View Full Version : Sean St. Ledger
DeLorean
17/05/2015, 10:18 PM
Orlando lead 2-0 at half time.
17/05/2015, 10:45 PM
Andy Keogh and Damien Duff played against each other over Christmas. Duff came on as a sub in a 1-1 draw (http://www.perthglory.com.au/article/honours-even-on-boxing-day-clash/ztq9e1ec0a7g11384se9k6i5p).
Before that I'd say it must have been September 2012 when Robbie Keane and Darren O'Dea played against each other. (http://www.goal.com/en-us/match/la-galaxy-vs-toronto/1245117/lineups?ICID=MP_MS_2)
Would've been Fahey and Healy last season. If you're excluding Ireland, probably that, yeah, unless Andy O'Brien played Keane more recently.
DeLorean
17/05/2015, 11:46 PM
Yeah I presume Tets just didn't really consider the League of Ireland? Finished 4-0 to Orlando and Sledge played the ninety.
Edit- good call on Andy O'Brien, he played against Robbie twice last season, and 0-1 defeat and 2-2 draw, with Keane scoring in each.
the doc
18/05/2015, 3:29 PM
St Ledger played against Keane in an FA Cup match in 2009.
One of the reasons Ireland called St Ledger up was so they could take Keane out of his back pocket!
On another subject, Life in the MLS
https://www.fanbookz.com/en/news/exclusive-st-ledger-on-life-in-mls-with-orlando-city#ZerT0SfrpRJcsK6F.97
DeLorean
25/06/2015, 12:34 AM
Must be a long time since two Irish international players faced each other, outside of the English and Scottish leagues
It's Sledge v Doyler right now as Orlando host Colorado. No goals so far coming up to half time.
DeLorean
25/06/2015, 10:12 AM
Clean sheet for Sledge as Orlando win 2-0. Could have been different if his terrible error has been punished after four minutes. Doyle played off the front man in a 4-2-3-1 formation and Shane O'Neill started also and lost his man for the opener.
Highlights here:- (http://www.orlandocitysc.com/post/2015/06/24/highlights-orlando-city-sc-2-colorado-rapids-0?autoplay=true)
25/06/2015, 10:29 AM
Sledge versus Doyle. Reminds me of those Masters 5 a Side tournaments that used to be on TV, where your favourite players from a decade or two ago wore cotton retro shirts and generally looked a bit slow.
DannyInvincible
25/06/2015, 11:18 PM
The first F in FFS stands for "for".
Very loosely related but amusing; David Cameron actually used 'FFS' in the House of Commons this week (http://i100.independent.co.uk/article/ffs-david-cameron-is-still-terrible-at-acronyms--WkxZgZrykfl), although it's doubtful he knows what it actually stands for considering he is so comically out of touch that he once thought 'LOL' stood for 'lots of love' (http://www.theguardian.com/media/2012/may/11/rebekah-brooks-david-cameron-texts-lol)!
TheOneWhoKnocks
26/06/2015, 12:27 PM
A few years ago (must be a decade at this stage) a really hot girl on Myspace was messaging me back and forth and she kept saying "LOL". I thought it meant lots of love too. :(
That was me catfishing you TOWK and I thought it meant "look out loser"...
;-)
TheOneWhoKnocks
27/06/2015, 2:38 AM
That was you?
Catfishing is a serious offense. You can get deported for that.
:mad:
TheOneWhoKnocks
27/06/2015, 2:53 AM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/orlando-offers-new-lease-of-life-for-the-return-of-the-saint-339183.html
A few days before, he played for Orlando in a US Open Cup game against lower-tier side Charleston Battery. It was a 4-4 thriller and it went to penalties. St Ledger scored his and Orlando made it through. But in the dressing room afterwards, the team were told of an incident that had just taken place close to their hotel. There were very few details so on the way back, players frantically checked their phones for updates. It was then that the magnitude of the Charleston shooting began to sink in.
