View Full Version : 2018 Transfers
Ezeikial
06/07/2018, 2:50 PM
How did they "go out of their way"? The Gardaí have tweeted about it, did they also "go out of their way"?
This is the sort of banner that kids design. It is not my cup of tea, to be honest. Some of the reaction is hysterically funny, particularly when langers jump on the bandwagon.
I think its called "Being offended by proxy"
I'm just not sure there is redemption for any of us Lilywhites after being associated with this sordid mess.
At a minimum, an apology and bouquet of flowers should be sent to Jonathan Roche immediately. I bereft of ideas as to how we will appease the offended langers
sbgawa
06/07/2018, 3:00 PM
It's not a big deal tbh just makes you look small when you have so many positives at the moment. Your social media people S houild be told to represent the club better. It's your problem though not rovers or cork. If you want to defend it super
blueblood
06/07/2018, 3:01 PM
I really don't see the problem with Dundalk paying a small fee for a former player, would it be OK if a different club paid a fee for McElaney but not OK for Dundalk to?? I think dundalk would look foolish if they didn't pay on principle and somebody else did. Does it really matter what club paid a fee for the player??
patrickccfc
06/07/2018, 4:40 PM
That banner is an absolute disgrace. It disrespects everything about shamrock rovers football club and it's history. The great players that have represented them over the years and the record amount of trophies the club has won. Apologize now Dundalk.
sbgawa
06/07/2018, 4:43 PM
looking forward to tonight , I've brought my neck brace:)
RathfarnhamHoop
06/07/2018, 5:58 PM
How did they "go out of their way"? The Gardaí have tweeted about it, did they also "go out of their way"?
This is the sort of banner that kids design. It is not my cup of tea, to be honest. Some of the reaction is hysterically funny, particularly when langers jump on the bandwagon.
They obviously invited the group in to get the photos taken, they got the players there, got the manager there, wrote a whole article, thats going to some effort not a tonne but not just taking a picture of it at the next match which would have been a lot less effort and done the same thing. Also look at Kenny standing to the side facing the flag smiling he knows exactly what he's at and if that was Rovers and Bradley I can't even begin to imagine how Ez would react.
06/07/2018, 6:38 PM
Not to put this thread off topic, but Finn Harps have signed Nathan Boyle following his release from Derry.
06/07/2018, 9:36 PM
Its a Rovers crest on a pile of ashes with a Dundalk flag being planted through it. Sort of thing that's pretty childish but grand from fans but for a club and the manager to go out of their way to endorse it is pretty small time and embarrassing to be honest
For younger fans who saw Drogheda as our main rivals not so long ago this is progress!! But yeah I can see why it looks like a Dundalk 'obsession'. Its a good backhanded compliment as as hard as they try Cork are not our main rivals really ;)
06/07/2018, 9:47 PM
They view a club, who are struggling ( big time!) to make Europe as their main rival. The sad fact is that seems to be what's important to them, even with all their Yankee money and Rovers being relatively mediocre.
Forever in our shadow, it would seem.
To use a foreign example Manchester United and Liverpool are rivals yet one hasnt won the league for as long as Rovers havent won the cup + some. Rovers fans will see rivalry with Dundalk as damn all compared to Bohs but the most successful club of the last 40 years and possibly adding to a roll of honour, and the club that is outright the most successful club should have a healthy rivalry. The jonny come latelys from Cork are as fascinated with Dundalk as some Dundalk fans are with Rovers. As said above its a compliment for now though another 4 or 5 league wins over this period of domination and the rivalry with Dundalk may not be so benign.
They obviously invited the group in to get the photos taken, they got the players there, got the manager there, wrote a whole article, thats going to some effort not a tonne but not just taking a picture of it at the next match which would have been a lot less effort and done the same thing. Also look at Kenny standing to the side facing the flag smiling he knows exactly what he's at and if that was Rovers and Bradley I can't even begin to imagine how Ez would react.
Seemed to be a youth project thing and promoted by the guards, DFC have done numerous photo things like with players showing support for things like mental health and other worthy causes. This just seemed a bizzare photo call, I don't see the attraction having any other club mentioned bar your own on a flag display, the 3 league trophies yes, the other stuff with Hooperman and the DFC depiction as taking over from Rovers, I mean WTF ? With respect and all that, their last league title was a good few years back.
