View Full Version : Sean St. Ledger

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

05/11/2010, 2:15 PM
He has been decent enough for us, his positioning has been good enough but his discipline has to be a concern. That flying reckless challenge had more than a touch of a mad Bobo Balde about it, could have got himself sent off and we would have had little to complain about.

05/11/2010, 4:11 PM
ive heard stories of a Sledge to Premiership club so many times that i fully expect this not to happen.

Certainly no need for a seperate thread on the matter either.

05/11/2010, 4:30 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1326344/Aston-Villa-rival-Liverpool-4m-January-Prestons-Sean-St-Ledger.html

Looks like the Premiership awaits Irelands St Ledger!

I'd trust that article about as much as I would trust the brakes on a Toyota Lexus ;)

the doc
05/11/2010, 4:53 PM
Preston are looking to sell. All these potential links with clubs are designed to drum up interest but ultimately lack foundation. I'm sure he'll leave Preston sooner rather than later but any potential move will likely be to another Championship club.

His value was probably highest prior to the 'Boro move. His "stock" has certainly fallen/ (crashed) since then. With new players emerging on the international scene, I wouldn't be surprised if he loses his starting position in our side within the near future. I can't imagine any top Premiership club would make a move for him.

Wanna bet?

This is more than just paper talk, also think you do St Ledger a dis-service as he has done well since he came into the Ireland team, with Trapp on record as saying St Ledger is a seniior member of the Irish team now.

If/when St Ledger goes to Villa he will partner Dunne, as Houlier was impressed by St Ledgers performances against France in the WC Play offs.

06/11/2010, 12:15 AM
I can see Premiership clubs moving for him but not those ones. If he's going to make the jump to a top-half Prem team (I think he has the ability), it will be via a move to a promoted club, either one of this year's in January or whoever goes up in the summer, or else one of the other clubs that dwell around the relegation zone. Possibly Wolves because you know how Mick loves his Irishmen.

magicman
10/11/2010, 3:56 PM
Not a great night for the Saint last night. Absolutely gifted Barnsley a goal in the last minute and every time he touched the ball after the mistake he was booed by fans. Only good thing to come out of it is he will surely move on come January

Predator
10/11/2010, 4:13 PM
After such a howler of a mistake, where's he going to move to?

10/11/2010, 5:55 PM
I think its fair to say that if Sledge gets a move upwards, it will be as a result of his Irish performances. Appears to be having a rough time with Preston in recent times.

11/11/2010, 8:28 PM
On a sidenote I've been surprised how well Treacy has done during his time at Preston as he didn't look too hot at either Blackburn or Sheffield United. Hopefully he can kick on from here and get a move to the Premiership in the near future as I don't see Preston getting promoted anytime soon.I agree. You just never know when a player is going to kick-on and up his game. I saw him live 14 months ago and thought he looked ordinary, but had a superb delivery and was physically strong.

Any word on Aaron Doran these days?

irishfan86
11/11/2010, 8:36 PM
Stutts, your description of Treacy sounds a lot like Lawrence. Looks ordinary but is strong with very good delivery. I think Treacy has more pace than Lawrence though...definitely a guy I didn't hold out much hope for but has really impressed me since his move to Preston. Maybe he just needed a good run in a team to show his worth.

Adrock
11/11/2010, 10:09 PM
I think Treacy's a real talent, never seems to get the credit though when you consider the hype guys like Stokes get. If you ever watch the under-21's (not usually reccomended) he always seems to stand out as a dangerous player which is a good sign he could make it at international level. As for Doran he seems to be doing nicely in the Blackburn reserves (http://http://www.rovers.co.uk/page/ReserveNews/0,,10303~2212922,00.html) side but like Treacey probably would benefit from first team football somewhere

As this is the St Ledger thread, I've seen him half a dozen times on tv at club level and he actually look somewhat less accomplished than Irish centrebacks at championship level such as Mccarthy and Byrne but maybe he'll find his level again if Preston get relegated. He gets his ass licked a lot the Sledge, but a Premiership footballer he is not

11/11/2010, 10:18 PM
To be fair to him, he has done well for us even when Dunne's not been there. Maybe he's just one of those "occasion" players. From seeing him play in the Championship, he doesn't look good enough to make the step up, but sometimes managers see things in players that aren't obvious to everyone else.

youngirish
11/11/2010, 10:51 PM
I agree. You just never know when a player is going to kick-on and up his game. I saw him live 14 months ago and thought he looked ordinary, but had a superb delivery and was physically strong.

