View Full Version : Sean St. Ledger

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24

16/03/2015, 6:25 PM
Well done Sean. Surely you deserve a call up again to the squad now that you've played a whole one game in a year?

16/03/2015, 10:44 PM
Congratulations Sean, more of that please and less time on the internet on your phone.

21/03/2015, 10:41 PM
Uh oh, the doc dropped back to the bench...

the doc
22/03/2015, 12:30 AM
Uh oh, the doc dropped back to the bench...

MLS team of the week then benched the politics of football!

Bet your happy Chazza?

22/03/2015, 12:40 AM
No, I like Sledge and want him to do well. I just find your reactions to events in SSL's life entertaining.

the doc
22/03/2015, 12:59 AM
No, I like Sledge and want him to do well. I just find your reactions to events in SSL's life entertaining.

Yes I do cast a few hooks on here but in all honesty it's about time the lad had a bit of luck that's all.

22/03/2015, 1:06 AM
He's had a tough time but now he's fit and living in paradise, he has to do the business and get himself back on the plane for internationals.

24/03/2015, 7:42 AM
Yes I do cast a few hooks on here but in all honesty it's about time the lad had a bit of luck that's all.

A bit of luck? :-) You have it easy Sean - you're getting paid to sit on a bench in Orlando day in, day out.

colonelwest
07/04/2015, 12:56 PM
The bauld Doc was chatting with RTE:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2015/0407/692550-sean-st-ledger-kaka-taylor-swift/

Orlando City defender Sean St Ledger has hailed team-mate Kaka’s influence in the dressing room.

The duo find themselves on the roster of the new franchise in the MLS, albeit, their paths to the Florida-based club could not have been more different.
Brazilian Kaka has World Cup, Champions League, Seria A and La Liga titles to his name, and as a designated player is reported to command a base salary of $6.6m. AC Milan and Real Madrid are among his former clubs.
St Ledger, capped 37 times for Ireland, struggled to find a club after being let go by Leicester in 2014 before signing with Orlando last month.
“I must admit he’s very, very humble,” St Ledger said of the 32-year-old midfielder.
“He’s a good team player and he usually has a few words before the game.
“Before the first game he spoke about when he’s been at AC Milan and Real Madrid, that he’s played with special individuals, but the most important thing was that they would win games as a team.”
Asked about Kaka’s medal tally, the 30-year-old former Preston player laughed, “But he’s not got a goal at the Euros, has he,” referring to his own strike in Ireland’s 3-1 defeat to Croatia at Euro 2012.
St Ledger was coyer, however, when asked if he and pop star Taylor Swift were going out.
“Eh, that’d be an exclusive for RTÉ, wouldn’t it. I’m sitting on the fence.
“She’s not been to a game, as of yet. I’m thinking that she might come to one of the New York ones. We’ll see.”

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B6TJI-QIcAApaf0.jpg

Insert your own "shake it off" jokes here lads

07/04/2015, 1:18 PM
No wonder he's stopped posting on here.

GypsyBlackCat
07/04/2015, 2:37 PM
The bauld Doc was chatting with RTE:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2015/0407/692550-sean-st-ledger-kaka-taylor-swift/

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B6TJI-QIcAApaf0.jpg

Insert your own "shake it off" jokes here lads

That has to be the highlight of anyone's career!:eek:

It kind of puts Kaka's medals to shame!!

Eminence Grise
07/04/2015, 5:44 PM
Well, it seems Everything has Changed for Sledge since The Last Time he had a club, and he has a good chance to Begin Again. Hopefully he can become again the Fearless and Mean defender who plays with Style. If he keeps his Eyes Open, he should see the Blank Space on the pitch where danger looms and if he picks up a knock he should be able to Shake It Off. One thing’s for sure, his international career won’t end like Andy ‘Tears on My Guitar’ Reid's, and maybe – just maybe – someday he’ll be able to say to Ciaran Clarke: ‘You Belong With Me’ at the heart of the Irish defense.

Fixer82
08/04/2015, 1:16 AM
Well, it seems Everything has Changed for Sledge since The Last Time he had a club, and he has a good chance to Begin Again. Hopefully he can become again the Fearless and Mean defender who plays with Style. If he keeps his Eyes Open, he should see the Blank Space on the pitch where danger looms and if he picks up a knock he should be able to Shake It Off. One thing’s for sure, his international career won’t end like Andy ‘Tears on My Guitar’ Reid's, and maybe – just maybe – someday he’ll be able to say to Ciaran Clarke: ‘You Belong With Me’ at the heart of the Irish defense.

know your audience

Crosby87
08/04/2015, 1:35 AM
He's been to Disneyland twice with Kaka.

GypsyBlackCat
08/04/2015, 7:20 AM

It's not all good news. I met Martin O'Neill last night and ask if St. Ledger will get a call up for the England game. O'Neill told me he'll 'Never Ever Ever' get back in the squad. He already knows '22' of the squad.