Silly stuff by the club and should not have been supported by players and mgt standing by.
mcgonigle
06/07/2018, 10:26 PM
Lads log off for the weekend and get some fresh air and sun 👍
Ezeikial
07/07/2018, 5:07 AM
Stephen Kenny lets rip at both Caulfield and Bradley
“John Caulfield put a statement out that we paid a massive fee for Georgie Kelly which is being completely dishonest and untrue,” he said. “We didn’t pay any fee for Georgie.
They’ve signed a ‘Premiership player’ and we’ve signed a player from the first division,” he added.
He admits that he thinks Bradley makes no sense
“His (Bradley’s) criticism didn’t make sense to me at all. It’s just a bit of bravado and playing to the gallery. I felt he wanted to criticise Dundalk to keep people happy.”
He points out that Dundalk have come from nothing and have earned their way to being able to spend as they see fit.
Kenny pointed out that Dundalk won the league title in 2014 with a squad that was assembled with a minimal budget.
“Don’t talk to me about resources,” he said. “If Tommy Barrett or Martin Russell want to explain about the disparity in resources, absolutely. They have tough jobs but the manager of Shamrock Rovers and Cork? They are big clubs with very good resources.
“We won the league with a back four of Sean Gannon, who was on the fringes at St Pat’s, Brian Gartland, who finished at Portadown, Dane Massey, who was at Bray, and Andy Boyle, who was at Shelbourne in the first division.
“We had Darren Meehan, who we signed off a PFAI course after a shoulder operation, we signed Pat Hoban from Mervue while John Mountney, Chris Shields and Peter Cherrie were in a relegation play-off the year before. Don’t talk to me about resources.”
That's hard to argue with
https://dundalksport.ie/dfc-bravado-and-playing-to-the-gallery-kenny-hits-back-at-bradley-and-caulfield-7c6efe53f5cf
Ezeikial
07/07/2018, 5:44 AM
Vinny Perth’s response when asked about recent articles quoting comments from John Caulfield and Stephen Bradley about Dundalk (from 3:45 onwards)
I’d be telling you lies if I said I did not see both articles. Both of them have factually incorrect pieces in them. But whether you have people commenting or not on us is their own business
We haven’t overspend in any way shape or form, but let’s just clear up – the manager here in this club has probably earned somewhere in the region of €7.5 or €8.5 Million so if he does happen to spend money on a player, well we have earned the right to do that. No one else has done that.
I’ve got a lot of footage to watch on our European opponents. All our focus is always one game a week, so we’ve got a busy weekend – I really don’t care what other people are saying, we just focus on ourselves
I really only care about the team in Estonia at the moment, and that’s where the focus will be
https://audioboom.com/posts/6923502-vinny-perth
sbgawa
07/07/2018, 7:38 AM
Seemed to be a youth project thing and promoted by the guards, DFC have done numerous photo things like with players showing support for things like mental health and other worthy causes. This just seemed a bizzare photo call, I don't see the attraction having any other club mentioned bar your own on a flag display, the 3 league trophies yes, the other stuff with Hooperman and the DFC depiction as taking over from Rovers, I mean WTF ? With respect and all that, their last league title was a good few years back.
Silly stuff by the club and should not have been supported by players and mgt standing by.
Fair play. Well said.
I actually think flagss are great , brings colour into the league . Rovers supporters are good at making flags ( and banners) :) .
sbgawa
07/07/2018, 8:06 AM
Stephen Kenny lets rip at both Caulfield and Bradley
He admits that he thinks Bradley makes no sense
He points out that Dundalk have come from nothing and have earned their way to being able to spend as they see fit.
That's hard to argue with
https://dundalksport.ie/dfc-bravado-and-playing-to-the-gallery-kenny-hits-back-at-bradley-and-caulfield-7c6efe53f5cf
It would be hard to argue with if Bradley and Caulfield were saying they could never compete in the past with Dfc. They are saying they can't compete financially TODAY. Kenny would be better off instead of rising to it using vinny perths line.....we've earned it and are entitled to spend it. That is dfc"s right . It doesn't need justifying or defending imo.
Real ale Madrid
07/07/2018, 8:12 AM
If Kenny could win the league on such meagre resources, then he should have no problems from now on!
Don't talk to me about resources! Clubs now fighting about how poor they were!
"We haven’t overspend in any way shape or form, but let’s just clear up – the manager here in this club has probably earned somewhere in the region of €7.5 or €8.5 Million so if he does happen to spend money on a player, well we have earned the right to do that. No one else has done that."
This is a fair point. That said, I don't think anyone is denying that though. Dundalk have earned the money, and the investment, that they're now spending.
