View Full Version : John O'Shea

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Metrostars
30/04/2009, 8:00 PM
keane v juve '99

Of course. I should have known that. "A real captain's goal".

30/04/2009, 8:28 PM
or the most overhyped goal of all time.

Junior
01/05/2009, 4:31 PM
It was a great goal in itself but more importantly it was what the goal and performance then led to, a further two goals and a final spot. Similar to Gerard in 05 against Milan I suppose......

geysir - synic till the end!!:D

01/05/2009, 4:42 PM
Gerrard against Milan still rankles with me. Smicer, Hamann & Alonso were all superb. Look at Milan's 3rd goal and how it came about - Gerrard playing a simple pass straight to a Milan defender. OK, gotta admit I really don't like him & my judgment is probably clouded.

01/05/2009, 4:43 PM
Yeah Gerrard that night was one of the reasons thy were 3 nil down. Hamman coming on changed the game not Gerrard. To be fair to him he has been played out of position many times, as in people have played him in central midfield in a two. He thinks or at least thought this was his best position but it never has or never will be his best position. Liverpool have found his best position this season, and his other great season was the season before last when he played right side of midfield

Junior
06/05/2009, 3:23 PM
I have read numerous posts on how Gerards performance was 'not all that' and how he was at fault for a Milan goal or two. Ive never seen the game since the night it was on TV and I cant really recall the specifics but I dont think anyone can really dispute that his goal was the catalyst for the comeback. Perhaps it was the tactical genius of bringing Hamman in to the game or Alonso or any other reason, but the goal is what really kick started it (IMO).

Anyway back on topic.....O'Shea for a Final goal anyone?

06/05/2009, 3:24 PM
What about Darron Gibson for a spot on the bench?

06/05/2009, 4:06 PM
I have read numerous posts on how Gerards performance was 'not all that' and how he was at fault for a Milan goal or two. Ive never seen the game since the night it was on TV and I cant really recall the specifics but I dont think anyone can really dispute that his goal was the catalyst for the comeback. Perhaps it was the tactical genius of bringing Hamman in to the game or Alonso or any other reason, but the goal is what really kick started it (IMO).

Didn't Smicer get the first goal?

DeLorean
06/05/2009, 4:43 PM

No Stevie G's header was first, followed closely by the Smicer/Dida goal-whoever you deem more responsible for it and finally Alonso's rebound penalty.

Junior
06/05/2009, 4:58 PM
What about Darron Gibson for a spot on the bench?

I did think about that when I was writing my post but thought no, you're taking that too far:D

You really dont like Gerard do you:D:D

06/05/2009, 5:14 PM
I stand corrected!

17/05/2009, 8:18 PM
John O'Shea 4 league titles vs Gerrard 0 :)

Congratulations to John on winning his fourth league title. 52 appearances in total for the season and I'm sure he'll start in Rome. I hope next season turns out even better with him trotting out in green over in South Africa.

20/05/2009, 9:36 AM
quote from alex ferguson on john o'shea. great season for him...

"Ferguson also revealed utility man John O'Shea will start next week's final.

The Republic of Ireland international has filled in at right-back because of injuries to Wes Brown and Gary Neville and the United manager boss said he was keen to reward the 28-year-old's unstinting service.

'He can play anywhere for me: all along the back four, midfield - he's even played in goal for a short period - and because of injuries to Gary and Wes he's been a permanent fixture,' said Ferguson.

'He takes his place in Rome because he deserves it, because he is ahead of everyone now.

'He is a fantastic, top professional.'"

20/05/2009, 9:45 AM
Have to say I'm delighed for O'Shea , takes a lot of abuse from his countrymen but has come out on top now first choice for club and country and long may it continue

20/05/2009, 9:57 AM
Hear hear, delighted for O'Shea.

Now come on Barcelona :)

20/05/2009, 11:58 AM
I always go for the team with an Irishman in a European Final.