Any word on Aaron Doran these days?

Haven't heard anything of Doran. I's a pity Judge, Treacy's ex teammate at Blackburn seems to be stagnating a bit. He's on loan again, this time to Notts County. He looked good at Plymouth a few years ago and I thought he was potentially the more talented of the two but he's gone backwards if anything since then.

SwanVsDalton
12/11/2010, 11:25 AM
I think Sledge has hit a bit of a wall in his development. Sometimes it happens to young players, they get a couple of years of non-stop praise and ascent and then a crisis of confidence develops (in Sledge's case going anywhere near Middlesbrough). I still think he's got the ability to play top flight if he gets his head right, as a CB he's got loads of time.

Short term his form is worrying though, particularly since Dunney is currently in relatively poor form as well.

12/11/2010, 5:00 PM
Haven't heard anything of Doran. I's a pity Judge, Treacy's ex teammate at Blackburn seems to be stagnating a bit. He's on loan again, this time to Notts County. He looked good at Plymouth a few years ago and I thought he was potentially the more talented of the two but he's gone backwards if anything since then.
I think Judge made the bench a couple of times earlier in the season so perhaps Sam is just loaning him out to keep him sharp. Doran scored for Blackburn reserves in mid-week, a game in which Sunderland's David Meyler also scored an own goal.

http://www.safc.com/news/20101109/reserves-go-down-at-blackburn_2256213_2213182

rebelmusic
12/11/2010, 10:37 PM
Text commentary from tonights game suggested he was injured. Coincidentally my preferent back 4 for the norway game would be coleman/dunne/oshea/cunningham.

28/11/2010, 10:32 AM
Sledge was an unused substitute yesterday. Preston had their second clean sheet in his absence. Is the writing on the wall for his career at Preston.

Treacy made an appearance as a 66th minute sub.

the doc
28/11/2010, 3:34 PM
Sledge was an unused substitute yesterday. Preston had their second clean sheet in his absence. Is the writing on the wall for his career at Preston.

Treacy made an appearance as a 66th minute sub.

Both being messed about by DF the PNE manager, for joining up with the recent Ireland squad against his wishes!

Colbert Report
28/11/2010, 4:12 PM
To think, some of ye were saying that Aston Villa or Liverpool were going to come in with an offer of four million pounds for this joker. He's a Championship player at best, I've never been impressed with him on international duty.

youngirish
28/11/2010, 4:31 PM
To think, some of ye were saying that Aston Villa or Liverpool were going to come in with an offer of four million pounds for this joker. He's a Championship player at best, I've never been impressed with him on international duty.
I've always thought he looked good for Ireland. Kilbane has been the weak link defensively during Trap's reign (or McShane when he's been on the pitch) but Dunne, O'Shea and St Ledger have generally looked solid.

28/11/2010, 4:34 PM
i think it would be fair to say his international form has (until recently maybe) far outweighed his overall club form. I think he needs to get away from PNE at the end of the season.

Predator
28/11/2010, 6:50 PM

Treacy made an appearance as a 66th minute sub.Maybe his recent injury has been giving him problems.

28/11/2010, 7:03 PM
Even when he scored against Italy?

Colbert Report
28/11/2010, 9:48 PM

Simple header, my granny could have scored from there.

28/11/2010, 10:17 PM
This kind of comment really annoys me, if the finish in question really was that simple, surely at least every other goal would be like it?

Go back and watch it again: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzsdfQghqUo&NR=1

It's the kind of chance you see a defender get under, rather than behind, from a corner every weekend of the season, and the chance goes into the stands.

SwanVsDalton
28/11/2010, 10:31 PM

A brilliantly timed run followed by a brave and well executed diving header? Simple? No. Yer granny must be decent, give the FAI shout, we could still use a physical presence up top.

