View Full Version : Player eligibility row

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 [37] 38

03/10/2010, 7:25 PM
Get out for that one.
:o

03/10/2010, 7:26 PM
Since this thread began I have come to the understanding that when FIFA refer to association territory they are not referring to the the area of jurisdiction for the association. The eligibility of Bruce in 2006 confirms this interpretation. Even if the Channel Islands are under the English FA, they do not reside inside the territory of the English FA.
Hmm, yeah I see your point. I was using the Bruce example to show national selection relies on more than just geography but I see it can be argued the other way too.

It seems a bit silly that FIFA would allow a loophole like that (Pitman doesn't appear to have any connection to Wales) but I guess like anything else they'd probably take the path of least resistance.

I wonder why the channel islands dont have a fifa recognised team? Surely they have as much claim as the faroe islands for example.
The islands individually would be too small - as far as I know, the only international footballers they've produced are Le Saux and Le Tissier, and Le Saux went to school in England. They're pretty protective of their sovereignty so they're probably reluctant to join together for a sports team like the Faroes.

03/10/2010, 8:41 PM
An Irish friend of mine played for the Channel Islands in the World Island Games. Just thought I'd throw that in.

The Fly
03/10/2010, 8:45 PM
FFS, if anyone wants to pursue this fascination with the channel islands further - Bergerac is repeated daily on the 'Alibi' channel!

Here's a taster to get your mouth watering.....:rolleyes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1y5E63jGT2I

The Fly
03/10/2010, 9:31 PM
Secondly, in an effort to get the thread back on track, (though I appreciate that may not be wholly well received ;)), the IFA must be applauded for one act, namely, prohibiting the appearance of this 'harmless' little banner at future Northern Ireland internationals.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs319.snc4/41267_144402188913989_116194255068116_284203_39536 85_n.jpg

Predator
03/10/2010, 9:55 PM
Whoever came up with that banner must be a genius. Bet they're raging they can't show off their wit.

03/10/2010, 10:50 PM
haha that's pretty good actually

Hand of Prod was funnier though.

03/10/2010, 11:14 PM
Is that a green UJ, cast off in a heap?

In general I'd agree, these Nordie kids who support the Republic should never forget who owns them.

Gather round
04/10/2010, 7:13 AM
At least the team would play for (the) Jersey

No need to be Sarky.

04/10/2010, 7:20 AM
Is that the most amount of jokes ever told about the channel islands?

04/10/2010, 8:26 AM
Secondly, in an effort to get the thread back on track, (though I appreciate that may not be wholly well received ;)), the IFA must be applauded for one act, namely, prohibiting the appearance of this 'harmless' little banner at future Northern Ireland internationals.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs319.snc4/41267_144402188913989_116194255068116_284203_39536 85_n.jpg

Hadn't heard that. I suspected it wouldn't survive a campaign -but fair play to the IFA for getting in on the ground floor on that. It'll likely make it's way to away games anyway but that's just bigger chiropractor bills for the bigger eejit who hauls it there.

Predator
04/10/2010, 10:21 AM
In general I'd agree, these Nordie kids who support the Republic should never forget who owns them.Well, this is it, isn't it?

Gather round
04/10/2010, 10:46 AM
The islands individually would be too small - as far as I know, the only international footballers they've produced are Le Saux and Le Tissier

Trevor Wood- from Jersey, one cap for NI in 1995.

Hadn't heard that. I suspected it wouldn't survive a campaign -but fair play to the IFA for getting in on the ground floor on that. It'll likely make it's way to away games anyway but that's just bigger chiropractor bills for the bigger eejit who hauls it there

So it will survive the campaign then? Probably joined by others in similar vein, I expect ;)

04/10/2010, 11:54 AM
...I thought it fairly obvious I meant "at Windsor" as there's relatively little the IFA can do about what's brought into grounds elsewhere. Either way, as I've pointed out elsewhere it's in pretty poor taste. But by all means -fly the thing where they'll let ye, go nuts, it's only ye it reflects badly upon.

Gather round
04/10/2010, 12:12 PM
...I thought it fairly obvious I meant "at Windsor" as there's relatively little the IFA can do about what's brought into grounds elsewhere. Either way, as I've pointed out elsewhere it's in pretty poor taste. But by all means -fly the thing where they'll let ye, go nuts, it's only ye it reflects badly upon.

Of course, but as its purpose is mainly to get on TV and irritate RoI fans, it doesn't really matter whether it shows home or away.

