View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2022
CorribsideSteve
04/09/2022, 11:40 AM
Unrelated to the above, but, every time I see an unread post in this thread when I load up foot.ie, I have to remind myself that this thread will be very much active for months to come. Great to see.
ontheotherhand
04/09/2022, 4:11 PM
The most important part of tallaght is the pitch and its beautiful. Ask any players who play on it for proof.
Its also significantly better managed than an other pitch in Ireland, including landsdowne Rd.
The pitch is gorgeous and so is the view of the Dublin mountains above it. The stands themselves are as basic as you'll get but the entire setting is beautiful, particularly as the sun is setting. If only we had a club poet...........
Can't think at of a nicer stadium in Ireland to be honest although it's seriously lacking in character (i.e pubs) outside the ground.. The Brandywell has something about it but most are brought down by the state of the facilities. Dalymount should be good. Carlisle grounds could be top notch. Inchicore is solid and I like that it's below street level. People seem to like the RSC but it's really unbalanced for me.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/09/2022, 8:22 PM
Unrelated to the above, but, every time I see an unread post in this thread when I load up foot.ie, I have to remind myself that this thread will be very much active for months to come. Great to see.
In fairness the attendance thread was active there for a good while without any attendances being posted
06/09/2022, 5:13 AM
although it's seriously lacking in character (i.e pubs) outside the ground.
Yep, that's Tallaght all over. People shoved out with nothing to do. 50 years later nothing's changed.
06/09/2022, 9:30 AM
That's like most places in London, full of people who do nothing.
ger121
06/09/2022, 12:00 PM
Looking at odds online. Bookies have Djurgarden win or a draw as most probable results.
I remember someone posting on here they’ve a big league game afterwards that they may prioritise. I’ve had a look and they play again at 2pm Sunday away to Hammerby in a top of the table clash. (Also a derby)They are two points behind them with 9 games to go.
Very short turnaround after playing away on Thursday night with the game ending around 10pm. I think this could be a good time to play them. Do they go all out Thursday and risk losing Sunday on what could be a bigger game for them in the grand scheme of things. Lose that and they are 5 behind with 8 to go. Interesting fixture.
06/09/2022, 12:58 PM
Its tight at the top of the swedish league with all 3 stockholm teams fighting it out. Edvardssen is suspended for that game on Sunday so he will be playing Thursday. they'll be looking for a win thursday and probably happy to get home and get the draw against Hammarby. Djugardens have also won a league title relatively recently ( 2019 I think) so Europe is just as important for them.
06/09/2022, 1:08 PM
Rovers have been unlucky I think in getting two weaker teams who are on great form, and one stronger team on iffy form.
Djurgarden have won 9 and drawn 2 of their last 11 league games. They've dropped two points at home all season, and their route to the groups was impressive too as I think ger noted earlier (4-1 v Rijeka, 6-2 v Sfantu Gheorghe of Romania, and 5-3 v APOEL Nicosia).
Molde have won 14 and drawn 2 of their last 16 games and in Europe beat Elfsborg 6-2, Kisvarda of Hungary 4-2, and Wolfsberger of Austria 4-1. There's no particularly good teams in there - APOEL the stand-out maybe - but there's plenty of goals going in and the ties against APOEL and Kisvarda were over after 3-0 first leg wins really.
Gent lost their only European qualifier 4-0 to Omonia to drop into the ECL groups and are seventh in the Belgian league, but that's a stronger standard than Norway or Sweden, so it doesn't necessarily mean they're much weaker than the other two.
Thursday will be interesting.
ontheotherhand
06/09/2022, 7:31 PM
Rovers have been unlucky I think in getting two weaker teams who are on great form, and one stronger team on iffy form.
Djurgarden have won 9 and drawn 2 of their last 11 league games. They've dropped two points at home all season, and their route to the groups was impressive too as I think ger noted earlier (4-1 v Rijeka, 6-2 v Sfantu Gheorghe of Romania, and 5-3 v APOEL Nicosia).
Molde have won 14 and drawn 2 of their last 16 games and in Europe beat Elfsborg 6-2, Kisvarda of Hungary 4-2, and Wolfsberger of Austria 4-1. There's no particularly good teams in there - APOEL the stand-out maybe - but there's plenty of goals going in and the ties against APOEL and Kisvarda were over after 3-0 first leg wins really.
