View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2022
Philosophizer
06/10/2022, 9:14 PM
RFS (those Latvian minnows that so hilariously knocked out Linfield) have already got 2 points after draws with Fiorentina and Istanbul Basaksehir.
I thought they?d be battered in every match?
Philosophizer
06/10/2022, 9:22 PM
RFS (those Latvian minnows that so hilariously knocked out Linfield) have already got 2 points after draws with Fiorentina and Istanbul Basaksehir.
Turns out the only lost 3-2 to Gent last year over 2 legs, so they must be decent enough.
It seems everyone other than Rovers are capable of punching above their weight when they play against good sides in Europe.
Case & point Djurgardens. The side Rovers drew 0-0 with were able to punch above their weight and win at Gent last night whereas when Rovers needed to punch above their weight they got d!cked twice.
ontheotherhand
07/10/2022, 3:58 AM
It seems everyone other than Rovers are capable of punching above their weight when they play against good sides in Europe.
Case & point Djurgardens. The side Rovers drew 0-0 with were able to punch above their weight and win at Gent last night whereas when Rovers needed to punch above their weight they got d!cked twice.
Do you follow another club or just Rovers?
sbgawa
07/10/2022, 5:44 AM
I love how you try to look intelligent , and failing btw, and then forget about the existence of twitter.
I love how you try to look unintelligent and succeed :) :)
Peaky Blinder
07/10/2022, 7:10 AM
Who let the ditch hurler in... hilarious reading....
Do you follow another club or just Rovers?
I follow specifically my local team Cork City but I support Irish teams in Europe like they were my own team, hence why I can be objective in how poor Rovers have been consistently compared to Dundalk for example. Hell even Rovers in 2011 that won in Belgrade, took to lead against Spurs, fought back against PAOK to almost snatch a draw?where has a Bradley side ever managed something like that in a game of relevance?
mcgonigle
07/10/2022, 8:01 AM
I can't get my head around what Rovers did last night. Obviously Bradley is prioritising the league but to what end?
They will go on and win the league but the purpose of that is to get into the champions path in Europe and give yourself the best chance to qualify for the group stages. And then what? Play a weakened side, look awful, take the money and repeat?
What about next season if they make the group stages again, which is very likely? Derry will likely be stronger and closer. Put out the 19s?
Norway isn't cheap. I'd be unhappy if I had travelled to that
I can't get my head around what Rovers did last night. Obviously Bradley is prioritising the league but to what end?
They will go on and win the league but the purpose of that is to get into the champions path in Europe and give yourself the best chance to qualify for the group stages. And then what? Play a weakened side, look awful, take the money and repeat?
What about next season if they make the group stages again, which is very likely? Derry will likely be stronger and closer. Put out the 19s?
Norway isn't cheap. I'd be unhappy if I had travelled to that
Prioritizing a league that any half decent coach would have had wrapped up by now. Again it doesn?t reflect well in his coaching abilities. If Rovers are happy with scrapping a league they should be winning handily anyway then fine keep him but if Rovers ever want to go up to the next level they need to seriously consider a new appointment and Bradley is a right spoofer.
Straightstory
07/10/2022, 10:06 AM
I'm gobsmacked at how awful Rovers have been away from home in Europe. Dundalk were so much better a few years ago. Molde had 26 shots on goal, to one attempt by Rovers (which went wide). A more realistic score would have been 6 or 7 nil. Gartland in commentary mentioned that Rovers' game plan seemed to be to allow Molde all the time and space they wanted on the wings and then just hopefully head away all the crosses. It was quite unreal to watch.
Kiki Balboa
07/10/2022, 10:42 AM
Look, hate to be another one to pile onto Rovers...but...
They have a 5-point lead in the League and their next game is at home to a mid-table team - they have plenty of wiggle room (as much as they could expect), I do not get why they would be so cautious and set up their team to lose. Rovers should have enough about them to challenge that Group. It boggles my mind that they gave it up. And it is giving it up - they just constantly make excuses to underperform.
They play Gent before they play Derry. I could understand it then - maybe the group would have decided- and Derry is a 6-pointer. But he has now already played that card... If you do it too often, you are making a mockery of the achviement of making it to the group stages.
Can Rovers fans say they will ever be competitive in a group stage in Europe under Bradley? The answer is quite frankly no... There is always an excuse not to push on. You can say a lot about Bradley, but you can not say that he and this Rovers team are 'ambitious'. Maybe their aim is just to make money. Get to the group, get the 4 million, forget about it then.