DeLorean
08/04/2015, 9:25 AM
Did you tell Martin what you think of Derry City?

the doc
08/04/2015, 9:45 AM
It's not all good news. I met Martin O'Neill last night and ask if St. Ledger will get a call up for the England game. O'Neill told me he'll 'Never Ever Ever' get back in the squad. He already knows '22' of the squad.

In all honesty, can you really see a manager saying such things to a football supporter?

Totally unprofessional if true.

Then again have any of us been privy to recent positive discussions between the player and our manager?

To be fair SSL is no where near upto full speed in terms of match fitness and sharpness to play at International level at present.
A long injury takes more than just healing for a player to get back, he needs games, only then will we and he know if he can get back into the squad.

If not then, so be it, that doesn't mean you walk away (or limp) from Ireland
It's in your blood, and you always back the Boys in Green.

Never say never in football my friends!

DeLorean
08/04/2015, 9:57 AM
In all honesty, can you really see a manager saying such things to a football supporter?

He was probably just giving a Swift response.

GypsyBlackCat
08/04/2015, 9:57 AM
Did you tell Martin what you think of Derry City?

He knows.

Why do think his form dipped at Sunderland:p

08/04/2015, 10:00 AM
My God, I feel like that English judge who asked "Who is this Gazzer fellow, an association footballer?" Im guessing these are all Taylor Swift songs. And anyway, isn't she dating some superstar DJ? I actually can't name any DJs apart from Dave Fanning, 1980s Top of the Pops guys and Fatboy Slim. Pete Tong too, but only because of rhyming slang.

GypsyBlackCat
08/04/2015, 10:07 AM

Then again have any of us been privy to recent positive discussions between the player and our manager?

To be fair SSL is no where near upto full speed in terms of match fitness and sharpness to play at International level at present.
A long injury takes more than just healing for a player to get back, he needs games, only then will we and he know if he can get back into the squad.

He did. Said he had his '22' but there's a 'Blank Space'. 'Everything Has Changed' with the RoI squad.

08/04/2015, 10:27 AM
He's been to Disneyland twice with Kaka.

Did he do a KaKa in training or at Disneyland?

08/04/2015, 10:47 AM
Good man Stutts, do your Dad dance there.

I was thinking to myself that one would be lost on you. You probably heard Never Ever Ever before but don't realise, it would be like Ferguson and keane getting back together, it will ...... happen.

Do you mean Jules Holland or Judge Jools ;) Surely the first was your time, and you can remember his name? YOu always remember Tony Fenton on the hotline and you were also a regular caller to the Just a minute quiz, luckily for you and your family the embarrassment was saved by the fact you couldn't answer the preliminary question to get on the show.

Eminence Grise
08/04/2015, 1:24 PM

Whooooooooossssshhh!

In fairness, it's not the first time a casual load of old balls went over Sledge's head... Need to record a few new tracks onto your mixtapes, Doc (just bringing it back to a more familiar era for Stutts!)

DeLorean
08/04/2015, 1:38 PM
Need to record a few new tracks onto your mixtapes, Doc (just bringing it back to a more familiar era for Stutts!)

Reminds me of this...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zNOUbD2I6XU

the doc
08/04/2015, 3:19 PM
Whooooooooossssshhh!

In fairness, it's not the first time a casual load of old balls went over Sledge's head... Need to record a few new tracks onto your mixtapes, Doc (just bringing it back to a more familiar era for Stutts!)

Ha ha, hold my hands up, I got done like a kipper there!

I should of known All Too Well, still no Bad Blood, from me.

Let's Begin Again this time with my Eyes Open, think this post will Haunt me for a while.

At least Tayls can help me Shake it off like last time in NY when the Sparks did fly!

Nice one fellas!

DannyInvincible
08/04/2015, 3:28 PM
I found impossible to tell EG was joking because he didn't have the decency to at least embolden the song titles too along with their italicisation and capitalisation. Bad form, EG! There'll be no flies on me next time!

Eminence Grise
08/04/2015, 3:42 PM
Ah, Danny, we wouldn't have reeled in the Doc if I hadn't been subtle;)!

08/04/2015, 4:04 PM
Taylor approves.

http://img.pandawhale.com/141193-taylor-swift-sup-gif-Imgur-Tum-soS3.gif

colonelwest
08/04/2015, 9:15 PM
Fair play to Sledge if he's getting in there to be fair, if he's lucky she'll have a song about him on her next album seeming as all she does is sing about her exes!

http://25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m8rfjqrTCf1qcwpcuo2_500.gif

Colbert Report
13/04/2015, 12:34 AM
Unused sub today against the Portland Timbers of MLS. Five years ago we were talking about this guy as a potential cornerstone of the national team, now he is unable to make a pub team in America. Sad really.

DeLorean
13/04/2015, 9:03 AM
Yeah but a month ago he didn't even have a pub team, baby steps and all that.

13/04/2015, 9:33 AM
Is anyone else getting the "NR Experiment" add appearing on the site now? Its a bit inappropriate when speaking/writing about Derry and a big derriere is sticking up and out in front of you, at work.

