View Full Version : Sean St. Ledger

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Crosby87
03/01/2012, 11:42 PM
oh doc, id love to know who you are to SSL...

Doctor of Love :D.

04/01/2012, 9:17 AM
Spin Doctor, surely?

04/01/2012, 10:24 AM
SLedge has been good for us, but we've been good for him particularily when his club career has stagnated. If he's getting game time from week to week, then he deserves his spot in the team (he's the man in possession of the jersey after all), but if he's not then Darren O'Dea is equally as good, and has been fine for us everytime he's stepped into the breach.

There's always John O'Shea too. A Dunne-O'Shea centre partnership with two competent full backs would be the way I'd play it, but hey.

04/01/2012, 11:35 AM
In theory JOS should be better but when he has played CM for us in the last year or so he has been careless. Stupid error letting the ball bounce vs Argentina, costing a goal, and a total brain fart on at least one occasion in Macedonia. I'd still tend towards SSL but lack of game time would change my view.

05/01/2012, 4:18 PM
Ipswich in for St Ledger
http://www.ipswich.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=267981
This bit was interesting:

There are a few clubs in for him, one from Serie A. Whether we can get Sean to come here remains to be seen.

TrapAPony
05/01/2012, 4:55 PM
I wonder who the Serie A team is

Jaysus
05/01/2012, 5:34 PM

Hopefully a mid-table team with the potential to get better!

05/01/2012, 8:29 PM
Its vital sledge gets a good club and plenty of game time. He has done v well in the green, if Dunne was to retire after the euros, sledge would become even more important to us. No doubt he benefits from playing alongside Dunne but there has been games, Italy and Algeria come to mind where Dunne didn't play and sledge was excellent.

DannyInvincible
05/01/2012, 9:22 PM

Isn't that just a stock phrase the media use to fill out a transfer speculation story involving an Irish international these days? Was it Fiorentina who were chasing after Alex Bruce?...

05/01/2012, 9:33 PM
I'd say Sean's agent just leaks the Serie A stuff for the laugh.

the doc
05/01/2012, 9:49 PM

I wouldn't! Talks ongoing so may or not happen. Games before the Euros are the key to where he decides to go I'd say.

the bear
05/01/2012, 10:34 PM
give us a bit more rope doc

gastric
06/01/2012, 12:45 AM

Charlie, The Doc is his agent! The Italians probably remember that wonderful headed goal he scored against them. AC Milan here he comes!

06/01/2012, 1:20 AM
And then you go and spoil it all. Sheesh, gastric.

gastric
09/01/2012, 8:14 PM
The rumours linking Sledge to Ipswich continue, which would be a good move for him as the possibility of League One football would not help us. Ipswich also showing an interest in Paul Green!

10/01/2012, 11:08 AM
Ipswich Town agree Sean St Ledger fee with Leicester

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/16486451.stm

Ipswich Town boss Paul Jewell is hopeful of signing Leicester City defender Sean St Ledger after agreeing a fee as well as terms with the player.

But Jewell says the 27-year-old, who has made eight league starts this term, has a number of offers to consider.

"Everything's agreed between the two clubs and with the player's personal terms," he told BBC Radio Suffolk (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/england/suffolk/default.stm).

"I spoke to him on Monday. He has got a few options. Hopefully he will choose us. But we're waiting on an answer."

St Ledger agreed a three-year deal with the Foxes when he joined from Preston (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/14017758.stm) in the summer.

But he has failed to establish himself as a regular first-choice centre-half at the King Power Stadium and, with the European Championships this year, he will be keen to remain in the thinking of Republic of Ireland boss Giovanni Trapattoni.

"I spoke to him at length over the weekend," Jewell added.

"He just wants to make sure he makes the right decision because there are a few teams in for him.

"Hopefully we'll sell Ipswich as a long-term plan rather than a short-term option."

10/01/2012, 11:32 AM
Serie A to Ipswich.

Shame Forest didn't go for him. Anybody would be better than Wes Morgan.

Olé Olé
10/01/2012, 12:32 PM
Looking forward to seeing the other teams come out of the woodwork for him. A promotion-bound Championship team or PL team with a gap at the heart of their defence would be preferable, I would think.

