View Full Version : 2018 Transfers
Bunny Kelly
06/02/2018, 2:11 PM
Def one I find strange being linked with moves to England given on what has done at Premier level here
06/02/2018, 2:15 PM
Are Dundalk fans bitter about his move to Shamrock Rovers or something?
Ezeikial
06/02/2018, 3:21 PM
Probably more ****ed at his behaviour and attitude around town towards the end of his time at Oriel and especially since his move.
Arrogance does not tend to go down well
sbgawa
06/02/2018, 3:34 PM
I'm not a huge fan but he's a young kid, we were all young once lads.
colonelwest
06/02/2018, 3:38 PM
Meh, he's the latest in the line of young lads to come through Dundalk, play 10 mins of football for the senior side and think they're George Best on and off the pitch.
Olander
06/02/2018, 4:50 PM
O'Connor is known for having a poor attitude / being a petulant player.
It won't matter too much to Harps, he will score goals in the First Division, good signing for them.
Redacted FC
Out: Lee Lynch
Really ? Where is he off to ?
06/02/2018, 8:28 PM
Really ? Where is he off to ?
Don't know, and you lot better keep your f**king grimy paws off of him.
donnrua
06/02/2018, 8:41 PM
Don't know what all the drama about Lynch leaving is about. No big loss IMO. He seldom influences a game and for a midfielder he can't tackle for sh*t...
Treaty Gooner
06/02/2018, 10:03 PM
Lee J to Waterford I reckon. Then again who cares.
07/02/2018, 9:19 AM
O'Connor is known for having a poor attitude / being a petulant player.
It won't matter too much to Harps, he will score goals in the First Division, good signing for them.
I'd love to see the look on Ollie Horgan's face when O'Connor tells him how he sould be doing his job and the reaction to being told to f@ck off when Horgan doesnt apply the pearls of wisdom!
07/02/2018, 9:34 AM
I know next to nothing about this O'Connor youngfella.
But going by what you're all saying he has been given a massive opportunity to sort himself out this year.
If he doesn't flourish playing alongside God then there is no hope for him.
07/02/2018, 9:37 AM
Also Killian Cantwell signing for us today.
Any good?
07/02/2018, 10:15 AM
Don't know what all the drama about Lynch leaving is about. No big loss IMO. He seldom influences a game and for a midfielder he can't tackle for sh*t...
Compared to what our midfield currently consists of, he is a big loss.
donnrua
07/02/2018, 10:34 AM
Personally I'm not too bothered with him leaving because I think Shane Duggan's game has suffered playing alongside Lynch.
But each to their own...
07/02/2018, 11:50 AM
Any good?
Might see you in the playoffs again sure.
sulywaterfordfc
07/02/2018, 12:54 PM
Lee J to Waterford I reckon. Then again who cares.
We’ve about 27 midfielders, so he’s definitely signing, we need another 3 to complete the squad🤣🤣
Xmas3Formation
07/02/2018, 1:15 PM
Lee J Lynch was one of the best players for the shannonsiders last season. under current circumstances he won`t be easily replaced.
Also Stephen Kenny to Galway United (ex Shannonsiders)
donnrua
07/02/2018, 1:21 PM
Lee J Lynch was one of the best players for the shannonsiders last season. under current circumstances he won`t be easily replaced.
Also Stephen Kenny to Galway United (ex Shannonsiders)
Really? Let's just say he wasn't one of the worst and leave it at that!
Xmas3Formation
07/02/2018, 1:38 PM
Really? Let's just say he wasn't one of the worst and leave it at that!
He divided opinion which means he had about 50% more admirers than the majority of the squad anyway. not saying he had a fantastic season just he was one of the better ones. i don`t see him replaced easily considering lack of funds and poor perception of where the club is at right now not being a great enticer of quality players
bluemovie
07/02/2018, 4:58 PM
Any good?
Waterford had him on trial in early January. Did ok in a friendly but wasn't kept on.
Don't know, and you lot better keep your f**king grimy paws off of him.
:p. You're alright, I think we're sorted in midfield.
topfan
07/02/2018, 8:58 PM
Lee J is the type of player that gets away with not being that good due to amount of running he does during games. Goal scoring and assists is how he should be judged not running about.