20/05/2009, 12:53 PM
yeah, I can see that. I'd look at a JOS winners medal as a silver lining to the dark cloud that another United win would represent to me!

Wolfie
20/05/2009, 1:00 PM
O'Shea deserves a lot of credit and is playing as consistently and to as high a standard as ever before.

I'd be the first to admit that I've been among his detractors in the past but credit when it is due.

as_i_say
21/05/2009, 11:41 AM
Have to say I'm delighed for O'Shea , takes a lot of abuse from his countrymen but has come out on top now first choice for club and country and long may it continue

In fairness any abuse he's been at the end of up until last season, say, has been well deserved as the majority of caps for us have been displays of laziness and ineptitude however he's been the outstanding player of the trap era so far so fair play to him for turning it around.

21/05/2009, 12:45 PM
In fairness any abuse he's been at the end of up until last season, say, has been well deserved as the majority of caps for us have been displays of laziness and ineptitude however he's been the outstanding player of the trap era so far so fair play to him for turning it around.

IMO JOSH's style of play has more to do with it than laziness and ineptitude. He is quite a laid back unaggressive player and can give than impression sometimes. There is no doubt regular football has greatly improved him this year and his performances for us have been very good.

as_i_say
26/05/2009, 9:23 AM
Nice article in todays indo about his progress. Its one of the few times i'd have agreed with keane when he said he was a pampered lazy footballer or whatever the exact words were

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/champions-league/oshea-the-man-for-all-seasons-1750505.html

26/05/2009, 9:38 AM
Did Keane really say that about O Shea, when?

as_i_say
26/05/2009, 9:46 AM
Dunno-mentions it in the article and he definitely did bad mouth OShea a while ago but at the time he did need a right kick up the @rse. Had lost his way at united and was appaling for us in general so would have be loathed to agree with any of keanes rantings but...

26/05/2009, 11:17 AM
It was the thing on MUTV if I remember correctly, mentioned fletcher as well.

26/05/2009, 12:09 PM
Ferdinand got a bit of abuse as well. Boro gave United a bit of a tonking and Keane spoke out on MUTV. Keane/Fergie's relationship went downhill from there.

26/05/2009, 12:29 PM
The sad and ironic thing is, over time since keane made those comments, ferdinand and oshea and fletcher to a lesser extent have been as solid for UTD as could be expected. So although the fall-out only effected Keane, it benefited UTD greatly, something I would say is lost on most UTD supporters and many others too.

26/05/2009, 1:16 PM
Ahh but there was no reliable reporting of what actually was said on that.

Noelys Guitar
26/05/2009, 7:21 PM
It is great to see O'Shea deservedly playing in the Champions League final. I thought he was outstanding against Italy. He is back into that rare group of players who seem to have all the time in the world on the ball without getting caught in possesion. I have a feeling that Trap has helped O'Shea discover his best form again for both club and country.

27/05/2009, 8:41 PM
was the second his fault? im thinking it was bad communication between the two as oshea was trying to cover whoever was behind him at the time, however generally that area is covered by the right back.

UTD never looked at the races tonight, thats what has made it so annoying.

richieos
27/05/2009, 8:44 PM
i thought o'shea was the only solid united defender tonight, did his job against henry and hardly gave him a sniff, rio and vidic werent at the races, second goal cant be blamed on o'shea

27/05/2009, 8:57 PM
UTD never looked at the races tonight, thats what has made it so annoying....or enjoyable :)

27/05/2009, 9:22 PM
I wouldn't be a huge John O'Shea fan but I thought he was one of United's best performers tonight. Did a very good job on Henry, and generally solid throughout.

27/05/2009, 9:27 PM
He certainly didn't let himself down. Fair play JOS, keep it up for another 2 weeks.

