View Full Version : Cork AUL 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49

Innishvilla
16/02/2011, 2:13 PM
Folks just saw this posting (http://www.corkaul.com/2011/02/anyone-with-pitch-to-share.html) on the A.U.L. website. While wishing the best of luck to those involved, I was wondering is it a good time to start up a club given the present economic climate in addition to the rise in emigration? Hopefully those involved will get a squad together, locate a base, secure sponsorship and ideally establish the club in the A.U.L. But as it stands, established clubs are finding it hard at the moment trying to cope with a decrease in income and in some cases a shortage of players.
Anyone got any views on this?

I'm inclined to agree - I would wish them all the best but even well established clubs are counting every penny at the moment and definitely sponsorship is not as freely available as it was 2/3 years ago...

Dixie's Cousin
16/02/2011, 2:38 PM
Any predictions for sunday lads?

Beany Boy
16/02/2011, 5:09 PM
Didnt realise any of us were professionals
well this obviously shows your lack of professionalism boo boy.. you must be either a close contact to the man in question or a regular customer of his..

goal-achio
16/02/2011, 5:27 PM
fianna fail for one more term!!!!!

sharpshooter
16/02/2011, 5:32 PM
any predictions for sunday lads?

aul win!!!!

skippy7
16/02/2011, 9:29 PM
ya alot of teams suffering from emigration as well,ar ye happy with your start to the season?
no we dont really suffer cause of the gaa thank god just the one plays gaa on our team and he his out for the season with his groin...lost 2 to oz two weeks ago.two injured for a few weeks...the others just didnt show went on the beer..no excuse tho every club has to deal with it...

super_mario
16/02/2011, 9:57 PM
Could this be true Casilles? Just heard from someone who seemed sure that David Cronin yer keeper is after jacking in football altogether??? Big shock if it's true!!!!

See lads it's all downhill when you leave the mighty Bohemians :-)...

sharpshooter
16/02/2011, 10:23 PM
ya alot of teams suffering from emigration as well,ar ye happy with your start to the season?

not really no,not in any of the cups so not happy with that...if we stay were we are ill be happy.long way to go yet...who you with yourself..

thebooboys
16/02/2011, 10:30 PM
Forget the FF'ers and the FG'ers.
This guys the way to go.
Support an AUL player in the election.
www.padraigosullivan.com (http://www.padraigosullivan.com)

skippy7
16/02/2011, 10:49 PM
ya id say you would be happy with 4th in your first season in the premier league,sometimes the fai and munster junior can effect teams league form and cause it to dip especially when the backlog of matches start in april,i get around to alot of premier league matches but have an interest in kinsale

The 'View
16/02/2011, 10:58 PM
Folks just saw this posting (http://www.corkaul.com/2011/02/anyone-with-pitch-to-share.html) on the A.U.L. website. While wishing the best of luck to those involved, I was wondering is it a good time to start up a club given the present economic climate in addition to the rise in emigration? Hopefully those involved will get a squad together, locate a base, secure sponsorship and ideally establish the club in the A.U.L. But as it stands, established clubs are finding it hard at the moment trying to cope with a decrease in income and in some cases a shortage of players.
Anyone got any views on this?

Hopefully this team gets up and running. From reading the post they already have 15 players so thats half the battle. Think they should talk to some of the established clubs for advice. Personally I think that clubs should share knowledge and experience with each other to help the soccer family grow. I remember a few years back being present when Castleview Committee members were offering advice to a certain poster here, some of you call him a legend, but he knew it all and there was nothing they could tell him. In the end his development took twice as long and now he's no longer with the club.
I can think of at least 2 pitches available from the Council costing approx 20 or 30 euro per year. About 300 for public liabiltiy insurance and 300 for registration fees. Charge 20 euro membership and the 15 players would cover these. Have a 90 min draw at 1 euro a ticket. Each player takes 6 tickets and he plays for free if he sells them. 1st prize 40 euro, the club keeps 50. With regards to gear I'd advise them to contact any of the large clubs and guarantee they'd get a set of jerseys. Try Heatons for cheap nicks and socks. Being involved with a club almost 60 years old I can remeber some clubs starting a while back and wondering would they survive. Some of you posters are now on here posting about you're now vibrant clubs. We all had to start somewhere, best of luck to Curaheen FC.
P.S. Ola come back