White Horse
07/07/2018, 10:00 AM
It would be hard to argue with if Bradley and Caulfield were saying they could never compete in the past with Dfc. They are saying they can't compete financially TODAY. Kenny would be better off instead of rising to it using vinny perths line.....we've earned it and are entitled to spend it. That is dfc"s right . It doesn't need justifying or defending imo.
Its more than that though.
Kenny is saying to Bradley that he won a league with a collection of players he pulled together from Shels, Bray, Mervue, PFAI courses, and the remains of Dundalk side that were saved from relegation only because Monaghan United did the decent think and left the league when they ran into financial trouble.
This happened a couple of years after Rovers huge success in getting to the Europa League stage.
Kenny is showing him that he could compete, and WIN at title in those circumstances, while Bradley can only whinge about how he can't. A whinge that becomes self fulfilling.
Kenny can say stupid things at times, but this time he has hit the nail on the head, and real supporters of Shamrock Rovers would do well to listen.
Ezeikial
07/07/2018, 10:11 AM
It would be hard to argue with if Bradley and Caulfield were saying they could never compete in the past with Dfc. They are saying they can't compete financially TODAY.
Agreed that they are both saying they can't compete financially today - and that's precisely because of what Stephen Kenny and Dundalk have done in the recent past, building from next-to-nothing from 2013. it is up to Cork or Rovers to try to emulate that rather than be defeatist about it or use it as an excuse.
But I'm sure you realise that they have said much more than that - in Caulfields case it appears that he said things that aren't true about the Georigie Kelly signing, while Bradley is simply talking nonsense with his "foolish" commentary
Generally I would prefer if Stephen Kenny did not engage with what other manager say, but he is perfectly entitled to set the record straight when other managers are maliciously commenting on his transfers
Caulfield and Bradley should concentrate on trying to close the gap, although I think neither of them are capable of doing so
disgruntled
07/07/2018, 10:18 AM
Vinny Perth’s response when asked about recent articles quoting comments from John Caulfield and Stephen Bradley about Dundalk (from 3:45 onwards)
I’d be telling you lies if I said I did not see both articles. Both of them have factually incorrect pieces in them. But whether you have people commenting or not on us is their own business
We haven’t overspend in any way shape or form, but let’s just clear up – the manager here in this club has probably earned somewhere in the region of €7.5 or €8.5 Million so if he does happen to spend money on a player, well we have earned the right to do that. No one else has done that.
I’ve got a lot of footage to watch on our European opponents. All our focus is always one game a week, so we’ve got a busy weekend – I really don’t care what other people are saying, we just focus on ourselves
I really only care about the team in Estonia at the moment, and that’s where the focus will be
https://audioboom.com/posts/6923502-vinny-perth
Who was that clown doing the interview ?
Trying to get Perth to react to newspaper reports.
Credit to Perth was not rising to the bait.
I thought he spoke very well in fairness to him.
White Horse
07/07/2018, 10:23 AM
Who was that clown doing the interview ?
Trying to get Perth to react to newspaper reports.
Credit to Perth was not rising to the bait.
I thought he spoke very well in fairness to him.
Gerry Malone, and you should see the stick he gets on our forum.
07/07/2018, 10:25 AM
I don't understand the dundalk claim that they paid nothing for Kelly. Surely at a minimum they would owe UCD compensation. Also, why would UCD let him go in the middle of a season while they're top of the league, with no financial incentive?
disgruntled
07/07/2018, 10:26 AM
Agreed that they are both saying they can't compete financially today - and that's precisely because of what Stephen Kenny and Dundalk have done in the recent past, building from next-to-nothing from 2013. it is up to Cork or Rovers to try to emulate that rather than be defeatist about it or use it as an excuse.
But I'm sure you realise that they have said much more than that - in Caulfields case it appears that he said things that aren't true about the Georigie Kelly signing, while Bradley is simply talking nonsense with his "foolish" commentary
Generally I would prefer if Stephen Kenny did not engage with what other manager say, but he is perfectly entitled to set the record straight when other managers are maliciously commenting on his transfers
Caulfield and Bradley should concentrate on trying to close the gap, although I think neither of them are capable of doing so
Who knows what the deal was that Dundalk did with UCD for Kelly or how much they paid Oldham and who cares anyway ?
I'm sure none of us on here know the details.
I don't know about Rovers but I do know that City can't compete with Dundalk financially so we'll just have to do it some other way.
That's just the way things are.
I'd much prefer if managers didn't comment at all & just concentrate of their own squads.
disgruntled
07/07/2018, 10:31 AM
Gerry Malone, and you should see the stick he gets on our forum.
