View Full Version : Sean St. Ledger
Drumcondra 69er
25/08/2009, 9:42 PM
I'd agree if it were not for the shirt. I genuinely think it will have a very negative impact on the team this season
Won the cup wearing it in 84.....
Got to love that hat on John Bailey! :D
http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/ldp2/may2009/6/1/everton-celebrate-winning-the-fa-cup-against-watford-in-1984-460-510882711.jpg
http://www.football-kit.org.uk/shirts/Everton-1984-FA-Cup-Final-Retro-Shirt.jpg
It is gank alright though!
EastTerracer
26/08/2009, 12:22 AM
Have you been watching "The Wire"?
I was going to ask the same question - I found myself saying "true that" in a meeting the other day and realised I better not let my TV watching cross over into real life.
the doc
27/08/2009, 8:26 AM
http://www.lep.co.uk/pnenews/Defender-praised-by-footballing-legend.5593018.jp
the doc
29/08/2009, 7:50 PM
The Saint came off today, looks doubtful for Cyprus! :(
http://www.pnefc.net/page/NewsDetail/0,,10362~1782389,00.html
Colbert Report
29/08/2009, 8:09 PM
Given
Kelly-O'Shea-Dunne-Kilbane
McGeady-Andrews-Whelan-Duff
Doyle-Keane
the doc
30/08/2009, 1:28 PM
http://www.pnefc.net/page/NewsDetail/0,,10362~1782653,00.html
Big blow for the lad as he hopes to establish himself in the Ireland set up.
30/08/2009, 4:41 PM
Given
Doyle-Keane
If SSL is injured I'd go with that too. No Foley or McShane to complicate selection.
Teflon Don may well recommend Nolan though.
30/08/2009, 4:49 PM
I'd probably pick Nolan over Kilbane but am sure the Trap will go for Kilbane's experience. Fingers crossed for St Ledger. I thought he was excellent against Bulgaria and the occasion didn't get to him.
dr_peepee
30/08/2009, 5:37 PM
http://www.pnefc.net/page/NewsDetail/0,,10362~1782653,00.html
Big blow for the lad as he hopes to establish himself in the Ireland set up.
True.. Snuffs out the chance of a last minute Premiership move before Tuesday too..
From BBC website:
0947: News is beginning to break, this from BBC Tees: "According to our Boro mole, the Teessiders are interested in Preston centre-half Sean St. Ledger. Will keep you posted."
the doc
01/09/2009, 10:12 AM
From BBC website:
0947: News is beginning to break, this from BBC Tees: "According to our Boro mole, the Teessiders are interested in Preston centre-half Sean St. Ledger. Will keep you posted."
4.5 m bid from M'boro, but Celtic are trying to put a deal together too!
01/09/2009, 11:31 AM
hmmm, 4.5 mil is an awful lot in fairness for a first division club to be paying.
01/09/2009, 11:55 AM
yeah your right Paul but then again Huth went for 5 million and you only get 3 games a year out of him!
bwagner
01/09/2009, 12:28 PM
does anybody else think sean looks like aden from home and away
BigmanCas
01/09/2009, 5:53 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colbert Report http://foot.ie/forums/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?p=1221903#post1221903)
Given
Doyle-Keane
If SSL is injured I'd go with that too. No Foley or McShane to complicate selection.
Teflon Don may well recommend Nolan though.
Kelly is no good - in fact it is very dangerous to play him - he is a liability
~O Dea (if called up) to play centre back with O Shea at right back.
02/09/2009, 6:35 AM
"Trapattoni has been cheered by an upbeat fitness update on the central defender Sean St Ledger, who has a knee problem. The Preston player sat out training yesterday today but Trapattoni said he would welcome him back into the group today (Weds) tomorrow and hopes that he will be fit to take his place alongside Richard Dunne"
Source: Guardian
Good news!
dr_peepee
02/09/2009, 7:41 AM
does anybody else think sean looks like aden from home and away
Yeah.. Probbly the Third years in The Assumption in Walkinstown....
dr_peepee
02/09/2009, 7:43 AM
Kelly is no good - in fact it is very dangerous to play him - he is a liability
Kelly's the type of play for a backs to the wall game against a Big Club or country... He gets found out against weaker teams were more is expected from him on the ball.. I think anyway!!
"Trapattoni has been cheered by an upbeat fitness update on the central defender Sean St Ledger, who has a knee problem. The Preston player sat out training yesterday today but Trapattoni said he would welcome him back into the group today (Weds) tomorrow and hopes that he will be fit to take his place alongside Richard Dunne"
Source: Guardian
Good news!
Due to train today according to the times.
Given played centre half yesterday!
Wolfie
02/09/2009, 11:31 AM
Given played centre half yesterday!
I know it was a light training session - and call me old Mr Cautious if you must - but wasn't that just looking for trouble?
02/09/2009, 11:34 AM
Wolfie i was thinking the exact same you know!
02/09/2009, 11:38 AM
Relax there lads :D
It was only a light workout.
Wolfie
02/09/2009, 11:41 AM
Relax there lads :D
It was only a light workout.
I know, I know..................but Jaysus Shay - stay in goal if its all the same to yourself.
Be careful going up and down stairs as well.
Jaysus.
Lenny82
02/09/2009, 12:08 PM
If it was up to me, I'd wrap him up in cotton wool until Saturday evening instead of having him jumping for headers with Arms and Legs Folan!!!!
you and your sheep fetish. ;)
04/09/2009, 7:50 AM
SSL hasn't trained all week. He must be extremely doubtful at this stage. Anyone know any more.
