View Full Version : Clare League 2013/14

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

2on2
18/02/2014, 8:57 PM
Wishicouldplay I am sorry my "rant" as you call it is not aimed at you so climb back down from your horse before you fall off, and I suppose you are right if you have 2 pitches you can choose which one to use, but as First said they are going to carry out maintenance so I really look forward to seeing a good game on their first pitch. I would be surprised if many games go ahead but we will live in hope.

old git
18/02/2014, 10:58 PM
I have been reading this thread for a while now and it makes me laugh at the constant attack or questioning if you call it about what Avenue are involved in. I am pretty sure Avenue did not request to play on the astro 95% of the players donot want to play on it, 45 min training on it is bad enough never mind a full game, but the fixture was put down so they must turn up which they did.

Now can ye imagine the abuse that would havebeen handed out here if Corofin had been left standing and Avenue didn’t turnup I can only say ye would have loved it!! I see a comment made by“WishIcouldplay” that if Avenue were to play a footballing team would they ask for astro? Funny you brought that up as I was looking to see if anybody would comment on it and of course they didn’t because the Avenue were beaten, the day they played Newmarket in the MJC funny how the game was switched from Newmarket’s first pitch to the back FIELD which is all it is a field.

I went down that day to see what are supposed to be the two best ballplaying teams in Clare and it was like watching a match 20 years ago on a field which was just a disgrace. Now before ye all start with “both teams had to play on same pitch” or they didn’t want to ruin it, the first pitch was in perfect condition that day but it was obvious that the Newmarket management team knew that if they played on their first pitch and tried to play ball chances are they would have got a beaten so let’s move it and play kick and run!!! So don’t come on here and say Avenue were trying to pull a fast one, be under no illusion my friends all teams give the “wink and the nod” when certain teams come to play.

2on2 you must be spoilt for pitches if you call newmarkets 2nd pitch a field. did you ever think that maybe the quality of football that day was down to both teams on the day ? both Newmarket and avenue like to play football so no advantage to either team here and both teams will play on a lot worse pitches before the season is out but I do agree with you all teams will give the wink and nod as you call it to gain advantage over their opponents. just a quick question if 95% of avenue or any team don't want to play on lees road astro then tell the league and refuse to play on it ?

LegendStriker10
19/02/2014, 7:30 AM
I have been reading this thread for a while now and it makes me laugh at the constant attack or questioning if you call it about what Avenue are involved in. I am pretty sure Avenue did not request to play on the astro 95% of the players donot want to play on it, 45 min training on it is bad enough never mind a full game, but the fixture was put down so they must turn up which they did.

Now can ye imagine the abuse that would havebeen handed out here if Corofin had been left standing and Avenue didn’t turnup I can only say ye would have loved it!! I see a comment made by“WishIcouldplay” that if Avenue were to play a footballing team would they ask for astro? Funny you brought that up as I was looking to see if anybody would comment on it and of course they didn’t because the Avenue were beaten, the day they played Newmarket in the MJC funny how the game was switched from Newmarket’s first pitch to the back FIELD which is all it is a field.

I went down that day to see what are supposed to be the two best ballplaying teams in Clare and it was like watching a match 20 years ago on a field which was just a disgrace. Now before ye all start with “both teams had to play on same pitch” or they didn’t want to ruin it, the first pitch was in perfect condition that day but it was obvious that the Newmarket management team knew that if they played on their first pitch and tried to play ball chances are they would have got a beaten so let’s move it and play kick and run!!! So don’t come on here and say Avenue were trying to pull a fast one, be under no illusion my friends all teams give the “wink and the nod” when certain teams come to play.

If you are going to come on here slating Newmarket and their fields I would really have hoped that you would have some facts to back up these statements .

The reason that game was on the back field is because a couple of weeks before that Newmarket played Lifford on the front field and the downpour that fell that day added to the fact the match was been played completely ruined the field .

You say the first field was in perfect condition no it was not and is still in a bad way if you want to meet me in Newmarket any time I will walk the field with you and prove this . You come on here and slate Newmarkets facilities are you absolutely mental . Granted the back field is a bit bumpy why because a game was also played on that in a downpour and this ruined that field . Both fields were walked on the Saturday before that match and was decided if another match was played on the front field while it was in that condition that the field would be in total disrepair for a long long time .