Regardless of goals his international performances have largely been very good.

the doc
29/11/2010, 12:04 AM

And Slovakia!

His performances against France in the WC play offs were pretty good too for as Colbert Retard says from an Championship player at best!

The fact that he holds his own at International level and can play with and against better players suggests to me that he can make the step up to the Premiership or abroad.

Colbert Report
29/11/2010, 4:14 AM
Lads, if he was good enough, a Premiership team would have come in for him by now. The France play off was over a year ago now.

irishfan86
29/11/2010, 6:03 AM
I don't see the point in ripping into St. Ledger. At worst he is very useful cover (if you are of the mindset Foley/Coleman/Kelly should be brought into right full and O'Shea moved centrally), and at best he's a good ball playing centre half who's a big upgrade on McShane, Andy O'Brien, and some of the others we've had over the years.

I don't think many people on here apart from the doc go over the top when describing him, I think most fans on here are happy we have him, while admitting he isn't the full package.

My evaluation of him is that he is talented on the ball, is a useful attacking player on set piece plays, but sometimes makes poor decisions which could lead to scoring chances for the opposition. I think those poor decisions are linked to his desire to play football on the ground -- overall I'd rather him give the ball away a couple of times and try to maintain possession than just hoof it though, and that's why I like to have him in the team.

29/11/2010, 7:27 AM
It's important to point out that at international level, St Ledger has two defensive midfielders sitting in front of him and Dunne by his side guiding him through games, yet his defensive fralities and lapses in concentration have been exposed. It is very much arguable that Kilbane is the weakest link in the back line, but there is an honesty in effort from Kilbane and willing to accept responsibility that St Ledger sorely lacks. It'd be of much more benefit to St Ledger if he was willing to accept his limitations, work on these limitations, stop inventing these fanciful January club moves, and lose the ego.

Both being messed about by DF the PNE manager, for joining up with the recent Ireland squad against his wishes!

Dear Sean,

You were badly exposed for both goals against Hull. And you gifted Barnsley a win. Is DF really to blame?

29/11/2010, 9:13 AM
Yeah but no player has ever impressed you.

Adrock
29/11/2010, 12:15 PM
I suspect the messing about with the line-up is as much to do with PNE being bottom of the championship with a -15 goal difference, at least in some part due to Sledge's defensive ineptitude.

the doc
29/11/2010, 3:42 PM
I suspect the messing about with the line-up is as much to do with PNE being bottom of the championship with a -15 goal difference, at least in some part due to Sledge's defensive ineptitude.

Or the medial knee ligament tear he got early on against Hull!

the doc
29/11/2010, 3:51 PM
It's important to point out that at international level, St Ledger has two defensive midfielders sitting in front of him and Dunne by his side guiding him through games, yet his defensive fralities and lapses in concentration have been exposed. It is very much arguable that Kilbane is the weakest link in the back line, but there is an honesty in effort from Kilbane and willing to accept responsibility that St Ledger sorely lacks. It'd be of much more benefit to St Ledger if he was willing to accept his limitations, work on these limitations, stop inventing these fanciful January club moves, and lose the ego.

You were badly exposed for both goals against Hull. And you gifted Barnsley a win. Is DF really to blame?

Dear moron, SSL got injured after 5 mins in the Hull game, and couldnt run, but played on for the team at the managers request, thats the reason for the goals against v Hull

the doc
29/11/2010, 3:53 PM

Fancy betting against that? Put your money where you mouth is!

29/11/2010, 4:21 PM

CR already owes me a grand!

youngirish
29/11/2010, 7:05 PM
Whatever St Ledger's current problems with Preston after Dunne he's been our best centre half since Cunningham retired so I'll give him the benefit of the doubt if he's going through a bad run of form. I wouldn't be too keen to shift O'Shea into the centre back position for Ireland at his expense either at present. He's been useless this year for United (even more so than normal).

Sullivinho
29/11/2010, 9:35 PM
Sean's in brutal form at the moment but retconning his Ireland contribution is disingenuous. He's been solid for us.

Needs to get himself sorted though.

