View Full Version : John O'Shea
harry crumb
18/09/2005, 2:16 PM
He sold himself short early in the second half, and the Liverpool player had a free cross in.
I didnt say he played poorly but he wasnt outstanding or anything.
18/09/2005, 3:01 PM
He wasnt put under much pressure today in fairness, but he did ok.
He was poor going forward I thought.
Watch Danny Murphy(Cork City), GAry Neville(Manchester), and Asley Cole(Arsenal), they all contribute going forward for the team.
It takes a bit more courage to do that though.
I actually thought he offered a little more width on the right hand side on the overlap with Ronaldo than United had on the left, moreso in the second half though.
19/09/2005, 12:57 PM
very accomplished performance against Liverpool I thought. Never really looked ill at ease and dealt more than admirably with Liverpools threats.
Still can't put my finger on it, but theres something about him that leaves you always waiting for him to make a mistake though.....
20/09/2005, 12:48 AM
Top tackler and third best passer at Man U so hardly a total failure.
http://home.skysports.com/optastats.asp?clid=6&clubname=Manchester+United&cpid=8
Could he fill Roy Keanes boots whilst he is out?
20/09/2005, 9:11 AM
http://home.skysports.com/optastats.asp?clid=6&clubname=Manchester+United&cpid=8
Could he fill Roy Keanes boots whilst he is out?Against Cyprus, definitely....against the Swiss in a high pressure game, I doubt it.
20/09/2005, 9:20 AM
For Ireland, possibly. For Man United - not a chance. With their lack of defensive cover at the moment he'll be playing in one of the 2 full back slots for the next few months at least
youngirish
20/09/2005, 12:29 PM
He hasn't even been able to fill Ian Harte's boots at left back thus far.
brine3
20/09/2005, 6:22 PM
He can't fill Ian Harte's shirt or shorts either, let alone his boots!
21/09/2005, 1:42 PM
He can't fill Ian Harte's shirt or shorts either, let alone his boots!I might not be O'Sheas biggest fan, but for jaysus sake-Ian Harte...please :rolleyes:
ken foree
21/09/2005, 1:47 PM
play the big fukker up front
21/09/2005, 6:37 PM
play the big fukker up front
Yea alongside Gary Breen.
ken foree
21/09/2005, 6:56 PM
Yea alongside Gary Breen.
hehee i was waiting for that :p
Irish_Praha
24/09/2005, 7:27 PM
anyone know the extent of his injury today?
24/09/2005, 8:18 PM
did anyone see Josh play today ? i thought it was another bog standard display from him , going through the motions and then falling asleep when he had to cross the ball. very poor but nothing new there
26/09/2005, 9:40 AM
did anyone see Josh play today ? i thought it was another bog standard display from him , going through the motions and then falling asleep when he had to cross the ball. very poor but nothing new thereI think it was a bog standard display from all of the United lads in fairness.
26/09/2005, 9:59 AM
good point, Rio Ferdinand looked 1/2 asleep on a couple of ocassions...it looked pathetic for a £100,000 a week man.
Josh might be out for the game on wednesday. He doesnt need injuries now that he is going to get more games
26/09/2005, 7:10 PM
Knee injury, and the full extent of it won't be known for a day or so.
Surpried at the level of derogatory superlatives being leveled at O'Shea here.
A decent enough player who would probably shine at a Mid table premiersh1t club - if allowed to consistently play in the same position.
IMO he played all his best football at Man Utd in his first dozen or so games when he played centre defence.
27/09/2005, 11:32 AM
IMO he played all his best football at Man Utd in his first dozen or so games when he played centre defence.
I think its been proven time and time again that he's too weak physically and gets muscled out of situations too easily to cut it as a centre half. He needs to toughen up.
youngirish
27/09/2005, 12:29 PM
Failure
27/09/2005, 12:47 PM
Just thought I'd refresh this post to see what huge esteem O'Shea was held in not very long ago :D
27/09/2005, 1:10 PM
Just thought I'd refresh this post to see what huge esteem O'Shea was held in not very long ago :D
He's always been like that, hot and cold. I remember his first season at left back for Man Utd, when he was excellent. I remember Juve fans compairing him to Thuram. I remember Man Utd going out of the CL to Madrid that season, beaten soundly by a brilliant Ronaldo playing in front of Zidane, Raul and Roberto Carlos, who tormented United that evening. The only Man Utd players to come out of that match with any credit were van Nistelrooy, who scored an excellent goal, and O'Shea, who worked the left flank in a not-so-pale imitation of what Carlos was doing on the far side of the pitch.