27/05/2009, 9:57 PM
Yeah O Shea was very good tonight probably Man Utds best player. A pity he does not have another medal to add to his name. I would never shout for a team that has no irish players over a team that does. Not sure I understand why someonene who is Irish would to be honest. He could have been tooked in more for the secon goal but to be honest Evras clearance was woeful and the whole defence was out of position as a result.

27/05/2009, 10:07 PM
i thought o'shea was the only solid united defender tonight, did his job against henry and hardly gave him a sniff, rio and vidic werent at the races, second goal cant be blamed on o'shea

I agree, he kept henry very very quiet, except for one point in the second half where he lost the ball in midfield and henry was released down the left. Think Vidic and Ferdinand were the main at fault for the goals. Very performance from united in general.

Morbo
28/05/2009, 12:09 AM
Yeah O Shea was very good tonight probably Man Utds best player. A pity he does not have another medal to add to his name. I would never shout for a team that has no irish players over a team that does. Not sure I understand why someonene who is Irish would to be honest.
Maybe because having one Irish player isn't enough to compensate for what a trulely despicable team MU are, it would be like rooting for the Nazi's because Hitler happened to have an Irish henchman

28/05/2009, 12:36 AM
O'Shea didn't do much wrong tonight, but United could have put out the 1970 Brazil front 5 with the 1982 Italy defensive 5 and Barca still would have beaten them, just an amazing team.
To castigate him for the mistakes of others is unfair, and unjustified IMO

28/05/2009, 6:36 AM
I would never shout for a team that has no irish players over a team that does. Not sure I understand why someone who is Irish would
Oh get over yourself Neil. I wanted JOS to do well but as a team - or even as a brand - I vastly prefer Barcelona, simple as that.

I don't like Rio Ferdinand or Wayne Rooney much, Berbatov neither; I think Ronaldo is a cheat and a creep, Despite being a great coach I think Ferguson is pretty unlikeable. I dislike the EPL and I dislike MUFC's ownership structure. Barcelona winning will shut SKY commentators up for a while when it comes to their "EPL is everything" drivel.

I love the way Barcelona play football.

Oh sorry, I'm being treachorous.

28/05/2009, 7:00 AM
I'd have a soft spot for United but they were outclassed last night.
I thought John O'Shea was United's best performer, though he was far from the best player on the pitch. He kept Henry Very quiet and supported the attack very well, especially in the second half.

28/05/2009, 8:20 AM
Ya the ITV panel would drive ye demented as well, they were going on about how much of a great game it was going to be etc, even well into midway of the first half - i think at this stage they copped it wasn't giong to be but just wanted to keep everyone interested. NO COP ON at all. Surely at the very least you stop all this once the game starts. Finals never ever are free flowing or attacking from end to end as the fear of losing a final is too great. These games that are hyped up never ever live up to that.

Btw, I don't understand this word "creep" its crept in, and yet i dont really understand how a footballer is one, if you mentioned in the context of the Marist Brothers or Christian Brothers in reference to one of its former serving members then I would fully understand, but when referring to a soccer player I don't understand....

28/05/2009, 8:55 AM
Ya the ITV panel would drive ye demented as well, they were going on about how much of a great game it was going to be etc, even well into midway of the first half - i think at this stage they copped it wasn't giong to be but just wanted to keep everyone interested. NO COP ON at all. Surely at the very least you stop all this once the game starts. Finals never ever are free flowing or attacking from end to end as the fear of losing a final is too great. These games that are hyped up never ever live up to that.

Off topic a bit, but i personally thought it was a great game, not in the standard end to end attacking way, but the standard of passing from Barca was a joy to watch. Sky and co rave about arsenal and their ability to keep the ball and string 20/30 passes in a row, i lost count of the number of times Barca did that last night.

