View Full Version : Clare League 2013/14
killer"B"
08/09/2013, 4:11 PM
looks like ye are getting to an all Ireland final twice now :D that's the fixtures screwed again now for the clare league
and the cork leagues too! just adds to back log of games towards the end of the season !! :cool:
footballfriend
09/09/2013, 10:54 AM
What will happen now with Oscar Traynor game? Isn't it supp to be that weekend of the hurling replay?
fifty50
09/09/2013, 12:05 PM
Why wouldn't it be played that weekend?? I think the Clare league were right to have no games yesterday (as I said before the clubs voted unanimously for it) but with the hurling replay now on a Saturday there is no reason for interruption to Sunday fixtures. If Oscar Traynor is scheduled to be played by that weekend then simply play it under lights mid week and a full round of fixtures the Sunday. If you think that going on the beer, celebrating/drowning your sorrows, is higher on your list of priorities than your Sunday fixture thats entirely up to the individual. Only thing that may be effected is youths/u19 fixtures as its possible that might be the weekend of the FAI youths first round.
Side Cutter
09/09/2013, 4:48 PM
and the cork leagues too! just adds to back log of games towards the end of the season !! :cool:
I thought it was just the clare league who make a balls of the fixtures. No excuse for having a massive backlog at the end of the season but you can be guaranteed it will be the case this season. Just saw the limerick league have 8 league games played already
mastermind1
09/09/2013, 10:18 PM
The oscar traynor game has been provisionally set for wednsday 25th in the county grounds, with the lights installed it is a huge boost for Clare soccer. Personally i think games should be off on the sunday after the all ireland, alot of lads will be up in dublin for it and wont be get back till all hours of the morning, let them enjoy it....sure whats the rush anyway :)
MikeBassett
09/09/2013, 11:27 PM
The oscar traynor game has been provisionally set for wednsday 25th in the county grounds, with the lights installed it is a huge boost for Clare soccer. Personally i think games should be off on the sunday after the all ireland, alot of lads will be up in dublin for it and wont be get back till all hours of the morning, let them enjoy it....sure whats the rush anyway :)
Agree, shouldn't be any games again on the 29th
old git
10/09/2013, 12:13 PM
are you serious it is the clare soccer league not the clare (accomodate ) the gaa league .. what about all the lads who wanted to go to dublin or watch our National soccer team in world cup action last friday night but had to play games instead , let lads go to Dublin to cheer on clare but a full fixture list should be in place for Sunday ... whats the rush ask that next year when teams playing 3 games a week to try and get season finished
mastermind1
10/09/2013, 12:19 PM
are you serious it is the clare soccer league not the clare (accomodate ) the gaa league .. what about all the lads who wanted to go to dublin or watch our National soccer team in world cup action last friday night but had to play games instead , let lads go to Dublin to cheer on clare but a full fixture list should be in place for Sunday ... whats the rush ask that next year when teams playing 3 games a week to try and get season finished
And would that be any different to every other year?? Fixtures always get backlogged....in my opinion 1 extra weekend off wouldnt do any harm. Sure we have the lights now, that might help ease the backlog ;)
footballfriend
12/09/2013, 2:47 PM
Don't think the shield gives an indication where teams are at personally. Teams seem slow getting back into it by looks of it. In regards to the fixtures, we will always end playing into May. It's how the Clare league rolls :)
Second
12/09/2013, 3:13 PM
Anyone any idea of story with oscar traynor squad . I heard they only had 6 training last Tuesday and tonight's training is off.. I feel sorry for crusher its bad enough clubs probably wont have any League games played but now lads are not turning up.
old git
12/09/2013, 3:27 PM
Anyone any idea of story with oscar traynor squad . I heard they only had 6 training last Tuesday and tonight's training is off.. I feel sorry for crusher its bad enough clubs probably wont have any League games played but now lads are not turning up.
has squad been made public yet.. ? if clubs are playing midweek games as well it may have an effect on players making training. But would hope anybody who is considered for selection would give it the respect it deserves
fifty50
12/09/2013, 3:41 PM
Who coaches the Oscar Traynor team? This is the third Thursday in a row they called off training.
Ideally it would be great to have league games played before first round with limerick but the clubs insist with this league cup farce at beginning of every season to ease back in to it. I personally don't get it.
fifty50
12/09/2013, 4:00 PM
has squad been made public yet.. ? if clubs are playing midweek games as well it may have an effect on players making training. But would hope anybody who is considered for selection would give it the respect it deserves
Some new additions are Joe Collins, Daniel Aherne, Shane Byrnes and Stephen Kelly.
Pakie Darcy has signed for Shannon Town so he ruled out. Infact last night was there first session
mastermind1
12/09/2013, 6:23 PM
Who said training was cancelled tonight lads? There wasnt training scheduled for tonight at all, we are down to train monday night and are due to play a friendly wednsday, we will see how we are fixed then. 6 lads were training with eire og and 6 other lads were in college and a couple with injuries. its not an easy time of the year to get everyone there. Crusher and the lads are working hard to get things in place and hopefully things will kick on from next week.
fifty50
12/09/2013, 6:42 PM
I'm not havin a go at the players, think there's a great squad there, but if lads are puttin GAA club training first you'd want to question their commitment.. Fair assessment?
mastermind1
12/09/2013, 7:47 PM
I wouldnt go as far as questionning the lads commitment to be fair, ideally we would like em to be training but we know the story here in Clare, these lads have quarter final on sunday and all served the county very well in the past.
