View Full Version : John O'Shea

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

hoops1
16/11/2006, 1:17 PM
[QUOTE=Jerry The Saint;575979]I was saying Boo urns.

:D :D :D

They booed Barnes playing for England years ago and then voted him in the
best Engalnd eleven of all time before the world cup so I wouldnt get too
upset for him.

Soko
16/11/2006, 1:17 PM
I was saying Boo urns.

After he had his legendary shot (last of the famous Lansdowne international memories?) lots of people started shouting "SHOOT!" every time he got the ball. Think some people thought this was booing and joined in enthusiastically:eek:

People in the West Stand were shouting shoot after his pathetic effort

I did stick my finger up at him at the end though when he was trying to lap up the applause

Dricky
16/11/2006, 1:31 PM
O'Shea seems to play even worse the poorer the opposition, that is a skill in itself

youngirish
16/11/2006, 1:37 PM
I do feel a bit sorry for him but he should do the decent thing if he's any sort of fan of the Irish team and retire and stop holding us back.

casso36
16/11/2006, 1:37 PM
The only reason he's on the pitch at all, is because of his height>

He's ****ing rubbish, and needs a good kick up the ******!!!! (excuse language) but he's a waste of space, as well as he plays for the scum!!:D :D

as_i_say
16/11/2006, 2:07 PM
didnt hear any booing myself-i was in the west upper and i have to say i wouldnt boo any of our players even if they are as utterly sh ite as oshea. i mean he doesnt pick himself so its up to the manager to make a call and drop him completely.

we have cover in his position and anyway this "cover" is better than him. Stephen kelly has shown more desire and has played better than him. Oshea should be absolute bottom of the pecking order until he sorts himself out.

would stan have picked him had carr been fit??? i shudder to think-he probably would have dropped andy reid for oshea.

Closed Account 2
16/11/2006, 2:30 PM
I was saying Boo urns.

Hahahahaa classic... Actually laughed out loud at that... Forget post of the month, this is a contender for post of the year !!!

16/11/2006, 2:30 PM
I didn't hear any booing either, plenty of groaning though.

16/11/2006, 2:36 PM
Think he had a decent game against the Czech Republic at centre half. I too fell sorry for the guy, he has been played everywhere for club and country and hasn't managed to master any of the positions. He should concentrate on behing a CH.

16/11/2006, 2:40 PM
I do feel a bit sorry for him but he should do the decent thing if he's any sort of fan of the Irish team and retire and stop holding us back.

not his fault people keep picking him , I'm useless and unfit but if Stan called me up to replace Robbie Keane upfront I wouldnt turn him down!

Metrostars
16/11/2006, 2:43 PM
Think he had a decent game against the Czech Republic at centre half. I too fell sorry for the guy, he has been played everywhere for club and country and hasn't managed to master any of the positions. He should concentrate on behing a CH.

But it's hard for him to concentrate being and center-half when his managers play him at right back, left back, midfield and then once in a while at center-half. What is he supposed to do? Say to Sir Alex or Stan "ah, no Boss, not midfield again, would you mind putting me in at center half instead of Rio/Dunne"?

I do believe that he is far too much maligned though.

16/11/2006, 2:54 PM
He was getting some dog's abuse from a few people sitting near me. We all groaned as another pass went astray but some of the abuse was pretty bad and included this "joke" by a guy at the top of his voice.

"O'Shea has been going with the same girl since they were 16. They both met in Rehab".

The trouble with O'Shea, apart from the fact that he isn't very good, is that his laguid style makes him look as if he doesn't care. I think he does but just isn't up to it as a full back or midfielder. Central defender or nothing.

Soko
16/11/2006, 2:58 PM
I'll never feel sorry for a pampered profesional footballer earing more in a week than many do in a year, especially if they consistently turn in absolute ****e for their country. We'd be better off if he stayed in Manchester. Or Stan could drop him..... jesus wept, that clown would never have the brains for that

Young Hov
16/11/2006, 3:38 PM
I was saying Boo urns.

Nearly fell of the seat laughing.
Absolute legend

16/11/2006, 3:49 PM
I had to google that to find out what this Boo-urns thing meant. :)

onenilgameover
16/11/2006, 3:53 PM
he totally got booed...he made two errors one after the other and people just had enough...it wasnt defening or anything and I think people realized that they were wrong to do it and it didnt take off.....

