View Full Version : John O'Shea
07/05/2016, 4:03 PM
Sun V Chels
At long last Josh got about 35mins game time as an early sub at the stadium of squeaky bums.
He didn't touch the ball until late in the game, when after some face palm defending he went through the back of Costa to get his foot on the ball, giving away a potential £150m free kick on the edge of the box. After that escape from the firing squad, he made a clean header to clear away a hoofed ball.
TheOneWhoKnocks
15/05/2016, 3:11 PM
At fault again for an opposition goal today. At what point does his form start to become a worry?
I'm more worried about Hazards return to form to be honest!
I don't know when it comes to Josh. Of course his loss of form should be worrying but, to me, it isn't and I think the reason being that he has yet to really let us down in an Ireland shirt.
TheOneWhoKnocks
15/05/2016, 3:23 PM
Has just conceded a penalty, which Watford have scored from. 2-2.
DeLorean
15/05/2016, 4:52 PM
At fault again for an opposition goal today. At what point does his form start to become a worry?
Well it's probably between himself and Keogh to partner Clark at this stage I'd imagine, so I guess you're going to be pretty worried either way.
TheOneWhoKnocks
21/07/2016, 6:22 PM
Given, O'Shea and Keane looking likely to remain unretired.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/john-oshea-set-to-fight-for-world-cup-place-34897939.html
Fixer82
21/07/2016, 11:01 PM
Given, O'Shea and Keane looking likely to remain unretired.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/john-oshea-set-to-fight-for-world-cup-place-34897939.html
It looked at the end of the France game that Keane and Given were waving goodbye.
I'd say O'Neill has convinced them to stick around. Better to have them than not to have them I'd imagine is his philosophy
Colbert Report
22/07/2016, 2:17 AM
Fair play to Robbie Keane if he keeps flying back over to Europe just to sit on the bench! Not sure why Given is sticking around, he's got to be getting close to the end of his club career. O'Shea is definitely needed and I'm glad he's sticking around, he's the only one of the three that will actually play regularly for us in the World Cup qualifiers.
22/07/2016, 8:54 AM
I'm definitely pro JOSH and Robbie (if he wants to) sticking around.
Given has retired in my head since Croatia 2012.
22/07/2016, 11:19 AM
With Shay, this almost amounts to trespassing, probably a ploy by MO'N to exacerbate Westwood's frustration.
How would you get rid of Shay? Ask him to do the chores, to set the cones before training/service the lawnmower/repaint the lines etc?
seanfhear
22/07/2016, 4:37 PM
With Shay, this almost amounts to trespassing, probably a ploy by MO'N to exacerbate Westwood's frustration.
How would you get rid of Shay? Ask him to do the chores, to set the cones before training/service the lawnmower/repaint the lines etc?That would only encourage him !
TheOneWhoKnocks
01/10/2016, 1:09 PM
Starts this afternoon.
Good timing.
Have to say, this legend just keeps getting better and better. Just taken off at Sunderland but has put in another really solid performance that matched his midweek performance. Great to see him continue to perform.
27/03/2017, 6:30 PM
JOSH coming up on Off the Ball on Newstalk in a few minutes
27/03/2017, 6:39 PM
John O'Shea: "I knew Bale was late... Knew it was a bad tackle.... Only looking back at it makes it look worse... Didn't realise the marks til after the match... He apologised, but I'm not 100% what he said."
DeLorean
27/03/2017, 7:46 PM
Ha... and Bale has one of the fancier Welsh accents.
27/03/2017, 8:39 PM
"No to Racism!"
(Why didn't he say it in Welsh?)
28/03/2017, 9:24 AM
And for a man who wasn't expected to be in the starting line up, an excellent performance on Thursday. A much underrated player who has had his critics from the ditch.
28/03/2017, 11:02 AM
And for a man who wasn't expected to be in the starting line up, an excellent performance on Thursday. A much underrated player who has had his critics from the ditch.