I think Rovers fans definitley disagree with me, but I feel this Euro campaign has been a net-negative for the league. So many poor poor showings by the Champions, it has made it harder for the media and neutral fans to take LOI in Europe seriously- You can see that in the TV coverage last night
(Positively though, it again shows how a quite ordinary league-winning team should always now be making the group stages in Europe now that the Conference was introduced.)
sbgawa
07/10/2022, 11:14 AM
I think for Neutrals (well at least the Neutral neutrals i.e not CSAD) this idea that the league is wrapped up is easier to accept than for Rovers fans.
a 5 point lead with Derry to come to Tallaght is potentially only a 2 point lead i.e nothing so what appears comfortable from outside feels anything but from a Rovers perspective.
The league could and should have been wrapped up by now but its harsh to blame that on Bradser, Mandroiu leaving was a blow and Jack and Burkey have a total of nine 90 minute matches between them this season and 19 and 9 starts in total in the league.
That level of creativity being missing has brought us way back. Ritchie Towell has had a number of injuries as well and only 14 starts. With Jack Burkey and Mandroiu missing most of the season he should have been starting every game but instead has been trying to play his way into form coming back from injuries.
The exact creative hub of the team is basically missing the year.
Retaining the league is the priority and hopefully qualify for group stages again next year.
With a (Hopefully) fully fit creative fulcrum back in action and a couple of additions with this years money i think we can have a real cut at it next year with the league hopefully secured earlier.
No matter how big the squad though you cant take the 3 most creative players out of the side and expect it to perform to its top level.
ger121
07/10/2022, 11:25 AM
Rovers away have been awful as we know but I would reserve overall judgement until after the groups have completed.
They?ve two home games to come and they are a different beast at home. I know the argument could be made that the Ludogorets and Ferencvaros ties were over by the 2nd legs but there is no way Ludogorets played to be 2 down in the 89th minute and Ferencvaros did not go out to lose so Rovers earned those wins in my book.
That Djurgarden point at home is looking better by the week and I think they?ll go for it at home to Molde and especially Gent, who aren?t all that great. If they finish on 4 or 5 points then the picture looks a lot more rosey then it does now.
Are they Dundalk 2016, no. Not sure they are even as good as Rovers 2020/2021 but winning the league again, making the groups and some points in the bag would have to be viewed as a very successful season.
Then can build again for targeting group stage qualification next season and improving on their displays from this year. I?d say we?d all like to have their problems.
Now I am off to wash myself as I feel very unclean after this post.
RealJohn91
07/10/2022, 12:13 PM
The reaction from the Rovers fans in this thread has been nearly as embarrassing as their team's away performances in Europe. Plenty of very valid points being ignored and shouted down for some reason.
oriel
07/10/2022, 12:40 PM
I said this to a Rovers mate and I stand by it.
I`m not buying the holding players back for the league game on Sunday, thats b/s, with respect to Shels (hard working team), they were never going to beat Rovers in Tallaght on Sunday.
My point is, Rovers are not 'having a proper go' at the group stage, and that's disappointing for the league, almost (so far) just turning up and being ultra cautious, never making that extra effort to try and win a game. They have injuries, but who doesn't, they effectively have 2 teams, we effectively haven't had a striker since Mid August !!!
Dundalk in 2016 is the yardstick and will be hard for any Irish team to match those performances, maybe Rovers will beat 4 points in last 3 games, but I doubt it. High point was beating Macabi 2-1 and going second in the group that night, and still retaining the league.
Fast Forward to 2020, a patched up team, abs and utter chaos behind the scenes and still performed 'reasonable' in the group, yes lost all 6 but scored at least once in all games apart from Arsenal away, even that was 0-0 at 44 mins, again that team 'had a go' plus should have got a result in Vienna (lost 4-3) and then won the cup a month later, so even for all their limitations they could still battle on two fronts.
Back to the point, why have Rovers seemingly 'given up' on the group stage?
MichaelCherrito
07/10/2022, 1:03 PM
I wonder if Rovers’ stance would have been different had the league season gone from August to May instead of February to October.
I think for Neutrals (well at least the Neutral neutrals i.e not CSAD) this idea that the league is wrapped up is easier to accept than for Rovers fans.
a 5 point lead with Derry to come to Tallaght is potentially only a 2 point lead i.e nothing so what appears comfortable from outside feels anything but from a Rovers perspective.
The league could and should have been wrapped up by now but its harsh to blame that on Bradser, Mandroiu leaving was a blow and Jack and Burkey have a total of nine 90 minute matches between them this season and 19 and 9 starts in total in the league.
That level of creativity being missing has brought us way back. Ritchie Towell has had a number of injuries as well and only 14 starts. With Jack Burkey and Mandroiu missing most of the season he should have been starting every game but instead has been trying to play his way into form coming back from injuries.