PartySaint
08/02/2018, 11:10 AM
Don't think it has been mentioned here but ex Galway United striker Jake Keegan signed for Pats the other day from FC Edmonton (pending a work permit)
10/02/2018, 9:59 PM
Ollie Horgan confirmed today his business is done in the transfer market. A lot of changes to the Harps squad for the coming season. Not sure if there's any comprehensive list of transfers for all clubs this year, but this is Harps business:
Harps In:
Aidan Friel (Longford Town)
Keith Cowan (Free agent)
Sam Todd (Derry City - Loan)
Eric Whelan (Dundalk)
Lee Toland (Letterkenny Rovers)
Mark Hannon (Sligo Rovers)
Mark Coyle (Cockhill Celtic)
Jesse Devers (Manulla FC)
Darren McFadden (Trojans)
Ciaran O'Connor (Dundalk)
Michael O'Connor (Shamrock Rovers - Loan)
John O'Flynn (Limerick)
Harps Out:
Ethan Boyle (Shamrock Rovers)
Packie Mailey (Ballinamallard)
Damien McNulty (Carrick Rangers)
Kilian Cantwell (Limerick)
Shane Blaney (Doncaster Rovers)
Caolan McAleer (Sligo Rovers)
Danny Morrissey (Limerick)
Jonny Bonner (Crusaders)
Pascal Millien (Released)
Ibrahim Keita (Released)
Sean Houston (Released)
Eddie Dsane (Released)
CraftyToePoke
10/02/2018, 10:20 PM
How do you rate Killian Cantwell, Nigel ?
10/02/2018, 10:28 PM
How do you rate Killian Cantwell, Nigel ?
He's a nice fella..
He's definitely not that bad to be fair. He's young yet, and will only improve, but I wasn't overly impressed with him last year to be honest. Would be surprised if he's signed as anything other than backup. I felt that a year or two in the First Division wouldn't do him any harm.
10/02/2018, 10:53 PM
It’s bad when you’d take Eddie Dsane back due to the total lack of forward options we have
10/02/2018, 10:59 PM
Eddie Dsane went through a decent spell of form mid-season for us. He'd definitely score goals in the First Division.
11/02/2018, 9:21 AM
It’s bad when you’d take Eddie Dsane back due to the total lack of forward options we have
Fenn seems not to want an out and out striker for some reason judging by his interviews. The plan seems to be using attacking midfielders in the forward positions. I’ve been impressed with everything he’s done to date but I’m not convinced on this one.
11/02/2018, 9:37 PM
Fenn seems not to want an out and out striker for some reason judging by his interviews. The plan seems to be using attacking midfielders in the forward positions. I’ve been impressed with everything he’s done to date but I’m not convinced on this one.
Chris Mulhall doesn’t look fit at all in pre season. Hasn’t a drop of pace to him. Don’t know how he played on the wing for Drogheda last season.
oldyouth
12/02/2018, 8:09 AM
Danny Furlong returns to Ireland from New Zealand to sign for Galway
bluemovie
12/02/2018, 9:29 AM
Wow. Galway my new favourites for promotion. I wish Waterford had nabbed him.
sbgawa
12/02/2018, 9:30 AM
Cabo are going to be dark horses here.
12/02/2018, 9:36 AM
Chris Mulhall doesn’t look fit at all in pre season. Hasn’t a drop of pace to him. Don’t know how he played on the wing for Drogheda last season.
He never really has had pace though I think. Mostly played up front for us (but didn't play much at all, so he left in search of playing time), and when he played against us for Drogheda towards the end of last season, he was the lone front player for them.
da bishop
12/02/2018, 5:11 PM
Lynch was one of those players who you could never fault in terms of effort,he looked like he did loads on the pitch during game time,which endeared him greatly with the 30 or so strong motley singing....fans army.....assembled in the stand,but fact is he contributed little as evidenced by the string of clubs looking to prise him away and offer him the riches he deserved..Expect the usual clamour for his return when we struggle and how he is missed......hmm nah.Barretts squad quite strong now,certainly stronger than Mcdonalds was last season,managing it the key now.
Wow. Galway my new favourites for promotion. I wish Waterford had nabbed him.
Galway have huge sponsorship by D1 standards and will be nearer full time than any other club in that division. They should be winning it.