10/01/2012, 12:38 PM
I think that's about as good a move as we could have expected. If anything better comes along, great.

Carrigaline
11/01/2012, 10:38 AM
It's down to Leeds and Ipswich for who get his signature. I think either team will be a good move for him.

http://www.thisisleicestershire.co.uk/Ipswich-Leeds-battling-Sean-St-Ledger/story-14389116-detail/story.html

11/01/2012, 11:26 AM
Sledge /DO'D partnership at Leeds would be great.

btw I only saw last 30 mins of Arsenal v Leed and DO'D looked very good. Aidan White was playing left-midfield by the looks of things. Did OK, has a turn of pace.

IsMiseSean
11/01/2012, 12:45 PM
I'd rather him join Leeds. Chances are Jewell won't be around much longer, where will that leave Sledge...

11/01/2012, 12:49 PM
How could you say that about Paul Jewell? He was afterall interviewed by Giles and Dunphy for the Irish job!!

Doesn't matter for whom he plays really so long as it's at a reasonable level (Championship and upwards) and is getting a regular game.

11/01/2012, 12:54 PM
How could you say that about Paul Jewell? He was afterall interviewed by Giles and Dunphy for the Irish job!!
That was more than four years ago. Give it a rest.

12/01/2012, 8:38 AM
Seems the move to Ipswich is not going ahead. Wonder if Leeds have actually put in a bid. Where is the Doc when you need him?

the bear
12/01/2012, 11:54 AM
Seems the move to Ipswich is not going ahead. Wonder if Leeds have actually put in a bid. Where is the Doc when you need him?
at the negotiation table

ArdeeBhoy
12/01/2012, 12:29 PM
Leeds a better bet than Sicwhip...

12/01/2012, 2:50 PM
Leicester want rid but Ipswich seem to be the only club interested. St Ledger isn't keen to move there as Paul Jewel's position is in question. Which is understandable. However if he doesn't move to Ipswich there is a real possibility he's played his last club game for this season.

Irwin3
17/01/2012, 6:23 PM
Back in the starting lineup. Signs of reconciliation or a show of desperation from Pearson?

17/01/2012, 8:12 PM
Leicester winning 4 0 at the moment. Sledge very accomplished. Not much to play against as Forest are dire. Reid legs look as though they are gone, some nice bits of skill but fitness not there. I'm a bit disappointed with Cunningham, doesn't looked very confident, hardly surprising playing in such a crap team. Very reluctant to get forward.

Philly
17/01/2012, 9:45 PM
Seems to be getting a lot of praise on the LC forum:

St Ledger 8 - Looked the perfect partner for Mills. Always calm in possession and has good positional sense.

SSL -8

St. Ledge - 7 Considering all that has gone on, a very professional performance. Delighted for the chap.

SSL 8 - solid and clever.

SSL 9 - I've said it before and I'll say it again, he's been our best defnder when he's played, same again tonight.

Not bad at all by the sounds of things. I wonder if he is being given another chance there, or if he was looking to win over a few scouts. He is obviously not keen on Ipswich if that move has not happened yet.

AlaskaFox
18/01/2012, 8:58 AM
Not bad at all by the sounds of things. I wonder if he is being given another chance there, or if he was looking to win over a few scouts. He is obviously not keen on Ipswich if that move has not happened yet.

Leicester wanted to keep him for at least the cup game, in case he was needed. Think he was told he could go after that. However, his performance last night could keep him there for a while longer.

tommy_c12000
18/01/2012, 1:44 PM
Seems to be getting a lot of praise on the LC forum:

St Ledger 8 - Looked the perfect partner for Mills. Always calm in possession and has good positional sense.

SSL -8

St. Ledge - 7 Considering all that has gone on, a very professional performance. Delighted for the chap.

SSL 8 - solid and clever.

SSL 9 - I've said it before and I'll say it again, he's been our best defnder when he's played, same again tonight.

