View Full Version : Clare League 2013/14
Second
13/04/2014, 6:32 PM
Unlucky newmarket .. I think it just shows the gap between the two leagues is big.. great effort to get to semi though
Wishicouldplay
13/04/2014, 6:39 PM
Bridge 2 tags 0. Good win for bridge...bad 2 points dropped in mountshannon for avenue.
Shuffleruns
13/04/2014, 7:20 PM
Unlucky newmarket .. I think it just shows the gap between the two leagues is big.. great effort to get to semi though
The top premier clubs in Clare would beat/match most of limerick premier clubs outside of the big guns IMO
Second
13/04/2014, 7:26 PM
The top premier clubs in Clare would beat/match most of limerick premier clubs outside of the big guns IMO
I disagree.. avenue and newmarket would finish mid table maybe top 4 in premier in limk.. no other team in clare would stay in premier..
OneNightOnly
13/04/2014, 7:27 PM
Expand??
Shuffleruns
13/04/2014, 7:36 PM
I disagree.. avenue and newmarket would finish mid table maybe top 4 in premier in limk.. no other team in clare would stay in premier..
I disagree.. and would you think its the best leagues in Ireland like most of Limerick do?
Second
13/04/2014, 7:53 PM
I disagree.. and would you think its the best leagues in Ireland like most of Limerick do?
That and dublin aul are 2 best leagues..pike boro carew and dines all better than any team in clare.. would you disagree with that
OneNightOnly
13/04/2014, 7:56 PM
Pike, Boro, Carew Pk and Geraldines are a long way ahead of anything we have here.
Regional and Ballynanty are consistently in the knockout stages of national cups. No Clare team can even compete with that.
Even the top sides in 1A (Kilmallock and Mungret) would be better than most premier teams in Clare.
Avenue, Newmarket, Bridge Utd and Ennis Town are considerably better than the rest of the teams in the league.
But none of those sides at the present time are capable of challenging their Limerick counterparts
Shuffleruns
13/04/2014, 8:01 PM
That and dublin aul are 2 best leagues..pike boro carew and dines all better than any team in clare.. would you disagree with that
Yeah i would agree with you there with the clubs you mentioned, Pike are too good a club to be playing junior football imo.
but for the rest, top clare premier teams would match them.
Shuffleruns
13/04/2014, 8:04 PM
[QUOTE=OneNightOnly;1746958]
Even the top sides in 1A (Kilmallock and Mungret) would be better than most premier teams in Clare.
Why is that then?
Second
13/04/2014, 8:05 PM
Yeah i would agree with you there with the clubs you mentioned, Pike are too good a club to be playing junior football imo.
but for the rest, top clare premier teams would match them.
Thats what I said and you disagreed now you agree that pike carew boro and dines are better but top teams in clare would be better than the rest.. which would leave them 5th or 6th at best.. poster above is dead right clare teams dont progress consistently enough in cup competitions. .
Second
13/04/2014, 8:06 PM
Pike, Boro, Carew Pk and Geraldines are a long way ahead of anything we have here.
Regional and Ballynanty are consistently in the knockout stages of national cups. No Clare team can even compete with that.
Avenue, Newmarket, Bridge Utd and Ennis Town are considerably better than the rest of the teams in the league.
But none of those sides at the present time are capable of challenging their Limerick counterparts
Your dead right..
Wishicouldplay
13/04/2014, 8:11 PM
Top four in limerick? So I take it you mean pike boro or fairview,etc being the top teams?? All of which have bars clubhouse to generate money, pay players, ok(expenses),
quite happy with the way clare teams are progressing, in my opinion limerick teams are going down hill because all the so called good players are happy to sit on a bench instead of helping there local club be successful,
Second
13/04/2014, 8:21 PM
Top four in limerick? So I take it you mean pike boro or fairview,etc being the top teams?? All of which have bars clubhouse to generate money, pay players, ok(expenses),
quite happy with the way clare teams are progressing, in my opinion limerick teams are going down hill because all the so called good players are happy to sit on a bench instead of helping there local club be successful,
Fairview are not a top team in limk anymore.. pike and boro have bars in their clubhouses but carew dines balla don't.. limk teams are going down hill alright.. balla in fai final dines in munster final and boro could also make munster final.. haha
Wishicouldplay
13/04/2014, 8:27 PM
Just shows how pompous people can be with your haha, time will tell...until limk league have 6to 7 teams playing for the league it will be just as bad as you call the clare league.