Sniffer
16/11/2006, 4:05 PM
Wouldn't ever boo one of our players, unless he plainly was't trying. I do feel sorry for O'Shea, his confidence is shot. I had hoped that playing against the worst opposition I have seen at Landsdowne would enable him to have a good game, build his confidence, get fans behind him etc. Instead his performance was so constrained and nervy, that he wouldn't have looked out of place on the San Marino bench. He really is a footballer at the crossroads of his career.

youngirish
16/11/2006, 4:41 PM
I really think Stan should put O'Shea (and more importantly us) out of his misery and drop him from the squad. Everyone in Ireland knows the lad isn't up to it so why can't that ginger toss*r see the obvious and make the required decision. Kerr had the same problem but at this stage it's just gone past a joke.

It's starting to get ugly now with the boos and the boo-urns from Hans Moleman so it's time Stan woke up and smelled the sh*te.

as_i_say
16/11/2006, 5:04 PM
He was getting some dog's abuse from a few people sitting near me. We all groaned as another pass went astray but some of the abuse was pretty bad and included this "joke" by a guy at the top of his voice.

"O'Shea has been going with the same girl since they were 16. They both met in Rehab".

Was he sporting a celtic jersey by any chance?

16/11/2006, 5:23 PM
Was in the south terrace and only heard him getting booed once, the first time he touched the ball after his misrable attempt at goal.

Soko
16/11/2006, 5:25 PM
For the last time people were screaming "SHOOT"

republicofwhite
16/11/2006, 5:40 PM
Its probably not that harsh, he has been consistently well below par for his country for far too long, and was particularly atrocious last night, I honestly cant recall a more frustrating player in the green. He should be at least fourth in the pecking order behind Joey O'Brien, Stephen Carr and Stephen Kelly, who deserves a bit more credit after his excellent performance against the Czechs. A lot better than O'Shea has ever managed. For some reason, I'm not surprised that Stan singled him out for particular praise after the match. Vintage performance at this stage from "the gaffer"

16/11/2006, 6:03 PM
I did stick my finger up at him at the end though when he was trying to lap up the applause

well done. hope youre proud of that. were you that fat clown that held the game by running onto the pitch by any chance?

as shown by the great support given by the fans against the chech rep its far more productive to support than moan, groan and grumble at the players. the way most people here go on about the players it seems they would be only happy if shay given took to the field on his own.... oh yes, with a few great eircom lge players thrown in also:rolleyes: if he was playing for any other club than man utd he wouldnt get half the abuse he gets. he had a very solid game at CB against the chechs

carloz
16/11/2006, 6:14 PM
I was booing him anyway. His last two performances in Nicosia should have seen him dropped yet he is still there and the guy never seems to give close to 100%. Such potential but it wont be realised. Still dunno which is wore to have though, him or Carr playing full back!!!! How long will Joey O'Brien be out for???

16/11/2006, 7:03 PM
How long will Joey O'Brien be out for???
First of all, please don't boo our own players for just being poor. You might think he's not giving 100% but of course he is trying his best. He just has no confidence as he knows what the fans think of him. Anyway, O'Brien is expected back within the next 2 weeks.

Beavis
16/11/2006, 7:09 PM
well done. hope youre proud of that

Was just bout to say the same thing myself. Did it make you feel all good inside?:rolleyes:

The booing is uncomprehendable.I have never seen any player on an irish team go out and purposely play badly. I'm losing my faith in the irish footballing public with every incident of such.

Soko
16/11/2006, 10:28 PM
well done. hope youre proud of that. were you that fat clown that held the game by running onto the pitch by any chance?

as shown by the great support given by the fans against the chech rep its far more productive to support than moan, groan and grumble at the players. the way most people here go on about the players it seems they would be only happy if shay given took to the field on his own.... oh yes, with a few great eircom lge players thrown in also:rolleyes: if he was playing for any other club than man utd he wouldnt get half the abuse he gets. he had a very solid game at CB against the chechs

He epitomises everything I hate about modern day footballers and he can go **** himself if he thinks that rubbish, half arsed effort is good enough. The fact that he plays for Man Utd does actually have something to do with it, he seems to think he's actually related to a footballer. I couldn't give a toss if he played for Wayside Celtic, he's a loafer who puts in zero effort and is a huge fault of the team.

