View Full Version : John O'Shea
Fergie's Son
09/04/2006, 9:00 PM
Pleat had some more interesting comments today. He noted that while Ferguson will buy a big-name midfielder in the summer that he would not be surprised to see O'Shea keep his place.
O'Shea was good in the air today and he didn't seem to be afraid of the ball like he has been in the past.
Given United's current run of form (9 wins in a row) with O'Shea in the team or in central midfield, I can see Ferguson having some tough decisions to make.
Also, United play a lot of games so having two established center midfielders would make sense.
09/04/2006, 9:40 PM
Good thread. I think it is time to reassess John O'Shea. He has had a good run of games in the one position, a position that he actually seems suited to. Prior to the friendly against Sweden, Graham Kavanagh would have been my first choice midfielder. However, now he is behind Reid and O'Shea in the pecking order. I was very impressed by the partnership of Reid and O'Shea that night. When one player went forward, the other was quick to cover. They complimented each other very well. Ireland completely bossed the midfield against Sweden that night, something I haven't seen them do in a while. Reid and O'Shea give us a physical presence we haven't had in a long time. I often felt during the Kinsella/Holland years that our midfield was slow in supporting the front pair. However, against Sweden, the midfield was very quick in pressing the opposition and getting forward when a long ball was played. When Kavanagh came on for the second half, it was actually noticeable how the tempo of our game dropped, although this may have been a result of the various changes made.
I know we shouldn't judge the O'Shea- Reid partnership on one game, but I think it offers great potential. They provide us with a great physical presence and athleticism in midfield, as well as being quite young. I think this is Staunton's first choice pairing and I expect him to persist with them.
O'Shea has put in some good performances for United recently. I still expect Ferguson to buy a big-name midfielder this season, but at least he now knows what O'Shea is capable of playing in the midfield. For that reason, he may now consider O'Shea as a midfield player, as opposed to a utility player.
Maybe my memory is fading, but my recollection of that game was that O'Shea was the poorest of the Irish players that night. Wasn't he replaced by Kavanagh just after half-time? and wasn't it only after Kavanagh and Miller (who replaced Joey O'Brien after about an hour) came on that we really got a grip on midlfield. Reid was excellent that night no argument, but JOS was not impressive at all that night.
09/04/2006, 10:39 PM
Statistically O'Shea is currently the 14th best player in the Prem, and Man U's
5th best player and best central midfielder by some way so I doubt very much
he will replaced in the Summer. His future with Ireland would seem to be
as a central midfielder however if you are going to play both Kavanagh and
Reid you might want to play him elsewhere although you could play Reid
on the right wing. I guess it depends on how you want to shuffle the pack.
CraftyToePoke
09/04/2006, 10:56 PM
you could play Reid
on the right wing. I guess it depends on how you want to shuffle the pack.
i dont think its any coincidence that Reids recent return to form has coincided with an extended run in the middle at blackburn, so id be slow to move him, i think his attributes suit a more central role better.
TheJamaicanP.M.
09/04/2006, 11:21 PM
Maybe my memory is fading, but my recollection of that game was that O'Shea was the poorest of the Irish players that night. Wasn't he replaced by Kavanagh just after half-time? and wasn't it only after Kavanagh and Miller (who replaced Joey O'Brien after about an hour) came on that we really got a grip on midlfield. Reid was excellent that night no argument, but JOS was not impressive at all that night.
Fair point you make. I just felt that O'Shea was quietly effective that night. While his performance was eclipsed by that of Duff, Keane, Dunne and Reid, he put in some good tackles and his distribution was good. When I heard before the game that he had been selected ahead of Kavanagh, I was a bit annoyed. All I could remember was the cowardly performance O'Shea had put in against Switzerland in October. His first meaningful touch of the ball that night came after 27 minutes. In contrast, I felt his performance against Sweden was assured and he complemented Reid nicely. Although we scored twice in the second half with Kav and Miller in midfield, these goals were scored on the break. I thought we didn't boss the midfield as much in the second half.
