View Full Version : 2018 Transfers
ger121
06/09/2018, 4:36 PM
Bazunu signed for Man City for £420,000 according to the Telegraph. Least that’s what I saw on fb. Good bit of business if accurate.
RathfarnhamHoop
06/09/2018, 6:06 PM
Bazunu signs for Man City for £420,000.
https://www.mcfcwatch.com/2018/09/06/manchester-city-finalise-420000-deal-for-shamrock-rovers-prodigy-gavin-bazunu/
What's funny is that at the bottom of that page, there are picture links to two other articles, both of which are basically the same article about Bazunu, with 2 different prices...you can see the price going up.
They keep referring to him as a non professional but the whole reason he can't sign until he's 17 is because he is a professional
06/09/2018, 6:15 PM
You’re not allowed sign pro in England until you’re 17. Not sure about here.
RathfarnhamHoop
06/09/2018, 6:45 PM
If he wasn't pro they could sign him to scholar forms but since he's pro here they can't so have to wait until he's at least 17
RathfarnhamHoop
06/09/2018, 6:50 PM
Just checked its 16 here with a max contract length of 3 years
06/09/2018, 9:24 PM
If he wasn't pro they could sign him to scholar forms but since he's pro here they can't so have to wait until he's at least 17
Point taken, I see what you meant now.
07/09/2018, 3:01 PM
saw in one of papers today that shamrock rovers are saying the move to man city for Bazanu isnt concluded which strikes me as extremely strange to say the least!
07/09/2018, 4:19 PM
saw in one of papers today that shamrock rovers are saying the move to man city for Bazanu isnt concluded which strikes me as extremely strange to say the least!
Possibly because he's under age to sign a professional contract nothing he signs at this stage can be legally binding. There was something along those lines mentioned when the rumors he had agreed to sign for City first surfaced.
RathfarnhamHoop
03/10/2018, 7:34 PM
Fee for Bazanu seems to be over 500k going by this quote
"Specifics on the transfer details are not being disclosed, however it is fair to say that this is the biggest transfer by an Irish club in the professional era."
https://shamrockrovers.ie/2018/10/03/bazunu_transfer/
Ezeikial
03/10/2018, 8:25 PM
Irish Times suggesting it may be 400k
Talented teenage goalkeeper Gavin Bazunu (https://www.irishtimes.com/topics/topics-7.1213540?article=true&tag_person=Gavin+Bazunu) will stay with Shamrock Rovers while he completes his Leaving Certificate next year before joining Manchester City.
Although the Tallaght club have not revealed what fee they have received for the 16-year-old, it is believed the initial fee is €400,000.
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/national-league/gavin-bazunu-will-finish-his-studies-before-joining-manchester-city-1.3650707?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter
RathfarnhamHoop
03/10/2018, 8:29 PM
Irish Times suggesting it may be 400k
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/national-league/gavin-bazunu-will-finish-his-studies-before-joining-manchester-city-1.3650707?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter
Considering the current record is 500k and the club are saying its the biggest deal in Ireland during the professional era I'll take the clubs word rather than the papers who've been making stuff up as they go on throughout the transfer.
03/10/2018, 8:44 PM
Rovers may be including add ons in their reporting of it.
RathfarnhamHoop
03/10/2018, 8:49 PM
Rovers may be including add ons in their reporting of it.
They're saying it is the biggest, not it may become the biggest.
CityBoy
03/10/2018, 9:29 PM
They're saying it is the biggest, not it may become the biggest.
How do Rovers know the ins and outs of other deals? The Roy O Donovan move to Sunderland was around €500k for Cork City.
