19/10/2018, 9:39 AM
What's Aaron mceneff like?
Ezeikial
19/10/2018, 2:17 PM
Likes two capitals in his surname
19/10/2018, 2:58 PM
My point was you were obviously unaware or 'forgot' The Towns financial 'difficulties' otherwise you would realise how silly it was to make smart comments about other clubs (people...glass houses). Obviously, it was lost on you. delighted to see your long and glorious history on Foot.ie perhaps you should familiarize yourself with Dundalk's more recent history.
By the way, after 30 odd years supporting Bohs without winning much of note before that, I nearly wish I had only discovered them in 2009 ;)
People in glasshouses lobing stones about is what football fans specialise in. The former homeless looking down noses at other grounds, the club who tried to sell the same plot of land multiple time thumbing their noses at land grab efforts, clubs that flirted with going out of business being smartarsed about other clubs finances, club of agricultural and physical style going apoplectic at their player being tackled, a dive becoming an 'earned penalty' depending on the player, time wasting called game management, each year being the worst ever for those who are not champions, clubs thinking they invented the wheel, that their club is one of virture and purity that would never have scumbag fans that embaress.......etc etc
19/10/2018, 3:01 PM
Nice fella, by all accounts.
marinobohs
19/10/2018, 9:58 PM
Darragh Leahy agreed new one year deal with Bohs. Great news on a particularly good evening for Bohs
sbgawa
19/10/2018, 10:41 PM
we are well covered in that position. Surprised dundalk didn't pick him up for cover though.
Ezeikial
20/10/2018, 8:58 AM
we are well covered in that position. Surprised dundalk didn't pick him up for cover though.
The only surprise to me was the speculation. Expecting Dane Massey and Dean Jarvis to compete for the left back slot again next season
sbgawa
20/10/2018, 10:03 AM
Yeah that makes sense. Leahy kind of unlucky that there are so many decent left backs around
There was talk of Sadlier again last night joining Dundalk. I’m not so sure about this one, he’s left footed for a start, and that’s where Duffy operates. Then again he is out of contract and Cork have announced budget cuts.
Any Cork fans know if they are sticking with 52 week contracts or back to 40? If it’s 52 they might be offerring reduced deals for those getting new contracts.
There was talk of Sadlier again last night joining Dundalk. I’m not so sure about this one, he’s left footed for a start, and that’s where Duffy operates. Then again he is out of contract and Cork have announced budget cuts.
Any Cork fans know if they are sticking with 52 week contracts or back to 40? If it’s 52 they might be offerring reduced deals for those getting new contracts.
Staying at 52. It will most likely be a cut in numbers of players, a smaller squad, rather than offering current players less money going forward. There's a fair few out of contract, who likely won't be offered new contracts. There's also a few in contract who may be asked to move on.
sulywaterfordfc
20/10/2018, 7:51 PM
There's also a few in contract who may be asked to move on.
If that’s the case surely ye should be asking questions about the board?
Why?
We have some 2 year signings who haven't worked out, Aaron Barry being the perfect example. Looking to move him on would be sensible Business. I wouldn't be suprised to see Benno retire either, even though he has another year.
David BOHie
20/10/2018, 8:35 PM
In fairness Cork have a huge squad and possibly will be able to cut the vast majority of the 300k a year without much of an effect. There was a lot of complaints during the year of having 3 right backs and no room for some players. Obviously that won't make up the full 300k but it will ease the difficulty of having to cut 300k in the first place.
The real problem will be Dundalk increasing their budget while Cork stagnate/cut back theirs. For the sake of competition I hope Waterford, even Rovers are somewhat competitive next year, but I also hope we take 10 points off the latter next year too.
We re-signed Leahy and also have Supple and Corcoran already signed up. A real sign of intent from us. Perhaps outsiders for a european spot. If you take the second half of the season we'd be right up there. I know every club had to deal with it but that early fixture congestion really affected us as the part time team. Hopefully that's fixed next year and maybe the league can end two weeks later and ease the congestion.
I think Bohs should be rightly pleased with their season. They did great work in the community connecting or reconnecting with fans and their avg gate at well over 2k is impressive for a team that will probably finish 6th in a ten team league.
Getting key players signed up already is smart, and obviously keeps away certain clubs sniffing around !
Ezeikial
20/10/2018, 9:04 PM
In fairness Cork have a huge squad and possibly will be able to cut the vast majority of the 300k a year without much of an effect. There was a lot of complaints during the year of having 3 right backs and no room for some players. Obviously that won't make up the full 300k but it will ease the difficulty of having to cut 300k in the first place.
