View Full Version : Sean St. Ledger

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

15/09/2009, 5:15 PM
Watever became of keith oneill lads?

i remember he was the one hope for a while.

Razors left peg
15/09/2009, 5:22 PM
Watever became of keith oneill lads?

i remember he was the one hope for a while.

He had to retire with injuries around the age of 26 I think

carloz
16/09/2009, 6:16 PM
Interesting that Preston would let a first-team regular go on loan to a fellow promotion chasing Championship club.

for 5 million im willing to bet they nearly took Middlesborough's hand off. I assume Middlesboro demanded him on loan now or the deal wouldn't happen. Highest figure ever for a player moving between Championship clubs.

17/09/2009, 11:52 AM
Chairman said they would have gone into admin if they did not take the money.

Irish_Praha
19/09/2009, 2:04 PM
Chairman said they would have gone into admin if they did not take the money.

That explains it then :P

19/09/2009, 5:34 PM
Played today in the 0-5 thumping at home by WBA :o Normally Boro are tight at the back if nothing else.

19/09/2009, 5:45 PM
ah yeah, but it could have been 8 :)

cestlavie
19/09/2009, 7:46 PM
One of the only players Trap can claim to have brought into ~Ireland set up, scary thought about the national teams future.

19/09/2009, 8:00 PM
eh, have you actually seen the "Trapp Experimentation" thread?

Whelan, Andrews, Folan, Best. All competitive debutants under Trapp. Keogh too?

Westwood, Delaney, Nolan, Lawrence and others. All friendly debutants under Trapp.

Not to mention inexperienced players like Gibson and even McGeady who have been given prominent roles under Trapp despite only having a few caps previously.

Good point cestlavie. Almost impossible to pick a hole in it. There are so many potential new caps out there whose inclusion would have us higher than second place after 8 games, unbeaten and with 2 points per game averaged so far.

19/09/2009, 8:07 PM
Fair play Stutts, fairly puts that sort of rubbish in its place.

19/09/2009, 8:24 PM
Neil, was it you telling me to get more mates including birds?

It's 9:20 on a Saturday night and you're the last poster on 3 current threads. My excuse is that my mother-in-law is down and my missus and her are watching Strictly Come Dancing on SKY+. I've had about 5 glasses of wine so far.

What's your excuse?

Speaking of Strictly Come Dancing: my missus & her mates say about the women dancers that they're good looking and fit but "only in a Russian pole dancer kind of way".

What exactly is wrong with Russian pole dancers?

Maybe Russia in the play-offs won't be so bad after all.

19/09/2009, 8:27 PM
Neil, was it you telling me to get more mates including birds?

It's 9:20 on a Saturday night and you're the last poster on 3 current threads. My excuse is that my mother-in-law is down and my missus and her are watching Strictly Come Dancing on SKY+. I've had about 5 glasses of wine so far.

What's your excuse?

Speaking of Strictly Come Dancing: my missus & her mates say about the women dancers that they're good looking and fit but "only in a Russian pole dancer kind of way".

What exactly is wrong with Russian pole dancers?

Maybe Russia in the play-offs won't be so bad after all.

Ha ha, good one. Was out earlier today in town and was out last night. Also have the trip to Cyprus and the play offs and New York and Argentina to pay for so the odd Saturday night watching football hightlights has to be done every so often. Not a big fan of Saturday night in Dublin anyway.

19/09/2009, 8:29 PM
Why didn't you go & watch Rovers v Bray?

Barstooler :)

19/09/2009, 8:34 PM
Don't think I would be welcome in my Bohs Jersey :). I must get a barstool for my house, they were all the rage for kitchens over the last few years I think.

19/09/2009, 8:36 PM
So that's where all the vitriol on the LOI forum comes from. They just all hate open plan kitchens.

19/09/2009, 8:44 PM
The dreaded "Island" counter is the bete noir of many of a LOI fan.

22/09/2009, 3:07 PM
Ha ha, good one. Was out earlier today in town and was out last night. Also have the trip to Cyprus and the play offs and New York and Argentina to pay for so the odd Saturday night watching football hightlights has to be done every so often. Not a big fan of Saturday night in Dublin anyway.

Stutts, great post, puts that sort of rubbish to bed fairly lively.

