View Full Version : Clare League 2013/14

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29

2on2
08/06/2014, 11:33 AM
Fair play to you oneNightOnly, when it’s put down in black and white like that only then does it show how bad the Clare league really is. I have played soccer in Clare for 25 years and represented Clare at all levels and I can tell you it was horrendous playing in a league like this year after year.

I lived in Ennis and would not have had the means to go inand out to limerick. It always baffles me how players with any ambition livingin Shannon, Newmarket, Bunratty and the likes are not playing in the limerickleague where you have much better facilities and better standard of soccer.

People keep saying the work the committee is voluntary and I accept that and all the work they put in but surely as they are at it yearsthey would learn each year from their mistakes and maybe say “ok that didn’twork last season so we will change that “but no it’s the same ding dong every year absolutely nothing improves!!!!

Spot on about the OT the Clare League jump on the band wagonwith this one each year professing how the league is making great strides as weseem to do so well in this competition. In reality if you went into limerick and asked the players where they rate the OT Id safely say it would be about4/5 on the priority list of trophies to win.

The measure of a good league is in club success and Limerick year in year out have teams in regional and national semi finals and finals that’s why I keep referring to that league. As for the pitches you mention they are nothing short of a disgrace and its sad to say it but it will take one big serious claim from a player before anything is done to stop these pitches been used. I remember one year arriving for a game and there was a lad brushing cow**** off the field so the game could go ahead!!!!

Referees all I say is that they get paid for what they do so try and do at least the basics of the game right. You go into work every day and you constantly make mistakes you will be brought aside and spoken to, the same needs to be done with referees. What the lines man did against Avenue inthe Semi Final once again shows that the Clare league will always stay the sub standard that it is.

talisman
08/06/2014, 12:09 PM
What's all this talk of linesman in Avenue game. He made the correct decision for equaliser as I was in line with it. The only people who think he got it wrong are Avenue and we all know they see a game with blindfolds on. Ask the left back did he keep him on cause he did

OneNightOnly
08/06/2014, 12:37 PM
What's all this talk of linesman in Avenue game. He made the correct decision for equaliser as I was in line with it. The only people who think he got it wrong are Avenue and we all know they see a game with blindfolds on. Ask the left back did he keep him on cause he did

Talisman, your story has more holes than Swiss cheese my friend.

The leftback was Paddy o Malley, he certainly didn't keep anybody onside.

You were not inline with it as you say you were either. I'm certain of that.

I'm not involved with Avenue in any way, shape or form, but the goal should not have been given. Simple as that.

That linesman on two occasions this season asked management teams not to be roaring at him for offsides because, he "wasnt 100% on the rule", and lads were confusing him.

talisman
08/06/2014, 1:32 PM
More holes than Swiss cheese lol, your not involved with Avenue??? Your as red and yellow as the jersey. I know the left back was young O'Malley. For that matter I also know what team avenue had out and substitutes that were used. I was in line with the decision and it wasn't off-side seriously the record sounds broke. Ennis town deservedly won that semi-final. Other teams are allowed beat avenue every now and then just take it on the chin. By the way on your previous post having a go a decent players not playing in limerick- maybe they have a thing called loyalty to the clubs that have nurtured them since schoolboys and for that reason don't jump ship the first opportunity they get. Best of luck in your three remaining games by the way.

OneNightOnly
08/06/2014, 1:46 PM
More holes than Swiss cheese lol, your not involved with Avenue??? Your as red and yellow as the jersey. I know the left back was young O'Malley. For that matter I also know what team avenue had out and substitutes that were used. I was in line with the decision and it wasn't off-side seriously the record sounds broke. Ennis town deservedly won that semi-final. Other teams are allowed beat avenue every now and then just take it on the chin. By the way on your previous post having a go a decent players not playing in limerick- maybe they have a thing called loyalty to the clubs that have nurtured them since schoolboys and for that reason don't jump ship the first opportunity they get. Best of luck in your three remaining games by the way.