04/09/2009, 8:26 AM
I heard that he sat out training all week thus far.
04/09/2009, 9:17 AM
Brady says he'll be ok for the game: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/brady-backs-st-ledger-to-be-ready-for-crunch-clash-1878071.html
Assistant manager Liam Brady said: "We decided to leave Sean out as we were doing a lot of shooting and 10-v-10 match in which there was going to be a lot of tackling But we're confident he'll be fit."
the doc
04/09/2009, 11:54 AM
Brady says he'll be ok for the game: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/brady-backs-st-ledger-to-be-ready-for-crunch-clash-1878071.html
Not so sure he will play, had to rest yesterday as his knee was really sore.
I wouldn't risk him to be honest, St Ledger is the type of player who would walk through a brick wall for his team, as we have seen at Preston on many occassions.
But this an important World Cup Qualifier, and we have a enough options in the squad to cover for this.
04/09/2009, 11:57 AM
I'd regard a Ledger's absence as weakening the team, if it takes O'Shea away from RB
04/09/2009, 12:25 PM
I know, I know..................but Jaysus Shay - stay in goal if its all the same to yourself.
Be careful going up and down stairs as well.
Jaysus.I see an English cricketer (not for the first time) injured himself in a pre-match kickabout, a "harmless" way of warming up. Dangerous business...
04/09/2009, 1:41 PM
Goalkeepers are careful, their instincts keep them ahead of danger.
Except in the kitchen where instincts can put you in harms way, like sticking out a bare foot to break the fall of a full jar of your favourite jam.
Duggie
04/09/2009, 2:24 PM
the more time passes the more i kinda think SSL shouldnt play tomorrow night. surely he couldnt be fully right and we dont want his knee playing up in the madness of nicosia. id feel more comfortable with o'shea and dunne with suppose kelly at right back.
04/09/2009, 2:25 PM
Goalkeepers are careful, their instincts keep them ahead of danger.
Except in the kitchen where instincts can put you in harms way, like sticking out a bare foot to break the fall of a full jar of your favourite jam.Isn't that how Canizares missed the 2002 WC? He dropped his aftershave and tore a tendon in his foot?
04/09/2009, 2:27 PM
the more time passes the more i kinda think SSL shouldnt play tomorrow night. surely he couldnt be fully right and we dont want his knee playing up in the madness of nicosia. id feel more comfortable with o'shea and dunne with suppose kelly at right back.Or possibly SSL at right back. I think we need the core rock solid. If Kelly plays to his best he'll be fine though.
04/09/2009, 2:54 PM
Isn't that how Canizares missed the 2002 WC? He dropped his aftershave and tore a tendon in his foot?
stuck out his foot to break the fall?
A good goalkeeper would instinctively catch the jar before it hits the ground.
A better goalkeeper would see it happen before it happened and have the hand out waiting for it to fall.
04/09/2009, 3:15 PM
didnt something like that happen to Ian Walker as well
Murfinator
04/09/2009, 6:39 PM
Is Sledge named at right back or centre back tomorrow? Trap has said Kelly will replace him if he's not fit but that could mean either a direct RB for RB switch or he has O shea pencilled in for right back and would shunt him to centre if needs be.
04/09/2009, 8:07 PM
didnt something like that happen to Ian Walker as well
Yep, think you're right.
04/09/2009, 8:47 PM
Is Sledge named at right back or centre back tomorrow? Trap has said Kelly will replace him if he's not fit but that could mean either a direct RB for RB switch or he has O shea pencilled in for right back and would shunt him to centre if needs be.
centre half, no point in risking him out of position if he's already not 100%
04/09/2009, 9:48 PM
Just ask soccerc and gspain what they think of Kelly as a CB.
He played there vs Northern Ireland U21s in Lurgan(?) and was desperate by all accounts.
Crosby87
04/09/2009, 10:06 PM
Looks like SSL is starting.
12/09/2009, 11:44 AM
Boro confirm interest in St Ledger: http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11688_5553960,00.html
15/09/2009, 1:58 PM
Confirmed 3 month loan to Middlesborough http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/middlesbrough/8257190.stm
15/09/2009, 2:05 PM
I'd say a permament deal is sealed otherwise Preston wouldn't have let him go. Obviously it couldn't be done officially until January but he's Middlesbrough player now for sure. Good to see Southgate rates him.
'I’m really delighted to be able to bring Sean in. He’s somebody we think is already a class act.
'He reads the game really well, he’s got great composure and we think he’ll be a good foil for our other central defenders.
'He has established himself in the Irish national team and has been player of the year for a very good Preston side for the last two years.'
Folan is next on the list for Boro.
15/09/2009, 2:29 PM
Interesting that Preston would let a first-team regular go on loan to a fellow promotion chasing Championship club.
agree with ifk101 - this is a weird transfer if you ask me.
Almost as weird as Boro having to be relegated before signing Irish players. Yeates, SSL and now Folan... Yeates first irish player at Boro since Kav?
15/09/2009, 4:07 PM
Jason Gavin played for the Boro when El Tel was assisting/bailing out Bryan Robson, but I can't think of anyone since then
Wangball
15/09/2009, 4:33 PM
Jason Gavin played for the Boro when El Tel was assisting/bailing out Bryan Robson, but I can't think of anyone since then
James Cronesberry is in the reserves
Keith O'Neill was there too around that time...