View Full Version : Sean St. Ledger

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

18/10/2011, 1:14 PM
Sledge would be very affordable for an Italian club. I often wonder why Trap doesn't recomend players like that to Italian clubs. Or does he simply see them as the best of a bad bunch in terms of the international options and not good enough in the greater scheme?I'd be more surprised if he didn't, Alex was Bruce linked with Fiorentina, McGeady was linked with Bayern Munich, both claimed that Trapattoni was consulted.
Given was linked with Roma, but I don't know if he was involved with that

TrapAPony
19/10/2011, 6:42 PM
Starting tonight v Watford

Yard of Pace
19/10/2011, 10:20 PM
Starting tonight v Watford

A 2-0 win but going on the Guardian match report Watford didn't offer much of an attacking threat. Still though, it's relieving to see him play some first team football and help keep a clean sheet.

CraftyToePoke
19/10/2011, 10:31 PM
Played well by the reports http://www.foxestalk.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=77100

CraftyToePoke
23/10/2011, 5:01 AM
Getting some bad ratings here (http://www.foxestalk.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=77171&st=0) for his role in Leicesters surprise 0-3 defeat at home to Millwall today. Some are standing up for him but its a minority. This side had managed a fair few clean sheets in the league of late, four I think, before he came in so a hiding at home to Millwall like they got today will make keeping his place tricky when the suspended captain is available again. Hopefully it will be the other CB who makes way for the returning player, as he has had a couple of shaky moments today by the sound of it as well.

TrapAPony
24/10/2011, 5:51 PM
Sven has been sacked. Might be good news for Sean.

24/10/2011, 7:19 PM
Getting some bad ratings here (http://www.foxestalk.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=77171&st=0) for his role in Leicesters surprise 0-3 defeat at home to Millwall today. Some are standing up for him but its a minority. This side had managed a fair few clean sheets in the league of late, four I think, before he came in so a hiding at home to Millwall like they got today will make keeping his place tricky when the suspended captain is available again. Hopefully it will be the other CB who makes way for the returning player, as he has had a couple of shaky moments today by the sound of it as well.

He didn't look good on the highlights that's for sure. He looked shaky on his feet actually.

the doc
24/10/2011, 7:45 PM
He didn't look good on the highlights that's for sure. He looked shaky on his feet actually.

You gleaned all that from the highlights, wow your good! Why not apply for Svens old job?

On a positive note it was another 90 mins game time, which will help improve match fitness as SSL hasnt played too much before this recent run of games.

Thats important with the Euro Qualifiers coming up.

the bear
24/10/2011, 7:58 PM
You gleaned all that from the highlights, wow your good! Why not apply for Svens old job?

On a positive note it was another 90 mins game time, which will help improve match fitness as SSL hasnt played too much before this recent run of games.

Thats important with the Euro Qualifiers coming up.

as long as you keep doing the business in green i'm happy, keep up the good work

31/10/2011, 10:01 AM
8q9EnS_2AEY

the doc made the starting line-up for Leicester's away game to West Ham. Badly beaten in the air for West Ham's third goal.

the bear
31/10/2011, 11:09 PM
8q9EnS_2AEY

the doc made the starting line-up for Leicester's away game to West Ham. Badly beaten in the air for West Ham's third goal.
how did he fare otherwise?

TrapAPony
01/11/2011, 6:56 PM
Dropped to the bench tonight as Matthew Mills is back

the doc
19/11/2011, 11:36 AM
http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/from-good-deed-to-dream-come-true-174282.html

20/11/2011, 1:47 PM
Starting for Leicester at home to CP today. Hope he has got over the celebrations last Tues night/wed morning!

CraftyToePoke
21/11/2011, 3:35 AM
Some very positive (http://www.foxestalk.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=78081) verdicts from the natives on SSL in Leicesters 3-0 home win V Palace today. A new manager, the other regular CB suspended, a clean sheet. Hopefully the start of better times for him at his new club.

the bear
23/11/2011, 12:55 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ci013fj2T9s&feature=related

tommy_c12000
26/11/2011, 1:55 PM
Great to see him starting ahead of Bamba (who's back from suspension) today. It's a real vote of confidence from Pearson. Hopefully he will keep his place from here on in

the doc
29/11/2011, 8:19 AM
Great to see him starting ahead of Bamba (who's back from suspension) today. It's a real vote of confidence from Pearson. Hopefully he will keep his place from here on in

Saints not being given fair chance at the foxes, back on the bench again tonight despite doing well!

29/11/2011, 9:58 AM
Not good when the new manager, a centre back, doesn't pick you.

