View Full Version : John O'Shea
Irish_Praha
27/05/2008, 8:49 AM
Going off-topic with O'Shea again just read this article on Sportinglife:
O'SHEA TO STAY AT OLD TRAFFORD
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/08/05/27/SOCCER_Republic_OShea.html
He knows the quality within Sir Alex Ferguson's squad as well as anyone, and while he is desperate to win regular place in the starting line-up - around half of his appearances this season came from the bench - he is not looking for a new challenge just yet.
Asked about his own future, he replied: "That [leaving] is crossing my mind a lot of the time, but then I think 'where do you go when you leave a team like that?'
"That's an even bigger question. For the time being, I will stay where I am."
Don't know where to look for figures but i'm guessing when you consider all the cups United play in he must have made at least 20 appearances last season, hardly worth leaving the worlds biggest club over.
John O'Shea
2007/2008 Appearance Stats:
Competition Apps (Sub) Goals
==========================================
League 28 (18) 0
Carling Cup 1 (0) 0
FA Cup 2 (1) 0
Champions League 6 (2) 0
------------------------------------------
Total 37 (21) 0
==========================================
He played a total of 1,159 minutes of league football last season. Only Gerard Pique, Mikel Silvestre and Danny Simpson played less football in defence than him.
cheifo
27/05/2008, 1:32 PM
He has had some dreadful performances for Ireland.Nice lad and I would like him to do well but lets face it he has giving us very little yet.IMO its irrelevant what Fergie thinks of him at this stage.He is 26/27 and he just has to do much better for us when he gets the chance again.I agree he should be tried at CB beside Dunne and hopefully he will improve.
FarBeag
27/05/2008, 1:40 PM
He has no ambition and is just happy to warm the bench and play a handful of games along the way. For this he picks up a nice little earner, wish I could do this in my job but fair play for getting away with it. Anyway, he is our best option in the centre of defence beside Dunne so we will have to put up with it for now I guess.
If I could get paid 40k a week for being a glorified Greg O halloran I'd take it too. but I wouldnt expect to be respected for it.
Speakthetruth
27/05/2008, 2:03 PM
Does the fact that Ferguson used him for 135 minutes against Arsenal, Chelsea & Liverpool in the league versus the 110 minutes he let Josh work his magic against Derby not speak volumes?
jmurphyc
27/05/2008, 2:30 PM
Does the fact that Ferguson used him for 135 minutes against Arsenal, Chelsea & Liverpool in the league versus the 110 minutes he let Josh work his magic against Derby not speak volumes?
He actually only used him for 44 minutes in the league against those clubs, as opposed to 110 minutes against Derby. 44 minutes in 6 league games is a pretty bad sum total.
Speakthetruth
27/05/2008, 2:35 PM
He actually only used him for 44 minutes in the league against those clubs, as opposed to 110 minutes against Derby. 44 minutes in 6 league games is a pretty bad sum total.
Apologies (Think i had the charity shield in there), even strengthens the point...I cant understand the man staying at that club, perhaps its the fear that if he moved to a mid-table premiership team (Middlesbrough, Blackburn etc.), the situation wouldnt change. IMO, its not far fetched to claim that, at best, this guys level is at the foot end of the table. However, down there you need battlers and guys who are prepared to take hits....
irishultra
27/05/2008, 2:40 PM
I bet if O'Shea moved(like Fletcher) they are easily top 10 players. Saying he belongs at the foot of the table is madness.
Speakthetruth
27/05/2008, 2:59 PM
I bet if O'Shea moved(like Fletcher) they are easily top 10 players. Saying he belongs at the foot of the table is madness.
Problem is that we will never get to test the theory as O'Shea will still be on the United bench/in the stand in 5 years time..
irishultra
27/05/2008, 3:23 PM
I understand that. The guy must have motivational problems or something. I'm suprised with his mantra he even made it as a footballer. Can't believe he's 27 either.
But if he was a bottom level player, John O'Shea would be playing at the bottom level. Kleberson, Djemba Djemba, Liam Miller etc. have been drafted out, yet people like Fletcher and O'Shea have not.