28/05/2009, 9:14 AM
Ya, but they hype it up in terms of that sorta game, not that i agree much with dunphy but he said it before, top quality football isn't necessarily nice to watch football. As giggs said last night, barca make you look stupid when you don't have the ball....which is true but if utd had a gattuso in there that might not have been the case. But, yes, barcas passing at times in tight spaces was brilliant. UTD did it in rare glimpses as well in fairness.

youngirish
28/05/2009, 10:21 AM
JOS got a very poor rating on skysports:

http://www.skysports.com/football/user_ratings/0,19768,11065_3145284,00.html

galwayhoop
28/05/2009, 10:41 AM
but United could have put out the 1970 Brazil front 5 with the 1982 Italy defensive 5 and Barca still would have beaten them, just an amazing team.

reminds me of jimmy johnstone being interviewed before Celtic - Porto in uefa cup final.
Interviewer, - "if the current celtic team played the Liosbon Lions who would win"
JJ -"it would probably be a draw"
Interviewer - "really Jimmy, are the current team that good".
JJ - "Aye, but sure we're all in our 60's!"

28/05/2009, 10:42 AM
Oh get over yourself Neil. I wanted JOS to do well but as a team - or even as a brand - I vastly prefer Barcelona, simple as that.

I don't like Rio Ferdinand or Wayne Rooney much, Berbatov neither; I think Ronaldo is a cheat and a creep, Despite being a great coach I think Ferguson is pretty unlikeable. I dislike the EPL and I dislike MUFC's ownership structure. Barcelona winning will shut SKY commentators up for a while when it comes to their "EPL is everything" drivel.

I love the way Barcelona play football.

Oh sorry, I'm being treachorous.

Bit OTT there Stutts. All I said was I don't really understand it. Not having a go at anyone, I just don't understand it. Barca are a great footballing team but I do have to say that having been to the Camp Nou a few times, their atmosphere leaves a lot to be desired when at the game.

28/05/2009, 10:56 AM
Oshea got 7 on the metro over here, surprisingly so did ronaldo though, but they were the only 2 everyone got less. Vidic and ferdinand were marked poorly at 5 i think. That sky sports thing is crap in fairness ferdinand was no way a 7. In fairness to oshea not much came down his side, granted that might have been Barcas game plan but I would have thought they would have seen oshea as the weaker link and attacked down there more often. There is no way Evra was better last night.

28/05/2009, 11:05 AM
Yeah I would have O shea as Man Utds best player and then Ronaldo. But not much more than a 6 or a 7 really.

28/05/2009, 11:08 AM
I still love you Neil.

28/05/2009, 11:43 AM
Oshea got 7 on the metro over here, surprisingly so did ronaldo though, but they were the only 2 everyone got less. Vidic and ferdinand were marked poorly at 5 i think. That sky sports thing is crap in fairness ferdinand was no way a 7. In fairness to oshea not much came down his side, granted that might have been Barcas game plan but I would have thought they would have seen oshea as the weaker link and attacked down there more often. There is no way Evra was better last night.

Probably because Henry was not fully fit. They moved Eto'o out wide right which created the space for Inniesta, Xavi and Messi to attack.

Thought both Ferdinand and JOS were equally at fault for second goal.The cross was perfect, but a players of Messi's size should not be allowed to find the space he did between the 2 defenders who were no more that 4/5 yards apart. Both were ball watching and both have a tendency to do it.

I have always thought that Ferdinand is overrated. Looks good coming forward with the ball and passes well. He can also tackle but I think he is poor reader of crosses, particularly the ones from the right hand side, when he is playing on the right of the 2 centre backs and the forward peel off his right shoulder. Has been caught out with this several times for MU and England.

carloz
28/05/2009, 11:46 AM
Think he can hold his head high, was one of Uniteds better performers. Much better than Evra on the other wing.
More ITV bashing here(i watched the match in England), they seemed to hype up every single mistake John made and continously mention it. He got caught out of position once in the first half and about 3 times in barcas attack the commentator mentioned how it stemmed from O'Shea's mistake. I lost count of how many terribl passes both Carrick and Ronney did throughout the match, yet not a word about the from the commentators:rolleyes: