View Full Version : Sean St. Ledger
gastric
06/08/2014, 11:16 AM
Robins seems interested in signing SSL. Hopefully he can pass a medical and get some regular football. We really need him back and playing.
http://www.examiner.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/sean-st-ledger-huddersfield-town-7570721
gastric
10/08/2014, 9:21 AM
Bloody bad news for St Ledger with Mark Robins gone. Who might sign him now?
http://www.huddersfield.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=366066
10/08/2014, 10:39 PM
On the plus side, good news for St Ledger with the way Huddersfield defended on Saturday.
gastric
09/09/2014, 11:38 PM
Might SSL join Blackpool if Robins takes over as he was going to sign him for Huddersfield before his departure and Blackpool need players? It will certainly be a roll coaster ride if he did join them, it's become a club where anything is possible.
http://www.dailystar.co.uk/sport/football/398952/Blackpool-line-up-Mark-Robbins-to-replace-Jose-Riga
09/09/2014, 11:40 PM
Dunno, Blackpool seem to be looking for cheap players. If Sledge is fit, he's a top-end Championship player and Blackpool won't pay the wages that calls for.
gastric
09/09/2014, 11:51 PM
Dunno, Blackpool seem to be looking for cheap players. If Sledge is fit, he's a top-end Championship player and Blackpool won't pay the wages that calls for.
While I agree, beggars can't be choosers! He must be getting more and more worried about his future. Time will tell.
09/09/2014, 11:52 PM
He seems to be enjoying himself in Athens. Maybe he'll come in here to update us on his progress. He'd be a super player in a lot of European leagues if he was to take the leap.
TheOneWhoKnocks
12/09/2014, 9:50 AM
http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/article/2014/09/10/transfer-watch-irish-international-sean-st-ledger-says-hes-gotten-few-sniffs
He's interested in a move to the MLS.
12/09/2014, 3:38 PM
http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/article/2014/09/10/transfer-watch-irish-international-sean-st-ledger-says-hes-gotten-few-sniffs
The Herald article mentioned in the above link.
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/mls-on-radar-for-st-ledger-30574078.html
DeLorean
12/09/2014, 4:04 PM
Hopefully something falls into place for him. He way too competent a player to remain in limbo.
23/10/2014, 12:25 PM
Sean's making the best of his sabbatical from the game.
Sean St Ledger (https://twitter.com/seanstledger12) retweeted
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/418676992553127936/IVgbMXYy_bigger.jpegNando's @NandosUK (https://twitter.com/NandosUK) 2h2 hours ago (https://twitter.com/NandosUK/status/525228041887559680)
Experience the magic that is our new Toffee Apple Fro Yo! https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v1/72x72/1f383.png
DannyInvincible
11/11/2014, 9:07 PM
'The Fall Of Sean St. Ledger, the Irish Defender Who Was a Potential Superstar': http://worldsoccertalk.com/2014/11/11/the-fall-of-potential-superstar-defender-sean-st-ledger/#ekkJU0XUylMH8sdw.99
St. Ledger took part in reality TV show called Big Ron Manager back in 2006 and this left his reputation in tatters. The show portrayed St. Ledger as the classic egotistical footballer who only cared about money and fame. It was while he was at Peterborough and Ron Atkinson came into the club to help their promotion push from League Two, with the cameras having access to all areas. This really damaged St. Ledger’s name and it also meant that the big teams that had looked at him ended their interest. He was shown complaining about extra training and being played out of position, not to mention a dressing room bust-up with manager Steve Bleasdale. Sean has come out publicly in recent years stating that he has “grown up and matured” but also recognizes that he still hasn’t gotten rid of the bad boy tag as of yet.
High wage demands have been reported as another problem for the 29-year-old. At his previous club, Leicester City, he was rumored to be on just over £11,000 a week. This is considerably high wages for an injury prone defender who’s played just 10 league games over the last two seasons. It seems as if his previous wages cannot be matched by any of the clubs interested in him, and this is another reason why he is still a free agent almost half-way through the season.
Some are questioning whether he actually has the desire to play football anymore. He has sat on the bench for the majority of the last two years for club and country. He is now taking holiday after holiday, as seen on his Twitter and Instagram and it seems as if he’s almost given up hope on getting back to his previous best. Despite these exotic holidays, he still has been keeping up to date with events in the football world. He has been seen tweeting about the League of Ireland and suggested on more than one occasion that he would be open to a move there. Although it is a poor standard in comparison to the Premier League, it would be a new beginning and it does offer Champions League and Europa League football with certain clubs. He wouldn’t be the first big time Irish footballer to make this move to League of Ireland. Ex-Birmingham and Ireland midfielder Keith Fahey moved back to St. Patricks Athletic and also ex-Celtic, Sunderland and Ipswich Town player Colin Healy returned to his native Cork City in 2012.
A player of his ability shouldn’t waste potentially the best years of his career. The next year is pivotal for St. Ledger and the Irish media will be intrigued as to what transpires with this gifted defender.
12/11/2014, 9:32 AM
Potentially we are all superstars .....
12/11/2014, 9:41 AM
I cant understand why a lower premier league or top championship team havent come in for him on a pay for play basis. He must have a terrible agent.
12/11/2014, 11:05 AM
The article posted above says he's on holiday(s) so maybe that's your answer. You'd imagined a person of character would have their energies focused on getting back into the game.
Struggle with this one. How he hasn't been able to get a rolling contract with a low championship team or good league one team. The article points to a lack of desire and that's disturbing. Never would have got that impression from him. If he doesn't get a team by end of January then I suspect it's curtains. Big shame as always did a fine job for us.
the doc
13/11/2014, 10:16 AM
Struggle with this one. How he hasn't been able to get a rolling contract with a low championship team or good league one team. The article points to a lack of desire and that's disturbing. Never would have got that impression from him. If he doesn't get a team by end of January then I suspect it's curtains. Big shame as always did a fine job for us.
It certainly won't be down to lack of desire.
If I were him I'd be feel frustrated and let down at how things are going along with the way clubs behave these days.
Lots of players still looking for clubs too, leading to clubs offering really poor contracts.
It's not as if players are asking for silly money either.
Even more frustrating when you see just how poor the CBs in the Ireland squad are, knowing that you are better and have done well for the national team.
That's a Footie though lads and lassies!
13/11/2014, 10:35 AM
If I were him I'd be feel frustrated and let down at how things are going along with the way clubs behave these days.
Lots of players still looking for clubs too, leading to clubs offering really poor contracts.
Even more frustrating when you see just how poor the CBs in the Ireland squad are, knowing that you are better and have done well for the national team.
11,000 a week in the Championship isn't silly money?
13/11/2014, 10:57 AM
Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get it and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done! Now if you know what you’re worth then go out and get what you’re worth. But ya gotta be willing to take the hits, and not pointing fingers saying you ain’t where you wanna be because of him, or her, or anybody! Cowards do that ....
DannyInvincible
13/11/2014, 11:00 AM
The article points to a lack of desire and that's disturbing.
To be fair to St. Ledger, the author is simply speculating there.
13/11/2014, 12:23 PM
The only time I recall St Ledger being a bit dodgy for us was when he was played in that friendly v Italy on his return after injury, even then the defence held out.
His attitude and application has been first class for us, whatever he had, he gave. It is a conundrum why he hasn't been able to get fixed with a contract and playing with a club. Reasons offered to explain that, here and elsewhere, are total speculation.
TheOneWhoKnocks
13/11/2014, 12:29 PM
No complaints about St Ledger from me. The squad would look a lot healthier if you subtracted Keogh and one from Clark & Pearce and added St Ledger & Delaney.
I was never nervous about his inclusion in the team.
I think he needs Richard Keogh as his publicist.