Speakthetruth
27/05/2008, 3:32 PM
IMO Fletcher has been an addition to Utd & especially to Scotland over the years but thats besides the point. Djemba-Djemba & Kleberson (Have you ever seen there names mentioned separately in a post on here?) were not Premier League players nevermind UTD players so were rightfully turfed out. I dont rate him either but at least Miller has showed a certain level of ambition by getting a move and has played consistanly for a Premiership club this season. In addition, People like Phil Neville, Gabriel Heinze, Rossi & even Johnny Greening have earned my respect by not settling for 5 minute cameos at the end of an already decided match and doing what O'Shea is not, making the difference for their respective clubs by contributing in competitive games.
27/05/2008, 3:54 PM
I understand that. The guy must have motivational problems or something. I'm suprised with his mantra he even made it as a footballer. Can't believe he's 27 either.
But if he was a bottom level player, John O'Shea would be playing at the bottom level. Kleberson, Djemba Djemba, Liam Miller etc. have been drafted out, yet people like Fletcher and O'Shea have not.
Maybe nobody put a bid in :)
irishultra
27/05/2008, 4:08 PM
IMO Fletcher has been an addition to Utd & especially to Scotland over the years but thats besides the point. Djemba-Djemba & Kleberson (Have you ever seen there names mentioned separately in a post on here?) were not Premier League players nevermind UTD players so were rightfully turfed out. I dont rate him either but at least Miller has showed a certain level of ambition by getting a move and has played consistanly for a Premiership club this season. In addition, People like Phil Neville, Gabriel Heinze, Rossi & even Johnny Greening have earned my respect by not settling for 5 minute cameos at the end of an already decided match and doing what O'Shea is not, making the difference for their respective clubs by contributing in competitive games.
Would Phill Neville have been the same age as O'Shea is now when he left for Everton?
Speakthetruth
27/05/2008, 4:13 PM
Would Phill Neville have been the same age as O'Shea is now when he left for Everton?
I reckon he was a year or so older at a guess (without looking it up) and he is now captaining a side who challenged for a champions league spot this season.
Razors left peg
27/05/2008, 4:26 PM
I reckon he was a year or so older at a guess (without looking it up) and he is now captaining a side who challenged for a champions league spot this season.
And for years Phil Neville has had to put up with the same amount of abuse that O Shea gets, and he has proven that he is a good player.
Speakthetruth
27/05/2008, 4:31 PM
Not a chance that was at the same level, I seem to remember a stunning MOTM performance against Arsenal a couple of years back PLUS THE FACT IS HE MOVED, O'SHEA IS NOT GOING TO HENCE WILL NEVER PROVE HIMSELF A GOOD PLAYER!! Even only today Pique (who coincidently was called into centre half when Vidic got injured ahead of the mighty Josh) got a move as he knew he wouldnt get football. John O'Shea is nothing more than a glorified Winston Bogarde, a guy who had potential but has gone stale, willing to stay in the comfort zone and collect his cheque.
Razors left peg
27/05/2008, 4:33 PM
Not a chance that was at the same level, I seem to remember a stunning MOTM performance against Arsenal a couple of years back PLUS THE FACT IS HE MOVED, O'SHEA IS NOT GOING TO HENCE WILL NEVER PROVE HIMSELF A GOOD PLAYER!! Even only today Pique (who coincidently was called into centre half when Vidic got injured ahead of the mighty Josh) got a move as he knew he wouldnt get football. John O'Shea is nothing more than a glorified Winston Bogarde, a guy who had potential but has gone stale, willing to stay in the comfort zone and collect his cheque.
I didnt say he shouldnt move, only that he is not as bad as he is made out to be on here
youngirish
27/05/2008, 4:46 PM
I didnt say he shouldnt move, only that he is not as bad as he is made out to be on here
He's rubbish he wouldn't even shine in a struggling side in the Premiership . Anyone who watches him over the years can clearly see if anything he's being complimented with the great players around him that he's used to at United (even then he is still average at best). When he's playing with less talented individuals at International level he has been consistently one of our worst players.
