View Full Version : 2018 Transfers

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

sbgawa
02/12/2017, 12:57 PM

Nice scarf :)
Wrong thread sry

02/12/2017, 1:02 PM
Tell me that's not really for sale?

sbgawa
02/12/2017, 1:16 PM
Flying out the door in the shop :)
My kid arrived home with it ..I blame his mother :)

GCdfc
04/12/2017, 2:31 PM
Robbie Benson stays with Dundalk. Excellent news!

04/12/2017, 9:04 PM
Ollie Horgan has signed a new two year contract at Harps this evening. Has the option of a third year.

Expected to be a few more announcements on signings by the weekend.

Rumours up here that Paddy McCourt is staying on in a player/coach role.

sbgawa
04/12/2017, 10:08 PM
Delighted for harps and if paddy stays as well happy days all round

PartySaint
05/12/2017, 4:05 PM
Lee Desmond and Michael Barker re-sign for Pats and Thomas Byrne signs from Drogs

Any use Dogs fans??

Ezeikial
05/12/2017, 9:45 PM
I'd be interested to hear Drogheda fans views. I saw him 5 times last season and 3 things struck me
1. Very talented
2. Lacked interest and intensity when things went against him
3. Discipline problem

I suspect that the character issues in 2 & 3 need delicate management to allow his talent to be of any use

06/12/2017, 8:42 AM
Two big signings for Harps. Club captain Ciaran Coll and under-19 captain Shane Blaney sign for 2018.

Blaney in particular is a massive signing as a few English championship clubs are keen on him.

http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=5501

Xmas3Formation
06/12/2017, 12:14 PM
Any signings for Galway? they`ve had a few leave so far. Anyone know how they are shaping up?
you`d expect them to compete for Division 1 i`d presume

06/12/2017, 12:55 PM
Galway should be a serious force in the first division. The level of sponsorship they receive from the Comers gives a big head start on other clubs.

Olander
06/12/2017, 1:02 PM
Galway should be a serious force in the first division. The level of sponsorship they receive from the Comers gives a big head start on other clubs.
I would like to think that we will be in the mix for the title but I doubt there will be any Waterford or Limerick type teams in the First next year that will dominate.

Xmas3Formation
06/12/2017, 1:08 PM
thanks lads that`s what i was thinking myself. ye look set to have another signing or two soon also. will be competitive henderson has cobh in good nick as always, cabo look to be trying to push on and their`s a few more with solid chances from last year and with 3 relegated sides competition will be fierce i`d expect.

cobhlad
06/12/2017, 1:10 PM
For the first time in years the First Division is looking really interesting this season. Early days but you would imagine Galway and Longford are favourites with Cobh, Shels, Harps and Drogs all looking for at least a play-off. Cabo keep improving so could shock this year while UCD will push as always. Wexford will be competitive, while I don't think anyone can evaluate Athlone yet. All in all, it's a hard league to call with plenty of competitive games.

06/12/2017, 3:34 PM
For the first time in years the First Division is looking really interesting this season. Early days but you would imagine Galway and Longford are favourites with Cobh, Shels, Harps and Drogs all looking for at least a play-off. Cabo keep improving so could shock this year while UCD will push as always. Wexford will be competitive, while I don't think anyone can evaluate Athlone yet. All in all, it's a hard league to call with plenty of competitive games.

You’d imagine Wexford will improve but shouldn’t be any higher than 9th in all truth. Was speaking to an Athlone player a few weeks ago that wants to stay on for next season but said there’s been absolutely nothing out of the club since end of season.

Saint Ringo
07/12/2017, 10:39 AM
Simon Madden has just been confirmed by Pats! Brilliant signing.

Philosophizer
07/12/2017, 10:43 AM
Bohs have resigned Ian Morris and Philip Gannon for 2018, and have also signed Kevin Devaney from Galway.

That's 21 players Bohs have signed up for next season.