The exact creative hub of the team is basically missing the year.
Retaining the league is the priority and hopefully qualify for group stages again next year.
With a (Hopefully) fully fit creative fulcrum back in action and a couple of additions with this years money i think we can have a real cut at it next year with the league hopefully secured earlier.
No matter how big the squad though you cant take the 3 most creative players out of the side and expect it to perform to its top level.
Except you forget Rovers under O?Neill and Dundalk under Kenny had no problem performing on both fronts?why? Because they actually had competent managers who could adapt and get the best out of their squad, something Bradley isn?t capable of I?m afraid.
Perform to their top level?.not performing to that level is one thing?producing the sh!te Rovers have produced away from home this season is a whole other story, to describe last night as anything other than embarrassing is just deluding yourself. Yes they are missing some players here or there but it?s situations like this that truly test the strength in character of the players in the squad and the coaching ability of the those in charge and throughout this season we?ve seen that the squad is severely lacking on both fronts. Also I?m sick of all the bollock excuses, all we here from Bradley is ?we need to improve??where is the improvement? If anything last night is the worst of the worst so far, they made a pretty bang average Molde side look like a EPL side.
EatYerGreens
07/10/2022, 2:03 PM
Your beekeeping teacher wouldn't like you using twitter either. :) :)
Surely Bumble would be more his thing ? :cool:
ontheotherhand
07/10/2022, 3:00 PM
I follow specifically my local team Cork City but I support Irish teams in Europe like they were my own team, hence why I can be objective in how poor Rovers have been consistently compared to Dundalk for example. Hell even Rovers in 2011 that won in Belgrade, took to lead against Spurs, fought back against PAOK to almost snatch a draw?where has a Bradley side ever managed something like that in a game of relevance?
Cork? Had you down as a bohs or dundalk man. Now I have to read your posts in a Cork accent. That's gona make them even harder to take to be honest.
And look you have some fair points. I've outlined before why I still like Bradley but it's obviously been poor away from home in Europe.
As for the league being wrapped up....lads...take a look at the form table and fixtures. The team Derry built is looking very strong. It ain't over by a long shot. We were great against a poor Sligo but otherwise awful the past few weeks and even months. There's criticisms there for the manager too but it's hard as a hoop to go in too strong when you know what he's going through.
07/10/2022, 3:03 PM
While we're confessing here I'll admit that, for some reason, I thought CSAD was a Derry fan.
ontheotherhand
07/10/2022, 3:18 PM
While we're confessing here I'll admit that, for some reason, I thought CSAD was a Derry fan.
Yeah I thought the same a few seasons back. But he's really jumping on rovers lately so I assumed a club with more of a.... complicated...relationship with us..I quite like Derry.
ontheotherhand
07/10/2022, 4:39 PM
Rovers away have been awful as we know but I would reserve overall judgement until after the groups have completed.
They?ve two home games to come and they are a different beast at home. I know the argument could be made that the Ludogorets and Ferencvaros ties were over by the 2nd legs but there is no way Ludogorets played to be 2 down in the 89th minute and Ferencvaros did not go out to lose so Rovers earned those wins in my book.
That Djurgarden point at home is looking better by the week and I think they?ll go for it at home to Molde and especially Gent, who aren?t all that great. If they finish on 4 or 5 points then the picture looks a lot more rosey then it does now.
Are they Dundalk 2016, no. Not sure they are even as good as Rovers 2020/2021 but winning the league again, making the groups and some points in the bag would have to be viewed as a very successful season.
Then can build again for targeting group stage qualification next season and improving on their displays from this year. I?d say we?d all like to have their problems.
Now I am off to wash myself as I feel very unclean after this post.
That winning bet has changed you ger.....
Cork? Had you down as a bohs or dundalk man. Now I have to read your posts in a Cork accent. That's gona make them even harder to take to be honest.
And look you have some fair points. I've outlined before why I still like Bradley but it's obviously been poor away from home in Europe.
As for the league being wrapped up....lads...take a look at the form table and fixtures. The team Derry built is looking very strong. It ain't over by a long shot. We were great against a poor Sligo but otherwise awful the past few weeks and even months. There's criticisms there for the manager too but it's hard as a hoop to go in too strong when you know what he's going through.
I could forgive Bradley if performances away from home like last night were a once off but in reality they have become the norm. Even last night when by some miracle Rovers were in the game at HT he made literally no changes to the set up or line up to fix the obvious issues they have?dare I say it if they were any worse than last night you?d swear they were losing on purpose, it really was that bad and the only silver lining is realistically I don?t think it?s possible for Rovers to be that bad again as that really was rock bottom.