If Ferguson let him leave he would struggle to get regular football in a poorer team. He's more of the Djemba Djemba ilk than the Phil Neville I reckon.
Razors left peg
27/05/2008, 4:54 PM
He's rubbish he wouldn't even shine in a struggling side in the Premiership . Anyone who watches him over the years can clearly see if anything he's being complimented with the great players around him that he's used to at United (even then he is still average at best). When he's playing with less talented individuals at International level he has been consistently one of our worst players.
If Ferguson let him leave he would struggle to get regular football in a poorer team.
I go back to the point that if he was so rubbish he would have been dumped long ago like anyone else that Ferguson thinks is surplus to requirements.
I think his biggest problem with us is lack of confidence(And the fact that he is a bad passer of the ball).In Cyprus couple of years ago(the 1 nil one) the anytime JOS came near us while he was warming up most of the fans were applauding like with the other players but there were a couple of muppets that completely forgot about the game to scream at him and abuse the hell out of him, it was ridiculous and he was close enough to hear every word. Now I know that a pro footballer should be big enough not to be affected by something like that but if its constantly happening it is bound to have an effect.
He is head and shoulders our best option to partner Dunne
youngirish
27/05/2008, 4:56 PM
I go back to the point that if he was so rubbish he would have been dumped long ago like anyone else that Ferguson thinks is surplus to requirements.
I think his biggest problem with us is lack of confidence(And the fact that he is a bad passer of the ball).In Cyprus couple of years ago(the 1 nil one) the anytime JOS came near us while he was warming up most of the fans were applauding like with the other players but there were a couple of muppets that completely forgot about the game to scream at him and abuse the hell out of him, it was ridiculous and he was close enough to hear every word. Now I know that a pro footballer should be big enough not to be affected by something like that but if its constantly happening it is bound to have an effect.
I would try St Ledger with Dunne to see how he gets on before the qualification matches kick off. I think we'll struggle badly with a central defensive pairing of Dunne and O'Shea so we need to take a risk in a couple of friendlies beforehand.
Razors left peg
27/05/2008, 4:58 PM
I would try St Ledger with Dunne to see how he gets on before the qualification matches kick off.
I havent seen enough of St Ledger to give an opinion of him, but he has alot to prove get into a team ahead of a lad that has just won his 3rd Premiership medal
irishultra
27/05/2008, 4:58 PM
He has a good mentality as well. See what he said about the players learning from Giovanni? That is a good mentality to have, and an important quality in our team.
Has everyone gotten over the idea of O'Shea playing in the middle? What about as a DM in a 3 man midfield?
jmurphyc
27/05/2008, 4:59 PM
I'd say he's currently in the top two along with O'Brien, but if he carries on not getting enough game time at Utd then he definitely shouldn't be played. An unfit player has the potential to do a lot of damage to us. I would also say that if McShane starts playing regularly again and getting his confidence back he could come in to the reckoning for a starting spot. I'd love to see O'Shea told that he won't get a starting spot unless he moves club to see if he has any ambition in terms of playing for us and to see how much he cares. To be honest though, I get the feeling he'd choose Utd over us.
youngirish
27/05/2008, 5:00 PM
I havent seen enough of St Ledger to give an opinion of him, but he has alot to prove get into a team ahead of a lad that has just won his 3rd Premiership medal
C'mon Razors I'd agree with you if he contributed anything to the winning of that medal. Taking this season as an example I could have played in the same games and the same positions JOS has for United and they still would have won both the Premiership and the Champions League.
Razors left peg
27/05/2008, 5:02 PM
I'd say he's currently in the top two along with O'Brien, but if he carries on not getting enough game time at Utd then he definitely shouldn't be played. An unfit player has the potential to do a lot of damage to us. I would also say that if McShane starts playing regularly again and getting his confidence back he could come in to the reckoning for a starting spot. I'd love to see O'Shea told that he won't get a starting spot unless he moves club to see if he has any ambition in terms of playing for us and to see how much he cares. To be honest though, I get the feeling he'd choose Utd over us.