What percentage of the budget does that €300k represent? If the overall player budget was €1.3m that is heading for a 25% cut before management team costs are considered
I am not so sure that it is as straight forward as you appear to suggest.
The list of players retained for 2019 also shows up quite a few under-performers or those possibly past their sell-by date:
Alan Bennett
Damien Delaney
Mark McNulty
Danny Kane
Aaron Barry
Graham Cummins
Colm Horgan
are all players whose 2018 contribution was poor to indifferent and who will eat into the 2019 budget
The real problem will be Dundalk increasing their budget while Cork stagnate/cut back theirs. For the sake of competition I hope Waterford, even Rovers are somewhat competitive next year, but I also hope we take 10 points off the latter next year too.
I agree that for the benefit of the league as a whole, and also from Dundalk's own perspective, real competition is vital. It may be that it is more likely to come from Shamrock Rovers than from Cork
A lot of talk last night on this also, and who is likely to be best placed to challenge Dundalk, a lot suggested this could be Rovers.
I would still expect Cork to be competitive though, budget decreasing will have an effect, but they should be well capable of a top 3 finish with points to spare. I'm not fully convinced myself that Rovers can move up a spot to second though, as ever with all clubs, players in / out will determine how they are likely to fare.
I think next season should be a decent league, would be good for all clubs to aspire to perform better in Europe also, Dundalk included.
21/10/2018, 2:12 AM
Cork are obviously going to be good but the main question, as someone else said, is how much better will Dundalk be? If they avoid the slow start from last season it could be a big gap again.
Haven't seen anything for Rovers this season to suggest they've bridged the gap. Good patches but not consistent enough overall. They've done well since the gk situation was sorted but still lost the cup game and the Bohs game. Still some mental fragility there I think. Be interesting to see how they start next season. A top striker would be what would make me reconsider that.
Dundalk will continue to get stronger and it's an uphill battle for everyone chasing them.
As for us, I'm not overly concerned. Caulfield has done it before and I'm confident he can rebuild again. I think he and the team do better as underdogs, they didn't cope with the pressure of being champions well at all. Hard to say how we'll do, but hopefully another good start to the season like the last 2. Recruitment is everything so we'll need a good year in that sense.
Ezeikial
21/10/2018, 8:02 AM
Recruitment is everything so we'll need a good year in that sense.
If that is the case, Caulfields recent recruitment record would hardly inspire confidence. He has signed plenty of duds since he struck gold with Maguire.
For Rovers to "bridge the gap" to Cork, they may not need to make any improvements.
ger121
21/10/2018, 9:39 AM
Haven't seen anything for Rovers this season to suggest they've bridged the gap. Good patches but not consistent enough overall. They've done well since the gk situation was sorted but still lost the cup game and the Bohs game. Still some mental fragility there I think. Be interesting to see how they start next season. A top striker would be what would make me reconsider that.
Dundalk will continue to get stronger and it's an uphill battle for everyone chasing them.
As for us, I'm not overly concerned. Caulfield has done it before and I'm confident he can rebuild again. I think he and the team do better as underdogs, they didn't cope with the pressure of being champions well at all. Hard to say how we'll do, but hopefully another good start to the season like the last 2. Recruitment is everything so we'll need a good year in that sense.
I think Rovers will push on and so will Waterford. Rovers only 8 points behind Cork in the table. That suggests to me they have closed the gap to an extent. I also think Cork are in decline as a team. Manager hasn’t pushed on, lot of players not performing. Add to that a reduced budget and the likelihood the aforementioned clubs will spend more, should close the gap even further. If I was doing my Predictions League today. I’d have Cork 3rd possibly even 4th.
David BOHie
21/10/2018, 11:05 AM
I think Bohs should be rightly pleased with their season. They did great work in the community connecting or reconnecting with fans and their avg gate at well over 2k is impressive for a team that will probably finish 6th in a ten team league.
Getting key players signed up already is smart, and obviously keeps away certain clubs sniffing around !
3 Dalyer sellouts too. Rule of thumb is the first and last game sells out, the two versus Rovers and the cup semi sold out (The cup quarters was away to Derry so that might have too). So all going well we'd sellout about 5 times a year. Which is great and all that but highlights the need to get the Dalyer redevelopment done. Capacity is an issue at the minute and won't be in the new one and will have state of the art facilities. I genuinely think in a few years, providing it's built, we'll be back challenging too
21/10/2018, 4:18 PM
It had nothing to do with the pressure of being champions, such cliched bull, it had to do mainly with losing Maguire's goals and not replacing those.