That statement from Rovers reminds me of the scene in American Psycho when Patrick Bateman is looking at himself in the mirror while he's rattling yer one. 'We're great, best transfer ever and no other club in Ireland even comes close to us'.
sbgawa
03/10/2018, 10:21 PM
Jaysus lads this is good for all clubs . UK club paying proper fee and kid getting a proper contract....hopefully the srart of a new reality
CorribsideSteve
04/10/2018, 7:03 AM
It's all in the wording. When did 'The Professional Era'start for Shams? At the time Roy O'Donovan got sold, were they not relegated / in Div 1, with a shell of a new Stadium, court battles with Thomas Davis? and if so, might not have been in a quote 'professional capacity'. All good news from their point of view, whether it's 400 grand or more. Instead of some young lad of theirs going to Shrewsbury Town for 20 quid and no education, and never being heard of again, this transfer shows a clear pathway for young lads to have a proper education, attain a higher skill level at the same time, and the club makes circa half a million from it as a reward, as he goes to a club that took his skill level seriously enough to pay that sort of money. SRFC deserve a fair bit of credit for their educational investment of young lads.
sbgawa
04/10/2018, 7:13 AM
Hopefully the next time an English club come sniffing around bohs dundalk cork whoever they can point to Gavin as the benchmark
placid casual
04/10/2018, 8:20 AM
No chance. The players they tend to sign already have an exit strategy in mind, with clauses to leave mid season or end of season for little or no money.
placid casual
04/10/2018, 8:32 AM
I meant to add,
The statement is a little cringeworthy and full of bombast.
El-Pietro
04/10/2018, 9:28 AM
Roy O'Donovan didn't go for close to half a million. It was reported as such as the chairman at the time wanted to inflate the value of all LOI players but that was flawed as English clubs knew exactly what was paid. The Alan Bennett deal was inflated in media too.
Ezeikial
04/10/2018, 12:15 PM
I meant to add,
The statement is a little cringeworthy and full of bombast.
It's not new.
Pomposity, hubris and arrogance are regular traits exhibited by many attached to Shamrock Rovers. It's almost in the Rovers DNA at this stage
marinobohs
04/10/2018, 2:20 PM
It's not new.
Pomposity, hubris and arrogance are regular traits exhibited by many attached to Shamrock Rovers. It's almost in the Rovers DNA at this stage
Coudn't they just say 'it is a good deal and all concerned are happy with the outcome' ?
Making out like they 'invented' the model of developing players to sell to England is as cringeworthy as their tour 'advising' clubs wanting to be fan owned (although it may last longer :D)
04/10/2018, 3:56 PM
Shamrock Rovers need some positive PR and distraction from their league position and the issues their support have with 1st team management. The may have overdone the statement but I can see why if the club chairman thought it would be some relief from the pressure he is bound to be feeling. They also like to be in the limelight no matter what of course!
They've just sold a player to the English Champions and the richest football club in the world. Even if it requires some creativity they should be talking it up publicly as much as they can/want, it would be stupid not too....also in the age of social media every mention of "transfer", "Man City", "Guardiola" etc. is more exposure for Rovers. Milk the hell out of it.
Dundalk announced yesterday that Gary Rogers has extended his contract to 2019. He’s 37 now, but probably had one of his best seasons this year. I think I read he has 28 clean sheets so far this year, not sure if this is league or all games, still a more than decent feat.
Philosophizer
05/10/2018, 11:10 AM
Dundalk announced yesterday that Gary Rogers has extended his contract to 2019. He’s 37 now, but probably had one of his best seasons this year. I think I read he has 28 clean sheets so far this year, not sure if this is league or all games, still a more than decent feat.
He's had an excellent season domestically. Didn't cover himself in glory out in Larnaca, but then neither did most of the Dundalk team. I still think Kenny should be looking for an upgrade if they wanna make strides in Europe next year.
Yossarian
05/10/2018, 11:25 AM
He's had an excellent season domestically. Didn't cover himself in glory out in Larnaca, but then neither did most of the Dundalk team. I still think Kenny should be looking for an upgrade if they wanna make strides in Europe next year.
I agree with this. He’s been brilliant in the league but if we want to progress in Europe then we need a better keeper.
ToberonaTornado
05/10/2018, 11:28 AM
Keepers are hard to find,good keepers even harder.
i think Rogers was more let down by his df in those europe games more than anything.
He's been excellent for us all season and you really cant get away from him.
oriel
05/10/2018, 12:19 PM
If Dundalk want to get even close to making the EL group stages, we will need 3 quality players in, 4 if Duffy leaves. I don't see any other leaving who the club will want to remain.