“We were in a hotel opposite the church where it all happened. Literally half a block away, probably less,” he says.
“There was a police escort to take us back there after the game – it was quite scary, really. Especially because at the time, they hadn’t caught the shooter yet. The hotel had to be checked, all of that. And you’ve seen this stuff on the tv but never think you’d find yourself in the same situation. And you had the families of players and staff back home who were obviously worried.
“It wasn’t as bad for me – my family were in the UK and all asleep. But I just messaged them when I got home to say ‘When you wake up you’re going to see about the Charleston shooting but I’m okay and all the players are okay.’”
TheOneWhoKnocks
27/06/2015, 2:55 AM
Superstar team-mates isn’t the only new thing St Ledger has had to get used to. The relentless travelling is a grind. After finishing in Montreal, the team leaves at 6.30am to catch a flight home. It’s one of the more straightforward commutes for Orlando – a three-hour plane journey. Others are much more arduous.
“We played in San Jose where there was a three-hour time difference and a five and a half hour flight. By the end of it, you’re knackered. Then you’re back in on a Monday because you could have a game on the Wednesday. That side of it, I never really expected. I actually got ill after that week. It was flu-type symptoms but I had ulcers in my mouth and the doctor said it was just from the flying and being run down. I never knew the toll it would take on your body.”
Not ideal is it? Especially if you are in your thirties and want to sustain an International career.
Watching St Ledger against the Impact, he’s solid if unspectacular. He’s sharp and safe and reads the game well. But his steadiness and consistency at club level hasn’t led to an international recall. In fact, since moving to the US, he’s had no contact from anyone involved in the Irish set-up. His last appearance for the side came in a friendly against Poland in 2013.
“It’s not disappointing. He (Martin O’Neill) is focused on getting to the Euros. The lads that are there and who have been part of the squad are worthy of his time. I’m eight hours away on a plane so it’s not easy to keep tabs. I’m sure he’s got people out here. I’m sure Steve Guppy (Ireland coach and chief scout) has contacts.
“All I can do is keep playing well and hopefully word will get back. And if there are injuries in the squad or suspensions and I’m fortunate to get back in, then brilliant.
“That’s just football. It’s the cut-throat reality of it. When you’re needed and wanted, you feel the love. When you’re not, you don’t. And you get on with life. I’m not closing that door. I would like to try and get back in there. But we’ll wait and see what the manager has planned.”
the doc
27/06/2015, 7:59 AM
Never say never!
The Saint will be playing in the Championship once the MLS season finishes.
27/06/2015, 11:00 AM
Sean St. Leger on his relationship with Taylor Swift:
"If I’m fortunate to get back in, then brilliant. It’s the cut-throat reality of it. When you’re needed and wanted, you feel the love. When you’re not, you don’t. And you get on with life. I’m not closing that door. I would like to try and get back in there."
27/06/2015, 11:35 AM
Never say never!
The Saint will be playing in the Championship once the MLS season finishes.
Scottish or English? Or is he switching codes to the GAA?
the doc
28/06/2015, 7:56 PM
Sean St. Leger on his relationship with Taylor Swift:
"If I’m fortunate to get back in, then brilliant. It’s the cut-throat reality of it. When you’re needed and wanted, you feel the love. When you’re not, you don’t. And you get on with life. I’m not closing that door. I would like to try and get back in there."
😄👍🍀 Brilliant, Taylor's pi**ing herself on her tour bus as we speak.
Crosby87
28/06/2015, 8:28 PM
When you say "trying to get back in there".........do you mean literally doc?
TrapAPony
28/06/2015, 9:05 PM
There is as much of a chance St Ledger having a relationship with Taylor Swift as that of Dustin the Turkey having a relationship with her.
29/06/2015, 1:17 PM
Indeed, and the whole affair and subsequent split-up inspired a great album
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/4/40/We_Are_Never_Ever_Getting_Back_Together.png
Brilliant, Taylor's pi**ing herself on her tour bus as we speak.
