 :)

Thanks for the history lesson View :)
I'm glad that there are other ancients still about.
However of those teams how many are still in the AUL?
Castleview, St. Marys, Temple, Douglas Hall, Ballincollig and Passage are all in the MSL now -I'm not counting their 2nd teams.
Only Leeside remain (for the moment!!!)

Ya shilts very good point, only a couple of teams left in the AUL now. Don't forget Greenmount ,winners in '97. I think this makes a strong case for the AUL & MSL to amalgamate to strengthen up junior football in Cork. Any opinions?

Inswinger
24/02/2011, 10:50 AM
Interesting discussion going on in the Munster Junior League forum that may enrage some posters on here!!

offside rule
24/02/2011, 10:57 AM
Springfield 1 - 5 Abbeyfeale (played on Sun 20th Feb)

Following fine victory in Dublin(vs Tolka - FAI JNR CUP), attention turned to yet another cup game for Springfield.
This time it was action in the Munster Jnr Cup vs Abbeyfeale. The scoreline is definetly a true reflection of the game(well definetly) the first half . Abbeyfeale played some nice football and we well up for this game. They scored within 1min - a superb looping shot from bout 25/30yards. Second goal more or less immediately followed with a tap in from 3yards. Things went from bad to worse then when Springfield switched off from a short corner and the Abbeyfeale, left-full picking the ball up on edge of the box before unleashing a thunderous strike in off the post/crossbar. Fourth goal was a goalkeeping error. This meant that Abbeyfeale went in at half time 4-0 up and the game was more or less dead in the water
(... potential could of been there for an Arsenal 4-4 Newcastle, but it wasnt to be).
Springfield did mange to get a goal back with a smashing strike from 30 yards before Abbeyfeale promptly replied with a great strike from edge of the box.

Game finished up 5-1 to Abeyfeale - better team on the day won it, without doubt! - great game to watch for goals, 4 wonderful strikes.
Nice to see Abbeyfeale players back at pub after the game, hopefully the grub and few pints set them up nicely for their trip home!!!

Best of luck of luck to Abbeyfeale for the rest of the competition.

(yet another cup competition this weekend, home vs BOHS in AOH cup!)

casilles
24/02/2011, 11:44 AM
Interesting discussion going on in the Munster Junior League forum that may enrage some posters on here!!

Unbelievable! cheeky ******* aint he!doesnt take long to forget where they started!!

Horse24
24/02/2011, 12:32 PM
Im looking for the entire football community in Ireland to move to summer soccer. Above in the West of Ireland and Donegal area they have made the move already. As if all move the said cups would be moved accordingly. If we were to move it would be the start of many a more with the Cork Aul been one of the biggest affilated to the Fai. Everyone taking the holidays at the same time, it doesnt happen either at the moment to be honestsodoesnt make a whole difference, been playing junior 9 years now and every year we go back pre season even start of the season fellas still are taking holidays not to mention a weekend here and there over to games, all are part and parcel of playing the game we love and been amateur, As i said earlier im looking for different peolples opinions on this so thank you Overthehill.

If only Cas.......if only........whether your argument for summer soccer is right or wrong is not the point. The teams in the second/third biggest league in the land matter nothing to the MFA, and mean even less to the FAI.

We have a fines rules that is making football dearer than it was when the players earned 5 times as much.......never once an explanation or answer. They are driving teams, players and volunteers from the game but it matters not to them

MFA put 20% on the MJC entry fee last year - no explanation, didnt matter when we said we didnt want it.

No UEFA B coaching course in Cork for 5 or 6 years I believe.........

Aviva up the excess on their Personal Accident Insurance policy by 75% - still no explanation 12 months later. Hey they paid for the stadium....they gotta get it from somewhere so let them screw the small guys!

In the week thats in it - people are promising cronyism is gone...........I dunno if it is!

The 'View
24/02/2011, 5:42 PM
Unbelievable! cheeky ******* aint he!doesnt take long to forget where they started!!

Cas wouldn't be too bothered by BUFC's comment. Thats been the attitude for years, usually its a lack of knowledge or ignorance of the AUL set up. Just get on with it and prove them wrong. Chances are you'll never change their mind anyway.
Agree with Horse about the fines and cost of running things now. I know our delegate was blue in the face from bringing up about yellow cards last year but said he got very little back up at the meetings. Horse I know Blacktone were one who did.

scaffa7
24/02/2011, 8:55 PM
Springfield v Bohs sunday morning looking forward to this should be a cracker ........Training going well again tonight Derek, Littleman and Jim really getting the team to gell now!
Littleman really starting to push us in training but already feeling the rewards in the last few weeks..........
Suffered a setback last week missing a few players they"ll be back this weekend and expecting a very tough match against a very good team who have knocked out a fair few premier teams this year and will be hoping to claim another scalp this weekend but wer up for this one so will be very hard to call this game!!.....Cant wait!!