I'm not surprised to be honest.
Ezeikial
07/07/2018, 10:40 AM
I don't understand the dundalk claim that they paid nothing for Kelly. Surely at a minimum they would owe UCD compensation. Also, why would UCD let him go in the middle of a season while they're top of the league, with no financial incentive?
You and John Caulfield it would appear.
The difference is that Caulfield made this statement earlier in the week:
“The financial packages were huge. UCD got a serious transfer fee because Georgie Kelly was a professional."
At least you simply admit to not understanding
Who knows what the deal was that Dundalk did with UCD for Kelly or how much they paid Oldham and who cares anyway ?
Stephen Kenny obviously knows, John Caulfield obviously doesn't.
John Caulfield obviously cares enough to make false claims
For anyone who wants to actually understand the details the link was already posted, but here it is again
sbgawa
07/07/2018, 10:46 AM
It's the same at all levels Keith long said in response to a journalist that he couldn't compete with rovers financially I didn't take that as whinging just an honest answer to a question. I've the height of respect for the job long is doing (obviously while hating him and all things bohs:) )
Of more note from a football perspective Gavin Bazuna is literally an amazing talent. I hope we can hang o to him for a couple of years but suspect he might be off sooner
07/07/2018, 10:50 AM
“The financial packages were huge. UCD got a serious transfer fee because Georgie Kelly was a professional."
For anyone who wants to actually understand the details the link was already posted, but here it is again
No agreement exempts ye from the fee for training compensation at the least, which can be a decent sum. But no idea how much in this particular case, obviously.
As for being upset that Caulfield commented despite not knowing the facts, nothing new there or surprising. Im more surprised Kenny felt the need to reply. The 3 managers having a go off each other is good craic though, livens stuff up.
Unlike others, I think it would be far more boring if they all kept their opinions to themselves and stopped trying to wind each other up.
White Horse
07/07/2018, 11:00 AM
Can someone point me to Kenny's comments when Cork signed a player from the "Premiership"?
I can't seem to find them.
Ezeikial
07/07/2018, 11:06 AM
It's the same at all levels Keith long said in response to a journalist that he couldn't compete with rovers financially I didn't take that as whinging just an honest answer to a question. I've the height of respect for the job long is doing (obviously while hating him and all things bohs:) )
I doubt that Keith Long has ever petulantly commented on a Rovers signing and spoke nonsense about it "making the league look foolish", or looking "very, very *foolish from the outside, to English clubs or about "respect and demanding fees" and "strange scenarios".
Don't whinge about a disparity in resources - do something about it.
Keith Long seems to embrace this attitude with 2 wins and a draw from 3 league matches with Shams this season
07/07/2018, 11:08 AM
Did he comment at the time? Was he asked at the time?
He mentions it in the link above, but in response to Caulfields comments.
07/07/2018, 11:10 AM
Is there any chance we could clean up this thread and make it for transfers only? This sh!te is getting tiresome.
Ezeikial
07/07/2018, 11:10 AM
Can someone point me to Kenny's comments when Cork signed a player from the "Premiership"?
I can't seem to find them.
DundalkSport article below
“John Caulfield put a statement out that we paid a massive fee for Georgie Kelly which is being completely dishonest and untrue,” he said. “We didn’t pay any fee for Georgie. He’s a young player who has come in on a modest League of Ireland wage and wants to play here. We were going to take him at the start of the year but he had a duty to UCD to finish his scholarship and didn’t feel he could leave until the summer.
“He had his own personal agreement that he could leave on a free because of that and to try and put pressure on the lad like that is unnecessary and very disappointing. They’ve signed a ‘Premiership player’ and we’ve signed a player from the first division,” he added.
sbgawa
07/07/2018, 11:13 AM
I doubt that Keith Long has ever petulantly commented on a Rovers signing and spoke nonsense about it "making the league look foolish", or looking "very, very *foolish from the outside, to English clubs or about "respect and demanding fees" and "strange scenarios".
Don't whinge about a disparity in resources - do something about it.
Keith Long seems to embrace this attitude with 2 wins and a draw from 3 league matches with Shams this season
Again you are missing the point which from behind your blinkers is easy enough. Long wasn't whinging that is precisely the point I was making he was responding to a question with a truthful and mathematically correct answer and so were Bradley and Caulfield as well. It's up to them both to find another way. As I've said again and again dfc earned the money and are entitled to spend it.
07/07/2018, 11:14 AM
Is there any chance we could clean up this thread and make it for transfers only? This sh!te is getting tiresome.
