View Full Version : Sean St. Ledger

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Junior
05/02/2010, 1:29 PM
Yep fair point. As I said footballers should talk less.

twoenz
05/02/2010, 4:37 PM
I've a really good story about why Sean should think before he opens his mouth, but it's not really fair to spill the beans on here. It involved an Irish flag worn as a sarong and the words "bunk up".

21/03/2010, 6:27 AM
superb goal from St. Ledger, diving headers obviously his speciality, against West Brom but an average performance in a poor defence.

I tell you something though that Graham Dorrans is going to be a special player in the near future. Ran the show and scored a screamer of a free kick.

the doc
22/03/2010, 6:47 PM
superb goal from St. Ledger, diving headers obviously his speciality, against West Brom but an average performance in a poor defence.

I tell you something though that Graham Dorrans is going to be a special player in the near future. Ran the show and scored a screamer of a free kick.

Fair assessment, but to St Ledgers defence, he has been carrying a few injuries for months now, which will need operating on at the end of the season.

From what I'm told, they will most likely to be after the Ireland games in May.

Sullivinho
29/05/2010, 2:16 PM
He wasn't up against much, but Sean made some fantastic tackles and interceptions against Algeria last night. Could easily have passed on these games to have his surgeries but fair play, he's nailed down his place in the team and won't be giving it up easily. I'd love to see him get a crack at the premier league. He's too good to be fannying about with loans to Middlesborough and the like.

Razors left peg
29/05/2010, 6:12 PM
I was very impressed with him against Algeria.Without Dunne or O Shea beside him he took charge of the back 4 and did very well. Hard to understand the reason for him not doing well at Boro, easily good enough for the Premiership on his Ireland performances

tommy_c12000
30/05/2010, 3:14 AM
Big fan of him. Thought he was superb against Algeria. Ropey enuf at times against Paraguay. He is a quality player tho. I just pray to God that he gets the move he deserves this summer

30/05/2010, 11:12 AM
I was very impressed with him against Algeria.Without Dunne or O Shea beside him he took charge of the back 4 and did very well. Hard to understand the reason for him not doing well at Boro, easily good enough for the Premiership on his Ireland performances
There are reasons why he did not thrive at Boro, not that we know them for sure. He did not settle in on the pitch with his CM partnership. He held the contractual right to veto the full transfer. The club was in also some turmoil re the manager. Strachan says he tried to get him to stay and claims that St Ledger just wanted out.

Agreed about how he has fitted in for us. He had the ability to begin with but has become more confident and assured in such a short time, whereas Josh took ages to reach that.
Considering all that, I'd give St ledger the benefit of any doubt, re his Boro experience.

14/06/2010, 8:56 AM
Interview with Sean following a hernia and knee operations last week: http://www.lep.co.uk/sport/football/ledge_aims_to_be_back_in_full_training_by_early_ju ly_1_783865
according to the fai website, he delayed the operations to play against Paraguay and Algeria.

the doc
28/06/2010, 11:17 AM
Return of The Saint!

http://www.pnefc.net/page/NewsDetail/0,,10362~2079681,00.html

the doc
10/07/2010, 11:37 AM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/spl/celtic/celtic-set-to-raise-stakes-for-st-ledger-1.1040384

Good move or not? What do you think?

Crosby87
10/07/2010, 1:20 PM
Could be worse. Maybe he can see some success this year with the club and his confidence will grow, etc...

P.S. If you look down, "similar threads" to this are "Heath Ledger found dead." Ahh, the wonder of websites. At first I thought it meant they were saying his career was dead if he went back to Celtic. Maybe that is what the computer thinks. Soon they will take over the world like in Terminator, with Colbert Report the only resistance.

Sullivinho
10/07/2010, 9:34 PM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/spl/celtic/celtic-set-to-raise-stakes-for-st-ledger-1.1040384

Good move or not? What do you think?

I reckon Sean himself would consider it a great move. He was eager (to say the least) for it the first time around.

A step sideways is better than one backwards I s'pose.

SolitudeRed
11/07/2010, 2:15 PM
I'm not a celtic fan so I'm just wondering how regualrly do people reckon he will be getting first team starts if he does move up to Parkhead? In other words how does he compare with the existing defenders?

musicinmouth
11/07/2010, 3:06 PM
I would be very surprised if he doesn't end up at a premiership team. He is easily premiership quality, plays with heart and has proven himself in big games.

11/07/2010, 3:41 PM
I would be very surprised if he doesn't end up at a premiership team. He is easily premiership quality, plays with heart and has proven himself in big games.

Agreed. has look very accomplished since he has come on board. I know he has had Dunner beside him for most of the games but in the end of season friendlies he was very commanding.

Sullivinho
11/07/2010, 7:22 PM

The thing that impressed me the most about him is the relative ease with which he took to international football. With hardly an error to speak of, he's cemented his place in the team within a dozen caps. I would think that would be enough to draw the attention of premier league clubs.

Junior
11/07/2010, 9:41 PM
So that is Sean linked with Celtic whilst they have been managed by Strachan, Mowbray and Lennon in the space of 2 years. I suppose if you keep saying it often enough its bound to come true.......

