Feck!
ArdeeBhoy
12/08/2013, 9:03 AM
Oh dear.
Richard Dunne anyone...
the doc
23/09/2013, 8:44 PM
Return of the Saint?
http://mobile.lcfc.com/news/article/230913-u21s-report-norwich-1-city-0-1072791.aspx?pd=635155585510000000
the doc
24/03/2014, 7:54 PM
Back in action tonight
https://mobile.twitter.com/OfficialFOXES/status/448194274509991936
24/03/2014, 7:57 PM
Back in action tonight
https://mobile.twitter.com/OfficialFOXES/status/448194274509991936
Posting from the dressing room, Sean?
09/05/2014, 11:53 AM
Disappointing....
Sean St Ledger @seanstledger12 (https://twitter.com/seanstledger12) 6m (https://twitter.com/seanstledger12/status/464732953428647936) Probably comes as no surprise I haven't been offered a contract @OfficialFOXES (https://twitter.com/OfficialFOXES) I'm gonna miss been at such a fantastic club....
09/05/2014, 11:56 AM
Bad news for the doc but, as he says, not entirely unexpected. Hopefully he can get back to full fitness and find a club in the summer.
the doc
11/05/2014, 9:49 AM
Bad news for the doc but, as he says, not entirely unexpected. Hopefully he can get back to full fitness and find a club in the summer.
That's football Chazza!
Look at Damo a while back, no club, now he's playing some of the best football of his career, fully deserves his chance for Ireland too.
COYBIG
DannyInvincible
11/05/2014, 11:14 AM
When things don't go the way of the doc (St. Ledger), that's football. When things don't go the way of Ciaran Clark, that's Ciaran Clark...
11/05/2014, 11:59 AM
I see he was asking O'Neill to be allowed to turn up and attend the sessions.
It worked for Keogh, didn't it? Sean just has to persist with his claim for a place.
TheOneWhoKnocks
11/05/2014, 12:10 PM
I see he was asking O'Neill to be allowed to turn up and attend the sessions.
It worked for Keogh, didn't it? Sean just has to persist with his claim for a place.
Anthony Pilkington is really in favour. He has probably been Norwich's best player over the last few weeks. And Swansea definitely don't want him. That was just a test bid.
11/05/2014, 12:50 PM
That's football Chazza!
Look at Damo a while back, no club, now he's playing some of the best football of his career, fully deserves his chance for Ireland too.
COYBIGany chance your mate Damo can put in a good word with Tony Pulis on your behalf?
the doc
11/05/2014, 11:24 PM
any chance your mate Damo can put in a good word with Tony Pulis on your behalf?
Ha ha no chance!
Pullo likes big boys!
gastric
03/06/2014, 9:41 AM
Sorry Doc, she looks like a good sort! At least now you can just concentrate on getting a job.
http://www.independent.ie/woman/celeb-news/irish-footballer-st-ledgers-dismay-after-he-was-dumped-by-text-30324995.html
TheOneWhoKnocks
03/06/2014, 10:09 AM
The only reason you had a chance with her is because you're a footballer, Doc. Count your blessings.
03/06/2014, 10:45 AM
Maybe she got the hump with Irish footballers in general pulling out of squads by text message so she was making a point of principle? #COYBIG.
03/06/2014, 11:05 AM
Just looked at the doc twitter account, and from his profile picture it looks like he's on his way to a job interview, or judging by the smile he's just had a successful job interview with Barcelona or some Serie A club no doubt. But that's a big miss in your styling there doc, closing the bottom button on a blazer is a no-no.
dr_peepee
03/06/2014, 10:24 PM
Above any player, he's one that I would have thought have gotten a move to Italy via a value for money recommendation from Trap to some low profile Seria A club.
the doc
04/06/2014, 9:33 AM
Above any player, he's one that I would have thought have gotten a move to Italy via a value for money recommendation from Trap to some low profile Seria A club.
Well said that man!
I think the lad is getting written off by many on here, it was the same before he first made the squads a few years back.
None of us know what's been said to him by the new manager, but if I were a betting man, I'd put a few Euro on MON having him in his plans.
Big season ahead for the lad, but being Irish he's a very determined person.
Write him off at your peril, the lads done well for us, 3 vital goals in 37 international appearances and been consistently good too.
We have a Euros to qualify for, it's a long road ahead we will need him along with our other experienced players in the big games.
04/06/2014, 11:31 AM
Low profile club says it all really. Granted he has had injury problems but he hasn't performed for his respective clubs the last number of seasons and it is those clubs that pay the wages. Any potential new employer will be taking a gamble on the doc. But personally have always thought he's very average, Trapattoni's ultra defensive tactics certainly shielded his deficiencies when playing on the international stage. As it is his future Irish prospects look slim but the doc is Irish and therefore determined so let's not rule him out just yet.
