View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2022
sbgawa
29/11/2021, 7:50 AM
So the line up is known
Shamrock Rovers into the Champions league with a reasonable chance of seeding in round 1.
St Pats , Sligo and Derry all into the Conference League and as seen this year at least a reasonable chance of progression subject to a decent draw.
With all 4 clubs likely to be stronger next year than this year we have reason to hope for a good year.
Vital for Rovers to clear the first hurdle as it guarantees 3 shots at Group stages.
Real night and day stuff.
Seems like a long time from now until next Summer.
29/11/2021, 7:58 AM
Shamrock Rovers U19 champions too I think?
Means a Youth League spot if four clubs qualify for the Champions League proper and win their underage league. So that's fairly good odds
Yossarian
29/11/2021, 8:10 AM
Can anyone tell me how you can mute a topic on this forum! 😭
sbgawa
29/11/2021, 10:12 AM
Shamrock Rovers U19 champions too I think?
Means a Youth League spot if four clubs qualify for the Champions League proper and win their underage league. So that's fairly good odds
Yes Rovers won the 19's but i dint put them in as i don't know if they will make it or not...hopefully its a great opportunity
29/11/2021, 12:44 PM
Can anyone tell me how you can mute a topic on this forum!
It's League of Ireland, I wouldnt rule out some crazy happenings that land Dundalk European qualification yet lol. And we'll still be the highest ranked Irish side, roll on Europe 2023. All the money saved with no weekly trips around the continent in July and August, games in hand, able to rest a small squad, batter teams after their travlels - its not all bad.......
ger121
29/11/2021, 8:11 PM
It's League of Ireland, I wouldnt rule out some crazy happenings that land Dundalk European qualification yet lol. And we'll still be the highest ranked Irish side, roll on Europe 2023. All the money saved with no weekly trips around the continent in July and August, games in hand, able to rest a small squad, batter teams after their travlels - its not all bad.......
There’s putting a positive spin on things and well….
29/11/2021, 8:23 PM
With Bohs missing out also next season we can wallow in self pity together when the draws are on next July!
ger121
29/11/2021, 8:27 PM
With Bohs missing out also next season we can wallow in self pity together when the draws are on next July!
We can sit back with some beers and relax. Safe in the knowledge that we will feel no pain whatsoever when one of the sides crashes out when they should have maybe gone through.
Can anyone tell me how you can mute a topic on this forum!
Ah, ye had a good run in fairness !
01/12/2021, 1:00 PM
Can be no harm to get a shake and waken up, stop people taking things for granted. DFC have had extended year on year runs in Europe before and certainly the latter end of the 80's some big draws attracted disappointing crowds and i think because in and around that 10 years you had gates of approx 18k x2 (and 1 riot) and in no particular order Celtic, Spurs, PSV, Porto, Ajax, Red Star, Hadjuk, Liverpool were drawn. Times and competitions have changed now but if ye were getting a bit 'meh' over Ajax visiting Oriel a kick in the aras was in order.
01/12/2021, 11:33 PM
We can sit back with some beers and relax. Safe in the knowledge that we will feel no pain whatsoever when one of the sides crashes out when they should have maybe gone through.
You should have just said Sligo, Ger. Let's face it, that's what will happen.
Candystripe
02/12/2021, 12:43 AM
I know this topic about Sheriff was brought up last season but here's an interesting video about them from a vlogger from the UK ( he's actually got some good content on his YouTube channel not all connected to football).
https://youtu.be/_uyPelHs0A4
ger121
02/12/2021, 2:06 PM
You should have just said Sligo, Ger. Let's face it, that's what will happen.
I was just trying to be polite.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
02/12/2021, 6:05 PM
We’re just happy to be there
02/12/2021, 6:45 PM
Maybe thats where Sligo have gone wrong - happy to be there but forget about the football match!?
sbgawa
13/05/2022, 8:22 AM
So Rovers are seeded for the first round of the Champions league and Pats get to start in the second round of the Conference League.
Derry and Sligo in first round of Conference League
The Draw for the first round Champions league is 14th June with ties played on the 5th/6th July and 12th/13th July
The draw for the 2nd round is the 15th June with the ties played 19/20 July and 26/27th July so you get to see your potential opponents in second round before you play the first round.