Thirdly "Newmarket management team knew that if they played on their first pitch and tried to play ball chances are they would have got a beaten so let’s move it and play kick and run!!!". Now there is a bold statement you are basically stating that Newmarket celtic and their players most of which I might add are on the Clare Oscar Traynor are a long ball team and have no footballing ability . You think these same players and management feel so inferior to the mighty Avenue and their footballing ability that they have to move a game from one field to another . You ask any Newmarket player A team or B team which pitch they would prefer to play on and I would be very shocked if any of them said the back field no matter what team they are playing .

Second
19/02/2014, 8:05 AM
These essays are getting boring.. anyone that slags off newmarket's facilities is a spanner plain and simple. Best facilities in clare. I know tulla have a fine setup but grass training area is better than astro turf in my opinion. Tulla's setup super too

First
19/02/2014, 10:05 AM
Any update on whether Avenue got a walkover or not?

Planners
19/02/2014, 10:32 AM
These essays are getting boring.. anyone that slags off newmarket's facilities is a spanner plain and simple. Best facilities in clare. I know tulla have a fine setup but grass training area is better than astro turf in my opinion. Tulla's setup super too

Have to agree with Second -they even provided lights for the game / penalties againt Rineanna in the FAI game -
Just on another point i heard that a certain manager { ST }made himself available to take the reins in NOF next season , a dream he's had for a long time - did you hear anything Second !!!!!!!!!!

Second
19/02/2014, 1:31 PM
Have to agree with Second -they even provided lights for the game / penalties againt Rineanna in the FAI game -
Just on another point i heard that a certain manager { ST }made himself available to take the reins in NOF next season , a dream he's had for a long time - did you hear anything Second !!!!!!!!!!

When you say has made himself available do you mean he's gone from ST or he has approached NOF. Which would be kind of arrogant considering the new manager is doing so well..

Second
19/02/2014, 1:44 PM
Does anyone know if avenue got the 3 points as table not updated

old git
19/02/2014, 2:10 PM
When you say has made himself available do you mean he's gone from ST or he has approached NOF. Which would be kind of arrogant considering the new manager is doing so well..

just to add to above he is supposed to have stepped down as ST manager in the last few days ?? Would agree with you why would newmarket look to change a manager that is doing so well

mouldedstuds
19/02/2014, 3:37 PM
everything cant be about avenue can it!!! although its a bit of a mess if corofin just didnt bother turning
well done newmarket on getting to quarters of munster,, a winnable game in kerry next

2on2
19/02/2014, 3:53 PM
LegendStriker10 to say I have slated NOF facilities Id say is a bit over the top, I complained about the back FIELD only if you read the post!, and Id say if you asked, most people would agree the field is in terrible shape and should not be played on. You also tell me that most of the NOF players are on the OT team well fair play to them :confused:

Old git I agree totally with you that we should refuse to play on astro but that is something all teams would need to do together and not leave one team hanging. Its sad to it but the only way games will be stopped is when the first big claim goes in by an injured player and then you will see the council pull the plug very fast on the games.

LegendStriker10
20/02/2014, 7:08 AM
" I complained about the back FIELD only if you read the post!, and Id say if you asked, most people would agree the field is in terrible shape and should not be played on".

Have you seen the majority of fields in the clare league ??

"You also tell me that most of the NOF players are on the OT team well fair play to them :confused: "

If you read my post I said this because you implied our footballing ability is not up to the standard of Avenue . I would be inclined to go with the same opinion as the Clare Oscar Traynor manager and disagree with you on this .

younglawd
20/02/2014, 7:24 AM
There is alot of speed in new markets front play whereas avenue like to run and pass about the ball thats their main threat so on a bad pitch the advantage is with new market..

avenueC
20/02/2014, 9:02 AM
lads its swings and roundabouts
when avenue lads ,ex or present, were over the OT team there was 6,7,8 players on the team going back thru the years
why should it be any different now when newmarket lads are over it,,
newmarket and avenue have won the league and cups most in the last 10 years so it stands to reason they represent the majority of the squad
and no! this isnt an elitist statement excluding the rest of the clubs and good players deemed worthy of a place on the squad