Talisman, I'd like you to pinpoint where I spoke about decent players not playing in limerick?

mastermind1
08/06/2014, 1:46 PM
That goal was as clear an offside as your likely to see. But sometimes decisions go for and against teams, thats the nature of football.

talisman
08/06/2014, 1:48 PM
Sorry my bad, wrong poster

OneNightOnly
08/06/2014, 2:02 PM
Sorry my bad, wrong poster

Now that's cleared up, apology accepted by the way, I can only repeat what I've said before I'm not involved, nor never have been, not never will be involved with Avenue. I do admire the structure they have as a club and from the outside looking in they appear to be a well run club.

Back to topic
Stephen Hickeys equalising goal was offside, you must either be lying or your Flann Sheedy, either way you don't understand the offside rule... Don't go googling it now Talisman :)

footballfriend
08/06/2014, 2:15 PM
It was a clear offside. Simple as.

talisman
08/06/2014, 3:22 PM
Were u in line with it?? Football friend you were on your arse so you can't comment. No need to google it I know the rule and linesman Sheedy obviously gave the benefit of doubt to the attacker. IMO and I'm entitled to it, good goal, get over it.

talisman
08/06/2014, 3:30 PM
Were u in line with it?? Football friend you were on your arse so you can't comment. No need to google it I know the rule and linesman Sheedy obviously gave the benefit of doubt to the attacker. IMO and I'm entitled to it, good goal, get over it.

OneNightOnly
08/06/2014, 3:37 PM

You see Talisman, your blinded by fiction you've created in your head about me, you tell me to 'get over it', it's the officiating I have a problem with, not a hang up on a team winning or loosing. We're getting sidetracked by a minor detail, the point I'm making is the officials didn't do their job, anybody at the game could see that( it was as clear as hickeys equaliser was offside), the game descended into anarchy because the officials let it.

Solution?
Appoint proper referees and linesmen

footballfriend
08/06/2014, 4:49 PM
On my arse lol. People seem to think I am someone I am not.

OneNightOnly
08/06/2014, 4:55 PM
On my arse lol. People seem to think I am someone I am not.

Talisman seems to play by his own rules on here footballfriend, all people want on here is an argument not a discussion

Shuffleruns
08/06/2014, 6:19 PM
The excuse of clubs advancing in national cup competitions is over used, what would happen if two Clare league teams were to meet in the final? Would the league even be finished?? teams in other leagues who continuesly reach the latter stage of these competitions don't have the backlog of fixtures that exist in this county.
As for my comments regarding the Oscar Traynors achievements, it's not a major tournament despite what people in this county believe, and although the standard does vary it's generally poor.
The weather is also not as big a factor as it's portrayed, it's the poor facilities that cannot handle a rain shower on a Saturday evening that's the essence of the problem.

Spot on

don't panic
08/06/2014, 7:27 PM
Boys ! get over yourselves.

OneNightOnly
08/06/2014, 7:43 PM
Boys ! get over yourselves.

Very constructive input

Second
10/06/2014, 10:32 AM
Any truth liam murphy and davy ryan gone from oscar traynor team and back to newmarket for next season

mastermind1
10/06/2014, 2:33 PM
Liam has stepped down from it alright. Dont know about going back to newmarket, he might take a break from it

Shuffleruns
10/06/2014, 2:51 PM
Yeah seen it mentioned on Sky Sports News at lunch-time

Second
10/06/2014, 4:50 PM
Liam has stepped down from it alright. Dont know about going back to newmarket, he might take a break from it

Thats a pity but he has done a great job.. will be hard to replace

footballfriend
10/06/2014, 5:46 PM
I see linesman appointed for top three teams against one another and not for Avenue V Tage. Surely this game could play a massive part and warrant extra officials also.

fatronaldo
10/06/2014, 5:50 PM
Ya totally agree the tage will want to win that they always lift there game for town derbys..could anyone on here explain why all other games have linesmen and this game doesn't?

Shuffleruns
11/06/2014, 12:21 PM
Ya totally agree the tage will want to win that they always lift there game for town derbys..could anyone on here explain why all other games have linesmen and this game doesn't?