I'm forever frustrated watching that same player now, giving his man too much space, sloppy passing and timid tackling making a mockery of the potential he had - still has. I still hope he'll come good.
27/09/2005, 1:31 PM
Let's just all agree that he's one hell of a player.
When he gets about 20 good games in for Ireland then he will be one hell of a player. Current count - Zero.
27/09/2005, 1:44 PM
can this be merged with the John O'Shea-Success of Failure thread? :ball:
27/09/2005, 1:46 PM
Jesus, I was reading the first few posts and thought the whole world had gone mad before I looked at the dates on them.
Unfortunately its a curse that seems to strike so many young Irish players, unfulfilled potential. His passing is brutal lately and as for his crossing....im not sure midfield is the answer for him either.
Then you see him do things like chip the Arsenal keeper for a great goal in what was a massive game last year. if Rooney had done that we'd never hear the end of it.
He's more than likely going to play a large amount of games for united this year, hopefully it will help him return to the early form he showed.
Tram_14
27/09/2005, 2:52 PM
That was so strange...... didn't know what was goin on there for awhile. It really says it all though, he promised to be really good but just hasn't met the mark. He is especially poor at the moment, just doesn't look confident.
On a postitive note he is due a really great game...... maybe it will be for us.
27/09/2005, 4:46 PM
Just a few inches away from immortality in France when he almost and should have scored. He probably could have got away with anything after that.
In another earlier thread there was talk of him going to Real Madrid and Sean Thornton attracting the interest of Manchester United :eek:
Football is such a fickle business.
27/09/2005, 4:56 PM
Jesus, I was reading the first few posts and thought the whole world had gone mad before I looked at the dates on them.
Me too, frightening stuff!!! Praising his passing and all!
youngirish
27/09/2005, 5:27 PM
That's the whole problem lads he's been living off those first few good months of his career ever since and has been playing in Ireland games solely for that reason. If his Ireland place was down to current form only he probably would have been dropped long ago.
onenilgameover
28/09/2005, 2:13 AM
awful slip up for united against benfica tonight, could have cost em dearly but he got away with it. He's a liability...and he wouldn't be in my first 11 thats for sure. He might be due a big game...but he might also be due a big mistake like we saw tonight and not like the mistake we saw against the israelis. Nowhere near the same player.
finlma
28/09/2005, 7:50 AM
He hasn't improved at all and I don't think he will at this stage. His mistake last night was comical - not even school boy.
28/09/2005, 8:43 AM
Trouble is we have no alternative at left back (pleasssssssse don't say Ian Harte who has the pace and positional sense of a snail) and also he adds a bit of height to what is a relatively small team.
30/09/2005, 8:52 AM
Well, he's a failure thats gonna end up a millionaire, if he isn't already, with premiership and FA Cup medals.....not a bad sort of failure.
youngirish
30/09/2005, 5:56 PM
Well, he's a failure thats gonna end up a millionaire, if he isn't already, with premiership and FA Cup medals.....not a bad sort of failure.
Actually your right I was wrong to brand him a failure as he is unbelievably wealthy. I meant to say he's s**te at football.
finlma
10/10/2005, 7:54 AM
One word for John O'Shea - useless.
How did he become a professional footballer? His positioning, tackling, passing, dribbling is inept. The gormless fool looks like he's had a labotomy. The whole team were rubbish on Saturday but this lad just takes the biscuit. Cyprus got balls in behind him with ease and every time he got the ball he chipped it up the pitch to no-one.
Ian Harte is useless too but John O'Shea makes him look like Maradonna.
macdermesser
10/10/2005, 9:29 AM
One word for John O'Shea - useless.
How did he become a professional footballer? His positioning, tackling, passing, dribbling is inept. The gormless fool looks like he's had a labotomy. The whole team were rubbish on Saturday but this lad just takes the biscuit. Cyprus got balls in behind him with ease and every time he got the ball he chipped it up the pitch to no-one.
Ian Harte is useless too but John O'Shea makes him look like Maradonna.
Ian Harte, Spanish second division, O'Shea current first choice for Man U. Not defending his performance on Saturday, but O'shea is the "better" player.
Harte positional play (i.e. could not be arsed tracking back) was also at fault for both goals in Basle 2003. Don't think he has improved since then.
10/10/2005, 10:36 AM
John O shea is a mess. He hasnt done it for Ireland or Man Utd in years. Its time a spade was called a spade and he was dropped from the national side. Im sick of watching his slap stick defending. I would rather see the likes of young kelly come into the team on the right and Finnan on the left. Until Josh does it at club level he can forget it at national level.