13/11/2014, 3:52 PM
It is a conundrum why he hasn't been able to get fixed with a contract and playing with a club.
A conundrum indeed. Scratching my head to an injury on this one.
13/11/2014, 5:10 PM
Sarcasm? how novel.
13/11/2014, 5:12 PM
This, folks, is what we call a glib-off.
13/11/2014, 5:20 PM
You're well up on the trends/buzz words Charlie :)
13/11/2014, 5:39 PM
Hey, I didn't sign up for this!
the doc
13/11/2014, 5:48 PM
A conundrum indeed. Scratching my head to an injury on this one.
The only thing injured is pride!
Colbert Report
15/11/2014, 12:30 AM
What is going on with this guy? Not willing to play in League 1 or what?
TheOneWhoKnocks
15/11/2014, 12:25 PM
Waiting for a move to the MLS or A League I would presume. Our loss.
15/11/2014, 6:43 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2014/1115/659734-st-ledger-there-are-no-friends-in-football/
The Fly
15/11/2014, 7:27 PM
'The Fall Of Sean St. Ledger, the Irish Defender Who Was a Potential Superstar': http://worldsoccertalk.com/2014/11/11/the-fall-of-potential-superstar-defender-sean-st-ledger/#ekkJU0XUylMH8sdw.99
Originally Posted by Kyle Cotter
St. Ledger took part in reality TV show called Big Ron Manager back in 2006 and this left his reputation in tatters. The show portrayed St. Ledger as the classic egotistical footballer who only cared about money and fame. It was while he was at Peterborough and Ron Atkinson came into the club to help their promotion push from League Two, with the cameras having access to all areas. This really damaged St. Ledger’s name and it also meant that the big teams that had looked at him ended their interest. He was shown complaining about extra training and being played out of position, not to mention a dressing room bust-up with manager Steve Bleasdale. Sean has come out publicly in recent years stating that he has “grown up and matured” but also recognizes that he still hasn’t gotten rid of the bad boy tag as of yet.
High wage demands have been reported as another problem for the 29-year-old. At his previous club, Leicester City, he was rumored to be on just over £11,000 a week. This is considerably high wages for an injury prone defender who’s played just 10 league games over the last two seasons. It seems as if his previous wages cannot be matched by any of the clubs interested in him, and this is another reason why he is still a free agent almost half-way through the season.
Some are questioning whether he actually has the desire to play football anymore. He has sat on the bench for the majority of the last two years for club and country. He is now taking holiday after holiday, as seen on his Twitter and Instagram and it seems as if he’s almost given up hope on getting back to his previous best. Despite these exotic holidays, he still has been keeping up to date with events in the football world. In between posting on foot.ie, he has been seen tweeting about the League of Ireland and suggested on more than one occasion that he would be open to a move there. Although it is a poor standard in comparison to the Premier League, it would be a new beginning and it does offer Champions League and Europa League football with certain clubs. He wouldn’t be the first big time Irish footballer to make this move to League of Ireland. Ex-Birmingham and Ireland midfielder Keith Fahey moved back to St. Patricks Athletic and also ex-Celtic, Sunderland and Ipswich Town player Colin Healy returned to his native Cork City in 2012.
A player of his ability shouldn’t waste potentially the best years of his career. The next year is pivotal for St. Ledger and the Irish media will be intrigued as to what transpires with this gifted defender.
Fixed.
gastric
24/11/2014, 6:55 AM
Sean getting frustrated with unemployment. Still can't understand the lack of interest in him.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/st-ledger-it-makes-me-sick-watching-i-can-still-play-30768171.html
24/11/2014, 7:55 AM
It'd be nice to see the likes of Shamrock Rovers, Dundalk or St Pat's give him a shout. Some sort of contract that says if he gets an offer from a club of a certain level in England he'd be free to move on. Benefit to everyone involved in it, exposure for the clubs, quality player in their squads and the league, and leaves the door open for a return to England if he wanted it.
The Donie Forde
24/11/2014, 9:30 AM
Surely George O'Callaghan will phone him?
