View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2022
legendz
20/08/2022, 5:15 AM
Its a Rovers team that played six 30 year olds yesterday - and thats missing 3 others (McCann, Finn and Lopes). There two youngest starters were Andy Lyons (22) and Dylan Watts (25). Their manager has been there for 6 years. Its the one team in this league that shouldnt need experience.
Rovers are in pole position to retain their league crown again after years of Dundalk and Cork dominance. They have improved on last year's European run and have guaranteed group stage football. Rovers have delivered.
Dundalk under Kenny had a boldness, a football intelligence and a desire to achieve more. It is also fair to gauge Rovers in that context. It'll be a tough one for Rovers. Do they stick or twist from a structure that is delivering success for them? If they fall short of qualifying from the ECL group, as difficult and all as a task that is, they'll have to assess is a change in approach required to achieve more, if they have higher ambitions.
To say never grow is harsh. Rovers have bounced back from previous European set backs. Ludogorets, Ferencváros and the ECL group phase is great European experience all in one season. The Ludogorets and Ferencváros performances give a clear indication that 2nd in the ECL group will be a step too far. When the dust settles on Rovers European adventure, it'll be interesting to see can they grow again and achieve more.
Except it doesn’t when you look at how Rovers performed in the 2nd leg versus Ludogorets, in both away legs Rovers made the opposition look far better than they actually are just like they did against Flora last year. If you look at the goals they conceded they weren’t because of tremendous quality from the opposition but from incredible schoolboy errors for the most part. The fact is when you compare rovers to Dundalk’s European teams you could always bank of Dundalk making it difficult for the opposition whereas with Rovers you know they will make it incredibly easy for the opposition.
They won’t show any potential for growth, they’ve done this season exactly what they did last season and no one on here seems to care, Rovers could lose to Lincoln Red Imps and the rovers fans on here would go out and say “Red Imps are a top quality side” rather than be critical of rovers, that’s how much their heads are in the clouds.
Again kiki - we literally beat Ludogorets. We got well beaten by a better team with half a squad and one eye on Sunday. Don't be losing any sleep over it.
Except the school boy errors made in Budapest were made in Bulgaria afew weeks ago and in Tallinn & Bratislava last year…I think it shows this Ferencvaros loss isn’t an isolated issue and maybe there is more to it than the opposition alone…
Nobody is saying they are the greatest team in Europe. It's hard to have a discussion about anything on here when hyperbole like that is being employed. They are a good side who beat a weakened Rovers team with one eye on Sunday in sweltering heat in front of their 25 odd k fans. It's happened to Dundalk too.
I don't think we were naive in either leg. Naive is a weird word to use anyway. You think we went in not realizing how good they were? Or we should have sat back and put everyone behind the ball? We put out the best team in the best shape we could and we got beaten. The idea of sticking Richie Towell in a 5 man midfield isn't something I'd want to see us go with. Gannon was our only option at RWB unless you'd have wanted Farrugia on from the start? Playing a 4 at the back for the first time in years would have been even more calamitous. We don't even really have a recognized left full with Kavo already needed in midfield. Our best team went out last night and it wasn't good enough.
We are still heading to the groups. Which is lucky for you......
You don’t think Rovers were naive….Jesus Christ.
Rovers literally ****ed up in identical fashion afew weeks ago…what part of that can’t you get you’re head around that this isn’t an isolated issue. You seem more content to paper over the crack than fix the problem which will come back to haunt Rovers in the long run when half this ancient squad retire.
You do realise we were missing half a team ?
Just checking because it seems you are completely oblivious to this?
Can you name 11 Rovers palyers?
So I think we are in agreement that this rovers team can’t cope on adversity and need everything to be handed to them like it is in the LOI in order to be successful.
Lost afew big players difficult yes, what effort was made in Budapest in order to rectify these issues? To me it looked like a team with no game plan that just went their for their inevitable beating like they did in Bulgaria afew weeks ago…but sure it’s easier just to paper over the cracks and move on then fix the problem.
20/08/2022, 10:23 AM
Has the multi-quote option disappeared on here?
20/08/2022, 11:04 AM
Trolls obviously can’t multi-quote.
Meanwhile in the real world an actual professional footballer with a much smarter and more realistic view of Thursday night.
https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/gary-oneill-upbeat-about-budapest-experience-despite-bad-loss-41924605.html
Group stage football secured, on the way (hopefully!) to 3-in-a-row league titles all built on solid foundations. Bradley out!