As I've pointed out on this and similar threads, the reaction to the FAI picking Northern players (by both IFA and fans) looks hysterical, even vindictive. That said, the banner's just a gag, neither racist nor particularly tasteless. You're overreacting- and little point getting too upset, I reckon this may become the norm.

boovidge
04/10/2010, 12:28 PM
It clearly is tasteless because of its child molestation "double entendre". I'm not offended or even bothered about it though.

Back on topic (channel islands). Ireland "B" international Daryl Clare was born in Jersey according to wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daryl_Clare

04/10/2010, 12:49 PM
As I've pointed out on this and similar threads, the reaction to the FAI picking Northern players (by both IFA and fans) looks hysterical, even vindictive. That said, the banner's just a gag, neither racist nor particularly tasteless. You're overreacting- and little point getting too upset, I reckon this may become the norm. I'd scarcely say I'm over-reacting. I just said it was in poor taste and I stand by that. I'd not bother getting too offended by it or anything -as you point out it's not racist (though I never alluded it was), it's a gag ...a kiddy-fiddler gag, and a 20' x 2' kiddy fiddler gag at that. I'd suggest raising yeer standard but I'd be affeared ye might just get another well dodgy banner done up. ;-)

04/10/2010, 12:52 PM
Trevor Wood- from Jersey, one cap for NI in 1995.

Legend...

Gather round
04/10/2010, 1:03 PM
as you point out it's not racist (though I never alluded it was), it's a gag ...a kiddy-fiddler gag, and a 20' x 2' kiddy fiddler gag at that. I'd suggest raising yeer standard but I'd be affeared ye might just get another well dodgy banner done up. ;-)

I believe the IFA said it was racist. But what do you expect from them, eh?

youngirish
04/10/2010, 1:17 PM

I actually find it quite funny. Don't see anything in it that's even remotely offensive.

04/10/2010, 1:33 PM
Of course, but as its purpose is mainly to get on TV and irritate RoI fans, it doesn't really matter whether it shows home or away. There's some evidence it's not reaching its target demographic -unless my reaction is to be considered a result.

haha that's pretty good actually

Hand of Prod was funnier though.

I actually find it quite funny. Don't see anything in it that's even remotely offensive.

Really? Them IFA lads do come up with some bewildering rationale from time to time they really do.

Gather round
04/10/2010, 2:27 PM
There's some evidence it's not reaching its target demographic -unless my reaction is to be considered a result

Some people on the thread are irritated , some aren't. The IFA are, therefore it's a story in the local media. Which, in its small way, is a 'result'. They have certainly over-reacted even if you haven't, just the latest in a long line of misjudgements and admin inefficiency (for anyone still awake, they still haven't replied to my letter from the weekend of the CAS judgement asking them to justify going to law and how they planned to resolve the issue in future).

04/10/2010, 2:42 PM
??
The issue has been resolved and CAS have confirmed it.

Gather round
04/10/2010, 3:01 PM
??
The issue has been resolved and CAS have confirmed it

The issue of the IFA's dealings with the FAI generally, and specifically what they do next time the FAI select a player with numerous NI U-21 or U-19 caps. I mean, if they simply intend to do nothing, they could have told us that back in August.

04/10/2010, 4:00 PM
It's the player who choses to offer himself for selection to the FAI.
What do you want the IFA to do, make a futile assertion of their ownership (croppies lie down)?
interfere with the kid's decision? :)

The FAI are not going to step back from the basic right of Irish people to play for what they regard as their representative team.
Nor did they ever renege on that right :)

Gather round
04/10/2010, 4:40 PM
It's the player who choses to offer himself for selection to the FAI. What do you want the IFA to do, make a futile assertion of their ownership (croppies lie down)? interfere with the kid's decision? :)

The FAI are not going to step back from the basic right of Irish people to play for what they regard as their representative team. Nor did they ever renege on that right :)

I want the IFA to keep gently pressing the FAI not to pick any players who've already played for NI teams as an adult. As I think you know.

What's with the Croppies Lie Down thing? Is it folkies night in the Akureyri Irish bar?

04/10/2010, 4:59 PM
Does everything have to be spelled out for you?
Croppy lie down - It's a reference to ownership 'our kids'

I thought you were wondering/expecting on how the IFA "planned to resolve the issue in future"
The issue has been resolved.
Re a separate issue on how do the IFA respond from here on in -
you offer "I want the IFA to keep gently pressing the FAI not to pick any players who've already played for NI teams as an adult"
Considering that the IFA have been raising hissy fits for years and the FAI have stood firm - I doubt gentle pressing will make any impression.
The IFA do not even understand the question.