ToberonaTornado
05/10/2018, 12:58 PM
If Dundalk want to get even close to making the EL group stages, we will need 3 quality players in, 4 if Duffy leaves. I don't see any other leaving who the club will want to remain.
We haven't really thrown any money about yet but i think in micheal duffy's case this might be the time.
I think that’s an interesting point, as apart from funding the €55k stg transfer for McEleney and obviously increasing other players contracts, Gannon being one with a 3 year deal, Hoare, McGrath two more, the new owners have not yet fully flexed their muscle in the transfer market.
They would have seen from the Larnaca 4-0 defeat, if they want to advance further, and for them it will be important as that’s where the real pick up money is in Europe, they know full well at least 3 new players will be needed, maybe even 4 if Duffy stays.
The winter shopping list will be interesting.
marinobohs
05/10/2018, 1:45 PM
Hmmmmmm 'investing' money in player wages to qualify for European largesse. Sure, what could possibly go wrong with that business model :confused:
ToberonaTornado
05/10/2018, 2:05 PM
Hmmmmmm 'investing' money in player wages to qualify for European largesse. Sure, what could possibly go wrong with that business model :confused:
Always open to take advice from the ones who would know how this works ;)
pass me a pint of a shoite craft beer and a willems cigar while i peruse the won 10-games-in-a-row(&according to rte,the form team) credentials.
Yossarian
05/10/2018, 2:17 PM
We haven't really thrown any money about yet but i think in micheal duffy's case this might be the time.
Duffy has already been offered a serious wage to stay. He knows he can get far more in England so he’ll wait and see what offers come in.
I think in the case of the new owners of Dundalk, this group already has the money in reserve to invest in players. They’ll obviously be looking for a return in investment quick enough, and the only way for that is to qualify for EL group stages, even if Mike Tracey did mention CL group stages, and given Dundalk were close v Legia for the CL, the EL stage albeit one more round these days to get there, is more realistic / achievable.
I noticed an Hungarian side were in the EL group stages last night, also that Lux side who beat Legia are there too, so its not impossible to qualify for again, if you have the talent.
ToberonaTornado
05/10/2018, 2:59 PM
Duffy has already been offered a serious wage to stay. He knows he can get far more in England so he’ll wait and see what offers come in.
Hopefully his wee Derry chara PmcE is telling him his story about broken promises and busted wages at Oldham.
That said,i think Duffy is wiser than PmcE was.A couple of years makes a big difference.
DFCForever
05/10/2018, 10:04 PM
https://twitter.com/DundalkFC/status/1048327790288949250
Michael Duffy has signed on for another two years :love:
GCdfc
05/10/2018, 10:05 PM
Duffy signed up for next 2 years.
05/10/2018, 10:49 PM
We must have thrown another kitchen sink at him...
oriel
17/10/2018, 12:21 PM
Another very important re-signing by Dundalk
https://www.dundalkfc.com/mountney-extends-contract/
marinobohs
17/10/2018, 2:47 PM
Always open to take advice from the ones who would know how this works ;)
pass me a pint of a shoite craft beer and a willems cigar while i peruse the won 10-games-in-a-row(&according to rte,the form team) credentials.
Not like 'de Town are unfamiliar with bankruptcy :rolleyes: although it was more Harp and Tayto in the case of El Paso. Or are you of the many 'supporters' that only 'discovered' Dundalk since Kenny joined them ?
joey B
17/10/2018, 3:48 PM
Not like 'de Town are unfamiliar with bankruptcy :rolleyes: although it was more Harp and Tayto in the case of El Paso. Or are you of the many 'supporters' that only 'discovered' Dundalk since Kenny joined them ?
Why is Dundalks nickname 'DeTown' ,when its not in their name,always curious??
ArFella
17/10/2018, 3:57 PM
Well strictly speaking their nickname is 'The Lilywhites'. 'The Town' has been used colloquially to refer to Dundalk Town for as long as I can remember and by association the football team, maybe older Dundalk heads can speak with more authority on this but that's the reason I've always be told.
It’s probably more of a chant than a nickname really, as in ‘C’mon the town’, this is also used in hash tags and there is also a large sign behind the ‘town’ goal, you see there it is again.