TheJamaicanP.M.
09/04/2006, 11:22 PM
i dont think its any coincidence that Reids recent return to form has coincided with an extended run in the middle at blackburn, so id be slow to move him, i think his attributes suit a more central role better.
Exactly. Reid is constrained when he plays on the right wing. He is better employed in central midfield.
Karlos
10/04/2006, 2:39 AM
i think your looking at it from the wrong perspective. What is happening with O'Shea at the moment is nothing short of sensational. He has gone from being a player lambasted by many on this board to one who has just kept one of the on form midfielders in Europe (Fabregas), quiet.
I've actually always been a fan of O'Shea and feel he get's some unjustified critisicm. Today however, i thought he had a decent game, nothing more. I would also disagree that he kept Fabregas quiet. For the first 25 minutes, he couldn't get close to him to even foul him and his touch and passing during that spell was shocking. United's dominance at home from the second half on was predictable after Arsenal failed to convert their early chances of which Fabregas was clearly instrumental in creating. ;)
I do think O'Shea has a future at centre midfield for us and I would consider it his best position at present however, I would hope for a more dominant display over 90 minutes while playing for Ireland than the decent 65 minutes I witnessed today. :)
10/04/2006, 6:09 AM
John O'Shea's problem is one which is reflected across the Premiership. He cannot defend. He is not alone in this, Danny Mills springs to mind. His redeeming quality is that not being able to defend is not the only string he has to his bow. As his recent midfield performances have revealed. Well done Boy !
10/04/2006, 8:06 AM
O'Shea deserves credit for his recent run. Last week The Times gave him 8/10 for his performance against Bolton and his run of games in midfield has coincided with Championship winning form by MUFC so he must be doing something right.
He doesn't have that instinctive awareness that players like Fabregas or Alonso have, and Graham Kavangah is a far more natural central midfielder. But he is still capable of playing good uncomplicated passes and with both feet. I think it's notable that when he's not confined to the touchline his distribution is much better. He's got a decent touch and is mobile & athletic.
I don't think Steven Reid should be considered as an option for RHM as he's playing so well in CM for Blackburn. Reid has been what we've been crying out for since Japan in my opinion. I think O'Shea and Reid should be given more time together in CM for Ireland.
I also think there's a knee-jerk reaction to critcise O'Shea at all possible opportunity and not to give him credit when he deserves it. I thought he did OK against Sweden, nothing special but nothing calamitous either. I thought young Joey O'Brien looked pretty ropey at times and yet his debut was met with quite a fanfare on this board. I think O'Brien's a star in the making but I think the contrasting comment on their respective performances against Sweden spoke volumes.
I think O'Shea's got a way to go to establish himself as a central midfielder we can rely on, but he's been doing pretty well so far. That's all he can do.
FarBeag
10/04/2006, 8:25 AM
I hate to be so pessimistic when it comes to jos. I know that he is playing well at present but so are all the Man U players, so confidence is obviously very high in the camp.I watched him come through the youth scene and he showed great potential but has not shown this form since.He is defo playing better football but I wont hold my breath until I see more consistently when he does it week in week out with club and country.I really hope for Irelands sake and his own that he pulls it off though.
as_i_say
10/04/2006, 8:29 AM
Agree with OBrien against Sweden, was a bag o nerves, but so far JOS has been one of those irish players that unusually does it for club but not for country. normally its the other way round but lets hope this run can inspire him to do the business for éire.
youngirish
10/04/2006, 9:18 AM
I hate to be so pessimistic when it comes to jos. I know that he is playing well at present but so are all the Man U players, so confidence is obviously very high in the camp.I watched him come through the youth scene and he showed great potential but has not shown this form since.He is defo playing better football but I wont hold my breath until I see more consistently when he does it week in week out with club and country.I really hope for Irelands sake and his own that he pulls it off though.