Looks like "the Doc" was flat out on that LC forum last night! Does that guy ever get a night off???

theworm2345
23/01/2012, 6:26 PM
Sledge starts tonight against Soton, much more difficult test than playing against lowly Forest. No Rickie Lambert but then again he wouldn't be his main worry anyway :cool:

23/01/2012, 7:14 PM
The doc just skinned a full back and laid on a perfect cross for Mills to put Leicester 2-0 up within 25 minutes. Commentators raving about him.

theworm2345
23/01/2012, 7:14 PM
The doc just skinned a full back and laid on a perfect cross for Mills to put Leicester 2-0 up within 25 minutes. Commentators raving about him.
Yep, very nice move from St Ledger...Southampton look lost in midfield without Lallana.

theworm2345
23/01/2012, 8:42 PM
Well, much like against Forest, sort of hard to judge him again. Southampton really were atrocious in midfield and offered absolutely nothing going forward. Connolly was dropping deep in to his own half and far out on the wings just to get a touch while Guly do Prado (who St. Ledger was battling) was **** poor...they really missed Lallana today who was out with a groin injury. With that being said, St Ledger didn't really do anything wrong.

23/01/2012, 8:46 PM
It will certainly be hard for Pearson to leave him out after his last two performances.

gastric
27/01/2012, 9:56 AM
Rumours going around that Pearson is about to sign Wes Morgan. Could be bad news for Sledge in terms of starting regularly. He's not had great luck in securing a regular starting spot at Leicester.

Carrigaline
27/01/2012, 10:18 AM
I reckon he should still leave, Leicester still have him as being transfer-listed - http://www.thisisleicestershire.co.uk/Sean-St-Ledger-regrets-fall-Leicester-City-boss/story-15051595-detail/story.html

theworm2345
28/01/2012, 4:53 PM
Taken off transfer list
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/12691/7461610/Foxes-give-St-Ledger-a-reprieve

Irwin3
28/01/2012, 8:16 PM
http://www.foxestalk.co.uk/forums/index.php?/topic/79473-swindon-player-ratings/

A lot of praise and MOTM calls from Leicester fans. It'll be interesting to see what happens when Bamba returns. At the moment a lot of them seem happy with Mills and SSL and wouldn't mind if Bamba was sold! Hopefully SSL can keep his place and keeps impressing as the opposition gets harder.

28/01/2012, 9:21 PM
They were reported to be interested in Wes Morgan from Notts Forest. Good to see to has seemed to have settled his differences.

CraftyToePoke
29/02/2012, 2:02 AM
A big turn around at Leicester it seems with 5 million summer signing, captain and formerly first name on the team sheet, center half Matt Mills coming close to being drummed out of the place to Leeds on loan after dodgy form and rumours of 'unrest' in the dressing room : http://www.foxestalk.co.uk/forums/index.php?/topic/80042-mills-on-loan-to-leeds/page__st__560 and up along the rails comes SSL, who at present has his own appreciation thread running after looking like he was on his way to Ipswich in January. has really won fans over in the last few weeks, http://www.foxestalk.co.uk/forums/index.php?/topic/80058-let-us-hear-it-for-sean-st-ledger/

God forbid, but if Dunne were to relapse or have a set back there would be a lot on this mans shoulders in the summer, has been helped by Erickson getting sacked, he was the muppet who paid 5 mil + for Mills and made him captain so couldn't drop him, but fair play to SSL for turning it round.

theworm2345
13/03/2012, 7:18 PM
St. Ledger starting at right back against Birmingham tonight to accommodate a Bamba-Wes Morgan centre half partnership, can't recall seeing him play there before (though he might've and I just can't remember). He's done OK so far, very comfortable on the ball.

DannyInvincible
13/03/2012, 7:34 PM
St. Ledger starting at right back against Birmingham tonight to accommodate a Bamba-Wes Morgan centre half partnership, can't recall seeing him play there before (though he might've and I just can't remember). He's done OK so far, very comfortable on the ball.

Pretty sure he's played at full-back in the past.