If you read my post I said this because you implied our footballing ability is not up to the standard of Avenue . I would be inclined to go with the same opinion as the Clare Oscar Traynor manager and disagree with you on this .[/QUOTE]

old git
20/02/2014, 12:52 PM
lads its swings and roundabouts
when avenue lads ,ex or present, were over the OT team there was 6,7,8 players on the team going back thru the years
why should it be any different now when newmarket lads are over it,,
newmarket and avenue have won the league and cups most in the last 10 years so it stands to reason they represent the majority of the squad
and no! this isnt an elitist statement excluding the rest of the clubs and good players deemed worthy of a place on the squad

If you read my post I said this because you implied our footballing ability is not up to the standard of Avenue . I would be inclined to go with the same opinion as the Clare Oscar Traynor manager and disagree with you on this .[/QUOTE]

avenue c disagree with you on the avenue link Past OT squads there was a time when 6 /7/ 8 would be named in squads but only 2-3 would turn up for training games a few of the players were more intrested in training /playing with Avenue and not worried about representing their county .. will add a few other players / clubs also seemed to worry more about club than county over the years

Second
20/02/2014, 1:53 PM
Whats with the 10am kick off in avenue v ennis town match and the 2 or 4pm kick off in kildysart

avenueC
20/02/2014, 1:56 PM
old git, yes you are right there i'll give you that
its happened with most squads down thru the years alright

mastermind1
20/02/2014, 3:42 PM
Presume the 10 am kick off is to suit the referee, he is also down to do a game in lees rd at 12 o clock. A bit of rush rush if you ask me. If theres any injuries/delays in avenue v ennis town the ref will not have time to get across town to lees rd for the 12 o clock start in his other game which will be very unfair for the 2 other teams

Rider Cups
20/02/2014, 6:13 PM
Yeah 4 o clock is pushing it especially if it's a dark wet evening as is likely.

fatronaldo
23/02/2014, 7:33 PM
Any report on ave v rock today

fatronaldo
23/02/2014, 7:43 PM
Good win for the tage today they are goin well

24/02/2014, 8:34 AM
Clare v Kerry in the Oscar Traynor semis. Any idea of a date? Will be another tough away trip for Clare. Poor enough game in Roslevan yesterday and 2 needless red cards for Avenue. Thought the referee Hennessey did well

Shuffleruns
24/02/2014, 9:02 AM
League looks wide open. Should be good once it gets going soon!

mastermind1
24/02/2014, 9:58 AM
2 needless reds alright but a game Avenue really should have won with ease. The 2 reds cost us but even when we had 10 men we were well on top and without yer keeper playing great would have been 3 or 4 nil. Anyway its good to be back playing, hopefully this time the season finally takes off.

mastermind1
24/02/2014, 9:59 AM
Bridge will have a big say in the league still, as will newmarket, avenue and ennis town. Tage going well at the moment aswell

fatronaldo
24/02/2014, 10:39 AM
Ya its wide open lets hope we can get a run of games and hopefully the weather will pick up

24/02/2014, 11:00 AM
Avenue were the better team until they went down to 9 men but the momentum changed then. I've no allegiance to Ennis Town Mastermind but enjoy watching town derbys. You're right about Tage going well and I had to laugh when I heard Clare FM last night saying that Tage were pulling away from relegation. There's no fear of that happening..Great reporting!!!

mastermind1
24/02/2014, 11:25 AM
Reporting of the clare league from the local papers and radio wouldnt be the best alright 0030. Lenny has done a great job with tage over the years and the club has a great togetherness. No matter what team they put out they will always give their all for their manager and club.

fatronaldo
24/02/2014, 1:35 PM
Tage goin well but have ave bridge and newmarket twice also rock away

25/02/2014, 10:47 AM
That doesnt mean that Tage will struggle. They'll beat enough of the other teams to be well up the table. Newmarket and Avenue still the teams to beat. Its in the Clare People this morning that the League might consider a winter break. Would be a great idea if the League started a little earlier too

fatronaldo
25/02/2014, 11:59 AM
Im not sayin they will struggle and ya they will beat enough other teams to be at the right end of the table..a winter break would be ideal and would make alot of sense.