Gent lost their only European qualifier 4-0 to Omonia to drop into the ECL groups and are seventh in the Belgian league, but that's a stronger standard than Norway or Sweden, so it doesn't necessarily mean they're much weaker than the other two.
Thursday will be interesting.
Yeah not a huge fan of the group. All 3 will need to beat us home and away to have a chance of qualifying. It would have been nice to get a no-hoper club in there and a big club to waltz the group and make it leas competitive. I fear things will be too close between the other 3 clubs for them to be caught out by us.
But maybe Graham Burke will be fit and we can do a job at home. 4 points would be a huge achievement I think.
sbgawa
07/09/2022, 2:52 PM
Tickets for tommorows match finaly on general Sale for anyone who wants one
EatYerGreens
07/09/2022, 2:54 PM
Tickets for tommorows match finaly on general Sale for anyone who wants one
How close is it to a sell out ? I went to the Ferencvaros game, but can't do the next few unfortunately.
sbgawa
07/09/2022, 2:58 PM
How close is it to a sell out ? I went to the Ferencvaros game, but can't do the next few unfortunately.
I dont know but it sold out for Ferencvaros so id assume it will sell out for this one.
07/09/2022, 7:35 PM
That Georgian fella at Napoli went for about 10mil from dinamo batumi. Hardly a top European club but still getting well compensated
ontheotherhand
07/09/2022, 10:07 PM
That Georgian fella at Napoli went for about 10mil from dinamo batumi. Hardly a top European club but still getting well compensated
Circumstances were more than a bit unusual though Paul.
All the same we will get there. Ferizaj will break a record I think. More will follow in the next 5 years and we will start seeing 1m+ on a reasonably regular basis as academies get better and contracts get more secure.
08/09/2022, 12:25 PM
All the same we will get there. Ferizaj will break a record I think. More will follow in the next 5 years and we will start seeing 1m+ on a reasonably regular basis as academies get better and contracts get more secure.
I'd say that's wildly optimistic and we're probably 5-10 years away from any player going for €1m in Ireland, never mind it becoming reasonably regular. If we can manage to get transfers regularly near €500k and above, then that will be a good start.
EatYerGreens
08/09/2022, 12:33 PM
I'd say that's wildly optimistic and we're probably 5-10 years away from any player going for €1m in Ireland, never mind it becoming reasonably regular. If we can manage to get transfers regularly near €500k and above, then that will be a good start.
With current inflation rates we're probably only 5-10 months away from a player going for €1m in Ireland :D
08/09/2022, 12:56 PM
I'd agree with that. How the recent transfers fare will have a big bearing on that. If most of them end up being average to decent League 1 players, then we won't be seeing a million quid any time soon. But particularly if they can get sold on, then we could start justifying more fees here.
sbgawa
08/09/2022, 1:29 PM
The problem we have is we need a LOI player to go over to England and light the place up, that will up the rates big time.
Gavin Bazunu is the only player recently to go over that you coujld say is an unqualified success , we need more to make them rate our league and pay bigger money
EatYerGreens
08/09/2022, 2:19 PM
The problem we have is we need a LOI player to go over to England and light the place up, that will up the rates big time.
Gavin Bazunu is the only player recently to go over that you coujld say is an unqualified success , we need more to make them rate our league and pay bigger money
I don't think a few marquee players is realistically the way to increase values of all our players. Buying cliubs will always seek to pay as little as they can get away with.
In reality - for as long as there is very little money in the Irish game, external clubs will know that £150,000 is a big deal to us. And they also know that Irish players are desperate to get away and play at bigger clubs with much better pay and facilities. So unless and until there is more money in our league (and ideally better facilities) so our clubs can pay better wages and can afford to turn their noses up at sums below £200,000, then we'll continue to get treated as paupers. Because that's really what we are in the grand footballing scheme of things.
08/09/2022, 2:54 PM
Was reading somewhere that Djugardens( i really want to spell that differently) have scored 9 goals from set pieces in their last few games and conceded 0. Set pieces is always a worry for Irish sides defensively I think and rovers have been good enough at getting something from them. I assume bradley will have studied/worked on this and will wait until the return leg to sort it out...oh wait : P
08/09/2022, 2:56 PM
Ya thats true, one clubs misfortune is anothers opportunity. But what struck me was how Napoli were made aware, I guess the scouts might have been tracking him at previous clubs.
Good article here, there was discussions 10 years ago on here asking why LOI sides didnt have scouts in South AMerica and the likes: https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/2022/09/08/bosse-andersson-interview-shamrock-rovers-vs-djugardens-conference-league/
Reminds me of the Irish mothers taking in young Irish lads in North london a generation or so ago.