A 'Managers talking ****e' thread would probably be more useful, so the rest of the league doesn't have to read the nonsense!
disgruntled
07/07/2018, 11:22 AM
Do you know ?
White Horse
07/07/2018, 11:31 AM
"In relation to Georgie Kelly, we didn't pay anything for him," said the Dundalk manager. John Caulfield is on the record saying that we paid a record fee for him. Well, there was no fee.
We had an arrangement that he was going to come to us at the start of the year, but he felt a loyalty to UCD that he wanted to complete a scholarship programme and we respected that.
UCD are just a brilliant institution with the players that they produce, and they took great satisfaction that David McMillan and Robbie Benson scored those big goals in Europe with us.
They saw that as proof that their scholarship system is working in a major way.
Georgie had his own personal agreement with them that he would stay on until the summer and then could go, and that wasn't an agreement between us and UCD, that was between him and them.
So then to try and put pressure on the lad, and to criticise, that's really unnecessary and doesn't reflect well on John Caulfield."
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/stephen-kenny-hits-back-hard-12870804
07/07/2018, 11:33 AM
"In relation to Georgie Kelly, we didn't pay anything for him," said the Dundalk manager
Like, Caulfield may be making stuff up. But saying ye didn't pay anything at all is nonsense too. The training compensation will be the minimum. No agreement between Kelly and UCD can impact that. It's likely not big money though.
Interesting too that Kenny and Kelly are singing from different hymn sheets. Kelly on a podcast mid week said there was no agreement done with dundalk before now. Kenny saying it was done since the start of the season.
sbgawa
07/07/2018, 11:37 AM
I agree with the comment above can we start a managers talking BS thread where people who listen and analyse every utterance of manager speak can have a thread to do it.
sbgawa
07/07/2018, 11:38 AM
In transfer news rovers announcing signings today Twitter page has new signings playing today.
07/07/2018, 11:39 AM
In transfer news rovers announcing signings today Twitter page has new signings playing today.
Is the Anthony Stokes rumour true?
sbgawa
07/07/2018, 11:41 AM
Greene McCabe watts and wes houlehan (who is training with us apparantly) all rumoured.
sbgawa
07/07/2018, 11:43 AM
Is the Anthony Stokes rumour true?
Heard that As well forgot to include him in the list. Doubt it given he is out of contract for months you'd imagine he would be in training to get fit and would sign on the 1st of July. I suppose anything's possible
Ezeikial
07/07/2018, 11:49 AM
Greene McCabe watts and wes houlehan (who is training with us apparantly) all rumoured.
Manager talking BS thread urgently needed if these 3 or 4 are announced by Rovers
We'll have to listen to guff that these guys are signing on for minimum wage, the love of Rovers and the chance to rub shoulders with legends like Duff, McPhail and Bradley
Asterix
07/07/2018, 11:53 AM
Manager talking BS thread urgently needed if these 3 or 4 are announced by Rovers
We'll have to listen to guff that these guys are signing on for minimum wage, the love of Rovers and the chance to rub shoulders with legends like Duff, McPhail and Bradley
Its more likely that we'd have to listen to you talk about them.
disgruntled
07/07/2018, 12:14 PM
Yea there's plenty of that around here :p
In relation to my question to you above & I'm not really interested in anything Mr Kenny said ?
Asterix
07/07/2018, 12:14 PM
Watts and Greene signed.
07/07/2018, 12:16 PM
Ciaran O'Connor confirmed to have left Harps on his Twitter.
Expecting more comings and goings over the next week or so.
So far we've Nathan Boyle in, Sam Todd loan extended to the end of the season, and obviously Mikey Place in at the start of June.
Two O'Connors gone and Eric Whelan gone as well a bit earlier. Gareth Doherty out on loan to Irish league side Dergview.
sbgawa
07/07/2018, 12:16 PM
Its more likely that we'd have to listen to you talk about them.
Agreed....
sbgawa
07/07/2018, 12:18 PM
Watts and Greene signed.
Great signings watts looks like a phenomenal talent , greene has pace and power but has a bit of ground to make up with some of the rovers fans.....a goal or two should sort it :)
White Horse
07/07/2018, 12:25 PM
Great signings watts looks like a phenomenal talent , greene has pace and power but has a bit of ground to make up with some of the rovers fans.....a goal or two should sort it :)
Good signings. Rovers able to compete in the transfer market after all.
Dylan Watts happy with his "dream move". That'll antagonise no one :)