Hearte isnt much better but at least he can tackle. Two clowns fighting for the same position.
youngirish
10/10/2005, 1:29 PM
Ian Harte, Spanish second division, O'Shea current first choice for Man U. Not defending his performance on Saturday, but O'shea is the "better" player.
Harte positional play (i.e. could not be arsed tracking back) was also at fault for both goals in Basle 2003. Don't think he has improved since then.
O'Shea is an absolute donkey. Just because he plays for Man U doesn't make him better than Harte who admittedly is playing for a crap team. The two Nevilles and Silvestre have also played regularly for United in the recent past and they are utter s***e.
Harte was playing when he was O'Shea's age for Leeds in the CL semi-final and O'Shea will be following him to the lower leagues soon enough when Ferguson eventually does realise that he won't get any better with age.
John O'Shea was far poorer than Harte in Basle. He consistently gives the ball away and was shockingly bad against Cyprus. Harte scores goals, is a good distributor of the ball and has a cracking shot. He is unfortunately crap in defense. O'Shea is just as bad defensively but a no show going forward. He needs to be kicked out of the team as soon as possible - how many chances does he need?
10/10/2005, 2:08 PM
O'Shea was terrible on Saturday. Cyprus just walked through us down that wing every time. He's managed the nearly impossible, I want him dropped for Harte because at least Harte can score free kicks. :(
kingp35
10/10/2005, 2:21 PM
I have to agree with the general consensus on this thread that as a younger player O' Shea had great potential and he was putting in some top performances at club level. Over the past 2 years he has gone consistently downhill to the point of being pretty much a liability whenever he plays. He was simply shocking on Saturday and I hope to god Kerr realises this and plays HArte. Ultimately we need to win the game so Hartes threat from set pieces, which I think will be our best chance to score, will be invaluable to the team. He is a decent enough defender its just his lack of pace which is his big downfall. Either way on current form for the national side Harte is the better choice. Bear in mind he has scored two goals for us in recent games. How we need one on Wednesday
O'Shea's performance against Cyprus was one of the worst I've ever seen from a "professional footballer." Any time I see the guy he looks absolutely hopeless- he can't tackle, he can't pass, he can't run and his positioning is brutal. Yet another indictment of the idiot Kerr.
10/10/2005, 3:01 PM
Who saw the Switzerland vs France game? I didn't see it but I read that Tranquillo Barnretta gave Gallas a roasting on the French left side.
Duff is injured anyway so I say pick Kilbane on the LHS. Let him do all the defending on that side. Pick Harte for his dead-ball delivery.
Stormin Normin
10/10/2005, 3:26 PM
I think we're fcuked which ever one plays. They are both inept, slow to read what's going on and as O'Shea demonstrated on Sat clueless when under pressure.
Harte bring an ability with a deadball that O'Shea doesn't have but Mother of God if either of them are playing we'll conceed goals.
Only alternative I can think of is to play Carr and Finnan but I'd nearly have Carr in the same category as the other two at this stage.
10/10/2005, 3:45 PM
Finnan should be tried out at left full, given the alternatives I'd go with him every time. Unfortunately the last time I can remember him playing left full was Australia at home more than 2 years ago.
mchurl
11/10/2005, 11:44 AM
John O'Shea is my pet hate. He is constantly ball wathcing and he is very sloppy when he is in possession of the ball. I'm not Ian harte's biggest fan either but i would pick him ahead of O'Shea. In fact i would play steve finnan left-full and put stephen reid on the right of midfield.
FarBeag
11/10/2005, 10:31 PM
It looks like the only people that think O'Shea is worth anything are Fergie and Kerr and for the life of me i don't see why.The thoughts of him coming through the tunnel for the biggest match Ireland will play for the last four years frightens the S*ite out of me,actually after last Saturdays fiasco the same goes for the rest of them too.
13/10/2005, 10:02 AM
Last night I thought that he did ok. He tried hard, but the game largely passed our midfield by. At least he was the only player trying to pass the ball around.
13/10/2005, 10:06 AM
Last night I thought that he did ok.
He appeared to do ok because he hid from the ball.
So many times the ball went across the box and he was nowhere to be seen. I don't care if I never see him in an Ireland shirt again. I've seen every game he has played at senior level for Ireland and he has never once played well. That's enough to tell me he's not up to it.
mchurl
13/10/2005, 11:04 AM
he was meant to be playin centre idfield and yet he wasn't nvolved in the game at all. e is too casual and gives me a heart attack any time he has the ball near our goal