Dalymountrower
21/10/2018, 4:42 PM
Yeah that makes sense. Leahy kind of unlucky that there are so many decent left backs around
Unlucky not to be signed by your lot? Get over yourselves!
Leahy is lucky that he was given his break by Keith Long.
sbgawa
21/10/2018, 4:52 PM
He is a decent player but unlucky that none of the bigger full time teams need a left full (including us). Most young kids want a crack at full time. That's not anti bohs just reality.
It had nothing to do with the pressure of being champions, such cliched bull, it had to do mainly with losing Maguire's goals and not replacing those.
It had nothing to do with the pressure? Being right with you until we drew with Pats and lost to Sligo, two bottom half teams, had nothing to do with pressure? Utter nonsense.
We won every home game in the first half of the season. Without Seanis goals.
People act as if the poor results from the second half of last season carried into this season without change. It didn't, that's revisionist nonsense. We had an excellent first half of the season. We were on track for our highest points per game record ever, we were winning games comfortably at home, and knocking results away even when not playing particularly well.
The wheels came off from/aftwer Europe. The pressure clearly had an impact and to claim otherwise is nonsense. It wasn't the only factor by any means, but it was a significant one. Dundalk were excellent, and I would say significantly stronger than last season. So, yes there was an evident gap by the end.
As to whether caulfield has the recruitment in him to rebuild? I think he does. He's had good years and bad years. This seasons recruitment obviously didn't work out, but there wasn't too many complaints as the players were being signed. The striker was the main concern and while Cummins hasn't lit the world alight, his goal return is higher than I would have imagined. There was some discussion around recruitment last year, the number of right backs in particular! But by the end the majority were very happy with our signings. Many didn't work out, for whatever reason. It happens.
As to the rovers discussion, who knows. I don't think the 8 points at the end of the season is particularly reflective, given the league was over early and teams were playing a variety of strength teams etc. We haven't started our strongest 11 in the league probably since the dundalk game. Rovers didn't challenge at any point, any more than last season.
They undoubtedly have the potential to challenge us, if not dundalk, but it will depend on the recruitment. If both squads and managers stayed as is (they won't), id be confident of finishing ahead of them next season. If they have a better off season of recruitment, they'd certainly be fancying their chances next season. I don't think they'll come near dundalk though.
Big question is can we challenge dundalk in the league next season? Personally, I doubt it. I don't think we'll catch up to their squad quality in the off season, and without a significant slip up from them in terms of a bad start to the year or some internal squad issues, I can't see anyone challenging them next season.
If I was doing my Predictions League today. I’d have Cork 3rd possibly even 4th.
Plenty of people predicted we'd be third this season, and last season (yourself included) and the 2 seasons before that.
And yet Caulfield has every year had us finish in the top 2 and in the cup final. I feel like that gets written off a bit too quickly. We're basically going back to the budget before this season, we're not exactly dropping to amateur status.
Everyone will look significantly different come 4 months time, but as a manager Caulfield has consistently produced top 2 in league and Cup. I've seen nothing yet from Bradley or Reynolds to make me assume they'll beat him to it next season. Anything can happen of course, and a 20 goal a season striker for any of the 3 teams would be a game changer. But if I were putting money on it now, it'd be on the person who's consistently done it.
White Horse
21/10/2018, 7:58 PM
The demise of Cork has been greatly exaggerated.
A small squad unified around an agreed game plan is the platform upon which their success was built.
I am looking no further than Cork being our number one challengers next season.
Whoever finishes above Cork will be champions.
Ezeikial
21/10/2018, 8:36 PM
As to whether caulfield has the recruitment in him to rebuild? I think he does. He's had good years and bad years. This seasons recruitment obviously didn't work out, but there wasn't too many complaints as the players were being signed. The striker was the main concern and while Cummins hasn't lit the world alight, his goal return is higher than I would have imagined. There was some discussion around recruitment last year, the number of right backs in particular! But by the end the majority were very happy with our signings. Many didn't work out, for whatever reason. It happens.
What do you mean? Are you saying that by the end of the season the majority of Cork fans were happy about the players recruited for 2018?
What caused them to change their mind?
Does the jeering and booing of John Caulfield by some fans and the significant drop in attendances at Turners Cross not indicate a dissatisfaction with the manager and/or the players?
I said it before, not a fan of the way Caulfield plays, but he does deserve a lot of credit from where he took Cork from (mid table) to runners up 3 times (edit....4 times runner ups) and a league title in between, He also came from non league mgt himself, so albeit its a personal view on his style of football, he's no mug.