04/06/2014, 2:33 PM
Well said that man!
I think the lad is getting written off by many on here, it was the same before he first made the squads a few years back.
None of us know what's been said to him by the new manager, but if I were a betting man, I'd put a few Euro on MON having him in his plans.
Big season ahead for the lad, but being Irish he's a very determined person.
Write him off at your peril, the lads done well for us, 3 vital goals in 37 international appearances and been consistently good too.
We have a Euros to qualify for, it's a long road ahead we will need him along with our other experienced players in the big games.
If you were Sean St Ledger - a ridiculous hypothetical I know - what would you say your chances of getting back in the side are? Purely hypothetical of course.
the doc
04/06/2014, 7:23 PM
If you were Sean St Ledger - a ridiculous hypothetical I know - what would you say your chances of getting back in the side are? Purely hypothetical of course.
Strange assumption Chazza.
I'd say 99.5% given a run of club games and good performances.
the doc
04/06/2014, 7:31 PM
Low profile club says it all really. Granted he has had injury problems but he hasn't performed for his respective clubs the last number of seasons and it is those clubs that pay the wages. Any potential new employer will be taking a gamble on the doc. But personally have always thought he's very average, Trapattoni's ultra defensive tactics certainly shielded his deficiencies when playing on the international stage. As it is his future Irish prospects look slim but the doc is Irish and therefore determined so let's not rule him out just yet.
Your logic is flawed, you don't play over 30 internationals and get away with it, despite tactics and team formation.
You still have to do your job well, both for yourself and the team.
There's no where to hide when you play against international players.
But hey don't let the truth get in the way of your 💩 argument.
05/06/2014, 12:17 AM
Sledge is a good player, I don't dispute that based on his Irish performances but if he doesn't sort out his club career he can kiss goodbye to the Irish team. Your raging horn for him doc is actually one of the reasons he gets an unnecessarily tough time on here in my opinion.
05/06/2014, 1:25 AM
Sledge is a good player, I don't dispute that based on his Irish performances but if he doesn't sort out his club career he can kiss goodbye to the Irish team. Your raging horn for him doc is actually one of the reasons he gets an unnecessarily tough time on here in my opinion.
I don't think he even gets a hard time around here. Apart from the odd person, most of us rate him as a very good player and I'd say the majority of us think he's earned his spot in the team over the past four years on the back of his performances, it's just very funny how this particular person feels the need to be a one-man PR crew for Sean on an internet forum that holds absolutely no sway whatsoever with anyone.
He'd need to go to YBIG for that, as Paul O'Shea will tell you.
I really just wanted to point out how annoying the raging horn can be.
In other news, Paul O'Shea is:
http://cache2.artprintimages.com/p/LRG/37/3724/1WOAF00Z/art-print/the-man-who-knew-too-much-peter-lorre-1934.jpg
05/06/2014, 6:40 AM
There's no where to hide when you play against international players.
The nature of international football is so that playing teams consisting of semi-pro/ amateur players isn't uncommon. We should be more than comfortable in 60% of the competitive games we play. But getting back to that said previously, Damien Delaney is an example of what I mean - he is afforded plenty of protection when playing with Crystal Palace given the way they pack the defence, so much so that he now "looks" a player to the foot.ie masses. But when that protection isn't there - he's back to his average self. And that's the case with you doc. I'd expect any professional footballer to have some degree of quality about him (do you still consider yourself a professional footballer btw?) but you've spent your career in the lower English divisions for good reason.
05/06/2014, 7:46 AM
That's past tense stu....
Grafter
24/07/2014, 1:17 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/other-soccer/st-ledger-fears-for-future-with-club-and-country-30455829.html
Contrary to this article's assertion, O'Neill did play him in a game, Poland away last Nov.
Bloody great player for Ireland regardless of club form... most consistent player under Trap reign I reckon!
seanfhear
24/07/2014, 6:15 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/other-soccer/st-ledger-fears-for-future-with-club-and-country-30455829.html
Contrary to this article's assertion, O'Neill did play him in a game, Poland away last Nov.
Bloody great player for Ireland regardless of club form... most consistent player under Trap reign I reckon!I agree that he has done very well for Ireland regardless of his club situation. One of those players that performed well at international football.
25/07/2014, 12:14 AM
No surprise that his comments there mirror almost exactly some of the doc's elsewhere on this forum.
CraftyToePoke
25/07/2014, 2:24 AM
No surprise that his comments there mirror almost exactly some of the doc's elsewhere on this forum.
Do they ? I am no Doc apologist but didn't he say SSL was sorted with a good club move already, ages back and MON had assured him of his Ireland future ?
Like here :
Me?? Probably not!