Farbag you're being realistic. JOS is not a central midfield player, he is only filling in a gap until the summer when Ferguson will go out and buy a decent holding player. I'd hate to see JOS being employed regularly there for Ireland (it was bad enough seeing him at left back). He could really f**k things up in central midfield. What can he do? He doesn't offer a gold threat, has no shooting ability, can't pass the ball, can't run at the opposition. He's a very limited player and if Stan sticks with him as Kerr did I see another fruitless two years.
For the moment I'd play Kavanagh and S Reid. Maybe even bring on fat A Reid and stick him in the centre if we need some creativity (though he needs to start getting a few games first). Hopefully Ireland or J O'Brien (or even Garvan) will progress enough early next season to help make JOS a distant memory in the Ireland team.
10/04/2006, 12:55 PM
Hopefully Ireland or J O'Brien (or even Garvan) will progress enough early next season to help make JOS a distant memory in the Ireland team.
what a load of nonsense. we have very few players playing at the highest level for their clubs and yet you never want to see one of the few we have who is playing at the top of his game for a team at the top of their game playing for Ireland again?!!
would love to know the reasons why
10/04/2006, 3:18 PM
I hate to be so pessimistic when it comes ....... hope for Irelands sake and his own that he pulls it off though.
This is probably the best post of the last few pages on this thread. He has been consistently disappointing for Ireland over the past two campaigns for Ireland, of that I think most people would acknowledge. Perhaps its been his lack of agression that we dislike, I dunno. But it has always been obvious that he has talent, but it would seem to me anyway that his career, up until Keane's recent comments;) , had stagnated.
The upshot is that he seems to have caught on to himself and his recent form suggests so. If he can put in a season's worth and carry this form onto the Irish games then happy days ; until this happens he will still have it all to prove.
Either way Stephen Reid is #1 choice for Central Midfield.
10/04/2006, 3:30 PM
what a load of nonsense. we have very few players playing at the highest level for their clubs and yet you never want to see one of the few we have who is playing at the top of his game for a team at the top of their game playing for Ireland again?!!
Thought that would have been obvious. JOS has had several impressive spells with MU, but he has not has ONE impressive game for us YET. I dont give a fiddler's f**k how well he plays for MU, I am only interested in how well he plays for Ireland.
There is no doubt the boy has talent but it is frustrating to see him regularly play well for his club and then to produce quite frankly what have been embarrassing displays for us (v Switzerland in Basle 2003, v Cyprus in Nicosia 2005, although he wasnt the only one, and v Switzerland in Dublin 2005, as examples).
I want to see him do well for us. I hope he has two blinders against Chile and Holland in CM, in which case he will have earned his place in CM against Germany. I believe Staunton will not play him as a LB or CH if he is not playing there and playing well in either of those positions for MU. I think even Ferguson has decided that he will only play him there in an emergency because he simply cannot defend.
If he continues to play well for MU and continues to disappoint for us, how long should Staunton persevere him? Not too long, IMHO.
10/04/2006, 3:59 PM
O'Shea was muck against Switzerland that night but picking both he & Holland together in a game we had to win was madness. It was like picking Ray Wilkins twice.
Nobody's getting carried away but it's fair to point out that his form in CM for United has been decent (not excellent, but not crap either) and that wouldn't it be great if he could develop into a reliable central midfielder for Ireland.
As far as I'm concerned I'm only marking his Ireland card from the Sweden game onwards. His left-back chapter is closed. O'Shea & Holland as a pairing was never going to work - they're both similar, cautious players without any penetration. At least OI'Shea has now been playing there for United. He didn't do much of note against Sweden though I'd agree with JPM when he said that Reid & he dovetailed well.
Steve Reid is the undisputed no. 1 choice for midfield in my opinion, so who partners him? Andy Reid could do a job there if he was fit & playing regularly (how likely does that look at the moment?), while Miller & Douglas are playing in the Championship and not with any great success recently. Alan Quinn's been injured and was dropped anyway before that. Stephen Ireland is a bright prospect but only a kid, likewise Garvan. Kilbane in CM? Yikes.