Derry may have built a strong squad but it?s still not as strong as Rovers and Derry had a mini collapse at one point this season and yet are still in with a realistic shout of the title, imagine if Derry didn?t have that collapse where they would be?
I understand what Bradley is going through and my criticism is nothing do with him as a person or what he?s going through as I would wish that on my worst enemy but at the end of the day in this line of work you simply have to be able to separate the two sides of the coin and the reality is this is a Rovers side that in totally inconsistent and in Europe their performances really have been totally unacceptable and any team that has any ambition of doing well needs to be asking these questions. We?ve seen Dundalk 2016 and Rovers 2011 who were able to compete on both fronts with Michael O?Neill and Stephen Kenny, with due respect that?s the level of manager Rovers need to be looking for if they want to compete on both fronts and take the next step and with all due respect Bradley is not even in the same stratosphere as these managers.
Yeah I thought the same a few seasons back. But he's really jumping on rovers lately so I assumed a club with more of a.... complicated...relationship with us..I quite like Derry.
Just look at the Rovers results & performances in Europe and that will tell you why I?ve been jumping on them lately. And frankly if you were a true fan you?d want the very best for Rovers and if that?s the case you?d be equally critical of what we?ve seen in Europe this year.
ontheotherhand
07/10/2022, 5:12 PM
Just look at the Rovers results & performances in Europe and that will tell you why I?ve been jumping on them lately. And frankly if you were a true fan you?d want the very best for Rovers and if that?s the case you?d be equally critical of what we?ve seen in Europe this year.
You're not going to get very far questioning other fans like that.
You want to have a decent debate without throwing out insults every couple of posts? PM me and I'll happily discuss things but the thread tends to descend into childish crap when you get involved so I'm not really interested in being a part of that. You're not alone to be fair, but you're always there.
You're not going to get very far questioning other fans like that.
You want to have a decent debate without throwing out insults every couple of posts? PM me and I'll happily discuss things but the thread tends to descend into childish crap when you get involved so I'm not really interested in being a part of that. You're not alone to be fair, but you're always there.
It?s a valid line of questioning though, if a fan wanted the best for their club surely they would at the very least be open to criticism especially if it?s justified but many on here are just putting their fingers in both ears and yelling ?lalalalala? the minute anyone says anything negative.
The main reason it does is I keep engage with that particular Shamrock Rovers poster (Sgbawa) who?s talking about beekeeping when this is a football thread. Probably the best advice I?ve heard all day is stay clear of this individual
Kingswood Rover
07/10/2022, 7:12 PM
It?s a valid line of questioning though, if a fan wanted the best for their club surely they would at the very least be open to criticism especially if it?s justified but many on here are just putting their fingers in both ears and yelling ?lalalalala? the minute anyone says anything negative.
The main reason it does is I keep engage with that particular Shamrock Rovers poster (Sgbawa) who?s talking about beekeeping when this is a football thread. Probably the best advice I?ve heard all day is stay clear of this individual
Right so very interesting debate and sitting here on my fence i kinda see both sides. Myself and my pals all south stand aul lads to a man believe that winning league is the end all absolutely. Rovers have struggled for a lot of the year, yes some decent home performances in Europe but until that win in Sligo last weekend nothing great without being complete pants. Bradley sees this too and is off the same mind ehhh we are only ok but we can still win the league so thats where my priorities are is obviously his thinking. Bradley always talks about the clubs philosophy around it being built slowly with incremental improvements each year. Wining the league and qualifying for the group stages of European competition even with zero points sits snugly within in this ever upward curve. Wining the league maximises the clubs chances of group stage qualification next season and with a lot more revenue. Many of us aul lads may very well come off our comfortable fence next season.
ontheotherhand
07/10/2022, 7:28 PM
I've given you answers multiple times over the years on the topic of Bradley. Questioning me as a fan based on the responses you've gotten from others is exactly the sort of response that makes you difficult to discuss anything with. Now to be fair I did call you a troll a few pages back. Probably uncalled for but it's hard to tell sometimes.
On the European campaign I agree with some of what you've said. I just tend to reserve my criticisms of Rovers for Rovers people. But I do disagree that we should have been "giving it a go" in Molde just for the sake of the image of the league etc. That's grand for neutrals who would also love to see us lose the league but as a lifelong Rovers support and current member I want #20 and the league is by no means over. Getting to the groups was the target and I'd honestly have sacrificed that for the league. So everything else is a bonus. I don't like losing in the manner we have and that needs to be fixed. But I understand the situation. There are more games to come and the club is in a great position overall. That's down in large parts to the manager you think we should be sacking. So, I want what's best for my club. And I know better than you what that is, all due respect.