Despite his solid performance agaisnt the "chechs" at "CB" (do you even watch the games) he still sauntered back from half way leaving McShane all alone with Koller to equalise. I wouldn't have him in a pub league team, fraudster barely breaks a sweat and can't wait to get back to England. We should leave him there from now

depor
17/11/2006, 12:27 AM
ya have to agree, he was shocking the other night. and soko is right about the czech game as o'shea turned his back on the player to allow him play koller in for the equaliser.:rolleyes:

youngirish
17/11/2006, 9:02 AM
ya have to agree, he was shocking the other night. and soko is right about the czech game as o'shea turned his back on the player to allow him play koller in for the equaliser.:rolleyes:

Too true. His laziness cost us the 3 points and any hopes of qualification went with them. He ruined an otherwise good performance (perhaps his only one in an Ireland jersey) but was still overshadowed by McShane.

No matter what anyone says he has been one of the main reasons why we have failed to qualify for the last three campaigns (I'm including this one) if you look at his individual mistakes and what they've cost us in matches compared to other players. He also doesn't do anything productive to make up for these mistakes so he's a liability all round. I remember he gave that silly peno away against Israel for no reason when we were coasting to victory in that group. After that it was all downhill.

He was also shocking against the Swiss away in the previous European qualification and was at fault for the goals. Another qualification f**ked up.

I can't remember any other player being as consistently bad for Ireland. I can understand the booing. He's a donkey.

nedder
17/11/2006, 9:49 AM
Too true. His laziness cost us the 3 points and any hopes of qualification went with them. He ruined an otherwise good performance (perhaps his only one in an Ireland jersey) but was still overshadowed by McShane.

No matter what anyone says he has been one of the main reasons why we have failed to qualify for the last three campaigns (I'm including this one) if you look at his individual mistakes and what they've cost us in matches compared to other players. He also doesn't do anything productive to make up for these mistakes so he's a liability all round. I remember he gave that silly peno away against Israel for no reason when we were coasting to victory in that group. After that it was all downhill.

He was also shocking against the Swiss away in the previous European qualification and was at fault for the goals. Another qualification f**ked up.

I can't remember any other player being as consistently bad for Ireland. I can understand the booing. He's a donkey.

While you are at it, you may put him down for starting the iraq war as well. And maybe he's the cause of global warming.....

17/11/2006, 10:04 AM
Of course he's a bad player, every non-Man Utd supporting Irish person would agree with that. It's ridiculous to say he deserves to be booed though. It's also ridiculous to think he's not trying his best for Ireland. There'd be nothing more satisfying to John than putting in a man of the match performance and having papers raving about him the following morning. He can hardly wipe the smile of his face for hours after he scores.

He's just a player hugely affected by confidence and has very little aggression to make him bully players and stamp his authority on games. If I was beside someone booing O'Shea I certainly wouldn't let them be.

17/11/2006, 10:15 AM
No doubt there was clearly audible booing of O'Shea at least once on the TV. Can't agree with booing any Irish player though. It must be really demoralising for the whole team to hear a crowd just waiting to get on their back.

Eire06
17/11/2006, 10:34 AM
It is a disgrace Booing your own countries players. :(
How is a player supposed to perform to his best with a few eejets booing him ruining his self confidence..
I don't think O'Shea is as bad as everyone is making it out, as it was said earlier in this thread he wouldn't get half as much stick if he didn't play Man United!
Its like everyone is blaming only him for Irelands poor performance lately, but there's 10 other players on that pitch and a useless manager who are just as equally to blame...
It's Staunton who picks him for the squad so if you're not happy with him starting go to Stan and blame him..

Stay at home if you aren't happy with him, but don't boo at matches it ruins it for the majority of fans and players :mad:

Collyontour
17/11/2006, 11:55 AM
I don't think O'Shea is as bad as everyone is making it out, as it was said earlier in this thread he wouldn't get half as much stick if he didn't play Man United!

I was in the South Terrace and everyone was shouting 'Shoot' when he got the ball. I couldn't hear anyone booing. Granted, in Cyprus he got a bit of stick. This thing about Man. United is b******s. People don't care who he plays for. The fact is he is a talented player who doesn't give a s*** about playing for Ireland. And he is as bad as everyone is making out. Watch him when he gives the ball away. Mr. Casual himself. We should get him a deckchair for the next game.