Dixie's Cousin
17/02/2011, 10:36 AM
Hopefully this team gets up and running. From reading the post they already have 15 players so thats half the battle. Think they should talk to some of the established clubs for advice. Personally I think that clubs should share knowledge and experience with each other to help the soccer family grow. I remember a few years back being present when Castleview Committee members were offering advice to a certain poster here, some of you call him a legend, but he knew it all and there was nothing they could tell him. In the end his development took twice as long and now he's no longer with the club.
I can think of at least 2 pitches available from the Council costing approx 20 or 30 euro per year. About 300 for public liabiltiy insurance and 300 for registration fees. Charge 20 euro membership and the 15 players would cover these. Have a 90 min draw at 1 euro a ticket. Each player takes 6 tickets and he plays for free if he sells them. 1st prize 40 euro, the club keeps 50. With regards to gear I'd advise them to contact any of the large clubs and guarantee they'd get a set of jerseys. Try Heatons for cheap nicks and socks. Being involved with a club almost 60 years old I can remeber some clubs starting a while back and wondering would they survive. Some of you posters are now on here posting about you're now vibrant clubs. We all had to start somewhere, best of luck to Curaheen FC.
P.S. Ola come back

I also would like to wish Curraheen FC all the best and they should be talking to the BIG clubs in the city as nobody wants to see a club fall apart. View you do seem to know what you are talking about!

pacman
17/02/2011, 11:35 AM
This guys the way to go.
A friend of mine heard him speak at a residents association meeting in Glanmire recently and was very impressed by him.

Lets be honest he could hardly be worse than whats out there

Dixie's Cousin
17/02/2011, 11:43 AM
Good Luck Casilles and Sharpshooter sunday, hoping to make it out to watch!

Onefootednopace
17/02/2011, 11:45 AM
P.S. Ola come back

The 'view, great post on the subject. That's a great idea about getting help from more established clubs as regards getting started and putting procedures in place to keep the club going. Hopefully the lads at Curraheen will seek advice and go from strength to strength but I hope they realise it won't be easy. I'm involved with a small club (Killowen) and it can be hard to keep the show on the road but we are lucky that the committee and players pull together as regards fundraising and endeavouring to improving things on and off the pitch.

six-yard-box
17/02/2011, 12:08 PM
Could this be true Casilles? Just heard from someone who seemed sure that David Cronin yer keeper is after jacking in football altogether??? Big shock if it's true!!!!

See lads it's all downhill when you leave the mighty Bohemians :-)... surely there's no truth to that. Unless he's some type of cantona character. The lad is one of the top keepers in cork. Good luck to the lads on Sunday hope they get the job done.

sharpshooter
17/02/2011, 2:40 PM
ya id say you would be happy with 4th in your first season in the premier league,sometimes the fai and munster junior can effect teams league form and cause it to dip especially when the backlog of matches start in april,i get around to alot of premier league matches but have an interest in kinsale

ya be delighted with that said at the start top 5/6.wouldnt b bad for the 1st year.you'd still like to b in the cups tho to good cup run is good help us last year is well...kisale are going well 3 in 3 in the league no goals conceded..

Glenbuck
17/02/2011, 4:36 PM
This guys the way to go.
As if we are all not sick of politicians it finds its way on to a football forum as well !!!!

I also would like to wish Curraheen FC all the best and they should be talking to the BIG clubs in the city as nobody wants to see a club fall apart. View you do seem to know what you are talking about!
One good fundraiser ( Table Quiz ) could set them up for the maiden season. Best of luck to them in their endeavours.

skippy7
17/02/2011, 4:51 PM
ya thats a gud start in the league but v early days and theres a cup final coming up soon as well,aul team have a tough match at the wekend do ye only need a draw?

good to see littleman back!i think it was a case of... just when i thought i was out they pull me back in....

Dixie's Cousin
17/02/2011, 4:55 PM
As if we are all not sick of politicians it finds its way on to a football forum as well !!!!

Lads, i think we should all agree right now, No talk about the election or politics!!!

Onefootednopace
17/02/2011, 5:54 PM
Best of luck on Sunday to the Cork A.U.L. including all involved who post on here.

Lads, i think we should all agree right now, No talk about the election or politics!!!