Right so very interesting debate and sitting here on my fence i kinda see both sides. Myself and my pals all south stand aul lads to a man believe that winning league is the end all absolutely. Rovers have struggled for a lot of the year, yes some decent home performances in Europe but until that win in Sligo last weekend nothing great without being complete pants. Bradley sees this too and is off the same mind ehhh we are only ok but we can still win the league so thats where my priorities are is obviously his thinking. Bradley always talks about the clubs philosophy around it being built slowly with incremental improvements each year. Wining the league and qualifying for the group stages of European competition even with zero points sits snugly within in this ever upward curve. Wining the league maximises the clubs chances of group stage qualification next season and with a lot more revenue. Many of us aul lads may very well come off our comfortable fence next season.
Rovers being average alone would be enough for them to win the league simply happy with only winning league is setting the bar for success as low as possible as anything less than that would be a tremendous failure given the squad and resources they have at their disposal. You can tell just from what the players do during these sort games that this Rovers team is a very poorly coached side that only get away with it in the league because they are still better than their opposition but badly gets exposed in Europe when the bar is raised.
Rovers haven?t even improved from the qualifying round, the beatings are only getting more and more embarrassing, just look at the goals they are conceding they aren?t even good goals they are just incredibly poor defending, some of the defending against Molde the other night was eye opening , almost like they had only met each other before the match started. It also shows how tactically naive Bradley is, he literally has only one way of playing and if it fails he does little to fix the issues, any half decent coach will exploit that which is why Rovers get their asses handed to them repeatedly. Molde aren?t as good as Gent or Ferencvaros yet the loss was far more humiliating.
How is it an upward curve, the only reason Rovers improved this year is because they got a much easier pathway to the Conference league, if they played the Flora side they played last year would the result be any better? The evidence suggests no as they are making the same basic mistakes consistently and ironically even then no one was calling out Bradley.
A lot more revenue for what? To get another good beating unless they get lucky and get an easy draw again? Go away from home when eventually they play a half decent side, make that half decent side look like a top team and then get a moral victory when the tie was already over and rinse repeat? There is 0 ambition at Rovers and that will eventually come back to bite them in the league when some of these old timers in the squad are past it and the rest of the league catches up.
And out of curiosity in what way have Rovers improved? Because I?m not seeing it, I?m fact I?m saying the same things as I was saying last year?it?s almost a carbon copy.
placid casual
07/10/2022, 8:13 PM
Decent game in oriel pk tonight. Which club is better suited to giving Europe a go next season I wonder. Dundalk really look toothless without Hoban up front.
Yossarian
07/10/2022, 11:14 PM
Decent game in oriel pk tonight. Which club is better suited to giving Europe a go next season I wonder. Dundalk really look toothless without Hoban up front.
I know this isn?t the right thread but people talk about the loss of Connolly for us but I think Hoban?s injury has had a much bigger effect on us. Not only is he a great striker and front man, but the press is driven by him and he gets himself all over the pitch. Our replacement strikers in Martin and McMillan are like putting 10 year olds into and under 18 team, completely ineffective.
sbgawa
08/10/2022, 7:57 AM
Completely agree Hooooban is the player that holds everything together for you. Gives u an out ball, good at corners at both ends and a great finisher. When we play u if Hoooban is out it is a different ball game.
10/10/2022, 10:03 AM
I've given you answers multiple times over the years on the topic of Bradley. Questioning me as a fan based on the responses you've gotten from others is exactly the sort of response that makes you difficult to discuss anything with. Now to be fair I did call you a troll a few pages back. Probably uncalled for but it's hard to tell sometimes.
On the European campaign I agree with some of what you've said. I just tend to reserve my criticisms of Rovers for Rovers people. But I do disagree that we should have been "giving it a go" in Molde just for the sake of the image of the league etc. That's grand for neutrals who would also love to see us lose the league but as a lifelong Rovers support and current member I want #20 and the league is by no means over. Getting to the groups was the target and I'd honestly have sacrificed that for the league. So everything else is a bonus. I don't like losing in the manner we have and that needs to be fixed. But I understand the situation. There are more games to come and the club is in a great position overall. That's down in large parts to the manager you think we should be sacking. So, I want what's best for my club. And I know better than you what that is, all due respect.