08/09/2022, 3:02 PM
I don't think a few marquee players is realistically the way to increase values of all our players. Buying cliubs will always seek to pay as little as they can get away with.
In reality - for as long as there is very little money in the Irish game, external clubs will know that £150,000 is a big deal to us. And they also know that Irish players are desperate to get away and play at bigger clubs with much better pay and facilities. So unless and until there is more money in our league (and ideally better facilities) so our clubs can pay better wages and can afford to turn their noses up at sums below £200,000, then we'll continue to get treated as paupers. Because that's really what we are in the grand footballing scheme of things.
I think this is probably more accurate, it'll be one offs more than anything or clauses in contracts that Rovers are able to negotiate now due to their setup and past success. Big one off fees wont be common, but if clauses built in then a constant cashflow over 3-4 years for a few players will make a big difference. Plus dont have to worry about bad financial management if its not one big fee up front. The other side of that point is Irish agents are happy to work for their british employers or pay-masters and raid the LOI happily. What you need is more UK Based IRish agents who come from a LOI background.
ontheotherhand
08/09/2022, 3:31 PM
Im only really speaking for Rovers I suppose Nigel although pats are banging on the door as well. We've already had multiple sales at or over the 500k mark in Bazunu and Scales. Only a matter of time before it goes to 750k and then 1m particularly as we can show more development time invested. That's the key. First step is obviously keeping this lads until they are 18 or so but being able to show clubs how much coaching has gone in to them is what gets you the bigger fees. Tight contracts of course are essential but you get those when you have the facilities available to make players want to commit. I could see our current u15s resulting in more than one record breaker. We can revisit this one in 5 years or so.
ontheotherhand
08/09/2022, 3:34 PM
Ya thats true, one clubs misfortune is anothers opportunity. But what struck me was how Napoli were made aware, I guess the scouts might have been tracking him at previous clubs.
Good article here, there was discussions 10 years ago on here asking why LOI sides didnt have scouts in South AMerica and the likes: https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/2022/09/08/bosse-andersson-interview-shamrock-rovers-vs-djugardens-conference-league/
Reminds me of the Irish mothers taking in young Irish lads in North london a generation or so ago.
Sounds like he was well known, if not to me! Fair play to batumi for getting in there. That's a lot of money.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/ng-interactive/2018/oct/11/next-generation-2018-60-of-the-best-young-talents-in-world-football
08/09/2022, 4:04 PM
Two georgians on that list! Makes sense why we struggled. There was a georgian lad at Athlone, told me once it was his dream* to play for Shamrock Rovers.
*I might have misunderstood that at the time of hearing. He is back in Georgia now playing football anyway.
Im only really speaking for Rovers I suppose Nigel although pats are banging on the door as well. We've already had multiple sales at or over the 500k mark in Bazunu and Scales. Only a matter of time before it goes to 750k and then 1m particularly as we can show more development time invested. That's the key. First step is obviously keeping this lads until they are 18 or so but being able to show clubs how much coaching has gone in to them is what gets you the bigger fees. Tight contracts of course are essential but you get those when you have the facilities available to make players want to commit. I could see our current u15s resulting in more than one record breaker. We can revisit this one in 5 years or so.
It will be down to market forces, like everything else ultimately. If there are various clubs interested in a player, then we could see a bidding war type situation. For Pats, I would expect to see Sam Curtis going for decent money. It’s not often you see a player his age break into the first team on a regular basis. I like the look of what I’ve seen of Adam Murphy too, though admittedly that’s not much, with his season being blighted by injury. If clubs here can manage to offer better and longer contracts then they will obviously have a stronger hand in transfer negotiations too.
Sounds like he was well known, if not to me! Fair play to batumi for getting in there. That's a lot of money.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/ng-interactive/2018/oct/11/next-generation-2018-60-of-the-best-young-talents-in-world-football
It’s worth noting that Kvaratskhelia left Georgia when he was 18, he only came back recently because of the Russia Ukraine war like many players from other countries did. Under normal circumstances you wouldn’t see a deal like this happen in Georgia.
08/09/2022, 5:54 PM
It'd be a heck of a lot for a Russian club too I'd have thought?
EatYerGreens
08/09/2022, 6:00 PM
What channel is tonight's game on ?
joey B
08/09/2022, 6:14 PM
Virgin media 3
08/09/2022, 6:14 PM
What channel is tonight's game on ?