Side Cutter
12/09/2013, 10:35 PM
Just don't pick players that are not 100% committed. Its not possible to work on things in training when a group of lads are at hurling/football training. As for games being played last friday when Ireland were playing sweden? What a joke. They really have no shame. The FAI should have a rule to stop this happening. Crazy to think that everyone on the league committee thought this to be ok
The circuspony
13/09/2013, 7:12 AM
The Oscar Traynors have probably the toughest group in the Country. Along with an opening fixture no team would fancy. Its unfortunate our League has'nt started. I have not been a fan of the League Cup in the past. However, having played a few games it is very obvious that more than half the teams in the premier have struggled to put a strong squad together thus far. I assume this has a lot to do with the prolonged GAA season. This means the League Cup has played an important roll, this season, in giving teams the necessary time to assemble a strong squad for the opening game of the league. Therefor it goes without saying that the Clare squad doesnt have the 24 strong squad training twice a week that it had last Spring. However, im sure those who are in training will be doing everthing they can to ready themselves for Wednesday week. The 6/7 new young fellas brought into the squad will bring them a new wave of enthusiasm and the lads in charge will do their utmost to get the results that are needed. I hear a lot of GAA players saying, the season has dragged on too long, and they cant wait for it to come to an end, especially those with a slim chance of progressing to the next round. Unfortunately they are pot committed having trained for the last ten months. The very best of luck to Crusher and the Clare team against Limerick. Fair play to the Clare league for getting the lights in the county grounds. And best of look to Eire Og over the weekend.
AC Melon
14/09/2013, 5:48 PM
Can someone tell me in the league cup if 2 teams are level after the 4 games does it go down to goal difference or a play off?
fifty50
14/09/2013, 6:56 PM
It goes on head to head I'm nearly sure
mastermind1
15/09/2013, 6:08 AM
It goes to goal difference
Rider Cups
15/09/2013, 1:57 PM
Curious to know why ennistymon v burren was off , hardly because of the weather as they both have very dry pitches, hope it wasn't the dreaded clash with gaelic as every club has to deal with that.
Second
16/09/2013, 2:08 PM
Is it true 7 or 8 lads will miss oscar traynor game due to gaa commitments
mastermind1
16/09/2013, 2:23 PM
It seems that way second. 5 lads will be missing anyway
Side Cutter
16/09/2013, 4:25 PM
There is hardly a gaa match the same night as the oscar traynor game?
mastermind1
16/09/2013, 4:35 PM
All the lads will be there...who ever comes up with these rumours are hilarious
squareball
21/09/2013, 8:21 AM
Anyone know if there will be a round of league fixtures the Sunday after the hurling?
MikeBassett
21/09/2013, 9:24 AM
Anyone know if there will be a round of league fixtures the Sunday after the hurling?
No it's a free weekend
footballfriend
21/09/2013, 7:50 PM
First league games being played on 22nd Sept. The Clare league manage to out do themselves every year.
Second
21/09/2013, 9:03 PM
First league games being played on 22nd Sept. The Clare league manage to out do themselves every year.
And thats just 4 days before oscar traynor team are out v limk. Have they even got a panel together or played a match together. This time last year they had 4 or 5 friendlies played
guvnor
21/09/2013, 11:56 PM
And thats just 4 days before oscar traynor team are out v limk. Have they even got a panel together or played a match together. This time last year they had 4 or 5 friendlies played
Second, some facts. Yes there is a strong panel, albeit missing some lads from last season due to gaa, injury and suspension but still very strong. Yes they have trained and played a match together so far. And No this time last year they had no friendlies played. The first game v limerick in Jackman park was 24th October and there was no friendlies played prior to that. The 4/5 friendlies you are probably referring to were maybe some of the 8/10 that were played after the limerick game...see you Thursday night
fifty50
22/09/2013, 8:41 AM
Guvnor, what players are unavailable due to GAA commitments on Thursday? Can you post the full squad up here aswell please, I'm sure there's lots on here who'd be interested to see it. Best of luck to ye on Thursday night.
First
22/09/2013, 11:09 AM
Lads why not roll in behind whichever 11 represent Clare next week? They will be representing our league and as I have said before having worked with Liam I can guarantee that everything within his power has been covered. Ideally you would like to have your players playing league matches and being up to that pace prior to the OT but that is the perennial argument and will only be changed by the clubs. I am in favour of the league cup and think it gives clubs the chance to try out new things, give younger lads and new signings ago but it is not even close to the preparation needed for the OT.