Much as I like Kavanagh he's yet to put in a quality performance for Ireland and even Steven Reid has yet to play a big competitive game for us.
Based on this I'd say O'Shea's claim to a CM place is at least as good as any other candidate, and better than most. It'll be up to Stan to get it sorted by Germany & it's quite a tough ask. I hope Miller & Douglas both get to play in the PL next year.
10/04/2006, 4:08 PM
Thought that would have been obvious. JOS has had several impressive spells with MU, but he has not has ONE impressive game for us YET. I dont give a fiddler's f**k how well he plays for MU, I am only interested in how well he plays for Ireland.
There is no doubt the boy has talent but it is frustrating to see him regularly play well for his club and then to produce quite frankly what have been embarrassing displays for us (v Switzerland in Basle 2003, v Cyprus in Nicosia 2005, although he wasnt the only one, and v Switzerland in Dublin 2005, as examples).
I want to see him do well for us. I hope he has two blinders against Chile and Holland in CM, in which case he will have earned his place in CM against Germany. I believe Staunton will not play him as a LB or CH if he is not playing there and playing well in either of those positions for MU. I think even Ferguson has decided that he will only play him there in an emergency because he simply cannot defend.
If he continues to play well for MU and continues to disappoint for us, how long should Staunton persevere him? Not too long, IMHO.
I too was disappointed with some of his previous performances but some of the criticism of him is well over the top. to say that he should never play for Ireland again, particularly at a time when he is playing so well, is ridiculous beyond words.
youngirish
10/04/2006, 5:19 PM
Have you ever watched O'Shea play? The top of his game? What are you talking about? He'll be dropped next season. Tell me what he'd bring to an Ireland team playing in central midfield. I've explained his limitations as a footballer. Why not hold out some hope that some of our younger players will be better? Let's be honest they could hardly be any worse for Ireland.
O'Shea has had his chance for far too long at International football and proved he can't hack it. How long more do the Man U supporters want us to stick with him? How many more tournaments should we miss by playing this liability?
People seem to think because O'Shea is playing for United he should be automatically guaranteed a starting place in the Ireland team. I think that's bo**ox. Would we give Gary Neville or Darren Fletcher a game also if they were Irish? I hope not.
10/04/2006, 5:32 PM
I too was disappointed with some of his previous performances but some of the criticism of him is well over the top. to say that he should never play for Ireland again, particularly at a time when he is playing so well, is ridiculous beyond words.
I certainly have never said he should never play for Ireland again. However we cannot afford to have him in the team just on his MU reputation alone, he has got to start performing for us.
Just as a matter of interest how many more 'mediocre' games do you think he should be given before he is left out? If he played poorly against both Chile and Holland should he be picked for the Germany game?
10/04/2006, 6:00 PM
Have you ever watched O'Shea play? The top of his game? What are you talking about? He'll be dropped next season. Tell me what he'd bring to an Ireland team playing in central midfield. I've explained his limitations as a footballer. Why not hold out some hope that some of our younger players will be better? Let's be honest they could hardly be any worse for Ireland.
O'Shea has had his chance for far too long at International football and proved he can't hack it. How long more do the Man U supporters want us to stick with him? How many more tournaments should we miss by playing this liability?
People seem to think because O'Shea is playing for United he should be automatically guaranteed a starting place in the Ireland team. I think that's bo**ox. Would we give Gary Neville or Darren Fletcher a game also if they were Irish? I hope not.
i may be wrong but i get a strong whiff of an abu here. please dont bring your english football allegences / hatred to an Irish football discussion forum
livehead1
10/04/2006, 6:26 PM
you my friend, are a joke. neville is one of the best right backs in europe, and has proved it year after year.
TheJamaicanP.M.