04/10/2010, 5:10 PM
Why would anybody voluntarily decide not to pick players who've represented other countries at U19/21 level? The rule was specifically brought in to help small nations like ours.

Gather round
04/10/2010, 5:11 PM
Don't be like that, G. I know what Croppies lies down means- the worst sort of cliched, self-pitying mopery. It's obviously irrelevant to anything I've said, so why bring it up?

I'm less negative than you about the possibility of a small compromise in the IFA's favor. Which is all it is- doesn't stop anyone from playing for the team of their choice.

Sure, the IFA are pretty hapless at present. I'm confident that will change for the better soon.

Gather round
04/10/2010, 5:18 PM
Why would anybody voluntarily decide not to pick players who've represented other countries at U19/21 level? The rule was specifically brought in to help small nations like ours.

Not so. It was brought in to ensure votes from Francophone countries in West Africa (many of which, like Algeria, are only small in the sense of being less good at football than the European country where most of their emigrants go).

I've answered this repeatedly above. It's broadly worth the FAI's while to have good working relationship with IFA. In case they need support to stage a showpiece final or tournament, say. Or just in case we'rew drawn to play in future competition. Or at the most trivial level, to avoid banner warfare at games?

04/10/2010, 5:32 PM
Don't be like that, G. I know what Croppies lies down means- the worst sort of cliched, self-pitying mopery. It's obviously irrelevant to anything I've said, so why bring it up?
It was a reference to keep your hands off OUR kids - nothing you wrote.

Gather round
04/10/2010, 5:36 PM
It was a reference to keep your hands off OUR kids - nothing you wrote.

Ah, right. It must have been that it was in direct response to what I wrote that threw me.

co. down green
04/10/2010, 5:38 PM
The IFA don't seem to have any issues in selecting players who have represented other countries, perhaps they will send a letter to the Canadian Soccer Association apologising for selecting their u17 international Caolan Lavery last week.

Perhaps the CSA will seek a compromise from the IFA over future player selection?

Sounds ridiculous, does it not?

04/10/2010, 5:46 PM
Not so. It was brought in to ensure votes from Francophone countries in West Africa (many of which, like Algeria, are only small in the sense of being less good at football than the European country where most of their emigrants go).

I've answered this repeatedly above. It's broadly worth the FAI's while to have good working relationship with IFA. In case they need support to stage a showpiece final or tournament, say. Or just in case we'rew drawn to play in future competition. Or at the most trivial level, to avoid banner warfare at games?
Votes schmotes. The principle is sound.

It's difficult to see what the FAI could gain from this voluntary concession. We have, at worst, a symbiotic relationship with the IFA which, for all the huff and puff, hasn't affect the NI football establishment enough to miss out on this Celtic Cup money-making opportunity.

04/10/2010, 7:28 PM
It's broadly worth the FAI's while to have good working relationship with IFA. In case they need support to stage a showpiece final Like the one they're hosting in May 2011?

Gather round
04/10/2010, 7:59 PM

Gather round
04/10/2010, 8:13 PM
Sounds ridiculous, does it not?

Not necessarily ridiculous, just unlikely. NI are more disadvantaged by the current FIFA rules than Canada, the RoI or almost anyone else. It's just circumstance, largely as a result of the way the border was drawn. But because of that disadvantage you can expect us to a) be cheesed off and b) hopefully try to keep all our players through to competitive senior games. By 'our' all I mean is guys who've played for our adult teams as adults, ie over 18.

As I said I think in direct answer to you up-thread, I don't want to the NI side to be bulked out by English players, as in the past. Not because I hate or don't understand the disapora, before Ardee Bhoy comes back on thread; I just think it makes international football look a bit daft. If I wanted to watch a team of Englishmen, I'd support England.

So yes, I don't think we should be capping that Canadian kid.

It's difficult to see what the FAI could gain from this voluntary concession. We have, at worst, a symbiotic relationship with the IFA which, for all the huff and puff, hasn't affect the NI football establishment enough to miss out on this Celtic Cup money-making opportunity

It's quite easy to see, and I've explained it repeatedly. Of course I don't expect it necessarily to happen next Tuesday, nor you personally to agree with it, but you can't please everyone.

Like the one they're hosting in May 2011?

Aye. I'm assuming you're hoping it'll be the first of many?

04/10/2010, 8:19 PM
It's quite easy to see, and I've explained it repeatedly. Of course I don't expect it necessarily to happen next Tuesday, nor you personally to agree with it, but you can't please everyone.
It's actually quite difficult to see why the FAI would do something that's to their obvious disadvantage and which they haven't shown any inclination to do thusfar, especially as their conduct to date has had no negative effects and has coincide with a stronger relationship between the two associations.

