View Full Version : Sean St. Ledger

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Colbert Report
30/11/2010, 11:26 PM
Would you be prepared to bet your silence for 6 months. Cos I'd pay a grand for that

Done. If he is signed by either Liverpool or Aston Villa before September 5 2011 I will not post here for a period of six months, commencing the day he officially signs. If he doesn't, you owe me 1000 euro. Deal?

Fizzer
01/12/2010, 3:36 PM
Done. If he is signed by either Liverpool or Aston Villa before September 5 2011 I will not post here for a period of six months, commencing the day he officially signs. If he doesn't, you owe me 1000 euro. Deal?

What you said was that this 'joker' is a championship player at best. So swap Liverpool and Villa for any premier league club and you've a deal. I'll be sending it to Stu though seeing as you haven't paid up yet ;)

Colbert Report
02/12/2010, 3:49 AM
What you said was that this 'joker' is a championship player at best. So swap Liverpool and Villa for any premier league club and you've a deal. I'll be sending it to Stu though seeing as you haven't paid up yet ;)

Now you're backing out of the deal. Fine, if any of the seventeen clubs that don't get relegated this season pick him up before September 5 2011 you'll win the bet. Otherwise you'll have to send Stu the money. Joker.

02/12/2010, 4:04 AM
just gimme my money.

Fizzer
02/12/2010, 8:51 AM
Now you're backing out of the deal. Fine, if any of the seventeen clubs that don't get relegated this season pick him up before September 5 2011 you'll win the bet. Otherwise you'll have to send Stu the money. Joker.

I'm just clarifying the terms. Which, btw, also include a promoted team signing him. On a serious note, he may actually move on in the January window, seems to be a bit unsettled this season. The Doc may have an opinion on that.

the doc
04/12/2010, 8:03 PM
I'm just clarifying the terms. Which, btw, also include a promoted team signing him. On a serious note, he may actually move on in the January window, seems to be a bit unsettled this season. The Doc may have an opinion on that.

St Ledger is standing still at PNE and is becoming frustrated that PNE have blocked recent moves by asking for too much money.

It doesnt help that PNE have a poor manager in D Ferguson, who fails to bring the best out of St Ledger, whilst in contrast Trappatoni seems to do for St Ledger as his performances for Ireland show.

I think he needs a new challenge be that here or abroad.

Just a thought!

gastric
29/12/2010, 8:03 PM
Its getting interesting at Preston. Ferguson sacked, Sheffield Wednesday enquiring about St Ledger, while rumours also say WBA are interested. On this basis, St Ledger could be playing either Premier, Championship or First Division football come January!

Junior
30/12/2010, 7:49 AM
Hold the press. Wait for Doc's post on Celtics renewed interest, to add the SPL to your list. Lennon quoted as saying the CB area is one he wants to strengthen (In January).

the doc
30/12/2010, 10:06 AM
Hold the press. Wait for Doc's post on Celtics renewed interest, to add the SPL to your list. Lennon quoted as saying the CB area is one he wants to strengthen (In January).

Do you ever stop? Kelvin Wilson CB at Forest is going to Celtic, now thats not even in the press yet!

Junior
30/12/2010, 10:23 AM
Do you ever stop? Kelvin Wilson CB at Forest is going to Celtic, now thats not even in the press yet!

Brilliant.

Wilson has been linked with Celtic since the summer (if not before). Lennon was at Forest for a short while............

http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/179787/Celtics-in-2-5m-Kelvin-talks
http://www.klikfc.com/article/145139:2/billy-davies-fears-celtic-move-for-kevin-wilson

the doc
30/12/2010, 11:27 AM
Brilliant.

Wilson has been linked with Celtic since the summer (if not before). Lennon was at Forest for a short while............

http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/179787/Celtics-in-2-5m-Kelvin-talks
http://www.klikfc.com/article/145139:2/billy-davies-fears-celtic-move-for-kevin-wilson

I meant done deal, Sherlock!

Junior
10/01/2011, 10:09 AM
I know this is off topic but credit where its due! Well done Watson! Your Preston Contacts Im guessing?

Kevin Wilson signs pre-contract to move to Parkhead but could arrive before end of window / SCOTSMAN
CELTIC have secured the services of Nottingham Forest defender Kelvin Wilson on a pre-contract agreement and are still seeking to accelerate the player's signing during the current transfer window.
Neil Lennon last night confirmed that a deal has been struck with Wilson, one of his long-standing transfer targets, to join Celtic in the summer when his existing deal at Forest expires. The former Notts County and Preston North End player is understood to have agreed a three-year contract.