Wolfie
17/11/2006, 1:09 PM
Checked the Wikipedia (the encyclopedia , who's who yoke) write up under John O'Shea. Thought it might be a non-commital, non - critical run through the career so far. I've a feeling this write up may have been infiltrated and amended by a disgruntled Ireland fan. A few choice quotes:

"O'Shea earned his first senior cap for ROI on 15th August 2001, when he came on as an 84th minute sub at home to Croatia. His debut ended in disappointment, however, when he gave away a penalty in injury time that resulted in Ireland conceding their lead......."

It gets worse.

".....he frustrated many Manchester United supporters with a series of technically inept, slow and clumsy performances displaying poor accuracy of passing".

barney
17/11/2006, 1:15 PM
He epitomises everything I hate about modern day footballers and he can go **** himself if he thinks that rubbish, half arsed effort is good enough. The fact that he plays for Man Utd does actually have something to do with it, he seems to think he's actually related to a footballer. I couldn't give a toss if he played for Wayside Celtic, he's a loafer who puts in zero effort and is a huge fault of the team.

Despite his solid performance agaisnt the "chechs" at "CB" (do you even watch the games) he still sauntered back from half way leaving McShane all alone with Koller to equalise. I wouldn't have him in a pub league team, fraudster barely breaks a sweat and can't wait to get back to England. We should leave him there from now

You sir epitomise everything that I hate about football fans. Just because O'Shea doesn't run around like a headless chicken does not mean that he doesn't care. Not everyone has to show Roy Keane's level of visible passion.

If O'Shea had sprinted back against the Czechs he still probably wouldnt have gotten back to deny Koller. McShane got caught out for the goal, but he seems to have been absolved from all blame because he's a fan favourite with bandwagoners like you.

Furthermore, John O'Shea frequently comes back to Ireland and makes himself available to his schoolboy clubs to help train their youngsters. Hardly something that sits comfortably with the caricature you'd like to peddle but nonetheless, thems the facts.

John O'Shea is a decent footballer. He rarely makes mistakes that cost either Ireland or United goals. The people that booed him the other night have no place at football games.

youngirish
17/11/2006, 1:42 PM
If O'Shea had sprinted back against the Czechs he still probably wouldnt have gotten back to deny Koller. McShane got caught out for the goal, but he seems to have been absolved from all blame because he's a fan favourite with bandwagoners like you.

Wrong O'Shea would have got back if he hadn't been acting like he was strolling around in the park on a Sunday afternoon. McShane could also have been better but it's hard for a young player when he has to cover for his idle defensive partner.

Furthermore, John O'Shea frequently comes back to Ireland and makes himself available to his schoolboy clubs to help train their youngsters. Hardly something that sits comfortably with the caricature you'd like to peddle but nonetheless, thems the facts.

Who cares? He's sh*t for Ireland. Extremely sh*t and should be dropped. That's all that matters. He should long since have been given the boot as he's keeping younger, infintely more talented players from the team and has been for 4 years now. If we are to progress he is the first player that needs to go.

John O'Shea is a decent footballer. He rarely makes mistakes that cost either Ireland or United goals. The people that booed him the other night have no place at football games.
Pure deluded sh*t. Are you John O'Shea in disguise? He's cost us more goals than I care to remember. Why are you sticking up for him? No one dislikes him for any other reason than he's pure c**p. I have nothing personally against the lad but he's rubbish and has always been so for Ireland. If he was anyway half decent he wouldn't get any stick.

As for the boos I agree they don't help but maybe they might convince that ginger idiot Staunton that O'Shea is not up to the standard required for an International footballer and he might finally decide to stop accomodating him in the team, though to be honest I unfortunately can see him hanging around while he still continues to get the odd game at Man U.

17/11/2006, 1:53 PM
I was in the South Terrace and everyone was shouting 'Shoot' when he got the ball. I couldn't hear anyone booing. Granted, in Cyprus he got a bit of stick. This thing about Man. United is b******s. People don't care who he plays for. The fact is he is a talented player who doesn't give a s*** about playing for Ireland. And he is as bad as everyone is making out. Watch him when he gives the ball away. Mr. Casual himself. We should get him a deckchair for the next game.

Make up your mind man.

17/11/2006, 1:55 PM
I have said it before and I say it again, I think booing is an acceptable method of expressing your frustration with a player/manager/team.

Collyontour
17/11/2006, 1:57 PM
Make up your mind man.