I just don't understand what you think the IFA's bargaining position is.

04/10/2010, 8:23 PM
Beggarly,
of course.

05/10/2010, 7:38 AM

Lest we forget the IFA took the FAI to court on a founding of lies and deception. Even if there existed an incentive for the FAI to compromise with the IFA, do you think the FAI would be willing to place any weight of trust in agreements made with the IFA? After all this is an association that conveniently forgets previous agreements made with the FAI and invents its own to suit its needs .....

co. down green
08/10/2010, 12:30 AM
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs319.snc4/41267_144402188913989_116194255068116_284203_39536 85_n.jpg[/QUOTE]

Canada supporters don't seem very happy about the IFA selecting Canadian U17 international Caolan Lavery into their u19 squad

http://img193.imageshack.us/img193/4972/tfcfans1.jpg

boovidge
08/10/2010, 10:27 AM
according to this (http://www.albertalocalnews.com/reddeeradvocate/sports/Lavery_playing_for_Canada.html) he has an Irish passport...

gastric
08/10/2010, 10:23 PM
Let's take him, just for the fun of it!

Scooby Doo
09/10/2010, 7:35 PM
Considering the regularity with which this thread is blown off topic/weaved incomprehensivly into total drivel, I won't feel guilty if this post isn't in keeping with the original spirit of the thread.
Note a comment by Nigel Worthington, RE: Tuesday's game v Brian Kerr's Faroe Islands, in today's Irish Times.

Soccer: Northern Ireland manager Nigel Worthington wants his side to build on their impressive start to the Euro 2012 qualifying campaign when they meet the Faroe Islands on Tuesday.
A goalless draw against former world champions Italy at Windsor Park increased the feel-good factor in the camp following the victory over Slovenia last month, but with former Republic of Ireland boss Brian Kerr managing the Faroes, Worthington expects a tough, if familiar, test.
"I see this game as a bigger one than playing Italy,” said Worthington. “Why? They have a British manager (sic), who knows the British game and knows our players. So we have got to go and do a job.

He really is quite a dislikable little chap, isn't he 'Worthy'. :rolleyes:
Not that I would become overly worried about niggly little comments from his like. Just shows him up as a bit of a weasel/WUM.

seanfhear
09/10/2010, 7:59 PM
Considering the regularity with which this thread is blown off topic/weaved incomprehensivly into total drivel, I won't feel guilty if this post isn't in keeping with the original spirit of the thread.
Note a comment by Nigel Worthington, RE: Tuesday's game v Brian Kerr's Faroe Islands, in today's Irish Times.

Soccer: Northern Ireland manager Nigel Worthington wants his side to build on their impressive start to the Euro 2012 qualifying campaign when they meet the Faroe Islands on Tuesday.
A goalless draw against former world champions Italy at Windsor Park increased the feel-good factor in the camp following the victory over Slovenia last month, but with former Republic of Ireland boss Brian Kerr managing the Faroes, Worthington expects a tough, if familiar, test.
"I see this game as a bigger one than playing Italy,” said Worthington. “Why? They have a British manager (sic), who knows the British game and knows our players. So we have got to go and do a job.

Not that I would become overly worried about niggly little comments from his like. Just shows him up as a bit of a weasel/WUM.
Hopefully Brian Kerr will give them an even bigger test than they expect.

Ireland expects Brian !

09/10/2010, 8:05 PM

I agree with The Nige. I always found it distasteful during the Kerr era when Brian would go out of his way to sing God Save the Queen during the anthems.

09/10/2010, 11:58 PM
I agree with The Nige. I always found it distasteful during the Kerr era when Brian would go out of his way to sing God Save the Queen during the anthems.
and as for admitting he used to follow Rangers!!

gastric
10/10/2010, 1:43 AM

And many wonder why we had the CAS Case and they claim Canadian kids! They have no ideas about borders, double standards or international agreements.

11/10/2010, 3:41 PM
He also thinks the Faroes are in Britain. And they call us irridentist...

“People are saying it is done and dusted. I have been in the game far too long to know that is not the case. We have a job to do. We have just to see three points and go for it. The Faroes will work hard and close you down. It is a British mentality.”

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2010/1011/1224280856106.html

11/10/2010, 4:07 PM
In fairness, the ROI plays a british type of game.

When did Kerr go out of his way to sing GSTQ?