Virgin 3.
ger121
08/09/2022, 6:16 PM
Ballkani might be on for a win against Cluj
It'd be a heck of a lot for a Russian club too I'd have thought?
Oh yeah it would be, if anything a Russian Club would have got far more money for him. Just saying that if it wasn’t for the Russian invasion his pathway would be no different to a current Irish player going to England, he’s just a fantastic player at the end of the day.
joey B
08/09/2022, 6:22 PM
Ludogorets beating Roma…
08/09/2022, 6:23 PM
And RFS have just equalised away to Fiorentina. Football is weird.
Just saying that if it wasn’t for the Russian invasion his pathway would be no different to a current Irish player going to England, he’s just a fantastic player at the end of the day.
Yeah, true. I don't think a Russian club would have got more though? That'd be a serious fee for them even.
Still a bit surprising Batumi got so much. He was hardly on a long-term contract I'd have thought?
ger121
08/09/2022, 6:25 PM
And RFS have just equalised away to Fiorentina. Football is weird
No pressure now Rovers. Lech drawing away too. Or at least they were last time I checked.
Scrufil
08/09/2022, 6:27 PM
I hope to hear a full gusto version of Ding Dong! The Witch is Dead from Rovers fans tonight.
ontheotherhand
08/09/2022, 6:31 PM
No pressure now Rovers. Lech drawing away too. Or at least they were last time I checked.
Playing our B team tonight just to upset foot.ie
ontheotherhand
08/09/2022, 6:35 PM
Oh yeah it would be, if anything a Russian Club would have got far more money for him. Just saying that if it wasn’t for the Russian invasion his pathway would be no different to a current Irish player going to England, he’s just a fantastic player at the end of the day.
Yeah that was my point. He would not have been at batumi if not for the war. He was well known and always going to be snapped up. Batumi did really well to capture him and the fee.
ger121
08/09/2022, 6:43 PM
Playing our B team tonight just to upset foot.ie
The bench nearly looks stronger than the starting XI
And RFS have just equalised away to Fiorentina. Football is weird.
Yeah, true. I don't think a Russian club would have got more though? That'd be a serious fee for them even.
Still a bit surprising Batumi got so much. He was hardly on a long-term contract I'd have thought?
I think they would have, certainly from a negotiation perspective. I don’t think it would be tenfold or anything but I could have seen them get potentially double the fee Batumi got as being a top player at Batumi isn’t really sustainable compared to the Russian league.
08/09/2022, 6:50 PM
In fairnes to Virgin media 3 the bigger build up is on the rivers game. To the dislike or my United supporting friends
08/09/2022, 6:52 PM
It will be down to market forces, like everything else ultimately. If there are various clubs interested in a player, then we could see a bidding war type situation. For Pats, I would expect to see Sam Curtis going for decent money. It’s not often you see a player his age break into the first team on a regular basis. I like the look of what I’ve seen of Adam Murphy too, though admittedly that’s not much, with his season being blighted by injury. If clubs here can manage to offer better and longer contracts then they will obviously have a stronger hand in transfer negotiations too.
I'll come back to this tomorrow with the talk from the Ireland forum about Jason knight.
08/09/2022, 6:53 PM
Evrrytime I see that written i think of the Inbetweeners
ger121
08/09/2022, 6:54 PM
Evrrytime I see that written i think of the Inbetweeners
You and me both, lol
D24Saint
08/09/2022, 7:05 PM
30 is a fair price I think for Europa group stages.
There will always be a few who complain. And isn't there category 2 tickets for 25? Behind the goal presumably?
Can’t see any issue with €30 tickets for group stages.
Philosophizer
08/09/2022, 7:16 PM
Can’t see any issue with €30 tickets for group stages.
Gent had tickets for 20 and 25 to be fair. Fair play to them.
08/09/2022, 7:24 PM
Rovers really struggling at the back in the opening quarter.
Look vaguely ok going forward; has the feel of a game where the first goal will be important
Rovers really struggling at the back in the opening quarter.
Look vaguely ok going forward; has the feel of a game where the first goal will be important
A hairy enough first 10 minutes, but they’ve settled a bit since then. Not doing too bad. They’d be much better with Byrne and Gaffney on the pitch you’d imagine.
08/09/2022, 7:40 PM
Couple of huge chances for Djurgarden the last couple of minutes too in fairness. Cleary's slip and the corner deflected over