The Draw date for the first round of the Conference League is the 14th June with games played on the 7th / 14th July
The draw for the second round which will be for Derry and Sligo if they win their first round matches plus Pats who start here is the 15th June with ties played 21st July / 28th July.
I just seen that the Russian clubs have appealed their exclusion. Wouldn't expect it to be successful at this stage but hard to take anything for granted in football politics.
Will be keeping an eye on the conclusion to the Slovenian league to confirm if Rovers are going to be seeded.
13/05/2022, 3:17 PM
It'll be interesting to see what happens with Ukraine teams also. There wont be winners etc awarded so will their FA just nominate UEFA qualifiers, probably based on the table when the league was suspended, or will they withdraw. Games would hardly be played at home even if qualifiers are not in the immediate conflict areas. Not particularly important in the bigger scheme of things, but could have a knock on effect for rankings elsewhere too, and could just be messy to organise, with clubs releasing payers, no game game time etc.
EatYerGreens
16/05/2022, 10:51 AM
It'll be interesting to see what happens with Ukraine teams also. There wont be winners etc awarded so will their FA just nominate UEFA qualifiers, probably based on the table when the league was suspended, or will they withdraw. Games would hardly be played at home even if qualifiers are not in the immediate conflict areas. Not particularly important in the bigger scheme of things, but could have a knock on effect for rankings elsewhere too, and could just be messy to organise, with clubs releasing payers, no game game time etc.
I wonder if the lads who won Eurovision for them can play a bit of ball ?
sbgawa
17/05/2022, 9:10 AM
Koper in the Slovenian league imploded losing 3-1 at home yesterday and have probably blown the league thus Linfield wont be seeded. 1 match remaining and they are two points behind.
Before the Russians were fecked out Rovers were depending on Koper. I cant see the Russians being let back in by the 14th of June when the draw is made but anything is possible.
EatYerGreens
17/05/2022, 10:18 AM
Koper in the Slovenian league imploded losing 3-1 at home yesterday and have probably blown the league thus Linfield wont be seeded. 1 match remaining and they are two points behind.
Before the Russians were fecked out Rovers were depending on Koper. I cant see the Russians being let back in by the 14th of June when the draw is made but anything is possible.
There is less than zero chance of Russia being in from the cold in less than a month from now. Even if Putin died and whoever took over wanted to end the war, it would take more than a month to negotiate everything and withdraw the Russians - and the sanctions etc wouldn't get lifted until all that was sorted.
Thoughts and prayers with Linfield.
17/05/2022, 11:37 AM
With CL draw basically settled, the teams in the ECL draw starting to take shape.
https://kassiesa.net/uefa/seedecl2022.html
Is it just the first round that's roughly regionalised, or the second as well?
Both Derry & Sligo threatened with the prospect having to go to Poland, or worse, the Faroes. Remarkably, Crusaders are ranked above all the Polish teams, who aren't even guaranteed to be seeded. Bala Town would be the ideal draw of the options so far.
sbgawa
21/05/2022, 12:28 PM
Turns out bohs are in Europe after all. Playing union Berlin in Berlin in July. 008 and Lambert have missed yhe point a bit but 10 out of 10 for effort off the pitch whatever about on it. ;) I assume they will be buying carbon credits to offset their flights
2 Year Contract
21/05/2022, 2:58 PM
Turns out bohs are in Europe after all. Playing union Berlin in Berlin in July. 008 and Lambert have missed yhe point a bit but 10 out of 10 for effort off the pitch whatever about on it. ;) I assume they will be buying carbon credits to offset their flights
Apparently they’re sending out an email to all members about the climate officer's out of line behaviour when the news about this game was broken to him. A nice trip all the same for the fans to pretend they didn’t bottle the cup final and that they’re actually playing a European game
21/05/2022, 3:51 PM
Nah, they're just raising awareness of the issue of flying by flying. And this thread proves their success. It's for someone else to actually reduce their emissions.
ger121
22/05/2022, 8:56 AM
This forum is a great example of making a better effort to reduce waste emissions.
EatYerGreens
22/05/2022, 1:53 PM
I would've thought Sankt Pauli was more their thing ?
Always interesting this time of year to see what draws the LOI sides get, Rovers and Derry should be well set up to go a few rounds, draws permitting. Sligo will need to sort themselves out and quick if they are to have a chance, with Bohs you just get the impression they will embrace it, so good luck to all with the draws.