Horse24
25/02/2011, 12:32 PM
What one more match have ye to play? Thought just one team came out of the group and TSDL had to win to stay in the competition.
By the way the TSDL team consisted of 7 St.Michaels players, 3 from Clonmel Town and 1 from Clonmel Celtic.

No Nonsense - there is a tournament between the 4 Cork representative sides and the AUL win over the MSL puts them in the final v Business League or West Cork.

Lads, would ye be interested in comparing costs for players to play with each team? Dont wanna throw ours out there if its the only one but will be first to throw it out if others will follow.

The 'View
25/02/2011, 8:08 PM
No Nonsense - there is a tournament between the 4 Cork representative sides and the AUL win over the MSL puts them in the final v Business League or West Cork.

Lads, would ye be interested in comparing costs for players to play with each team? Dont wanna throw ours out there if its the only one but will be first to throw it out if others will follow.

Sounds like a good idea Horse to compare and see what others are doing, I'm in.

Glenbuck
26/02/2011, 5:08 PM
Springfield 1 - 5 Abbeyfeale (played on Sun 20th Feb)

Following fine victory in Dublin(vs Tolka - FAI JNR CUP), attention turned to yet another cup game for Springfield.
This time it was action in the Munster Jnr Cup vs Abbeyfeale. The scoreline is definetly a true reflection of the game(well definetly) the first half . Abbeyfeale played some nice football and we well up for this game. They scored within 1min - a superb looping shot from bout 25/30yards. Second goal more or less immediately followed with a tap in from 3yards. Things went from bad to worse then when Springfield switched off from a short corner and the Abbeyfeale, left-full picking the ball up on edge of the box before unleashing a thunderous strike in off the post/crossbar. Fourth goal was a goalkeeping error. This meant that Abbeyfeale went in at half time 4-0 up and the game was more or less dead in the water
(... potential could of been there for an Arsenal 4-4 Newcastle, but it wasnt to be).
Springfield did mange to get a goal back with a smashing strike from 30 yards before Abbeyfeale promptly replied with a great strike from edge of the box.

Game finished up 5-1 to Abeyfeale - better team on the day won it, without doubt! - great game to watch for goals, 4 wonderful strikes.
Nice to see Abbeyfeale players back at pub after the game, hopefully the grub and few pints set them up nicely for their trip home!!!

Best of luck of luck to Abbeyfeale for the rest of the competition.

(yet another cup competition this weekend, home vs BOHS in AOH cup!)
I hope the celebrations coming back from Dublin did not cause problems for ye against Abbeyfeale.

Glenbuck
26/02/2011, 5:10 PM
I dont think he is involved with that club as much as he would imagine he is. Sure God help us....

offside rule
26/02/2011, 7:48 PM
I hope the celebrations coming back from Dublin did not cause problems for ye against Abbeyfeale.

Hardly, seen as we came back from Dublin on the Saturday of the game, and played Abbeyfeale the following Sunday(a full week later). The better team(by a mile) played better football and won on the day, simple as! :confused:

Glenbuck
26/02/2011, 8:26 PM
Hardly, seen as we came back from Dublin on the Saturday of the game, and played Abbeyfeale the following Sunday(a full week later). The better team(by a mile) played better football and won on the day, simple as! :confused:
Heard ye were a bit thin at the back. Hope ye are back to full strength for tomorrow.

offside rule
26/02/2011, 10:15 PM
Jeez, u seem to have a fierce interest in wats happenin below in Cobh, Glenbuck. Is there not enough teams in your area (Northside-as your location says).
Or is that you have info from someone inside our camp!!! . . . ''a bit thin at the back''. Yeah we had to re-shuffle in defence vs Abbeyfeale due to injuries and work commitments, maybe about 3 changes. - but cant see how this would have anything to do with your previous comment . . . ''I hope the celebrations coming back from Dublin did not cause problems''.

Thanks for your concern . . . ''Hope ye are back to full strength for tomorrow.'' - Should be near enogh to full strength tomorrow though I think!

The 'View
26/02/2011, 10:40 PM
Glenbuck you seem to have the inside track with everyone.:o But from reading other threads you seem a bit touchy about comments about Rockmount.:)

Onefootednopace
26/02/2011, 10:45 PM
A.U.L. 2A result.