Second
13/04/2014, 8:30 PM
Just shows how pompous people can be with your haha, time will tell...until limk league have 6to 7 teams playing for the league it will be just as bad as you call the clare league.
But sure clare league is same.. outside avenue and newmarket and maybe ennis town who else could win league..
Wishicouldplay
13/04/2014, 8:35 PM
It's only you ever brings this up.......
Wishicouldplay
13/04/2014, 8:38 PM
Patrick? Bridge? Come again
He's loosing the run of himself!...
Shuffleruns
13/04/2014, 8:42 PM
He's loosing the run of himself!...
Ive no idea who this guy is...
Wishicouldplay
13/04/2014, 8:48 PM
Ive no idea who this guy is...
Why you worried he never has any kind words anyway,,,,
Second
13/04/2014, 8:58 PM
Lads get a room.. if you don't like my posts dont comment on them.. its a forum and im entitled to my opinion.. if your happy how the clare league is performing thats great.. I just think it could be alot better.. but unfortunately it will always be a 2nd sport for most..
Shuffleruns
13/04/2014, 9:01 PM
Lads get a room.. if you don't like my posts dont comment on them.. its a forum and im entitled to my opinion.. if your happy how the clare league is performing thats great.. I just think it could be alot better.. but unfortunately it will always be a 2nd sport for most..
And how would you make it better?
Second
13/04/2014, 9:19 PM
And how would you make it better?
2 many teams in clare league are only there to keep gaa heads happy .. so in my opinion a 9 team premier league would weed out teams who have too many gaa heads.. avenue ,newmarket ,rock, lifford, tage ,bridge, tulla olympic and turnpike would make a good premier league.. if you had them 9 footballing teams and make it bottom 2 in a playoff with top 2 in 1st division that would make the standard of football better in clare's top division ..
Wishicouldplay
13/04/2014, 9:20 PM
So you say at every post,
Second
13/04/2014, 9:20 PM
Ps thats just my opinion
Shuffleruns
13/04/2014, 9:45 PM
2 many teams in clare league are only there to keep gaa heads happy .. so in my opinion a 9 team premier league would weed out teams who have too many gaa heads.. avenue ,newmarket ,rock, lifford, tage ,bridge, tulla olympic and turnpike would make a good premier league.. if you had them 9 footballing teams and make it bottom 2 in a playoff with top 2 in 1st division that would make the standard of football better in clare's top division ..
and are you involved with a team yourself?
Second
13/04/2014, 9:55 PM
So you say at every post,
Your making no sense.. stop replying to my posts if you dont like them
Second
13/04/2014, 9:56 PM
and are you involved with a team yourself?
No use to play but too old Now. But watch games when I can.
Shuffleruns
13/04/2014, 10:16 PM
I see theres no premier fixtures up for next weekend and following mid-week games. is this due to the oscar trainer final ye?
Hollywood Hogan
13/04/2014, 10:20 PM
From what I saw today the Clare league is atrocious , FAI should look at the number of teams that get out of Clare for national / regional competitions and reduce them to allow more than the current 6 teams that qualify from
Limerick. It would mean better sides competing at the business ends of these tournaments and not embarrassment like today
Second
13/04/2014, 10:22 PM
From what I saw today the Clare league is atrocious , FAI should look at the number of teams that get out of Clare for national / regional competitions and reduce them to allow more than the current 6 teams that qualify from
Limerick. It would mean better sides competing at the business ends of these tournaments and not embarrassment like today
Good to see I'm not the only one
Shuffleruns
13/04/2014, 10:24 PM
6 is enough from Limerick.... thats like saying the football in kildare is poor let more clubs from dublin out.. nothing wrong with clare football, oscar trainer final?