Sadly no DFC this year, 2014-2021 was some run of consecutive (8) seasons but no chance after last year, still if we manage to qualify for 2023 one good thing still from those years, coefficient ended at 10.5 I think, will of course reduce for not playing in 2022, but I read a few months back, will still be good to be seeded in def 1 round, possibly R2. If we miss out in 2023 and qualify in 2024, prob be lucky to just get seeded one round, then if disaster happens and no europe until 2025, it will probably be wiped out.
Always interesting this time of year to see what draws the LOI sides get, Rovers and Derry should be well set up to go a few rounds, draws permitting. Sligo will need to sort themselves out and quick if they are to have a chance, with Bohs you just get the impression they will embrace it, so good luck to all with the draws.
Sadly no DFC this year, 2014-2021 was some run of consecutive (8) seasons but no chance after last year, still if we manage to qualify for 2023 one good thing still from those years, coefficient ended at 10.5 I think, will of course reduce for not playing in 2022, but I read a few months back, will still be good to be seeded in def 1 round, possibly R2. If we miss out in 2023 and qualify in 2024, prob be lucky to just get seeded one round, then if disaster happens and no europe until 2025, it will probably be wiped out.
Bohs will definitely embrace their friendly in Germany, Pats unseeded in Round 2 we will need a lucky draw I think to have any chance of progression unless we strengthen significantly in the window...
EatYerGreens
22/05/2022, 3:33 PM
with Bohs you just get the impression they will embrace it, so good luck to all with the draws.
There's not exactly much for Bohs to embrace though, so it's one drw that they're going to need a hell of a lot of luck with ! :D
Bohs will definitely embrace their friendly in Germany, Pats unseeded in Round 2 we will need a lucky draw I think to have any chance of progression unless we strengthen significantly in the window...
Apologies Forza, don't know how I got that wrong, of course Bohs are not in Europe and Pats are with the brilliant season you had, runners up in league and cup winners.
Draw is next week for the first couple of rounds of the UCL and ECL.
Potential opponents for Rovers are:
Unseeded clubs coef.
------------------------ --- ----------------
Linfield Belfast Nir 7.000
Zrinjski Mostar Bos 7.000
Shakhtior Saligorsk Bls 6.250
Sutjeska Niksic Mon 6.250
KI Klaksvik Far 6.250
Lech Poznan Pol 6.000
Hibernians FC Mlt 5.500
Tobol Kustanai Kaz 4.500
FK Shkupi Mac 4.500
Pyunik Yerevan Arm 4.250
RFS Riga Lat 4.000
Dinamo Batumi Geo 3.250
KF Tirana Alb 2.750
FC Ballkani Kos 1.633
CL-PR *p 1.075 - 4.750
As always Euro runs are about 80% luck of he draw but now that Rovers are coming in (by the skin of their teeth) seeded it makes a seismic difference on how the draw may work out. Looks like the Polish and Kazakh champions are probably the worst outcomes.
The Albanian Champions last year looked incredibly limited. Faroes would have to be seen as a great draw too.
Kiki Balboa
06/06/2022, 10:37 PM
Poznan and Dinamo Batumi are the clubs to stay away from (and the kazakh team). Hopefully they wont be in Rovers sub-group.
07/06/2022, 12:45 PM
Jaysus - mad that you could have a load of very winnable ties and then Lech Poznan get thrown in there as well. That'd be a horrible draw given the benefits of even winning just one tie.
Just got an email from DCFC to say the cost of the 1st qual ECL home tie will be £25. Would be interested in hearing what other clubs are charging as seems excessive?
DCFC unfortunately have a habit going back years now of overpricing games whether Euro or friendlies and ended up with a very sparsely populated Brandywell for our last European game on the back of doing so (Dinamo Minsk 0-2, 2018). I fear they have done it again for a tie that could be against Bala Town or Crusaders.
sbgawa
11/06/2022, 10:39 AM
£25 is basically just over €29 that is steep by LOI standards (or incredibly cheap compared to watching a muck Irish team) but strikes me as an Accountant deciding "we are selling out for League matches so lets charge a hefty sum for the Euro matches as we will sell out anyway".
Rovers have had four 7k plus attendances which is basically a full house but i hope they dont go the same way.