Predator
24/11/2014, 2:08 PM
What is going on with this guy? Not willing to play in League 1 or what?
According to the interview above, he turned down the chance to play in League One because he didn't want to drop to that level. Shot himself in the foot there, I think. He's a decent defender but he's just not as good as he thinks he is.
Would love to see him try his luck in the LOI but this is the same guy who wouldn't play in League One so I doubt such a move would happen. If things keep going the way they are, though, he may have little choice but to settle.
the doc
24/11/2014, 2:53 PM
According to the interview above, he turned down the chance to play in League One because he didn't want to drop to that level. Shot himself in the foot there, I think. He's a decent defender but he's just not as good as he thinks he is.
Would love to see him try his luck in the LOI but this is the same guy who wouldn't play in League One so I doubt such a move would happen. If things keep going the way they are, though, he may have little choice but to settle.
Read the article again, Einstein!
He's says pre season he'd had offers from L1 clubs but at that stage he was hoping to get better offers.
24/11/2014, 3:24 PM
Hiya Sean
24/11/2014, 5:07 PM
He's says pre season he'd had offers from L1 clubs but at that stage he was hoping to get better offers.
no need for that doc
24/11/2014, 6:10 PM
Frack him Danno!
IsMiseSean
24/11/2014, 7:52 PM
He mentions 'petrol money' in the article. Strange hearing a professional footballer being worried about petrol money....
DannyInvincible
24/11/2014, 8:11 PM
You'd make things a lot easier for yourself around here if you weren't so needlessly defensive and confrontational... Anyway, maybe it's you who ought to read it again. A direct quote of Sean's from the article (paraphrased by Predator):
"I had a couple of offers but being honest, I didn't want to drop down to that level."
24/11/2014, 8:53 PM
St Ledger had ambitions to play at championship level and he chose not to pursue interest from the League 1 and the MLS. Now I get the impression he would consider offers from anywhere. He had an ambition, realistic imo, that's not a hammer to beat him with.
He sounds as if he's in a rut but has a good attitude.
Predator
24/11/2014, 9:02 PM
Played for Ipswich Town's U21s tonight* on trial. If he manages to get himself a contract at Ipswich, fair play to him.
* against Southampton. He played 90 minutes and they lost 1-0.
Predator
24/11/2014, 9:11 PM
St Ledger had ambitions to play at championship level and he chose not to pursue interest from the League 1 and the MLS. Now I get the impression he would consider offers from anywhere. He had an ambition, realistic imo, that's not a hammer to beat him with.
He sounds as if he's in a rut but has a good attitude.Based on his time without a club and some of his comments on the matter, I think Sledge's ambition was probably a wee bit unrealistic and should have been tempered by his experience on the sidelines over the course of the past few years. He's 29, hadn't played much due to persistent injuries and had undergone a series of surgeries (things that make his hiatus understandable, from my point of view). But if he gets the Ipswich move, it'll all be moot.
24/11/2014, 10:01 PM
It's not the first time a sports person's ambition was slightly higher than current ability or status.
ipswich is turning out to be rehab club of sorts for our merry band of dysfunctional misfits.
the doc
25/11/2014, 7:49 AM
It's not the first time a sports person's ambition was slightly higher than current ability or status.
ipswich is turning out to be rehab club of sorts for our merry band of dysfunctional misfits.
No harm in aiming high, Greysa
"we are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars"
so sledge was playing for ipswich last night but the doc chose to watch villa v southampton. where's the loyalty?
DeLorean
26/11/2014, 1:23 PM
Sean St Ledger Finally Looks To Have Found A New Club… (http://balls.ie/football/sean-st-ledger-finally-looks-found-new-club/)
DannyInvincible
26/11/2014, 2:37 PM
Good stuff. Pleased for him as it must have been a pretty lonely and depressing spell for him. Hopefully he'll be competing for his place in the Ireland team again sooner rather than later.