First
25/02/2014, 12:48 PM
Prego Menswear Clare Cup 2nd Round
Fairgreen: Hermitage A V Corofin Harps A

Potentially an interesting scenario here if the weather doesn't improve.

footballfriend
25/02/2014, 1:47 PM
Clare to play Kerry on 23rd of March at 2.30

fatronaldo
25/02/2014, 1:58 PM
Is it that tage would lose home advantage??

mouldedstuds
25/02/2014, 4:18 PM
are avenue having discipline probs? they were well in control with 11 and 10 men but down to 9 cost them a valuable 3 points.
what happened after it there seemed to be a lot of players coming together in more then a handshake!
how did the pitch hold up davey?

footballfriend
25/02/2014, 5:43 PM
Few words about tackles from Rock lads. Nothing really much. Pitch isnt too bad but it cut up alright.

The circuspony
25/02/2014, 6:11 PM
Reports on all Rocks games can be found on their website and facebook page..... https://www.facebook.com/EnnisTownFC
Avenue were the better team. Rock were lucky to get a point. First red was a little harsh. Second was a red but a silly one at that. Please god it clears up later on in the week. If we get another weekend off i'm taking up the 'Curling'. True that the paper today metions a potential Winter Break in the soccer next season?

Shuffleruns
25/02/2014, 7:02 PM
Reports on all Rocks games can be found on their website and facebook page..... https://www.facebook.com/EnnisTownFC
Avenue were the better team. Rock were lucky to get a point. First red was a little harsh. Second was a red but a silly one at that. Please god it clears up later on in the week. If we get another weekend off i'm taking up the 'Curling'. True that the paper today metions a potential Winter Break in the soccer next season?

Curling is the way fwd. Feels abit like a winter break already the last month or so. Roll on the long evenings :)

Wolverine
25/02/2014, 8:17 PM
A winter break,are'nt we having one at the moment. How would that solve the fixture congestion. The all weather pitch in lees rd is really solving it me thinks. Not

fatronaldo
26/02/2014, 7:35 AM
Have you played on the all weather in lees rd its a disaster? Players want to play on good pitches not waterlogged ones with muck up to your knees

avenueC
26/02/2014, 8:56 AM
lees road is not the solution. it is not the proper surface to play competitive games on unfortunately
the new 3g pitch would be the way forward but thats not going to happen this year or next.

Second
26/02/2014, 10:02 AM
since the oscar team are away from home in semi surely they league would rent out doora for premier games instead of clubs having to pay for lees road..you could play 2/4 games a week there and catch up with the back log.. if they are paying a groundsman surely he can keep it up to scratch

avenueC
26/02/2014, 11:36 AM
dont think the pitch in doora is in great shape with the weather we have had
and playing a few games a week on it would ruin it altogther

purplemonkeydis
26/02/2014, 1:43 PM
http://www.runlastman.com/competitions/111-conn-rangers-conn-rangers-last-man-standing anybody interested in a last man standing competition, it starts on saturdays premier league games

Shuffleruns
26/02/2014, 2:42 PM
since the oscar team are away from home in semi surely they league would rent out doora for premier games instead of clubs having to pay for lees road..you could play 2/4 games a week there and catch up with the back log.. if they are paying a groundsman surely he can keep it up to scratch

Brilliant idea

Rider Cups
26/02/2014, 5:21 PM
Have to agree, if the weather improves a little, league should consider renting doora to teams that are well behind schedule in the their division.

footballfriend
28/02/2014, 11:40 AM
Games being pulled already. Avenue on astro for all the interested parties :-)

Shuffleruns
28/02/2014, 1:23 PM
Games being pulled already. Avenue on astro for all the interested parties :-)

Are games off again for this weekend?

fatronaldo
28/02/2014, 2:53 PM
All games are hardly off already? Would other teams not be ahead of avenue to use astro?

footballfriend
28/02/2014, 3:43 PM
Few games off already. Tage V corofin, bridge game off. Few others.