Wolfie
12/07/2010, 12:27 PM
We need St Ledger operating and attuned to Prem level standard - a move to Celtic might NOT be the best case scenario for us.

DannyInvincible
12/07/2010, 6:26 PM
The thing that impressed me the most about him is the relative ease with which he took to international football. With hardly an error to speak of, he's cemented his place in the team within a dozen caps. I would think that would be enough to draw the attention of premier league clubs.

I'm a fan of St. Ledger, but he was caught out ball-watching for Italy's goal in Croke Park straight after he had scored what we all thought would be a famous winner up the other end. Then again, the whole team were in a bit of a trance after we took the lead and seemed to take it for granted we had the game in the bag. At least St. Ledger wasn't caught completely out of position. Otherwise, your praise for him is generally spot on and I don't mean to taint it.

We need St Ledger operating and attuned to Prem level standard - a move to Celtic might be the best case scenario for us.

Isn't that a contradiction, or do you mean we need him operating and attuned to SPL-level standard?

Wolfie
13/07/2010, 12:13 PM
I'm a fan of St. Ledger, but he was caught out ball-watching for Italy's goal in Croke Park straight after he had scored what we all thought would be a famous winner up the other end. Then again, the whole team were in a bit of a trance after we took the lead and seemed to take it for granted we had the game in the bag. At least St. Ledger wasn't caught completely out of position. Otherwise, your praise for him is generally spot on and I don't mean to taint it.

Isn't that a contradiction, or do you mean we need him operating and attuned to SPL-level standard?

Yes, its a contradiction. I omitted an all important "not" in my original post. In summary - I think a St Ledger move to Celtic would not be his best option.

the doc
01/08/2010, 4:31 PM
St Ledger struggling with a hamstring injury!

http://www.pnefc.net/page/NewsDetail/0,,10362~2107627,00.html (http://www.pnefc.net/page/NewsDetail/0,,10362%7E2107627,00.html)

rebelmusic
25/08/2010, 5:29 AM
Went off injured in last nights game. Hopefully nothing too serious! But considering the recent hammie injury it could be related. With McShane also out i'd say we're looking at a Foley/Kelly Dunne O'Shea Kilbane backline. Kilbane started as left back for Hull which improves his chances of starting in front of Cunningham

Interestingly Keane has been playing O'Dea at left back, altho he was subbed off last night.

25/08/2010, 7:42 AM
Worm posted a quote on the Irish Abroad thread saying that St Ledger's substitution was only precautionary. I think McShane is the one we all hope is, eh, less precautionary.

Junior
25/08/2010, 9:23 AM
O'Dea has played LB quite a lot in his career so far. Off the top of my head Id say at least a 1/3 of his appearances for Celtic were at LB. Though his natural position has to be at CB. Still looks more comfortable than say McShane at FB (albeit on the Left).

irishfan86
25/08/2010, 9:38 AM
I just don't think O'Dea has the pace or the on-the-ball ability to play the role at international level. I think he can be a very good centre half for Ireland but I really think we should explore the likes of Ward/Cunningham/Kelly in that role first.

If O'Dea plays there consistently for Ipswich and does well, I'm open to changing my mind, but I honestly don't think he has any of the attributes of a successful left full except being naturally left footed and a good tackler, which in my view is only half of what you need to be a top fullback.

Junior
25/08/2010, 9:52 AM
Agree with all of that. But if he's in the squad on merit as a CB backup, then its good to know he could also aquit himself well at LB if required. Afterall KK is not a defender (ok well only recently dropped back to the role) and McShane is certainly not a FB and these are our current first choice full backs.

Noelys Guitar
25/08/2010, 2:46 PM
Ward played a lot of the game on Saturday against Everton at left back and he looked very comfortable. I remember him getting "skinned" at LB a few times early last season but so far this year he looks like a much more accomplished player. Timing of tackles and reading of game looks a lot better. I will be very surprised if he is not included shortly in the squad. Especially if we pick up any more injuries.

the doc
25/10/2010, 8:31 PM
Heard from a contact in the game that Zenit St Petersburg are interested in St Ledger.

Spalletti, is believed to have sounded out Trap and Tard, both of whom have recommended St Ledger to 2 Italian clubs.

Good move or not?

Predator
25/10/2010, 8:35 PM
Good move or not?Surely the standard would be a bit higher than the Championship? I suppose it depends on the club, too.

Sullivinho
25/10/2010, 8:47 PM
Zenit seem to be one of the top dogs in Russian football right now, a full 17 points ahead of 'Aiden McGeady's Spartak Moscow' (© RTE Sport). I wonder who the Italian clubs are..

Sean seems to have lost momentum. A while back I was anticipating a move to the premier league or one of the likely lads in the Championship but his form has been patchy.

26/10/2010, 7:37 AM
In fairness, he always seems to put in a good shift in a green shirt. His club form can be a little inconsistent for a player with his obvious ability.