I think thats very fair, but you or others of your persuasion then can't be calling on Irish Media to give fair light, attention and focus on the League and games in Europe if you are going to put up that fare. All thats happened over the last few games of rovers in europe is turned disinterest to annoyance for many. The qualifying rounds involving other Irish teams were much better and far more entertaining to watch but not on mainstream TV and I think thats pretty shameful. But whats more shameful is the noise that will emanate from here next year giving out about no LOI teams in Europe being shown(again). I think every team has a duty to the league, their supporters and the leagues fans when performing on mainstream TV in Europe. I'll be the first to call them out next year too - I am not having a go a new otoh.
10/10/2022, 3:08 PM
LOI fans are a weird bunch and arguably the weirdest quirk is this feeling of ownership of the League's European representatives. Always found it bizarre, I want all other Irish clubs to do terribly in Europe which is the normal way for a football fan to feel and it's how I suspect the vast majority of Rovers fans feel. Why would fans of Cork, Galway or whomever even care? It's deeply, deeply weird not to mention parochial and small time.
Stephen Bradley has a duty of care to Rovers not to strange internet guy who is losing his mind over another club's performances - did I mention that it's not normal behaviour? Frankly it's none of anyone else's business, Bradley and the club have a plan which is currently on schedule but it's not a short term plan and results/performances in Belgium and Norway are quite frankly irrelevant to us - the only people who actually matter - in the grand scheme of things
We are quite happy making incremental steps and progressing year on year without throwing it all away as others - including Rovers - have done in the past. That's the key for us and if anonymous LOI guy finds that embarrassing then maybe he should hang on until his own club are in similar position before giving himself an aneurism. Just a thought.
Jd2793
10/10/2022, 3:26 PM
LOI fans are a weird bunch and arguably the weirdest quirk is this feeling of ownership of the League's European representatives. Always found it bizarre, I want all other Irish clubs to do terribly in Europe which is the normal way for a football fan to feel and it's how I suspect the vast majority of Rovers fans feel. Why would fans of Cork, Galway or whomever even care? It's deeply, deeply weird not to mention parochial and small time.
Stephen Bradley has a duty of care to Rovers not to strange internet guy who is losing his mind over another club's performances - did I mention that it's not normal behaviour? Frankly it's none of anyone else's business, Bradley and the club have a plan which is currently on schedule but it's not a short term plan and results/performances in Belgium and Norway are quite frankly irrelevant to us - the only people who actually matter - in the grand scheme of things
We are quite happy making incremental steps and progressing year on year without throwing it all away as others - including Rovers - have done in the past. That's the key for us and if anonymous LOI guy finds that embarrassing then maybe he should hang on until his own club are in similar position before giving himself an aneurism. Just a thought.
on the money.
Calcio Jack
10/10/2022, 5:45 PM
That has to be the post of the year so far?.
ontheotherhand
10/10/2022, 7:32 PM
I think thats very fair, but you or others of your persuasion then can't be calling on Irish Media to give fair light, attention and focus on the League and games in Europe if you are going to put up that fare. All thats happened over the last few games of rovers in europe is turned disinterest to annoyance for many. The qualifying rounds involving other Irish teams were much better and far more entertaining to watch but not on mainstream TV and I think thats pretty shameful. But whats more shameful is the noise that will emanate from here next year giving out about no LOI teams in Europe being shown(again). I think every team has a duty to the league, their supporters and the leagues fans when performing on mainstream TV in Europe. I'll be the first to call them out next year too - I am not having a go a new otoh.
I think WAR summed up my overall sentiments better than I could! You and I obviously differ in terms of what we support Paul but I understand where you're coming from at least. I'm a Rovers supporter, not a #loifamily man. I want us to dominate Irish football and as a result I don't want other clubs to do well in Europe. Now I wouldn't begrudge certain teams a run but it's not something I'd be hoping for. I did at one point lean more towards wanting the league as a whole to be well represented but I've long since given up on any of my EPL worshipping mates switching sides. If they do it won't be down to European runs any way. It will be because the domestic games are better craic than sitting in front of the tv and the nonsense across the water has become too overhyped and fake even for them.
In addition I don't care about the media coverage piece. The best coverage of the league is done by sections of the media that will always do right by it and I'd honestly prefer if the bigger broadcasters just left it alone for a while. Dundalk had a great run in Europe but what were the long term changes it brought about? Did it result in a proper tv deal or anything concrete? Maybe successive runs would be too hard to ignore but until we have a club who can actually properly compete in the groups then we aren't going to have that and that requires incremental change and investment. I'd rather build towards being able to take Molde on properly than hope for one brilliant year and then the inevitable decline that has followed for most clubs.