SSL? Done deal, very good club
25/07/2014, 3:38 AM
He may well have had something lined up that didn't come to fruition, or maybe it was just bluster. I was referring more to comments by the doc to the effect there is no money outside the top league anymore, which SSL repeated almost word for word.
the doc
26/07/2014, 11:03 AM
He may well have had something lined up that didn't come to fruition, or maybe it was just bluster. I was referring more to comments by the doc to the effect there is no money outside the top league anymore, which SSL repeated almost word for word.
Feck me Sherlock!
Chazza, everyone knows that there's no money outside the top leagues.
Think your putting 2 and 2 together and getting 5.
Damo hadn't got a club a year or so ago, he's doing ok now.
Now what was Arnies saying?????
26/07/2014, 8:00 PM
Of course there's money outside the top division (and the top clubs in the Championship), just not as much as there used to be. And it's one thing for everyone to know it, another thing for him and his online fan club to come out with exactly the same statement.
31/07/2014, 9:46 AM
Where is the forgotten man these days?
I'm beginning to think he needs to go on Celebrity Master Chef or Get Me Outa Here. Either that or he needs Richard Keogh's publicist.
gastric
31/07/2014, 10:01 AM
There's not even transfer rumours about him! I find it hard to believe there is no interest, I thought maybe Mick McCarthy might have made a move for him. He is the sort of player I think would flourish in the MLS.
31/07/2014, 11:09 AM
Where is the forgotten man these days?
I'm beginning to think he needs to go on Celebrity Master Chef or Get Me Outa Here. Either that or he needs Richard Keogh's publicist.travelling around according to his twitter account - https://twitter.com/seanstledger12
going on his last few updates, he's currently in Greece
was in Ireland recently supporting some charities
Bosco
31/07/2014, 11:30 AM
His tweet a week or two ago saying "What's poppin in Mullingar on a Monday night?" was one of the grimmest tweets I've ever seen from a professional footballer....especially one without a club..
04/08/2014, 12:03 AM
He's been doing FAI kids camps for the last few weeks. Probably why he was in or around Mullingar. I know this because my sister is coaching at them too and was chatting to him.
Fairly surprised he hasn't found a mid table Championship club or fecked off to Australia/America by now.
04/08/2014, 5:33 PM
His tweet a week or two ago saying "What's poppin in Mullingar on a Monday night?" was one of the grimmest tweets I've ever seen from a professional footballer....especially one without a club..
Decent town on a weekend, but I'm sure he found out, nothing was poppin in Mullingar on a Monday....
Olé Olé
04/08/2014, 7:03 PM
It is one of the most curious cases of an Irish footballer. 'He's never let us down' was a phrase tailored for Kevin Kilbane but we were always aware of his limitations. Clearly limitations exist for St. Ledger but he never looked out of place at international level (not that Kilbane did). Whereas Kilbane managed to play for some quite big clubs in the PL, St. Ledger is now seemingly struggling to get a Championship gig. Pity that Celtic move didn't materialize and he could have tested himself in the Champions League.
DannyInvincible
04/08/2014, 9:27 PM
St. Ledger is now seemingly struggling to get a Championship gig.
Our players really need to be testing themselves at a higher level than the Mullingar Town under-12s!
on trial at huddersfield - played the second half (entire side changed at HT) of a 2-2 draw with newcastle according to nufc.com.
sean scannell played the first half at wing back.
DannyInvincible
05/08/2014, 10:49 PM
Sean Scannell plays at wing back now? I always thought he was a striker...
05/08/2014, 10:56 PM
Sean Scannell plays at wing back now? I always thought he was a striker...
Think he's been playing mainly as a wide attacking player for the past few years. Maybe Robins sees him in the Kieran Richardson mould. Jake Carroll also played for Huddersfield second half, presumably also at wing back.
Would be a good move for SSL you'd have to say. A team that with a good run could probably threaten the play-off spots.
Olé Olé
05/08/2014, 11:08 PM
Amazing to think that Scannell is still just 23 and has played over 200 league games, almost all (if not all) at Championship level. Still hasn't kicked on though. I hope it happens soon. He really frustrated Huddersfield fans last season.
As for him playing wing-back, well he has got the pace and Ashley Young has managed to play there in recent times.
gastric
06/08/2014, 12:04 AM
Just confirmation of Clark's interest in SSL. It seems he is also interested in Stephen Ward who Brighton are favourite to sign.
http://www.examiner.co.uk/sport/football/news/huddersfield-town-transfer-search-continues-7554044
06/08/2014, 12:14 AM
Think the article is saying Brighton are in for Ward but not Huddersfield.
I think what we're all dying to know though, gastric, is who Clark is?
gastric
06/08/2014, 12:24 AM
Think the article is saying Brighton are in for Ward but not Huddersfield.
I think what we're all dying to know though, gastric, is who Clark is?
I was referring to Mark Clark Robins, you idiot Charlie! ;) What a silly question. You know I don't always get the chance to edit properly, always gets me in trouble.