Spent the weekend in Dublin, and I know it was all-ireland weekend, but i was back in may as well for acdc or was it june? ANyway point is, its still one of the best places you can go out on a friday or saturday night, out of anywhere ive been, just a pity it doesn't stay open later. Made me realise how much i miss the craic there, even if the birds aren't the friendliest on a night out :D

My mates dont go out as much as they used to, and drink cans now before they go out or vodkas, does everyone do that now? I can see why at prices of 65.35 cent i paid sunday night for 4 jaggerbombs(1 red bull) and 4 drinks......:shocked: I wouldn't like to say how much I spent on the Sunday really, especially given it wasn't an all dayer.

22/09/2009, 4:28 PM
I suspect that you have not been shy to top up the level of jaggerbombs left in your system since.

22/09/2009, 9:02 PM
My mates dont go out as much as they used to, and drink cans now before they go out or vodkas, does everyone do that now? I can see why at prices of 65.35 cent i paid sunday night for 4 jaggerbombs(1 red bull) and 4 drinks......:shocked: I wouldn't like to say how much I spent on the Sunday really, especially given it wasn't an all dayer.
Off topic,but where were you drinking, and what would the same round cost you in foggy London town?

22/09/2009, 9:39 PM
to your haunt tets, but cue the dubs coming in with their usual sh1te. Mcgowans. We bought 18 jaggerbombs over here before for 76 sterling on a team night out. So that gives you an idea the same round would be somewhere around 30 quid at the most.

Changed a bit, a lot younger than it used to be and some nice looking young wans in there too.

You suspect right geysir, there is no way I was getting that round and no one else!!

22/09/2009, 10:41 PM
to your haunt tets, but cue the dubs coming in with their usual sh1te. Mcgowans. We bought 18 jaggerbombs over here before for 76 sterling on a team night out. So that gives you an idea the same round would be somewhere around 30 quid at the most.

Changed a bit, a lot younger than it used to be and some nice looking young wans in there too.

You suspect right geysir, there is no way I was getting that round and no one else!!
Oddly enough I was supposed to be there last sunday night with the prospective Mrs Tets. But the fates intervened and I had to give it a miss. Still, I am grateful for small mercies.

It was redecorated about a year ago, and seems to have gotten a larger crowd in since then.

But, I digress.

Think this move could be the making of St Ledger. Turns out Big Ron can spot a player, who knew?

23/09/2009, 8:06 AM

McGowans, and Coppers Paul, you are a classy man.

23/09/2009, 11:13 AM
I didnt go to coppers though?!

I was in an army of bars over the weekend, but on sunday i was looking for not too packed but still decent crowd and a bit of craic. There aren't too many options.

23/09/2009, 11:26 AM
Dublin needs a few Wetherspoons..... 4 doubles or Jagers + 4 pints would cost you 20 quid max in a Nottingham Wetherspoons. 30 quid max in the the more upmarket bars.

23/09/2009, 12:02 PM
Dublin needs a few Wetherspoons..... 4 doubles or Jagers + 4 pints would cost you 20 quid max in a Nottingham Wetherspoons. 30 quid max in the the more upmarket bars.
Wetherspoons applied for a license here before, and were denied by some of the backbenchers with stakes in pubs

23/09/2009, 12:25 PM
Wetherspoons applied for a license here before, and were denied by some of the backbenchers with stakes in pubs

I'm not surprised!! They'd put a lot of pubs out of business back there. It's a cheap chain to drink in but the atmosphere can be stale. Apologies to the Mods for going off topic again!

23/09/2009, 1:12 PM
Its not just the atmosphere that can be stale....the women, the pints all of it!! THey really are terrible, id never drink in one, as it gets the dregs of society. Well actually some of them dont and are more upmarket and can be ok but the city centre type ones are that bad. Wetherspoons in Ireland though would be a hit, they would be well laid out, music would be provided unlike here and everyone would go there till about 11 or so and either go to a late bar or nightclub then fully steamed.

How they did not get a licence here shows how corrupt the FF coalition are/were, along with their cronies in the building game. Its like a licensed mafia establishment, or legal mafia estbalishment, without the guns.

23/09/2009, 1:17 PM
St Ledger has shares in Wetherspoons or what?