I second that motion :ball:

overthehill
17/02/2011, 8:50 PM
Motion Carried - on the first count!!!!

thebooboys
18/02/2011, 12:37 AM
Ah in fairness if an AUL player's running in the election I'll give him an occasional mention, I dont think its that too big a deal.
AUL could use a friend in Dail or Council in future, no harm.
Come on Paidi Sull

Shilts
18/02/2011, 11:53 AM
Best of luck to the Cork AUL team on sunday.
Tipperary are always strong and will be difficult to beat.
Although I think a draw will put us through to the next round.

Best of luck to Curraheen in their new adventure.
Any group that has a passion for the game should be encouraged.

However, how does this fit in with the Cork AUL five year plan?
Under this plan clubs were being encouraged to join up and pool resources for the common good???
Have any clubs amalgamated during this time???

Curraheen say that they have 15 players ready to roll.
Are these players already playing with other clubs or are they new to football?
Would this group be better off joining an existing club as the second or third team?

Everybody should be entitled to form their own club and good luck to them.
But are our limited resources being diluted with too many clubs???

I'm no expert, and certainly don't know the answers - just throwing it out for discussion. :ball:

scaffa7
18/02/2011, 3:15 PM
Cant see much games getting the go a head tomorrow if the rain persists lads its been shocking the last few hours.......... any news on ye"re pitch Dolandino will it hold up do ya think??

casilles
18/02/2011, 4:30 PM
Any predictions for sunday lads?

Cork Aul win!!!

See lads it's all downhill when you leave the mighty Bohemians :-)...

Lads on the Crowe situation , he picked up a knock last week on his knee, same knee thats after 2 operations so a little disrespectful to the player in question and our club to suggest that he has just packed it in. Plus from one of his ex clubmen you should know better than most that all aint as it seems. Very dissapointed with that post Mario cause you dont deserve super after that

skippy7
18/02/2011, 6:39 PM
dont think many games will go ahead this week,im not really a fan of the starting the season in march and going through the summer but i do think that this will be brought in accross the board in junior soccer in the next few years,

donaldihno
18/02/2011, 7:13 PM
Alright scaffa!

Ya should go ahead,manager rang there saying all is good for tomorrow!
Our pitch seems to hold up alot of the time during the rain

skippy7
19/02/2011, 9:55 AM
I was looking at the AUL squad theres definitely a few names I would have in the squad that are not there but that just my opinion. Best of luck to the AUL team tomorrow hope they get the win.

donaldihno
19/02/2011, 4:28 PM
Kanturk 2 bohs 0

Great win for us today in a game of few chances!
Got the first after about 30minutes through johny lynch who cant stop scoring at the moment!
Got the second in the last minute when bohs were down to 10 men!
Thats 5 unbeaten now with 4 wins,hitting abit of form now,maybe abit too late,but ya never know!

Best of luck to the cork aul tomorrow!

scaffa7
19/02/2011, 4:37 PM
Kanturk 2 bohs 0

Great win for us today in a game of few chances!
Got the first after about 30minutes through johny lynch who cant stop scoring at the moment!
Got the second in the last minute when bohs were down to 10 men!
Thats 5 unbeaten now with 4 wins,hitting abit of form now,maybe abit too late,but ya never know!

Best of luck to the cork aul tomorrow!

Ya cant say much ye took your chances well enough missing 4 first teamers, 3 away on a stag in Prague and top goalscorer Deccie Gostal out with his groin but no excuses big enough squad to deal with the situation Kanturk deserved it in the end...... sending off killed us in the last 20 mins thought we might snatch a draw but deserved to go 2 bookings
So well done to Kanturk finshed with ye now for the rest of the season hope ye keep playing like that for the remainder of the league will be hard to take points off ye down there Donaldino!!