07/12/2017, 11:16 AM
Simon Madden signing for Pats there. I'm a fan, thought he was great at Derry now.

eitoof
07/12/2017, 2:37 PM
I don't think anyone can evaluate Athlone yet.

That's an understatement.

placid casual
07/12/2017, 5:28 PM
Madden gone to pats. Cest la vie. At least he's not gone to a direct rival for European places.

PartySaint
07/12/2017, 5:53 PM
One of the best full backs in the league and we didn’t even have to pay 10 grand for him. Happy Days.

oriel
07/12/2017, 6:59 PM
One of the best full backs in the league and we didn’t even have to pay 10 grand for him. Happy Days.

Excellent signing for Pats.

ToberonaTornado
07/12/2017, 7:26 PM
He any good that this Madden chap? Shams fans? :p;)

RathfarnhamHoop
07/12/2017, 7:36 PM

Would say you should remember him from his Dundalk days but he was pre 2013 so you probably weren't watching Dundalk then 😁

07/12/2017, 7:42 PM
Simon Madden has just been confirmed by Pats! Brilliant signing.

Killian Brennan and Owen Garvan confirmed as well (though I thought Garvan was under contract anyway. Squad is shaping up nicely.

07/12/2017, 7:55 PM
He's rubbish, didn't want him to stay. I've said all along Ethan Boyle is the best defender in the league :)

Yossarian
07/12/2017, 8:19 PM
Would say you should remember him from his Dundalk days but he was pre 2013 so you probably weren't watching Dundalk then 😁

I’d say he’s no good as Sean McCaffrey didn’t want to keep him. 🤔

bluemovie
08/12/2017, 8:40 AM
Goalkeeper Niall Corbet to Waterford from UCD

sbgawa
08/12/2017, 1:49 PM

Happy for Madden he's not having to drag himself off somewhere to get a gig, he will be a good signing for Pats.
Considering our record against Pats he'll probably do well next year :)

Ezeikial
08/12/2017, 2:17 PM
Madden gone to pats. Cest la vie. At least he's not gone to a direct rival for European places.

Who do you think will challenge Rovers for 3rd / 4th place?

MattB11
08/12/2017, 2:25 PM
Gareth Harkin and Paddy McCourt resign for Harps

sbgawa
08/12/2017, 2:58 PM

LOL would'nt be a Friday if EZ was'nt on about the club closest to his heart.
Any opinions on Dundalk?

sbgawa
08/12/2017, 3:01 PM
I'll stick my neck out early and say that with minimal changes this season compared to last we should start the season better.
We should be challenging next year, with the 4th biggest budget :)

08/12/2017, 3:59 PM
Cork City could easily challenge for the top four this season.

patrickccfc
08/12/2017, 4:35 PM
Stephen Dooley off to Coleraine

08/12/2017, 4:41 PM

I know he's from Limavady, but that's a strange one.

placid casual
08/12/2017, 7:13 PM

Derry & Boez.
Depends on what/any January signings from "across da watteh" Rovers get. If we get someone proper in( striker, centre half)we could challenge corkies for 2nd

total hoofball
08/12/2017, 9:50 PM
Jason Byrne has departed Cabinteely to sign for Bluebell United. Likely that's it for his prolific LOI career

08/12/2017, 10:15 PM
Jason Byrne has departed Cabinteely to sign for Bluebell United. Likely that's it for his prolific LOI career

Brendan Bradley does a little jig in his kitchen.

Yossarian
09/12/2017, 7:51 AM
Brendan Bradley does a little jig in his kitchen.

They should let him count any goals he gets toward his LoI total just to annoy Pat Morley.

oriel
09/12/2017, 10:27 AM
I know he's from Limavady, but that's a strange one.

Good luck to Dooley playing in some of those pitches up there, even the artificial ones look much worse than the ones we had previously. He obviously wants to move home as I can't see Coleraine paying more than the top 2 or 3 in LOI.