"and the players gonna play, play, play, play, play, play" (unless youre Sean St. Ledger)
01/07/2015, 2:47 PM
Goal line clearance from St Ledger earlier this week: https://twitter.com/mustacheclub/status/616113738253475840
DeLorean
01/07/2015, 2:57 PM
That was fantastic.
the doc
01/07/2015, 5:46 PM
That was fantastic.
He's getting better with every game, just needed games in him after the long time out with injuries.
Regular games and training coupled with some " Taylor" made work outs are bringing him back to his best.
At his best he's better than anything we currently have at CB for Ireland.
But hey don't just take my word for it!
http://www.orlandocitysc.com/post/2015/07/01/sean-st-ledger-saves-day-vs-crew-sc
starting tonight against new york city, for whom pirlo is on the bench.
david villa has given new york the lead on the stroke of HT.
DeLorean
27/07/2015, 11:14 AM
Not a great outing for Sledge as Orlando were beating 5-3, and he could have done better for at least a couple of the goals. They could have easily got a draw though as Kaka hit the post with a free kick which would have made it 4-4, but New York City scored from the break. Unsurprisingly, Pirlo was different class when he came on.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jj3TDKgibyo
27/07/2015, 11:20 AM
Not a great outing for Sledge as Orlando were beating 5-3, and he could have done better for at least a couple of the goals. They could have easily got a draw though as Kaka hit the post with a free kick which would have made it 4-4, but New York City scored from the break. Unsurprisingly, Pirlo was different class when he came on.
he missed a half chance from a diving header near the end. only saw about 20 mins but he seemed lively. decent game from what I saw
seanfhear
27/07/2015, 3:11 PM
^^^^..Very laid back commentary.
27/07/2015, 6:33 PM
Quite clearly at fault for 3 of those goals.
Crosby87
27/07/2015, 6:39 PM
Pirlo looks like a homeless person. He'll fit right in in Queens.
31/07/2015, 10:58 PM
Rumour from Orlando that St Ledger has been waived (released, basically) from Orlando City: www.orlandosentinel.com/sports/orlando-city-lions/on-the-pitch/os-orlando-city-soccer-waives-sean-st-ledger-20150731-post.html
samhaydenjr
01/08/2015, 2:34 AM
Rumour from Orlando that St Ledger has been waived (released, basically) from Orlando City: www.orlandosentinel.com/sports/orlando-city-lions/on-the-pitch/os-orlando-city-soccer-waives-sean-st-ledger-20150731-post.html (http://www.orlandosentinel.com/sports/orlando-city-lions/on-the-pitch/os-orlando-city-soccer-waives-sean-st-ledger-20150731-post.html)
Very disappointing for Sledge - although I was more surprised by his base salary of $125,000, which seems shockingly low when you consider that Darren O'Dea was on $350k at Toronto FC and 34-year-old Andy O'Brien was earning $200k in his second season in Vancouver
the doc
01/08/2015, 9:01 AM
Very disappointing for Sledge - although I was more surprised by his base salary of $125,000, which seems shockingly low when you consider that Darren O'Dea was on $350k at Toronto FC and 34-year-old Andy O'Brien was earning $200k in his second season in Vancouver
When it rains it pours fellas!
On a positive side, he got games and proved his fitness after a long injury spell at Leic.
Strange decision considering Heath had been saying Ledge has been outstanding before the last 2 games.
A victim of the ridiculous MLS rules system, number of international players on roster and all that ****e!
They can waiver a player, without paying the remaining players contract, in short, if you get cut, they just pay the last months wages.
Dazza got the same shoddy treatment by Toronto.