Second
13/04/2014, 11:04 PM
6 is enough from Limerick.... thats like saying the football in kildare is poor let more clubs from dublin out.. nothing wrong with clare football, oscar trainer final?
Brilliant achievment for clare to get to oscar final and deservedly there as they treat it with respect unlike other counties who don't take it serious.. it would be great for clare win it again..
Hollywood Hogan
13/04/2014, 11:30 PM
Oscar traynor is a bit of a joke in most districts, north tipp don't even bother entering a team so you surely can't judge a league from Oscar traynor. Would prefer to see the best teams in the country in the quarter finals of these tournaments rather than one sided games like today
footballfriend
13/04/2014, 11:44 PM
Oscar traynor is a bit of a joke in most districts, north tipp don't even bother entering a team so you surely can't judge a league from Oscar traynor. Would prefer to see the best teams in the country in the quarter finals of these tournaments rather than one sided games like today
What game were you at Hollywood Hogan?
mouldedstuds
14/04/2014, 2:19 PM
""""Would prefer to see the best teams in the country in the quarter finals of these tournaments rather than one sided games like today"""
well they clearly were one of the best teams left in the comp if they got to the semi final!! geraldines are a decent side and deserved the win just didnt happen for newmarket on the day. a decent achievement getting there!
Rider Cups
14/04/2014, 4:43 PM
Fine achievement by newmarket getting to the semi final but this was definitely a step up in class for them.I dont there's much wrong with soccer in clare at the moment but i could see sense in reducing the premier to an 8 team league,it would definitely improve the standard of play.
Shuffleruns
14/04/2014, 6:30 PM
Fine achievement by newmarket getting to the semi final but this was definitely a step up in class for them.I dont there's much wrong with soccer in clare at the moment but i could see sense in reducing the premier to an 8 team league,it would definitely improve the standard of play.
Thatd only reduce the number of games played in the season too, no?
Gearldines just wanted it more IMO after the way they went out in the fai in Dublin. They take soccer very serious on limerick infairness. Hope they go on to win it.
Second
14/04/2014, 7:04 PM
If you had them 9 teams I mentioned earlier you would only miss out on 2 games.. but if standard improved clubs would progress further in cups therefore getting more games..
mastermind1
14/04/2014, 9:08 PM
Lads i was at the game sunday and there looked to be a serious gulf in class. This is not a dig at newmarket at all, i taught it would be a much closer game. Having had a brief stint in limerick league the overall standard is at a very good level and the teams really benefit from playing top level games week in week out.the usuall high tempo pressing game newmarket play with wasnt there and i dont think it was from lack of effort. They just seemed flat and geraldines sensed the game was there for the taking and really punished them with 4 good goals. Pity the run came to an end like that. geraldines have had great results this year in fai and munster and you can see they are a confident side who are bang in form. 1 last thing, poor enough crowd there from the Clare leagues other clubs, geraldines had a big following down from limerick and were aupported by many clubs from limerick, boro, fairview and pike for definite.
avenueC
15/04/2014, 9:48 AM
just because north tipp feel the oscar traynor is beneath them it doesnt make the comp less prestigious.
dubin AUL has a very strong league an they take it very seriously, hence going for 4 in a row.
clare always take it seriously and it is with great pride that we have always taken part in it.hopefully ending with winning it next month.
Shuffleruns
15/04/2014, 9:56 AM
just because north tipp feel the oscar traynor is beneath them it doesnt make the comp less prestigious.
dubin AUL has a very strong league an they take it very seriously, hence going for 4 in a row.
clare always take it seriously and it is with great pride that we have always taken part in it.hopefully ending with winning it next month.