As for the GAA, it is ingrained in the blood in this country, it is part of our culture and will in many cases always first choice.
footballfriend
22/09/2013, 4:34 PM
Any league game reports??
fifty50
22/09/2013, 4:48 PM
Bridge thumped Connolly in FAI, 5-1, blown up early in second half.
footballfriend
22/09/2013, 5:11 PM
Seems to be a big gap between premier teams this year so far.
mouldedstuds
25/09/2013, 12:12 PM
best of luck to the oscar traynor team and management vs limerick,, hope ye get something out of it and show that its all about strength in depth and we dont need to be relying on the GAA players
footballfriend
25/09/2013, 4:27 PM
Any transfers going on??
newlad
26/09/2013, 8:29 PM
Any update on oscars V lims?
Couldn't make it tonight..
thomas72
26/09/2013, 8:48 PM
Any update on oscars V lims?
Couldn't make it tonight..
5-3 Clare very poor turn out for limerick one pike player and one player from champions carew park. Shane clarke shane walters john teirney with Ireland squad.
Fairkop
26/09/2013, 9:50 PM
agree with thomas,limerick were terrible,looked like they arrived late,i could only see 14 togged,when clares 4th went in it had the hallmarks of a right beating but limerick came back,thought clares pen dodgy enough though i was on other end of ground.limerick player deserved to be sent off. clare the better team by far for most of it,great win for them.
newlad
28/09/2013, 6:49 AM
simples!! one result against a selection does not justify Clare closing the gap on limerick Clare have done nothing in junior soccer for a long time now so don't get carried away.. yee might have better hurlers but soccer no chance lads!! would be wrong not to mention the performance of the officials last night nothing short of disgraceful... best selection won on the night would be very interesting to see the two teams meet again later on in the competition on a good pitch and both at full strength...
3 excuses in one post...
Minnow counties like clare have a right to get carried away for beating a county like limerick, it isnt going to happen often,Is it Clare's fault limerick couldn't prepare for the game the way they should? A lot of games are won and lost ever before players make it to the pitch, not Clare's fault they were missing all the stars of limerick league, clare did there job and did it well, on and off the pitch, give them credit,and yes the gap is closing some bit, remember a lot of clare lads playing in limerick for one reason or another.
Well done to clare, and I'm sure limerick will be in the last few teams to make up the semis this year,
footballfriend
16/10/2013, 12:42 PM
FAI Junior Cup Round 3 Draw:-
Bridge United v Avenue United
Spa Road Celtic v Killarney Celtic
Newmarket Celtic v Rineanna Rovers
Fenit Samphires v Abbeyfeale United
Lifford FC V Newcastlewest FC
Shannon Olympic v Ballingarry FC
Carrig Celtic v Sporting Ennistymon
Castleisland FC V Killarney Athletic
Bridge Celtic v St.Brendans Park
Tralee Dynamoes v Broadford United
Some tough draws but at least some clare teams have home advantage.
old git
17/10/2013, 12:39 PM
FAI Junior Cup Round 3 Draw:-
Bridge United v Avenue United
Spa Road Celtic v Killarney Celtic
Newmarket Celtic v Rineanna Rovers
Fenit Samphires v Abbeyfeale United
Lifford FC V Newcastlewest FC
Shannon Olympic v Ballingarry FC
Carrig Celtic v Sporting Ennistymon
Castleisland FC V Killarney Athletic
Bridge Celtic v St.Brendans Park
Tralee Dynamoes v Broadford United
Some tough draws but at least some clare teams have home advantage.
only two all-clare games
bridge v avenue pick of the draw and old rivals newmarket v the new rineanna rovers should be an intresting game there also :ball:
footballfriend
22/10/2013, 10:46 PM
Typical Clare reporting talking more about GAA then actual soccer matters.
footballfriend
26/10/2013, 8:28 PM
Shocking that games are off this early in the season. Whatever games that can be played should be.
Rider Cups
27/10/2013, 12:44 PM
Good decision by cdsl , how could you play in these conditions .
Second
27/10/2013, 12:55 PM
Plenty of games played in limk today.
old git
27/10/2013, 9:18 PM
Good decision by cdsl , how could you play in these conditions .
so we call off all games now when bad weather forecast... heard avenue not impressed as their pitch was playable today another weekend lost .. just look at limerick full fixture list today and some teams playing 10-11th league games shocking to think that some teams in clare yet still have to play a league game ?
newlad
28/10/2013, 10:15 AM
so we call off all games now when bad weather forecast... heard avenue not impressed as their pitch was playable today another weekend lost .. just look at limerick full fixture list today and some teams playing 10-11th league games shocking to think that some teams in clare yet still have to play a league game ?
Limerick this and limerick that...so what happens in limerick should happen in clare? Where not that far behind any league in amount of games played, ie. league cup and cup game, some say there not competitive enough but you make it what you make it.
I do agree it shouldn't of been a blanket call off, clubs should be asked to check pitch at 9am Sunday mornings, that will give traveling team plenty of notice, but I can't help thinking its powers that be in lees road that determine blanket call offs. So many teams play out of there.. Just have to plough on like every year.