TheOneWhoKnocks
01/08/2015, 4:27 PM
Let go for serious breach of club policy.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/former-ireland-international-sean-st-ledger-axed-from-orlando-for-a-serious-breach-of-club-policy-31420687.html
01/08/2015, 4:27 PM
Woof, has the doc been caught telling porkies and there's more to this?
http://www.orlandosentinel.com/sports/orlando-city-lions/on-the-pitch/os-orlando-city-soccer-waives-sean-st-ledger-20150731-post.html
01/08/2015, 8:03 PM
Was that article in English?
the doc
01/08/2015, 8:32 PM
Over reaction from Orlando, used it as an easy way to get rid of a player to free up an international spot.
SSL spent the evening with a lady friend and missed training, as it took longer than a Swift one!
Should of known better, but how many of us have had a few gargles picked up some hot T&A and missed work the next day?
The little **** Heath, hadnt the balls to of got rid of the other player who was lined up to go, so when this opportunity came he jumped at it.
Crosby87
01/08/2015, 9:16 PM
The Norwegian Third division awaits.
the doc
01/08/2015, 9:38 PM
The Norwegian Third division awaits.
Some good looking women and great lager over there, bring it on!
TheOneWhoKnocks
01/08/2015, 9:40 PM
It is understood St Ledger was involved in an altercation on a night out, although it is not known if other team-mates were involved and it comes after a recent game for Orlando in New York City.
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/sean-st-ledger-sacked-mls-6179067?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Crosby87
02/08/2015, 12:03 AM
Read the comments...some of them are freaking hilarious. Never knew there were any mls fans out there to even be snarky.... I've never met one.
http://m.mlssoccer.com/news/article/2015/08/01/orlando-city-sc-waives-defender-sean-st-ledger-serious-breach-club-policy
DannyInvincible
02/08/2015, 12:27 AM
Over reaction from Orlando, used it as an easy way to get rid of a player to free up an international spot.
SSL spent the evening with a lady friend and missed training, as it took longer than a Swift one!
Should of known better, but how many of us have had a few gargles picked up some hot T&A and missed work the next day?
The little **** Heath, hadnt the balls to of got rid of the other player who was lined up to go, so when this opportunity came he jumped at it.
Would you be so forgiving if, say, Ciaran Clark missed training?
samhaydenjr
02/08/2015, 2:08 AM
If it was about missing training after a night out drinking, I think he should have been cut some slack - I mean he's recently hit the big 3-0, so he's not as young as he used to be and it's like 50 degrees there with the humidex (and as Dara O'Briain says, 32 degrees is the scientifically proven melting point of an Irishman), so perhaps he hasn't learned to pace himself. On the other hand, it was American beer (like what, 2% alc by vol?) and if he can't hold that, does he really have the fortitude to turn back the marauding hordes from Sporting Kansas City or the Columbus Crew?
Crosby87
02/08/2015, 2:24 AM
There are VERY few athletes here who could miss practice due to a night of drinking and it not be a big deal in any sport. You have to suck it up. Jim Abbott, the one handed pitcher from the 1990s, wrote a whole chapter in his book about missing the bus to the game on a morning he wasn't even pitching bc he went out in chicago and got drunk when he was depressed....I doubt Michael Jordan ever missed practice one time and he stayed up all night gambling. You would probably have to kill Eli Manning for Peyton to miss practice.
02/08/2015, 2:55 AM
If he was indispensable they wouldn't of dispensed of him.
the doc
02/08/2015, 9:32 AM
Would you be so forgiving if, say, Ciaran Clark missed training?
Little known fact Clarky was the Saints room mate when they were both with Ireland.
Clarkys no Saint either!!!!!!
the doc
02/08/2015, 9:58 AM
http://www.orlandolions.com/index.php?threads/orlando-city-waives-sean-st-ledger.263/
TheOneWhoKnocks
02/08/2015, 12:58 PM
Doesn't really say much about how British, Irish & European players approach the MLS with regards to professionalism does it?
02/08/2015, 1:46 PM
Doesn't really say much about how British, Irish & European players approach the MLS with regards to professionalism does it?
You're right, it says absolutely nothing.
02/08/2015, 8:28 PM
Taylor made for a swift return to oblivion.