GON’s views are reflective of where Rovers as a club, team and fanbase are - learning and growing all the time while enjoying the journey.
I can say with confidence that we are all very comfortable with where we are at and shrill, uninformed outside voices won’t change that.
Trolls obviously can’t multi-quote.
Meanwhile in the real world an actual professional footballer with a much smarter and more realistic view of Thursday night.
https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/gary-oneill-upbeat-about-budapest-experience-despite-bad-loss-41924605.html
Group stage football secured, on the way (hopefully!) to 3-in-a-row league titles all built on solid foundations. Bradley out!
GON’s views are reflective of where Rovers as a club, team and fanbase are - learning and growing all the time while enjoying the journey.
I can say with confidence that we are all very comfortable with where we are at and shrill, uninformed outside voices won’t change that.
It’s not trolling when the supporting evidence
exists.
The issue isn’t new to me as the exact same problems in this Rovers team were present last season, the fact that little has been done to rectify the issues shows up the coaching staff.
The real world is Rovers will only ever go somewhere if they play against a team they are better than, but don’t ever expect them to over achieve or punch above their weight, if they are expected to lose they WILL lose and will only win in a match that doesn’t mean anything.
Any manager could win the Irish league with the resources rovers have…the challenge for this coaching staff is how they shape up in Europe and they are continuously shown up for being naive and unorganized which for a team with the experience Rovers have is unforgivable.
Happy where you are, that’s sad, I feel sorry for ye as you’ll never have it as good as Dundalk ever did. You like many Rovers fans are in denial and sadly 1 year hasn’t changed that.
sbgawa
20/08/2022, 11:51 AM
It’s not trolling when the supporting evidence
exists.
The issue isn’t new to me as the exact same problems in this Rovers team were present last season, the fact that little has been done to rectify the issues shows up the coaching staff.
The real world is Rovers will only ever go somewhere if they play against a team they are better than, but don’t ever expect them to over achieve or punch above their weight, if they are expected to lose they WILL lose and will only win in a match that doesn’t mean anything.
Any manager could win the Irish league with the resources rovers have…the challenge for this coaching staff is how they shape up in Europe and they are continuously shown up for being naive and unorganized which for a team with the experience Rovers have is unforgivable.
Happy where you are, that’s sad, I feel sorry for ye as you’ll never have it as good as Dundalk ever did. You like many Rovers fans are in denial and sadly 1 year hasn’t changed that.
Troll away buddie , its kinda sad really but amusing.
We meanwhile will get ready for some nice foreign trips, Vienna or London would be my hope maybe Vilareal
You can go back to weeping your salty tears :)
Kiki Balboa
20/08/2022, 12:02 PM
Troll away buddie , its kinda sad really but amusing.
We meanwhile will get ready for some nice foreign trips, Vienna or London would be my hope maybe Vilareal
You can go back to weeping your salty tears :)
Jesus, you got there by beating KF Shkupi and Hibs of Malta... I mean, its great for Rovers and their fans (and the money it has generated), but its thanks to the changes in UEFA rules yous are in the group stages... not because of any exceptional football or good victories in Europe. Any Irish Champion for the last 20 years would have expected qualify for the groups if the rules allowed them 2 pretty big defeats in separate ties in qualifying.
22/08/2022, 9:20 AM
I've binned the last 3 pages of this thread, there's a few posts lost in the flak, sorry about that, it would take too long to excise a few okish posts from the rest.
I'm leaving it at that for now, but if it recurs, you know the story.
EatYerGreens
22/08/2022, 2:19 PM
Is it possible to switch off certain posters ?
MichaelCherrito
22/08/2022, 2:27 PM
Is it possible to switch off certain posters ?
Settings > my account > edit ignore list>
Then write nicknames of those you want to ignore.
pateen
23/08/2022, 1:22 PM
Quick question for for those who know the coefficient process.
If rovers win on Thurs, are there any extra coefficient points picked up?
23/08/2022, 1:31 PM
They'd get the usual 1.000 for winning the match (for the country coefficient), even if they still lose on aggregate.
I don't know is there a bonus for reaching a group stage - I have a feeling there is. Though that may be just for the CL groups.
sbgawa
23/08/2022, 2:09 PM
My understanding is we get 2.5 points for making Group stages.
There is no bonus as such for reaching Group stages but you get 6 chances to play for 2 points for a win and 1 for a draw.
This is why i felt Conference league was better for us (long term( as if we are in pot 3 (likely) we have a reasonable shout of getting a couple of wins and a draw or two.