23/09/2009, 1:30 PM
Ledge has drank there on occassion, some of his life pension has gone into the establishment, isnt that some form of equity?

23/09/2009, 2:04 PM
I agree we dont want chain of pubs. The Uks pubs are rubbish as a result in my opinion. Disaster if Wetherspoons came here and they only play to the lowest form in society. I think Paul is right at home there.

Mc Gowans is a kip too. Sunday can be a good drinking day in Dublin. Whelans on a Sunday night is very good. Few bars around there like Anseo and Mc Kevitts or Ryans are not bad either.

23/09/2009, 3:02 PM
I bet you love cassidys neil! When were ye last in mcgowans to suggest its a kiP? Just because its a country spot, i know well thast the reason, full of bogball people and muck savage farmers with wellies, FF, catholic church, devil fearing people....

WHelans is a good spot alright, as is ryans but its a bit of an old mans pub though for the bulgaria game we had a good sesh in there, met some lovely group in there actually but then they wanted to go to whelans and that wasn't on the agenda for us!!! Cant remember where we ended up that night? D2 maybe...

Anyway SSL to boro is a good move, they have as much chance to go up as preston if not better, if he gets up he may attract further interest with a good season, but if he is in a relegation battle it might be tough...

23/09/2009, 3:45 PM
I bet you love cassidys neil! When were ye last in mcgowans to suggest its a kiP? Just because its a country spot, i know well thast the reason, full of bogball people and muck savage farmers with wellies, FF, catholic church, devil fearing people....

WHelans is a good spot alright, as is ryans but its a bit of an old mans pub though for the bulgaria game we had a good sesh in there, met some lovely group in there actually but then they wanted to go to whelans and that wasn't on the agenda for us!!! Cant remember where we ended up that night? D2 maybe...

Anyway SSL to boro is a good move, they have as much chance to go up as preston if not better, if he gets up he may attract further interest with a good season, but if he is in a relegation battle it might be tough...

Only in Cassidys once of for a leaving do. That says it all you went to D2 instead of Whelans. I was in McGowans a few years ago, been there a few times and jesus its terrible. Cattlemart is what I would call it. I can see you are like a pig in ****e at it though.

St. Ledger loves The Globe and the Dragon I here.

Drumcondra 69er
25/09/2009, 9:26 AM

True, they were looking to open down on Capel St. Between this discussion here and the one on the Stokes thread about the Players Lounge this place seems to be turning into boozers.ie! Must be something in the air since Arthurs day! :D

EastTerracer
26/09/2009, 2:48 PM
Sean just scored for Boro.

26/09/2009, 2:49 PM
first goal for Sledge for Middlesboro. Heady. Congrats Sean.

EastTerracer
26/09/2009, 2:55 PM

I'm not sure that was exactly the reason. I had heard that the Wetherspoon's business model was based on buying beer close to expiry date from the breweries (and hence getting a big discount). They can then sell the beer cheap but they move it so quickly that the expiry isn't an issue. However, when the approached Guinness here (who control Guinness, Bud, Carlsberg etc.) they were told that they would not be willing to give a discount on the beer here (because of the profitability of the Irish market). If Wetherspoon's can't sell the beer cheap then they don't see how they can win enough business from the other pubs. I understood it was their own decision not to enter the Dublin market because of this.

26/09/2009, 4:38 PM
Excellent goal by St Ledger but that was the only high point in an ohterwise dismal individual display. Best and Morrison won way too much ball against him in the air, Coventry really should have scored from a St Ledger mistake at the end of the first half and it was St Ledger's missed kick that allowed Best to get Coventry's equaliser.

the doc
26/09/2009, 6:23 PM
Excellent goal by St Ledger but that was the only high point in an ohterwise dismal individual display. Best and Morrison won way too much ball against him in the air, Coventry really should have scored from a St Ledger mistake at the end of the first half and it was St Ledger's missed kick that allowed Best to get Coventry's equaliser.

I'd try facing the pitch next time, if I was you!

What about his clearance off the line and numerous interceptions?

St Ledger won most of his headers too

St Ledger played well and got the MoM on BBC Radio Tees for the 2nd week running.

Whats with this constant putting down, the Irish players on here?