He was even better on Friday!
28/03/2017, 1:35 PM
He was even better on Friday!
You didn't see him in training on the Thursday :-) ~ Only 3 goals in his 116 caps which makes that late German equaliser all the more amazing. Perhaps, as goals, as opposed to the results, my most exultant moment at a game following Ireland.
30/03/2017, 8:14 PM
Definitely one of the best
KrisLetang
30/03/2017, 8:25 PM
my most exultant moment at a game following Ireland.
I thought it was that Jimmy Dunne goal vs Danzig in 1932 on your tenth birthday?
31/03/2017, 5:22 PM
I thought it was that Jimmy Dunne goal vs Danzig in 1932 on your tenth birthday?
I remember it well. It was a triangular tournament between the Sudetenland, Danzig and ourselves. There was a lot of controversy over that tournament and whether we should attend but the FAI reckoned that Hitler had no interest in these places so we went. The FAI Officials co-incidentally were presented with a load of gold fillings - no one was sure where they came from but they didn't seem to mind. The game against the Sudetenland was a dull affair with chances at a premium with both defences being of Maginot like strength but that didn't bother Jimmy Dunne who was playing for Sheffield United at the time. He thought all the red and white flags in the ground were Blades' flags and was excited to be playing in front of 345 people which was a big crowd for him. The game ended in a dour 0-0 but we saw the highlights of the game on Pathe News 6 months later and we were unlucky to have a goal disallowed for offside by an Austrian linesman. Dunne was on fire for the game against Danzig, as he had been mistaken for a Jew by the local SA and fire-bombed, but this didn't bother him and he scored the winner, as you know, in a 5-4 goalfest. Hitler was at the game and declared that Danzig and Sudetenland had let down the German people and that he would have to incorporate them in to the Reich. The FAI officials on the other hand were not at the game but were last seen heading off arm in arm with Lily Marlene singing "Wir fahren gegen Engeland". We lost the tournament on goal average to Sudetenland.
KrisLetang
31/03/2017, 5:52 PM
Nigel-Harps told me they used a sheep's bladder for the ball and smoked from pipes at halftime.
Eminence Grise
31/03/2017, 8:27 PM
Inspired, OwlsFan.
03/04/2017, 9:15 AM
Nigel-Harps told me they used a sheep's bladder for the ball and smoked from pipes at halftime.
Nigel-Harps was at the game I believe
DeLorean
09/04/2017, 12:34 PM
O'Shea misses today's game against Manchester United due to the death of his father, Jim.
http://www.thesun.ie/news/832474/republic-of-ireland-footballer-john-osheas-father-jim-laid-to-rest/amp/
TheOneWhoKnocks
09/04/2017, 5:34 PM
He raised a good lad.
Diggs246
09/05/2017, 4:35 AM
I think I would prefer O'Shea to slot into right back ahead of Cyrus for the Austria game. I know he is better at CB but we are were we are.
DannyInvincible
14/05/2017, 10:00 AM
After Sunderland's 2-0 home loss to Swansea, O'Shea came in for some heavy criticism on 'MOTD' last night: https://www.balls.ie/football/ian-wright-alan-shearer-eviscerate-pathetic-john-oshea-match-day-364971
O'Shea gets himself all over the place. You see David Moyes blaming the 'keeper, but how can you blame the 'keeper with them two [Koné and O'Shea] playing in front of him all season?
O'Shea had a terrible game. He plays the ball to Manquillo...just look at this here. I'm sorry, but that is just pathetic. Moaning at the referee, loses a tackle, nothing to get back at all.
14/05/2017, 3:35 PM
In fairness the criticism in that second quote was all about Manquillo. I don't think O'Shea did much wrong in that incident.