If Ennis Town win tonight will that be enough to take the league title?

old git
11/06/2014, 9:37 PM
If Ennis Town win tonight will that be enough to take the league title?

big result tonight for Ennis town and avenues chances of winning league gone ? looks between ennis town & Newmarket now

Wednesday 11/06/14
Husquarna Maloney Garden Machinery Premier Division League
Ennis Town A 2-1 Avenue Utd A
Tulla United A 1-6 Newmarket Celtic A

Second
11/06/2014, 10:07 PM
big result tonight for Ennis town and avenues chances of winning league gone ? looks between ennis town & Newmarket now

Wednesday 11/06/14
Ennis Town A 2-1 Avenue Utd A
Tulla United A 1-6 Newmarket Celtic A

Avenue can still win the league..

old git
11/06/2014, 10:27 PM
Avenue can still win the league..

second
possible alright but a big surprise if they do it , sundays game in Newmarket now a must win game

remaining fixtures below

Sunday 15/06/2014
McDonagh Park: Newmarket Celtic A V Avenue Utd A
Referee: R.Hennessy 10.30
Assisiant Referees: M.O’Brien, T.Kennedy

Friday 20/06/14
Lees Road: Ennis Town A V Newmarket Celtic A
Referee: M.O’Brien 7.15
Assisiant Referees: T.Kennedy, R.Hennessy

Fairgreen: Hermitage A V Avenue Utd A
P.Gleeson 7.15

LegendStriker10
12/06/2014, 7:39 AM
Ennis Town 2 -1 Avenue Utd , Right I am not happy questions need to be asked who is to blame for this result was it Flan Sheedy? . Was it the Ref ? , or maybe it was the man on the street . Did Avenue take this result on the chin or did they give it to some of the Ennis Town lads on the chin . Maybe though and this is a big maybe, it is Ennis Town that are the better team this year and have proved it once again .

mastermind1
12/06/2014, 8:05 AM
Legendstriker10. Ya we took it on the chin, if you were there at the game you would have witnessed a good honest fair game of football that ennis town won fairly. The game was reffed by officials that are capable of doing this level of a game and they all done well. Now what is it you are looking for. Have you played sport before? Ever done something that you regret. Why the need to bring up the past. Maybe your looking for a reaction, u might get 1 soon

12/06/2014, 8:18 AM
Have to agree with Mastermind for the most part. It was an honest derby with the usual tough tackles but nothing underhand until the last few minutes down in the far corner. Fair play to Martin O'Brien. I felt he reffed it well and I'm sure having the 2 linesmen helped because you don't get those dodgy offside calls where refs just guess whats happening. Avenue are still in it and Sundays game is a big one. great to see a good finish to the league which will hopefully have a few more twists and turns :)

mastermind1
12/06/2014, 8:41 AM
Nothing went on down the far corner apart from a small push, absolutely nothing in it. Ennis town have been very good this season and fair play to them, they are 1 game away from winning the league. A big turnaround from last year where they were 1 game away from being relegated

LegendStriker10
12/06/2014, 9:18 AM
Legendstriker10. Ya we took it on the chin, if you were there at the game you would have witnessed a good honest fair game of football that ennis town won fairly. The game was reffed by officials that are capable of doing this level of a game and they all done well. Now what is it you are looking for. Have you played sport before? Ever done something that you regret. Why the need to bring up the past. Maybe your looking for a reaction, u might get 1 soon

I knew it wouldnt take long . To answer your questions , yes I did play plenty of sport before and of course I have done things I have regretted what has that got to do with anything . If you look at all levels of sport from the top level to the bottom OFFICIALS will make mistakes and the mistakes they make can decide matches and then again they might not decide matches that is sport . Since that Avenue Ennis Town game all I have seen and heard is the officials cost ye the game . Was it Flan Sheedys fault that ye bossed the game for most of it but could not put the ball in the back of the net to finish the game off . The reaction you are talking about that I might get, I hope you are referring to the game on Sunday and not anything else . If it is, that would be the reaction I would expect from an Avenue team coming down to Newmarket but I also would not be too worried about how Newmarket will go into this game .

2on2
12/06/2014, 10:07 AM
Id say you did play plenty of sport and Id say you were very good LegendStriker10!!. The game you are obviously obsessed with as you are still going on about it is dead and buried and has been dealt with so time for you to move on. Never forget the wheel always turns, so you should let it go or it might just come back to haunt you sometime. Avenue lost the game last night fair and square and it is killing you that there was nothing in it so you could sit behind your keyboard and get stuck into Avenue again. You are doing you best to try and rise people sad sad boy.....