The Celtic manager has not given up hope of adding the 25-year-old to his squad this month, however, as he looks to strengthen his central defensive options for the second half of the season. "The pre-contract deal is done," said Lennon. "There may now be some movement in the next few weeks. If not, then we'll have Kelvin in the summer. If the possibility is there for him to come here in January, then I'd like to have him now. But it's up to Forest. They have their own priorities at the moment and he is still technically a Forest player."

Wilson first came to Lennon's attention when they were team-mates at Forest in 2007 during the Celtic manager's brief spell at the City Ground at the end of his playing career.

"I like him a lot," added Lennon. "I played with him for six months when I was at Forest. He was 22 then and still developing physically. We have watched him for the last couple of years and he has been very consistent in the Championship.

15/02/2011, 8:01 PM
Congrats to Sean "the doc" St.Ledger

scored after 1 minute - close range header.

Sullivinho
15/02/2011, 10:33 PM
Congrats to Sean "the doc" St.Ledger

scored after 1 minute - close range header.

Long range header from last week:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/tile/2011/0209/1224289346102_1.jpg

Went well wide.

the doc
22/03/2011, 6:51 PM
Hearing rumours that the Saint is out after knee injury in training! :(

Noelys Guitar
22/03/2011, 6:56 PM
Hearing rumours that the Saint is out after knee injury in training! :(

Have you got a link/other info on this Doc?

TrapAPony
22/03/2011, 7:01 PM
If so it will likely be Foley, Dunne, Clark, Kilbane

the doc
22/03/2011, 7:04 PM
Have you got a link/other info on this Doc?

Its just breaking on www.pne-online.net

TrapAPony
22/03/2011, 7:08 PM
Its just breaking on www.pne-online.net

Link doesn't work.

Edit : Have it now

http://www.pne-online.net/forum/showthread.php?62229-Ledger-out-for-six-weeks

SwanVsDalton
22/03/2011, 7:11 PM
On their forum here. (http://www.pne-online.net/forum/showthread.php?62229-Ledger-out-for-six-weeks) Nothing beyond some guy saying he heard something, wouldn't be panicking quite yet.

DannyInvincible
22/03/2011, 7:15 PM
There are these from training earlier though.

http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/46/be/ff/67343059b180a8bc2d7ad42d616e6fa3c79ac0570a/INPHO_00497372.jpg

http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/f0/fb/2f/c7ab66a720f4dcd5474ee1035a3b33dde5845c2541/INPHO_00497375.jpg

22/03/2011, 7:19 PM
he looks in pain....

Noelys Guitar
22/03/2011, 7:25 PM
That does not look good.

SwanVsDalton
22/03/2011, 7:31 PM
Uh-oh. If he's out, Dunne pretty much has to play.

This is starting to remind me a little of playing Portugal at Lansdowne in 2001. Turned up at the stadium to find Dunne and Stan we're the starting centre-backs, think it was Cunningham and Breen who were suddenly crocked. Everybody panicked, but they did end up guiding us to qualification. Same again please.

22/03/2011, 7:35 PM
He probably just got a kick and was OK 5 minutes later.

Doc, where are you?

22/03/2011, 9:13 PM
According to Tommy Martin on twitter, it was Ciaran Clark: https://twitter.com/#!/tommymartin77/status/50169301751177217

Ciaran Clark may have just secured his starting spot. Just clattered St Ledger. Looked sore

22/03/2011, 9:41 PM
If there's been one constant in this season of disruption for Irish football, it's that Ciaran Clark will always clatter somebody at some stage, whether in a competitive game, training or the line at the canteen.

boovidge
22/03/2011, 9:49 PM
let's hope he can clatter pandev then

22/03/2011, 10:30 PM
And not get a card of any type!

AlaskaFox
23/03/2011, 7:59 AM
And not get a card of any type!

This is Ciaran Clark we're talking about. The man gets more cards per game than Graham Poll can hand out.