DeLorean
14/05/2017, 3:43 PM
And the first quote is from Ian Wright so, as I see it, Sheasy is completely off the hook.
seanfhear
14/05/2017, 6:35 PM
After Sunderland's 2-0 home loss to Swansea, O'Shea came in for some heavy criticism on 'MOTD' last night: https://www.balls.ie/football/ian-wright-alan-shearer-eviscerate-pathetic-john-oshea-match-day-364971Its times like that......That I am sure John O'Shea would be glad if he had given those two a good dig when he played against them....
TheOneWhoKnocks
03/06/2017, 2:21 PM
Could be moving to Wolves.
https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/world-cup-is-key-to-oshea-club-decision-7zwkg5m30
Wanted by four teams but would rather stay at Sunderland.
http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/john-oshea-hoping-stay-sunderland-13133033
released by sunderland
https://www.premierleague.com/news/414631
DeLorean
03/07/2017, 5:53 PM
Surprised this hasn't been mentioned but O'Shea got a new one year deal at Sunderland. Grayson seems to really look after Irish lads! - https://www.safc.com/news/team-news/2017/june/oshea-pens-new-deal
22/01/2018, 5:09 PM
Nice to see O'Shea in the EFL Team of the Week. Apart from Hogan a few other Irish sounding names there but none seems to have a connection to Ireland: https://www.efl.com/news/2018/january/team-of-the-week-matchday-28/?utm_source=emailmarketing&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=efl_roundup_22012018&utm_content=2018-01-22
09/05/2018, 5:18 PM
http://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/an-open-letter-to-ireland-supporters-from-john-oshea
Class Act
seanfhear
09/05/2018, 6:23 PM
http://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/an-open-letter-to-ireland-supporters-from-john-oshea
Class ActLovely letter . Thanks Big Fella .
01/06/2018, 4:16 PM
Those going, please pass on my heart felt congratulations to John O'Shea on his retirement. Alas, I can't make it for personal reasons.
One of the many who wore his jersey with consummate pride and thanks, thanks, thanks, thanks, thanks, thanks, and even more thanks for that 4th minute injury time goal in Veltins-Arena, Gelsenkirchen. That one I'll remember forever.
irishfan86
06/06/2018, 6:02 PM
O'Shea signs a one-year deal with Reading. Good luck to him:
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/44361289
06/06/2018, 6:37 PM
Slightly surprised by that to be honest - effectively a move up a division*, which I didn't expect at his age.
Anyways, yeah, best of luck to him with it.
* - ok, it's also a move up four places in the league, but still.
07/06/2018, 11:50 AM
Hopefully he and Meyler will knock some sense into Kelly!
Olé Olé
03/08/2018, 7:35 PM
John starts on the bench for Reading tonight in the opening game of the Championship as they host Derby. Meyler and Kelly partner in midfield, while McShane is at the back for Reading. Keogh starts at the back for Derby with Pearce on the bench.
Appointed as first team coach for Stoke City. Not sure what this means for his current role at the FAI.
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/62265586
joey B
23/07/2022, 6:00 PM
Appointed as first team coach for Stoke City. Not sure what this means for his current role at the FAI.
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/62265586
https://punditarena.com/football/james-fenton/john-oshea-stoke-city-coaching-staff/
Combining role according to this…
Moves from the U21s to the senior set up. FAI playing it safe perhaps and not looking towards an outside appointment who could walk in the summer or the fact Kenny could be out of a job in the summer.
Eirambler
22/02/2023, 10:06 AM
Doesn't sound like the FAI were willing to commit to anything long term given it's ended up being O'Shea. Tells its own story I think.
22/02/2023, 10:06 AM
That’s disappointing. No disrespect to JoSH but there has been talk of a new coach coming in since last summer, the announcement of which was put off more than once. Was expecting somebody with a proven coaching experience to come in, and not an internal promotion.
Eirambler
22/02/2023, 10:15 AM
Would have been a hard sell to get someone external who is rated to come in in the circumstances I think, even if the FAI were willing to fund it.