Xmas3Formation
14/02/2018, 3:22 PM
Lynch was one of those players who you could never fault in terms of effort,he looked like he did loads on the pitch during game time,which endeared him greatly with the 30 or so strong motley singing....fans army.....assembled in the stand,but fact is he contributed little as evidenced by the string of clubs looking to prise him away and offer him the riches he deserved..Expect the usual clamour for his return when we struggle and how he is missed......hmm nah.Barretts squad quite strong now,certainly stronger than Mcdonalds was last season,managing it the key now.
how anyone can think this seasons Limerick squad is stronger than last seasons is beyond me.
Billy Dennehy will no doubt show flashes of skill while being largely ineffective and lazy while moaning at everybody and causing hassle. Marky Sull was fantastic but is approaching the end of his career being honest. none of the cork young lads ye have gotten in are ready if they ever will be (trust me on that there is no Ogbene there among them). Enjoy the relegation battle.
gufc2000
14/02/2018, 4:38 PM
We've officially signed Stephen Kenny from Limerick http://galwayunitedfc.ie/stephen-kenny-joins-united/. Danny Furlong not announced by the club yet, although Shane Keegan said in an article with extratime that it's a done deal
14/02/2018, 4:49 PM
how anyone can think this seasons Limerick squad is stronger than last seasons is beyond me.
Billy Dennehy will no doubt show flashes of skill while being largely ineffective and lazy while moaning at everybody and causing hassle. Marky Sull was fantastic but is approaching the end of his career being honest. none of the cork young lads ye have gotten in are ready if they ever will be (trust me on that there is no Ogbene there among them). Enjoy the relegation battle.
I wasn't that impressed with Limerick when they played us. The two Dennehys look very heavy and ineffectual imo..
total hoofball
14/02/2018, 6:56 PM
Galway have huge sponsorship by D1 standards and will be nearer full time than any other club in that division. They should be winning it.
Galway are definitely no stronger than Waterford were last season and this season is a stronger First Division with two extra sold looking teams coming down from the Premier Division for competition, Shels strengthened, Longford re-booted, UCD's and Cobh's talented young squads a year older too. Unlike Waterford they have serious competition if they are tagged as favorites.
Olander
14/02/2018, 7:45 PM
You're right, we are very lucky to have an excellent main sponsor behind us and as a club if we didn't have their backing, we would really struggle.
Our budget this season however would be relative to Harps and a few other clubs, like Longford for example. We're by no means a Limerick of 2016 or Waterford last season (A club with clearly much more financial clout than the other clubs in the division). The cost of relegation was Shane Keegan's budget being almost cut in half, which has to be done, cut your cloth etc.
I personally don't see why we are heavy favourites for the division. I don't think we "should" be doing anything, we're entitled to nothing and if we don't start well, we're going to have a difficult season on and off the pitch.
Do I think we stand a good chance of contesting the title, yes. However I don't see us dominating the division or anything, we lost practically every good player we had last season and had to do a major rebuild in the off season.
14/02/2018, 7:51 PM
I see Mervue are refusing to let GUFC use their facilities for training as their noses are out of joint at losing underage players to them. They’re considering moving training to Limerick or Athlone according to Keegan.
Olander
14/02/2018, 9:04 PM
I see Mervue are refusing to let GUFC use their facilities for training as their noses are out of joint at losing underage players to them. They’re considering moving training to Limerick or Athlone according to Keegan.
Indeed, very disruptive and it can't have helped pre season preparations. Hopefully something can be sorted and quickly, I can't see it coming to us leaving the county to train. That would be a farce.
bluewhitearmy
15/02/2018, 12:23 AM
Squad looking quite strong. Haaaa. 3 midfielders we have isn't it.
Brusher
15/02/2018, 12:55 PM
Just on the topic of training venue...I presume all teams train in their own county ? Was there not some team over the years who trained in Leixlip ?
Troubadour
15/02/2018, 1:41 PM
Just on the topic of training venue...I presume all teams train in their own county ? Was there not some team over the years who trained in Leixlip ?
Longford trained in Leixlip for a while AFAIK.
Ezeikial
15/02/2018, 2:07 PM
Drogheda trained in Mosney
Ezeikial
15/02/2018, 2:37 PM
Daniel Cleary confirmed signing at Dundalk. Reported by local journo as a 2 year deal
15/02/2018, 3:07 PM
Longford have trained in Leixlip for years - assume they still do. Bray were training in north Dublin and I think have moved now to south Dublin.