The 'View
19/02/2011, 9:16 PM
Lads on the Crowe situation , he picked up a knock last week on his knee, same knee thats after 2 operations so a little disrespectful to the player in question and our club to suggest that he has just packed it in. Plus from one of his ex clubmen you should know better than most that all aint as it seems. Very dissapointed with that post Mario cause you dont deserve super after that[/QUOTE]

Cas think your're getting excited here. Mario just asked a question, never said any of it was true. Can't make out how you feel he was disrespectful. His comment at the end was just for fun.

casilles
20/02/2011, 8:32 AM
View, Mario knows Dave as good as anyone , and he knows other factors are influencing his decisions. Its not anything thats should be or will be continued to be talked about on this. It was a dig at Dave and our club. It is stuff like this that has resulted in some users of this thread deceiding to pack it in. If you look back in previous years this site was used for posting results and helping teams/posters with information., it has gone way downhill in the last 6 months.

scaffa7
20/02/2011, 12:51 PM
Cas cant see it being a dig at your club i think Mario was on bit of a wind up thats all he knows Dave too so dont get to excited about it ;]

shetland
20/02/2011, 9:15 PM
felt i had to post on a once off basis cork aul 0 tippeary dL 2.think my previous posts were proven to be spot on.failed to qualify from group and too much hype made of the win v munster junior league. two years in charge and no improvement .found out big time today.

super_mario
21/02/2011, 12:05 AM
Cork AUL were beaten by the better team can have no complaints really, to many posers and not enough players with a bit of spirit if you ask me, my first time watching them this season and I wasn't at all impressed.. A team needs battlers and players that will drag the team on there own if needs be, today the so called big men went hiding if you ask me, all Kearney was short was a mirror on the pitch cos all he did was look at himself all day..

You need players of old like shinkwin maybe John betts, Brian o Sullivan and maybe Colin bevan who will fight for every ball for 90minutes and always stand up and be counted.... Thought the manager was very slow to change things aswell....

So 2 years and nothing to show for it, point proven you can't manage a team or pick players the way he did and expect to be successful!!! You have to be able to travel to atleast one or 2 games every weekend to see what's available and playing well etc, this thing about clubs sending players names by e-mail was never gonna work as every club thinks they should have 3 or 4 starting on it so the standard sent out couldn't have been great!!

Innishvilla
21/02/2011, 8:34 AM
Hold on please everyone - Let's take a step back. The way this forum is going I think I might follow the wee man and others and hang up my keyboard...

Let's clarify somthing here folks. Cork AUL won the OT cup 2 years back after how many years of failing in the cup? It is a lottery of a competition. The year they won it I'm sure the team and all involved will tell you there were 3 or 4 games they played that could have gone either way.

This year they beat the MSL team - the team never claimed to be world beaters but they beat what was put in front of them. Over the weekend they lost to Tipp. What does it prove - nothing. It is pretty much a knock out cup and the AUL got knocked out.

To many people are using this forum to have digs at people. There are too many posters on here who believe in black and white - please remember there is also other bloody colours in the rainbow...

RANT OVER...

I think I'll sign off now and probably won't return to this forum until the various snipers and nasty comments stop (and this rant is not due to sharpshooters comments - it has been building up all season).

Dixie's Cousin
21/02/2011, 8:50 AM
Innisvilla is right lads, if ye want to take swipes at each other go off and start your own forum. Let's get back to basics please lads and let's just post info, results and happy thoughts. Most of us play football or are involved in football to get away from things, then people come on here to shots at each other.

Now back to the league and cups for most of us here and may everybody have a good season!!!

the owl
21/02/2011, 10:20 AM
Was at the AUL game and to be fair sharpshooter was spot on. Cork should have been out of sight at half time only for a great display from the tipp keeper. Didnt think Cork played as good in the 2nd half and the front two were starved of possesion because of the ball coming in over their heads. It was 2 mistakes that cost cork the match as i dont remember tipp ever troubling the keeper besides them 2 efforts. Tipp closed up shop after that. Kearney prob had a day he would like to forget but other than his mistake he did ok. For me Delea should have been in the middle from the start.

shetland
21/02/2011, 10:29 AM
Innisvilla is right lads, if ye want to take swipes at each other go off and start your own forum. Let's get back to basics please lads and let's just post info, results and happy thoughts. Most of us play football or are involved in football to get away from things, then people come on here to shots at each other.

Now back to the league and cups for most of us here and may everybody have a good season!!!dixie this forum is about oppinions and every one has theirs.i said all year and last as well that the aul oscar team was just not good enough.the wrong choice was made in the manager first day and in the two years in charge the team has gone backwards.supermario went a lot further than i did in his comments.