Agree about McShane, I think it is in him to be a good defender but I think he needs to drop a division and spend a couple of years learning to read the game and the maturity that will come when he gets a bit older.
jmurphyc
27/05/2008, 5:02 PM
There's no point in throwing in medals to say how valuable a player is for us. Can you tell me which games he earned that medal in? When was the last time he had a really good game for Utd?
Razors left peg
27/05/2008, 5:03 PM
C'mon Razors I'd agree with you if he contributed anything to the winning of that medal. Taking this season as an example I could have played in the same games and the same positions JOS has for United and they still would have won both the Premiership and the Champions League.
He has still played 37 games in all competitions, he is a good squad player for United
youngirish
27/05/2008, 5:05 PM
He has still played 37 games in all competitions, he is a good squad player for United
Many of those are late substitute appearances. He only started 17 games.
Razors left peg
27/05/2008, 5:07 PM
There's no point in throwing in medals to say how valuable a player is for us. Can you tell me which games he earned that medal in? When was the last time he had a really good game for Utd?
My point is just that until we have seen St Ledger do something apart from help a team avoid relegation from the Championship we have to assume that the lad in the Man United team has the edge on him. I really hope St Ledger is a top player but I havent seen him enough, I doubt that most lads on here have seen him regularly enough suggest that he should be in the team, Preston arent exactly on tv every week
the doc
27/05/2008, 5:51 PM
My point is just that until we have seen St Ledger do something apart from help a team avoid relegation from the Championship we have to assume that the lad in the Man United team has the edge on him. I really hope St Ledger is a top player but I havent seen him enough, I doubt that most lads on here have seen him regularly enough suggest that he should be in the team, Preston arent exactly on tv every week
Fair assessment, at present you have to go with the more experienced O'Shea, however why not give St Ledger some games in friendlies to help bring him into the set up.
Heres a scouting report of the lad, may give you some idea of his qualities, note his ability to read the game, something McShane will never have and is priceless at the top level!
http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/sport/2007/04/03/scouting_report_sean_st_ledger.html
Razors left peg
27/05/2008, 5:57 PM
Fair assessment, at present you have to go with the more experienced O'Shea, however why not give St Ledger some games in friendlies to help bring him into the set up.
Heres a scouting report of the lad, may give you some idea of his qualities, note his ability to read the game, something McShane will never have and is priceless at the top level!
http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/sport/2007/04/03/scouting_report_sean_st_ledger.html
Absolutly agree that he should be given a run in some friendlies to have a look at him and not including him this time was probably a mistake, but I think Trap is entitled to make the odd mistake in his first couple of squads until he gets to know the players so hopefully St Ledger will be in soon if he is as good as the reports
27/05/2008, 7:46 PM
that blog is very funny claridge getting some abuse. basically people saying they shouldn't bother reading claridges point, so should we listen to him on st ledger?!
the doc
27/05/2008, 11:03 PM
that blog is very funny claridge getting some abuse. basically people saying they shouldn't bother reading claridges point, so should we listen to him on st ledger?!
Well how about listening to Alan Kelly then?
http://www.lep.co.uk/national-football/Kelly-impressed-with-St-Ledger39s.1945109.jp
Soper
27/05/2008, 11:22 PM
The only Irish (even including British) player to win one. And at a time when foreigners were restricted to two per club.
BTW Im not stating a fact just making an observation ;)
John Charles.
woodie
28/05/2008, 5:14 PM
John Charles.