Also to be totally pedantic, I think Athlone and more so recently Longford go with ‘De Town’ as opposed to ‘The Town’ , but it’s a fair question why it’s used as it’s not in the team name.
In naming terms, Dundalk have always used just a one word name in all seasons since entry into LOI in 1926, but previous to this they were called Dundalk GNR.
marinobohs
18/10/2018, 9:01 AM
It’s probably more of a chant than a nickname really, as in ‘C’mon the town’, this is also used in hash tags and there is also a large sign behind the ‘town’ goal, you see there it is again.
Also to be totally pedantic, I think Athlone and more so recently Longford go with ‘De Town’ as opposed to ‘The Town’ , but it’s a fair question why it’s used as it’s not in the team name.
In naming terms, Dundalk have always used just a one word name in all seasons since entry into LOI in 1926, but previous to this they were called Dundalk GNR.
Actually isn't it 'Mon De Town' :D agree it was more of a chant/saying among fans (of the older persuasion). only ever heard it at Oriel park so suspect it may be fado fado
ArFella
18/10/2018, 9:13 AM
Actually isn't it 'Mon De Town' :D agree it was more of a chant/saying among fans (of the older persuasion). only ever heard it at Oriel park so suspect it may be fado fado
They are both used interchangeably by fans, I've always said 'Mon the town' but other fans and notably the clubs official Social Media accounts use 'C'mon the town'. I have rarely seen the 'de town' suffix used by Dundalk fans, I think it's used more by Longford & Athlone fans (must be a midlands thing).
ArFella
18/10/2018, 9:23 AM
Just did a quick hashtag check on Twitter and it confirmed my assumptions;
#MonTheTown yields tweets exclusively about Dundalk (Town & Football Club), bar one which is oddly used by Warrenpoint Town.
#CmonTheTown returns mostly Dundalk FC tweets with a few other sprinkled in (Darlington FC, Llangefni Town and Portlaoise GAA)
#CmonDeTown gives mostly Longford Town FC related tweets with a few Dundalk FC ones in there too
ToberonaTornado
19/10/2018, 1:13 AM
Only joined the bandwagon 2016 :o
You think - relatively new poster,must be a bandwagon fan,Dundalk winning all around them,joins to be abit of a c**t and troll some threads:rolleyes:
You joined 2009,when the Bohs bandwagon WAS well and truly on the road.
I was actually a former poster here who joined originally in 2005.Lost a password and the e-mail company i was with back then stopped e-mail and i was never able to recover my original account.
I remember well the days of well known posters on this forum,'my post',the Gretna supporter guy,Dunny,Danny Dundalk,County Louth guy and Dodge etc.....
So yeah,i've only recently discovered SK & Dundalk and Foot.ie!
And #CmonTheTown
White Horse
19/10/2018, 9:00 AM
My father has been following Dundalk since the 1940s and he maintains that Dundalk was always called "The Town" by their fans.
He said the Lilywhites nickname is a recent invention, from the 1960s :)
He still hasn't accepted it.
marinobohs
19/10/2018, 9:09 AM
Only joined the bandwagon 2016 :o
You think - relatively new poster,must be a bandwagon fan,Dundalk winning all around them,joins to be abit of a c**t and troll some threads:rolleyes:
You joined 2009,when the Bohs bandwagon WAS well and truly on the road.
I was actually a former poster here who joined originally in 2005.Lost a password and the e-mail company i was with back then stopped e-mail and i was never able to recover my original account.
I remember well the days of well known posters on this forum,'my post',the Gretna supporter guy,Dunny,Danny Dundalk,County Louth guy and Dodge etc.....
So yeah,i've only recently discovered SK & Dundalk and Foot.ie!
And #CmonTheTown
My point was you were obviously unaware or 'forgot' The Towns financial 'difficulties' otherwise you would realise how silly it was to make smart comments about other clubs (people...glass houses). Obviously, it was lost on you. delighted to see your long and glorious history on Foot.ie perhaps you should familiarize yourself with Dundalk's more recent history.
By the way, after 30 odd years supporting Bohs without winning much of note before that, I nearly wish I had only discovered them in 2009 ;)