Dundalk will start as odds on next season, its up to the rest to catch up, we wont have it easy, but it will still take a lot of hard work to retain it. I'd imagine the club will be looking to add 3 more players though, so it will obviously leave the squad even stronger.
I think Dundalk will be focusing on europe even more so next season as their target to show they can advance more, the Larnaca disaster away was a reminder how much you need to be switched on for different type of challenges, and that defeat had nothing to do with the heat, they were just beaten comprehensively by a much better side. I think the owners accepted this was a wake up call on what you need to do to get better at that level.
marinobohs
22/10/2018, 10:18 AM
He is a decent player but unlucky that none of the bigger full time teams need a left full (including us). Most young kids want a crack at full time. That's not anti bohs just reality.
Apparently turned down a full time contract offer from shams (according to several shams).Currently doing an apprenticeship and happy enough to give it another season at Bohs.Technically good left full but needs to work on physical side to fulfill his potential. has the ability to move back to England, very neat and tidy and improved dramatically as the season went on. Thought Dundalk would have been a god fit, and it was rumoured they were interested, but would be more likely to get first team opportunities at Bohs than Oriel.
sbgawa
22/10/2018, 10:34 AM
Apparently turned down a full time contract offer from shams (according to several shams).Currently doing an apprenticeship and happy enough to give it another season at Bohs.Technically good left full but needs to work on physical side to fulfill his potential. has the ability to move back to England, very neat and tidy and improved dramatically as the season went on. Thought Dundalk would have been a god fit, and it was rumoured they were interested, but would be more likely to get first team opportunities at Bohs than Oriel.
Apparently not offered a contract by Rovers (according to several Rovers) :) due to the fact we are covered completely at left full by two better fullbacks.........Dundalk for same reason.
RathfarnhamHoop
22/10/2018, 11:25 AM
Currently 3 of the best left backs in the league in Tallaght, but you keep telling yourself he was offered a contract by rovers if it makes you feel better.
marinobohs
22/10/2018, 11:50 AM
Currently 3 of the best left backs in the league in Tallaght, but you keep telling yourself he was offered a contract by rovers if it makes you feel better.
Only stating what several shams told me over the last couple of weeks. Personally I don't care either way, just glad he is staying with us, but obviously it upsets you that someone might actually have turned shams down so that's OK.
Wow, only 3 of the best left backs in the league at tallaght ? You lot must be romping away with the League. Maybe Leahy just didn't want to lose all those cup finals Bradser keeps telling us about ;)
Ezeikial
22/10/2018, 12:17 PM
Currently 3 of the best left backs in the league in Tallaght
Ally Gilchrist and Luke Byrne are easy calls for the first two. Is Trevor Clarke your third pick?
RathfarnhamHoop
22/10/2018, 12:29 PM
Ally Gilchrist and Luke Byrne are easy calls for the first two. Is Trevor Clarke your third pick?
If you can genuinely say that Sean Kavanagh, Luke Byrne and Trevor Clarke aren't 3 of the best in the league you're either thick or deluded.
Now I know certain people here will need this spelling out for them so I think I'll get out in front of it. 3 of the best not the 3 best, there's a difference.
Ezeikial
22/10/2018, 12:41 PM
If you can genuinely say that Sean Kavanagh, Luke Byrne and Trevor Clarke aren't 3 of the best in the league you're either thick or deluded.
Now I know certain people here will need this spelling out for them so I think I'll get out in front of it. 3 of the best not the 3 best, there's a difference.
With the 'thick or deluded' comment ringing in my ears, I would be interested to hear who else you would consider might among the best left backs in the league.
sbgawa
22/10/2018, 12:53 PM
With the 'thick or deluded' comment ringing in my ears, I would be interested to hear who else you would consider might among the best left backs in the league.
I'd put Massey , Jarvis, Kavanagh, Clarke all well ahead of Leahy.
Joey O Brien is also capable of playing there for us as is Luke Byrne, there is also a kid in the 19's who has featured in the first team squad a few times (name escapes me...very fast kid) who I know is rated highly. We would be verging on Corks appetite for full backs if we were in for Leahy :) (although I think it was right backs Cork were collecting )
22/10/2018, 2:49 PM
Only stating what several shams told me over the last couple of weeks. Personally I don't care either way, just glad he is staying with us, but obviously it upsets you that someone might actually have turned shams down so that's OK.
Wow, only 3 of the best left backs in the league at tallaght ? You lot must be romping away with the League. Maybe Leahy just didn't want to lose all those cup finals Bradser keeps telling us about ;)
You should know by now that there is a large number of Rovers fans who act like they know everything that's going on in the club but actually haven't a clue. I've no idea if Leahy was offered a deal but would be surprised with Clarke and Kavanagh already at the club.
mcgonigle
22/10/2018, 3:26 PM
You should know by now that there is a large number of Rovers fans who act like they know everything that's going on in the club but actually haven't a clue.