There are extra costs for Euro games but i think €20 is the right level.
D24Saint
11/06/2022, 10:47 AM
£25 is basically just over €29 that is steep by LOI standards (or incredibly cheap compared to watching a muck Irish team) but strikes me as an Accountant deciding "we are selling out for League matches so lets charge a hefty sum for the Euro matches as we will sell out anyway".
Rovers have had four 7k plus attendances which is basically a full house but i hope they dont go the same way.
There are extra costs for Euro games but i think €20 is the right level.
Its a bit up on normal but as things go these days going to an LOI game is ludicrously cheap. As mention the tickets for today game v Scotland set me back over €60 plus fees.
Buller
11/06/2022, 7:35 PM
Essentially Derrys biggest game in years in a limited capacity stadium, it'll sell out very very quicklyly. I'd say they could charge double that.
EatYerGreens
12/06/2022, 12:51 PM
I suspect they're relying on the limited capacity to justify the price. Rovers have about twice the caapcity of the Brandywell, so could aford to go cheaper with tickets if they wanted to.
DCWA - What was the charge for tickets at that Minsk game a few years ago ?
EatYerGreens
12/06/2022, 12:54 PM
Essentially Derrys biggest game in years in a limited capacity stadium, it'll sell out very very quicklyly. I'd say they could charge double that.
Not in Derry during a cost of living crisis. There isn't a lot of money in the town.
Add to that the fact that the team have gone off the boil recently and you could see how a lot of people would think twice about it. Or at the very least wait until the draw this coming week to decide on the basis of who the opponents are.
Candystripe
12/06/2022, 3:26 PM
I suspect they're relying on the limited capacity to justify the price. Rovers have about twice the caapcity of the Brandywell, so could aford to go cheaper with tickets if they wanted to.
DCWA - What was the charge for tickets at that Minsk game a few years ago ?
It was also £25.
Less than 1,000 went to it.
sbgawa
12/06/2022, 3:44 PM
Wow less than a thousand I'd forgotten how low it was. All the more surprising they have repeated so
EatYerGreens
12/06/2022, 3:45 PM
It was also £25.
Less than 1,000 went to it.
Strange that they've gone with the same ticket price that didn't work just a few seasons earlier. I know prices have gone up for everything since, but people's ability to pay for things has probably gone down as well. Will be interesting to see if this game sells out or not. At that price it'll probably depend on who the opposition is. I'd fear they could be in trouble if it's Crusaders or Bala.
12/06/2022, 4:30 PM
In the 90s Dundalk used to bump the cost of marquee friendlies by adding a few league games to a ticket bundle. It was a complete disaster but could it be a way to work the cost up for Derry, Drogheda and Sligo next home league games?
Draw is next week for the first couple of rounds of the UCL and ECL.
Potential opponents for Rovers are:
As always Euro runs are about 80% luck of he draw but now that Rovers are coming in (by the skin of their teeth) seeded it makes a seismic difference on how the draw may work out. Looks like the Polish and Kazakh champions are probably the worst outcomes.
The Albanian Champions last year looked incredibly limited. Faroes would have to be seen as a great draw too.
Poznan, the Bosnians and Riga would be my 3 for Rovers to want to avoid in that group, but it will reduce further into a min group day before the draw.
placid casual
12/06/2022, 6:30 PM
[QUOTE=placid casual;2113462]The sub group's of the champions league draw for Rovers tomorrow will include Poznan in Rovers group.
Personally speaking, unless we get a real minnow or binfield, I'm not expecting much of Rovers in Europe this season-To my mind we've played really poorly this season, and the step up in competition will see us exposed. Hope I'm wrong tho.
sbgawa
12/06/2022, 9:25 PM
Is the draw out or is that bjust pessimism on poznan
D24Saint
12/06/2022, 9:27 PM
Is the draw out or is that bjust pessimism on poznan
I looked at the draw an surely Poznań is the nightmare scenario. There is plenty of beatable teams in there.
13/06/2022, 8:50 AM
As long as the darkest most distant corners of UEFA keep being drawn it'll all be ok. A shattered SRFC squad can only be good for a competitive league title race (same for Derry, Pats and Sligo).
D24Saint
13/06/2022, 8:52 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2022/0612/1304427-all-you-need-to-know-irish-clubs-prepare-for-euro-draw/