23/03/2011, 10:06 AM
According to the Independent, it was "only a bang": http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/euro-2012-diary-2590542.html

'bang' scare for hurt St Ledger

WITH Trapattoni urging his players to take it easy in training this week, the last thing he needed yesterday was Sean St Ledger going down injured in the match at the end of their session in Malahide, particularly with his regular centre-half partner Richard Dunne such a doubt.

St Ledger went down in agony and was surrounded by anxious-looking medical staff for a couple of nervous minutes.

However, while the photographers snapped away, he was soon back on his feet and walked to the bus untroubled.

"It was only a bang," said Trapattoni.

23/03/2011, 10:20 AM
How do you impress him in training as he said before, if he preaches to take it easy in training?

Crosby87
23/03/2011, 10:27 AM
He means not to do anything silly to hurt someone POSH. My God you are making me nervous this week.

23/03/2011, 10:29 AM
No but to impress you have to go in hard in training any amateur sports person knows that, you get stuck in put yourself about, whatever contact sport, show for the ball etc etc.

23/03/2011, 12:00 PM
You forgot other cliches like watch your house, play it down the channels, foreigners don't like it up 'em.

You can play at a fast tempo in training without tackling at match intensity. In fact it says it all about our style of football that we regularly injure ourselves in training.

23/03/2011, 12:45 PM
Ya thats a fair point stutts, that holds for team training exercises or whatever, but 1 on 1's or smaller group practice matches then you have to have that bit of bite about you. Harrass and harrying aren't just enough to display your superiority over an opponent - in this case a team mate vying for the same position as you.

DannyInvincible
23/03/2011, 12:49 PM
Does this mean he's OK to play then?

the doc
16/04/2011, 9:28 PM
The Saint out again today, rumours of him being out for the season!

Clark must of clattered him good and proper!

17/04/2011, 5:59 PM
Ah Jaysus. Dunne & SSL both out for Macedonia?

17/04/2011, 7:16 PM
whats wrong with dunne i watched the villa game yesterday

btw i always find it funny when you type in a dublin accent, as you don't speak like that.

17/04/2011, 7:32 PM
He's suspended for Macedonia.

17/04/2011, 8:46 PM
D'oh ya forgot all about that.cheers!

Sullivinho
14/06/2011, 10:01 AM
Ipswich enquire about St. Ledger (http://www.twtd.co.uk/news.php?storyid=18582&title=jewell:_enquiry_not_bid_for_st_ledger)

Also interested in Treacy apparently, but face competition from Burnley.

14/06/2011, 11:26 AM
Ipswich enquire about St. Ledger (http://www.twtd.co.uk/news.php?storyid=18582&title=jewell:_enquiry_not_bid_for_st_ledger)

Also interested in Treacy apparently, but face competition from Burnley.

thought he was excellent for us last week against Italy. Based on his Irish performances surely someone better than championship sides should want him?

14/06/2011, 11:35 AM
That's what I was thinking too.

dr_peepee
14/06/2011, 11:57 AM
thought he was excellent for us last week against Italy. Based on his Irish performances surely someone better than championship sides should want him?

Had read Norwich were in for him... Dunno if there's much credence to it.

Sullivinho
14/06/2011, 11:59 AM

I thought one of the newly-promoted sides might take a punt on him but I reckoned that last year too around the same time.

He thinks he's up to the task himself (http://www.thefreelibrary.com/St+Ledger+g+Prem+bid.-a0258654253) anyway although accepts that his international form has been better than at club level.

"The last two seasons I've been inconsistent at club level, but I've found my form for Ireland has always been good," he said. "On a week-to-week basis, it needs to be better. "I want to be playing in Europe, in the Premier League or in one of Europe's top leagues.

"I'd like to think I'm good enough for the Premier League. The boss (at Preston) said we have to make cuts, so I'll just have to see what happens.

CraftyToePoke
23/06/2011, 3:06 PM
Being linked with a move to bookies favourites to go up Leicester according to this http://www.foxestalk.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=73982&st=0&gopid=1896918&#entry1896918

Any truth in it? Do we know?

Doc?

the doc
24/06/2011, 5:50 PM
PNE have agreed a fee with Leicester from what ive been told just down to the Saint agreeing to the terms. Think the fee is around £750k- 1m thats a bargain!

I thought there would of been interest from Prem clubs as he is better than some of the players in there.

irishfan86
25/06/2011, 12:11 AM
When you look at how dire Wolves' defending was at times last season, you'd think Mick would take a bite at that price.