TrapAPony
29/11/2011, 6:53 PM
Bamba back starting for Leicester tonight. Is Sledge injured? Not even on the bench

tommy_c12000
29/11/2011, 7:40 PM
Bamba back starting for Leicester tonight. Is Sledge injured? Not even on the bench

The Doc always seems to have his finger on the pulse when it comes to Sledge's career so I'm sure he'll fill us in . . ..

03/12/2011, 3:42 PM
Another red card for Matt Mills saw Sledge introduced on the half hour. The goal came from the resulting penalty so Leicester have kept a clean sheet since his introduction. 1-1 currently.

TrapAPony
03/12/2011, 3:51 PM
Another red card for Matt Mills saw Sledge introduced on the half hour. The goal came from the resulting penalty so Leicester have kept a clean sheet since his introduction. 1-1 currently.
2-1 to Hull now

03/12/2011, 3:55 PM
Jinx.

the doc
27/12/2011, 3:11 PM
SSL to leave Leicester after bust up with Pearson who went back on his word that if you play well you keep your place.

27/12/2011, 4:08 PM
SSL to leave Leicester after bust up with Pearson who went back on his word that if you play well you keep your place.

Blackburn are in the market for defenders but when Nelson is fit again, SL could face a battle to get a game, especially if they keep Samba.

28/12/2011, 10:17 AM

Another bust up ..... Jesus wept.

Blackburn are in the market for defenders but when Nelson is fit again, SL could face a battle to get a game, especially if they keep Samba.

Anything is possible in football but the doc is unproven at Premiership level and overlooked in the Championship. Not exactly the type of player a struggling Premiership club would be looking towards to steady the ship.

28/12/2011, 1:38 PM
He has a profile though, a steady part in a successful top tier international team and is ambitious to keep his place in that team.

28/12/2011, 3:17 PM
"Top tier"? I like the sound of that, though not sure I'd define us that way myself.

dr_peepee
28/12/2011, 5:59 PM
Nah!! Leceister will loan him out for the second half of the season then cash in on the inflated post major championship inflated prices.. He seems a bit of an angry ant though.

28/12/2011, 7:32 PM
He wants to play, he knows he has to play to make sure of a place in our team. He has the smell of the Euro finals in his nostrils.

the bear
28/12/2011, 11:24 PM
He wants to play, he knows he has to play to make sure of a place in our team. He has the smell of the Euro finals in his nostrils.

i think he'll play at the euros wether he plays for his club regularly or not, i'd pick him anyway

Jaysus
29/12/2011, 9:41 AM
Hope he doesn't get loaned out to a League One club.

Philly
31/12/2011, 3:13 PM
No sign of him again today - looks like that's it at Leicester for him.

Philly
02/01/2012, 1:18 AM
He's now officially on the transfer list: http://www.thisisleicestershire.co.uk/Leicester-City-place-Sean-St-Ledger-transfer-list/story-14287721-detail/story.html

Plenty of negative opinions on him in the comments, seems he did not win over too many Leicester fans. Any idea where he might end up? They paid circa 3 million for him apparently (!), so can't see him being let go on the cheap to Celtic or the likes.

the doc
02/01/2012, 5:44 AM
He's now officially on the transfer list: http://www.thisisleicestershire.co.uk/Leicester-City-place-Sean-St-Ledger-transfer-list/story-14287721-detail/story.html

Plenty of negative opinions on him in the comments, seems he did not win over too many Leicester fans. Any idea where he might end up? They paid circa 3 million for him apparently (!), so can't see him being let go on the cheap to Celtic or the likes.

Leicester paid 1.2M for him, I dont think there will be any shortage of clubs in for him, in fact I think one or two of the clubs may surprise a few people.
Perhaps St Ledger is one of those players who is more suited to the playing style at a higher level? Its important that he can get games leading upto the Euros, so fair play to him for standing up for himself at Leicester, he could of just sat back and took his wages very week like a lot of players do.

Philly
02/01/2012, 10:11 AM
1.2 million sounds about right. Here's hoping he gets a move ASAP.

Carrigaline
02/01/2012, 12:25 PM
Apparently he had a big bust up with Nigel Pearson - http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/transfer-news/Leicester-Sean-St-Ledger-transfer-listed-after-Boxing-Day-row-with-Nigel-Pearson-article847265.html

02/01/2012, 3:55 PM
The doc gets it spot on again re: St Ledger. Mills is living a charmed life at Leicester though. Poor performances and constantly getting sent off shouldn't endear a player to successive managers, but it appears he's cracked the code.