Ther's no doubt that he has talent. He's s*** for Ireland though. Anyone remember him having two good (or even decent) games in a row?

KildareFan
17/11/2006, 2:39 PM
What is it about Irish fans, they always have to be moaning about some player. Kilbane, Carsley, Harte, O'Shea etc etc

Does anybody seriously think that O'Shea doesn't try when he plays for Ireland or that he doesn't care if they lose?

O'Shea was Ireland's best player in the Under 16 team that won the Euro Championships in Scotland and was the best player all the way up to under 21level, there is no doubting his talent. He is the only current Irish player with the kind of European and big game experience as he has.

He has suffered because he rarely plays two games in succession in the one position and he is not, i repeat, not a midfielder. Whether it's at club level or international level, he always seems to be shunted around.

What he really needs to do to get his career back on track is to get a move away from Man Utd and go to a team where he will play week in week out at centre half

He also needs know nothing idiots to get off his back when he playing for Ireland as like the rest of the team, he needs support more than he needs barracking.

cheifo
17/11/2006, 2:54 PM
Personally I would never boo an Irish player but in fairness KF you have to understand peoples frustration with the fella.His first game where he stood out for being awful was against Swiss away under Kerr and since then hes gone from bad to worse.He lacks focus and concentration and is not agressive enough.Think of that penalty he gave away against Israel and if you cant pass a ball against Cyprus and San Marino when can you?Seems like a decent fella and Keane& Ferguson seems to respect him but hes beginning to seem like a lost cause.

KildareFan
17/11/2006, 3:03 PM
And what does booing do?

You saw the reaction of the players against the Czechs when everybody got behind the team.

If he is that bad, it's up to Staunton to drop him not to have the crowd booing his every touch - who does that help?

Bondvillain
17/11/2006, 3:04 PM
In the upper East, didn't notice any booing.

A few Ironic "Shoot!'s" , a fair bit of exasperated groaning some "oh no's", and the occasional "Jaysus!!!" but no booing that I could make out...

17/11/2006, 3:10 PM
Does anybody seriously think that O'Shea doesn't try when he plays for Ireland or that he doesn't care if they lose?

No, I dont.

He is the only current Irish player with the kind of European and big game experience as he has.

This doesnt automatically make him a good player.

He also needs know nothing idiots to get off his back when he playing for Ireland as like the rest of the team, he needs support more than he needs barracking.

Anybody who boos, which is in my book a valid form of criticism, is a "know nothing idiot"?

And what does booing do?

If he is that bad, it's up to Staunton to drop him not to have the crowd booing his every touch - who does that help?

Booing him tells Staunton that a certain section of fans do not want O'Shea to be on the field.

Freoch
17/11/2006, 3:13 PM
On the count of blaming o shea for Kollers goal , i thought the goalie was pretty bad too, also thought Mcshane was good in that game but Carsley should have got man of the match

nedder
17/11/2006, 3:18 PM
Was in the lower west stand, and couldn't hear any booing. I think this whole thing has been blown out of proportion.

Anyone who boos their own players during a game clearly has no real interest in supporting the team. Ignorant fools...

KildareFan
17/11/2006, 3:21 PM
[QUOTE=osarusan;576759]

Anybody who boos, which is in my book a valid form of criticism, is a "know nothing idiot"?

QUOTE]

Anybody who boos one of their one players in a 5-0 stroll in the park against San Marino is an idiot in my book. I don't really agree with booing anyone on your own team but there are occasions when I can understand it.

I can't understand why anybody would boo their own player in a such a comfortable game as the one on Wednesday though.

nedder
17/11/2006, 3:23 PM
Booing him tells Staunton that a certain section of fans do not want O'Shea to be on the field.

I bet he couldn't give a sh*t about a certain section, and rightly so.
A manager picking a team based on who the fans boo, thats ludicrous. What next?????

17/11/2006, 3:23 PM
Anyone who boos their own players during a game clearly has no real interest in supporting the team. Ignorant fools...

A person feels so passionately about the lack of abilities / attitude of one player, and the damage that the lack of abilities could inflict on the team as a whole, so they decide to boo the player in order to make their concerns known.

This makes them an ignorant fool?

I am not saying that the motivation above was everybodys motivation, but I cant see many booing for no reason other than they dont want O Shea to be playing.

Booing to express this opinion is in my book a valid method of criticism, and certainly not ignorant.