Adrock
29/11/2010, 10:02 PM
Whatever St Ledger's current problems with Preston after Dunne he's been our best centre half since Cunningham retired so I'll give him the benefit of the doubt if he's going through a bad run of form. I wouldn't be too keen to shift O'Shea into the centre back position for Ireland at his expense either at present. He's been useless this year for United (even more so than normal).
O'Shea might be one of the weaker players at Manu (which is no disgrace) but you cant really see him losing his spot in the United line-up to a Burnley reserve player! I dont think St Ledger's really had a good run of form all year - probably been reading his Irish press too much and thinks he's Cannavaro.

gastric
30/11/2010, 12:16 AM
O'Shea might be one of the weaker players at Manu (which is no disgrace) but you cant really see him losing his spot in the United line-up to a Burnley reserve player! I dont think St Ledger's really had a good run of form all year - probably been reading his Irish press too much and thinks he's Cannavaro.

Who are you talking about when you refer to a Burnley reserve player?

30/11/2010, 8:24 AM
Who are you talking about when you refer to a Burnley reserve player?

Preston have loaned in Leon Cort from Burnley. Cort was given his Preston debut at the expense of St Ledger.

Yes Sean we are all well aware at this stage that you will be leaving Preston sooner rather than later.

Or the medial knee ligament tear he got early on against Hull!

Why did he play the second half of that game with a a bandage around his thigh then?

30/11/2010, 8:34 AM
Reckon Ferguson will be leaving before any players. SSL has been great for Ireland. Perhaps he has stayed too long at Preston and is starting to stagnate.

youngirish
30/11/2010, 9:29 AM
Reckon Ferguson will be leaving before any players. SSL has been great for Ireland. Perhaps he has stayed too long at Preston and is starting to stagnate.

True. I really do wonder about some of the posters on this site sometimes if they really watch any of our Ireland games. St Ledger goes through a bad run of form for this club (on and off for the best part of a year now in fairness) and you have these so called fans crawling out of the woodwork dismissing his mostly very impressive performances for Ireland (which is all I care about) while someone like McGeady who's been mostly dire for Ireland by any sane person's assessment seems to get praise and adoration far beyond the ability his performances in the green shirt would suggest he possesses.

Colbert Report
30/11/2010, 11:48 AM

Done and done. You name any amount up to 1000 Euro and I'll send it in to dahamsta. If St. Ledger isn't transferred to either Liverpool or Aston Villa by September 5 2011 I'll take your money. If he is then you can have mine. Let me know, be sure you can back it up by sending the money to dahamsta now though.

30/11/2010, 1:00 PM
Carragher out for 3 months, Liverpool will be looking for replacement.

30/11/2010, 1:35 PM
Carragher out for 3 months, Liverpool will be looking for replacement.

They have a ready made replacement on loan at Hull.

30/11/2010, 3:11 PM
True. I really do wonder about some of the posters on this site sometimes if they really watch any of our Ireland games.
You wonder too much about the opinions of other posters.

Fizzer
30/11/2010, 3:26 PM
Done and done. You name any amount up to 1000 Euro and I'll send it in to dahamsta. If St. Ledger isn't transferred to either Liverpool or Aston Villa by September 5 2011 I'll take your money. If he is then you can have mine. Let me know, be sure you can back it up by sending the money to dahamsta now though.

Would you be prepared to bet your silence for 6 months. Cos I'd pay a grand for that

30/11/2010, 7:54 PM
Lads, if he was good enough, a Premiership team would have come in for him by now. The France play off was over a year ago now.

How many years did Kenny Cunningham play in the second tier?? And he was another defender who never left us down. Just because he hasnt been snapped up by an EPL club doesnt mean he is not good enough for the level. IMO the lad has done very well for us, off the top of my head I cant think of any glaring errors or any goals where blame wouldve rested with the lad. Not a great player but a solid player for us so far who has chipped in with a couple of good goals.

gastric
30/11/2010, 8:14 PM
Any one who saw the Hull game could only admire his courage in playing on. While he was possibly guilty for one of the goals, as the commentators pointed out on the night, his injury affected his ability to turn quickly. I totally agree with Elroy and youngirish. Why the hell are people turning on him? He is a solid contributor for us and I think his headed goal against Italy was brilliant. He will at some stage play in the Premiership and will proves some of his critics on here wrong.