Olé Olé
02/01/2012, 9:59 PM
League one would spell disaster but I couldn't see a shortage of Championship clubs coming in for him, given that Leicester were the championship's big spenders of the summer, another club will surely be willing to part with less than 1.2m for a player with 20 caps at centre half for a decent international side.

In relation to the constant Celtic link, they've signed another right back having had 3 already. Signing another centre half on loan or permanently is not out of the question, given that K. Wilson, Majstorovic, Loovens and Rogne's prescence means they have 4 centre halves too.

A Premiership club taking a punt on an international centre half can't be out of the question. The notion of Trap using his contacts couldn't be dismissed either.

gastric
03/01/2012, 9:21 AM
Huddersfield are supposedly interested in Sledge according to the Daily Mail - hopefully nothing comes of it.

seanfhear
03/01/2012, 9:45 AM
Sledge did take to international football very well, particularly for some one that had not played at the higher levels of club football.

I wonder if his size would go against him in the English premiership and even the championship. I may be generalising here but for whatever reason international sides don't seem to push the physical side of the game as much as some club sides.

Predator
03/01/2012, 11:31 AM
Part of the reason for St Ledger's solid performances in an Ireland shirt is Richard Dunne. St Ledger's initial inclusion completely surprised me, but his performances have, generally, vindicated Trapattoni. He doesn't, as yet, have too much competition for a place, which is why he's such a mainstay in our defence.

Crosby87
03/01/2012, 11:40 AM
I actually think he would do well in the Bundesliga. I know it won't happen though.

03/01/2012, 12:17 PM
Part of the reason for St Ledger's solid performances in an Ireland shirt is Richard Dunne. St Ledger's initial inclusion completely surprised me, but his performances have, generally, vindicated Trapattoni. He doesn't, as yet, have too much competition for a place, which is why he's such a mainstay in our defence.

perceived lack of competition or not the main reason he is a regular in our team is his performances. rarely puts a foot wrong.

Predator
03/01/2012, 1:27 PM
perceived lack of competition or not the main reason he is a regular in our team is his performances. rarely puts a foot wrong.I don't dispute that. You'll notice that I say his performances have vindicated Trapattoni's selection of him.

Rather, I posit that part of the reason for his good performances is Richard Dunne - i.e. players tend to play better in a better team/with better teammates. I would also argue that St Ledger does not have much competition for centre back and that he would undoubtedly struggle to justify his inclusion had we a few more centre halves at Premier league level, especially since, at club level, he has been either uninspiring or not playing at all despite being fit. O'Dea (24), McShane (25) and Delaney (30) are hard workers, but they don't offer much competition and I think they are largely there because they "know" Trap's system. 22 year old Clark might eventually oust him.

03/01/2012, 1:43 PM
SSL played against Italy in May without any game time for weeks (months even?) and alongside O'Dea played a very composed game. I've seen enough of him to see he's a good player, Dunne or no Dunne, but he is a good partner for Dunne, no doubt. They're the ideal type of CB pairing for me - a good ball winner and a good ball user, a bit like Cunningham and Breen complemented each other well.

I'm not sure knowing Trap's system is that important for a CB. A CB does what a CB does, regardless of system. I think the other names mentioned by Predator are actually probably just our other options for that position, even if Guardiola was in charge!

the doc
03/01/2012, 7:44 PM
SSL played against Italy in May without any game time for weeks (months even?) and alongside O'Dea played a very composed game. I've seen enough of him to see he's a good player, Dunne or no Dunne, but he is a good partner for Dunne, no doubt. They're the ideal type of CB pairing for me - a good ball winner and a good ball user, a bit like Cunningham and Breen complemented each other well.

I'm not sure knowing Trap's system is that important for a CB. A CB does what a CB does, regardless of system. I think the other names mentioned by Predator are actually probably just our other options for that position, even if Guardiola was in charge!
GPWM Stutts, I think SSL's game is more suited to an Italian style of football which are the qualities in his game that Trap likes.
I feel it is only a matter of time/weeks/days before SSL plays abroad, yes Iam being serieAous!

03/01/2012, 7:49 PM
oh doc, id love to know who you are to SSL...

the bear
03/01/2012, 9:46 PM
oh doc, id love to know who you are to SSL...

if he's his GP he'd want to watch he doesn't get done for breach of patient confidentiality

would be great to see him get a big move, i really like st ledger hes been brilliant for us. theres no way he there by default, he's earned his place in the team. Its true there is a lack of other options that makes him even more important to us, in saying that i now trust o'dea to come in and perform if needed after his last few performances, but sledger is nailed on for a starting place if fit