Thankfully we only get the real 'in the knows' on here :p
What do you mean? Are you saying that by the end of the season the majority of Cork fans were happy about the players recruited for 2018?
What caused them to change their mind?
Does the jeering and booing of John Caulfield by some fans and the significant drop in attendances at Turners Cross not indicate a dissatisfaction with the manager and/or the players?
Sorry, that wasn't clear. At the end of the 2017/2018 pre season, most people were happy with the signings we'd made. Many didn't work out at all, but it wasn't an obviously bad recruitment window at the time.
Did many fans grow very frustrated with Caulfield and the players this season? Yes, of course. I would say the majority did. We just went off a cliff from summer onwards. The cup semi win against Bohs kind of stemmed the tide a bit, and performances aicne then have been significantly more confident, even with weaker teams out. But the parts in between were horrendous.
23/10/2018, 12:52 AM
I think the real question is why Rovers are paying for the services of 3 (of the best) left backs (in the league)? And not spread the budget across other areas of the pitch where quality is visibly lacking.
23/10/2018, 1:06 AM
I think the real question is why Rovers are paying for the services of 3 (of the best) left backs (in the league)? And not spread the budget across other areas of the pitch where quality is visibly lacking.
Kavanagh was signed as a winger but given Clarke's injury it made sense to move him back to where he's played much of his senior football but he'll likely return there when Clarke is fit again. On Luke Byrne, I'm not sure. He's seemingly chronically injured but he's involved in coaching underage so maybe it works out better than paying another coach.
23/10/2018, 6:19 AM
There must have been batch of kitchen sinks left over from Roadstone that needed homes and were offered to them, Aaron McEneff has been offered 10 of them I was told by a couple of Rovers fans during the week!
23/10/2018, 6:50 AM
At the end of the 2017/2018 pre season, most people were happy with the signings we'd made. Many didn't work out at all, but it wasn't an obviously bad recruitment window at the time.
I can understand that as we were worried about how early Cork seemed to be wrapping up transfer business, days after the cup final and the signings kept on happening for a spell. We on the otherhand looked to be hamstrung by the change of ownership with few of the new signings getting a full preseason including Hoban due to injury. Some of the signings had a couple of weeks and may not have been registered in time for the start of the season. So Cork fans were quite confident while we were already dropping points like early 2017 and playing catchup Wasnt there the great Hoban v Cummins debate and Cork fans adamant that Cummins was the preferred signing! It could and probably should have been better for Cork over the season or at least kept the league alive beyond the last week in September. The draw to St Pats in Turners Cross seemed to turn sections of the crowd and kicked off the great Cork divide on Caulfield. Timely recovery for the cup semi replay and forthcoming cup final slog! Its in the second season that we see the best of our signings Michael Duffy being the best current example so maybe things could come good yet for the lads that joined Cork this season!!
sbgawa
23/10/2018, 7:41 AM
There must have been batch of kitchen sinks left over from Roadstone that needed homes and were offered to them, Aaron McEneff has been offered 10 of them I was told by a couple of Rovers fans during the week!
I'd be surprised at mceneff we need to save our pennies for a striker
23/10/2018, 11:54 AM
Wasnt there the great Hoban v Cummins debate and Cork fans adamant that Cummins was the preferred signing!
I don't remember that. I wasn't convinced Cummins would be great, I thought 15 goals would be a good return for him. And to be fair he's done that. But we wouldn't afford Hoban last year. And he's blown past everyone's expectations to be fair to him.
Ezeikial
23/10/2018, 12:04 PM
But we wouldn't afford Hoban last year. And he's blown past everyone's expectations to be fair to him.
Fair comment.
To be truthful, I didn't expect him to go past 25 league goals
RathfarnhamHoop
23/10/2018, 12:13 PM
Clarke and Kavanagh were both signed as wingers. It'll be interesting to see who's kept on next year, my preference would be to keep all 3 and play Kavanagh or Clarke as a winger ank keep luke as a backup left back/left sided centre back of a back 3.
placid casual
23/10/2018, 6:54 PM
If we want one of you're players, we'll fu**in get one of your'e players, and theres nothing boez can do about it, as you well know;)
Philosophizer
23/10/2018, 7:11 PM
If we want one of you're players, we'll fu**in get one of your'e players, and theres nothing boez can do about it, as you well know;)
WOW....