Now I can say all that and still think we SHOULD be able to do better in our away games. I'm not excusing the performances. But I don't care if we prioritize the league. That's what I want. I want #20. I want 3 and hopefully 4 in a row. Europe is a nice bonus and hopefully we can get a win and a draw from the home games but the groups were the target, not putting on a show for the neutrals.
ger121
10/10/2022, 8:36 PM
People on a public LOI forum posting about LOI teams in Europe, that are not their team. Well I never! What next, people posting on attendance figures that aren?t about their club or heaven forbid, posting about another club?s game in a game week thread. Where will it end?! I?d ban the lot of them personally, as a LOI forum is no place for that kind of behaviour. Just a thought.
CraftyToePoke
10/10/2022, 10:17 PM
That's the key for us and if anonymous LOI guy finds that embarrassing then maybe he should hang on until his own club are in similar position before giving himself an aneurism. Just a thought.
But what if strange anonymous weird LOI internet guy doesn't have his own club ? But instead has this freakish yearly hard on for this thread on this website only & the sense that Stephen Bradley & Rovers should fuc king well try harder to give him some vague reflective glory to bask in, Irish style with no real interest in the league beyond that & surface knowledge at most.
EatYerGreens
10/10/2022, 11:42 PM
Surely it's not that hard to understand ? Supporting the LOI is a fringe pastime, and one that if we're honest is often maligned by a lot of people in society ("Who do you really support though?" "I wouldn't watch that sh!!te if they were playing in my back garden" etc etc). It's us against the world - or at least the armchair gobsh!!tes anyway (and a large portion of the national media) - which understandably develops a sense of camaraderie, mutual self-interest and support etc.
Then there's also the obvious fact that LOI clubs doing better in Europe undeniably gives our overall league more credibility.
I'm surprised this has to be spelled out to be honest.
And I'll tell you what is actually deeply weird though. It's Irish people turning their backs on their own football clubs to latch onto foreign teams they have neither connrection nor affinity with. That's really where the weird sh!!t is at amiigo :cool:
Straightstory
11/10/2022, 9:56 AM
I think a word which used to be popular on the forum, 'minnow-ism' is my reaction to all these Rovers fans happy to win league every year and not care about Europe. So you'd prefer to win another (20th - I believe) league title than qualify for the knock-out stages in the Europa conference, a competition which is about a thousand times more prestigious? A 20th league title for Rovers? Who cares - nobody's going to take any notice outside Rovers fans. But qualifying for knock out-stages in Europe would give the club a profile it's never had before. As I say - 'minnow-ism.'
texidub
11/10/2022, 10:21 AM
Rovers haven't been great in the group, but getting there is an achievement in itself -- and it's about as organic as it can get, which is to be celebrated in era of billionaire oligarch football club owners. Baby steps to the Champions League final in 2035, like.
Used to watch Rovers in the 80s (the Pat (and Mick) Byrne, Liam O'Brien etc. era) so have a bit of favouritism towards them, but overall, some of the Pats and Sligo performances in Europe this year were more exciting to watch. With the league more or less wrapped up now, Rovers have no excuses for lacking courage/playing within themselves in the remaining conference games.
placid casual
11/10/2022, 10:23 AM
A 20th league title for Rovers? Who cares - nobody's going to take any notice outside Rovers fans..
Ive just cut this part out as it's the most important to us as Rovers fans.
We do care about winning the league more than any other team in this country. We value the importance of winning our domestic league. We understand that to get into European group stages its vital we win the league.
What other clubs fans, or even just LOI followers think about whether Rovers are seen as successful or not is a complete phookin irrelevance to us. Attempts to somehow discredit Rovers achievements over the last few years just says more about that person than anything else.
When we come to your town/village /city it means a lot to you folks to try and beat us. Cool, keep it that way. It makes the games and ground atmospheres very entertaining.
Rovers domination in the league is coming to an end in the next year or two so people can get their whinges ready for when Derry take over.
Peaky Blinder
11/10/2022, 10:31 AM
I think a word which used to be popular on the forum, 'minnow-ism' is my reaction to all these Rovers fans happy to win league every year and not care about Europe. So you'd prefer to win another (20th - I believe) league title than qualify for the knock-out stages in the Europa conference, a competition which is about a thousand times more prestigious? A 20th league title for Rovers? Who cares - nobody's going to take any notice outside Rovers fans. But qualifying for knock out-stages in Europe would give the club a profile it's never had before. As I say - 'minnow-ism.'
Entirely missing the point. As was outlined in WAR's earlier post, there is a plan here to try & compete over a longer timeframe than 1 or 2 isolated years, if Rovers did manage to get through to the knockouts (which in reality is a behemoth of a task given the financial clout we're up against) and fell away to allow a financially well backed Derry dominate the league for the next 4 or 5 years where does that leave us as a club? Rovers, whether you like it or not are entitled to put in place a strategy that in their opinion benefits them (no one else matters to be frank) and keeps them ahead domestically and random online posts calling them minnows etc. (for daring to go against the tried & tested failures of the past) are never going to influence that thinking.