GypsyBlackCat
13/04/2015, 9:38 AM
Yeah but a month ago he didn't even have a pub team, baby steps and all that.

Well according to the so-called barstool experts the MLS is a pub league just like Ligue 1:D Personally I think the level is alright. About Championship standard.

SSL had the chance to move to the MLS about a year ago, maybe he should have moved then. I can understand why but too many British based players think the world ends at the white cliffs of Dover.

13/04/2015, 10:20 AM
Would say the Championship is a level above the MLS but all subjective.

What sort of a contract is the doc on with Orlando? Seems odd Orlando signed the doc only to subsequently bring in a loan to play in his position. Presumably it's just short-term?

the doc
13/04/2015, 10:44 AM
Unused sub today against the Portland Timbers of MLS. Five years ago we were talking about this guy as a potential cornerstone of the national team, now he is unable to make a pub team in America. Sad really.

When it rains it pours!

Totally agree, the MLS will never get better with the restrictions the MLS has in place.

The standard is awful, despite all the glitz and hype it's not even L1 standard.

Even more worrying that SSL can't even get into a glorified pub team, but if the manager keeps picking or gets told to play other players then nothing much he can do.

He made the MLS Pub team of the week a few weeks back only to be put back onto the bench the next game despite being fit and on fire in training.

How the mighty have fallen!

Enjoy your gloating 😢

13/04/2015, 1:46 PM
Don't worry Sean, just gives you more time to spend on foot.ie.

Eminence Grise
13/04/2015, 8:13 PM
Is anyone else getting the "NR Experiment" add appearing on the site now? Its a bit inappropriate when speaking/writing about Derry and a big derriere is sticking up and out in front of you, at work.

Sure that's just the Londonderričre, Paul.

14/04/2015, 4:29 AM
When it rains it pours!

Totally agree, the MLS will never get better with the restrictions the MLS has in place.

The standard is awful, despite all the glitz and hype it's not even L1 standard.

Even more worrying that SSL can't even get into a glorified pub team, but if the manager keeps picking or gets told to play other players then nothing much he can do.

He made the MLS Pub team of the week a few weeks back only to be put back onto the bench the next game despite being fit and on fire in training.

How the mighty have fallen!

Enjoy your gloating ��

I've said it before and I'll say it again, most people have a lot of time for Sean and take no pleasure in his current or recent predicaments. You're just an easy target for a laugh due to your elevation of his footballing ability to messianic proportions.

You are to SSL what TOWK is not to Robbie.

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/04/2015, 2:06 AM
Ah for FFS.

Robbie Keane has been a fantastic servant for Ireland and has been one of the best 11 Irish players in Premier League history. He has also, largely, been ****e for Ireland over the last 2 and a bit years.

I can reconcile the two things.

20/04/2015, 4:42 AM
Ah for FFS.

Robbie Keane has been a fantastic servant for Ireland and has been one of the best 11 Irish players in Premier League history. He has also, largely, been ****e for Ireland over the last 2 and a bit years.

I can reconcile the two things.

The first F in FFS stands for "for".

colonelwest
21/04/2015, 3:48 PM
The first F in FFS stands for "for".

RIP in peace the first "F"
:(

DannyInvincible
03/05/2015, 9:37 PM
St. Ledger scored earlier in a 3-2 friendly win for Orlando over Ponte Preta. Goal at 1:15: http://www.orlandocitysc.com/post/2015/05/02/highlights-orlando-city-sc-3-ponte-preta-2

03/05/2015, 9:56 PM
Ponte Preta? Impressive stuff. Call him up Marty.

14/05/2015, 11:13 AM
Back in the starting XI last night, but Orlando lost 2-1 away to DC United

the doc
15/05/2015, 3:15 PM
http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/221770001535?nav=SEARCH

Nice pair of SSL Ireland Boots for sale proceeds going to a childrens charity.

17/05/2015, 8:43 PM
Starts against LA Galaxy. Robbie still out injured for the Galaxy, as posted elsewhere.
Must be a long time since two Irish international players faced each other, outside of the English and Scottish leagues

17/05/2015, 9:09 PM
Not since Rovers played Cork a few weeks ago :)

17/05/2015, 9:31 PM
Not since Rovers played Cork a few weeks ago :)

In fairness, it wasn't two Irish internationals in that game. Five played, Fahey and McPhail for Rovers, Miller, Bennett and Healy for Cork.

DeLorean
17/05/2015, 10:05 PM
Andy Keogh and Damien Duff played against each other over Christmas. Duff came on as a sub in a 1-1 draw (http://www.perthglory.com.au/article/honours-even-on-boxing-day-clash/ztq9e1ec0a7g11384se9k6i5p).

Before that I'd say it must have been September 2012 when Robbie Keane and Darren O'Dea played against each other. (http://www.goal.com/en-us/match/la-galaxy-vs-toronto/1245117/lineups?ICID=MP_MS_2)