Its a big ask but 6 points on top of the 2.5 we have already this year plus the 7 from last 4 years would give us a 2023 Coefficient of 15 and would maybe have us seeded in QR2 Champions League next year if we win the league again and won QR1.
I think thats the case anyway
Wishful thinking we could possibly lose every match in eith EL or ECL groups but the odds are in our favour in ECL
https://www.balls.ie/football/irish-players-in-europe-2021-476429Just read this and it seems as if there is a trend happening here due to the Brexit mess. Also listening to Danny Kelly on his Trans Euro Express Show on Talksport always referring this trend!
ger121
23/08/2022, 6:14 PM
My understanding is we get 2.5 points for making Group stages.
There is no bonus as such for reaching Group stages but you get 6 chances to play for 2 points for a win and 1 for a draw.
This is why i felt Conference league was better for us (long term( as if we are in pot 3 (likely) we have a reasonable shout of getting a couple of wins and a draw or two.
Its a big ask but 6 points on top of the 2.5 we have already this year plus the 7 from last 4 years would give us a 2023 Coefficient of 15 and would maybe have us seeded in QR2 Champions League next year if we win the league again and won QR1.
I think thats the case anyway
Wishful thinking we could possibly lose every match in eith EL or ECL groups but the odds are in our favour in ECL
You will get a minimum of 2.5 even if you lose all 6 games. If you got a win and 2 draws like Flora did last year, then you would have a total of 4 points added to your final co-efficient for this year (2+1+1), as they did, last year. These are not added to the 2.5 points earned up to the group stage. Instead, the final total is the number of co-efficient points you earned over the 2.5 you already have received.
Your club ranking is 9.000 now, including the 2.5. 4 points in the above scenario would bring that to up to 10.500 for the 5 years.
Hope that makes sense?
23/08/2022, 6:21 PM
That's just for the club coefficient, yeah?
I think there's a 4-point country coefficient bonus for reaching the CL groups (divided by the number of teams of course), but no equivalent for the EL or ECL.
But yeah, Flora's club coefficient was 4.000 last year, but Alashkert, who only got one point in the groups, got 2.500 as a club coefficient
sbgawa
23/08/2022, 8:37 PM
You will get a minimum of 2.5 even if you lose all 6 games. If you got a win and 2 draws like Flora did last year, then you would have a total of 4 points added to your final co-efficient for this year (2+1+1), as they did, last year. These are not added to the 2.5 points earned up to the group stage. Instead, the final total is the number of co-efficient points you earned over the 2.5 you already have received.
Your club ranking is 9.000 now, including the 2.5. 4 points in the above scenario would bring that to up to 10.500 for the 5 years.
Hope that makes sense?
Not saying your wrong as I'm not sure but if the 2.5 aren't counted compared to the 4 points from a win and 2 draws then what happens if u lose all 6? Seems strange that the 2.5 only count if u don't win any games.
23/08/2022, 8:47 PM
I think the minimum club coefficient ye can get now is 2.5 for the season.
So one win and five defeats is just 2 points - which is bumped up to 2.5. Same for anything less than that.
A win and a draw is 3 points, so that's the club coefficient - and so on for better records than that
24/08/2022, 1:17 AM
Yeah it caused confusion and disappointment in 2016 that a win and draws didnt add to the group stage min coeff of 2.5 ie 2.5 + win + draw so 5.5 or whatever the figures were then.
sbgawa
24/08/2022, 2:59 AM
That's both interesting and dissapointing :)
Cheers for the clarification.
We had better go and win a couple so!
sbgawa
24/08/2022, 6:02 PM
Stadium sold out? Fair play to rovers fans, this would be an easy match to skip
ger121
24/08/2022, 7:59 PM
Party time for the supporters? You secured groups away in Macedonia and then had to travel to Budapest.
EatYerGreens
24/08/2022, 8:23 PM
Plus all the 'neutrals' (like myself) who are going.
Also - You can't say fair play to your own supporters like they're a third party :D
sbgawa
24/08/2022, 8:27 PM
Also - You can't say fair play to your own supporters like they're a third party :D
Fair play to all the neutrals and my fellow hoops for showing up for a dead rubber .....happy now :)
in all seriousness i am surprised at a full house considering it wasnt full for any of the matches so far
24/08/2022, 8:30 PM
Great to see that Tallaght will be hosting the Europa Conference league games . Its only fair as the ground is perfectly capable of hosting it.
ger121
24/08/2022, 8:32 PM
Besides the new stand. What are the upgrades to the main stand that will bring the total ground up to Cat 4?