CraftyToePoke
14/03/2012, 1:18 AM

Seems the height of Zigic for Birmingham may have been the reason the the taller central pairing tonight. Looks to have worked with Zigic subbed on the hour. Don't remember him playing RB before but he did brilliantly despite a first half booking, according to the player ratings here http://www.foxestalk.co.uk/forums/index.php?/topic/80418-city-player-ratings-v-brum/page__st__20

DannyInvincible
04/05/2012, 1:08 AM
"Sean: Pole axe’s are not Trapattoni's fault": http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/irishsun/irishsunsport/euro2012ireland/4291890/Sean-Pole-axes-are-not-Trapattonis-fault.html

St Ledger, 27, said: “There were people who didn’t show up in the summer.

“If you look at the bigger picture, they wouldn’t have thought that we would be going to a European Championship and they’re the ones who are missing out now.

“It is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and for the sake of a few weeks you could be going to a European Championships. That couple of weeks’ sacrifice is nothing compared to what is about to happen this summer.

“It is a huge honour to play for your country against quality teams like Italy.

“I want to play football and this career doesn’t last forever — about 15 years — and I want to try and maximise it.

“We are lucky to do a job that we love. Sometimes you do need a break but you get that break in the summer.

“The managers are sensible and can give you an extra couple of weeks maybe, so I’ll turn up every time.”

Some very positive comments from St. Ledger there. Great commitment.

Oddly, the piece names Ciaran Clark (along with McCarthy, Wilson, Stokes and Folan) as a player who "infuriated" Trap with a "no-show". Is this true? :/

DannyInvincible
04/05/2012, 1:12 AM
Another piece on St. Ledger by Emmet Malone from Wednesday Irish Times; "St Ledger eager to repay Trapattoni's faith in him": http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0502/1224315455182.html

With Ireland his status as Richard Dunne’s partner at the heart of the team’s defence is fairly assured at present and the prospect of testing himself against players he normally only sees on TV has been exciting him in recent weeks as Poland and the Euros really started to loom large.

“It’s weird,” he says, “because after Estonia it seemed so far away but now it’s two or three weeks away from meeting up. The excitement is unreal. The hardest thing will be the week training before it, the anticipation of going into a tournament. It will really sink in when we get to Poland. It was so far away but now it’s so close.

“I am watching in detail. You have got Jelavic at Everton and he is scoring goals at the moment. I am watching him to see what he is all about. He has come to the Premier League and done very well.

“And Torres is hitting form. I know that much. We played against him a couple of weeks ago in the FA Cup. He wasn’t bad, like. Everyone is pleased for him. He has worked hard and people have written him off too early. He is showing the form at the moment that Chelsea paid that money for.

“I’m looking forward to it. These are the kind of players you want to play against.”

Keep them quiet and Pearson might well appreciate him a little more next season but a more immediate concern is to repay the faith that Trapattoni has shown since handing him his debut against Nigeria at Craven Cottage less than three years ago.

“He has had a lot of belief in me. I didn’t get a call-up for a long time and you start to ask yourself: ‘Am I going to get back in the squad?’ Fortunately, I played in the friendly and I got back in from there.

“That’s down to him because my club form, when I was at Middlesbrough and Preston, wasn’t great and he could have left me out. But when you have a manager who has faith in you it makes you believe in yourself a bit more.”

He has, to be fair, worked hard for the Italian, taking on board everything that the veteran coach has asked of him and simply being there sometimes when some, Trapattoni felt, got their priorities wrong.

04/05/2012, 12:28 PM
"Sean: Pole axe’s are not Trapattoni's fault": http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/irishsun/irishsunsport/euro2012ireland/4291890/Sean-Pole-axes-are-not-Trapattonis-fault.html

Some very positive comments from St. Ledger there. Great commitment.

Oddly, the piece names Ciaran Clark (along with McCarthy, Wilson, Stokes and Folan) as a player who "infuriated" Trap with a "no-show". Is this true? :/

Hard to say, about levels of infuriation, did some 'no shows' infuriate Trap more than others? but it does support the contention that Trap will go for the players (in the Euro squad) who turned up, in preference to the players who didn't, particularly Wilson and McCarthy. Wilson has a valid enough football ability case to be alongside Ward in the squad. In McCarthy's case, Trap appears to be a more conciliatory - if you keep turning up then your time will come.