10/04/2006, 6:37 PM
you my friend, are a joke. neville is one of the best right backs in europe, and has proved it year after year.
Agree fully livehead. Gary Neville is an outstanding leader and it is quite evident that United's form has improved since his return to the team in recent months. As for Darren Fletcher, he could do a job for us in that troublesome position on the right side of midfield.
Fergie's Son
10/04/2006, 6:41 PM
So it doesn't matter that O'Shea has gotten his game in a team that has won 9 games in a row?
Ok then.
And I'd be delighted to have either Neville in the Irish squad.
Paddy Garcia
10/04/2006, 7:43 PM
There must be a surplus of central midfield talent if we can afford to ignore players playing with top premiership teams & in MU's case a European force (OK maybe just). Other than Reid and O'Shea, I don't see too many contenders today.
10/04/2006, 8:19 PM
i may be wrong but i get a strong whiff of an abu here. please dont bring your english football allegences / hatred to an Irish football discussion forum
So it doesn't matter that O'Shea has gotten his game in a team that has won 9 games in a row?....
There must be a surplus of central midfield talent if we can afford to ignore players playing with top premiership teams & in MU's case a European force (OK maybe just). Other than Reid and O'Shea, I don't see too many contenders today.
This has nothing to do with JOS or anyone else playing for MU. It is about JOS playing for Ireland. He could be playing his club football with Barcelona, Real Madrid or Waterford and could be European or World Footballer of the Year with his club, but it is his form for Ireland that I and many others question. All I want to know is (a) if he is going to do it for Ireland and (b) if so, when. We can't afford to wait forever and his chances are running out.
11/04/2006, 9:48 AM
In all fairness, nobody said ignore him. Playing for this Man Utd team doesn't make him an automatic first team player for Ireland. I'd feel a lot less nervous with a few other players in midfield than O'Shea against Germany. He still has a lot to prove.
11/04/2006, 10:01 AM
There must be a surplus of central midfield talent if we can afford to ignore players playing with top premiership teams & in MU's case a European force (OK maybe just). Other than Reid and O'Shea, I don't see too many contenders today.That's be my view too.
Getting central midfield sorted is the biggest near term challenge facing Staunton I reckon. Let's face it, all our CM options are speculative. Reid looks the part but has barely played international football for ages, Kavanagh's yet to show he can cut it as an international, the likes of Miller & Douglas have yet to show they can cut it even at a decent club level. Ditto Alan Quinn. Andy Reid needs to recover from injury & establish himself at Spurs, Joey O'Brien doesn't play CM for Bolton, Glenn Whelan has talent but needs to step his game up a few notches, and so on.
I'd expect that Garvan and Ireland will be good enough in due course, but I reckon it'll be towards the end of Euro 2008 qualifying before they're likely to be considered first choice (maybe later in Garvan's case).
Hopefully the Chile & Holland games will clarify the picture one way or the other. On the basis of his club form I think O'Shea deserves to be tested but we don't have much time to get it right.
11/04/2006, 10:10 AM
In all fairness, nobody said ignore him. Playing for this Man Utd team doesn't make him an automatic first team player for Ireland. I'd feel a lot less nervous with a few other players in midfield than O'Shea against Germany. He still has a lot to prove.
I'd feel nervous about any of the midfield contenders as I think they ALL have a lot to prove.
I think Steven Reid will be the key.
His atleticism will be required to cover up potential weaknesses in whoever partners him. If he does his job well it could just allow the more creative players to do something. Maybe one of the young bucks will step up and take to the task, but it's more of a hope than an expectation for me.
youngirish
11/04/2006, 10:32 AM
United supporter by any chance or do you just have no general clue about football? Gary Neville is nowhere near one of the best right backs in Europe.