Personally as a Rovers fan for over 40 years I will always put the league first, its the bread & butter for any club at any level, and no one off run in Europe will ever change that IMO. As a fan of a club I want to see them win stuff & be the best in the country, anything on top of that is a bonus. If we win our 20th title this year it will be the 10th I'll have personally see us win, and do you know what, it never gets tired or boring. And if the plan works there'll be plenty of European opportunities to come. But I believe there's merit in trying to get the foundations right first & then building on that.
11/10/2022, 10:42 AM
They have a few million banked this year. They'd be mad not to prioritise the league and look to do the same next year.
Blowing the league title and having to compete in the conference league first round qualifier would be a huge setback for them.
ontheotherhand
12/10/2022, 6:40 PM
Minnowism for me is asking other clubs to sacrifice their priorities in order to give you something to celebrate.
I hate to see someone knocking the league title like this by the way. I really hope we don't go the way of the EPL where the league plays second fiddle to CL qualification. The Champions Path has thankfully helped keep the league title's level of importance but the league should be celebrated regardless. It's what we play for all year.
When Derry win it next year by 15 points maybe it will allow us the freedom to give you all a bit of a jolly up when we play in Europe.....
pateen
12/10/2022, 9:00 PM
I wouldn't say the league is wrapped up at all yet.
Hoping for a bit more of a competitive game tomorrow night but with only a 5 point cushion and 4 games to go, it's still very much up for grabs with advantage to Rovers
Couldnt think of a word to sum up Rovers in one word but Minnow-ism is the best I?ve heard yet!
A N Mouse
13/10/2022, 8:48 AM
Couldnt think of a word to sum up Rovers in one word but Minnow-ism is the best I?ve heard yet!
Pull the other one, it's got bells on.
As others have said getting to the group was the reward, anything else was a bonus. The insipid performances have been a disappointment sure, but anyone expecting them to have set the world on fire is a fecking ejit.
Despite what some people are saying champions qualifying for the conference groups every year from now on isn't a given, but it's an order of magnitude easier relative to the non-champions path. So why wouldn't making sure you're champions be the priority?
Those saying Dundalk or Rovers managed to win the league before while competing in group stages. Well if anyone was paying attention Dundalk had a few slip ups in 2016 when they tried to cram as many games into October as possible, but Cork kept dropping points themselves, including on the last day. If Dundalk had to finish their group games before the end of that season it might have been different, though they probably still would have finished ahead of that Cork side.
There shouldn't be a title race, it should have been a procession. Rovers should be sitting here now knowing 3 points against Drogs sees them champions. Instead, they're looking over their shoulder wondering if they're going to need to win against UCD on the last day to clinch it.
Pull the other one, it's got bells on.
As others have said getting to the group was the reward, anything else was a bonus. The insipid performances have been a disappointment sure, but anyone expecting them to have set the world on fire is a fecking ejit.
Despite what some people are saying champions qualifying for the conference groups every year from now on isn't a given, but it's an order of magnitude easier relative to the non-champions path. So why wouldn't making sure you're champions be the priority?
Those saying Dundalk or Rovers managed to win the league before while competing in group stages. Well if anyone was paying attention Dundalk had a few slip ups in 2016 when they tried to cram as many games into October as possible, but Cork kept dropping points themselves, including on the last day. If Dundalk had to finish their group games before the end of that season it might have been different, though they probably still would have finished ahead of that Cork side.
There shouldn't be a title race, it should have been a procession. Rovers should be sitting here now knowing 3 points against Drogs sees them champions. Instead, they're looking over their shoulder wondering if they're going to need to win against UCD on the last day to clinch it.
For beating the champions of Macedonia & Malta?while getting their ass penitrated repeatedly by any side that was in any way decent?for you?re own sake don?t even dare celebrate that like it?s some achievement, the champions of Ireland should be expecting to make Europe with the route they had and to say otherwise again speaks of the minnowism this Rovers side posses.
No one said set the world alight?trust me Rovers have been on the complete opposite end of the spectrum, all that was wanted was Rovers to be respectable in the games regardless of the results?instead they have been an absolute disgrace from start to finish, and no the sides they are playing aren?t amazing?Rovers just make any side look amazing with how terrible they?ve been.
Exactly they are and that shows why Bradley isn?t up to scratch, any side with ambition would have sacked him ages ago.