Cork looking fairly light on attacking options now, but still a bit of time to get a replacement in, plus they'll have the additional euro money incoming next year.

Philosophizer
09/12/2017, 11:14 AM
Ah lads that's a bloody joke.
How the hell are we still losing players to the Irish league. Aren't all their teams totally part time up there??
Whatever about Waterford losing McDaid, but the LOI champions who are totally full time losing one of their best players is a serious reality check. I thought we were going places with Dundalk, Cork and Rovers all offering 52 week contracts.
Obviously not.

patrickccfc
09/12/2017, 11:53 AM
Ah lads that's a bloody joke.
How the hell are we still losing players to the Irish league. Aren't all their teams totally part time up there??
Whatever about Waterford losing McDaid, but the LOI champions who are totally full time losing one of their best players is a serious reality check. I thought we were going places with Dundalk, Cork and Rovers all offering 52 week contracts.
Obviously not.

It's been known for some time that a few of our lads wanted to move closer to home, not about money or full time contracts. Disappointed to lose a player of such quality, but better that it's to a different league as apposed to a direct rival.

09/12/2017, 11:58 AM
Overly dramatic much? The lad wants to move home more than he wants full time football. It's hardly an indictment of the league.

Philosophizer
09/12/2017, 1:50 PM
Overly dramatic much? The lad wants to move home more than he wants full time football. It's hardly an indictment of the league.
It is an indictment of the league. That's exactly what it is.

09/12/2017, 2:49 PM
It is an indictment of the league. That's exactly what it is.
Because a club won't offer a player more than he's worth to persuade him not to move home?

Philosophizer
09/12/2017, 3:37 PM
Because a club won't offer a player more than he's worth to persuade him not to move home?
No. That's not what I'm saying at all. I wouldn't be in favour of them offering him more than he's worth.
My point is that it's a sad indictment of our league that one of our best players decided to pass up a professional 52 week contract with the double winners, (who are our most attractive club at the moment - what with the best ground and best support, European football, new training facilities and centre of excellence on the way etc etc) to go and play part time in a lower level league.
I would have expected that playing for Cork next season with all they have to offer would have been a much more attractive prospect than playing in the IL, even for a northern lad who'd like to be closer to his family.

09/12/2017, 6:49 PM
But the wages any club can pay aren't so great that every player will want to live far away from home. And if clubs did have that sort of money they'd be offering it to better players than him.

disgruntled
10/12/2017, 10:43 AM

Strange that he's only signed a short term contract up there.

oriel
10/12/2017, 6:25 PM
No. That's not what I'm saying at all. I wouldn't be in favour of them offering him more than he's worth.
My point is that it's a sad indictment of our league that one of our best players decided to pass up a professional 52 week contract with the double winners, (who are our most attractive club at the moment - what with the best ground and best support, European football, new training facilities and centre of excellence on the way etc etc) to go and play part time in a lower level league.
I would have expected that playing for Cork next season with all they have to offer would have been a much more attractive prospect than playing in the IL, even for a northern lad who'd like to be closer to his family.

I think decent points made. The IL is essentially part time with clubs training 2 or 3 nights a week, you can see it in the shape of players if you watch the goals round up on bbc1 ni at 5pm on Saturdays. He'll have to adjust to all that in Jan, and the 3pm sat kicks offs, still can't get my head around that why they never changed to evening, but it's their choice.

Dundalk are changing to morning training next season, it's also reported that the squad will all eat together them do gym sessions in the newly installed gym in the YDC I think, Cork maybe doing similar with morning training, not sure about Rovers.

However with all 3 offering 52 week contracts it will be an obvious attraction going forward for recruitment but there will be a few difficulties for clubs going for morning sessions initially, any player who had a career juggling with his football will see their options closed down. McMillan was one of the few Dundalk players to have continued working even in reduced weekly hours, but his employer agreed to flexibility, may have been a deciding factor in him looking at getting a move abroad as that option would have been gone for next season.