The following are all better right backs:
Finnan
Thuram
Puyol
Cafu (if your talking about players playing in Europe)
Zanetti (see above)
Sagnol
Ferreira
Lauren
Gallas (when he plays there)
That's off the top of my head. I'm sure I could think of a few more. You my friend are a muppet. Stop believing what you read in the English tabloids and watch a few games. I'd imagine you'd play Neville instead of Finnan then? Thank f**k your not picking the Irish team.
11/04/2006, 11:19 AM
youngirish - As PP says, attack the post, not the poster. If you posted that kind of post on other forums and you'd probably be getting a banning so consider yourself warned. There's no point in it.
Anyway, I too believe Gary Neville is an excellent right back.
livehead1
11/04/2006, 11:48 AM
United supporter by any chance or do you just have no general clue about football? Gary Neville is nowhere near one of the best right backs in Europe.
The following are all better right backs:
Finnan
Thuram
Puyol
Cafu (if your talking about players playing in Europe)
Zanetti (see above)
Sagnol
Ferreira
Lauren
Gallas (when he plays there)
That's off the top of my head. I'm sure I could think of a few more. You my friend are a muppet. Stop believing what you read in the English tabloids and watch a few games. I'd imagine you'd play Neville instead of Finnan then? Thank f**k your not picking the Irish team.
don't really like man utd. i read the times daily actually, their football supplement is also quite good. As far as i was aware the english tabloids pretty much slate neville but i find it difficult to ignore a man with 70 odd international caps, a number of premiership titles, a champions league winners medal, and captain of one of the biggest clubs in the world. In amongst the cr*p you wrote you have actually accidently produced a very valid question, who would play neville or finnan? i would go with Neville as he's more experienced but i think i would play finnan on the right of midfield as he is a solid player.
However, in regards to watching 'a few games', i happened to see the united arsenal game and noted one point in the game where neville came across to clear out the danger in the box when a shot seemed certain. His position and reading of the game was superb.
11/04/2006, 12:04 PM
For what it's worth I rate Neville too, but he's not as good as Finnan in my opinion. I think Finnan is that bit more cultured a footballer. I think Neville being such an opinionated so-and-so disguises his abilities as a player. Full back isn't a position for flash gits & Neville does his job very effectively. His brother is a different story altogether though.
as_i_say
11/04/2006, 12:04 PM
O'Shea should be given a chance in CM for Ireland cos we just dont have anyone else. I think on form Stephen Reid is a starter, but who else would be picked beside him if there was a match tomorrow? Kavanagh? no way. Liam Miller, Johnathan douglas-any other center mids spring to mind?
OShea has been poor for Ireland, very poor, but hasnt been given a proper chance in center mid-lets see if he takes that chance.
colster
11/04/2006, 1:40 PM
I think the O'Shea and Reid partnership has potential. They are both big, athletic, good tacklers and decent passers of the ball.
Kavanagh? no way. .
Kav is an excellent player IMO - just look at Wigans results when hes been missing.
Agree with you on O'Shea - he deserves another chance in CM for Ireland - we have a very small pool of players and are not in a position to write anybody off
Reality Bites
10/10/2006, 4:02 PM
John O'Shea reckons when he puts on the Green Jersey - He feels 10 feet tall.. or so goes the add break on TV3 on saturday during match coverage..
Personally I thought you looked disinterested John on Saturday, You really did want to get back to your Plush gaff in some posh Manchester Suburb, your nice Car and various Luxuries..Wearing the Green is a necessay inconvenience to you, hell it comes with the Job and sure you can have a bit of craic with Robbie and the lads in the pub or nightclub afterwards before tipping back to Sir Alex and the Day Job..John O'Shea is typical of the Rot in Modern footballers not just Irish but a major culture of greed has developed in the morally corrupt premiership. Player like John don't care anymore they are minted and have lost their drive at a young age. We the Fans can only look on in Horror..John as an Irish Fan watching you preform was embarassing made me and many an Irish Fan feel an inch high..
10/10/2006, 4:18 PM
i love your posts reality bites.