24/08/2022, 10:21 PM
Dont forget CSAD and all those going who want to remind Rovers of how they bottled Europe again. I couldnt get a ticket now even if I wanted one - awful disappointed, and will be such a tough night for Rovers and their fans (just please keep it less than 10-0 on agg, as the laugh at LoI barstoolers had shut up for a while!).
ontheotherhand
24/08/2022, 10:57 PM
Besides the new stand. What are the upgrades to the main stand that will bring the total ground up to Cat 4?
UEFA require a room without surveillance and a dropbox for brown envelopes.
ontheotherhand
25/08/2022, 2:59 AM
Dont forget CSAD and all those going who want to remind Rovers of how they bottled Europe again. I couldnt get a ticket now even if I wanted one - awful disappointed, and will be such a tough night for Rovers and their fans (just please keep it less than 10-0 on agg, as the laugh at LoI barstoolers had shut up for a while!).
Back to the glorious Milltown days when neutrals would turn up just to cheer on whoever we were playing? We must be doing something right then.
We won't be playing our strongest team but they also won't be pushing too hard. If they do they will probably get 2 or 3. If not we might even squeak a 1-0 moral victory. Hopefully the young lads get some more game time anyway.
25/08/2022, 6:04 AM
If I was in Dublin on the night i'd certainly have considered going and would actually be neutral. Yup tough time for Rovers indeed;) Genuinely though, while it would be fun to slag off a really heavy agg defeat, it does reflect on the overall league so respectable would be grand. As Ive said before, the longer a side can hang on in Europe, adjust to pace and stuff the better performances can get even against tougher opposition than early rounds. The champions pathway really does now help to give enough game time to help any player up their levels and can carry that in to another year - not always totally about improved ranking or better draw, at some level there is an element of player, team and coaching development imo. Not going to happen but trying some variation on the usual formation/player combos (young lads starting) in case its needed in the groups, if it were Dundalk it wouldnt bother me if it was a hiding but useful experience.
placid casual
25/08/2022, 6:19 AM
Hopefully Rovers put in a decent performance but focus appears to be on drogs on Sunday.
Jack Byrne should start, so that combined with hopefully a relaxed attitude from the opposition will hopefully see a tight enough game.
Great experience for the young lads in the squad to be playing at this level of competition.
sbgawa
25/08/2022, 6:53 AM
I expect a strong starting 11 for 45 minutes then at least 3 subs at half time and 2 more at 60 minutes or so. Bradley held towell back from the first leg so he could play high against Dundalk so I would expect him to start this time and miss out against drogs.
I'd take a respectable loss tonight and a win against Drogs but tbh I'm not that bothered. Looking forward to the draw tommorow morning and hoping it's not a damp squid of tough unattractive ties
Peaky Blinder
25/08/2022, 7:38 AM
Couldn't care less what happens tonight, the tie is over & the rest is window dressing. With the group qualification assured its crucial now that thoughts turn to domestic competition with the Drogheda game, lose that and there's no safety net of other games to fall back on in that competition. Drogheda have already beaten us up there & beaten the next best team there twice (IIRC) so they are most definitely to be taken seriously. I suspect sbgawa is spot on re: loads of subs to allow the squad time to recuperate for Sunday. No point going gung ho & winning tonight, losing the tie & then getting knocked out of the cup on Sunday, yes we could win both games but IMO the chances of defeat on Sunday are increased if we overcommit to winning a dead rubber tonight.
25/08/2022, 7:42 AM
Byrne still needs minding yet, it'd make sense tome to bring him on for a last 20-25 mins regardless of whats gone on, and then start him v Drogs for 60-70mins. Small pitch so not much stretching the legs but theres real guile meeded to crack the Drogs defence at home. They are well fit for the battering ram approach or balls in over the top, and there's limited chances to really use the wing backs effectively. So centre-mid creativity beside someone who will do the leg work tracking back. Drogs can smother and kill a game when they are really up for it at home and its not just Dundalk that have struggled there. The cup is all thats left to them so could be prepped for having a damn good go on Sunday. I would normally say that under the circumstances going out of the cup would be no disaster with ECL games - but to make life a bit easier on the stress levels in the run in we want the top three to progress. Just have a feeling this could be a real banana skin for Rovers.
legendz
25/08/2022, 9:37 AM
Couldn't care less what happens tonight, the tie is over & the rest is window dressing.