Killowen 1 Millstreet Celtic 2

Millstreet left it late but got the 3 points and probably deserved to get the win as they dominated for long periods of the game. We were slow out of the blocks and paid the price as we went behind early on from a situation that could have been easily prevented. We only got going in the final 20 minutes of the first half and got the equaliser just before the interval courtesy of a sweetly struck free kick from the edge of the area. We missed a great opportunity to take the lead early in the 2nd half and aside from a few long range efforts that was as good as it got for us. Millstreet took over and we were camped in our own half for long periods. They hit the bar, had shots blocked in the goalmouth and forced our keeper into action far too often. We survived the onslaught until the 89th minute when they cut us open down the middle and worked the ball into the area before scoring with a neat finish from close range. A bad blow for us but we have to learn from our mistakes. Should be an interesting battle ahead between Rylane, Millstreet and Crescent for the title in 2A.

The 'View
26/02/2011, 11:05 PM
Great result for us today beat Kanturk 2-1. Were 2 nil up when they scored with about 30 mins left. Had a man sent off 5 mins later but managed to hang on.

Glenbuck
27/02/2011, 10:58 AM
Jeez, u seem to have a fierce interest in wats happenin below in Cobh, Glenbuck. Is there not enough teams in your area (Northside-as your location says).
Or is that you have info from someone inside our camp!!! . . . ''a bit thin at the back''. Yeah we had to re-shuffle in defence vs Abbeyfeale due to injuries and work commitments, maybe about 3 changes. - but cant see how this would have anything to do with your previous comment . . . ''I hope the celebrations coming back from Dublin did not cause problems''.

Thanks for your concern . . . ''Hope ye are back to full strength for tomorrow.'' - Should be near enogh to full strength tomorrow though I think!
Ah listen I take a genuine interest in all things Cork football. 2 teams playing in a cow field and I could be there. Passion for the game if you like. Best of luck for the remainder of the Fai jnr cup.

Glenbuck
27/02/2011, 11:05 AM
Glenbuck you seem to have the inside track with everyone.:o But from reading other threads you seem a bit touchy about comments about Rockmount.:)
As I have said View I have a genuine interest in all Cork football, the players,the clubs and very important those involved in running those said clubs. Its just a huge passion of mine. Good contacts and friends involved all over City and County. Including your own club. Where would we be without friends in football. And where would we be without the passion for our clubs. Look at Seanny O Leary, Pat Cummins, Rodney Power, John McGrath and Martin "Nipper" Meehan in your own constituency. Top men who would never take a step back in defending their own.

scaffa7
27/02/2011, 12:36 PM
Springfield v Bohemians called off

Glenbuck
28/02/2011, 10:40 AM
Result from FAI Junior Cup
Killester 1 Ballynanty 2. Winners home to Springers. Springers now flying the Cork flag. Best of luck boys.

sharpshooter
28/02/2011, 12:14 PM
alright lads back after a little holiday:D...

BLARNEY ST 4 VS MACROOM 1
another shocking display of defending from us 10 goals in two games we are after leaving in dunno what is up with us.they were the better team by a mile to be fair had a few chances alright but the keeper made some great saves...2 down after about ten minutes i think....not good enough 3-0 going into half time...they got a 4th about 15mins in to the 2nd half...really need to improve dont ave the match report but im sure cas will...trip down to kinsale this weekend another very hard task have to be on top form or else we could be in trouble..

donaldihno
28/02/2011, 12:40 PM
Ye have good young team view!

When did ye sign micheal blake back!Definaly one of best strikers in aul!

How come he doesnt play with 1st team????

Inswinger
28/02/2011, 2:34 PM
Park 1 Coachford 1

A game that could have gone either way i guess, we went one up around the hour mark through Gary Murphy ( 4 in 3 for him now) and they equalised with an own goal 5 mins from time. We both missed decent chances, we had a few one on ones again as usual. At the end then ref blew for offside on us, when everyone could see our player was on. In fairness he acknowleged his mistake afterwards which was good to see. We all make mistakes on the pitch so hopefully over the season it ll even out. Good result though as few teams will go there and get something, good physical side who will not be sitting where they are for long, expect them to fly up the table in the coming weeks.

A full fixture list for the premier next week, must be the first in the season!!

Premier League- Saturday
Coachford v Ballyvolane, The Glebe, J.Thompson
Kinsale v Macroom, Madden Pk, D.O’Mahony
Grattan Utd v Park Utd, O’Neill Pk, P.Murphy
Blarney St Ath v Wilton Utd, Monard, Paul O’Sullivan

Sunday
Leeside v Knockavilla Celtic, Little Island, D.O’Mahony

Glenbuck
28/02/2011, 2:48 PM
Refs bringing out Nude Calender for Jack and Jill foundation for 2012. Interesting to see who will be on each month. Any ideas ??