"You can't but wonder about the competitive hardness of players who earn more in a week that many white collar workers earn in year.
What exactly is their motivation in playing international football? Do they really want to be in Dublin this week?
What connection do they feel for the supporters, beyond the swift, trademark gesture at a final whistle? "
can the next person that meets him give him the almightiest kick in the arse. something tells me he might like it though.
10/10/2006, 7:53 PM
I heard he admitted to his mates in Waterford that Ireland doesn't matter to him anywhere near as much as United.
Cheap shot, rumour or whatever. It's what I heard from someone in Waterford.
DeNiro
10/10/2006, 7:58 PM
I heard he admitted to his mates in Waterford that Ireland doesn't matter to him anywhere near as much as United.
Cheap shot, rumour or whatever. It's what I heard from someone in Waterford.
Yeh, you're not wrong Stuttgart. I've heard the same. He's the most self-indulgent, over-rated, talentless player we've ever bought into. Think of all those players we thought were average, Gary Waddock, Alan McLoughlin, David Kelly, Jeff Kenna. When you compare them to O'Shea they are heroes.
10/10/2006, 8:19 PM
Ireland might mean a little more to him when Fergie dumps the talentless ass at the end of the season when he buys Hargreaves. Biggest waste of space at Man Utd since Bosnich and look at that fatty now......
nedder
10/10/2006, 8:21 PM
Yeh, you're not wrong Stuttgart. I've heard the same.
what, you heard the same romour?? So what?
I said it before, John O'Shea is sometimes an easy target.
Honestly, if he was not that much 'into' playing for his country, do you think he'd keep turning up to take all the abuse he gets from his own fans?
citizenerased
10/10/2006, 11:26 PM
no he is a disgrace, another shambolic and lethargic display for a major disappointment of a player once hailed as our next great white hope
brine3
10/10/2006, 11:26 PM
we should stop building him up to be something that he's not. ok, so he's not going to be the world class centre-back he was billed to be, but he can still be a useful player.
greendeiseboy
11/10/2006, 7:51 AM
i'm also from waterford like o'shea and happen to agree like a lot of other people down here that he is over rated but would disagree with the the point that he is ambivalent towards playing for us - how many times has he withdrawn from squads (not as much as we'd like him to). But give him a break on that note. Also i have never heard that rumour and i know a lot of his friends here.
11/10/2006, 8:17 AM
I've always defended him a little. I always think he's not as bad as people make out but that's not to say he hasn't had shockers for us. He still has the odd decent game for his club but has never brought that form with him to the International stage.
One thing that doesn't help is the constant groaning and occasional abuse when he gets the on ball. I'm all for having a whinge after the fact but hate to see a player get abuse off his own fans no matter how bad they get. C'mon, you don't think it helps him do you?
eighties mullet
11/10/2006, 9:18 AM
he has never had anything but a shocker in an irish shirt,
he's a complete disgrace, does he even watch the replays of the
match at all, if i was him i'd pack it in
an_ceannaire
16/11/2006, 1:10 PM
Was i hearing things or was JOS booed everytime he touched the ball last night?
Now there is no doubting that JOS is rubbish, a liability, but do we really want to resort to that level of britishness?
But then, maybe its a wake up call he needs??
He wouldnt make the Shamrock Rovers team these days, really cant understand what anyone sees in him
16/11/2006, 1:12 PM
I didn't notice it on the box anyway but I'd hate for anyone to do that to one of our own players regardless of how sh!te they are.
16/11/2006, 1:14 PM
I was saying Boo urns.
After he had his legendary shot (last of the famous Lansdowne international memories?) lots of people started shouting "SHOOT!" every time he got the ball. Think some people thought this was booing and joined in enthusiastically:eek:
an_ceannaire
16/11/2006, 1:16 PM
The "shoot" theory was put forward by V Hogan in the Indo today but i noticed it way before the "shot" and it was vaugely mentioned on the radio this morning also that he was getting booed by his own fans..........