What date is the final on?
avenueC
15/04/2014, 11:45 AM
sorry it is this month. 27th April
Shuffleruns
15/04/2014, 2:22 PM
sorry it is this month. 27th April
Sound.. any reason then theres no premier fixtures out for this weekend ? Final isn't until the following weekend
Poor result for Newmarket Sunday but they didnt play to the standard they can. If they perfromed like they did in Kilarney it would have been a better game for the crowd watching. The Clare league is weak compared to Limerick but its not the fault of Newmarket or Avenue. These two clubs have set a good standard over the yrs in Clare but no other teams have improved imo to make this league stronger. Rock this season look to have improved along with slight improvements with the Bridge and Tage. Lifford have went backwards and with the old Rineanna out of the premier that only added to the league getting weaker. For all the other teams they just seem to be happy to play games and never look to actually compete. Alot of the mid to bottom half teams would struggle to stay in the 1A league in Limerick nevermind the premier. I cant really see how cutting the league to 8 or 9 teams would help tho?
Shuffleruns
15/04/2014, 3:24 PM
Poor result for Newmarket Sunday but they didnt play to the standard they can. If they perfromed like they did in Kilarney it would have been a better game for the crowd watching. The Clare league is weak compared to Limerick but its not the fault of Newmarket or Avenue. These two clubs have set a good standard over the yrs in Clare but no other teams have improved imo to make this league stronger. Rock this season look to have improved along with slight improvements with the Bridge and Tage. Lifford have went backwards and with the old Rineanna out of the premier that only added to the league getting weaker. For all the other teams they just seem to be happy to play games and never look to actually compete. Alot of the mid to bottom half teams would struggle to stay in the 1A league in Limerick nevermind the premier. I cant really see how cutting the league to 8 or 9 teams would help tho?
Bit harsh on poor old ennis town sitting top of the prelmier league and no mention :D
Second
15/04/2014, 3:45 PM
Bit harsh on poor old ennis town sitting top of the prelmier league and no mention :D
Read it again he mentions "rock" i.e. ennis town rock..
Rider Cups
15/04/2014, 5:12 PM
By reducing the number of teams you should have more games against better quality opposition , because in fairness a number of teams are struggling to compete in the premier every year and just seem to yoyo up and down.Avenue , Newmarket , Ennis town and Bridge look like pulling away from the other teams and thats not their fault.Also by having less teams in the premier you wouldnt have such a backlog of fixtures due natioal cups and oscar traynor competitions, think its definitely worth bringing to the agm.
AC Melon
15/04/2014, 7:29 PM
Poor result for Newmarket Sunday but they didnt play to the standard they can. If they perfromed like they did in Kilarney it would have been a better game for the crowd watching. The Clare league is weak compared to Limerick but its not the fault of Newmarket or Avenue. These two clubs have set a good standard over the yrs in Clare but no other teams have improved imo to make this league stronger. Rock this season look to have improved along with slight improvements with the Bridge and Tage. Lifford have went backwards and with the old Rineanna out of the premier that only added to the league getting weaker. For all the other teams they just seem to be happy to play games and never look to actually compete. Alot of the mid to bottom half teams would struggle to stay in the 1A league in Limerick nevermind the premier. I cant really see how cutting the league to 8 or 9 teams would help tho? Don't agree that Lifford or Tulla would stuggle to stay in 1a, they both have quality sides and IMO would be top 4/Challenging for promotion in 1a, Havent seen much of Corofin Harps and know nothing about mountshannon so I cant comment on them!
OneNightOnly
15/04/2014, 7:38 PM
Don't agree that Lifford or Tulla would stuggle to stay in 1a, they both have quality sides and IMO would be top 4/Challenging for promotion in 1a, Havent seen much of Corofin Harps and know nothing about mountshannon so I cant comment on them!
Lifford have shipped some pretty heavy league defeats this season and are a lot weaker than in previous seasons.
Mountshannon and Corofin are appalling.
Tulla have lost a few of their better players and haven't got a strong enough squad to compete week in week out
If they had their full compliment available they're a decent side.