Dixie's Cousin
21/02/2011, 10:49 AM
Hi shetland, i know you were only voicing an opinion but it seems to be dig after dig from newer members. Yourself as a member since Aug 2009 should be setting an example! Looking back on posts it seems to be who can get the upper hand on each other all the time and it seems to be getting more childish every week. I know we are all against each other in the league but tarnishing names on this doesn't give you an advantage on the pitch.

Let's all move on from the pettiness and get back to talking about football and not individuals, because I'm sick off it and obviously others are too!!!

shetland
21/02/2011, 10:54 AM
Was at the AUL game and to be fair sharpshooter was spot on. Cork should have been out of sight at half time only for a great display from the tipp keeper. Didnt think Cork played as good in the 2nd half and the front two were starved of possesion because of the ball coming in over their heads. It was 2 mistakes that cost cork the match as i dont remember tipp ever troubling the keeper besides them 2 efforts. Tipp closed up shop after that. Kearney prob had a day he would like to forget but other than his mistake he did ok. For me Delea should have been in the middle from the start.
owl i agree with you re delea .but having played in a lot of big games yourself you know that its about takeing your chances when they are presented to ya.mistakes will always happen .we have been involved in games that you dominate and loose to a mistake.tipp were well organised and were playing away from home too.they shut up shop and got result they needed.would you agree that manager was very slow to make changes,to me after second goal a target man was needed .as the forwards were geeting bad service.

Bobby D
21/02/2011, 11:03 AM
Hi lads i play with Carrick Utd were away to Kinsale on Saturday in Munster jnr cup, how are they going this year, we bet them 2 nil a few years ago in the FAI in a very good game of ball in Kinsale. And i heard they have a new set up, is in the same place or have they moved?

shetland
21/02/2011, 11:13 AM
dixie did not single out anybody to have a dig off in my post.i said the choice of manager was wrong from day one and it would come back to haunt them.managers of oscar teams must be at games to see what players are like and the positions they play in with their clubs.e mails from clubs isnt good enough.when msl juniors were beaten by aul a certain ammount of cockyness crept in.this was a decent tip side and even though they might not win it ,they will go a long way.

Dixie's Cousin
21/02/2011, 11:23 AM
Shetland are you trying to tell me you have never took a swipe at anybody? Who do you suggest takes the job?

junglegym
21/02/2011, 12:23 PM
Hi lads i play with Carrick Utd were away to Kinsale on Saturday in Munster jnr cup, how are they going this year, we bet them 2 nil a few years ago in the FAI in a very good game of ball in Kinsale. And i heard they have a new set up, is in the same place or have they moved?

Hello Bobby D,
We have a couple of Kinsale posters on this site but I'm sure they will be keeping their cards close to their chest. Kinsale are probably the best team that we have in the AUL. They have a fantastic set up and will no doubt put it up to ye Sat. Should be a cracker of a game and I would encourage anyone that is free on Saturday , Make your way to Kinsale, Hope it's sunny and if so Bring the sun tan lotion. ;)

Bobby D
21/02/2011, 12:35 PM
Hello Bobby D,
We have a couple of Kinsale posters on this site but I'm sure they will be keeping their cards close to their chest. Kinsale are probably the best team that we have in the AUL. They have a fantastic set up and will no doubt put it up to ye Sat. Should be a cracker of a game and I would encourage anyone that is free on Saturday , Make your way to Kinsale, Hope it's sunny and if so Bring the sun tan lotion. ;)

Good man Thanks, ya i'm looking forward to it were going well ourselves, still unbeaten in all comps and we seem to travel very well so should be a good game. i played the last match down there and was a real battle against them, so i'm sure this game will be no different..

shetland
21/02/2011, 1:43 PM
Shetland are you trying to tell me you have never took a swipe at anybody? Who do you suggest takes the job?no dixie im not ola and i have had our differences on here but he shoots from the hip as i do,but my post on yesterdays aul result was an oppinion ive had for past two years,personally id like to see richard minty fitzgerald take it again or even kinsales manager. both are proven winners

21/02/2011, 1:43 PM
Any more bickering and in-fighting in this thread and I'm binning it.

A replacement will NOT be allowed if that happens.

Dixie's Cousin
21/02/2011, 1:52 PM
Looking at the fixtures some teams have left the AUL have to look into moving the league to a summer league. It's makes sense!