26/10/2010, 7:59 AM
It would be a great move. I think he needs to move and his club form won't get him a move to the premiership. Once he plays regularly Zenit would be a fantastic move.

26/10/2010, 8:23 AM
Obviously on a personal level it would be a great move for him. But I suspect this rumour is more to drum up potential buyer interest in St Ledger as Preston need to sell.

the doc
03/11/2010, 10:52 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1326344/Aston-Villa-rival-Liverpool-4m-January-Prestons-Sean-St-Ledger.html

Looks like the Premiership awaits Irelands St Ledger!

irishfan86
03/11/2010, 11:51 PM
Well, he'd be in the mix at both clubs to start, but not sure I'd want him going to Aston Villa and potentially reducing Clarke's chances (although maybe Houllier does seem him as more of a midfielder).

DannyInvincible
03/11/2010, 11:59 PM
I think Villa would be the better move for him personally given Liverpool's dire record of late, although we'll see what transpires come January. Either would surely be preferable to him remaining in the Championship for now. Also, partnering Dunne in defence would only be beneficial to us and both players at international level, although I would also be concerned that it might hurt Clark's chances of first-team action. Then again, as irishfan86 says, Houllier seems to have Clark set out for a defensive midfield role.

Colbert Report
04/11/2010, 3:12 AM
I can't see him moving to either club as he's simply not good enough. It would be a dream to see him partner Dunne at Villa but c'mon, do you really seem him starting over James Collins?

04/11/2010, 9:01 AM
What have Aston Villa, Liverpool, Zenit, 2 unnamed Italian clubs, Celtic, Everton and WBA all in common?

Answers on a postcard and addressed to "the doc", Preston.

04/11/2010, 5:35 PM
Is Skrtel any better than him?

SwanVsDalton
04/11/2010, 5:57 PM
Can't see how he'd up at Villa. Well stocked for decent centre halves and shouldn't be spending whatever money they have on any more.

backstothewall
04/11/2010, 11:19 PM
Can't see how he'd up at Villa. Well stocked for decent centre halves and shouldn't be spending whatever money they have on any more.

Agreed. Liverpool is by far the better move. Anfield has the potential to need another hero. The rest he can do. He will get the breaks there!

Cabs88
04/11/2010, 11:25 PM
he's not good enough to start for either club

04/11/2010, 11:29 PM
half of me thinks the Liverpool connection is baloney, the other thinks "well, actually..."
At Liverpool Carragher is on the downhill slope, the Greek is purely cover, while Agger seems surplus to requirements, leaving Skrtel as the main man. Big hopes for Daniel Ayala and he will be pushing for a first team spot next season, not to mention the untested Danny Wilson (signed from Rangers). So there is a possibility for the future. But the here and now would find him behind Carragher, Skrtel, Krygiakos, Wilson and Agger. Makes no sense.

Villa I don't know enough about, but he'll surely be behind Dunne!

rebelmusic
05/11/2010, 12:15 AM
Reading through the Kop/AV forums. Liverpool fans are hoping it's a joke. Villa fans are just wondering why they would need another CB.

05/11/2010, 8:25 AM
I dont understand why people think Sledge isnt good enough. By and large he has been very good for us, ok the one error here and there, but overall he has been very good. And I dont think it can all be attributed to the fact that he has Dunne beside him. Its certainly not a case of Babb and McGrath.

the doc
05/11/2010, 9:05 AM
http://www.lep.co.uk/sport/football/premier_league_interested_in_st_ledger_1_2738542?c ommentspage=2

youngirish
05/11/2010, 9:35 AM
I dont understand why people think Sledge isnt good enough. By and large he has been very good for us, ok the one error here and there, but overall he has been very good. And I dont think it can all be attributed to the fact that he has Dunne beside him. Its certainly not a case of Babb and McGrath.
I think potentially he's good enough to play for one of the fairly decent (If not top 4) Premeriship club's in England as he's never looked out of his depth playing against some of the supposedly top strikers in Europe for Ireland (Anelka, Henry, Berbatov etc). However, he seems in recent seasons to have gone off the boil at club level for whatever reason and I'd be surprised if a top Premiership team would take a chance on him on current form.

On a sidenote I've been surprised how well Treacy has done during his time at Preston as he didn't look too hot at either Blackburn or Sheffield United. Hopefully he can kick on from here and get a move to the Premiership in the near future as I don't see Preston getting promoted anytime soon.

05/11/2010, 10:27 AM
Preston are looking to sell. All these potential links with clubs are designed to drum up interest but ultimately lack foundation. I'm sure he'll leave Preston sooner rather than later but any potential move will likely be to another Championship club.

His value was probably highest prior to the 'Boro move. His "stock" has certainly fallen/ (crashed) since then. With new players emerging on the international scene, I wouldn't be surprised if he loses his starting position in our side within the near future. I can't imagine any top Premiership club would make a move for him.

SwanVsDalton
05/11/2010, 10:35 AM
Think Sledge has a Prem future, particularly if he keeps doing it with Ireland. But far more likely it'll be with a newly promoted Championship side or lower Prem team like (lazy punt) Wolves.