Kenny's Dundalk were bold and ambitious. Do Rovers have the ambition to qualify from their ECL group? A difficult task for sure but tonight is an opportunity to try and setup for those difficult challenges coming down the track.
25/08/2022, 9:38 AM
Presume it's more VIP areas, hospitality areas, extra media desks and more commentary positions, second TV studio needed for cat 4 as well.
Straightstory
25/08/2022, 9:52 AM
Since Shams game is a dead rubber, the Linfield game might be more interesting. Live on BBC 2 NI.
Peaky Blinder
25/08/2022, 12:38 PM
Kenny's Dundalk were bold and ambitious. Do Rovers have the ambition to qualify from their ECL group? A difficult task for sure but tonight is an opportunity to try and setup for those difficult challenges coming down the track.
The group games are a different kettle of fish, though the group dynamic will be key to realistic ambition. The draw tomorrow will be very interesting as the teams drawn from pots 2 & 4 are key to how realistic qualification is. Either way I'd be hopeful we'll not go into the groups happy to make up the numbers and will try to be at least competitive.
Tonight's game is a dead rubber though, there is simply no way a 4-0 deficit will be overturned, and that's got nothing to do with ambition, that's just professional practicality. Avoid total embarrassment whilst giving yourself the best chance to win in the cup on Sunday in a game that is far more winnable in terms of progression. We have injuries and despite what some like to think here the squad isn't 'that' strong so resources need to be managed. I think the vast majority of Rovers fans respect that.
joey B
25/08/2022, 12:45 PM
Is the league season going to have to finish on the Sunday because of Rovers in Europe?
Kingswood Rover
25/08/2022, 12:47 PM
I think its sold out as anecdotally i have been hearing that there are plenty of Ferncavaros fans working in Ireland you might see a degree of mixing in the East especially.
I remember when Ireland hosted the u17 Euros in 2019 there was a TON of Hungarian fans at each game, possibly the most followed side in the tournament. Hungary might not be necessarily our largest diaspora but it definitely seems to be the one that comes out in force when their nation or club sides play.
EatYerGreens
25/08/2022, 1:55 PM
Is the league season going to have to finish on the Sunday because of Rovers in Europe?
All sounds a bit GAA.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/08/2022, 2:35 PM
Would have thought so
sbgawa
25/08/2022, 2:52 PM
Rovers last Match is at home to UCD.
If the title and relegation play off positions were settled Rovers and UCD might be happy enough to play on the Friday assuming the Thursday match was at home or maybe just the Rovers UCD match could go back to the Sunday.
ger121
25/08/2022, 5:52 PM
Ludogorets gone to ET with Zalgiris. They haven’t been that good since the 1st leg vs Rovers. Maybe they are not as good as that 3-0 result suggested.
25/08/2022, 6:06 PM
Shkupi with a player sent off in the first minute in Kosovo. They're 2-1 down from the home leg and that's probably tie over. A strongly-worded internet post is on its way no doubt
ontheotherhand
25/08/2022, 6:08 PM
If I was in Dublin on the night i'd certainly have considered going and would actually be neutral. Yup tough time for Rovers indeed;) Genuinely though, while it would be fun to slag off a really heavy agg defeat, it does reflect on the overall league so respectable would be grand. As Ive said before, the longer a side can hang on in Europe, adjust to pace and stuff the better performances can get even against tougher opposition than early rounds. The champions pathway really does now help to give enough game time to help any player up their levels and can carry that in to another year - not always totally about improved ranking or better draw, at some level there is an element of player, team and coaching development imo. Not going to happen but trying some variation on the usual formation/player combos (young lads starting) in case its needed in the groups, if it were Dundalk it wouldnt bother me if it was a hiding but useful experience.
Sure you're basically Hooperman at this point Nesta.
Yeah I'd agree with all that. It's basically a training match. Should see something different in midfield and up top but I'd say it will look close to first choice at the back.
ontheotherhand
25/08/2022, 6:13 PM
Ludogorets gone to ET with Zalgiris. They haven’t been that good since the 1st leg vs Rovers. Maybe they are not as good as that 3-0 result suggested.
Or we were just awful in the first half of the first leg.
ger121
25/08/2022, 6:17 PM
Or we were just awful in the first half of the first leg.
Probably a little of both.
Philosophizer
25/08/2022, 6:26 PM
And CSKA who got past Pats by the skin of their teeth are still leading Basel with about 25 mins to go in the tie. Every match is different.