LegendStriker10
12/06/2014, 10:24 AM
Id say you did play plenty of sport and Id say you were very good LegendStriker10!!. The game you are obviously obsessed with as you are still going on about it is dead and buried and has been dealt with so time for you to move on. Never forget the wheel always turns, so you should let it go or it might just come back to haunt you sometime. Avenue lost the game last night fair and square and it is killing you that there was nothing in it so you could sit behind your keyboard and get stuck into Avenue again. You are doing you best to try and rise people sad sad boy.....

No I am not obsessed with the game itself I am obsessed with the constant berating of officials as if it was their fault that the game was lost . That above was my first post on it by the way so I wouldn't say I am obsessed . Anyway yes I do play a lot of sport but I am a modest man and to say I was very good at it might be going a step too far but I will certainly thank you for the compliment :cool:.

mastermind1
12/06/2014, 10:52 PM
Any opinion of the officials performance tonight in the world cup legendstriker10 (mike)

LegendStriker10
13/06/2014, 9:29 AM
Any opinion of the officials performance tonight in the world cup legendstriker10 (mike)

Good morning Davy . I think a few things need to be cleared up before we go any further . There are many people posting on here under the name of Legendstriker10 . I know of about 4 people including myself and I have my suspicions that there might be a few more people as well . This is Mike by the way and I have been known to come on here from time to time for example when the Newmarket fields were been slated at the start of the season , I felt the need to come on and give our side of the story . If you look back over all the legendstriker10 posts they are clearly written by different people and I really do not want to take responsibility for everything that has been said . Now regarding yesterdays discussion , defo not me but when I did try and log in this morning the password that I use was changed so I got on to foot and they sent me a new password . I wonder who changed the password very strange me thinks ;)

To answer your question the officials were a disgrace last night .

mouldedstuds
13/06/2014, 3:17 PM
you could not come on and slate newmarket linesmen and get away with it could you
avenue have only themselves to blame for losing to rock twice
they had enough chances to win 4 games and rock stuck in there and got the breaks. it will be a great ending to the season
nice to see a big crowd in lees road . bigger then the cup final

footballfriend
15/06/2014, 12:52 PM
Great to see three teams in contention for the league. Avenue result today means title can go anyway with possiblity of playoffs.

old git
15/06/2014, 6:53 PM
Great to see three teams in contention for the league. Avenue result today means title can go anyway with possiblity of playoffs.

what was the score today ?

Shuffleruns
15/06/2014, 7:11 PM
what was the score today ?

newmarket(1) avenue(2)

Second
15/06/2014, 7:25 PM
newmarket(1) avenue(2)

Who was newmarket manager 2day.. I heard there manager is gone on 3 weeks holidays.. what a time to go on hols at the end of season..

footballfriend
15/06/2014, 7:46 PM
Keith was there I think but Crusher and Davy Ryan there giving directions.

footballfriend
15/06/2014, 7:47 PM
And when you book hols in June you think you'd be safe that League would be over ha :-)

Shuffleruns
15/06/2014, 7:52 PM
And when you book hols in June you think you'd be safe that League would be over ha :-)

haha very true

15/06/2014, 8:24 PM
Any reports on the game? Heard there was 2 sent off??

footballfriend
15/06/2014, 9:01 PM
David O Grady and Lawlor sent off. Both two yellows. Even game, Avenue had more chances. And took them this time. Market probl kicking themselves to concede 2/3mins after they wnt 1 nil up.

footballfriend
17/06/2014, 2:51 PM
So what are people predicting will happen fri?

Kicks
17/06/2014, 5:06 PM
Id go with avenue to beat hermitage and newmarket to beat ennis town

Second
17/06/2014, 9:07 PM
Id go with avenue to beat hermitage and newmarket to beat ennis town

Avenue will win and newmarket will send out a b team so avenue don't win league ����

fatronaldo
17/06/2014, 9:23 PM
Ya alot of people ive talked to reckon that is what will it happen it would be bad form if thats the case it will take the shine off rock winning the league then I would think..who's the think tage wont get a result its a town derby and they are haed to beat at home..