Ronnie O'Brien
deecay
08/09/2008, 12:39 AM
Best video of all time,FACT
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=7gasxpPiews&feature=related
Scram
08/09/2008, 12:28 PM
O'Shea should not have let Georgia get a shot in for that goal, but then, Dunne was also at fault because he could have closed it down.
ken foree
08/09/2008, 5:50 PM
O'Shea should not have let Georgia get a shot in for that goal, but then, Dunne was also at fault because he could have closed it down.
that's true, and both were culpable at other times too: dunne left his man free in the 6 yard box but luckily he headed over when he should've scored and o'shea should have similarly buried his free header for 2-0.
kingdomkerry
08/09/2008, 8:29 PM
I think if O'Shea moved from Man Utd and played regularly at Centre Back he could develop in to a class defender. He needs consistency.
seanfhear
08/09/2008, 8:36 PM
I think if O'Shea moved from Man Utd and played regularly at Centre Back he could develop in to a class defender. He needs consistency. Perhaps if he plays well there for Ireland another decent size club might put in an offer to play him in that position.Whether they would offer him enough money to leave utd is another question.
On the other hand players that leave big clubs for lesser clubs rarely do that well.Paul Mc Grath to Aston Villa being a major exception but then Paul was a special player.
08/09/2008, 8:40 PM
I don't think any fault should be passed in the direction of O'Shea. He was marking the forward that layed the ball off to the number 7. The no. 7 was totally unmarked. Steven Reid, who had a brilliantly game was caught ball watching. O'Shea did his best to block the attacker getting a shot in but he made an intelligent run at the right angle so O'Shea couldn't get near enough to him.
I think Dunne was too far away to have done anything.
lionelhutz
09/09/2008, 9:18 AM
I don't think O'Shea was at fault in any way. He did his job very well - standing up the player who received the throw and not letting him turn. He can't mark two players. I felt Dunne could definitely have been quicker closing down the no.7 but he just switched off cause the game was almost over.
I think O'Shea deserves great praise for how he performed Saturday. He's had alot of criticism here - including from myself - but credit where credits due he played very well. The interception he made in the box in the 2nd half at 1-0 when the georgian was teeing up to shoot from a pull back was excellent and possibly a game saving moment.
youngirish
09/09/2008, 9:46 AM
I think O'Shea deserves great praise for how he performed Saturday. He's had alot of criticism here - including from myself - but credit where credits due he played very well. The interception he made in the box in the 2nd half at 1-0 when the georgian was teeing up to shoot from a pull back was excellent and possibly a game saving moment.
I agree. I don't rate O'Shea and he will probably undue all the good work he put in on Saturday with a mistake that will cost us the game tomorrow (hopefully not) but he played well the other night and generally looked solid. His header at the opposing goal, however, was shocking.
I have been quick to criticise JOSH in the past but having watched parts of the game for Man U last night i thought he played very well. He will never be part of united's first XI but in light of his recent performances for us, i think he has been playing very well recently and with uniteds injury list it looks like he could be in line for a run in the team. It appears Ferguson prefers him in midfield to defence though.
Brendan 82
01/10/2008, 2:48 PM
O'Shea was excellent for United last night. He was very comfortable on the ball, strong in tackles, and actually played a few defense splitting passes:eek:
TheBoss
01/10/2008, 3:33 PM
I think in all the games this season for club and country, he is been really good, I think now he is using the experience he has gained from the last 6-7 years and now appears confident.
Reddladd
03/10/2008, 8:21 AM
I think Trap has given O'Shea confidence and has him 'concentrating' more on the job at hand. In the past he was inclined to switch off during games. He also seems to have upped the ante with his aggression. Like others I was very impressed with his performances away and long may it continue.
EastTerracer
31/01/2009, 6:36 PM
Just thinking that this must be one of the most consistent spells in the United team that John O'Shea has ever had. During their 12 consecutive league clean-sheets O'Shea has started nine of those games, mostly at full-back.
He has been plagued by inconsistency over the years but this season he has certainly seemed much better, both for Ireland and United.
I've probably jinxed him now:o
Just thinking that this must be one of the most consistent spells in the United team that John O'Shea has ever had. During their 12 consecutive league clean-sheets O'Shea has started nine of those games, mostly at full-back.
He has been plagued by inconsistency over the years but this season he has certainly seemed much better, both for Ireland and United.
I've probably jinxed him now:o
I think hes had a good season for united, he never will offer as much as Evra going forward but defensively hes very solid these day. Had a poor game recently against Wigan but other than that hes been strong and reliable. No doubt he is valued by Ferguson.