26/09/2009, 11:16 PM
I think if you are a defender you need to do better than win most of your headers. He was at fault for the last goal no doubt and he did mess up for the incident that ifk talks about. I am a big fan of st ledger but from just watching the highlights I would agree with ifk.

Sounds like you are related to St. Ledger or his lover or him or have some connection.

27/09/2009, 9:20 AM
I wouldnt be too hard on SSL. He has come a lone way in a short time, is still young and is still gaining experience. What impresses me is his ability to learn and progress. Ok he had a nightmare start last weekend with Boro but he bounced straight back and scored a great header this week. The 2nd Coventry goal was partially his fault if he was a bit unlucky.

Jicked
27/09/2009, 9:34 AM
Whats with this constant putting down, the Irish players on here?

"So how many games has it took Clap Trapp to finally realise McShane isn't good enough!
How the hell does he keep getting picked? "

" I've said all along that Trap was only here to take the money and run, he has no plan "B" either!"

" How the hell does Bruce keep getting selected, saw him play against Preston and he was poor!"

"I'm with Mancs on this one, I've seen Foley a few times and he should be ahead of Kelly who has been poor when he's played this season. "

"McShane, Bruce, O'Dear seem to keep getting picked irrespective of if they are playing well"

In fact your first hundred or so posts seem to be entirely about slagging off McShane, Bruce and the manager whilst giving tips on the fitness update of key players like Wayne Henderson and Stephen Elliott. But that's very different to "constantly putting down" players isn't it?

FarBeag
27/09/2009, 9:53 AM
St Ledger is a good player. He proved this while at Preston and the few games he played for us. He is just settling into the Boro team with a new manager, new surroundings and new colleagues. It will take him a little time to get used to it.

Junior
27/09/2009, 7:57 PM
"So how many games has it took Clap Trapp to finally realise McShane isn't good enough!
How the hell does he keep getting picked? "

" I've said all along that Trap was only here to take the money and run, he has no plan "B" either!"

" How the hell does Bruce keep getting selected, saw him play against Preston and he was poor!"

"I'm with Mancs on this one, I've seen Foley a few times and he should be ahead of Kelly who has been poor when he's played this season. "

"McShane, Bruce, O'Dear seem to keep getting picked irrespective of if they are playing well"

In fact your first hundred or so posts seem to be entirely about slagging off McShane, Bruce and the manager whilst giving tips on the fitness update of key players like Wayne Henderson and Stephen Elliott. But that's very different to "constantly putting down" players isn't it?

Exactly what I was thinking but couldnt be ar$ed finding the quotes.

I uised to think doc was just a very proud preston fan, now Ive no doubt he is SSL stalker, recently relocated and living in the lovely teeside, proud season ticket holder at the riverside.

irishfan86
28/09/2009, 11:56 PM

I uised to think doc was just a very proud preston fan, now Ive no doubt he is SSL stalker, recently relocated and living in the lovely teeside, proud season ticket holder at the riverside.

Reminds me of "Dave from Newcastle" on Special1TV.

Junior
29/09/2009, 8:38 AM
Reminds me of "Dave from Newcastle" on Special1TV.
You'd lost me with that one and I had to google it - but yes I think you've hit the nail on the head!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special_1_TV

the doc
29/09/2009, 11:23 AM

St Ledger was chosen in the Championship team of the week, adding further fire against your inaccurate comments.

http://www.mfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/News/NewsDetail/0,,1~1811156,00.html

the doc
29/09/2009, 11:25 AM

I'am a proud Preston fan, but was give a couple of compos for the game! :p

Mad Moose
29/09/2009, 11:41 AM
St Ledger was chosen in the Championship team of the week, adding further fire against your inaccurate comments.

http://www.mfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/News/NewsDetail/0,,1~1811156,00.html

I watched the highlights and he scored a great header but was instrumental in Clinton Morrisons goal for Coventry City as he went up with a second defender and they messed up. Not sure you could blame St Ledger.

I have a real soft spot for PNE and I do try to get and see them when I can so I was sorry they lost him. They are doing ok however.

seanfhear
29/09/2009, 12:08 PM
I wonder if Preston will be able to hold on to Alan Irvine when some other "bigger" club require a new manager.

11/10/2009, 1:05 PM
SLedge's twitter account: http://twitter.com/dipset12